Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Stewart Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

371 Seventh Avenue, New York City, NY 10001, United States of America

#319 of 415 hotels in New York City

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 3837 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    10
    Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing I could think of.

    Probably one of my best experience of staying in a hotel in NYC. Great location, and the staff members were very friendly and helpful. The view from my room was towards the city streets in front of Madison Square Garden. The room was spacious, clean, nicely decorated. I'd like to give a spacial mention to the hotel staff named Lucy, who was at the front desk when I first checked into thw hotel. She's axcellent! Professional, caring, fast, attentive, and made sure everything was fine throughoout my stay. Staying at this hotel is worth every penny: great staff, room, service, facility, location. Will return!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    5.8
    Dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite Double Beds with Kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room the hotel reserved for us did not match our booking.com reservation. When we asked to fix it the hotel said it is not possible and that booking.com.made a mistake. We are a party of 6 people and got a room suitable for 4. We reserved a suite with 2 double beds+sofa bed but got 1 double bed+sofa bed. The hotel did arrange for a pull up bed with no extra cost. And after a long disscution they offered an extra room for 2 in a different location but since we are 2 adults with 4 children we did not want to seperate the family since we came for a family vaction quality time. Very dissapointing. Also, the bathroom was very tiny and not well maintained. The walls were with mold and so were some walls in the room. It was reasonably clean but not top notch.

    Great location. Close to Penn Station. Times square. Shopping area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite Double Beds with Kitchen
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a room for 6 people and the sofa bed was uncomfortable.

    We really enjoyed our stay at Stewart Hotel. They have a nice and helpful staff. Location was great and the view from the bedroom was amazing. The room was cute and clean, just as advertised. We would recommend it!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    7.5
    Location is perfect, Building is beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite Double with Kitchen - ADA
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom fixtures are not in good shape, and the shower is so small that it is even difficult to move in there

    Location is perfect, Building is beautiful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    9.2
    Had an amazing stay at Stewart Hotel, the staff are really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Studio Suite Double with Kitchen - ADA
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms don’t look exactly like the pictures so don’t expect them too!

    Had an amazing stay at Stewart Hotel, the staff are really friendly and the beds are super comfortable and reasonably sized with all facilities necessary to make your stay hassle free. Located in the heart of Manhattan it’s easy to get around. Don’t be put off by the location it was not as noisy as I expected.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    10
    Overall I would stay again ! From canada
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite Double Beds with Kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I found the candy and snacks very expensive The hall ways to the rooms were too hot no air conditioner at least it felt that way.

    The beds were comfy great staff helpful . Rooms nice and spacious great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    10
    Location was perfect, staff were more than friendly, hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite Double Beds with Kitchen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location was perfect, staff were more than friendly, hotel was very clean, I will definitely make it my priority choice whenever I'm visiting New York again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    8.3
    Location is good but not best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was a little tight to support two full-size beds. Air conditioned was windowed old style and positioned too close to one of the beds. Who slept in that one needed to pass cold in order to provide good feeling to the other bed's people.

    Location is good but not best. You need around 15min walking to reach Times Square. The shower was nice. Everything looked clean; however, we have found shoes behind the sofa from the last guest in our room. It may tell us the cleaning staff does not clean everywhere in the room as expected. Hotel is good looking: outside, reception, corridors, elevators and rooms. Staff was friendly and we could leave our luggage stored in a room after check-out for some hours before leaving for the airport. The stay was expensive. However, compared to other hotels in the area that offer similar service, this one provided a good cost-benefit experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    9.2
    Hotel well organized
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I love everything

    I love the way the lobby organized an the staff there r where very nice to us they made we feel so welcome was so nice clean an everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    7.5
    Great location. Great facility. However, we felt that the negatives somewhat tainted our experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Suite Two Bathrooms with Kitchen
    • Stayed 7 nights

    When we reached on the first evening at 6pm the room was not yet ready. At 7.15pm it was still not ready. At that point we left our bags and went out to have a meal. When we made the booking on booking.com, the advertisement on the website clearly indicated that this package included breakfast daily for two persons. This was a contributing factor to us choosing this hotel. When we asked about breakfast at the hotel's front desk, we were informed that the information on the booking.com site was erroneous and advised that the hotel has asked booking.com to correct the information. It was only at our insistence and escalation of the issue that we were given coupons to use at a shop around the corner. This left a bad taste in the mouth. From a security perspective, three members of the management team knocked on our door one morning. They were apparently doing a routine inspection related to the cleaning service. The issue we have is that none of them were wearing or presented hotel identification. Even when we commented on this, they did not present any. On some days, an insufficient number of towels was allocated to the room The cleaning of the room was not always thorough

    The layout of the suite was good. The elevator and downstairs bathroom required the use of the security key. When we tried to book the shuttle to the airport, the person was at lunch. However, a team member overheard us and assisted us in making a booking. He was very efficient. The view from the room was great. The central location was great. Team member Curtis did a fine job at stocking our fridge with groceries that had been purchased on our behalf by a relative. This occurred when on the first night we had gone out for a meal when the hotel room was not ready for us

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite Double Beds with Kitchen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was ok

    The suit I used had 3 bathrooms. The is good and didn't ache my body at all. Lobby is good too. But the lighting in the living room I didn't quite like because it is too direct to my eyes. Just had a good rest in suit

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    9.6
    Stellar Stewart Stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was very happy with the hotel and with my stay. In a perfect world, I suppose I wish the room could've been a bit larger, but I'm not complaining. Again, I'm appreciative.

    The desk and bell people were exceptionally kind and efficient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    10
    Upgraded for the birthday boy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing - it was fab

    Great location and staff friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a suite for my partner’s 50th birthday which was absolutely amazing- thank you! 😁 He even got a birthday cake a bottle of wine too. Nancy on reception was just lovely

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel in excellent location for seeing NYC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite Double Beds with Kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location means there is lots of night time noise outside due to being in the middle of the city. Not avoidable and not the properties' fault.

    The location! We were also given an upgrade and the suite was spacious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    7.5
    Good location, good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Suite Double with Kitchen - ADA
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    there are many nails connecting the carpet and kitchenette floor which are too dangerous, they cut my feet. this should be fixed urgently.

    Good location, good staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    4.6
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was dirty with public hair in the bathroom and chocolate wrappers from previous quest on the floor. When booking in at 6pm requested roll up bed to be made up ASAP after a 14 hour flight.. 10.30 and after three phone calls to house keeping final made up the sofa bed.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    4.2
    Not recommended unless you are reserving last minutes find an other hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The first room was smelling fish. It was horrible. Then they transferred us in an other room and there were blood spot on the sheet. So they changed the sheet. We had a bed with a sofa bed. But they didn't think to make the sofa bed in the new room. So they send us sheet and pellow . The toilet are really smaller in reality and do not look like the picture. The room are old.

    The bed were really comfortable. The location is awesome. 5 minutes walk to times square.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    8.3
    The location was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite Double Beds with Kitchen
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Only minor issues ! I needed to contact reception to get additional kitchen ware and sheets for sofa bed on arrival. Also we were on the 27th floor - the lift seemed to have a mind of its own sometimes - could take longer than expected to get up and down !

    The location was excellent! Our room/apartment was very spacious and the beds were really comfortable. The room was always clean and tidy when we got home in the evening - great housekeeping staff!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    4.0
    Will never go back
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not enough front line staff to deal with check ins. I had to hunt them down 5 times to get my initial and promised discount. The electricity went out 3 times in our room including the air conditioner and it took staff approx 45 min to respond and I finally asked to change rooms.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, clean and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • One-Bedroom Suite Double Beds with Kitchen
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booked a room with 2 double beds and a sofa bed for 5 adults. When we arrived there was just 1 double bed and the sofa bed. According to staff at reception this is a common problem that arises having booked through booking.com. Staff were quick to help us out by giving us camp beds however it is a small area for 5 adults.

    Excellent location, clean and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    6.3
    it was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    view was of a brick building. bathroom had no storage or counter.

    we had two rooms - room with kitchen and bedroom were fine - big enough for the four that stayed in there they were comfortable. Our room on the other had was decent size but air condition broke down 4 times during our two night stay even in the middle of the night. hotel only credit us less then $100 for the inconvenience and only because i said something. they should of offered more of a credit considering what we paid for our room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    10
    One of the Better Ones!
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were a little small but very comfortable.

    The staff especially Lucy was wonderful. Knowledgeable, friendly made my children feel comfortable with their kindness. Great location. Penn Station is right there. Showers worked great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    4.6
    An unprofessional setup
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no doorman or bell boy at such a big hotel.??? You have to carry your luggage up 15 stairs or use a tiny escalater to reach the front desk. WORST I tumbled on the escalater with no help for carrying luggage. Had a very bad fall and escalatwr kept moving. Scaring every body around. Luckily no external injuries. But I was shaken and also TWISTED my anlke badly. Could not hasten the Check in as it was only one staff more interested in getting advance payment unaware or unconcerned for my predictment despite the manager coming over to do lip service of help. The Injury report was also filed but unluckily the interest was more in my reference to a broken suitcase than in me. We had arrived at 10.30 PM and had informed hotel beforehand of the plans. Finally could settle in by 0000h. Alas, I then found the room given was unhygenic. THE WATER WAS COMING IN FROM A WINDOW AND FLOOR CARPET ALL ALONG THE WINDOW WAS TOO WET. After 04 complaints , twice visits by housekeeping, once by night engineer, and finally by two Maint experts, my request for room change was considered. The front desk tried to redeem itself and gave a complimentary upgrade to a much better room at 1200h next day. HOWEVER , THE HUMILATION AND MISERY STILL HAD SOME MORE IN STORE. The front desk tried to organise luggage transfer by asking the bell man to do the needful. SEE THE AUDACITY HE POINT BLANK REFUSED IN FRONT OF THE CUSTOMER!!! I had to ask my friend and his son to help in shifting considering my already hurting ankle. STEWART HOTEL SPOILED MINE AS WELL AS MY GROUP HOLIDAYS AND GAVE A VERY BAD TASTE OF USA IN OUR THREE DAYS STAY THERE. While CHECKING OUT and going out again the same way there was nobody to help with luggage down the stairs.Even the security incharge had a tough time in organising it. It was one good soul doing cleaning who seeing my condition came on his own to help my wife and young daughter to move luggage down the stairs.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    3.3
    Total disappointment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had several issues with our stay. Firstly, before our arrival the hotel contacted us through an email offering us an upgrade. When we got there the upgrade was not available. As I was searching for the email to prove that I was offered an upgrade the receptionist at the front desk ask me to step aside so she could help someone else. Secondly, our room had a bathroom measuring 2.5 feet by 6.5 feet excluding a shower so small I couldn't wash my hair. Yes I did measure it. The bathroom was disgusting, the tile on the shower walls were cracked and the entire floor was all patched up with grout. When I went to complain about the size of the bathroom I was told that all the bathrooms in the hotel were the same size. The attitude of the gentleman at the front desk was "oh well, too bad". We ordered an extra pillow obe night and one hour and three calls later we were told that they had run out of pillows. The hallways have minimal lighting probably so that the guest can't notice how dirty the carpets are. The room we were given was located at the end of a side corridor where it was so dark we could barely see where to insert the key card to get in. On the last day, when we called to have the bellman come up to get our luggage, we were told that we would need to come downstairs and show ID. Now that's a new one! I can only say that during the four nights that we stayed at the Stewart hotel we were made to feel like we weren't entitled to any service because we had paid a lower fee through bookings.com.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    4 is us stayed in a studio suite, the space looks bigger in photos

    Located walking distance from Empirw state, Flat Iron building, Highline Park, Chelsea, etc. Impressive interiors at check-in. Well stocked vending machine for late night needs. Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    8.3
    The staff was super nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a group of 3 people so they added a sofa bed but it wasn't comfortable at all. We ended up sleeping together on the king-sized bed. It was noisy but expected since it is located in the middle of Manhattan.

    The staff was super nice and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    7.9
    Overall the stay was good, especially for the cheaper price we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite Double Beds with Kitchen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleanliness of the room could have been better. The bathrooms still had hair on the floor and the water in both showers would not drain.

    The Stewart Hotel is in a great location, steps away from Penn Station. The room was spacious and had two bathrooms and an extra pull out couch.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    3.8
    Not impressed at all. Couldn’t wait to get out of it. Not just because of the hotel but overall.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was terrible (guess it’s normal in New York). Bath tub was a bit dirty. And they should renovate the look of the building outside too. I was so worried when I saw the building from outside, it looks so old and dirty.

    Room size was good considering it’s New York.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    8.3
    Central good place and good suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite Double Beds with Kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Aircon was noicy, like the city.

    We had the suite, and it had a good size and and nice kitchen and 2 bathrooms, so all in all, what you expect. For the beds, they were nice and good. The nice level was higher than expected, mostly due to the windows was single glass, but then you get the sound of NY too, but I prefere dobble glass. Personel and desk was top customer oriented and cool, and check out was 11.00, so fine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    8.8
    Location and staff were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location and short walk to time square. Staff is very friendly and helpfull. Older building and rooms show there age and not in a good way. Good security in building at all times. Parking on site but only for smaller vehicle's and very pricy. Parking available on 30th street between 7th and Broadway for less and can accommodate larger vehicles. Great service from parking attendants.

    Location and staff were excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    5.0
    Bad , expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Suite Two Bathrooms with Kitchen
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms small the windows view is like a horror movie the air conditioning dont work properly it was a bad experience , and they keep taking money from the credit cardeben after payment!

    There was a worker there his name is ashraf he was helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was very noisy, which is expected due to the location (plus there is a fire station just up the road) The room smelt really strange, like there was too many chemicals. The bed for me was uncomfortable.

    The location was ideal. In the Center of it all and able to get around the hole of New York easily.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2018

    6.7
    Would I book again ????
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom not clean , the loo and bath area were fine but everything else needed a good clean . Looks more like a luxury hotel on the website , but having stayed here it was definatley not a 4 star hotel, not even a 3 star . I hate giving bad reviews but this was disappointing. There is also a resort fee added onto your nightly rate, I knew this before I booked but was keen to expericnce the Stewart Hotel which looks fab online ..will probably not book it again unless total bargin rate.

    Across the road from Penn Station , Location to get to Newark Airport by train is excellent ! Staff very very nice ...also hotel security good .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    10
    Will stay there every chance I have.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite Double Beds with Kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bath door was a type that didn’t lock. It was a sliding barn door type - kids hated it.

    The Concierge desk was above helpful. I left the tickets I had purchased thru her and she texted them to me quickly. Ask for Raushan.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    7.1
    Disappointed with Downscaling by Current Ownership, But Might Go Back for Space and Convenience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is not as well-maintained as it was under the former Affinia management. Looking down at the heels at this point. The hotel has always had a '30s feel to it, which I liked - you don't go there for modernity. But some reconfiguration done by the Stewart has opened rooms up in a non-useful way (eg, kitchen used to be separate, now part of living space; used to have 2 bathrooms, now an extra closet).

    The location is perfect for taking trains to/from Penn Station. The one bedroom suite gives lots of space, especially for New York. Staff with whom we interacted were service-oriented and well-trained. Lots of closet space, and the AC worked well. Quiet for such a busy location, due I think to good thick walls.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    7.9
    Clean hotel in central location with large suites, ideal for attending functions at the Garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite Double Beds with Kitchen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lobby rather gloomy. Lines at front desk were long and challenging to locate help/concierge service. Help was pleasant when available. .

    Perfect location if you are going to Madison Square Garden, it's right across the street. The hotel is a little dated but Ok. The suite is very large, 2 full bathrooms, kitchen and large bedroom with two beds- larger for NYC - good for a family stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    5.4
    Beds were comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite Double Beds with Kitchen
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They did not give us the room booked. Gave us different stories as to why they didn't, they said they had emailed us two days prior to our arrival but in fact they did not. They compensated us by taking off the service fee and adding roller beds in the room. Service was not the best.

    Beds were comfy. Location was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    3.3
    Clickbait do not book.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were too old and were not up to mark. The photos posted are totally photoshopped and seem more like clickbait. The carpets were smelly the washroom was too small even to hold a single individual. The hotel is very old and the rooms show the time detoriation. There was no bell staff to assist us during checkin.

    The location was good next to penn station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    8.8
    A bit expensive, but well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are small and a bit noisy, don't expect them to be quiet, specially at night...

    The hotel is well located: you'll find a Starbucks in front of the hotel, a Dockin' Donuts some steps from the door, a pizza bar and a salad store are some meters away. There is an important subway station (Penn Station) almost in front of it. You are 10 minutes on foot from Times Square, and 15 minutes from the Central Park.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    5.4
    Overall, poor experience at this hotel. Would not advise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would not stay here. Incidental charges of aprox 40 euro a night were held on my card as well as the total amout. When checking out the payment was taken in full which meant in two days over 850 was gone off my card when only should have aprox 380. Hidden taxes and facilitie charge be very carful of this. Most Staff wernt very pleasant of informative. Room was also not very clean. Coffee stains that were easily removed my myself on desk. Bathroom area and carpets also notvery clean.

    Location close to Penn station and times square.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    4.2
    Horrible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Phone didn’t work. Took 4 hours to get fixed. Room service went to wrong room. Had someone else’s name and room number on the order. Bread was dry and stale. Finishing in room and bathroom poorly done- dirty. My money was not well spent. Not to mention the ladies at the ticket counter for broadway shows- very unfriendly and dismissive. I will never stay here again

    nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    9.6
    I loved that it was so close to the Empire State Building...
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Suite Double with Kitchen - ADA
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I loved that it was so close to the Empire State Building the Manhattan mall and a lot of other popular sites. The hotel room was clean comfortable we only had a problem with the shower head other then that it was prefect and reasonably priced

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant location in NY, clean, well managed, modern, non robotic friendliness and efficiency
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything, quite frankly. My remote control of the TV did not work. I called and 5 min later it was resolved.

    I was very happy and at home in this hotel. Staff impeccable, helpful and cheerful, not robotic and fake smiles, Particulary one lady who wore the Spanish Soccer T-shirt (whose name has just slipped my mind but not her friendliness and effciency) and Margaret who wore the Brasil one and young guy who wore the Barcelona Team one. They were all a pleasure to ask and consult. The situation of the hotel is brilliant, accross the street from Madison Sq. Garden and Penn Station super places, bars and restaurants and 15 min walk from Time Sq.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    10
    Great hotel! Would stay again and recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite Double Beds with Kitchen
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The WiFi stopped working after one day and although we called about it they never go it fixed. The window air units were quite noisy but it did drown out the noise of the traffic.

    The staff was excellent and helpful. The cleaning staff even turned down my daughter’s sleepin bag. The hotel was very clean and the air conditioning worked well as it was SO hot. Even allowed us to store bags as our flights didn’t align with the check in/out times. The location was excellent!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    5.0
    I like the convenience of the hotel and the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was a little disappointed when I first got there because we went through booking.com they did not let us know that we had to pay $85 additional for this day. I didn’t get my AAA discount .I also upset with the assistant manager/manager kahn because he was not able to accommodate with any discounts..... it was ran twice because he said an error occurred. He went back-and-forth in the back to see what the issue was it was just too much confusion and the price of theone night room was astronomical because of the holiday we were inconvenienced and no offers were ...As of today I was told I would get my money back on Monday July 2 and today is July 6 and I have not received my $85 back on my card which was an inconvenience as well.

    I like the convenience of the hotel and the location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    9.2
    It was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only one thing -- I asked for extra towels and washcloths the evening of our last night. I called twice and though the respondent on the phone was extremely helpful, the towels/washcloths never came.

    Just a great overall hotel experience in NYC.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    7.5
    A very nice hotel that lived up to our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom very small and the water pressure in shower very low

    Lovely building; room was a good size, except for bathroom; good facilities; nice staff; great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    8.3
    It served the purpose. I went to see a U2 concert at Madison Square Garden. The location was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room seemed bigger on the website. It appeared to be a little run down. The bathroom faucet didn’t have a drain cap. The bathroom itself was extremely uncomfortable. Not much space for toiletries.

    The location of the property is top knotch; extremely centric. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    8.3
    Hotel and services good but somewhat expensive
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom is very small and the shower is not big enough for one person. There were three wardroves in the room so we think it would be helpful if they expand the bathroom using one the hole of one of these cabinets. When we arrive the room was not ready for three people (there was just one bed and the sofa bed was not ready. The room was too loud.

    The room (for three guests) was very big and confortable. The hotel is really well situated, just in front of the Maddison Square Garden and Penn Station (direct link to the JFK airport). The workers in reception were very helpful and they solved all the problems we had.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    7.9
    Room was good size for 4 adults and baby, bed was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was in 4th floor, so it was a bit noisy. Also room was old furnished.

    Room was good size for 4 adults and baby, bed was comfortable, room was very clean, especially bathrooms, new cosy towels. Kitchen was nice extra. Location is excellent!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    6.3
    Better Alternatives near Penn Station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite nice lobby, room was shocking: pubic hair on bathroom floor, red stain on bath towel (quite unpleasant), a grimy, bluish black stain on another towel, dust on fixtures, in general the room looks like it hasn't been updated in decades. Front desk staff were not friendly, not not return my smile greeting. My first and last time staying here (The New Yorker and Marriott Inn & Suites vastly superior, also near Penn station).

    Excellent location across from Penn Station, in the thick of the action. Very nice lobby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    5.8
    Would stay there again for the location but wouldn't keep my hopes up for anything else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities were really outdated despite the modern-ish decorations. The AC unit was SUPER loud, and so was the toilet.

    The location really was all that we were paying for. It was super central, accessible by subway or train. We drove and the valet service (which was the only option if you want to park at the hotel) cost $70 a day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    10
    Convenient, comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite Double Beds with Kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were amazing and comfortable. My daughter had stars in her eyes when she stepped in. The view from our room was spectacular. We had an amazing stay. Thank you!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    7.1
    The rooms were spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite Double Beds with Kitchen
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise from the street, but it was expected, being that it was at the center of NYC.

    My family and I enjoyed our stay. The location was convenient and easily accessible to many attractions in NYC.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    7.5
    overall okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Suite Double with Kitchen
    • Stayed 5 nights

    smelly bathroom, probably the sewerage system not flowing well as after shower it takes at least 5 minutes for water to leave the bath tub.

    Bed comfy, good size room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    7.1
    جيد
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a bad smell, and it was no ventilation.

    I liked the place, location, and the price.There is a girl who gave me upgrade to my room. Also, there is a guy called Omar, was a nice man because he give us abreakfast card. While his friend refuse to give us, even it was included in our reservation. I recommend to make check in with him. Good service .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    Outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We loved everything, rooms clean and spacious but the staff...the staff went above and beyond and is what gives the Stewart Hotel 10/10 outstanding.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    6.7
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We departed on the 30/5 our invoice we received was fine but when we got home I saw an extra charge on my credit card from the Stewart hotel. I rang there accounts dept. three times and explained we were on a flight home . Each time they were to email me with an update but didn’t. My last call they said they couldn’t refund as someone had accessed the room. They were very unhelpful . I rang Booking.Com and spoke to Mary who dealt with the issue and got my money refunded. Stewart hotel this was very bad customer service zero marks for this.

    Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    4.2
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Suite Double with Kitchen
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleaning was less than average. I.e. stuff from previous visitors behind couch. Airconditioning wasn’t functioning. Got repaired quickly, but somehow I expect it to work upon arrival. 3 of the 10 lightbulbs were broken. Hot water took about 2 minutes to come to the shower.

    location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    7.5
    Great location just a pity about the uncomfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite Double Beds with Kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room too small for a family with teenagers. Beds uncomfortable. Unable to close bathroom sliding door without using full strength.

    Location excellent with easy access to subway. Recommend it for the location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    9.6
    Exceeded our expectation, big room, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was super comfy. Room was so much larger than we expected. We had a lovely surprise with a great little kitchenette. Staff were excellent. Lobby very impressive. Location was absolutely fabulous to explore New York from. Loved our stay...Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    3.8
    Location is fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t receive my deposit on time. I gave them a call, but I haven’t received my deposit. Too bad. Besides,The lighting on the bed was too harsh and we were uncomfortable.

    Location is fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    7.5
    Our stay would have been very good except for the bathroom which needs to be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Suite Double with Kitchen
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room we got had a very small bathroom, with no sink counters to put stuff on. The toilet seat was too small. Bathroom door needs to be changed, as the bottom was eaten up already because of the water.

    Room was big with a high ceiling. The interior design made it feel homey.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    7.1
    The location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite Double Beds with Kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel gave me the wrong room, thankfully it was sorted out. When i booked the hotel, breakfast was included but when I got there, no breakfast. Make sure to print the first hotel confirmation.

    The location of the hotel. It’s near time square, madison square garden is just across the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite Double Beds with Kitchen
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not as smart as the photos show. Kitchen not very well equipped, but we mainly ate out.

    Great location. Big room for 5 of us, with 2 bathrooms and a small kitchen

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    9.6
    Location just opposite NYC Penn Station was ideal and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite Double Beds with Kitchen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air con units sit in the windows so there is some outside air entering and we felt the room was too cold if not in the bed. Heater doesn’t work at this time of the year. Just wished the bathroom were bigger.

    Location just opposite NYC Penn Station was ideal and convenient! From Penn Station, take exit “32nd St and 7th Ave” and then turn right and see hotel on the corner. :) Rooms in queen suite are partitioned for privacy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    10
    Excellent location, especially if you want to save time,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent location, especially if you want to save time, because hotel is in the middle of attractions and shops. Small snack and wine shop at reception was really nice. Nothing to complain about. Fun halls for kids to run around.

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    8.8
    It was a comfortable stay once we got the logistics settled with the arrangements of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t like the lack of parking, the $70 cost to park per day!!! Some charges that were given to me had to be disputed so please check your statements, there are a lot of homeless people and their very aggressive, some of the staff aren’t personable.

    I liked the convenience of everything literally being at your fingertips. The hotels was more than happy to assist you with all your needs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    7.5
    Good room size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite Double Beds with Kitchen
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air con was old. Needed more space to put clothes away. Hooks for coats would be good. Had 3 knives forks and spoons for 5 people..need to have at least 5 cups glasses and cutlery if there are 5 people. A kettle would be better than the coffee maker.Very noisy road through the night.

    Good room size. Good to have a kitchenette. Fantastic view. Friendly staff. Great gym. Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value in terms of location and roomy accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only issue was that the kitchen floor in one of the suites was sticky. I suspect they didn't rinse it well enough after washing it. The other was that we were told we were on the same floor, but when we checked into the second room, we were on separate floors (21st and 23rd). Still, it was just an elevator ride away, so not too inconvenient. Air conditioners, for non-air conditioner users like us, were a little distracting due to noise. Then again, they blocked out the city noise quite well.

    We loved that we got a free upgrade into a two bedroom suite. The fact that there was a kitchenette with two gas burners, a microwave, and a fridge was great, too. Folks at the desks were very, very helpful. One of our rooms was ready, so we were allowed to check into it early. The bedrooms were also a good distance from the common space, to that was terrific in terms of noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    6.3
    A fantastic experience I would do again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathrooms are small but expected for the age of the property.

    Great location, within walking distance to many attractions. We took advantage of the upgrade with a kitchenette and really appreciated the additional space as we were travelling with our 16 year old son. Beds super comfy and although you could hear street noise, the rooms were pretty sound proof.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    3.8
    Worst Front Desk and Hotel Manager service ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite Double Beds with Kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service at the from desk is very deficient, very poor. They don't have the proper training to solve questions and the instructions when paying are not clear, each of the 5 people we spoke to gave us totally different information. We had problems with the payment because the hotel automatically was charging each day of the stay different amounts in different credit cards. They are a mess. Even worst the Manager of the hotel, a lady that when we came to her, was super ironic, treating us like we are stupid and not even apologizing for all the mess they'd create. Super rude, not professional, doesn't have matters and doesn't not how to treat their guest. To resume, we didn't feel that the hotel took our situation seriously at all and they didn't even care our concerns, they were always talking about their good service but not solving the issues that they cause with the credit cards. They have charged totally different amounts as it was their own money. So unhappy about this hotel, which is a pity since has a great location.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    5.4
    First I ask someone to do the beds they said we can not...
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First I ask someone to do the beds they said we can not because the house keeping is not here. Second the bathroom door beed to be fixed. Third, the day of leaving they put the respite under the room door

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    4.6
    Don’t book through third party or you will not get the complimentary breakfast that you paid for
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a mildew odor in the room and a big stain on the carpet that I was told it was permanent when I mentioned to the front desk. Parking is 70-75 but u can not go back to your car once it’s checked in so do not forget even just a toothbrush in your car or you will have to do without.

    Close to time square and the lobby is really cool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    5.0
    Overpriced sub standard hotel experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was tired looking. The air con unit was grubby and had seen better days. We’d booked a room for 4 of us but only had two sets of towels. The phone wouldn’t work when we tried to call down. Given how much we’d paid for the room it was a complete disappointment. It feels as if all the investment at the hotel has gone into the oversized and ostentatious lobby. We may have been unlucky with our room but I would have thought an exec room at that price would have had a basic minimum standard which our room certainly did not meet

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Stewart Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: