Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa 4 stars

1746 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672, USA

#18 of 29 hotels in Stowe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 51 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Peaceful and relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room - Max 2 People Including Children
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some upgrades are needed. Our overall stay was not impacted by this in any way. We had a wonderful stay with lovely staff members!

    Beautiful gardens and grounds with plenty of opportunities to enjoy nature and exercise!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Nice hotel with big rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Room with Two Queen Beds - Max 4 People Including Children
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price of the massage is unrealistic. Almost 150$ for 50 min.

    Big rooms and nice clean toilet. The Staff was great as well. We loved the trip over all. There are many places to eat around the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.7
    OK, but we won't be returning. For the price charged, there are better options available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We travelled as a family of 5 adults and 3 children and selected the two bedrooms town house plus a regular "luxury" room in the main building, because of the composition of the family age groups. When making the booking we were NOT advised that the Town House was detached from the main building and, therefore required a car to reach it! Overall the hotel was OK, but far from "luxury" and indeed a general re-furbishment would be very much in order.

    Stowe is lovely and well worth a visit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.7
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room with Two Queen Beds - Max 4 People Including Children
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found a cheerio on the bathroom countertop. Also the chairs had not been vacuumed in some time. Facility could use some renovations. I was a little let down considering I paid nearly $400 for one night's stay.

    The bed was very comfortable. A lot to do without even leaving the resort. The concierge, Susie, was an outstanding help and a wonderful personality.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    Rooms were large and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Premier King Room - Max 2 People Including Children
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering the cost per night, I think they should upgrade their beds and replace some sheets. I’ve stayed at 5 hotels on this trip and this was the worst bed I slept in.

    Rooms were large and clean. The garden was beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing and definitely far too expensive for a sub standard room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room - Max 2 People Including Children
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room and small bed. The property is shabby and run down. Also the walls are like paper and you can hear other guests talking outside in the corridor and in other rooms

    Nothing except the location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.5
    Very nice but expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Meadows Two-Bedroom Townhouse - Max 6 People Including Children
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodations were very nice but pretty expensive.

    Indoor pool was the perfect temperature. Fireplace in the living room and bedroom of the condo were a pleasure as was the tub with jets. Close to town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant but overpriced on holiday weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room with Two Queen Beds - Max 4 People Including Children
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night drove up from New Jersey on a Friday, heavy traffic, got to the resort just before the rental shop closed to get skis. Rolled into the hotel and checked in a bit before 9, then went over to the on-site pub for dinner where the solo guitar player was SO LOUD it was almost painful. Even the waitress agreed. There were maybe 10 people in the place so he didn't need to turn it up to be heard. Food was good, staff was friendly, but the music ruined the experience. We booked fairly late so we paid a premium for the room, which was WAY overpriced for the level of accommodation. $1500 for 3 nights was more than double what this place should be worth, but it was Stowe and Presidents Day weekend, and there was fresh snow, so we paid. Nice enough hotel, but we felt gouged.

    Nice big room with a timer-operated gas fireplace, but it made the room very hot. Liked the fire in the lobby although the seating around it was small. Kids loved apres ski tea, with cookies and cocoa. Meant to try the spa but never got a chance. Outdoor pool was a draw for us when booking. It is heated but still cold unless the air temp is VERY cold for contrast, and only open 3-7. Indoor pool is small but good for kids. Outdoor jacuzzi was nice but small, more than 6 adults felt awkwardly snug. Snowshoe trail is basically a walking path around the hotel building and pool but there are nice trails nearby. Close driving distance to restaurants, town, and Stowe mountain, and you can get the shuttle from the hotel to the lift.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    A truely nice resort in beautiful Stowe
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Max 4 People Including Children
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed the Hotel facilities inluding the indoor swimming pool and table tennis. the room was nice and comfortable. They even had an option to rent bikes in the Hotel. We ride the Stowe Recreation pass - realy recomended

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.2
    Location was amazing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room - Max 2 People Including Children
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and linens / sheets poor quality

    Location was amazing . Right on the rec trail . Easier to walk or bike into town . Easy walk to 2 great restaurants... piecasso and idyletyme

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Rooms and staff where very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room - Max 2 People Including Children
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool and gym equipment could have been cleaner

    Rooms and staff where very nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    4.2
    Accessible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room with Two Queen Beds - Max 4 People Including Children
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way too expensive for what was paid. Especially bathroom with no water pressure .

    Accessible

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful gardens in lovely Stowe setting
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Luxury Room with Two Queen Beds - Max 4 People Including Children
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area needs an upgrade in furnishings

    Beautiful gardens in lovely Stowe setting

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    2.9
    Very old
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Max 2 People Including Children
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping did not clean the room properly very old towel very old linen very old carpet

    Very old

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.5
    Worth staying here to be close to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room - Max 2 People Including Children
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Head board was loose, some spa facilities not working during time of our stay. Stains on the rug in our room.

    Staff very accommodating

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Perfect location, accommodation very family friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Stoweflake Two-Bedroom Townhouse - Max 5 People Including Children
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, facilities

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.0
    outdated for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Max 2 People Including Children
    • Stayed 1 night

    outdated

    outdated for the price

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    9.2
    The cleanliness, bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Stoweflake Three-Bedroom Townhouse - Max 7 People Including Children
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness, bed

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Great stay and great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King Room - Max 2 People Including Children
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the free squash court was a bonus, the staff was lovely especially the tall woman at the front desk and the outdoor pool was great and parking easy

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    9.6
    Great location in Stowe
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Spa Premier King Room - Max 2 People Including Children
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More varied room service menu.

    Nice spa. Easy access to Stowe area and activities. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    7.1
    The 'regular' spa which is included in the price -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room - Max 2 People Including Children
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 'regular' spa which is included in the price - especially the saunas are outdated.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    10
    Week before our wedding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room - Max 2 People Including Children
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent personnel service by all the staff.Great value for money , all ready planning when we can return,

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    6.7
    Lots of space in the room, plenty of amenities (pool, gym,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The overall property is sorely out of date. The price is high considering what you get. Sorry. Wish it was more upscale and charming.

    Lots of space in the room, plenty of amenities (pool, gym, spa etc....) and options. Good parking. Nice front desk Manager and staff throughout. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    6.7
    The Snowflake was fine but for the price, I would expect a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The Snowflake was fine but for the price, I would expect a lot more facilities, fixtures and in resort food service. This would be great at $200 to 240 a night but at $400+ a night it falls short. That said, it was fully booked between Christmas and New Years so demand and location to Mnt Mansfield determines the price they can get.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    5.4
    The staff was very nice and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The condo we stayed in smelled stale. The sheets and towels also smelled stale. The staff should do a walk through and air out the condo that have not been used in awhile. The bathroom fan was also hanging down and broken. I thought the price we paid did not match up to the accommodation.

    The staff was very nice and helpful

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    4.6
    Nothing much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Over priced, over crowded, too sprawled out, rooms in need of a refurb, restaurant over booked and food choice poor. We have never ever paid so much for so little!!

    Nothing much. The reception staff were very nice and also helpful thouigh.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.2
    The beds were comfortable and loved the fireplace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We did not have a bad experience. We did think that $428.00 was a high price for the room rate. While the room was nice, it wasn't luxurious. Also, I would prefer to pay separately for the amenities I use like the gym and pool since I very rarely use them.

    The beds were comfortable and loved the fireplace.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    2.5
    We were not given the room we paid for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were not given the room we paid for. The room was old, not well cared for. The skylight was leaking rain, it smelled like mold, carpet wet. Dryer didn't work, light in bedroom had short in cord.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    8.8
    Great location, good facilities, comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Uninterested, borderline rude, bar staff and waiter. Everything was too much trouble, very slow service, half a drinks order delivered and the rest seemingly forgotten then when we reminded the barman that we were still waiting for one of the drinks, it was slapped down so hard in front of my daughter that it spilled over - not a glimmer of an acknowledgement (let alone apology!) from the barman. We had a 12 day tour around New England and this hotel was the only place we experienced this kind of attitude and it really took us by surprise - not what we were expecting!

    Great location, good facilities, comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    8.8
    Friendly, efficient staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good size and clean room but mattress needed replacing! Too soft.

    Friendly, efficient staff. A first class restaurant manager with good service. Not fine dining but ok.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    7.5
    The room size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There is no bath tub in the bathroom. The indoor swimming pool is small and the water looks dirty that's why we didn't swim. There is no hottub/whirlpool (You need to pay for that facilities).

    The room size. And the game room.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    8.3
    Hotel staff was very courteous and professional and it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel staff was very courteous and professional and it was very easy to find our way around. The room was well cleaned and very comfortable. Nice job !

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    4.2
    Friendly person checked us in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Terrible hotel. Very few people were in the hotel, but we were given an old room with torn wallpaper, dirty carpet, bad grout in bathroom. The location was way at the end of the hotel. Was it because we used booking.com?

    Friendly person checked us in.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    9.6
    Comfortable bed, warmth and ambience from the in room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Comfortable bed, warmth and ambience from the in room fireplace, seating areas around the hotel, sports & spa facilities, art displayed in the corridors

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    10
    Great breakfast in the cafe;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great breakfast in the cafe; best location - near to Mt Mansfield & center of town & other eateries/shops along the way; very peaceful setting; nice roomy fitness center (but needs a few upgrades); used on-site playroom with ping pong & pool table; will definitely use Spa on next visit after some hiking/biking.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    9.2
    We were upgraded to the Meadow Townhouses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A few small misses: some crumbs in dishes, spent wine table in bathroom vanity, one bedroom light did not work.

    We were upgraded to the Meadow Townhouses. Nice, private, condo style facility with a great view.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    9.6
    The amenities met the needs of my family and I
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The front desk woman complained about being overworked to her younger coworker. I didn't feel that was appropriate to say upon my greeting.

    The amenities met the needs of my family and I

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    10
    The hotel was amazing the staff was so very polite.
    • Couple

    The only thing we didn't like was that we made our stay so short?

    The hotel was amazing the staff was so very polite. The concierge was the best at helping us plan our weekend.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    10
    Room was large and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Disappointed in meals. Dinner choices limited and we're heavily. salted. Breakfast was just ok. Expected better from a resort.

    Room was large and clean. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    8.8
    The condo was clean and big for two bedrooms .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There is not too much to do if you have younger kids (up to 15) that need to be occupied . Other than pool , had bikes to rent , a 9 hole golf course , a racquetball court and a game room The game room was in the basement , musty and furnishings and equipment needed to be updated ! The worst for US was the beds . They were soooo worn and soft , you sank into them , I mean really sank into them. This could be this room only because I have no idea about all other rooms . I would not keep that from staying here again though . Was very nice stay . We have three kids aged 15,18, 20 that came with us . We did skit of day trips off premise to keep busy . Everything was pretty close in driving distance

    The condo was clean and big for two bedrooms . The facilities were clean as well. Staff was very courteous , professional, friendly and helpful .

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    10
    Room was clean, spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only negative was that there was paving going on during our stay and access was restricted to parking lots which made it inconvenient as we had to park on the opposite side of the hotel. Staff tried to make this as tolerable as possible.

    Room was clean, spacious. Bathroom spacious with jetted tub also.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    8.8
    We were in 2 rooms, the second room was larger and more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We were in 2 rooms, the second room was larger and more comfortable. It was in the newer wing of the hotel. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating. The pool area was great, especially for the kids. The gym was well equipped, especially for a hotel gym.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    10
    Clean, convenient, and there was a snowshoeing/cross...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A little dated (but it was very clean).

    Clean, convenient, and there was a snowshoeing/cross country ski trail that circles the property right outside our door.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    7.1
    Spa facilities are excellent, plentiful of facilities and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charlie B's the add-on restaurant really lets the Hotel down because it is so independent from the Hotel. The restaurant does not do justice to the hotel and other guests also seem to go elsewhere for all meals. The food is average and the service is poor. The setting of the Bistro being separate to the Bar area does not work well either. It needs a complete re-think.

    Spa facilities are excellent, plentiful of facilities and very good quality.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    9.2
    Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Extra charges at checkout. Policy forbidding small children from sharing parents room with one bed.

    Helpful staff. Welcoming warm atmosphere. Cleanliness and freshness of rooms.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    9.6
    Staff very helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very helpful! Loved the outdoor hot tub.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    8.3
    My room was clean, comfortable and efficient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room was clean, comfortable and efficient.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    10
    Loved the entire trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was nothing to NOT like! :) We were very happy.

    Loved the entire trip!

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    9.6
    Loved the spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the spa. So relaxing. Professional staff as well. Will definitely come back.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    7.5
    My room was a little tired.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room was a little tired. Wallpaper separating.....time for some renovations.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    9.2
    Everything was great except for the unit itself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Unit has not been updated since it was built, whenever that was.

    Everything was great except for the unit itself.see below.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    7.5
    Spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room location

    Spa

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.2
    Staff were very personal and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff were very personal and helpful. Nothing was too much of a bother.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Friendly staff...very clean well maintained property!

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    8.3
    excellent grounds and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    excellent grounds and facilities

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    10
    Ambience, location, upkeep of property, reasonable room rate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ambience, location, upkeep of property, reasonable room rate, friendly/efficient staff.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.1
    Locatation, and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I thought the bed linens and spreads looked old and needed updating. Other than that the room was very nice.

    Locatation, and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    5.8
    LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    IN SERIOUS NEED OF UPDATING.

    LOCATION

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    10
    the food served at the conference ( breakfast and lunch) was...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    the food and service at the pub was not good at all

    the food served at the conference ( breakfast and lunch) was excellent

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    6.3
    Slow breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slow breakfast

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    8.3
    Physical facilities nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Failed to clean our room before our return around 7:30 pm

    Physical facilities nice. Staff was very responsive to problems.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    3.8
    The hotel was very nice 10 years ago when we stayed, but it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was very nice 10 years ago when we stayed, but it has not been kept up. It was more like a budget motel.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    5.0
    Beds were comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cold showers in the spa, only a warm steam bath, dirty disgusting mineral bath water in the spa

    Beds were comfy

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    7.5
    Spa experience was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The main restaurant was extremely dated and food was mediocre.

    Spa experience was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2015

    9.2
    Room was comfortable, many areas to relax and enjoy fire...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was cold in the conference room

    Room was comfortable, many areas to relax and enjoy fire place. Spa was great

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    9.6
    Room, spa, restaurant, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Price. It was valentines and presidents week!

    Room, spa, restaurant, staff

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    10
    The whole atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The whole atmosphere. Spa beds room staff food.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Guests also reviewed these properties: