Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Stratford 2 stars

242 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102, USA

#124 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1632 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dumpy place. Very dated. Tiny shower. Sink in room, not in shower/toilet area. Elevator is the slowest I have experienced.

    The only thing nice about this place is the location and the front desk personal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It should be clearly stated that rooms have no air conditioning. Forgot to clean my room one day and there was no soap

    Location is excellent. Staff is friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were small, dirty and smelly with old facilities. We got stained towels a couple of times and dusty blankets to cover for the night. The rooms even on the top floor were very noisy from the street and other rooms. The internet was also very slow and disconnecting all the time. Finally, although some of the staff members were nice they were hardly any committed and helpful.

    Well, the hotel is located very close to the metro station from where you can take a direct train to the airport. That the only good thing I can tell about the hotel. Do not stay there!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, the view for opposite wall, bathroom was old, shower had black marks, I had to wait few minutes for hot water, the sink was in the bedroom instead of bathroom, no soap to wash hands, no parking, I had to pay additional $35 to park my car in the garage two streets further.

    Location only

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price too expensive for the small room. Weird layout, sink is outside of the bathroom. It’s inside the bedroom close to the closet.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the lights and the power in my room stopped working one night but they were fixed promptly when I told the front desk. Some of the reviews & photos on here (as well as the hotel services directory at the location) suggest that there is a free breakfast available which is not the case.

    Not the most modern hotel (there are renovations planned for 2019 apparently) but for the price and location it is a good option for tourists on a limited budget who don't need fancy frills. The rooms are old but clean. The staff are OK but not super friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The front desk staff is very inexperienced and unable to make adjustments or decisions on their own. When room features (or elevators) are non-functioning they should be able to make a decision to resolve issues. Unfortunately, they appear to be limited in options which reflects poorly on the hotel. I don's need/want my 70 year old mother walking up 6 flights of hot stairs or be without a television for a few days. I also don't feel begging to get these items fixed is part of my job after paying an enormous room rate based on location. I will never stay at this hotel again.

    Location, location, location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room for 4 very little; in the bathroom nothing to support things; we found 3 towels for 4 people, and so on...

    The only good thing is the excellent position (but if you are with your car absolutely impossible to park and public parking are very expensive).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception is a dingy sight, managed with a few young interns The building is perhaps built in 12th century. Creeky lift ( only one for a 8 storey building) which conked off!! Had to climb 8 stairs!! No AC , fan as good as not there. Poor light Poor quality shampoo and bath gel No basic amenities in room No tea/ coffee/ mugs/ glasses. No restaurant Wash basin inside the tiny room.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, the hotel is next door to a LUSH store, and the horrible smell of perfumed soap, etc. permeated the hotel. Also, even though it was a non-smoking hotel, the 2nd floor smelled quite a bit like cigarettes. I ended up checking out a day early to stay at a different hotel across the street. Lastly, the bed was quite uncomfortable. I didn't get much sleep the one night I was there.

    The location and staff were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location! Super convenient to take Bart to and fro airport to avoid traffic jam. Within walking distances to most attractions and lots of good restaurants nearby. Of course, shopping paradise too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This Union Sq. hotel WAS my choice for the last 5 years. Now, new 2018 owners: no free continental breakfast, REALLY STINKY cheap incense-filled lobby, no heating/A.C., desk ladies were clueless.

    The cleaning staff was efficient and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small but I already expected it and it was clean

    It was a great location a very friendly people. I asked to print a document and it was no issue, also hold the luggage till departure time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 18 nights

    Some of the front desk staff were not as nice - many times when we walked in they kept asking if we were checking in although we had been there for 2 weeks. There is no hot water or ice in the building so you have to go to their sister hotel to get any food, water, etc as they are currently renovating the floor where they have those things.

    Comfortable beds, the person who greeted us when we arrived was awesome! We needed more clothes hangers so we asked her for some and she went out of her way to get lots of them for us since we were staying for three weeks. The location was also excellent - close to all the major shopping spots, union square, transportation all around San Fran (BART, Trolley, MUNI)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fan & light were connected together, had to sleep with the lights on. The sharp edges of the heater tray was left exposed next to d bed.

    Good staff and centrally location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are really outdated (the reconstruction is planned). Our booked breakfast was cacelled without reimbursement. The price was high.

    The location is the only advantage. It is directly in the city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Just one elevator for the whole hotel.

    Great location right by union square and close to BART. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a very musky smell and was very worn. I asked to change rooms and was placed in another room. While the second room was better, the sink in the bathroom was blocked and had water in it. Overall the hotel needs a serious makeover.

    The location of the property is good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room with no view. We can barely open one big luggage. The coffee machine is no longer available and breakfast is no longer provided although we booked the room when it is still available (we did receive a notice informing that the chef has quit and breakfast will no longer available). Homeless people are everywhere especially in the city center, which is very uncomfortable for tourists.

    Located literally in the middle of the city center. Close to plenty of shops and restaurants, the cable car stop is only 2 minutes away from the hotel. Bathroom is spacious but the room itself isn't.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overhead room light did not work, bed lamp did not work, shower was dirty, the heat was switched off at 10PM (the front desk told us that it was a City of San Francisco requirement, we know that is Not the truth, and that the heat will be back on by 5AM, by 9AM it was still not on and when I went downstairs to ask about it, the receptionist acted as if she could not understand English. I had to sleep in my fleece jacket and winter workout pants to stay warm all night, no extra blankets. We have stayed at this hotel several times in the past and loved it, the hotel is rundown and in desperate need of repairs - I guess the "Remodel coming in Spring of 2019" is supposed to be an explanation and have guests understand....no excuses I'm sorry - we will never return.

    the location, right by Union Square

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was dated and the room at times was very warm. They don’t have breakfast now, so this needs to be updated in the description. Yet the worst are the homeless people all over downtown SF. Don’t come! It’s dangerous and extremely unsafe. No police walking around and they are ver aggressive.

    Centrally located with easy access by train from the airport. Quiet room and good internet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the second floor so we didn't have any natural light, which made it kinda drab. And they only have 1 elevator with 8 floors. When it's busy, expect to wait.

    I was participating in the Memorial Day parade so my boyfriend, his parents and i decided to stay in SF for the entire weekend. My boyfriend and i got to the property first and we were able to Che k in for all of us. The rooms were clean and quaint. The hotel itself was in the perfect location- in the heart of union square. We walked to the Golden Tap Room on Saturday to watch game 6, took a 5 min uber to the parade and we walked 5 minutes to the MOIC. Great hotel for the price. We'll definitely be staying there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast was not included as was listed. The hotel is older and no coffee maker or min-fridge in the room, which was disappointing.

    The location was perfect. It couldn't have been more convenient for accessing everything on our San Francisco site seeing list!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very old, ill maintained hotel. Room extremely small, no tea/coffee making facilities. Water pressure in shower just a drizzle. No heating in room. Would not stay there again. Would prefer to pay a little extra & choose another hotel.

    Hotel centrally located. Clean, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small and poorly furnished and does not contain any facilities

    Location is more than perfect for a tourist who want to explore the city! Simply its in the heart of everything in the city!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no coffee,no water,no hot water! we have never stayed so bad hotel in $319/2 days, excl.the location. we prefer the hotel far away from downtown in same price,because we can take public bus to go everywhere in cheap senior price.

    nothing excl.location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff never told us that you had to ask for housekeeping. Early afternoon, I asked two housekeepers in the hallway, to please clean the rooms (we had 2 rooms), no responses. Later the front desk said, sorry, “it is too late,”we cannot do anything. It was just around 300 PM and we were told, the housekeepers have all left. No more service for the day. The rooms were dirty, the carpet was sticky, the heater was on when it was already too hot. We were each given a medium size towel, we had to reuse already dirty towels. This was one of the worst experience. It was amazing how bad the staff was.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked to have been able to make a hot drink e.g tea & coffee in our room.

    This hotel is ideally located in the Union Square area. My husband & I were able to walk down to the end of the street & catch a bus to the ferry terminal. If you take the cable car (which runs past hotel) to the end you end up at Fisherman’s Wharf. The rooms are cosy/small & comfortable. We loved the fluffy towels. Our room was very quiet at night (although the view from outside the window left much to be desired). The staff were very helpful & happy to print out stickers for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    a huge speck of dust above the door and on the hair dryer’s cable

    location was perfect, keeping the windows open was fine as we got a room on the highest floor (8th floor)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely no service, nothing at all, hard to know it’s even termed as a hotel. No drinking water in the room, no kettle, no plates/ spoons on room service, seemed more like a dorm where you’d only take this place to sleep and have a shower!

    Except the location there was nothing that would make me go back to the property

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was hair in the toilet and on one of the bath towels, and there was a blood stain on the bed skirt. Glad we only stayed for one night.

    You can't beat the location if you want to stay in Union Square without shelling out big bucks. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was freezing and the heating doesnt work, we complain on the front desk and they didnt fix it. They gave us more blankets, but they look nasty...

    the location is the best of the Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to ask for basics as shampoo and soap, we were 2 people and these were way too little, ended up buying our own. No cover on bed, we froze up the first night and had to ask for a cover for 2 nd night but room service took it away and we had to ask again! This was really unexpected and I dont understand why there isn’t at least a blanket in the room. Also tiny room for the price. You def pay for location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It says on the website the the price includes the breakfast, but it doesn’t. But there are a number of places offering breakfast nearby, so it turns out not be a big problem.

    The location is very handy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Room is super tiny. - Air circulation is definitely lacking. I cannot imagine staying here during the summer. Wind was cold and pretty strong outside, but inside my room it's still warm / hot. - Bed is a bit too soft to my liking. I like my bed firm. So, if you like soft bed, this is good for you. - Wardrobe smells funny. Maybe need to put some hanging fragrance inside?

    + Staffs were friendly and easy to talk to. + Location location location. This hotel is all about location. Walgreens is super close if you need to get some water or snacks. Union Square is literally on your right side. + Bathroom feels super clean. Great job! + There's iron and ironing board in the wardrobe.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No breakfast arrangement in-house (for jet-lagged travelling, having to locate a discounted alternative location is not easy)

    Close to the right parts of the City

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is SUPER tiny! The pictures were taken in an angle that it's not possible to realize how small the room is! The staff was just inexpressive - in fact, we felt quite insecure as they just didn't care for who was coming in. Elevator didn't work well and during our 3 days stay, it was broken once per day. If you're just looking for a location close to the Union Square and cheap, maybe this place is nice for you.

    It's a walking distance to the Union Square and easy access to public transportation. That's all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of the amenities listed were not in the room, there was no coffee and tea provided, no bathrobes , no premium channels . The room despite being a double was incredibly small.

    Staff was courteous , room was very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would love to have a sink in the bathroom instead of bedroom

    Location is great, close to Union Square and Powell St. BART/ Metro station. There are also buses, trams, cablecar and Walgreens within reach. Multiple luxury stores, inc. Nordstrom are also close by. Area was quieter than expected.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would love to have the sink in the bathroom, not in the room. Apparently booking a room directly with the hotel will give you a breakfast free of charge.

    Location is great, walking distance to Union Square and Powell St BART/ Metro station. There's also Walgreens on the other side of the street and cablecars run in front of the building. The area was quieter tha expected

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There's only one thing that really bothered me: the heating wasn't working at all, so I felt really cold. I asked 2 times to fix it and they went there but the room remained cold. It was not a huge problem because the weather it wasn't so cold, but I wonder what if it was winter...

    Location is perfect. Room is tiny but it was ok for me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is small (I knew about this beforehand)

    Perfect location. Cable car in front of the hotel. Around the corner from Macy’s. Rental car pick-up in walking distance. In walking distance to loads of places. Our room was newly renovated and everything in order.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dining room no breakfast even though they use to serve breakfast no laundry room very small room and the elevator is the worst you can get old at the time it takes going up and down Payed enormous amount of money per night 430$ Although there was Avery big convention in town its not a reason to pay so much for so little

    Only the great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The light fixture didnt work and too late for the maintenance guy to fix it but good thing the vanity lights work.

    Can't beat the location and friendly staff, $7 coupon for hot breakfast next door.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t have any water for the shower or the toilette for a whole 24h. This is unacceptable for an hotel. We asked for compensation but got absolutely nothing for our lost.

    Great location. Our room was small but always clean and mostly quiet. The hotel was what we expected from reading the other reviews.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I arrived to check in at 6.30pm to find a sign on the front desk "I'll be back at 7pm". I was shocked. Person came back after 10 minutes and when I expressed my surprise that there is no one at the front desk for potentially 30 mins she replied "Oh yeah, I always prefer to write a longer time just in case" (??); The elevators are quite slow; The sink is next to the bed and not within the bathroom which is a bit weird; Also, the first day I only had shampoo and body lotion and when I had asked on the third day it turned out they also had body wash, condition, etc, they just didn't put any extra in. Same for toilet paper. Not extra roll, just the one already being used which felt like house keeping was being told to be frugal with things.

    The location of the hotel is right on Union Square so very central and relative to the location, it was not too noisy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room. Damp smell in bathroom and bedroom. Does not look anything close to the photos.

    WiFi was good. Bed was comfortable. Location was convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are spartan but clean. It’s not luxurious but perfectly comfortable as a place to rest.

    Great location, right downtown within walking distance of most attractions. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and some details looked dirty, e.g: shower door.

    Great cost benefit hotel, 2 min walking to market street. In the heart of Union Square place, if you’re on vacations and need to be on budget or being a business conference in some places like Yerba Buena, Moscone center, this place might help you out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No hook on which to hang a hand towel by the sink.

    The proximity to other things we wanted to see on this tourist weekend. Like it was great to be right on the street that the cable cars run.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facilities were pretty bad. Small room - maybe 8x10 or 11? The shower was almost no water pressure, tiles were dirty, mildew, tiny shower, etc. It was overall a pretty gross place. The front lobby was clean, but the new ownership definitely has a problem on their hands. They should spend the time and money to renovate each floor one by one and make that hotel something decent. I don't normally write reviews, but this one deserved a negative, for sure. No thermostat in the room, so it was pretty cold overall. I used the steam from the shower trickle to heat up the room in the morning - sorry for the environmentally unfriendly use of hot water, but desperate times, etc, etc.

    Hmm, what did I like? I'm not sure there is more to like than the fact it was a room with a bed. The staff was nice, but the homeless out front yelling all night made it difficult to sleep. Free wifi was super spotty, and I wouldn't use it without protection.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stains on the sheets, mildew in the shower. This hotel doesn’t clean well or replace items when they’re worn out. I checked out after one night and moved to a different hotel. It has a great location, but it’s not worth enduring this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was not up to our expectations at all. First of all, the room was not fully set up when we first got there. There was only one towel and no shampoo/conditioner. I thought that it was just what it came with, but then our second day they finally added more towels and cleaned the sheets, which was appreciated but we had paid for the first night and got half of the amenities that we were supposed to. The fact that they had not fully cleaned the room or set it up when a new guest was checking in was not acceptable. The heater was stuck at a very high temperature the entire time with no ability to change it and then when we asked they said use the fan. But the fan was broken for the first 36 hours we were there. Also, the hotel said it was non-smoking but there was an incredibly strong smell of marijuana from the room next door the entire time (morning, afternoon and night). The bathroom walls had scratches/a hole and broken towel hangars. I understand there was a change of ownership, and so the hotel first included breakfast but the new owners no longer offered breakfast but the price did not change. I understand that you get what you pay for, and we did not have 5 star expectations, but we at least expected cleanliness!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great Location if you're working in downtown SF and it's also great if you need a place to stay for a great cost. the hotel needs some TLC to make things more up to date.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked hotel including breakfast. Couple of days before our trip started they informed us that they dont offer breakfast anymore but price remained the same.

    Location of this hotel is amazing. Near to the all type of public transportation and also historical cable car is right infront of the hotel. Room has everything what you need.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is small and not enough for 2 persons. The sink is near the bed. The toilet is near the bed. And the view from the window was the window of the door near to our room. The shower was very small. The hotel was in location were all the homeless are and because of that the receptionist close the door in the night. Near the hotel was smell of urin. There is no parking in the hotel and the closest parking cost 36$ for 24h. Sorry to be so direct but this hotel not deserves 2 stars. It can be maybe a 1 star.

    Only the location when was a sunlight.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny. The elevator was super slow and was always getting confused. There was no AC and we had to have both windows open at all times making the room much less private and way more noisy. They didnt even have an ice machine or coffee, not even cups in the room so you could at least drink tap water. It would be better to pay a few extra hundred dollars and stay some where down the street. This place was seriously the worst.

    The location was the only pro to this place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning personnel consistently failed to stock the basics like hand soap and hand towels. They also have a long-term resident who thought it was okay to vacuum the hallway at 3:30 in the morning. NOT COMING BACK HERE.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow elevator; no aircon; room attendants does not know to greet their guests or maybe they are racists; I am asking for a 1pm check-out because of my delayed flight but they are charging me wxtra 50 bucks; a lot of extra taxes....it is like extra 25% for the tax.

    Great location...few steps away from union aquare.5 minutes walk away from BART.Near from different food establishments and bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not clean, no towles in the bedroom, dark room and loud. I did not feel comfortable to stay in that room. Next time I would rather pay more to get a decent room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room would get very hot at times especially at night. When raining it would be getting noisy from the drain pipe at the back. The hotel is located in a very busy street so it can get loud. Get your earplugs! Also the hotel room was a little bit dated. But can't complain for the price really.

    Great location and amazing value for money. Booked a queen double room but got two rooms into one with 3 double beds and two spaces - like a flat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Ventilation was terrible. Room was always burning hot. Avoid if you are planning to stay more than two nights in SF.

    Perfect location, fast wi-fi, helpful and kind staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the worst experience in this trip. Room was filthy dirty when I arrived. Dirty walls, dirty bathroom, trash under the bed and even a lost drivers license under the bed, water leak trough the walls, no air conditioning, ceiling fan didn’t work. Also booked this reservation WITH breakfast, and the hotel did not offer that. Horrible experience

    absolutely nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was way too hot. Very uncomfortable. There was a fan on the roof but it wasn't enough. I could barely sleep. The room did not have AC. Thankfully, it was only 2 days.

    Great location. People were kind and rooms were clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning only a ceiling fan. I wouldn’t stay during the summer.

    At first, my 14 year old son and I were skeptical of the hotel, but turned out to be a good spot. The location was great! The staff was very professional and courteous at all times.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating, hallways smelled, room furniture very old, no air conditioning, shower very small and water flow poor, room very small. Size of room reminds you of a dorm room

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like the fact that after two days staying at the hotel my son walked in on a another person in our bathroom because the hotel gave a random man a key. The hotel had no explanation and would not give me the managers name nor has the manager called me back. I do not feel that 50 dollars off the last nights stay is sufficient especially since we left the same night due what happened.

    The room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not a big deal for me and my son but I can see that it might be a big deal for others. It’s a small space (we have a double bed) but it’s very functional. What I do recommend is having another trash can inside the bathroom (they only have one and it’s by the sink outside of the bathroom).

    Hotel Stratford is undeniably so close to everything SF has to offer. Personally, it’ll be a waste of money and time to rent a car in SF. We stayed at this establishments for 6 days and overall, my son and I had a great time! If you’re going to be out and about, wish to be close to the city, and loves to explore your surroundings without any hassles, this is the perfect place for you. Now if you need more of a comfort, roomy place, and likes to be pampered, then don’t stay here. This place is very minimal and very limited in space but what you get are pleasant individuals with a warm welcoming personality... and how close you are to everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevator A) takes forever, and B) was stuck, visibly, on a cable which made me take 7 flights of stairs at one point. This represents both a waste of time and a safety/health code violation as well. The room, as is typical with hotels in SF of this type, has no ventilation, no air conditioning, and does get hot. It did have a ceiling fan, the lighting in the room was good. If you want to be right in Union Square and can get this hotel for a good price, it's a good deal. Otherwise, move along.

    For a 2 star hotel, this was quite a find in the heart of Union Square considering that the rooms have private bathrooms. Anywhere else in the country, it would be absurd to count that as a blessing, as it is NORMAL anywhere else, any city, to have your own bathroom, but in SF it's a luxury. Room was acceptable, a little run down, bed very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasn’t real it felt like the old dorms that nobody wanted to stay in college the sink was in front of the bed theTV was Above the sink thank god we had a fan there is no AC in the building it’s a few steps above a motel but like I said on a tight budget this place is awesome.

    The price was right for the property and location. The location was perfect right in union square not to far from all the amazing sites. Last minute trip with a tight budget this fit the build

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no refrigerator to keep leftovers. Or microwave to warm up said leftovers

    The room was what was expected for the cost. Being a Texas boy I just assumed there would be an air conditioner in the room. Luckily the cool nights and lack of bugs made sleeping with the window open comfortable. The desk clerk Susan was awesome and made the stay even better. She and my wife became fast friends.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevator is super slow. This might not seem like a big deal, but I was on the 8th floor and every night I would get home from my meetings super tired, just wanting to get to bed - but when I finally got to my room, my key wouldn't work and I would have to go all the way back down and up again. This happened EVERY night even though each time it happened I was promised it wouldn't happen again.

    The location and price of this hotel cannot be beaten. It is hard to find a place with a private bathroom in SF for an affordable price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No computer access to print boarding pass. No breakfast, no drink facility in rooms

    Good value rooms in a great location.Staff allowed me to check in early.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff member who checked me in was rude. The room was very smaller. The television is mounted very high above the sink. You have to sit all the way back on the bed to watch tv. Didn't matter much I want there to watch tv. I hung the Do Not Disturb sign yet still housekeeping kept knocking. Only one elevator to service 6 floors. A very slow elevator that holds 4 ppl comfortably. There's way better hotel for the same price or less. Book this hotel at your own risk. This hotel will not be an option for me next time. Good luck

    I liked the location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't an ice machine or vending machine hotel and there wasn't an air conditioner. Room was very small.

    Great location, trolley was right outside. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Stratford traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: