Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sun Star Inn 2 stars

839 West Pacheco Boulevard, Los Banos, CA 93635, USA

#4 of 8 hotels in Los Banos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 53 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    For the money it is an ok place to stay.
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of road noise. Had to walk around owners covers parking spot in front of my room.

    Ground level Booked six months out for handicap room. They called a few days out saying my room was not available now??!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.4
    horrible
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was filthy! Toilet was dirty and had something smeared on the handle. Pubic hairs on the counter and coffee tray. Table next to beds was filthy! White powder on bed, assumed and hoped it was ajax or cleaning powder. We were very uncomfortable because the room was so dirty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.5
    Overnight stay for sleep only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outer environment quite scary, as well as guests personalities :)

    Acceptable quality rooms for overnight stay during drive travelling Owners are opened and friendly couple

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    A lot of restaurants around the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although it has been "remodeled" , upgraded, the bathroom is still lacking a bit. No towel rack and no place to put soap in the shower.

    A lot of restaurants around the property. Even though it is right on the highway the noise is not too bad. One just has to keep the bathroom door closed. Same for the sun in the morning, keep the door to the bathroom closed or it will brighten up the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    close to all shoping
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    close to all shoping

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    2.5
    I won't go back there ever
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I like about this motel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    3.8
    I will never stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ac unit we wait it almost 3 hrs for the room to get cool they have one small ac air through the window

    Nice screen tv

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Great front desk person
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More towels in room good

    Good service nice place to conviencc to food places. Would stay again if in area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.0
    Never stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs alot of work.

    Easy check in

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    The view of the ducks
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the swimming pool wasnt open

    The view of the ducks

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.1
    Location in Los Manos was positive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location in Los Manos was positive. Easy to find a place off the main drag is positive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    2.9
    Dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty

    Dirty

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.5
    all in all it was a nice stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the end of the property's paring lot had broken glass everywhere

    the room was clean the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    It was comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small

    Location the owner was very friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    2.9
    Better pest control there where insects crawling around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better pest control there where insects crawling around.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    5.8
    Bed was comfortable
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have appreciated a military discount

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Please all come it's rfect
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money, I'd totally go back there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was really nice!

    Clean room and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    10
    A very good quiet, restful stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't anything that I didn't like.

    Everthing. It was clean, comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    6.7
    Convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower towels, tv remote not working and no music chanels

    Conveniently located

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.9
    Reasonable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wine corkscrew made available at room or office would have been nice.

    Staff was friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    8.3
    Simple, clean and comfortable - nothing fancy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no negative issues.

    Simple, clean and comfortable - nothing fancy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    7.1
    Decent place to stay
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast

    Great location decent rooms and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    7.1
    Nice large room, with some furniture
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They really should replace the towels. Mine were once white - now grey, and full of old stains... A lot of noise from the main road

    Nice large room, with some furniture Comfort and warm despite not-so-nice weather outside Fine place for it's price - you get what you pay for

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    8.3
    Very clean, good tv dor watching ncaa playoff games.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hot cold on sink knob didn't work. I forgot to tell them. Also paying for ice (.25) a little wierd.

    Very clean, good tv dor watching ncaa playoff games. Easy walk to dinner. Price was ok.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    6.3
    The manager was nice, the room was clean the bed was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was cold out and the room heater never got the room warm. It was also a bit noisy and kept cycling on and off (which may be why the room would not get warm). I was only there for a few hours to rest my head and nap a bit before continuing on my trip to Southern California so didn't feel I should complain to the manager.

    The manager was nice, the room was clean the bed was comfortable, but there wasn't much else to complement.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    5.4
    The best thing about this place is the owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    this is right on a busy intersection, lots of noise. Super noisy and I did not feel safe hete. Lots of transients next door and behind property. You definitely get what you pay for, a basic bed and a place to shower. If you want more than that, this is not the place for you. I hate to run it down, because the owners are such nice people. the room was clean, however, the parking lot was filthy with beer bottles in the planters and cigarette packages laying around. They do provide a clean room for not much money, so they fulfill a need. If you don't mind staying with busloads of farm workers that fire up the buses before dawn, then you might be ok with this place. I think 2 stars is 1 too many.

    The best thing about this place is the owners. They are very nice,friendly, hard working people. Room was clean.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    10
    Clean, updated facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean, updated facilities. Good TV and Cable with HBO. Micro, fridge and coffee maker. WiFi worked well. Very friendly staff. Quiet. Great value for the money.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Filthy grey towels, close to what sounded like the buisiest road in USA. Needs to be knocked down & replaced. Easily the worst motel we have stayed in during our 5 week road trip.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    7.9
    Quick and friendly check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool was not open but then it's only April. Why put those concrete wheel stopper in the middle of the parking lot? White painted lines would have been enough. I imagine a few cars have hit them.

    Quick and friendly check in. Big bathroom. Decent remodeling of room.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    5.0
    It was cheap and the staff member we met was friendly.
    • Couple

    Minor points: No carpet, cold floor. Wi-Fi was poor. Main problems: Felt an unsafe property. Lots of shouting outside, arguments etc throughout the night. Thought that prostitution might have been going on. Yes, we could/should have called Police, our bad. Waited till the noise ceased, around 6:00am and left, several hours before we planned to. Won't be back.

    It was cheap and the staff member we met was friendly. The location worked for us

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    7.1
    simple but clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    near noisy road with heavy traffic

    simple but clean room

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    7.1
    This is a good location and a very nice ownership.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A little out dated but good and clean

    This is a good location and a very nice ownership.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    10
    Front desk always friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Front desk always friendly. Seems rooms and windows have been renovated since our last stay. Nice.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    9.2
    The price was very good for the quality of the place.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    The price was very good for the quality of the place. The room was comfortable and the staff was great.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    Very accommodating, managers very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very accommodating, managers very helpful. Would stay again. Prices are good.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    9.2
    the owners were very kind.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the owners were very kind. They care about providing a good, clean room and pleasant experience for a good price.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    4.6
    front desk guy was nice
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Sheets had black marks on them, carpet was filthy, my towel which was far from white, ripped as I was drying my back..

    front desk guy was nice

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    6.3
    They write down ALL YOUR CREDIT CARD INFO, including CVC...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They write down ALL YOUR CREDIT CARD INFO, including CVC code.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    5.0
    The bathroom toilet wasn't clean very well it had blood...
    • Family with young children

    The bathroom toilet wasn't clean very well it had blood running down the front of the toilet

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: