Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sunset Tower Hotel 5 stars

8358 West Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90069, USA

#27 of 352 hotels in Los Angeles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 107 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    The staff is super friendly and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything about this hotel is perfect

    The staff is super friendly and attentive. They start to feel like family. The aesthetic of the hotel is very beautiful and elegant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    The swimming pool of the hotel was closed for renovation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The swimming pool of the hotel was closed for renovation. This wasn't notified while I was making the reservation. On the contrary, multiple images of the pool were put forward on the page of the hotel. This is the second time I've booked in a hotel that I had chosen specifically for its' pool where the pool turns out to be unusable on booking.com. The site systematically leads astray customers on such points.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Special hotel which oozes old world Hollywood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Will be great when the outdoor area has been upgraded.

    Beautiful hotel and professional staff. Undergoing renovation of pool area so we dined almost in the foyer which was a bit weird. Food is amazing in restaurant and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    4.6
    Nice, but luxury hotel this is not
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can forgive the tiny rooms and the dirty plates at breakfast (note included breakfast is limited to a few pastries.) No, the problem with this hotel is that the staff just don't know how to care about customers who are not local celebrities. I understand the parties are more important than the hotel, but paying guests should not feel that. We arrived by taxi and had to arrange luggage but the taxi driver was told to get out of the (empty) driveway and park on a metered space. Whaaaaat?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    The Sunset Tower magic !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is too small. I had 3 luggage and I couldn’t walk in the room. The view is amazing but the room is very tiny. I expected for that amount of money to have a bigger room for sure. Also the breakfast included is just the continental one so if you want eggs or an American coffee, it’s extras to pay.

    The hotel is a piece of the Sunset history ! Everything is so classy and not show-off at all. The swimming even if small, is super cute and mice to relax. The staff is very helpful. The restaurant is very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.8
    Noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The terrace was closed and constant works including banging all day and even drilling at midnight . I have stayed before . My advice is when the hotel is being overhauled advise before people book to prevent such a bad experience. Maybe I was in the worst room 709 but it was bad .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    3.8
    The Hotel is going down the deep end.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Pool was in construction. The Outdoor Patio was closed as well. You would assume that they would let you know before booking, or propose you a discount. The Room that I was given had a view on an AC Unit. For 430 dollars I expected a view of the city which I finally obtained after asking several times. The elevator was always busy with workers doing construction in rooms. I used to stay at Sunset Tower all the time. I was definitely very disappointed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    It was a privilege to live amongst the glamour, history, & charm of the Sunset Tower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While our king room was super classy, we did feel like being put on the west side of the building was a bit noisy. Beside the sunset strip’s noise, it was the exhaust system or maybe the hvac system below us from the poolside restaurants roof that made a lot of noise. I think a more southern facing room or maybe SE may be a better bet.

    I really enjoyed the glamour, the vibe, the food, and the staff. I enjoyed the maid service. Our room always felt clean. The carpet looked vacuumed & the sheets cleaned, pillows fluffed. The pride taken throughout the hotel & its restaurant was 100% noticeable in a positive light. This is West Hollywood at its best. The hotel oozes charm, romance, & history. The staff really stood out to me. The valet was pricey at $45/nt but they were all so helpful and pleasant. Matthew & Paula at the front desk were great to deal with at check in. A great first impression for us upon arrival. Kaylee & Andrea in the Tower bar were amazing servers. They absolutely enhanced our dining experiences. Big thumbs up to them both. Aris was a gentleman as well, helping us with our bags and giving us a brief tour of a couple of room options. The pool layout was very cool. A bit on the small side, but it had a nice city view if u sat on the upper tier. It got plenty of sun till late in the day The Tower bars food was super delicious. Great comfort food options. The fried chicken, Tower Burger, truffle Mac & cheese, sticky toffee date cake- wow, wow, & wow. Just grabbing a drink at that bar is so classy. The dim lights & beautful, well-dressed people, will make you feel like your in an exclusive bubble. When your on vacation, feeling transported into unique environments is something most of us strive for. It’s makes for special memories. Overall the experience was great. We will be back

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.4
    Room was not cleaned till 6pm and then things , glasses,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not cleaned till 6pm and then things , glasses, bathroom productscoffee were not replenished Has coffee maker but no cups and teaspoons or milk No parking compensation for guests Just not worth $650 per night

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.1
    Sunset Tower is my favorite hotel to visit in Los Angeles,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sunset Tower is my favorite hotel to visit in Los Angeles, not as a guest but as a restaurant or pool guest. Staying there, I was very underwhelmed by the rooms. It was extremely small, and not up to the standard I'd expect knowing the rest of Sunset Tower. The gym was also very underwhelming. However, the lobby, bar, and pool are to die for.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Short visit but will be back and suggest to friends!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love this hotel. It is charming, elegant, warm and inviting. Really different feel from other LA hotels in which I have stayed (Beverly Hills Hilton and Four Seasons). Also more convenient to UCLA than I anticipated. The hotel accommodated a last minute request to upgrade to a room with two beds as my travel from Europe was disrupted. Late night room service dinner was prompt and good. They also allowed a late checkout so I could enjoy the hotel amenities. Breakfast by the pool was lovely. The staff, Matt, Ralph, and the two Davids were great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic room upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the pool was too close to the eating area, i had to go rambo "fat man" at 6.30am before other guests got into their eggs....

    Fantastic room upgrade....hello...1003

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    6.7
    Room service good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait in resturant area and no one really came to serve me had to find them felt abit bad about myself as I didn't look as rich as other customers same with check in had to ask to be served which made me uncomfortable. :( Old shower flooded abit :( For the price I would of liked a bigger room, newer shower and a toilet that flashed properly.

    Room service good. Nice English waiter. He was kind. Nice valet parking stuff. Bed comfort good. Late checkout greatly appreciated.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.2
    Sunset Tower Splendor
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Additional charges for non-alcoholic drinks and snacks. Very small, basic room for price point.

    Old West Hollywood glamour endures in this delightful hotel! My one night stay in (very) small "tower" room (best suited to single occupancy) was memorable. It was comfortable too. Polite and helpful staff, historic 1929 Art Deco building, 24 room service, free wifi, high quality robes and linens, comfortable bed, and on-site Cure Salon (hair salon, spa, medi spa) made this Sunset Strip hotel a standout! My (very) small but comfortable room had floor to ceiling Art Deco windows and a breathtaking view of dog park, hills, and horizon. "Old Hollywood" glamour (versus natty Rock 'n' Roll style) prevails at this hotel The Strip!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.9
    The location is amazing and the views are heavenly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound of a generator nearby was really annoying

    The location is amazing and the views are heavenly. Best hotel in the area for sure! The staff is friendly and the spirit of the place makes the experience all the more enjoyable. This is hollywood at its finest.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heaven

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Team is awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Team is awesome. Location perfect. Rooms very chic and the clientele elegante!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great experience. Nice to stay at a hotel with such attention to detail. We will be coming back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Amazing stay would definitely come back to stay at the sunset tower hotel when will visit next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not able to check in walking in, had to do an online reservation

    The view from the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Pampered stay in an iconic West Hollywood building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Starting to look a little tired--hallways, bathroom,e tc.

    Staff is wonderful. Continental breakfast exceptional. Absolutely will stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Elegant service, hushed conversation, splendid view,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Elegant service, hushed conversation, splendid view, delicious dishes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The best hotel in LA.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.4
    The Sunset Tower aspires to be the Carlyle of the West Coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Sunset Tower aspires to be the Carlyle of the West Coast. So high expectations are quickly dashed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.5
    bed was fabulous views incredible and the included breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed was fabulous views incredible and the included breakfast buffet was wonderful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Great stay for a couple of nights. Wk detail good in the restaurant. Excellent service from staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Wonderful hotel to stay at. Great staff. Excellent location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    Buzz
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Buzz

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Would recommend it and enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was comfortable but small!

    The Hotel was very elegant and my wife and I where treated so well!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Perfect location, great scene and great service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, great scene and great service! Such a special place!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    This property is a glimpse back to Hollywood's golden era. I loved everything about our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't really think of anything!

    This property is truely one of a kind... we can't wait to get back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service! Comfort and cleanliness of rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    my favorite LA hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King
    • Stayed 1 night

    I LOVE how high touch/personal this hotel is! it is the perfect boutique experience! the service is a 10 out of 10~!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    10
    Understated luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been nice to have a newspaper on my door in the morning

    After 12 hours on an airplane, this was a quiet recovery oasis

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    10
    Classic hotel with great service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service and ambiance

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    9.6
    Sunset Towers is impressive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was amazingly welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    9.2
    Great Experience staying at this Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Experience staying at this Hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    9.6
    The Sunset Also Rises
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A large staff that was eager to please, at times a little too much so. Excellent food at both its dining rooms.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    outstanding service
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing i didn't like

    the staff were outstanding, possibly the best experience at a hotel i have ever had.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    8.8
    The staff was not as courteous and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not as courteous and welcoming But not all some were nice

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    10
    Location, comfortable beds, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, comfortable beds, staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    9.6
    Understated elegance in West Hollywood
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfy beds amazing service throughout the hotel attention to detail of all the staff and a fantastic location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    8.8
    Location, staff, comfort.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great hotel, maybe a little overpriced. They don't let you take pictures in your room which I found funny.

    Location, staff, comfort.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    4.2
    Only restaurant and service in the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They tried to cheat us from the very beginning - instead of Junior suite room for 450 usd per night we were given standard room 14sqm, and the general manager pretended that is what we have booked and that they do not have anything else available. Only after we started calling Booking.com 3 other free rooms 'magically appeared' but still of lower grade that we initially paid for. Please beware of the fact that the same 'standard' room may be 14sqm and might be 25sqm, please feel free to ask for discount, I can not believe 14sqm room facing the street deserves 300 usd per night, and management fully realizes that and becomes more 'user friendly' once you try to involve Booking.com, otherwise very arrogant. Photoes on the site are extremely 'overestimating' hotel facilities.

    Only restaurant and service in the restaurant

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    10
    We loved our stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved our stay here. You get treated so well by the staff, you get the best nights sleep because of the cloud bed and the building itself is awe inspiring.

There are also 40 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43