Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Motel 6 Prospect Heights 2 stars

540 North Milwaukee Avenue, Prospect Heights, IL 60070, USA

#2 of 2 hotels in Prospect Heights

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 135 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    Very good.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking/Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in I've stayed 4 times here and girl at check in wasn't friendly because she said she couldn't contact me by phone although I gave it at time of booking.Said she would cancel my reservation next time sorry that's not acceptable.

    Always stay here when visiting the area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Was good for the night, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its feels rundown and looks old, would be nice if they gave things a bit of an update.

    Was good for the night, clean and comfortable. Cheap place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    have more for your guests!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    More than just coffee for $69 a night !!!

    The extra pillows are awesome the only thing i did not like was the fact that the coffee sucks, there's nothing else available!!! The carpets are not clean,especially on the third floor!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Well, I "LIKED" it. Very comfy & peaceful. Hot water in the shower is AWESOME !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Calling front desk to assure me of a complete housekeeping (requested new bed linens) after the 2nd night of our stay, only to return to emptied trash bins & new towels.

    Friendliness by the front desk clerk

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    5.4
    Rooms are horribly outdated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Kitchenette - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are horribly outdated. Wallpaper hanging off wall. Took a kitchenette. Was informed that oven didn't work. The other kitchenette that was available oven worked but had no refrigerator. Everything is just old. Also some rooms are smoking? Had a non smoking room but clearly used to be a smoking room. Room smelled of cigarette smoke. As did the motel. Wonderful staff nice location. Once you get in the room totally negates everything else.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    the peace and quiet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was awoken by staff at 8:30-9:30-10:30 on a sunday morning!! What the hell r u doing coming into my room at 8:30 in the morning!!!

    the peace and quiet!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for your money
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a big Motel 6, so it’s not the easiest getting your luggage from the room to the car. But I’d expect an inexpensive motel outside of Chicago to be big.

    This was the nicest and cleanest Motel 6 I’ve ever stayed at (I’ve stayed at 5 in 5 different states). The bed, comforter and pillows were very comfy, and the room was so spacious. I’d definitely stay here again next time I’m in the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.7
    Great restaurants just a couple of minutes away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking/Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff wasn't very accommodating, seemed like they hated working there. There was no fridge or microwave and every person needed a different wifi code which we weren't given at check-in. A lot of dodgy people hanging around there, talking through the whole night and making a lot of noise.

    Great restaurants just a couple of minutes away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    6.3
    Good bargain, but I wouldn't bring a family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The water faucet leaked, so whenever I turned on the water, it covered the counter with water. No shampoo was provided. The room didn't feel super organized (cables running around everywhere). Walls were very thin, I could hear some of the very questionable conversations that my neighbors were having (definitely sounded very close to prostitution...or some very good roleplay).

    It's a pretty amazing bargain. $30 a night, large king bed, reasonable location. The room also had plenty of open space for me to put my things. Plus, at least for the most part, the staff were kind and invested (which can be hard to find at these bargain chains). There were also a ton of great restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    The rate is quite good for the location in Chicago, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is only soap in the bathroom, I think should provide shampoo and lotion

    The rate is quite good for the location in Chicago, and the staff is good to change me to a big bed room, and are very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    5.8
    Inefficient staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was inefficient! At the time of check in the girl had an attitude. I requested a 12 p.m. checkout, she was hesitant about it, and on the next day I discovered that she didn't put me on the list for a late checkout by the maid standing at my door arguing and insisting that checkout was at 11a.m. AFTER I explained that I requested it upon check in the previous day. So,at checkout, the same staff person that checked me in was there. She simply said it was her mistake by not adding me to the list for late checkout. She didn't add me purposely...with the bad attitude and all.

    Even though the property was dated, the room was clean and neat....no smells

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.0
    The room was very good it was quiet and very restful if it...
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the manager to whom I paid $25 more for the sheets that my dog had her period on told me he would not extend my stay!!!!

    The room was very good it was quiet and very restful if it wasn't for the male manager I would have stayed another two weeks thank you

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    4.2
    Cellar Dweller
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were like damp, dank basement. There was a foul odor in both rooms and mild and mildew on the walls. The a.c unit im one room was outrageously loud, while the other rooms unit did not work. Very disappointing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.8
    Poor conditioning.. but it was ok..
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE HALLWAY WAS NASTY WITH THE SMELL OF CIGARS(even though our room was anti-smoking, they put nonsmoking room and smoke rooms in one hallway) AND THERE WASNT SHAMPOO OR CONDITIONER THE SMELL OF THE ROOM WAS HORRID AND THE SERVICE SUCKS

    I liked the oxygen

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    4.2
    It was clean but other problems made me not come back nd the...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Kitchenette - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    T.v. didn't work and the staff wants me to beat the t.v. for it to work so ghetto

    It was clean but other problems made me not come back nd the staff was ok

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    6.7
    40 minutes drive to downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Receptionist at check-in was quite rough and mischarged us for $35 but they fix it and everything was ok.

    Last minute travel to Chicago can cost you a fortune, with this crazy weekend rates for hotels, but there always Motel 6. Where in Windy city (well, in 40 minutes drive from downtown) you can find comfy double room for $49?

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    2.9
    Carpet was smelly and dirty.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet was smelly and dirty.. I ask management to clean the room they never did. Mattres are old and uncomfortable.. Definitely I will not recommend this place to nobody...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    4.2
    warm and dry but beware
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was noisy. It had mold in the bathroom. Wallpaper was pealing. No cleanex. No shampoo. It took two (2) towels to dry off. Ripped carpet in hallway.

    it was dry and warm

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    5.0
    Find a better Motel 6
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no coffee, no iron, no iron board, no tissues, no refrigerator, no microwave. Broken tiles in bathroom, cracked walls and stained ceiling.

    There was a bed, towels, sink, working toilet and shower.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    5.4
    Could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Woman at check in was rude; threaten to tow if I didn't know if my license plate had 0 or O. One bed was broken. Toilet leaked water whenever it flushed

    It was clean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    5.4
    No More Than One Night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi kept cutting out, bathroom door would not close fully, bathroom extremely small, tall person would not fit in shower without bumping head, remote control wouldnt work properly.

    The bed had a comfortable mattress.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.5
    mmm
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    no food

    mmm

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    great location for our visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking/Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    great location for our visit

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    Pretty good for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels are not top quality.

    devastation. Was just fine. This was my second stay here. The beds and towels are always clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    I liked the place very much and the staff are very nice .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was just okay us it. Was

    It was okay to me.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    8 outta 10.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shampoo or conditioner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    I love the fitness center the spacious rooms and amazing...
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I love the fitness center the spacious rooms and amazing staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    My stay was pretty good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet quit working and wasn't fixed until around midnight or 1 am.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    Worth what I paid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking/Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't offer breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    For the price it was decent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a leak in the bathroom. Wallpaper peeling, outlets not in wall correctly, run down.

    For the price it was decent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    The carpet must go.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet must go.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Kitchenette - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Snow

    Everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    great time just relaxing and having fun

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Great!
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, N/A

    Ease of check in and check out

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    It was great,and quiet!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpets in the hall were filthy, needs to be cleaned!!

    How fast check in and check out was

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Everything
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    4.6
    Necessary for somewhere to sleep. That's it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking/Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed had a dip in it. It was uncomfortable. Very hard to sleep on. Ice machine was broke and no vending machines.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    Friendliness
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast

    Friendliness

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.3
    The workers being nice and professional
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really didn't like the rugs in the rooms being Motel 6 but maybe they'll get an update one day soon

    The workers being nice and professional

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Warm
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking/Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That smoking near the entrance

    How clean and peaceful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    4.2
    Not a very good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Kitchenette - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had small children with me and they didn't have Disney Channel or Cartoon Network and it wasn't very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay. Would stay their again if in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean room, comfortable beds. Best part, could not here other customers in hallway or their rooms from our room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.1
    Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    4.2
    Not happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was woken up to a bed bug biting me

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking/Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine

    Clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.5
    it was nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Kitchenette - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    my refrigerator was not clean

    nice people

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.1
    Decent place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was visable mold in several places in the bathroom

    The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.5
    The wifi was sadly really slow
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was sadly really slow

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    8.8
    Very nice room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Kitchenette - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    7.9
    No
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fresh batteries in the t.v. Remote

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Loving it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing has been perfect.

    The staff is really outstanding. Nice nice people

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like everything

    The staff is excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.8
    The beds are awsome
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 28 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is not working properly! !

    The beds are awsome

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.5
    Great Bang for your Buck
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were a little hard. No refrigerator in room.

    Very Clean. Great Cable TV. Staff emphasis on Guest Safety. Plenty of pillows

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    6.3
    The price & cleanliness.
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have refrigerator, microwave & breakfast.

    The price & cleanliness.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    3.3
    Ceiling LEAKING ON MY HEAD
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ceiling leaking on my face everywhere! !! Water falling on our face not cool

    Pets are free

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    7.5
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk clerk was unpleasant

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    8.8
    Good staying at this Motel
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wide and clean rooms, kind stuff, reasonable leasing fees. This Motel is close to restaurants and groceries just 5 minutes walk.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    7.5
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Solo traveller

    The property, especially on the outside. As I mentioned repairs were ongoing.

    The bed was very comfortable. However, the hotel was rather old, but it did appear repairs were continuing

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    6.7
    I like the location it's close to restaurants and...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    I asked for quarters for washing machine and got turned down.if you have washing mashine you must have change for your customers. Very rude customer service

    I like the location it's close to restaurants and shopping

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    9.6
    Price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Price

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    10
    Very clean staff were great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints

    Very clean staff were great

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    7.9
    Just sleep and go
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Just sleep and go

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    5.0
    good stuff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    terrible smell

    good stuff

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    6.3
    There was no hot water to take a shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was no hot water to take a shower

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.9
    Price & Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Just be more detailed minded in the rooms.

    Price & Location. Rooms are clean.

There are also 56 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Guests also reviewed these properties: