Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Surf Inn 3 stars

39170 South Highway One PO Box 695, Gualala, CA 95446, USA

#1 of 3 hotels in Gualala

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 371 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    8.8
    Surf Inn is an older but comfortable Inn well situated for exploring the area.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn’t stay in room 103!

    This is an older yet charming inn. It is right on the highway in Gualala so it’s very convenient for exploring the area. The staff was wonderful, friendly and kind. Great breakfast as many have noted. Room 103 is right on the road so expect road noise that goes later than one would think. Beds were comfortable. Fire ring in the morning and evening (wind allowing) is a lovely touch. We would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    2.9
    Needs some updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pictures of this hotel were pretty deceiving. It was old, the rooms were very small,, it needs a good renovation. The price is much higher than what we paid for other hotels in different locations on this same trip, and the other rooms were a lot nicer than this.

    The location is good, the views are pretty,, but we didn't know that the beaches in Gualala were not accessible,, if we knew this we probably would not have stayed in the town.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    7.1
    Disappointed with quality and size of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was much smaller than I expected. There were a small table and chairs in the room. The chairs were not comfortable. The TV remote was not working.

    The mamager was very warm and friendly

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.4
    We liked that owners refunded at least one night for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well the room itself is super small and the bed had some kind of weird mattress topper that was like a bubble in the middle of the bed. We ended up walking the bluffs and next door found a great hotel that was exactly what my wife and I were looking for.

    We liked that owners refunded at least one night for us.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.9
    Room was clean and quiet, with only a modest amount of noise...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not expect to have Internet access outside the motel office. In theory it is available in the room but not really. The motel office doubles as very small breakfast area with excellent WiFi.

    Room was clean and quiet, with only a modest amount of noise from adjacent rooms. No traffic noise. Free breakfast food had a good selection.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.5
    Very well equipped and clean.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was nice and soft, with a feather topper on it. The sheets were wonderful and the blankets fine, but it had a large bump in the middle and our feet were higher then our head. Perhaps some of the other beds in other rooms are better. If you are going to stay here I would ask.

    Very well equipped and clean. Full breakfast and beautiful location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.0
    It was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no comfortable chair to sit in . the bed was too high to sit on. really hard to get up on.. The hard boiled eggs were not cooked long enough.

    I loved the breakfast. It was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Short but sweet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only because we are large people, the toilet placement in a cubby in the bathroom was a bit tight but the shower was huge!

    The staff was wonderful, the other travelers were wonderful, and the view was breath taking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    I would return to this location. It was relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would enjoy more whole grain, less sugary breakfast food. The South MTA bus leaves around 8:30 am, and breakfast starts at that time. It would be nice to coordinate that more easily for the public transportation travelers. Not to do with the Surf Inn, so much but its location and online maps/instructions make it look like access to Gualala Point Park is close/easy on foot/bicycle - whereas it is a little bit more dangerous than suggested. I walked it. The side of Highway One, for this probably 1 mile stretch or more to the entrance, is narrow with speedy vehicles. I would hesitate to walk children over that. It could be a great investment for that area to make that more accessible. There is a lot of nice walking/hiking on the Gualala town side, but the state park and further trails into the Sea Ranch area are an awesome resources - great tourist attraction for the hiking types that like wildlife and beach scenes.

    Location was excellent even though it is right on highway one. Noise at night did not seem obnoxious. Short walks to very nice stores, bus stop, restaurants, art gallery, a few trails, beach scenery right at the hotel spectacular. Staff was very kind. The room was comfortable and had every amenity in a basic way. Breakfast offered daily. Breakfast area is a nice place to read and/or meet fellow travelers. There is also places to sit outdoors where the view is nice. They have an electric vehicle plug in site here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.0
    Waste of money on a dirty room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner, Jerry, was rude and unproffessional. Rooms were filthy and indisrepair. Only saving grace the location. Worst place we stayed this week on the coast and one of the most expensive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Peaceful, warm and more than intriguingly restful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it's my experience things happen for a reason, Karen was a blessing and very much wouldn't have changed a thing in her presence of hospitality nor the state of the property. Everything was fantastic!

    The setting was fantastic, certainly the things we experienced exceeded any expectations we had. The Cribbage board, the binoculars and the NIV bible were some of the very nice and unexpected added treasures within the suite.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.1
    The breakfast had a great choice and plenty of it.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small. The TV was large, but you had to lay on bed to watch it. The bed was very uncomfortable. The bathroom was small and shabby and not for handicap.

    The breakfast had a great choice and plenty of it. The location was great. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Great people, great food, great location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Woke up to a fire in the fire pit and great coffee! Breakfast was phenomenal!! The rooms were comfortable and our room had an ocean view. We highly recommend this spot to anyone!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.4
    Not recommended, left after first night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked two nights, left after the first. The bed should have been thrown out 20 years ago. The wifi was completely unusable. The noise from other rooms was unbearable, I had to ask my neighbors to turn down their TV at midnight, I could hear everything. Overpriced for what it is, there are better options in the area. On the second night for 15 dollars extra I stayed at the Elk Cove Inn 40 mins north which was on a whole other level. The staff were friendly, but I couldn't stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    We had a very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room arrangement (finding a refrigerator in a wardrobe in a bathroom felt a bit weird)

    Beautiful location, wonderful hostess, filling breakfast. Great tri tips and bbq ribs at the market next door :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice Motel with great stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilettes would need some renewals Wi-Fi not up to 2018 standards

    Charming location in front of The sea The lady Who manage The hotel is very helpful Great breakfast on The fireplace in front of The ocean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    We had a great time. Would highly recommend this property to friends and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wife of the owner of property yelling and shouting in the am at her husband. It was very uncomfortable for all guests ! Not very professional! I guess this is normal behavior for the wife.

    Rooms comfy and clean beautiful views of ocean. Larry was so kind :) Cleaning staff kind and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic scenery, great fun! Yummy breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a bit on the small side, but everything else made up for it.

    Karen and Larry—the owners—are very friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Although I didn’t have my dog, some guests did and it seems like a great place for them. Also, the variety of people staying there was unique which made the stay even more pleasant. There were folks from all over the world; families, retirees, empty-nesters, singles, even road-tripping motorcyclist. Great spot, spectacular scenery!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    It is on the water side of the highway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is just a little roadside motel, old, spruced up a little, but still basically a very modest place. Which is fine. In any other part of the world it would be $80 a night. As long as you know what to expect. Our room could have been cleaner

    It is on the water side of the highway. At the end of the parking lot there is a small rustic seating area with a little fire pit. They will light a fire if weather permits. Not a spa or anything but it is very pleasant sitting there enjoying the smoky little fire, looking at the ocean and chatting with the other guests. Also the couple that runs the place is a pleasure. They are friendly and put on a nice e breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful place, very enjoyable, and the food was amazing especially the fruit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very clean and neat but they could have stood a little updating. It was a very safe place to stay and the most beautiful spot on the beach. Besides a little updating and maybe a queen size bed it had charm and was a great place to stay. We enjoyed it very much.

    The food was amazing, and also the hospitality was great! The fruit was delicious. It was a magnificent view of any place we stayed our whole trip at the beach and ocean. I would definitely stay there again 👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Karen is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kids said she needs we're a little in comfortable.

    Karen is amazing. She took care of my son and daughter in law in their honeymoon treating them as honored guests. Many special touch. She deserves a raise!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Relaxed ,rejuvenated and enjoyed Gualala with our lovely stay at the Surf Inn
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good .

    Neat & tidy. Older with updates in the room. Kitchenette had everything we needed.Beds comfy.Toilet & shower area wonderful.Beautiful grounds with Bluff Trail and lovely views of river/ocean. Campfire every night with lawn furniture to sit and enjoy the view or socialize. Patio areas outside rooms. Quiet and the folks who are running the show are so nice. Breakfast that is provided is the best I have had. So many delicious choices and custom made waffles. My dog says ,”Woofaful stay. Begging to go back!! “. Next time we are in Gualala this will be our 1st choice . A+

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.3
    Good location, great nearby restaurants and supermarkets,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds not v comfy. Loud (reverberating) extraction fan in bathroom was quite unpleasant. Breakfast started v late at 8.30am and no toast/bagels although nice sweet food

    Good location, great nearby restaurants and supermarkets, friendly staff, good in room coffee maker

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Great customer service and The breakfast was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great customer service and The breakfast was great! They had cream puffs, rum cake, cinnamon roles, eggs, biscuits and gravy, waffles and more. I slept like a baby because it was quiet and comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had an amazing stay at Surf Inn. Karen was so warm and welcoming. She made our experience unforgettable. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was amazing! Thank you for such a wonderful stay. We will be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Despite the above didn’t like Staff/ owner was incredible he was lots of fun when checking in.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stated above

    The bed was plump and soft but you had to sleep toward its center since if not you slid off the sides The lighting would poor in the way that it is very very bright and the light bulbs hurt your eyes. No matter where u sat they hung above without a non glaring cover on them. Also there was a terrible big hole in the white sheer curtains in Room 19.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    The staff there was amazingly friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we had was small and my wife felt a little claustrophobic.

    The staff there was amazingly friendly and helpful. The breakfast they provided was delicious. Great view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    it was beautiful and comforting followed by an amazing view of the water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i enjoyed everything!

    I liked the amazing view it has by the ocean it was beautiful. I liked the trail it had and how you can stand by the fence and see the water, i also liked the channels the tv provided and the breakfast it was really good. overall it was a very comforting and amazing experience for my first trip and hotel stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable room, great breakfast, right on the bluff over the ocean.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a thing.

    The breakfast was amazing! Everything made by hand and a lot of choices! You definitely will be full after that breakfast. The fire pit is wonderful in the evening, and the bluff walk is short but relaxing with benches for taking in the views. Loved being able to bring my dog. She loved it too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    Great value and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dark room colors but who sees that when sleeping? The walls were a little thin but the hotel ambience was generally quiet so it wasn’t an issue.

    It’s an older styled motel so rooms may be a little dark for some but the room and bed were clean and well stocked with towels, iron, hair dryer, coffee maker. The BIG wow factor was the breakfast - hot choices including made to order waffles. The staff were great - very friendly and helpful and for value for money this was a great choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    Great view of the ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a quant little place with lots of charm. The owners are so nice and the breakfast was outstanding. Great location and view of the ocean. The rooms are very quite. Walking distance to restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    A cozy place on a rustic beach with delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little small and need a little updating.

    The breakfast was amazing, much better than a normal continental. Hosts were very sweet. Right by the ocean and near everything in the little town of Gualala. Loved the fire pit too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    A home away from home, but with a better view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very warm welcome from Karen, she even let us check in early! Room was clean and updated. Bed was like sinking into a warm cloud. They have a fire pit in the morning and evening that you can hang out around. Lot's of wild life, great view. It felt like a home away from home. Great free breakfast, this place goes above and beyond! It's also within walking distance of everything. We will definitely be going back, wish we didn't have to leave.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.7
    Rooms were good and clean and hotel excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unless you’re into the all-American heavy / rich breakfast, there isn’t much choice. The hotel should cater for other preferences when charging as much as it does. It could also provide a bigger space for breakfast so that guests can find a place to sit inside. The rate per night reflects excellent location and the fact that there are not many other choices around.

    Rooms were good and clean and hotel excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Nice, quiet....would definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was phenomenal: homemade scones & biscuits...not the usual run-of-the-mill stuff. Innkeepers were gracious and helpful. View was GORGEOUS! Our room was small but adequate. Would I recommend for a romantic place to stay???Yes BUT I'd suggest a room with a view (they were already taken). Bed was COMFORTABLE!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Come for the food, and stay for the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cozy, warm with great shower. Hosts were wonderful, friendly, and went out of their way to help. Breakfast was amazing. All home cooked full breakfast, danish, cakes, scones, eggs, bicuits and gravy, sausages. Scrumptious!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Great value.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tone down the bright lights outside the rooms.

    Great value. Ocean view. Karen at then front desk is kind and I can bring my dog! The hotel is right on the cliff overlooking the mouth of the river and the ocean. Wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    although there was no beach accessibility direct from the...
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing!

    although there was no beach accessibility direct from the property, it was right on the ocean. We arrived around noon and were told no problem to early check in. The property was super cute and peaceful with beautiful views, Within walking distance to the market, shops and restaurants. The room was cozy, clean and affordable with 2 double beds, 2 comfy chairs and a love seat, a full bathroom and a fully stocked kitchen. Larry the inn keeper was a perfect host. He called all the guests by name and was warm and welcoming. Breakfast was the best included hotel breakfast I'd ever had. It was a full hot breakfast with a wide assortment of fresh pastries, fruit, cereal and other items. the outside public area was inviting with lots of sitting areas and a fire pit which was roaring in the morning. It was raining the night we checked in otherwise we would have been able to use the firepit and I'm told smores are offered. YUM! The p;ace was charming and relaxing and we will definitely return.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    The People, Karen and Larry, and the Location were so awesome!!!! Exceptional VALUE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was super small but we spent so little time in the room it didn't matter. It would have been GREAT if you could set the room heater to a specific temp instead of just ON or OFF.

    LOVED it all. The managers are the BEST. Karen and Larry are wonderfully. They were full of so much information and cheer. Great breakfast on the weekends.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Everything was great
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was after 8am and I had to leave for work at 7am so didn’t get to have breakfast and for as much as it cost to stay I would have expected to be earlier

    Everything was great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Surf’s inn is a great place to stay in Gualala! Right next to the ocean, and close to all the shops!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we booked is great for one person. We felt a little cramped but we were mostly out for the day.

    The complimentary breakfast was really good and the fireplace with the s’mores was a pleasant treat to come back to after a day exploring!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    5.4
    Stay in Fort Bragg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Raccoons in the attic!!! Found this out after calling management about what’s the noise in the attic? They have no plans on catch and release at this time. Guess they found a home. And being it was 8:00 pm with no other place to stay not much to do. Best advice is stay in fort brag.

    Ok access to the beach

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.2
    This is a wonderful and cozy place on the coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    This facility does come with a Sea Ranch price and was the most expensive facility on our recent trip. However, to have a clean room and staff that knows you by name, it was worth it.

    Though our room did not have a great ocean view, the facility has a beautiful view. There is a fire pit with tables and chairs. We even ate breakfast out by the fire pit enjoying the view and the coastal air. Of the three places we stopped on our trip, this was by far the best staff. It is a small and cozy facility.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    Would certainly stay there again, beautiful location and good people running the business.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight plumbing problem and staff went out of their way to make sure it was taken care of and helpful in everyway.

    Great location on the coast, very friendly and helpful staff and a most wonderful breakfast. Staff most helpful and willing to do whatever it takes to make us comfortable and our stay there enjoyable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    5.0
    Would not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room old and needs complete renovation. Shower head broken. Sink old and cracked unpleasant to use. Bed uncomfortable. Not able to control thermostat in room.

    managers nice folks. Breakfast was very nice with great homemade pastries

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    4.6
    Disapppintj
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were met with a hostile hostess at check in which ruined the night for both of us. The bed had an unusual mattress cover that formed a hill between us which we ended up removing in the middle of the night. The room had no space for luggage.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    4.2
    Once was enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One small bottle of shower gel. No other toiletries to be found. For $209.00 a night service should of been better. Room should of been nicer.

    Breakfast was alright

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.4
    Wouldn't go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny. Very dated. Microwave and fridge in the bathroom. Not so clean because it is so old.

    Proximity to the ocean. Manager built a fire. Sunset was gorgeous.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.9
    Friendly stay in Gualala
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blinds were a little broken, and the bathroom mirror had big black marks where the silver backing is scratched.

    The husband and wife management team are wonderful. The beds feel like they have feather beds on them - very comfortable. Breakfast is great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    Recommended for anyone looking for relaxing stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weve never felt as welcome as we did here. Charming place, accepting vibe. Hosts were marvelous: fire pit going as place to gather in evening or for morning coffee. Great breakfast buffet all fresh and hot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    Staff was super nice and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Floorboards coming up creating a safety hazard (tripping). The area had a rug over it, but the rug was also folding up creating a tripping hazard. I noticed some new tile by the ice machine, so perhaps they are working on this issue!

    Staff was super nice and accommodating. Campfire morning and night, and good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.3
    We thought for the price the room would be nice, it wasn't. Another couple there said they liked it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    My husband and I though it was inappropriate to have feather bed toppers on the beds. They are difficult to sanitize and are not comfortable. Just stick to good standard mattresses. Dated decor in room.

    Good breakfast, friendly manager and nice views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    The breakfast was phenomenal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was phenomenal! Karen and Larry were super nice and helpful. There was a firepit and it was so nice to visit with other guests. It was a very friendly place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Wanted to stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, we upgraded our room, and if we hadn't, it still would have been great. Innkeeper built a fire to sit around at night and again in the morning. At night watched the sun set over the Ocean, beautiful!! Best breakfast we've had anywhere. The rooms were very clean and the bed, omg. Wish we could have stayed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    Beautifully located on the coast with amazingly friendly service from Karen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room needed a few repairs. Bathroom door hinges were broken and the door had to be lifted to close it. The sink did not drain and the sink faucet needed an athletic tug to start the water flowing.

    The communal fire pit. Very nice breakfasts. And Karen was an awesome host.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    A truly amazing experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave. There nothing bad about my experience

    The rooms were quaint with big fluffy pillow topped beds. The manager was amazing and really went out of her way to make all of the guests comfortable. She built a bonfire the night we stayed and the following morning. She had the makings for s'mores for the fire that set the tone for several guests to sit around the fire and have great conversations. The morning breakfast was a giant buffet (gigantic!) with homemade pastries, waffles, scrambled eggs, gravy, sausage and more! We couldn't have had a better stay and will definitely be back and refer others enthusiastically. Thank you so much Karen for making my Mother's 76th Birthday a great memory.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    3.8
    Never stay there again, and never recommend this place, as a matter of fact will tell people to be s
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was so small could barely get around bed! Bed was the worst bed we have ever tried to sleep in! Breakfast not served until 8:30, had to be on the road by 7, so no breakfast for us! Horrible experience!

    location and view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.8
    Good location in a run down motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was like an old motel in the 50's & 60's and in bad need of updating. Bed was not too comfortable.

    Location was good even though no access to beach. Breakfast was very good and plentiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Awesome hosts at the Surf Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a bit small.

    Surf Inn is a hidden gem among the various hotels in the town of Gualala. What makes it special, besides location, is the service provided. Karen and Larry make the best hosts. Breakfast is awesome. Do try the waffles ! and Larry makes a fire every morning and every evening right in front of the veranda looking onto the ocean. Bring your breakfast or dinner outside for an incredible view or stay inside if it's cold. And you can walk straight onto the Gualala Bluff Trail just a few steps away. Awesome place !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    another great stay at surf inn, can't wait until next year
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    new owners are great, wonderful breakfast (free) every morning, great way to start the day. home made pastries, freshly scrambled eggs, waffles, biscuits and gravy were excellent also

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful location, a quiet beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was the nicest stay from our 12 hotels trip in the US. The motel has a perfect location, with a wonderful ocean view. The hosts were extremely friendly and welcoming. They were preparing the nicest breakfast every morning, with home made sweets (the best home made eclairs!), omelet, waffles and fruit. Our room was not very large, but it wasn't small either, and we had an amazing view of the ocean which we enjoyed enormously. There was a nice family feeling, all the guests were friendly and quiet, we absolutely loved our stay and we dream to go back one day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful location - our room looked out to the ocean - the room was quiet and
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Age of facility is showing here and there but the pluses far out weigh the minuses

    Breakfast was fantastic---fresh fruit, juices, cereal, eggs, home made waffles, breakfast rolls and more. Karen and Larry - hostess and host work to make your visit to their small facility memorable. They succeed! Gatherings with treats at the fire pit was a special touch. Hosts are remarkable in their ability to make their guests feel special and valued.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    Would definitely return again if mattress upgraded. Good memories of the Surfs Inn and Innkeepers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was very uncomfortable. Need to upgrade mattresses. Both my husband and I awakened with sore hips on both mornings and were restless both nights.

    The attentive friendly Innkeepers were wonderful! The morning and evening gatherings at the fire pit, a real treat! Warm, cozy and friendly. Beautiful, relaxing views outside. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    Great place to stay. We would definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little tight, but serviceable. Tried to sleep in but, raccoons were on the roof at 5:30am. Not the fault of the motel, local restaurant left their dumpster open and they decided to have breakfast above our room.

    We got in late and they left the key under the mat. The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had in a motel. The owner was great in helping us with info regarding local sights and encouraged us to take extra food for the day. Great seaside location, beautiful. Nice bonfire both am and pm.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.2
    I went on this trip to rest and relax - mission accomplished!!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was a little rickety and I had trouble turning on the sink faucet because it was sticky.

    This breakfast was phenomenal!! Larry is amazing making eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, fruit, juice and best of all, homemade waffles. He and Karen really go the extra mile to make things cozy including outdoor firepit evening and morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    The hotel was excellent but will not go through Booking.com agAin.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we got there they showed no reservations for us. You had not communicated with them. Fortunately they weren't full that night. Very disappointed with your process.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Lovely quaint stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very accomadating friendly staff! We had a ocean few and it was lovely! Breakfast surprised us. It had a variety and was fresh. Wonderful helpful couple running the place. Lovely stay. Wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    lovely and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi was a little sporadic and lighting in the rooms very dim.

    Breakfast was great. View from the fire pit was excellent as was the social chat with other guests. Lots of outdoor seating of different types. Great place wit a friendly hospitable atmosphere and hosts.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Hosts were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hosts were very friendly and helpful. Ended up with a kitchenette which is great when traveling w/ kids. Enjoyed morning and evening fires within view of the ocean and great breakfasts!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic room, the view was fantastic
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was spotty from the room, but no biggie

    We got upgraded to the ocean view suite. Very friendly and they loved our dogs. I've stayed here before and will always come back to the Surf Inn

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.4
    Nice place bad room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very uncomfortable the room was very small and the view out the window was obstructed by other rooms and buildings. It seemed like an inferior room for the place and I was not notified that it was.

    Staff was friendly and the breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    5.0
    Better off at Sea Ranch or Timber Cove if you want to relax and enjoy surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms had no ocean view, just of cars in parking lot Very small room with lousy bed, not warm enough covers, holes in bathroom walls and tub, paper thin walls so we had to listen to neighbors loud tv all night Too much road noise More of an expensive truck stop rather than a weekend getaway

    Excellent breakfast choices. Beautiful ocean/river front. Nice owner

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was great. The breakfast was to die for. Larry and Karen we attentive to our needs as well as the needs of the other guests. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful views from the property and a few of the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst part about the stay was having to leave. The property is fairly old and I do not know when it was last remodeled but it could use some revamping and the rooms are small. Other than that it was worth the price.

    Beautiful views from the property and a few of the rooms. The motel is in the middle of town and is walking distance to all the shops, stores, restaurants and churches. The breakfast surpasses the standard cereal and yogurt breakfasts served at other motels. They serve hot food with fresh fruit and hot coffee and an assortment of fresh rolls and buns. The staff is very friendly and helpful. In all of my travels here and abroad, I have never encountered the gratitude of the guests and the heartfelt "Thank you's" as they were checking out.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    Staff (Karen and Larry) was outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing significant

    Staff (Karen and Larry) was outstanding! And the breakfast was spectacular. Stay there just for the breakfast but stay for the real people running it. You won't find people who are better than those running the Surf Inn. The room was comfortable and fine. Many thanks to Karen and Larry for making this a bread and breakfast setting.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Surf Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: