Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Surfer Beach Hotel 3 stars

711 Pacific Beach Drive, Pacific Beach, San Diego, CA 92109, USA

#163 of 226 hotels in San Diego

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 639 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.3
    Great location, right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a musty, unpleasant smell and had dated decor. The bed was big but uncomfortable.

    Great location, right on the beach. Really friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Front window front of parking need a curtain under the other...
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front window front of parking need a curtain under the other the other one . I was not able to open the curtain because it will be in display to the parking lot. First floor.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location, good pricing (Booking genius), but a few improvements are needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The internet was advertised as being "free" but the service used is outdated and very slow. The sound quality for our TV was not good and the channel selection was basic, but it was fine being as this was a beach getaway and only a 2* hotel. It would have been nice to have a microwave. Housekeeping made up the bed, but didn't change the sheets. We were being ecofriendly and just had housekeeping every other day so it would have been nice to have had clean sheets/duvet cover on the bed when we did let them come in.

    Staff was very attentive - even calling to let us know our room was ready early. Pool and location was great. There is paid parking, but if you don't mind moving your car every 72 hours, then try and find parking in the diagonal spaces on the street in front of the hotel. Saved a lot of money doing that. Mini-fridge needed to have the freezer part defrosted but did a great job in keeping the drinks cold.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.8
    We liked the location, the pool, and the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is in need of remodel. It’s very run down and dingy. The mattress was worn and uncomfortable. In addition, there needs to be at least a fan added for the hot summer days.

    We liked the location, the pool, and the staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Amazing Place just next to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing Place just next to the beach. Woody’s for breakfast is just next to the hotel. No more wishes left. ;) We had a great stay. Highly recommend and definitely coming back!! Love Maggie

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.7
    It’s right by the ocean, great location, good choice of bars...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and rooms are very outdated, the carpet in the room looked kind of dirty and very old, the portable air conditioning was super lound and not very efficient. The shower holder was broken, bedsheet inside out on the bed, and on the last day the door lock got broken so we couldn’t get in for like 20 mins. Again, the staff was very good, but for the things above, I would probably spent more money and stay in a better hotel next time.

    It’s right by the ocean, great location, good choice of bars and restaurants around. The staff is very friendly, that was probably the best part, apart from the location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.7
    Location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors, window sills dirty. Fan coated with dirt and dust. Vents coated with dirt and dust. Torn screen on slider. Bright lights outside. Dirty drapes.

    Location and staff. Staff was super nice and thoughtful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    For the Value and a beach front view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the Value and a beach front view.Its was great.The have 2 restaurants .Woodys and World famous adjacient too the Hotel. The location is faboulous,The beach is in front of you.The clubs are too the northside and the southside has a great beachwalk.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    This place rocks!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like

    The Surfer Hotel is “Gnarly” Best location on the beach where all the action is. Stayed here 40 yrs ago and will be back sooner than 40 more yrs!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.1
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stay often and this time the room was not cleaned after first night , the closet had a bad damp/humid smell lived out of my luggage

    I stay often my daughter lives next to it

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.2
    I will not go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was updated and uncleaned. Dark and very old facilities. The location was nice, just on the beach but it was full of drunken teenagers. Parking costa 20 dólares per night. Very expensive room and extra parking. Housekeeper does not appear until 5pm

    The beach

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.8
    Good location, rooms need A/C and pool area is dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of AC makes rooms uncomfortable. The bluebottle flies and the strong smell of cooking grease from the nearby restaurants makes the pool area feel very dirty. Not enjoyable to lie there.

    Location is great. Close to beach and restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.7
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above note

    View Was poor, room was next to elevator and laundry, work room area and made it noisy. Loud portable A/C unit. Overall ok but not worth the money I paid to stay here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a motel quality rather than of a hotel. The weekend when I was there, the prices were equal to a 5 star hotel, but many other places were sold out and it was in my preferred location.

    The location is amazing, definitely get a room with an ocean view. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location, friendly staff, beautiful ocean views,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC, however fans were provided & actually w/ the ocean breeze we never felt uncomfortable.

    Perfect location, friendly staff, beautiful ocean views, lots of activities close by

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.7
    Nice but uncomfortable while in room due to no AC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC, it was dying hot and humid with little air flow. You’d think because you are on the beach it would be fine, but it’s humid which brings an element requiring AC. No AC is what would prevent me from staying again.

    I loved that it was on the beach. I loved the ocean view and hearing the ocean all night long.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    2.9
    this place ruined our vacation because of the decades of filth & dirt that hasnt been attended to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we hated the whole experience here, the place is filthy and outdated. I would upload pictures but conveinently the site wont let me..go figure. this place may be perfect if you are in your 20's and want to party, but not family friendly if you have kids.

    we liked nothing about this dirty white trash trailer park motel. we rate it a -5 out of ten. the place was filthy and unsuitable for young children. do your homework on local hotels!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    3.8
    The only thing this place has going for it is location. It should be demolished and rebuild.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reserved a king bed. Got two short doubles. Feet hung out over the end of the bed. Old worn out furniture. No air conditioning and it was hot. Front desk could care less. Finally talked to the GM and he said they would refund $100. Still does not make up for lack of sleep and feeling like you were cooking in the room.

    The view of the beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.8
    The beds were very comfortable and the sheets clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were NO SAFES, and the carpets were disgusting... YUCK.... I didn't take off my flip flops to walk on them and used towels where I could to create a bit of a layer. There really isn't any hot water in the shower, just coolish. The portable AC unit is their version of AC and didn't do very good at cooling the place off.

    The beds were very comfortable and the sheets clean. The LOCATION was amazing and the STAFF were incredible. They were all very professional and sweet and helpful. I love how close it is to everything including the beach. The beach views are totally worth it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.8
    Great Location/Old Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet in the room was old and worn. Any upgrades they have done over time were done with the least amount of expense. The potential for the property is there. However, they are basing their price on the location. If you want a nice hotel to stay in, I suggest somewhere else. If you want to be on the beach in a nice hotel, pay the extra $50-$100 per night. This was like staying in a 1980's Motel 6.

    The best part of the property is the location. The staff was wonderful and super pleasant. The building is old and looks that way.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    3.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was NASTY! The carpet was so bad I had to wear my shoes the whole time! The rooms were old and dingy. The staff was not friendly and acted put out by everything The sheets were not changed even tho we asked for them to be and they picked up dirty towels and rehung them. We also had no hot water for two days. It was a nightmare!

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.5
    The Beach Life!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC but fans available. Ist room/Jr Suite needed update but a decent size. Small elevator. But these are small concerns except all window screens should be in good condition.

    Perfect place for beach. Back pool area exit to boardwalk/beach. Shower to rinse off sand by pool. Hotel looks basic in some areas but is a great lower cost hotel compared to others in area. Plenty of food and stores nearby. People here very nice including Stephanie!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.3
    Family getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our children slept on the pull out couch and the mattress was not comfortable. Had to lay it on the ground for more stability.

    The location was awesome. Great staff and very attentive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    3.8
    Don’t waste your money -dirty room and unfriendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the bathroom shower was full of hair. The shower is super tiny. Seriously! A a little overweigth person won’t fit. The sheets were dirty as well. We got there and asked them to clean again the room. They came and removed the hair. That was it. We brought with us our 10months old baby who are crawling. We couldn’t let him crawled on that carpet because it was nasty. Full of dark spots. I pay for a oven view room and what I got was a view from the corner of my balcony. Pool water was super cold. And there is no A.C. (that was my fault - but I’ll never thought that a 350/night stay won’t have an A.C. ) Worst stay ever.

    The only good thing about this hotel is the location but I’m sure that you can find a better place for the same money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.8
    Top notch location of a very outdated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small portable air conditioning units cannot cool the room. Makes the stay very hot, humid and uncomfortable. The hotel itself is very old and outdated.

    The location is TOP NOTCH.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.5
    Proximity to beach, price compared to other properties
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Appears like needs painting. The electrical outlets wouldn't work, took second day to get fixed. Pool looked not so clean. Had sewer gas smell.

    Proximity to beach, price compared to other properties

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    The staff was very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very helpful and friendly. The location can’t be beat. It was amazing to fall asleep to the sound of the ocean! I’ve already booked my next stay :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.3
    Great location but room not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very tiny. No A/C. But sleep with sliding door open and fans and was cool enough but heard every noise outside all night and early morning. They provide ear plugs but not comfortable to wear. Went to bed late and woke up early due to noise and brightness outside.

    Location was awesome! Right on the beach and within walking distance of almost any place to eat or shop.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    It was so reasonably priced and in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rug, couch and the comforter. I also don’t like couch’s in the rooms. They looked dirty.

    It was so reasonably priced and in a great location. We stayed the night to break up the trip from Phoenix to California. It had a refrigerator, and a microwave which was helpful. It needs updating and I hate comforters. They need to get rid of the comforters. But I will stay there again if the rate is still amazing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    LOVED the location and the view was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms needed some TLC

    The location is so amazing! Right on the beach and next to the boardwalk. Loved the area! The property seems to need some updates, but everything was clean. Staff was great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.7
    The location is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Based on every other place we’re staying in California this is over priced for the standard of the hotel. Also our room wasn’t serviced until after 3pm each day which was annoying

    The location is fantastic. Literally a stones throw to the beach and many restaurants & stores within a 10 min walk

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Great place on the beach, watch out for scooters and bikes on the beachfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The drain in the shower smelt like a family of dead rats had a family reunion ate uncle larry's lasagna and they all died from food poisoning down there... The pavement area on the beach front gets very crowded as its narrows right outside of the hotel/world famous. The amount of accidents I saw people riding the electric scooters, bikes etc is crazy.

    Location was fantastic, right on the beach. Friendly check in staff. Woody's has great food!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    We had a great time, the location was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looked better in pictures but it was dark, dingy and not worth the money at all. It was supposedly a junior suite but it was just below standard and too small to be a suite

    The location is awesome

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Pool was decent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rude lady at check-in. Family with 6 screaming kids in room next to me with paper thin walls was not at all pleasant. There was no air control in the room other than opening the door to the balcony so it was hard to keep a comfortable temp.

    Pool was decent. Views were nice. Very close to lots of restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    The rooms are run down, but the beds are comfortable and the location and views are amazing!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room falling apart, very dirty but we loved our stay regardless and would stay their again.

    Staff was awesome, room was amazing, beds were so comfortable, loved the private viewing area we could lay out and watch the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.3
    Very average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC broke at 3 am and caused the room to get too hot and we couldn’t go back to sleep. Walls are very thin and could hear the people in the room next to us’ entire conversation. Not very good channels on the TV (no kids channels past 9 pm, unless you count adult swim on Cartoon Network). A hot tub would have been really nice to have.

    Location was PERFECT. $20 for overnight parking was pretty good. Had it been warmer during my stay, the pool would have been great too. Discounted tickets for Zoo/Safari Park and probably other places at the front desk. When opening the slider door we could hear the ocean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice to have a restaurant right next to the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Don't know if it was the closeness to the beach that caused the room to smell a bit musty, or if the room needed a good vacuuming. The carpets looked a bit shabby, so I did not walk around bare footed. We had to have the door lock changed out as we couldn't get in when we arrived. The maintenance man came after a short time and replaced the whole lock and door knob. I think the furniture could do with updating somewhat.

    It is so close to the beach that you could hear the waves as they broke on the beach! So nice to go to sleep with that sound in my ears.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    The Hotel was very clean, Staff were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel was very clean, Staff were amazing. This was our first time staying in San Diego (Myself and my 9 year old daughter). Restaurants were close by and so were some amazing Brew spots. The beach was beautiful and super close.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location and would stay again but I would suggest the hotel add some small touches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked very early - months prior to our trip and requested a room with water views. The majority of the building accommodates this but we were given a room in the corner with no view. A great spot though. It's unfortunate they want to charge $$$ to park - so just wait for a spot to come up on the street to save your $$$. Also no safe in the room which is needed. The staff offered to put our valuables in a mobile secure drawer located in the admin area which they also shared a key with. We declined to share our valuables. Air Cond was loud but we slept fine.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.3
    Amazing location with potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first night was on a ground floor room that had water in shower and sink backing up. We asked for a chair and were given a rusted one. Remaining 4 nights were in a first floor room. Water flowed well but there was no extraction fan so there was mould on the shower ceiling. No chairs in room. Carpet was old and filthy both inside the rooms and in common area. Cleaners did not change our sheets once despite hotels standard practice of changing them after 3 nights. Cleaners did not makeup the room properly on our last night. Left pillows as we had left them. Hotel charges $17 (now $20) for parking per day which is a complete rip off since you get free parking in every hotel chain. No breakfast provided.

    Staff were friendly and location was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    We will definatly be staying here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wonderful stay! The property is right on the beach. We got an ocean view room with balcony.Great hotel to stay with young kids. The pool is heated. Staff is friendly and very accommodating. Most places we wanted to go to were walking distance from hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Bed and pillows were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Walls were thin and sound carried throughout the complex a bit too easily. Showers are microscopic.

    Bed and pillows were comfortable. Location was absolutely fantastic!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    I would not recommend it besides the location, overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpriced it felt more like a motel than a 3 stars hotel. It looks old and dated. The pool area is right in front of a restaurant so it is not very welcoming. Lots of noise but the hotel provided good earplugs.

    Location is great and the view from our room was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    On the beach, the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a used bandaid on the lamp, gross..... maid didn’t clean very well, and there was a party a couple doors down that the people were playing music way too loud and yelling well after 10:00. We just got there after a long day of trading and wanted to hear the beach but couldn’t.

    On the beach, the view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    It was right on Pacific Beach and easy access to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could use some updating overall. The elevator was scary as it felt and sounded like it was gonna drop right before it reached 4th floor where my room was. The sliding screen door in my room was difficult to even open and close so we just didn’t go on the balcony.

    It was right on Pacific Beach and easy access to the boardwalk/beach from the pool entrance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.7
    A basic clean room with a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is an old property and it is evident everywhere you look. The pool area , lobby and rooms. If you know what you are getting before you book this hotel it’s fine - it’s right on the beach and central to both mission and pacific beaches.

    The location is the best thing about this hotel The staff was very pleasant No issues with check in parking or maid service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Amazing!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was really nothing not to like. It could use some updating but it was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Being on the beach was amazing. The kids loved the pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.0
    Our stay was fine. spent most of it on the beach or boardwalk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    the small beds were very uncomfortable and the room was very run down and shabby. broken tile, old carpet etc.

    the view couldn't have been beat and the staff was amazing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.7
    Lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a ‘junior suite’ although I would not describe this room as a suite. The main difference between our room and a standard room was the addition of a sofa and microwave. I’m not sure who stayed in the room above us, but judging by the noise they made it was a heard of elephants!

    Great location, helpful staff. The room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    We had a great time, especially because we could walk every where
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms need to be renovated, carpet etc. Just seems dated . Pull out mattress needed to be replaced. Other beds were great

    Location on the beach was fabulous. Room was good size, staff was very nice and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Loved the view from the balcony, awesome, !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We could have used a small table and chairs inside, but we cleaned one of the balcony chairs and the little table and brought them inside. not enough places to sit except on the bed and for your luggage, so we used the little table from balcony for that. made it work ! The worst thing I did not like about it was, I had to go home !!

    Loved the view from the balcony, awesome, !! Need that same room each time! The Staff was absolutely awesome. If you are looking for a posh brand new motel this one isn't for you. but we loved it. It was clean and comfortable. And who stays in their room in San Diego anyway!! Loved that there were several restaurants right by the Motel, and with good food. The only thing I did not like about it was, I had to go home !!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    This is now our go to spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location, clean. Easy in and out, you can walk for anything and everything in San Diego is with in 20 min drive. Pool has early sun no wind, and or you are Right on the beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Exvellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could have used a chair in the room and a microwave.

    We had a terrific view of the ocean, enjoyed the boardwalk, the ability to walk to restaurants and shops, and staff treated us like family.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks old. Waste of water to get hot, Handel on water valve loose, drain loose, carpet wasn't vacuumed. Candy wrapers on floor, no microwave in room. No glass glasses, no hair dryer, towels old, should not charge for parking when you pay so much for room. What a sad stay with such a great location. I am sad because was so excited to stay there.

    Where it is.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    The location is brilliant for all Mission beach has to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room walls a little thin as the building is not new, so noisy neighbors (dog barking/load talking) were annoying for a short period, but if you remember this is a party location it is not a real problem.

    The location is brilliant for all Mission beach has to offer. The great thing is that the sunlouger area (separate to the pool area) is useful if the wind gets up or the beach gets too busy and you can see all the beach action at the same time. Also great music drifting over from Woody's beach bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom but who cares! This hotel is great!

    Location....right on the beach. Central to everything. Pool is great. Friendly staff. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    Superb beach location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Superb beach location. Don't expect a fancy downtown hotel but this is a comfortable, inexpensive (for the area) hotel and if you want somewhere to stay by the beach for surfing, eating and drinking (loads of restaurants and bars within walking distance) then this is a great place to stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    Perfect Pacific Beach Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were the only thing that could have improved

    We love the location right in the heart of Pacific Beach! We watched the sunset from our deck each night! The front desk is so personable too! The whole vibe is relaxing and wonderful!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Very pleased with our choice. Nice little hotel. 😊
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint was the bathroom. Lighting wasn’t the best and it was very small. A double sink would have been great for three women in the morning.

    Location is great and having parking (even if you have to pay) is such a relief. Clean rooms, great staff (Hi Dannie-‘Carla’) great stay. We were there for my sons wedding so didn’t stay in the room much but I would return.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a little outdated but clean. The shower is tiny and a little dark but for a short trip it was okay.

    Very impressed with the front desk staff, everyone was very friendly. We arrived early and they were able to hold our bags for us. On our last trip we stayed next door at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel, the price is about $200 more for the same location, same views. They might be a bit more updated but I was definitely more impressed with the staff and price point of the Surfer Beach Hotel. The bed was very comfy. The view and location are fantastic, very easy to walk to great restaurants and right on the beach!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Overall excellent ++.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were fortunate to get a parking spot in front of the hotel by boardwalk. Did not want to pay the $17.00 / day fee for parking in hotel lot.

    Kirby welcomed us and was extremely helpful and pleasant, as were all of the staff. Room was basic, but comfortable and clean. Staff very responsive. Right on the beach, beautiful view of ocean. Loved every minute of our stay. Hot chocolate, coffee, tea, and French Vanilla coffee available in lobby. Great location, close to bike rental and lots of restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wow I'm really sad about leaving a bad review. First of all - hotel in itself is fine. I had a king room on the first floor near pool. It was clean. Location is good. Bed is comfortable and bathroom is fine. However a few days after I checked out, I had to ask the hotel for a copy of my paid bill. It's been a week and three reminders and absolutely no answer. Totally unacceptable. Shame because I had a nice stay at the time. If someone from management reads this I would appreciate that someone FINALLY gets back to me.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Great Ocean Front Stay in Pacific Beach
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Interent access was fair at best.

    The location is excellent. The beds were comfortable. We had the double room with an ocean view and it was good. Woodys coffee is next door and is excellent. We were here to surf and Pacific Beach had good surf and Tourmaline Surf Park was a just a mile away and was excellent. The hotel location and good restaurants being within walking distance was great. If you looking for an affordable beach location with comfortable beds this is a great choice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is literally by the Pacific beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It looks like the hotel has been established for a while cause it appears to be older than the other hotels around it. The rooms and facilities are quite old too. The whole thing is like a motel-style property.

    The hotel is literally by the Pacific beach. I got the ocean view room and the view from the balcony is awesome. The sunset by the beach is the greatest thing about my trip. Also, the staff there (I met 3 in 2 days) are really helpful. They helped print out my train ticket.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    We can’t wait to stay here again and have recommended it to all of our family and friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue we had was their room service menu was very outdated

    The view from our room was incredible, the room is big, bed is very comfy! And staff was very accommodating

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    6.7
    good for the dog, stay somewhere else if it is just humans.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very old and run down. needs to be upgraded. The bed was just ok.

    the place is right on the pacific beach. great location if you just want to walk out the front door and sit on the beach. We only stayed at this place because it was dog friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.3
    Definitely a fun place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cleaning was just OK, but came late in the afternoon, when we were back from the beach.

    Location was perfect. The AC unit on the non oceanview units were great, as it would have been hot without the door open. They have an ice machine that is great for filling a cooler and going to the beach.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.9
    Do it if the beach is top priority.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny shower and small rooms Too expensive for what you get. No hot tub Pool needs more heat Needs some work Terrible parking and $17 a night to park. No breakfast for almost $200 a night not cool. Handicapped parking inconvenient. Can’t really see ocean from tiny pool

    Right on the best beach! Close to good eats. Good bed. Fridge Amazingly quiet Views Friendly staff Navigation easy Around lots of good things to see

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.3
    Pacific beach comfortable accommodation with great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location at pacific beach! You can walk to everything you need! View of the ocean was great from the balcony! The bed was comfortable and the room was a good value during the off season. The front desk was friendly and efficient!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    2.5
    Thank goodness we were by the beach because the hotel sucked!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were old, dirty and needed renovations. We were not comfortable. There wasn’t enough on site parking . We were put into a room with a shower was not serviced and almost cut my foot open on the rough edges. The hotel was loud and the staff did nothing to help control the noise. Pool wasn’t clean. The rooms were small , not worth what we paid. We had to demand a new because the quality of our room was terrible. We will never stay at this hotel again, very disappointed.

    Hotel was by the beach. Staff was somewhat accommodating.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.3
    Directly at the beach and by the ocean front walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not the newest hotel anymore and some refreshments would be nice.

    Directly at the beach and by the ocean front walk. Loads of restaurants in walking distance. Easy to reach many of the San Diego sights by car. Nice and helpful staff, clean rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.1
    If you want beach access without luxury or frills, this would fit the bill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first room we were given had a problem with the sliding glass door, but the hotel staff was responsive and made it right.

    Our room had a wrap-around balcony so we could see the beach and the city on the other side.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent get away, would stay there again.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could possibly update the rooms, air conditioning would be nice, and the carpet was rather aged in our room.

    Extremely pet friendly, coffee availible and hot chocolate in the lobby. It's definitely a little older but the view we had didn't matter staff was very friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    A beach lounge surfer's dream...view & vibe without the wipeout
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than a stuck screen on our poolside, which they quickly fixed, the accommodations were superb for the price. I would definitely come back and reserve early to get one of the marvelous 180° view rooms on the 4th floor.

    We felt like the people in the ocean front properties who hang over the balcony while the BBQ simmers and enjoy the people passing by right on the beach. Our first night we spent in a king corner room (111) on the first floor with a view of the pool and the beach and within 20 steps we were on the sand. Attached to the hotel was the World Famous (I mean that's their name) Seafood restaurant and the more hip Woodie's stool and balcony, burger and chips spot. My wife loved the pool and ocean view and I loved the Surfer vibe, complete with 60's hits and bike path right by our door. We ate at the World Famous the first night and shared a 12oz prime rib that was as perfect as any I've ever had and when the waiter brought their carmelized vinaigrette Brussel sprouts instead of the fall vegetables I ordered, he immediately called for them and left me to try the dreaded sprouts....I loved them! Who knew? The smart, capable and thoughtful staff left soft earplugs in case we didn't like the crashing sound of the surf,(really, you go to all the trouble to get near it and then earplugs?) but the next night on the 3rd floor with the view doors open to our balcony, we reveled in every soft whoosh of the sea's percussion and slept like babies in the cool ocean breeze. Pacific Beach has the lower Westside vibe of Manhattan but with California sunshine and endless beaches. Don't forget to bring your bikes, Mission Bay is just a few blocks away and you have waterfront views all around the bay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    4.2
    Would not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled, noisy, very old look to the room, was told it was a junior suite because it had a couch, tv had terrible picture, bed was uncomfortable, too expensive for this hotel.

    Location was good, staff were friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Surfer Beach Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: