Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of SW Hotel 3 stars

615 Broadway, Chinatown, San Francisco, CA 94133, USA

#99 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 695 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    Great value, and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could use some more facilities. Lack of a pool or gym, made staying in one day a bit of a bore.

    The place was clean, quiet and straightforward. It lacked any sort of modern facilities, but overall it was a nice place to stay. No pool, no gym, and no real restaurants nearby, but it was close to a bus stop and fairly central to most tourist spots.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I doubt this is what continental breakfast is which is included .I noticed they had charged my debit card almost 700 dollar extra the first morning ,showed them the account statement,but still it was impossible for the person behind the desk to admit a mistake was done....I told them if things were not corrected I had to call the bank and tell the bank that there was done an unauthorized charge to my account. After three days stay I was reimbursed for the unauthorized charge amount,and none told me they were sorry for the inconvenience. Not good.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Clean, friendly, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No common area except lobby to sit with fellow travelers.

    Good location and very clean. Staff friendly. One suggestion would be a place that guests could sit and talk. They have a wonderful parlor near the breakfast room however is was closed after breakfast and did not have access throughout our stay. Location was easy to walk to several neighborhoods. Would definitely go back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Will visit again as we love this part of the city and SW Hotel is right in the heart of it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you are a light sleeper, as for a room that doesn't face the street as it'll be much quieter, especially on weekends.

    Room spacious and clean, loads of hot water. Good bed and pillows too. Had aircon. Wifi not great in the room we were in but ok in most other parts of the hotel. Location is great, lots of good restaurants and nightlife within a couple of minutes walk. You're basically in Chinatown. Staff very helpful in arranging shuttles to airport etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    - Friendly and accommodating staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The entrance to the garage in the basement is pretty tight. One should be careful if his/ her car is bigger

    - Friendly and accommodating staff - Comfortable rooms kept very clean - Location is excellent with lots of very close touristic attractions in walking distance, not to mention good restaurants

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.8
    Basic and a little noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of street noise in our room, massive party happening outside and we could hear a lot of it even with the windows closed. We were on the third floor and there was also some kind of party happening above us, a lot of stomping and thudding noises coming through the ceiling. For the amount we paid it was also very basic. The room was nice but there was no room service, you can't even call down to reception. In all the room and some reception staff and cleaners were nice but that didn't make up for the experience.

    Cleaners and some reception staff were very friendly. Room was clean and comfortable apart from the noise.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    The location was perfect, close to the city center and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not impressive - dry toast and cake. Although is was complementary it could be spiced up.

    The location was perfect, close to the city center and Fishermans wharf - a 10 min walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel in a convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No complaints really.

    The room was quite large and comfortable. The cleaning services were good. Breakfast was basic efficiently served. Location is great as it is midway between Fisherman's wharf and Union square so walking in either direction takes 15 mins. Staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Good convenient stay in the middle of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    More real fruit for breakfast. Very little contact with hotel staff.

    Location was very good for us. Price was a bit high, but decent relative to the market. Breakfast was good. Parking a bit expensive ($35 per night, until 11am next morning only), but more convenient than the nearby public parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    3.8
    Underwhelmed and overcharged.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was an additional $35 charge not disclosed ahead of time. The tv and Wi-Fi didnt work for our stay and the room was very cramped and somewhat dated.

    Location was decent in China town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location, spotless hotel, a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is located on the border between North Beach and Chinatown. A short walk around the corner puts you on Grant Avenue, one of Chinatown's two main streets. And from there it is a pleasant downhill walk into Union Square. And, of course, many excellent Chinese restaurants are nearby. Crossing Broadway, the street the hotel is on, you are in the heart of North Beach, the city's historic Italian neighborhood. A neighborhood with a totally different character, of course, from Chinatown, and a beautiful neighborhood it is. Walking down Columbus Avenue past the cable cars will lead to Fisherman's Wharf. A very touristy area which is cheapened by much shallow gaudiness. But the walk there is nice. And of course there's Telegraph Hill too. The hotel, when I was there, was immaculate. And everything was in conservative good taste. The breakfast sufficed, enough to get started in the morning, but nothing great. There interior generators which can create some noice. If that is the case, and it bothers you, just ask for another room and the desk clerk will gladly accomodate you. My room was spotless and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    5 STARS for SW HOTEL!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk staff at this hotel is phenominal. The room was very neat & clean. The location was perfect as we spent the entire time in Northbeach & were able to walk to the local restaurants & bars. 5 STARS for SW HOTEL!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant surprise....clean was great ...location great breakfast nice touch would recommend and
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was pretty hard and it felt like the springs were poking into me . Otherwise it was very pleasant although I had to meet with a client and it would have been more comfortable if the breakfast area behind the door was available

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Great location, and friendly helpful staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Central location in Chinatown. Less than 10 minutes walk to Quince or Coi. It is safe to walk back to hotel after dinner. We have so much pleasure to explore Chinatown because this hotel is so close to everything. Hotel room is clean and functioning like other comparable 3 stars hotel, but has better price. Don't miss the included breakfast and you will find interesting stories of the hotel owner right outside of the dinning hall. Hotel staff is supper friendly and very helpful to point out where you can find the best and bargain food in Chinatown.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Great location with good bus connections across town, just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    availability of a kettle and cups (china) to make tea in our room.

    Great location with good bus connections across town, just out the front door. Loved the Chinatown feel and bustle.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    Good value, nice staff great central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was just ok and there definitely needed to be a kettle or coffee maker with cups in the room.

    For San Francisco the hotel was good for the price. Small but clean rooms, great location.we had a room facing broadway on the top floor and noise was not a problem.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.6
    I will keep this hotel in mind for next year’s GDC stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s kind of annoying to have to sign into their internet over and over when you leave the premise. The breakfast could have a little more variety with protein or vegetables.

    A good location, though it was difficult at first to find the garage since it’s kind of difficult to spot while driving. The staff was accomodating and helpful when people needed to come back to the hotel room, but couldn’t get in. They let me make a list of approved people to let into the room. There are a wide variety of restaurants near by and it’s only a 15-20min walk to the Moscone Center from there. The room was spacious and had a mini fridge to store food in. They also let us have an extra cot for a little bit extra. It was also nice to have a free breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    Very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very clean. Very quiet. Good location. Great water pressure and hot water. Iron, ironing board. Free continental breakfast. Great location on the boarder of Chinatown and North Beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Good place, price and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Need to inform the parking price. The price was good but I new it only when I arrived.

    Good location and convenient private parking with elevator to the hotel rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Really clean hotel in a convenient location—would stay again, definitely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If only there were a little more of the usual equipment in hotels, e.g. a kettle or cups in the room would've been really nice (they had an iron though, which is... a rare amenity, but quite useful too?) Breakfast was a little bit basic, so that could be a drawback if it's important for you. But I didn't care much for breakfast, especially that there were many other cafes around in the area.

    SW Hotel was a wonderful stay. The location is in the middle of a lively & safe area in Chinatown, just a few steps away from the famed City Lights bookstore. There are several bus stops close by and it was really convenient in my opinion to get to the tourist destinations around in SF (if you don't mind talking the bus, or even walking 15-20 minutes). Really excellent restaurants close by. The staff was really nice and helpful with the questions I asked. As for the main service, i.e. the room, it was really clean, the bed comfy, and the facilities just looked quite new in general. And the hotel smells really nice!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Location, location, location! North Beach and Chinatown at your feet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central core rooms have windows that are directly across from one another. Part of the historic architecture but disconcerting to a non-city dweller accustomed to few neighbors.

    If you come at Lunar New Year, expect to hear firecrackers all the time. Noisy but all part of the experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Great location and service. Very clean rooms and wonderful neighbourhood.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There's nothing I didn't like! Nice improvements could be: fresh fruit, even just whole apples, at breakfast, and a kettle in each room.

    Wonderful staff, very clean and comfortable room. The hotel is just a few blocks from the Montgomery BART station, which is very convenient. In the neighbourhood there are delicious Chinese/Vietnamese/Thai restaurants at all prices, cozy Italian cafes, and the great City Lights bookstore. I already recommended this hotel to a few friends planning to visit SF this year.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff was very accommodating re:places to eat, see and informative about different modes of transportation. The hotel was immaculate, lobby, hotel room and especially the bathroom. Continental breakfast offered more variety than most hotels.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    Very good value for your money and good location easy to reach
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    building was too dark and no sound isolation, I could hear everything and had the bad luck that the person in the room next to me was shouting like if she was angry or fighting all the time.

    personnel very kind, clean facilities, cartoon plates and cups

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.9
    Taking everything into consideration, this hotel is good and convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights

    It is quite noisy during the night. There is a Karaoke bar downstairs.

    This hotel is in China Town. If you want to try some Chinese food or visit Chinatown, it is super convenient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Best place to stay, right on the border between Chinatown and Little Italy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing. I liked everything. (Maybe would have welcomed some hot Chinese porridge added to the breakfast buffet.)

    The front desk staff were especially helpful. My partner got sick, and one woman at the front desk was very solicitous and helpful. Plus we always got smiling, helpful responses to questions and recommendations for places to eat or buy things.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.1
    Clean, quiet and comfortable in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast buffet disappointing, parking was $35 per day in their garage. Room a little on the small side.

    Hotel is located in a great area right on the edge of China Town and close to the piers, North Beach (great Italian food) and the Financial District. Very easy to walk to everything close by. The included breakfast was poor in our taste: it included 4 cereals, various processed factory bread items for toasting and butter, peanut butter, cream cheese and jam; milk, juice, coffee (all low grade); the one redeeming thing on the buffet were the hard boiled eggs. Room was a bit on the small side but clean and quiet. Water was hot with good pressure and the free wifi worked in the room. Parking was in their garage which was mostly empty and easy to come and go from during the day for an extra $35 per day. I wish they would ditch the free breakfast and include parking in the room rate.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive parking.

    Really expensive to park here, but the hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly! We were hardly here so it was a nice place to rest our heads.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    It's the second time we've stayed here in a few years, and it remains first rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff is incredibly friendly, the location bordering Chinatown and North Beach is much more interesting than staying (for example) in Union Square, it's quiet, clean, with a decent breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Comfortable, clean, great location, nice Continental breakfast buffet included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Paid extra because of a big convention in San Francisco, but a bargain. Location perfect for our needs. Spotless quiet room, beds comfortable. Extensive continental breakfast buffet included.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Very Clean / Neat, up and coming part of the city.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Noise level through exterior windows from outside patrons was very high at times. - Suggest the property upgrade. HOWEVER, using earplugs (common in travel) was a fine fix.

    Very Clean / Neat, up and coming part of the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.3
    Well maintained rooms to come back to after a day out and about.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit disappointing; but generally would head out to somewhere scenic for that anyway. Air conditioner in the room was noisy when I wanted to cool the room down; but this was only for 15 min or so when returning from a day out, then the room kept temp well.

    The room was very clean, as too was the bathroom which was a major positive. The staff were friendly, helpful and always smiling. Bunch of great restaurants near by, and really not to far from anywhere in San Francisco.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.9
    The location was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was very good. Walking distance to all main tourist areas and Hop on/Hop off bus stops. Don't expect something fancy and you will enjoy your stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Will recommend to friends and family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed platform could be more substantial. The parking rate was high for a 2 night stay.

    The location was perfect- well within walking distance of Little Italy and North Beach. Public transportation was 2-3 blocks away. Will definately stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit chaotic when the coach party all arrived at the same time. Great when only a few people but need to sort busy breakfast times.

    Close to China Town and public transport and the parking garage was great when we picked up our car.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.1
    An experience for tourists, not a business hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could hear conversations in other rooms. Very thin walls.

    Great location at the edge of Chinatown and North Beach. Parents should know that several adult clubs are a block away and the area seems popular for bachelor and bachelorette parties

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.0
    Really good but room was noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is really noisy! The walls are like paper so you can hear everything through them. Coughing from the next room and even the telly.

    Nice to have breakfast included, and a fab location!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    pleasant, comfortable with easy access to all activities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very limited wardrobe space in the room, paper plates at breakfast, a hot water kettle in the room would have been nice.

    room cleaned daily, big comfy bed, reception staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast adequate but basic, easy location for all activities. An iron and ironing board in the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    We were very happy with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was left wanting, so we mostly got breakfast outside the hotel.

    Everything is absolutely perfect if you only plan to just use the hotel for sleeping. It's nothing fancy but the location is fantastic, it's walking distance to everything, but if you feel like taking Uber then it's not too expensive either.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Awesome hotel fpr the price.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place so not a lot to dislike.

    Awesome hotel fpr the price. Feels like the smaller small hotels in Europe. It's not the Rotz, but a great value for the money. Location is great - tons of shoppping and restaurants, basically smack between Chinatown and Little Italy. I felt safe on the street as a single woman traveling alone. I didn't see any homeless, so quite different from stays near a union sq or off market where I usually stay. Room very big for the price. Dated furnishings but interior room is very quiet. Staff wonderful. I'm a single female and I feel safe - there's a big police station around the corner next to the North Beach Parking garage. The hotel dies 35/day parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.3
    Good location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The surrounding area can get seedy at night time. We didn't mind, but some travellers may not enjoy it.

    Location was great. Close to Chinatown and could walk to Fisherman's Wharf & Union Square. Not a short walk but if you enjoy walking through new cities then this hotel is perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    5.0
    I will never recommend friends to stay in this hotel in future
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we don't get what we have paid. Not even providing a boiling water kettle in the room, no slipper, toothbrush, shower gel, drinking water, laundry bag, safe box etc

    only the location and staffs were friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Good value property with a prime location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bad comments to make.

    Quite corner room, perfect location to both North Beach & Chinatown. Good restaurants and bars near by. short walk to the Wharf and the bar station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.9
    A comfortable stay in a clean no-frills hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The lack of tea/coffee maker in room.

    The junior suite was light and spacious, suitable for a family of five. The hotel was quiet with polite helpful staff. The continental breakfast included was simple but adequate with a large breakfast room so we never had a problem finding a table.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.9
    Great option for a more budget stay in San Fran
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a little smaller than expected and thee was poor water pressure in the shower. No laundry service but there was a coin laundry nearby that we used.

    We were happy with our stay at SW Hotel. It was in a great location half way between Union Square and Fisherman's Wharf (20 minute walk to either), right on the border of vibrant Chinatown and Little Italy. We enjoyed exploring the restaurants and food places nearby. A basic breakfast of pastries, cereal, toast, fruit, hard boiled eggs, coffee and juice was provided. The staff were nice and helpful. We got the room we asked for, it was clean and of a reasonable size (not the biggest though!). The hotel has a nice oriental decor. I would recommend SW Hotel if you are looking for a cheaper option outside of expensive Union Square.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.3
    The SW hotel was very clean and staff was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The complimentary breakfast was less than expected. Was extremely noisey outside on the Main Street until at least 2am. I am assuming a different room location would help the noise level

    The SW hotel was very clean and staff was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay at the SW.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little disappointing. Fresh fruit would be a great addition to the breakfast offerings.

    The SW was in an excellent location--lots of great restaurants within a couple of blocks. Many of the attractions that we came to see were about a 15-20 minute walk. Staff was very helpful in storing luggage for our early check-in, arranging the airport shuttle, and answering questions about the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.6
    Overal experience was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outside of hotel was being renovated and construction noise started around 8a.m.

    Great location and is right in Chinatown and staff was willing to help in anyway. They kept our luggage after we checked out until we could be picked up.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    5.8
    CHINESE MINIMALISM
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor breakfast, no wardrobe (!) in the room, the facilities in general need to be renovated

    The best things about SW Hotel is its great location and excellent wi-fi connection

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.3
    - very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - room are not well sound isolated - breakfast could have more variety - room 312 has no street view

    - very helpful staff - location - luggage store service is excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Super friendly and helpful staff, went above and beyond!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. Everything was wonderful. Will definitely stay here again.

    Super friendly and helpful staff, went above and beyond! They stored luggage since our flight arrived very early before room was ready. Breakfast every morning with hard boiled eggs, several types of breads and cereals, juice, milk, coffee and fruit. Large eating space. Bed comfy and large, ice machine easy to find and use. Several maps in lobby. Location was perfect, right in middle of Chinatown, 10 min walk to downtown, north beach, and 15-20 min walk to Fisherman's Wharf.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.3
    Parking not included
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is not included. They advertise parking for guests only as an "amenity" but fail to mention that it's $35. Way overpriced but you're paying for location.

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    Very pleasant and would recommend to anyone looking for a nice place to stay at a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bed was hard, which I like but my spouse and most do not. The continental breakfast could have had a few more choices. Was basically bread for toast, hot hard boiled eggs, cereal, and fruit cocktail. One day had English muffins. A few other days plain bagel. I thought fresh fruit and possibly yogurt would be a nice addition.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel was very clean. Centrally located so we could walk to any main area of attraction we liked.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    1st trip to San Fran
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls a little thin with old structure. We were on floor #3 and heard people on floor and above on#4.

    Staff was friendly and very helpful. Location is close to all major sites. You can book tours from front-desk. Breakfast was adequate to start your day. Coffee perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.9
    The bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No storage for clothes only a very small closet with hanging space. Carpet in hallways very hard to drag luggage over when arriving and departing. No coffee available other than breakfast time.

    The bed was comfy. The shower was hot Room and hotel very clean Staff plesant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.9
    Very handy for buses and easy 20 min to walk downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One lady staff member was excellent, very helpful, while a man was taciturn and hard work to deal with.

    Very handy for buses and easy 20 min to walk downtown

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    Great value with a wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The continental breakfast is nothing to get too excited about. Very basic. I usually pass because there are so many nice bistros in North Beach within walking distance.

    This hotel is an incredible value when compared to some of the larger chain hotels just a few blocks away. The hotel is very clean. It has its own parking lot. And the location is in an ideal spot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    6.7
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy area. Old building with poor noise insulation. Old windows. Poor breakfast.

    Great location. Fair price for San Francisco. Comfortable rooms. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.3
    A good value, and well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was small (we had a room with 1 queen bed). The noise from other rooms was bothersome, at times - until we kept the fan on to drowned out the other noises. The breakfast is pretty basic: breads, juices, cereals, and hard boiled eggs. Would be nice if there was a safe in the room.

    The place was very clean. Well maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful. For us, it was a great location. It is right on the edge of Chinatown and Little Italy. A good value. We would stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    SW Hotel (2nd-time) and good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi was sporadic at times and I had to resort to using my iPhone's HotSpot upon occasion. But when it worked, it was good.

    Queen bed good sized, but a bit hard since its a platform frame. I didn't use the breakfast this time. Quieter this time than last time (bonus).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    The staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their breakfast wasn't the greatest. I think if they would have just added some bagels and fresh fruit instead of canned food it would have been good. Other than this we loved our stay at The SW.

    The staff was very friendly. Every time we came back they would greet us and ask how our day was.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.1
    The location is hard to beat and the staff were fairly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lack of room safes - this is a basic feature for most hotels so it's a reasonably expectation that they will be present. The quilt for the bed is made of a satiny fabric that was weird and uncomfortable for a hotel. My room also smelt really musty - like it had never been aired.

    The location is hard to beat and the staff were fairly helpful to all questions. For the price this is a reasonable option, particularly given the location. The bathroom was large and well stocked and the furniture in the room was well made. Bed was super comfy and the sheets themselves were nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    2.5
    I'll never stay there again
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room smelled bad BED BUGS got bit up no facial tissue box empty stains on bed cover skirt rug dirty needs shampoo mold in shower no public facilities upon arrival

    nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.8
    The rooms are a little spare and some are on the small side,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are a little spare and some are on the small side, but very clean, excellent value, and the central location is very convenient. The staff are courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    7.9
    The staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little small and the price was a little much for what we got but it is San Francisco.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was in the middle of china town which was both enjoyed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    8.3
    Bed set on a beautiful wood frame but it was quiet noisy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed set on a beautiful wood frame but it was quiet noisy getting in and out of bed. Also would like to see some brewed decaf coffee as well as yogurt and fruit at the breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay little pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Include detailed procedure for finding and getting into the parking I'm no from the area so it was confusing for me

    I liked that they were flexible with the parking and helpful on the phone

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.6
    wonderful location, great staff, we had a wonderful time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not mind parking myself since it was easy but a bit pricey considering you park your self

    the staff was very friendly and helpful, location was great

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have benefitted from proper plates and cutlery

    We had a king room - it was absolute luxury after the previous hotel we stayed inside very comfortable bed with lovely fluffy pillows and a lovely big bathroom and a bath. Free breakfast was pretty basic but it was a niceness option to have. Great location - I'd stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    9.6
    The room felt like coming home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower drain was a little clogged. The heater didn't seem to work (I turned it up to 70, but the thermostat still read 62 in the morning). I wished there had been a bathrobe to use, especially since the room was cold. It was also really noisy outside. I wish there were complimentary ear plugs. That said, this still might be my favorite hotel I've ever been to in the U.S. I'd like to come back.

    The room felt like coming home. Very comfortable. Almost everything I needed was there. I was grateful for the hair dryer, that there were two bars of soap (one for the sink and one for the shower), and there were even instructions for how to use the shower! The accent chair was especially comfy. I spent a lot of time lounging in it. I was also grateful for the extra blanket. Oh, and the location was great!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    6.7
    Nice location, greats room, disgusting breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was absolutely disgustingly awful. I am used to the cheapest budget hotels in London and this one topped their "standards" by a lot. Paper plates, disgusting eggs, etc...

    The room was good, nice bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    7.9
    Value for money in a great spot with a few weird ticks...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They straight up refused to print a ticket that I needed urgently, sent me to a closed copy place and ultimately cost me 2 hours and 100 bucks because I missed my connection... All this because of the supposed security risk of opening a damn PDF... Yeah cos we're all out to hack your very important hotel records... Just how many eggs do lower class executives eat for breakfast anyway???

    Big clean room with nice bathroom all in a great location between Chinatown and what must be the Italian quarter.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location, friendly staff, clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very basic, but since I already new that based on reviews it was fine; good for just a simple bite. Surprisingly good coffee though! Rooms are noisy, so do prepare for an unwanted intimate relationship with your neighbours

    Very friendly and helpfull staff, clean hotel and room, excellent location, comfy bed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    9.6
    Chinatown gem. Serenity in the heart of a celebration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a little uncomfortable.

    Loved the location in the heart of Chinatown. We went during the Chinese New Year celebration. All the fun and celebration was right outside our hotel, yet inside the hotel was calm and peaceful. Staff was very friendly and the decor was beautiful. Complimentary breakfast had a lot of variety. Lots to do and see walking distance. We saw a show at the Great Star Theater and grabbed dinner at Begoni Bistro (accross from the theatre (3 minute walk from hotel). In the morning, we walked one block to Russian Hill and enjoyed old world coffee with the locals at Cafe Trieste.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location on the boundary of Chinatown and Little Italy, easy walk to very good Chinese restaurants (one across road) and a great Italian restaurant on next corner. The staff were very friendly as we needed help getting around SF. It was clean, the rooms were a good size and we certainly did not experience any loud noises.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: