Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Swissotel Chicago 4 stars

323 East Wacker Drive, Chicago Loop, Chicago, IL 60601, USA

#69 of 146 hotels in Chicago

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 623 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Paid WiFi

    5.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Loved the hotel, and the location and loved our room. Had a great weekend :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not included, would have been a nice touch for the price we paid - even a simple breakfast of toast, fruit, coffee and juice would have been perfect. Also, a shuttle to the airport, (even if there is a charge) would be a nice addition to your services.

    Beautiful hotel, lovely room, comfie bed! The view was great - partial lake view. Walking distance to the river and lake. Super close to everything we wanted to do (walking, shopping, cycling). Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    We had a wonderful time at the Swissotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Free breakfast to be added :)

    We had a wonderful time at the Swissotel. Before arrival another family member decided to join us and it was all processed perfectly - the room type was changed and no additional fees applied. Wi-fi is free and the connection is good. Breathtaking views. Perfect room service. Close to everything. We loved the quiet and beautiful Lake Shore East Park that a 2-minutes walk and the Mariano's store there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location and facilities and good views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only disappointment was that coffee drinkers are accommodated in the rooms, too bad if you are a tea drinker as there are no water boiling facilities - you have to buy this from their restaurant/coffee shop!

    Hotel was within easy walking distance to most of city attractions and shops, rooms were clean and comfortable and reasonably priced (even though we arrived on a weekend that was particularly busy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel but watch out for the little fees
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi for 15.00 a day and an additional daily resort fee when the ammentities were under construction was ridiculous. At check in was told someone would text when the room was ready and that never happened.

    Location was excellent and room was comfortable and super clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Corner King Room - City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was given a $50 room food credit but was charged for ordering anyways. i havnt heard back from anyone even though i called and followed the recorded message directions to get a resolution.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.7
    Location is convenient to discover Chicago but be aware of hidden fees
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mandatory additional $15/day for WiFi, the makeup mirror totally useless for average height people, the lack of pressure in the shower, matress too soft, one king bed whereas we asked for two queens, unwelcoming staff.

    Size of the room, coffee machine, view, efficiency in delivering requested item to the room (and kindness of the man who delivered), maid service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think the air filters need to be changed; my friend and I both got stuffy noses as soon as we walked into the room - and this continued to happen throughout our stay.

    The room was comfortable and the view was great! The employees I encountered were so nice and personable. The bed and pillows were super comfortable. The location was also good and within walking distance to so many good restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.8
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one person checking people in and there 10 or more people waiting in line.

    Location was great. And they had flavored ice cold water available 24/7.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    Comfy bed, room location was good location for a river and city view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were not ready after daily housekeeping, it is either missing face towels, no bath mat or nothing at all. So, we still need to call the concierge, more than 20 minutes waiting time for a set of towels

    Comfy bed, river and city view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.8
    Lovation was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I dif not like the entrance so much. There were too many large cars coming and going at the front entrance. Too little space for Us walking

    Lovation was good. Elevator came at once Good view. Nice room. Helpful employees

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    The property is beautiful, and the location is perfect-...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Corner King Room - Lakeview
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checkout standard time is 3pm, did not get room until 5:00pm even though we had requested early check in weeks before.

    The property is beautiful, and the location is perfect- right by the water. The staff was really friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location, beds are amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping isn’t so great, didn’t replace towels, so we left with no small hand towels. We were gifted with prosecco on arrival but the tray was still in the room until check out 3 days later. But all in all was a great hotel and we will come back.

    Thought the hotel was great, staff very friendly and helpful. Location is great for all kinds of restaurants and shops. Buses are easy to navigate apart from the no2 bus which we discovered only runs during rush hour ending up in a huge walk to the field museum, which is absolutely amazing and well worth the walk. The beds are extremely comfortable and definitely needed after walking around all day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is in a great location for sight seeing and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Corner King Room - City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Traveling with someone under the age of 16, a hotel must meet certain requirements. One critical requirement is for the hotel to have a pool. Pool access for hotel was only on the weekend and it was about 3 blocks away. For a child under 16, this is murder or the biggest incovenience since mankind was created. Moreover, hotel had a partnership with a work out facility, whose pool was definitely not kid friendly. Honestly, I think the individuals at the gym were repulsed by children. It was horrible.

    The hotel is in a great location for sight seeing and exploring the city of Chicago. We were able to walk every where with easy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Roamy rooms with extra comfortable beds.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi charged not so often in 4* hotels. Even in cheap hotels in Europe it is included.

    Roamy rooms with extra comfortable beds. Perfect location - all interesting points in walk distance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice location downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charge for Wifi Difficult to reach front desk No breakfast

    It is a great location downtown Concierge is nice and will help you Bell hop is wonderful and will hold bags after you check out if you have a late departure Large bathrooms Comfy beds

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Great Visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fitness center and pool were not available during the summer. No breakfast or continental breakfast included with room price.

    I loved the location, the decor, the beds, pillows, bathroom all were excellent. Service was very good, wished we could haved stayed longer.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent deal, enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No microwave in the room for leftover pizza. Only boo.

    Got in early, was able to pre-check in and received a text when our room was ready, left our bags with the bellhop and we were off to explore the city. Check in and out was a breeze. Room was clean, nice view and great location!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    Very clean throughout
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t have enough towels for number of guests.......would be very nice if they served a small complentatry breakfast. And no microwave in room was a disappointment.

    Very clean throughout

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.0
    Not what it is cracked up to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You get nickeled and dimed during your entire stay. Internet access was $24.95 per day. Parking was $70 per day. Food prices were outrageous. Pool and exercise facilities were under renovation and unavailable to guests... this should have either been comped or guests should have been made aware at the time of booking.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.7
    Housekeeping issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had lots of issues with housekeeping. First issue being that they chose not to give us new towels after 2 days of using them and instead folded our old dirty towels and put them in the bathroom as if they are new, which we realised only after using them and noticed they had the same dirty stains on them as our towels before, very shocked to realise what they had done. Second issue would be that they did not replace the toilet paper each day with a new one. Some days we did not receive new face towels. One day we came back to our room only to find that the door had been left open after cleaning (very disappointing). After getting our bed sheets changed, they stank as if they had been out there wet (smelt mouldy). Considering the price of the hotel, very disappointing housekeeping service with some shocking hygienic issues which guests should definitely not have to deal with, such as having your dirty towels refolded as if they had been replaced with new ones. Would not recommend the place.

    Good location, good size of the rooms, very spacey, comfy beds. Nice view from our room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Lake View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wifi in rooms Alot of noise from renovation for three days non stop You would think they will delay it after summer Later room changed but still some noise

    Freindly staff Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location and facilities but staff should treat guests better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the location and facilities were terrific, the staff was not. Twice I was given inncorrect and misleading information (first by a bell hop and then by someone at the front desk), both of which led to big inconveniences. Additionally, numerous roads in Chicago were closed during my visit. As a result, physically getting to the hotel from the highway was difficult, especially for someone who had never been to Chicago before. Even though Roman from the front desk assisted me in finding the hotel, he was dismissive, belittling, and hung up on me twice that I needed to recall. Very disappointed with the customer service of such a nice hotel.

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    Out of town guest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Corner King Room - City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our check in was at 3 we didnt get into our room til 430 because it wasnt ready. The bedding felt damp like it didnt dry all the way in the dryer. Just a few things were dirty like they rushed through. Old coffee filter in the coffee maker. There was petroleum jelly on the silver container in the bathroom.

    Very close to what and where we had planned to go. And close parking garage that saved us 50 dollars! Friendly staff. And great price for the room on booking.com

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.1
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all no free wifi. Seriously how can one even stay without wifi! No buffet breakfast! Overcharge with deposits!! No proper room cleaning! Rude staff

    Actually just the room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.8
    A good hotel choice if a special rate is available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited restaurants in the area, and the Palm in the hotel lobby is not a good value. Room lacked sufficient towels.

    Location is excellent if you are enjoying Millennium Park, lakefront, Riverwalk, etc. Room was clean. View included the Chicago River.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    Spectacular views outdated rooms for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking was very time consuming not enough staff preasant Rooms were out dated Rooms didn’t have enough towels for people staying

    The views were spectacular

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    I love staying at this hotel it is always top notch!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Corner King Room - Lakeview
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not pleased about having to pay for WiFi in the individual rooms

    I love staying at this hotel it is always top notch! Loved the suite on the 30th floor!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.3
    Tasteful, but under renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We picked the hotel especially because of the rooftop swimming pool. Unfortunately, it was under renovation when we arrived. We were so looking forward to a refreshing swim in the July heat! The hotel should have added a notice ahead of time.

    Tasteful hotel at excellent location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.0
    Great location and facility, no pool/fitness center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Lakeview
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel advertises a pool and fitness center in their hotel. They apparently don't have either anymore, but still advertise (on their website as well as signs in the hotel) that they have both on-site.

    The room was spacious and clean. I liked the location as it was within walking distance of many attractions and stores.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.4
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Corner Lifestyle Suite - City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    untrained and unfriendly staff; while we were asking and seeking directions to reach the property, none of them was able to offer clear and precise directions. We checked in at 10.30pm in the night and requested them to offer us extended check out time till 1pm; which was refused. Our Suite which we booked for 4 persons; just had just 1 bathroom and no linens were different for the extra bed while making an excuse that they are on full occupancy and ran out of linens....really!!!!

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Corner King Room - Lakeview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room look put together but the shower and tub were not cleaned there was sand on the floors. I also thought there was a pool based off of Photos. There was no pool and the fitness area was closed

    We stayed in a corner room Lakeside and the view was breathtaking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Overall it was a very nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Housekeeping tried to enter room several times before we were actually awake. This would be fine if we were business travelers and likely to wake up early but we were on vacation. This happened both on Saturday & Sunday. Also need to change out the glasses in the room daily.

    Awesome location right there on the river. Room was very nice with a very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice but lacked some amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We expected to find a restaurant that was not in operation. The Palm Restaurant was like sitting in a sports bar. We expected to find an exercise room but it was being renovated and the gym we were sent to was far away on a concourse that was hard to find and unfriendly.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    3.3
    Location is very good, close to Millenium Park and shopping...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture was broken, shabby rooms, never made rooms in time, no slippers, no enough toiletries, carpet is dirty, windows washed long ago. Two years ago when I stayed last time in that hotel they took my brand new expensive night gown with bedsheets by accident, but never returned or compensated inconvenience. I wouldn’t stay at this hotel ever if such stay was not planned by my company.

    Location is very good, close to Millenium Park and shopping areas

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Ok but expected more from four stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one bath towel per person and the complimentary shampoo seemed to be of rather poor quality - not something I'd expect from a four-star hotel.

    The city view was nice and the apartment floor plan was unique. The bathroom was bright and spacious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I personally found the lobby a bit outdated and to dark, not very welcoming but no major issue

    I liked the seize of the room, it was quiet and we had a nice view on the river

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    Water temp was way to hot & I took my shower late at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water temp was way to hot & I took my shower late at night and even with it on the coldest temp it was so hit I felt like I was gonna burn myself. Phones didn’t work right. The scratched the rental a Car door & we used Valet! Prices for room service were a bit ridiculous on the drinks like milk @ $6.00 a small glass WOW!! No extra plate for two people to eat

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    excellent as ever. wonderful location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    stayed there on 4-5 occasions, the staff are always helpful, the service excellent. I really like the updated Palm restaurant. Pity the Gym was being refurbished when I was there, but the new one will no doubt be good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    They need to update everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Online stated there was a pool. Even the pamphlet in the room said they had a pool and spa on the 42nd floor. But what they didn't tell you, was that they got rid of the pool. My kids were so mad. That's the reason I booked this hotel... was so they could swim.

    Thw beds were comfy and the location was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheap hairdryer, not usable. Maybe men can use it, but not women. Fancy Bottles of water for 8$, just put normal one or don't provide any. Very sneaky.

    Everything else.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    Very nice place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool and fitness rooms were shut down for repairs and was not informed when booking . I would not have stayed there if I had known before I booked.

    Very nice place to stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Good choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was a little bit smelly which was most significant always when we entered the room :-(

    Very happy with accomodation at Swissotel for our stay in Chicago.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    It was average.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the fact that the fitness room nor the pool was working. Could have gotten a room at another hotel on the mag mile for the same price with a pool and fitness center.

    Bed felt great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Amazing,Thanks for such great Hospitality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View Was Amazing, I let them know prior that I had just gotten married and they upgraded my room, included chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of wine.Beautiful hotel,convenient location, would definitely return

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.8
    We booked this hotel because of the pool on the top floor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this hotel because of the pool on the top floor but upon arrival then staff informed us it was under renovations.,we would have like a little more notice.,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.0
    The suite 2411 that we got switched to & staff...
    • Couple
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner was horrible We came for my birthday got a handicap suite & did not request. They switched us however they could not do it until the next morning so now we can't sleep in. Got new suite & loved it! By my B-Day dinner at Palms was HORRIBLE!The steak was requested to be med. well & it was really burnt on outside. No comp no coupon nothing just an expensive bill! We did get comp 2pm checkout but really wanted a free dinner and night stay. Our first time my B-Day away from kids since forever & I just wanted a great steak to sleep in

    The suite 2411 that we got switched to & staff ESPECIALLY KIA! she was the hotel operator & she was sooo nice sweet # understanding! Loved her! Epitome of excellent customer service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    Beware the bait and switch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bookings.com and this hotel did a bait and switch. I bought a room for a price and was told that room is not gauranteed because I booked on this site. So to not get one of the cheapest (quality) rooms I had to pay an extra $100. I chose this hotel due to the cost being cheaper than most in the area but after the "upgrade" it was about the same price. I could have and would have stayed at a nicer hotel for the price. The pool was under construction so we couldn't use it and the staff weren't friendly.

    Great location and view if you get the river or city view but comes with a cost

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    It was a pretty hotel and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They advertised a pool but it was a 5 minute walk and we had to register at the athletic club. Also it was a lap pool. So i wpuld not bring kids. Also at 930 am they decided to statt drilling holes in wall of another unit and it echoed through our room. We were not able to relax and sleep in. It was vert disappointing. I work hard and was lookong forward to the peace and quiet of a hotel. But did not get it.

    It was a pretty hotel and clean. Dimitri at the front desk was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Good. Would return if Ro Rate
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lousy location and poor egress from hotel to westbound traffic on Wacker Drive. Elevator call system confusing at first.

    Excellent staff. Good food and fair price. Nice rooms and public space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Great place in the heart of Chicago close to many activities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows left both of us with sore backs and necks. A little too firm for us. Whirlpool was full of kids. I know that’s more of a parental issue, but maybe the under 16 age limit could be enforced a little better. $70 per day valet is a bit crazy, even by Chicago standards. I coiuld have used SpotHero once the first day and twice the second when we were in and out with the car and it would have cost $80 less than the valet for two days.

    The room was fantastic. Clean and modern. Views were great. Location is in a great spot for walking around the city. Close to so many things.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    View was great in corner room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Corner King Room - Lakeview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Self parking. Too low of ceilings for my vehicle - Honda Pilot with roof racks. Went down at approval of parking manager. Would not recommend that again and parking fee was not communicated up front. Way too expensive for 25 hour parking. $82. That was the only thing that brought down my overall rating of the property. I would not recommend letting customers self park again in that lot. It’s not a standard parking garage that is easy to get into.

    View was great in corner room. Bed and linens were so comfy. Love the long chaise lounge. Staff so incredibly nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    The Hotel was magnificent and we had a great view of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that was a little discomfort was the level of chlorine in the pool. I was traveling with my nieces and they wanted to go swimming but they complained that there was to much chlorine in the pool. Their eyes were red after a few minutes swimming in the pool. Also, I booked a room with double beds through Booking.com but when I arrived they gave me one king side bed. A little uncomfortable when I had two children traveling with me.

    The Hotel was magnificent and we had a great view of the river. My nieces were very excited and amaze of the view we had in our room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    4.6
    Lousy hotel with a lousier experience.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Corner King Room - Lakeview
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was substandard even though we stayed in a premium corner room with lake view. Inner curtains were missing, some USBS and power outlets were not working and room cleaning was done by a disinterested person. Wifi costed us $15 per day, but the wi-fi network was going in and out. When we asked for a spoon to be delivered to the room, we are asked to pay $8 for the room service. The lobby and restaurant/bar is non-existent. We have had better experience at Comfort Inn. Lousy hotel.

    Very little

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Overall a very positive experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean very professional staff very helpful minor quibble concierge unsure of closest space CTA Stop

    Very clean very professional staff very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location for visiting both inside the loop and the river north area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Corner King Room - City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked tea bags in the room, not just coffee. And the large amount of bleach it takes to keep all those towels and lines so white really irritates my skin.

    The corner King room 2719 was lovely. The wall to wall window on two sides were delightful. Partial city view, view of the lake, and view of the River. We were able to watch them dye the river green for St. Patrick's Day from our room, and also just steps outside the hotel door. There are steps down the the Riverwalk and Columbus Dr. We fully explored the Pedway to get into downtown without ever having to get out into the weather. At times, parts of the pedway underground are locked, but that's not the hotel's fault, that's just a Chicago thing. Hours are posted on doors along the way. We went all the way to Macy's State Street on the Pedway! I left a note on the bed for more body lotion and she left me several, which I really appreciated with the cold and wind. I thought the smart elevators where you put in your floor number and it assigns you a car really sped things up. We never waited long for an elevator even when it was busy- St. Patrick's Day after all! The bathroom was lovely, the linens were nice, the bed was comfortable, and the couch was updated and great to relax on. Extra pillows and a warm blanket in the closet, which we used to lounge on the couch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.0
    We had a good time even with all the issues at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check-in was at 3 pm and rooms were not ready, booked 2 rooms and they wanted to put us on different floors. No wash clothes and stains on pillowcase in one room also was not told about $100/night deposit even when the room was prepaid one night. Talked to manager and he said he would email me within the hour and 24 hours later still nothing.

    the location was nice and easy to get to many attractions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.1
    The king size bed was very comfortable and the view of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a little small and the dial where you turned it from hot to cold was opposite. There was water damage underneath the sink on the drywall. There was also a chrome pole holding up the sink on the right side. Not enough lighting in the bathroom as well. The bathroom needed to be just redone in room 2204.

    The king size bed was very comfortable and the view of the lake was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Great location and a pleasant stay in Chicago.
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little better explanation on the elevators would have been nice, especially when staying with a large group of students. There was also construction going on and when I called the desk they said it was only that day (Wednesday) that it would NOT continue... they were wrong and we heard drilling the duration of our stay. The shower design is also odd - you cannot turn on the water without being IN the shower or it shoots out the door, at least on our floor. In our student's room they seemed to have figured out a better design.

    Staff was very attentive and the breakfast was amazing. We booked through booking.com so the meal was included in the stay. Be sure to check your folio before leaving the hotel, however, as it didn't translate as such and we had to verify with confirmation and email. Swissotel has a 'earth' program that was good to see and participate in. They seem to be taking great care in updating their hotel to keep guests happy. There was a spa on-site as well that would have been nice to try if we had more time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel, poor communication between property and booking.com
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property did not have any info or my reservation from booking.com, took about 15 minutes and the manager to get the suite that I paid for.

    Room was very nice, free coffee in the room, 2 bathrooms in the room was also nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    This is my go-to Chicago hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was disappointed that The Palm, in the hotel was closed for renovations. That is also a nice benefit to have a great steakhouse in your hotel.

    This is my go-to Chicago hotel. Great downtown location, but a newer property than most. Room comfortable and clean, with great city views. Fantastic value in the winter too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Very worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff had lied to us about renovations being done in the hotel and he could not give us a higher level than the 7th floor. This was not the case because we saw people going to all other floors.

    The bed was very comfortable and in the bathroom there was a bathtub and also a shower. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    4.6
    Other than location, this hotel is not special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The "Lake view" was obstructed by a building between the hotel and lake. There were several small problems with our room such as the safe missing batteries, the shower door not closing shut and the duvet on backwards. The staff seemed uninterested in customer service: two staff at the check-in and bar didn't know any information about the neighborhood and good restaurants. Additionally we received no apology for the issues with our room.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few little things about the room. It was very warm and the lights tend to flicker.

    Great location. Close to Millenium Park and Lake. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.6
    Clean and comfortable! Great atmosphere and staff was friendly and accommodating!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food establishments were very pricey in the hotel.

    The rooms were spacious and clean. Check in was quick and staff was friendly. Onsite bar food and cocktails were excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.2
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we booked the roow with breakfast, they did not accept at first, then booking com helped us for breakfast

    location, appearance of the hotel and comfortable room, good breakfast, easy acces to the room, view of the room, easy to reach for the shopping, mattress , broad windows

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    A weekend away with my love.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything. There isn’t anything to complain.

    So close to everything in a walkable distance. Just valet your car, be stress-free and enjoy the city!!! We had such a fun little getaway with each other!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    Great location, easy walk to multiple attractions and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was quite ordinary. We upgraded to a room with a view based on the suggestion of the employee at the check in counter but not sure if it was worth the extra.

    Great location, easy walk to multiple attractions and the magnificent mile.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    We had a cold but enjoyable and comfortable stay at the Swisotel in Chicago and we will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom could have a ventilating fan. I have a problem with my core temperature and need a place to cool down, most of the time the rooms we have stayed in have a ventilating fan in the bathroom.

    We have stayed here previously and loved it. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The beds and pillows are heavenly. The hotel is not far from the center of town, it is easy to walk almost anywhere. No matter what room we've stayed in, we always had a great view. The lounge/bar is very comfortable and the food is delicious! The staff is professional yet friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel - good location for a city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room that was number XX01 - it was really noisy with one of the lift shafts all night! Would appear the rooms that end 01 on all floors are the same. Kept us awake all night - spoke to reception the next day and they moved us with no problem at all.

    The hotel is in a good location - can walk pretty much everywhere. The staff at reception were really helpful too. Seems weird but their clever lifts are brilliant. Seems strange to begin with but once you use them a few rimes you realise how good and helpful they are!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like. Great experience all around. The employees answered our questions without cheerfully.

    The view, it was the WHOLE reason for choosing Swiss Hotel. But the whole experience was wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.1
    nice
    • Couple
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being a seasoned traveler I've gone on trips to plenty of major cities but, I think $70.00 for overnight parking at any hotel is ridiculous. When we turned on the TV the screen displayed "No Signal" so we pushed a few buttons and still nothing happen. We repeated this again and still nothing. We called down to the front desk to let them know and magically a movie started playing. My husband turned it off as we didn't want to be charged for something we didn't purchase. The next morning at check out they charged us $30 for two movies. They took the charged off, but forgot to initially charge us for parking. Which they obviously fixed that because it was $70. LOL Not sure if these were honest mistakes but I'm certainly going to let friends and family know to watch out for these things.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Everyone was very helpful and friendly, eager to help.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of the room was always changing. Each time I would call or look on line the price went up $80.00 to $100.00. I understand about supply and demand, but it seemed things were very inflexible. We were part of over flow from the Hyatt Regency, where the conference was held. Maybe it was just the schedulers that I talked with that made things feel inflexible. Tainted my view/expectiaion of the hotel. Glad it turned out so much better.

    Everyone was very helpful and friendly, eager to help. Professional but friendly at the same time. Comfortable! Keenan checked us in to the hotel. He was Great! Gave us a lot of suggestions and answered all of our questions. Made us feel very welcome, relaxed. We had this same welcome relaxed feeling from most everyone at the hotel. Thank you!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    Great facility...but good help is hard to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Corner King Room - City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping forgot washcloths and conditioner. When brought to room, they acted like was a big inconvenience. No "sorry".

    The views are spectacular and the location was convenient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.9
    Close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is extremely expensive!! We check in at 1pm on Friday and check out at 3pm on Saturday and paid about 85$!

    Location is really good especially when you have only a couple of days to see the town and you are looking for a central stay. Comfy beds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Ideal spot, 2 blocks from Millennium park , the most attentive staff and a beautiful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't believe that my bill is accurate. The bill reflected more than we agreed.

    I ordered an airport shuttle and the driver took my suitcase but handed me the little items like my jacket and a small bag. Less than 5 minutes from the hotel, the dispatcher notified the driver that one of the passengers' luggage was left. Thinking it was the last passenger the driver asked this guy and he stated that he only had a backpack. Two minutes later another call came from the airport shuttle dispatcher, with the name of the passenger who said he brought a backpack. Again the passenger repeated he only came with a backpack. My phone rings and for some reason I answered. The call was from the hotel asking me if I had left my bag. It was my bag that was left at the hotel. So the shuttle driver had to return to pick it up. There was not a phone number on the paperwork for the Shuttle so the hotel had to go the extra mile to locate my phone number. I was truly grateful. I Will stay there again. The staff was very efficient. The people who worked at the front desk, the people who opened the door for you, the people who made sure your stay was perfect went beyond the call of duty.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: