Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3 stars

1540 Ben Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236, USA

#40 of 70 hotels in Sarasota

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1607 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds are so hard that I could not sleep

    Location was fantastic. Staff on the beach and at the pool bar were very attentive, helpful and gave great service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Gulf View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact this resort will be torned down to be replaced by high rises. Will take away the quaintness. SAD

    Location Price Staff. Jason at front desk is always so helpful n polite. Food is great and beach staff go out of their way to set your chairs n umbrellas where you want. The price to rent kayaks are reasonable and my family enjoyed everything they offer......A must stay..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Gulf View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The property was perfect, staff amazing and friendly. Extremely knowledgeable about the area. The sea turtle nests along the beaches each morning. Sunsets off balcony were breathtaking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place doesn’t look anything like the pictures. I understand that they had some erosion after the last storm so I can accept that the beach wasn’t as pictured but the whole property was rundown, outdated and in need of maintenance. The rooms were quite drab and depressing. Not enough plugs for devices. We were charged a resort fee per night for activities (none) and bike rentals (hope you had your tetanus shot). The beer at the bar was warm. The drain in our tub didn’t work. The walls and doors were extremely thin. We heard everything! Really not worth the money. Very disappointed.

    Good location and complimentary shuttle to St. Armands

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    With this hotel $250/night bought me the following: - Dirty, cracked bathtub - Leaking sink - Broken fridge covered with rust - Dirty towels with holes and other things in this nature.

    The location is pretty good, though the beach is much smaller compared to neighbor areas.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is in located in a great spot, but set away from restaurants and shopping. It’s an older property, and shows it’s age. But, the staff is friendly, the beds are comfortable and the showers are hot. It’s by no means a luxury resort, but it’s fine for a family or traveler that does not need glitz.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices in restaurant/pool bar are preaty high. The breakfast selection is ok, but could be better since they offer the same breakfast each morning. The rooms are wide and light but outdated and the bathroom need renovation.

    Location! The hotel is right on the beach and they provide beach chair and towels all day long. The sunset is beautiful and the beach walk is precious. Also the two polls are great and the water is warm and clean.The garage is convinient and there are enough place to park a car on 3 floors. The staff os realy helpfull and welcome all around the place,restaurant,pool,bars..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Gulf View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony has lattice so you can't sit and enjoy the ocean

    A lot of shells st this beach. Good if you are a shell collector. Siesta is not far either.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Gulf View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    conveniently located, but the buildings and rooms felt old and run down..especially for the price per night. Drinks from the bar were overpriced. The pool area was very nice. Doubt I would return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Gulf View
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived we had booked for a gulf view room, over $400. When we went to the room the older building to the left of the pool , our room had a balcony but the view was not the Gulf as promised. THere was a huge tree in front so you could not see the ocean. Then we had to change to the other Gulf room. That took at least an hour, so we had less time to do the things we wanted like walk on the beach. We arrived around 6pm and had to mess around with the room change. Also the bar at the pool was closed due to the love bugs. I think that was an excuse. There was the tiki bar next door that was open. One of the major attractions is a bar at the pool area. Disappointed it was closed . IT should have been mentioned in the website. The love bugs were not that bad, actually worse next door at the Tiki Hut but they were still opened.

    The gulf room was very close to the beach so you could hear the waves

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Gulf View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Property dated however in the works to remodel! Still would stay again. My first room Ocean View however had a Large Plant obstructing my view and would recommend they cut it down. However, The staff relocated me and it was Awesome!

    The property is older however soon be updated. THE Staff makes up for the dated property. They are friendly, helpful and listen to make sure you are having and Great time and do everything possible to make your stay enjoyable. Park your car and never worry about getting around as they offer shuttle service that is operated by a Wonderful Staff! Having not to pay extra for anything. Shuttle, Beach chairs or umbrellas. On property food moderately priced and good! Jason at the front desk done Up and Above to make our stay Awesome!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Gulf View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was ok except the love bug infestation. Also to pay over 300 dollar to not be able to use the balcony was unexceptable. If the area has this big issue they should have screened in balcony’s. I was extremely upset I did not get to sit out there to view the ocean .

    The staff was super friendly and set up a bottle of champagne in the room for me and strawberries.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room by the pool near the shop was real dated and dark as if we were in the basement. I would rather get room with a better view, like the beach. Maybe rooms on the second floor are not as dated.

    Having the shuttle to st.armand circle. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were not very comfy

    you could walk straight onto the beach,from the hotel. The food was excellent, a good breakfast and the rooms were clean. Had 2 nice pools and a poolside bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Gulf View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was out datet but that’s why it was a bit cheaper than the rest. Most importantly, it was clean so whe had a lovely stay!

    The location. We had a room with a view on the ocean and that was very nice. Pool is also great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Courtyard View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean comfortable rooms, friendly staff, excellent location, good food, beachfront, quiet and safe. Beautiful pools, amazing sunsets, family friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Gulf View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food had a mold spot the size of a golf ball. Solid green. Waitress took it back to kitchen but no one seemed very concerned to apologize or discount us after they walked off with half the bread on the meal. They should have brought a new piece of bread, or discounted....didn’t happen. Cleaning lady banged on door 20 minutes before our checkout telling us to Get out even though we were paid up til 11:00 am. She was rushing us at 10:40. This was very offensive. I handled it at front desk.

    Nice beach, decent facility

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needs a lot of work. Bathroom was in bad shape, beds were like rocks. Old everything. The pools are nice but they weren't cleaned every day. The bikes they provided were a safety hazard and the chain fell off over 5 times while we had it.

    The pools are nice and had chairs and umbrellas. Loved the beach!! That's what made the trip. Some of the staff was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable beds. Very old beds. Carpeting and painting was needed.

    Location was the best of any I saw in that area. Right on the beach. Great amenities. They have chairs, beach towels, water. Two large, clean pools.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I believe there needs to be improvement in housekeeping. By that I mean, I had left my room around 10 am and returned around 3:30 pm. My room was not made up. I know the hotel has been open for over 30 years. Renovations need to be made especially in the hotel rooms.

    During my stay at you4 hotel, the staff was pleasant, helpful and courteous. I had breakfast and dinner In the patio cafe. The food was tasty, served well and at the appropriate temperature. Overall it was a pleasant experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rock hard bed. Breakfast buffet was pretty ho-hum.

    The bed was rock hard. It affected my back and I ended up in bed for 3 days, not enjoying the trip. We did ask and got an egg crate foam pad on the 3rd night and that did make it a little more comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very outdated Smelled very musty Mold in bathrooms Mattress and bedding uncomfortable

    Food was good Staff was very helpful and friendly Appreciated the shuttle to Armand Square

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are in desperate need of updating. The bathroom was really small. The beds were so stiff it was like sleeping on the floor.

    I liked the view and the staff. That is the extent of what was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Gulf View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was trying to play golf in the area and the staff knew nothing about golf in the area/ There was a package deal with Lakewood CC that was in a golf travel magazine and again, no one could help

    Location to beach was fabulous/ shuttle was very convenient / pool area clean and well kept

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed in the quality of the property. Facilities need updating and cleaning. In the first room they put us in The view from our balcony was obstructed by a palm tree and rug on balcony floor was soaking wet and stinky. Shower had mold in the corners and stains on the towels. They moved us to a second room which was cleaner but still dated. The view was better. Mattresses were hard and uncomfortable.

    The view from the beach chair was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Gulf View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found a little spider in the bed, no big deal but kinda freaked us out. The building and rooms are outdated and with the carpeting it gives it a musty smell.

    Beachfront access was great. Parking was on the same level as our room. We had a balcony facing the ocean and it was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asked for early check in for special occasion. No early check in. In fact the room was supposed to be ready by 3:00 p.m. (hotel's check in time), but was not ready until 4:45 pm! Bartender at the pool bar (woman) was less than friendly, and didn't inform us as to which drinks were included in the happy hour price.

    Beautiful location and pool area

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything I could suggest to change honestly.

    Paula was an amazing bartender Staff always was friendly and accompdating. Room was ready early which was great. Food was delicious from breakfast to dinner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had reservations for a room with 2 double/queen beds, but they gave me a room with 1 king. the room was in need of a renovation to include the bathroom. However, the service and location was great !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Gulf View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Softer beds

    The location is great! The staff was friendly.It was a great stay all but the beds being a little hard.This was my 3nd time at this hotel and I will definitly be back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Gulf View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly maintained. Grubby exterior. No hot water in a 400 dollar a night room. Mildew smell in room Mold in bathroom tile. No ceiling vent in bathroom No whirlpool. Food expensive for plain fare. 15 dollar hamburger. 10 dollar hot dog. Doors looked like Third World apartment If this place is a resort, I own a ppalace. They used an excuse of future renovation but mold in the bathrooms can be fixed right now. Go somewhere else for a clean beach resort.

    Staff friendly, helpful, nice always. Kept the beach clean. Shuttle to St Armands Circle a nice plus

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Gulf View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we had queen beds. Need a cabinet in bathroom that you can open and store stuff in. Need bigger trash cans.

    Resort was in a great area. Beach area was fantastic. Love that you have towels and chairs for beach for guests. Pool area is awesome. Love the closet for hanging clothes storage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small and out dated, but clean. Beds were hard. Musty. Bathroom very old.

    Staff was very nice and helpful and always smiling! The food was great. The pool and beach we're beautiful! We used the kayaks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were very poor in my opinion for the money. I didn't like the balconies being connected to the neighbor (who smoked), the door didn't work properly and the bathroom didn't seem very clean. I think for that price range, the rooms needs to be renovated to be a little nicer. Also, they say that beach chairs are not allowed b/c each room is given 2. However, they fill up and they told us that there are not enough beach chairs for every guest. We could have brought our own, so that was poor advertising.

    the location was amazing. The heated pools were very nice and the staff was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is incredible! Loved not having crowds at the beach as you have your own private beach. Rooms were very basic but that was not why we were there. The Staff were so friendly and very accomodating. It was hard to get beach chairs as we went on the busiest week of the year.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To reserve an umbrella and chairs was impossible. My husband went down at 7:00 a.m. to reserve them and still came up empty handed. We didnt get to stay on the beach as much as we would have wanted to because of this.

    I loved that the property was right on the beach and the pool was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Could have been cleaner, lack of chairs for the beach

    We are aware the place is being torn down this coming year so I thought they were kind of letting things slide, not enough pool, beach , chairs. Not really clean or kept up

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Resort was a little dated and could use a fresh coat of paint on the exterior which would make a huge difference in attracting people. Could use about 5 more bikes in order for families to explore the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Gulf View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was very shabby for the price. The bathroom was very tiny with no space to put toiletries. Bathtub was very dirty. Pool restrooms looked like they hadn't been touched since 1960... Overall, the property was very run down.

    The setting was beautiful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed felt and sounded like it was going to break in half.... Room was in desperate need of upgrades and for the amount of money we spent, we should of had a room with a view. Our view was the parking garage. Won't come back.

    The pool was nice and the availability of beach chairs and umbrellas was a plus (although we were paying for that).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Dirty. Beds are worn out. Ice Machine on 2nd floor broken. Bathroom in laundry broken. All drinks and meals are super expensive. $15 for a drink, $10 for a beach dog, $18 for breakfast. Nothing for dinner under $35.

    Beach is beautiful. Pools are nice. Parking was good. Right on the gulf! Leto Key is a beautiful place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all the actual hotel needs a makeover, everything was painted and chipping, tub, furniture, old decor, corroded toilet handles, rusty pull out make up mirror. Dirty tub. I have pictures, For the money I paid, it should have been the marriott. Also the hostess at the restaurant, was not sure about the specials. We stayed Friday and she said the special was prime rib on the beach. Meanwhile prime rib is on sat night and at the beach was a private function, so we went out to eat.

    I did like the location, and the grounds were kept nicely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Gulf View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We like to walk on the beach and were not able to go very far because of the construction on the beach and were not able to get around it.

    Like the fact our room overlooked the ocean and beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Gulf View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    advertising shows rooms being much more updated than they are. the "age" of the property was disguised in the photos. advertising indicates each room had 2 beach chairs and an umbrella, but was not accurate - it was first come - first serve

    location to shopping and restaurants, shuttle to those places, being on the beach

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was outdated and the walls were paper thin. The beach was eroded so bad. And the food was incredibly overpriced.

    This place was awful- not worth the money at all!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is old, outdated and needs to be demolished and replaced with a modern building ....great site for a developer!

    Proximity to beach and restaurants

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room had a musty smell but not overbearing. We didn't notice rest of week. Hotel offered to adjust price but couldn't due to booking on Booking.com. Rooms could be updated but doesn't sound like that will happen because buildings will be replaced with tower hotel.

    Room was good sized. Pool cabana for lunch and drinks. 2 pools. Less than 50 steps to sitting on beach from our door. Friendly staff. Throwback in time to a 50s family resort. Chairs and umbrellas no charge. Beautiful location. Short walk to Siesta Bay Park to watch sunrise. Beautiful sunset on the beach every night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Gulf View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very outdated and run down. Our room was suppose to be ready at 3:00 and it wasn’t until 5:30. I was told I will get a call when it was ready and I never did so I went to the front desk and was told “oh sorry our phone stopped working” . Staff was unfriendly and housekeeping was terrible. Every room was supposed to come with two lawn chairs and it didn’t. Every morning you had to get up and fight for a lawn chair.

    The location was great. Beach was beautiful. Loved the shuttle to St Armand’s circle.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dated rooms. Almost $300 for the night to overlook a parking garage. Mattress was hard as a rock. Very complex hotel layout. No parking for truck with trailer - had to park .25/mile away.

    Restaurant buffet was good. Bar area by pool was convenient and staff was friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much bleach used in the room, we even had to wait to check in until 5:30 and the bleach smell was so overwhelming had to sleep with windows open.

    Literally steps from the water.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible rooms. Need to be torn done-As I read AFTER booking that Sandcastle IS being torn down-too late! Do Not Pay to stay!

    Nothing about the property MUCH TOO EXPENSIVE!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first room was straight out of the 70’s and had a musty smell. The first night we were there, there was water on the floor. Maintenance came, and he was very nice and said the water could be from the heavy rain. The second day there was water again. Maintenance came again, and he said there may have been a broken pipe, and this time we were moved to a gulf view room that was better.

    The second room that we had by the beach was much better than our first room. The gulf view room was a little more updated, and the view was beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first couple nights we were there the air conditioning unit wasn’t working because it hadn’t been changed over from heat so it was a little warm during the night compared to what we are used to. They did bring us a fan to use. Once the hotel switched to AC the room temperature was comfortable. The beds were kind of hard too. I really hate to leave any negative comments about this place because we really did love it there.

    Loved this hotel. My kids & I rode bikes, played ping pong, swam in the pools, played on the beach & really enjoyed this hotel. The beach was just right outside our door. We stayed in room 132 so it was on the bottom floor right across from the pool and the laundry facility was right around the corner. We rode bikes all over the little island. The hotel location is great. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to go back during the summer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Plumbing problems (toilet wouldn't flush but kept running and could not completely turn off shower water). Old facility that needs renovation badly.

    Location on Lido Beach is perfect. Excellent bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above

    For the price we paid for one night, $269.00, there were 3 of us, granddaughter with us, we should have had "free" breakfast. The hotel is on the older side and needs renovation for the price that it is charging. Beach & pool were excellent. We were greeted with beach chairs and umbrella, which are a must for my husband. I realize the location warrants the high charge per night but the hotel needs some room renovations. Thank you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The buildings, walkways, and sleeping room are generally shabby and run-down. Plumbing (toilet) plugged often. Doors stick and are hard to close. Room service did not return to pick up trays left outside.

    Food was ok and reasonably priced. Most of the staff was friendly and helpful. The pool and beach areas were clean and enjoyable. Poolside food/drink service is convenient. Room service arrived promptly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    beach area was short and congested

    room was substandard..no bathroom fan, very small, very noisy outside room..could hear everything outside room and above room bc of outside deck walkway to all rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Gulf View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    place is outdated, worn, dirty. The beds are small and very uncomfortable. Had to move because the people next door were doing Pot and other drugs I believe and no other action was taken. wanted to rent bikes and never had sufficient quantity to offer unless you got up at 7:30 AM to get them. Very disappointed.

    location on beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Gulf View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The picture on booking .com was not the picture of the gulf view room we were booked into. It had a shared balcony with several other rooms. It was very pricy for the quality of the room and balcony

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The general overall hotel needs some updating. I think each room should have a microwave-instead they charge $10 a day for one. Also the resort fee was a little high for people that only use the shuttle to St Armands Circle.

    The beach access was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The short drive to Ed Smith Stadium was a real plus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Gulf View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets were stained on our first night the sink had a crack and a black mould stain in it, the shower was useless (no pressure at all) a disgusting smell from the water (had to clean teeth with bottled water) there was blood on the curtains, when we confronted manager on the bed sheets being dirty, his comment was, and I quote mistakes happen!!!! And all this for $438 a night including breakfast!!! If they think they can charge this just because they have a private beach they are living in cloud cuckoo land.

    Absolutely nothing at all the whole building should be pulled down was a disgrace we checked out after 3 horrendous nights( should have gone the first night) but we thought things might have got better, but after speaking with the manager and the way he treated us we realised nothing was going to change, we checked into the Westin Sarasota a beautiful hotel and $138 a night cheaper with breakfast!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were as hard as a rock. The entry key cards didn't work well, we would have so swipe 5 -10 times before the door would recognize the key card. Oh, the showerhead was falling apart, spraying water everywhere. I didn't bother calling maintenance because we were only there for 2 nights.

    Location was perfect, right on the ocean, couldn't be any nicer. The pools and rooms were very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Umbrellas for the beach more plentiful and the pavilion roofs fixed. As an older property,I could hear the neighbors coughing.

    Quiet, everything close, great beach. Shuttle to town as parking is a challenge.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room location, we were tucked in a corner by the stairwell so listened to everyone coming and goin all night

    The room was dated but ok, heated pool was a bonus

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found a roach in our bathroom :/ the room could use some remodeling, especially for the price we paid per night. The shower went from warm to steaming hot throughout the shower. Overall, enjoyed the company we went with and made the best of it.

    The beach was very convenient. Food was fresh and service was fast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Gulf View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not ready. They changed room to less desirable. Front desk staff seemed stressed, not very helpful.

    Good breakfast. On beach. Some great staff. Near parks, lido beach and Sarasota shops and restaurants. Hotel shuttle.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chipped paint, water on rug probably mold underneath, droppings on shelf in closet , no paper for 2 days and room not cleaned one day. EPA nightmare. Way over priced for those conditions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like to have more information re the different types of room available. The whole property is "tired" and in need of renovation.

    Beachfront location and proximity to St. Armands Circle

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maintenance going on for mold, water damage, Swarms of black flies , sunlight coming under gap and sides I’d door, running out of cups and wash clothes, elevator not working on every floor, too few parking spots at night or steamy car if left on roof and varying rates of people Overpaid for a “motel” not a resort, and only 6 old bikes available?

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Gulf View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dated. The hotel room, though clean and comfortable, screamed the ‘60s.

    Location was perfect. This resort, right on the Gulf, has plenty of beach frontage.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Gulf View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Exterior of Building is outdated & needs painting...although if it was new.. it would be more expensive.

    Beautiful Peaceful location without crowds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Gulf View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite old and smaller than we’re used to but clean. The bed was the older spring type with heavy cording on the side and a little firmer than I prefer. Pillows probably could use replacing. Frig and microwave were in the closet area which was not in a lit up area so refrigerated items were a bit difficult to see. Window sheers were ripped but still useable. Had to extend our stay for a couple more days due to my husband’s back issues, and was charged a considerably higher daily rate for a Thursday and Friday night by the hotel. Didn’t really have a choice as my husband could barely walk with his pulled back muscles.

    Loved having a beachfront room and a deck to sit out on and watch the waves. It was in a nice location to both pools, beach, restaurant & gift shop. Had ample lounge chairs while on the beach and fresh beach towels daily. Beautiful sunsets to watch right from the privacy of our room. I liked having laundry facilities onsite and was able to take long walks along the beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facility is an old, musty motel that is in need of an upgrade. There was no place for the towels-they went on top of the safe. Roaches. The baskets were not emptied. When I asked the front desk whether they should be emptied, they said yes, but when I said they weren't, no comment was offered. The restaurant and waiter Patrick was very good, the beach wonderful. Fortunately, my allergies did not get triggered by the mold. The wifi kept disconnecting on my android. Btw, the rating system is biased UP. It should be a 1.0.

    The restaurant, the beach, and the thin towels. The missing washcloths.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very shabby hotel and rooms. Our room was not clean, it smelled like an old musty beach motel and it has not been updated since it was built. I would not call this a resort either. It is more like a motel.

    The hotel has 2 large pools and was right on the beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean, didn't feel comfortable. There was a huge flying termite infestation when we arrived. Huge. Maintenance worked quickly to shopvac up the bugs.

    Kids had fun on the beach and pool. Staff was very nice and helpful. Our room keys never worked, but maintenance hurried to get us in our room each time.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: