Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Travelodge by Wyndham Palo Alto Silicon Valley 2 stars

3255 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306, USA

#25 of 29 hotels in Palo Alto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 154 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    PRICE!!! newer Hotels in downtown S.F. or Oakland or San Jose, are less expensive. Because you are near Standford U. does not give you card blanc to double the price of a room . Our stay was on a Sunday night!!!~~

    no eggs, bed was average.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Proximity to Stanford University (10 minutes ride on bus 22). Nice and quiet room - the hotel is close to the road, but in my case that was not critical to sleeping or working. Cereals and toast for breakfast. Hotel staff is nice: gave couple of suggestions for a very late snack. Otherwise, it is one of many hotels along El Camino, and which turned out to be pretty good choice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Room is clean and wel furnished, so is the bathroom. The staff is very friendly and I had a lovely stay. If you want a real california motel experience, this is a good place for you :) Also, the location is nice. It is next to one of the major roads in the area with restaurant close by and the rooms are well isolated for sound.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very small, noisy location, small bathroom and tile work was pretty bad.

    It was clean and very accessible from the road. It had all the minor accessories, blow dryer, nice shampoo and conditioner and lotion. Water, coffee and tea are available in the room along with a couple granola bars. Continental breakfast was very scarce.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    filthy outside; loose wiring around the broken down cold drink machine dirty mops outside the rooms loose shopping carts outside the rooms used to transfer bedding run down main office unsmiling workers really run down showers

    nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Northern CA is just too expensive for what you get. The vacant lot next to the property looks junky. It looks like it belongs to the hotel. It needs to be developed into a garden or something. JUNKY! So does the 2nd floor storage. Close that thing off or clean it up.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast – can you really call it so? Coffee, food etc. without any qualities, only sweet food, no protein/savory items for breakfast. I am used to continental breakfasts in Hotels, so: rather no breakfast than this minimalist one !

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Antiseptic smell in the room (a sign of cleanliness, but a bit over the top). Minimal breakfast.

    Basic, clean room with excellent bed. Good location close to Stanford

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was very unreliable. We were close to the reception but had to use the wifi sitting on the cold concrete outside our room. It would sometimes keep the connection if we left the door open but was not accessible inside our room with the door closed. When I asked the guy on reception if anything could be done he accused me of disconnecting intentionally and insisted it was working. When I said it wasn't he pretty much cut me off. Even when he saw us sitting outside in the cold he ran right past us without saying a word. The breakfast was very basic.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was tiny, the shower very small, dark and slippery with NOTHING to grip for safety. I had requested a handicapped accessible room if possible in the comments when I booked (none were showing on the avaible rooms list). A call letting us know this would have saved great pain and frustration upon arrival. The registrar insisted I had not requested a handicapped room and was rather surly. Admittedly I was pretty upset, too, since my walker didn't even fit through the door and the toilet was too close to the door to even wedge it in.

    The room was clean, the bed reasonably comfortable (I have a bad hip so strange beds are a challenge) and the TV clear and easy to operate. The microwave and refrigerator were handy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid in full in November and they put a hold on my acct of 193.00 the day I arrived. I was mad because I didn't feel they should have done that since room was already paid in advance.

    Staff very courteous

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi connection was intermittent.

    It was nice to have additional amenities such as a microwave and a fridge. The room was comfortable enough for a solo traveler. The location made it easy to get around in Palo Alto.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we want to make a coffee or tea in the room there's no pot in the coffee maker.. Maybe the housekeeper forgot to put it back.

    Everything in the room is ok and we like it There's a free breakfast wherein we don't have to find anymore a place where we can eat.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They said I would not be given a refund because of the wording on the reservation. Thus I paid double. A hugely devastating development.

    I was in shock when I arrived...the week before these dates. The clerk pointed out the dates on my print out...this was my reunion week-end at Stanford. They found a room for me, although after one night I had to pack and move for the following two nights.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Three Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny rooms. Microwave didn't work and instructions were in French! TV picture cut off so we only saw part of the picture. Bathroom was so small it was impossible. Won't be back

    Sheets were clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traffic noise. The breakfast product was not fresh.

    It was close to the place we had an appointment.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was appalling.stale cereal in a very small check in office-yougert and a bagel. fraud to call this 'breakfast".

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to Stanford medical center

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Building is old, tv didn't work, brown water came out of shower, front desk staff not particularly friendly or helpful.

    Location is great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Phone didn't work, people out talking loudly early morning

    Not much

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds

    Price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bathrooms were terribly small and old. Noisy window ACs. The building needs to be renovated.

    Very pleasant and helpful staff at the front desk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Up stairs asked for down stairs when booked none available

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything

    breakfast was very little. not clean, shower head leaking had to tighten to us, toilets very low hard for my DAD to use.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything felt right

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit noisy, but endurable.

    Good staff, fine breakfast, convenient location and good price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Renovated, Friendly, Very practical. Simple breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    bath towel was not much larger than a hand-towel...noisy location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down, not clean, too small

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People walking in room above sounded like they were going to fall through ceiling.

    Clean and good amenities

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Clean and good bedrooms

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing fancy but clean and Convenient, great value for location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast could be better

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower curtain did not cover the length of the tub. Someone ringing the doorbell at 4am. Very over priced for very basic room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mold- age of motel, poor condition

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not worth the price.

    Beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive. Let down.

    Close to Stanford University

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A step above a hobo camp

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Three Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room stunk so bad my cousin woke up at 4am and couldn't sleep.

    It was close to where my dad had his funeral

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise level - extremely bad -- No sleep

    Cleanliness and very soft bed,

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both set of windows are awkwardly positioned you can't really open your curtains at any time.

    The staff is fabulous!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small parking lot

    I love the room and the staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Refrigerator and clock did not work, floors and shower did not look clean, heater noisy, lots of street noise.

    bed was comfortable

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loud people above us until 1AM!

    Location to Stanford Hospital

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra uncomfortable bed.

    good location. service front desk efficient. comfort reasonable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    great guys and clean place, thanks

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I want my refund asap. I availed this property only for 04 nights but paid for 06 nights.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wi-Fi tended to cut out often.

    Close to California St with good restaurants. The Staff was welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV cable inop. Staff couldn't help with that. Room small, but ok.

    Location was perfect for us.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is too small

    Room has refrigerator and microwave

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slight smell of mildew, but for the price it was fairly clean.

    Easy to get to Stanford activities.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was just cereal. Went to a nearby cafe everyday. TV didn't work.

    Bed was comfy. Everything was clean. Wifi was fast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room service

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard.

    The gentleman who greeted us was so nice and upgraded our room to a bigger bed! Room was quiet too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    front desk overbooked and didnt have ny reservation

    nothing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    the enviroment of the hotel is very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no smoke alarm. Isn't that illegal???? We were extremely dissatisfied, and it was super expensive for such a crappy place. The bed was uncomfortable, the bathroom old and crumbling. I would never stay there again.

    The only positive aspect was the very kind man at the desk.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room. Outdated. Not very clean. Bathroom is tiny. Overpriced for a motel. But it is Palo Alto. Can't expect more.

    Location. Staff is friendly.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleaners did not empty coffee maker, provide new paper cups. The floor carpet is dated. Breaks consists of coffee, juice, and pastries: we did not use it.

    Desk Manageris friendly. Location is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We checked in early, booked 2 queen rooms got 2 double bed rooms instead even though we were happy to pay the extra $60. Was very disappointing.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    For $170 I expected more! I should have paid more attention to some of the other reviews. Breakfast was pathetic, carpet was dirty, water pressure in the shower was the worst I have ever had - I know there is a water shortage BUT my shower took 3 times as long to take! Where the swimming pool used to be there is a weed strewn lot still with the pool signs - make use of this land and put in some additions or at least more parking.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Couple

    bathroom,outside noise and noisy a/c low water pressure worn out and brown towels carpet was wet during check in

    wifi,free parking,free breakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Family with young children

    The shower was outdated and gross, the bathroom door didn't shut all the way, and the bathroom in general was disgusting, there was a lot of noise from the other rooms and the smell was gross!

    The beds were comfortable

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not as well maintained as other Travelodges I have stayed at. The rooms and building itself is suffering from a lack of attention. The fire alarm was missing in the room I stayed in as well as there were burnt out lights. The wifi was spotty.

    Location was good. Tv options were good.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Couple

    They need to cut down on the fragrance spray. Caused my husband I to have allergy symptoms the entire time. It was awful!

    The rooms are adequate. The location is good. It is clean.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    room had mildew smell; when I told the staff there was no accommodation offered. pipes had rusty water when shower first turned on

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I didn´t like the bathroom, it was terrible. The shower was extremely small and looked very dirty

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bad Wi-Fi connection, no any reading lamp on a table - could not work

    The breakfast was quite well, great location, friendly staff, quite clear

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent room

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Family with older children

    It should be little more cleaner.

    Custumer services was great.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The shower didn't work. Even after I called front desk they did nothing. This really set me back. Won't stay again

    Closeness to my meeting

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was in Room 205. It sounded like every car on El Camino was just outside my window, very noisy.

    Staff was really great

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Wifi.

    Location.

There are also 43 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: