Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Barclay Towers Hotel and Resort 3 stars

809 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451, USA

#39 of 105 hotels in Virginia Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 860 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Great stay! Comfy bed! Amazing view! Great staff! Good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They did not service my room when I was in there, but it was not the worse thing every. I just asked the front desk for what I needed and got what I wanted. Awesome staff!

    The staff was super friendly and were eager to help! The location is PERFECT!! All the hotels have an ocean front view! I was on the 8th top floor and the views were awesome!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    It was absolutely perfect. The view was stunning, cannot wait to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    If we had a better way to clean off the sand before going back into the hotel. Our room got very sandy, but I did ask for a vacuum cleaner and they immediately brought one to me. I like a clean room always.

    The room was great and it really was a perfect location. Will stay here the next time we are in Virginia Beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Room and location were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning unit was noisy had to turn it off nightly to sleep.

    The staff was very friendly, the room was clean comfortable and location is great, breakfast was good also.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Bed was very comfortable, shower had great water pressure,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t really have much to complain about except for ice machine was broke and had to keep going to other floors for ice ,

    Bed was very comfortable, shower had great water pressure, great location, good breakfast ,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Suite was great, breakfast always hot and ready, staff very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bit far from many boardwalk attractions.

    Suite was great, breakfast always hot and ready, staff very friendly and willing to help and answer questions!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    It was a great place for family vacation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The window/solid door to the balcony. Would have rather had a sliding glass door to go out to balcony. Have small fridge in kitchen served purpose, but would like full fridge-even if apartment size

    size of room with living room was great. Loved the balcony-ocean front. Great choices for continental breakfast with outside sitting. Staff very friendly. Great indoor pool and hot tub!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay, will most likely stay at Barclay Hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great value for the July 4th week! All rooms king suites, with king sofa bed and with a fridge, stove, microwave and serve continental breakfast daily.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.4
    Needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had someone else's hair on floor,no toilet paper holder,mold on tub,food on wall in kitchen,rugs not vacuumed, all baseboards dirty,bacony furniture dirty.room needs updating for price.asked housekeeping for more t/p and they never came.after 3hrs and calling front desk someone came.

    Excellent Continental breakfast, great location,large suite,great parking,early check in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Property was in a great location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bathroom could use an overhaul. There were a lot of patch’s in the drywall.

    Property was in a great location . It was not overly crowded for a holiday, Front desk and housekeeping were very accommodating. I will definitely book again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Overall, I definitely would suggest this hotel for a VA Beach Vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't experience too many negatives about this hotel. The only thing I could say is the limited parking in front of the hotel. However, there is a overflow parking lot located just across the street that the hotel uses. It was fine for me.

    I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel/resort. The beds were comfy, the staff was friendly, the breakfast was decent, and the views from the balcony were amazing. On one side of the hotel the beach was steps aways and on the other side restaurants and shops were steps away. I've stayed at VA Beach before in other hotels. I loved loved loved the location of this one. It is located on 9th street. Not too busy, but not too quiet. It was perfect. I will definitely visit again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Stay was decent. Rooms weren't the cleanest. Breakfast was terrible. Pool & hot tub dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms weren't the cleanest. The pool and the hot tub were dirty. No sheets in the room for the sofa bed.

    Loved the location to the beach & stores. Value was great for the suite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    The bed was extremely comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It could have used a better lighting in the kitchen.

    The bed was extremely comfortable...best one yet. Very clean big rooms. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Decent hotel at the beach
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast starts at 7 - I would have preferred start at 6 of 6:30am. You will get a decent breakfast but don’t expect something special.

    Nice hotel at the beach. Rooms are clean, all have oceaan view. And a separate bedroom. Free parking at the hotel of across the street. Although most summer entertainment is between 17th and 32nd street, some very good restaurants are closeby. And it’s a bit more quite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Great stay, definitely looking forward to having more friends join us next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room set-up is a bit weird, considering that you enter into the bedroom and then you proceed to the kitchenette and living room area. Thought it would have been pretty cool to have the opening to the beach from the room, but no complaints.

    Love that the property was directly on the beach. Made beach visits so much more convenient! Breakfast was pretty filling as well

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For some people it may have appeared a little fun down but for our purpose it was perfect!!!

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. The suites were delightful with room for everyone including the toddler and 2 month old and everyone could sleep. It was in a great location and the pool was great. We'll be back!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    The facility is a little tired, but it's clean & comfortable. You're there for beach anyway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were only 2 elevators and one was on the verge of malfunctioning. No service elevator, so housekeeping had to use them during prime guest use time as well. That made check-out a hassle. Our balcony door latch was loose. Our floor's ice machine was down. It was really nice to have a kitchenette, however it could have been a little better stocked -- only 2 glasses, 3 mugs, 2 small bowls, 4 plates and dessert plates along with a small set of pots, silverware and a few cooking utensils. We managed with a few things we brought along.

    Great location and view. The bed and sofa bed were comfortable. A/C worked great. The included breakfast was quite good and the housekeeping service was very good. Easy walk to restaurants, shopping, pier, etc. All of the staff were friendly and nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    The hotel was wonderful everyone was super nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was wonderful everyone was super nice!they also had a bigger breakfast every morning (eggs,sausage or ham, hashbrowns,toast,bagels,muffins,pastriesand cereal) we loved it there and we will most likely be back:)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Great stay at Barclay Towers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't really have any complaints, only that the controls on the stove didn't work properly.

    Great location, staff very friendly, rooms were very clean, bed was so comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    This was a great stay, the room and staff were great. Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area could use more space, and the food isn’t great, but it works if you can’t get to any of the near by restaurants.

    I loved the size of the room, you can close off the bedroom if others are still up in the living room & kitchenette side. The view was awesome. The bed is very comfortable and the room was nice & clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really enjoyed and loved the hotel, everything was great, the staff all. The washers need to wash a little better and dryers do take a long time to dry even with small load of clothes. But apart feom that was very happy with everything

    The view of the hotel room was great. Loved it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    A pleasant stay at the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minor thing, but the top drawer in the chest of drawers in the bedroom wouldn't stay closed. Eventually we taped it up.

    The roominess and division of a two-room suite; great breakfasts; friendly and helpful staff; excellent view of the ocean and boardwalk from our balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Staff was very quick to get engineering to our room both...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very quick to get engineering to our room both times the ac went out, offered to move us rooms as well. Staff was unbelievably nice. Will be staying here in the future. Located right by everything. The pool and hot tub were both very clean and a joy to relax in after a long day on the beach. Breakfast was good as well!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t think of anything.

    Everything. The room was spacious and clean. Staff was amazing. Breakfast was hot and good. It’s right on the beach and it was an awesome stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Wasn't much for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't much for breakfast. To me any way . Not everyone like eggs.Guess iam use to having waffles. When told hot breakfast theirs waffles. Everything else was great. Thank you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    was happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    two washing machines were broken.

    Loved the lay out of the room. the parents have their own room, the kids stay in the living room with pull out couch. the free breakfast was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Family vacation 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was at a very convenient location. Our breakfast was good and located near good restaurants for dinner. Our room was clean and the kitchenette was just what we needed.

    The room rate was reasonable and on a great section of the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent! Will stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. One of the front desk girls was "venting" about another guest at the front desk in a rather loud way. Otherwise, they were great and accommodating.

    The room was fully stocked. Toiletries, pots, pans, dishes, full sized coffee pot and a stove. The bedroom was separate from the dining and living area. The view of the beach was amazing! The front desk staff was pleasant. The breakfast buffet was fresh and tasty. The bed felt great and the pull out sofa was pretty good. The room was quiet and very clean. Parking was close. Little pricey but we stayed during Memorial Day. Will stay there again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    will not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The A/C unit in the room was making extra loud noise when turning on and would wake us up in the middle of the night. The room was near the elevators which were dinging every time someone was using them, which also woke us up at the wee hours.

    Location was great. Staff was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    It was a great weekend getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was a little soft. But other than that, the stay was great!!!

    The stay was very relaxing and activity at the beach was very entertaining. We also enjoyed the pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    Overall the stay was pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At times, the staff seemed bothered by a request for bed sheets and blankets for the sofa bed and nearby restaurants. The facilities were fairly old; especially the bathtub and toilet. One elevator kept breaking and there were long lines to get up and down. The breakfast left much to desire. While it's nice to get a complimentary breakfast, the eggs were under cooked and the pastries were stale.

    Overall the stay was pleasant. The staff was nice and helpful most of the time. Loved the location of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was plentiful and tasty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. The room was great with an ocean view. Parking was no problem. Lots to do and eat and see around. Housekeeping was very nice and helpful. One elevator broke while we were there, which slowed things down. But it was a minor issue.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    3.8
    It was beachfront, and easy access to local venues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping took 4 days to enter our room, didn’t restock our towels till day 4. We talked to a front desk attendant 3 times about ants in our room and no one came to see the problem. Ants were all over the kitchen, in the cupboards, by the door to the deck, etc. The staff was not friendly or helpful when we relayed the ant problem, and we were not offered any alternative solutions.

    It was beachfront, and easy access to local venues.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    I liked the short distance to the beach, also the bed was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The part I disliked was the fact the bedroom was so close to the front door which you could hear everyone coming and going by your room the wall was too thin also our room was at the elevator and ice machine so you could hear everything.

    I liked the short distance to the beach, also the bed was very soft, the hot tub was nice and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Very nice and gmfriendly guest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At exactly 10 they run you out of the pool or hottub and they had the same breakfast everyday. It got old so I ate breakfast some where else. Scrambled restaurant was great and only 2 blocks away

    The location was great. The service was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    nice, relaxing oceanfront resort. will definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather! Lol. Rain and cool from sun.-Wed morning. Warmed up and was beautiful until Fri.

    Breakfast was good ANF plenty of it. Staff was friendly and helpful. The view was everything we want !.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Great view, awesome cleaning staff and right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first time in the 3 times we've stayed there some of the facilities were off. Toilet was runny and wobbly and one of the burners were uneven making cooking weird.

    Cleaning staff was awesome and very welcoming. View is amazing from the balcony. Kitchenette set was sufficent for our needs. The rooms were a good size for couples and small families. Lots of great food options (walk to Side Street Cantina)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Had a great time, wonderful location, would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice if there was a full four person setting of dishes and flatware, and a dish cloth rather than an SOS pad. We had to call for a set of sheets for th pull out rather than a set already being in the room, but none of this was enough to put a damper on things.

    The view of the ocean was great, and it's near a lot of the night life which was good too. There was a lot of space in the room to make a long stay comfortable. Although the ocean is right there it was nice to have a pool for the kids so we didn't have to bee concerned about sun burns in the middle of the day. The majority of the staff was friendly and very accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Very nice with 2 exceptions
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tamara was extremely rude. Inhad to yell for her when I was ready to check out. She made it obvious that she didn't want to be bothered. She ignored me when I asked her a question. She was rude to the customer on the phone, rolling her eyes and taking deep breaths. She hung and without looking at me simply said your checkout is done. No how was stay or have a safe trip. The cleaning lady was rude and half cleaned the room. I don't her name, but her head was wrapped in colorful scarf.those 2 people alone did not leave a great impression on me. However, the rest of the staff was friendly and made our stay very nice.

    The room was nice. Lisa at the front desk was awesome. The hot tub and pool were the perfect temperature. My daughter, her friends and I really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    3.3
    Not worth the money, motel not hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smoking, loudness, room set up with that extra window facing the hallway in the bedroom. Only one bed

    Hotel was masked with Marijuana smell everywhere you went couldn't go on the deck out you'd be high. Complained but did nut get any response other than we can't tell where it'd coming from. I have severe asthma and it stated that on my reservation, placed on the top floor. There is a window that faced the inside corridor weird and awkward. Loud, front desk manager was very rough with no real customer service skills but she did get us refundef. Because of leaving next day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    We stayed here for four nights in five days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here for four nights in five days. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location walk out the back door straight on to the boardwalk and beach! Kids love swimming in the pool and hot tub every night! The room set up was great. Living area with a kitchen was very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.4
    Okay at best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in process could have been better! Got there a little early in the morning and was turned around as it was too early (5AM), understandably so, however my girlfriend and I were willing to pay for another room no matter the charge as we drove 7+ hours from NY and were ready to get some rest for the morning. We were told by the hostess to wait for the manager until 7AM. Disappointed, we went to a nearby hotel, the Ramada and got a room on the spot at a discounted rate and actually stayed there for the night. We spoke to and brought this up to the front desk manager, Tracy, who told us, nothing can be done and with a sarcastic, "Enjoy your stay!!!". Suffice to say, I will not be returning to this hotel in the future due to lack of decency and understanding, you don't always have to be so black and white with your customers.

    Room amenities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    The property location is amazing facing the ocean great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stove was old 3 burners working only. Breakfast was a bomb cooked in room which was great. Balcony furniture needs to be cleaned.

    The property location is amazing facing the ocean great view. Close to a ton of places to eat and shop within walking distance. It’s on the less busier side of the beach which is great. Staff is nice full kitchen. Comfy bed housekeeping was sweet. Pots and pans and dishes as well. Bathroom clean spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.4
    Wouldn’t stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was minimal. I asked for an extra parking pass since our friend was coming from another town and couldn’t ride with us, but they wouldn’t give us one so she ended up spending $40 at the parking garage. There is no on-site garage like most places so we had to park a block down across the street. The “deluxe” continental breakfast had little options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Clean, spacious rooms at a great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was a little inconvenient, but nice. Would’ve like an option to purchase hot options for breakfast.

    Clean, spacious rooms at a great value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    2nd Visit, better staff than the first, by far.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed wasn't that comfortable. Maybe a different room is better.

    The location is awesome. All rooms are on the ocean side. It has a small kitchen area supplied with plates, silverware and cooking pans. We didn't cook, but we did make some lunches, and appreciated the refrigerator and the coffee pot. It's a real coffee pot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.0
    It was horrible will not be coming back
    • Group
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was horrible and super rude

    Ive gone to this place a couple of times the breakfast used to be good but now they no longer have eggs or sausage no potatoes I found a bed bug on the donuts ask the staff to to throw it away that she destroyed the evidence and smushed it saying it was a poppy seed well all i can say is that poppy seeds don't have legs i also asked for extra blankets for my friends that were sleeping on the sofa bed they told us they had no blankets available this hotel has to be the most worst place I felt like I was not be treated fairly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay....will stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been cleaner. Trash behind the couch, and the room smelled.

    Oceanfront hotel, and you could walk to local restaurants and soveriour shops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    6.3
    Not too bad for a quick stay, but I may have needed to switch rooms had my stay been longer.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room toiletries were missing upon arrival. The toilet was not operating properly and I had to fix the stopper myself in order to flush. The loud air handler made it difficult to sleep. Because of a race, if we didn't move our vehicles from the parking deck before 7:00 a.m. when the streets were closed, we would have been stuck until 9:30 a.m. We ended up having to move to a paid parking deck in order to get to my conference on time.

    Great location at a quieter part of the beach, decent continental breakfast. Convenient parking deck just across the street if the hotel lot fills up.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous location, all rooms with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little worn and tired looking

    Right at beach, gorgeous view onto water, loud surf sounds, parking at hotel or garage across street, suite with kitchen

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Best location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all, the towels needed to be more clean because few of them had dirty spots. I didn't complain about it. They should throw those away instead of washing and display again. Secondly, the breakfast was not that good. I usually don't write a review but this one I really wanted to tell everyone. Do not expect a good breakfast at this hotel please!

    Location was the best, the swimming pool was ok and the cleaness is acceptable. Overall it was ok hotel for that price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    It was very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was the fridge in our room was small and it froze our milk and some other stuff. Other than that it was great!

    Everything was good, overall. I was pleasantly surprised at this hotel. I really can’t say anything bad about it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    This was a well needed getaway for our family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a bit disappointing as the were no hot options, otherwise it was adequate.

    The location was convenient, right on the beach and boardwalk within walking distance to restaurants and beach shops and a short drive to local attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Had a great stay with family but even the kids noticed how lacking the breakfast was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The morning breakfast had nothing hot I didn’t expect much but more than I got

    I thought there was great value for the money. Location is obvious. Parking was very easy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Very good - relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would be nice to have a restaurant at hotel.

    The check in was quick and easy and Jennifer was very friendly and welcoming. Best experience I have had checking in at a hotel in quite a while. Pool was warm and hot tub was nice and hot with good jets.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.7
    Ok but not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was too small for the amount of people staying there. Continental breakfast was lacking(once it’s gone wasn’t anything else). Elevator sounded like it was going to break. Ice maker on our floor never worked, so we had to go to other floors to find ice. Gap under door made it to where you heard everything in the hallway.

    The room was comfortable. Maid was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    AMAZING! Will stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing i think could be approved on was the breakfast selections. We ended up making breakfast in our room because of the limited availability.

    The view was amazing. The kitchen in room was adequate! House keeping was amazing! The front desk staff was so polite and accommodating. We needed a baking sheet and we called the front desk and they found one for us. We also needed some extra sugar for our coffee in room and they brought us plenty and some extra cups for the kids!! LOVED this hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am a smoker and you cannot smoke on the property at all.

    I initially booked because of the location and the price. THEN ... I read the reviews. I felt like I had made a mistake, but when I showed up at 10 at night I was reassured that I had made the correct decision. The staff were friendly and the hotel was wonderful. The bed was super comfy and the room was well appointed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.0
    Frustrating rather than soothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had not been cleaned, bed wasn’t made, no toilet paper or tissues..yet we were given key and told it was ready. I got bites on me from something in the room. We were promised a discount because of our problems but don’t know if we got it or not...haven’t seen a statement.

    Arrangement of rooms. I liked having bedroom private.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    Mental health break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unit could have been cleaner. Kitchen area was greasy and carpet needed vaccumed. Balcony was very small.

    Very comfortable king bed. Oceanfront. Liked layout of room. Bathroom was a good size and sofa was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    😍😍😍
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes we had to go across the street to the parking garage if the hotel lot was filled. Still free though

    I LOVED this property! The staff were very professional and nice. The breakfast was very convenient for my kids, I took them down every morning when they woke up to get breakfast. The room was beautiful and HUGE! I loved the whole set up and the ocean VIEW. OMG this was the best Vacation so glad I found this deal and it was a good price $300 for 3 nights. You can’t beat it. This suite also had a pool and lovely hot tub which we enjoyed because we were the only ones in there. Not sure how lucky the next people will get though because the pool was packed at night. My next stay will definitely be here 😃

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    Awesome views and very convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    While the room was comfortable, the furniture especially the sofa is showing signs of wear and tear. The corners in the bathroom were not as clean as they could have been but the tub, toilet , and sink were clean.

    The view from the balcony is outstanding. Access to the boardwalk and the surrounding restaurants and the Aquarium is very convenient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    3.3
    Dirty hotel room, rude staff, pitiful breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have never posted a negative review of a hotel before, but this was hands-down the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Long story short, uncleaned hotel room bathroom, rude staff, pitiful breakfast, and misinformation given about the gym. The staff was completely unwilling to be civil and engaged, let alone help you if you had a question or request. When we filled out a "room maintenance" card asking that our bathroom ACTUALLY be cleaned (more below), we were given blank, rude stares and told that the room maintenance cards were only "if something was wrong with the room." I guess filth doesn't count as wrong? When we arrived in our room, the bathroom had not been cleaned. There were little hair clippings all over the counter and toilet. The counter was brownish marble, so I suppose the cleaning staff thought they could get away with leaving the counter dirty because all the hair and grime blended in. We asked that the bathroom be cleaned, went to dinner, came back. While you could tell that some attention had been given to the counter (one main pile of hair clippings was gone), there was still hair all over! I am not bothered by the hair per se, but it signifies that the counter had not been wiped properly. My husband and I had to go out and buy bathroom cleaner and clean the place ourselves. If Booking.com gives me an option to post pictures, I will upload pictures of how much hair and brown grime came away on the white wash cloth I used to clean. A few days before our stay, I called the hotel and asked what the gym was like. After asking me as if he thought it was the stupidest question he had ever heard ("You...wanna know what the GYM...is LIKE?"), he said to hold, then yelled back and forth with a coworker, gathering information. Among other things, he told me there were free weights. Well, I was counting on that. And when we stayed there, there were no free weights.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.4
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was only ( 1 ) bar soap in the bathroom. There should have been at least ( 4 ) bars for ( 3 ) occupants. The breakfast was awful. Breakfast area was small & guarded as if there were a lot to choose from. The lady receptionist was okay. However, their uniforms were unprofessional looking. Looks like housekeeping. Men personnel did not wear uniforms. Heater / Air Con was noisy when working.

    ( 2 ) TVs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Great location, friendly and accommodating staff and great value for the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Older hotel, need to update appliances and furniture in the rooms.

    Granted this is an older hotel but the rooms are large and well appointed. Breakfast buffet was a nice free surprise. Pool area was large, clean and well maintained. Overall very happy with this hotel, would stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    4.6
    Terrible experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rude staff, lack of service, 1st room smelled of cigarettes, 2nd was dirty. Room wasn't made up until 8pm (even after two requests), pull-out bed was not made up, even after request. Linen was only supplied after asking twice. Breakfast was poor - fruit loops, dry donuts, bad coffee and cold boiled eggs.

    Ocean view. Nothing else.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    Check in staff was great and I would stay again if there were no other options
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed, way to hard!!! The Bedroom needs curtains, to much light in at night from street and hall. parking spaces were limited.

    The Shower was AWESOME!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    We were missing lots of necessities like soap to wash our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were missing lots of necessities like soap to wash our hands. The vending machines didn’t work on our floor and the “continental breakfast” was lack.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent R&R.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    There could be more car parking spots and parking should not feel like "The Hunger Games"

    Excellent location and the view from the room. The room was really well furnished.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Winter Escape
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was ok but we wanted a full breakfast so we went to Scrambles.

    I liked being able to see the ocean, have a full kitchen, and a separate bedroom. The location is great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    Worst stay at hotel ever due to the the behavior of one guest/room and staf response
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very unhappy with the hotel staff not handling the noise level of one particular guest/room. Very disrespectful room to the other guests on the floor. Staff should have made guests leave hotel or reimbursed the others on the floor for having to deal with the nasty behavior of the one guest.

    I like the location and room was clean. Price was reasonable as well

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.1
    It was O.K. Could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More fruit selections. Some hot items such as waffle iron, scrambled eggs, bacon. NO heat in room. Had to wait until next morning to be fixed. Had to ask for blankets. Mirrors not cleaned. No tea bags or hot chocolate in room.

    Hard boiled eggs fluffy? Not enough room for comments. Had to tell dining room attendant that hot chocolate was outdated by 5 months!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Great !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The continental was pretty cleaned out!

    The hotel was awesome!! Staff was very friendly and helpful! Wish the continental was replenished when depleted when we got there @ 9:30 it was pretty cleaned out!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.3
    Family vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. There were baby ants crawling around the food and I was also expecting a hot breakfast.

    Rooms are spacious. Loved the indoor pool and hot tub.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    It was nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heat did not regulate overnight. We should have called the front desk. We found out that they fixed something with system but some rooms may needed to be reset.

    The view was beautiful. All rooms face the ocean. You can sit on the balcony and sip your drinks. I didn't realize there was a kitchenette. Next, time we'll bring food and stay in the room. Will go back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    Very nice; had stayed there before, would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine for what we needed.

    Can't say anything about the breakfast, as we didn't eat there (we have our favorite spots in the local area). The bed was comfortable; the room was comfortable; the location is awesome - right on the beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Barclay Towers Hotel and Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: