Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Benjamin 5 stars

125 East 50th Street, Midtown East, New York, NY 10022, USA

#220 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 760 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    We’d stay once a month if we could!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was so kind, helpful, and went out of their way to talk to my young children. Jonathan was so fun, every morning before we headed out he would talk sports with my 7 year old. Great place to stay!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Terrific hotel in Midtown!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We stayed at The Benjamin during our honeymoon. As the hotel found out about us being newly weds, they upgraded our room to a suite! It was an extremely spacious suite which lots of comfort and services. We also recommend guests of The Benjamin to make use of the pillow menu, as we slept like babies on our requested pillows. The Benjamin is located in Midtown, so you can get to any place very quickly by foot or subway. We would definitely stay at this hotel the next time and could recommend visitors to NYC to stay here as well!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    It's a nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyday in the morning and evening there was a cooking smell which was not expected to be present.

    I like their politeness and friendliness very much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location, pleasant and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite - Disability Access
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mini bar very expensive but there’s lots of convenience stores nearby.

    Great location, pleasant and helpful staff. Extremely clean and well appointed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.3
    Good location for central park, needs a refurb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    After requesting a quiet room, we were given one on the second floor where the window opened straight onto the ventilation vents - super noisy! They refused to change the room, until we threatened we are leaving the hotel. Worn down feel to the whole hotel - they seem to have invested mostly in the reception area. Went for breakfast at the restaurant - staff were awful and made it clear they could not be bothered to serve you.

    Good location for central park and Bloomingdales.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Bed was extremely comfortable. Staff was awesome. Friendly atmosphere. The room was spacious, clean and the atmosphere was plush but not pretentious. Highly recommend. Walking distance to good diners were a few blocks. Central park was a little further but I didn't mind the walk because so much to see.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Perfection in every respect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The one-bedroom suite was spacious, comfortable for four people to sleep and lounge. The decor was understated elegance, impeccable in taste. The king bed and sofabed were cozily comfortable. The cleanliness was beyond reproach and every need was accounted for. The only lodging I will consider in NYC.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    4.2
    Not what is used to be!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service. The bellman said he'd have the pullout sofa prepared by 8:30 PM. Upon returning to the hotel for the night at midnight, the pullout sofa was still not prepared. Had to call for service which took over 45 minutes. A strange man in no uniform appeared at the door saying he was to fix the room and sofa bed. Awful for $1,500.00!

    Not Much! I stayed here in the early 2000's, and, boy, has the quality dropped! $1500. for three nights and the room was dirty. The furniture was worn, lampshades were ripped and stained. the pullout sofa was horrific! It's not what I remember. Will never stay there again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Great stay in New York in a lovely hotel with very friendly staff location couldn't have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We asked to move rooms after the first night of our stay as we were situated next to the lift which continually made a 'clunking' noise every time it went up or down. If you are going to put guests in this room it needs to be well insulated to prevent the noisy lift disturbing sleep. Once we had moved to another room not close to the lift there was no problem.

    Beds extremely comfortable and staff very professional and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    We liked the hotel very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Windows did not help too much in reducing the noise of the street. We had to move a few floors up. But, I think, this is just a reality of NYC.

    We liked the hotel very much. Staff was very helpful. Special thanks to Caroline who helped in changing the room and was extremely helpful with everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location and service, lacks in very important quality details..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is very small, the shower head never worked properly, not much water coming out of it, and the towels were tiny.. unusually tiny. The pillows were bad quality too.. those things really make a difference.

    I liked the location and friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Enjoyable as always
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevators service, sometimes it takes extra time to wait. Are they meeting the demand properly? During my second stay last week my room was at the Lexington side.., it was too noisy in the evening

    Comfort, staff kindness, food at the National and the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel. Great location. Poor gym facility and service recovery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a five star hotel - rated as such partly on facilities. I used the gym every day I was at the hotel and on the first day mentioned that the upright bike was out of order. I was told it would be fixed. By the second da four out of six CV machines were not working and I complained to no avail as the situation was the same on day three. Not what I expected - I wonder how quickly the hotel would react if half its restaurant tables were out of action. I only received a half hearted apology and promise of repair each day which was not met. Disappointing!

    Location is excellent. Room and service very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Each room is unique. Lots of space, living area, kitchenette and bedroom. Love this property!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are all small. Shower in the bathtub is never a favorite. Heating in the bedroom worked like A/C even on heat mode. I’d return anyway! It’s a great area and beautiful property.

    Unique rooms with lots of space. Kitchenette with great coffee maker, microwave and fridge.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    After a full day, it was so nice to come back to a smile and a spacious room where we could relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we initially arrived, the room temp was 88 degrees, and each afternoon we returned from sightseeing, the room temp was in low 80s. In the hotel's defense, we didn't say anything as it was easily remedied by opening window and resetting temp.

    Room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Staff was very friendly and attentive. Only thing we had to ask for the entire time was a flat sheet for the bed. Elias was a gem with his restaurant suggestions, all of which were spot-on.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    It’s a very nice hotel l, well-priced and well-located.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Quilted clothes hangers would be nice. And better coffee maker in the room. It think the brand is Cuisinart and it’s not great. Coffee pods make a weak cup of coffee

    Good bathroom lighting, magnifying mirror, good water pressure, well-planned room layout and nicE-sized rooom. Check-in was a bit slow, room service was quick and the National is a very nice restaurant. All staff were very pleasant to deal with.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They Changed the rate on me that WAS QUOTED TO,ME FROM 153.00 PER NIGHT TOO 1$179.00 PER NIGHT FOR,NO REASON!! I WILL NEVER STAY THEIR AGAIN THEN CHARGED ME FOR $$ 94.00 OF INCIDENTIALS FROM TJE ROON I DIDNT EVEN USE!!!$

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved this hotel! It was very spacious with nice high ceilings. Super clean and very comfortable. Location was great, we walked to 5th avenue, central park and times square and there is a subway 2 minutes away. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    the beds were fantastic. we had a one bedroom suite and the accommodation and facilities were of an outstanding quality. The location was fantastic

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    6.7
    major bobo
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    upon check in at the reception in was offered to upgrade my room which I did take as i arrive very early. however, a few moment later booking.com offered the same upgrade tot he same room at USD 30 less per day. make me feel not good at all.

    restaurant is good. beds are comfortable. clean place. Location is good too and the room is newish.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    5.8
    Overrated, overpriced for the area. Great hotel 15 years ago. A bit sad now.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms dated, dusty/dirty, no fully restocked, smelly... and not in a good way..Kitchen exhaust wafting through the room was awful.

    The location is superb. The National is wonderful. The staff friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel, great location with some great staff, some great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricing structure needs to be clearer, the hotel put an extra hold on your card for incidentals to the tune of $100 per night, but don’t tell you! Their own facilities charge is a bit misleading too, apparently it’s $10 per person per day for the use of the spa/gym or food or drink oh and also for the ‘free’ WiFi. $10 doesn’t get you anything in the F&B department! And a gym/ spa...... on a break in New York! Forget about it!

    Super comfy beds! A very professional concierge service. Great location too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    An ideal location from which to explore Manhattan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about in particular or that wasn't dealt with efficiently and politely. Very accommodating staff. Thank you.

    The welcome at the Benjamin was excellent and door staff and reception staff were very helpful. We travelled with our two kids and shared a suite. Extra towels and cot bed were no problem and happily provided. Directions and advice were never a problem which helped us get around the subways etc. The location is excellent with subways to 9/11 memorial and battery park (E metro) just a street away and to midtown right across the road (6). A short walk to Central Park, Rockefeller and to 5th avenue a real bonus. I would recommend without question for anyone planning a lot of tourist activities. Overall a good choice and I would recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Perfect Boutique hotel - great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a great find! The hotel staff were fantastic and friendly - nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were very clean and spacious. Bed was super comfortable! Fabulous location for sightseeing and proximity to places to eat. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    5.8
    disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was spotty, safe did not work, no soap, staff not friendly and did not care about my points and bathroom needed a good clean

    Bed was nice and location was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    The staff absolutely made our stay wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little pricey, but it is a well kept older hotel.

    The staff absolutely made our stay wonderful. The gentleman at the front door was professional and kind. Also the location was ideal!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.5
    The hotel was actually perfect for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The finishes were dated. The bath, while clean, was in need of an update. The design of the rooms was reasonably bland but certainly attractive enough.

    The size of the suite was great, the location, outstanding.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.1
    Big comfortable bed, nice living space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be cleaner (had used cups from the previous guests lying around) you’d expect a higher standard from a suite.

    Big comfortable bed, nice living space

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.3
    Elegant spacious rooms, great service & staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited food options from the restaurant; delays in early check in; limited valet you can only take your car out once a day which is not reasonable; lack of information about spa

    Attention to detail by staff easy access to gym great location fabulous space

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    The Benjamin is top notch!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We gave our two 20-something daughters a NYC/Broadway trip for Christmas. The Benjamin was perfect in every way. We had two rooms with a single vestibule entry. Both rooms had a great mini bars with microwaves, mini fridge and a wonderful selection of snacks, coffee etc. The hotel is an older boutique hotel and while the lobby furniture was somewhat worn the rooms are fabulous with lovely linens, robes and super clean bathrooms. The staff is very attentive. In particular we enjoyed Jonathan, one of the doormen. The National, the hotel’s restaurant, serves a terrific brunch. The Benjamin is a 10 in our book and we look forward to coming back. Thank you.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    except for the bedsheet changes excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    they did not change the bed sheets daily .There was one day I did not have the room cleaned as i was sick, however on the days I had the room serviced the sheets were only changed once and only bec I was in the room during cleaning service and the maid asked me.

    everything was as expected good staff , friendly accomodating

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent overall. In the heart of everything - We will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One concierge could only offer up in hotel ideas ....eg meals etc. Either no imagination or getting an incentive? Of the 3 we spoke with Tom was EXCELLENT!

    Cozy - excellent doormen

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Very nice hotel with kitchenette so you can fix your own breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very noisy A/C. There's a 30 dollar service charge per night, which is good to have in mind when comparing prices of different hotels.

    Good size room (deluxe king studio) and comfortable bed. Full size mirror. Small kitchenette with a microwave and a big fridge. Check-in and check-out was impeccable. Good location close to the subway and Grand Central Terminal.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being on 5th floor was quite noisey at night with traffic outside, we managed ok but would preferably asked for a higher floor next time!

    Lovely hotel, friendly helpful staff, rooms were spacious, nicely decorated and very comfortable!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    Good location but check your bill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel has a 30 usd per day as a resort tax and inform guests that a 10 usd per day can be used at the hotel bar However this did not happen to me and only after my claim at the checkout they dice us Hotel personnel is nice but reception could be mor friendly

    Good location and clean rooms Comfortable hotel and nice fitness center

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    Great location - great staff - great hotel - big thumbs up!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping may wish to clean behind the freestanding bedside cabinets between guests! Nothing untoward down there other than a lot of dust!

    Reception staff and doormen friendly and helpful Bed comfortable and room spacious and relaxing Late checkout extremely useful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    3.8
    Location was good. Rarely did anyone open the doors to the hotel, and they were hotel burdensome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was shabby. Amenities a disgrace- I am not paying $600.00 a night to use products that have been used by other guests. A $10.00 food credit is a joke in NYC. I doubt it would have covered a coffee via room service. This idea of a kitchenette is historical. No glasses, had to take from bathroom. No half and half for coffee, just powered chemicals. I wold NEVER stay there again.

    nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Great Location, Great Service, Great Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff is amazing. I love that many of the them have been there since the Benjamin opened, I believe 18 years ago. I think that says a lot of the management and the pride of their team.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    3.8
    Location of the property was good and the door man was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room didn’t get cleaned on a daily basis and on one day they only gave us new towels but did not hoover. You get charged $30 dollars per day for facility fee which is a con Staff are rude especially the 2 occasions we dealt with Khade who was unprofessional and downright rude Beds are really uncomfortable and pillows are a joke - There is no support from them Room is too hot and the air con is like a hurricane when you put that on there’s no way you can sleep through it They also charge €12 dollars for room service Will never stay here again

    Location of the property was good and the door man was very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.3
    Nearly perfect but for some very silly things.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    $30 extra nightly charge for WiFi/Fitness/Bar ($10 credit) is petty at this level. All it did was annoy us and especially if you don’t get to use your bar credit as it closes at 1130pm. Bathroom very small.

    Very comfortable room, nice staff, great bar and marvellous location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Good enough to recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view. I got a inner room so the view was not on the street but on the other side.

    I like the location a lot. It was really easy to access and all the best parts of Manhattan were walking distance. Had a good time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.2
    Great stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be great if small dog is allowed and accepted in the restaurant before the peak hours of dining.

    Lovely cozy suite room, great location and super friendly staffs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    5.8
    Good location, not great value for money unless on a corporate account.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Additional daily $30 charge by hotel supposedly to cover local calls and basic wifi (which is poor). No hotel food and beverage - you have to use the National restaurant which is overpriced for what it offers. Staff are receptive but not particularly interested, proactive or helpful beyond the basics.

    Good size rooms and a good location - easy access to public transport and walking distance to Grand Central, Rockefeller Centre, 5th Ave, Central Park.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.7
    Good value for location ad services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived early and there were many assistants at the counter. Unfortunately there were no rooms for early check in. When we came back at 3 pm for check in there was a shift change and there were overloaded. I understand if a Hotel cannot offer an early check in, but if they ask everybody to be back a 3 then they should have more people at the counter.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel and location, will come again if I get the money for the water back!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was given a 10$ credit per day which I was allowed to use on F&B in the hotel. But when I had a bottle of water in the room I was charged after I had left the hotel. That is not correct.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    5.0
    Not quite 5 star Benjamin Hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were poky and quite basic. Amenities were sparse. Had to ask for slippers. Robes were old and threadbare. Had to pay for internet. It took 45 minutes to get a bell man when I was checking out because they were short staffed. It needs to be revamped. It’s tired.

    The staff were nice and friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    6.7
    If you like Midtown, stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.con says it a 5 star hotel and it's not. It is a 4 star hotel. Rooms are dark and AC is very loud, was hard to sleep.

    Decent room, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent, clean modern accomodation away form
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like liked everything.

    I booked the benjamin as my name is benjamin. It was also in a nice area of uptown and away from Times Square and the touristy places.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location in Midtown!
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bath stuff is a little bit old... towels, etc. and the rate is almost USD 400 per night!

    The hotel has a great location in NYC. I always stay in Midtown because I love it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.1
    Think of the $9 a litre for water before you book here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    At a very expensive hotel you expect some things to be included such as drinking water and watching a film on TV. Would you believe $9 a litre for water? All the drinks and nibbles were ludicrously overpriced and some beyond their "best before" date, not surprising when you consider $6 for a small bag of chips. The maids failed to check what you'd used so we were often without tea and sugar until we rang housekeeping for replacements. Obviously not keen on you using what was free!

    Convenient location and friendly reception and hall staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.1
    Not quite up to 5* standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not informed about "facility fee" until arrival ($30) and then were not informed that there was a $10 bar credit with fee until reading reviews on booking.com after we had left. Concierge were rather rude when we said we didnt want help with our bags. Control for shower heat was not fully attached to wall. Don't feel this hotel is deserving of it's 5 stars.

    Staff were mostly helpful, bed was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. Rooms a great size for Manhattan. Reasonably priced for a 5 star hotel. Good location near to subway station and not far from sights.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location, great staff and fabulous spacious rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like the difficulty in being able to book an additional stay. I didn't like the pillows. I would have prefered to have had a menu of services at the spa. it would be nice to have a menu of items that could be added to the fridge.

    I liked the decor, cleaniness and space of the room which had a balcony. The location was also perfect and the gym on the 3rd floor was great. the kitchen in my room was also great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    6.7
    unsatisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The air conditioning was terrible -- it leakedon the carpet and the fan only had one ( noisy) speed. We had to switch it off to get any sleep, and then we woke up because it was too hot. I wouldn't stay their again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.9
    i really liked the comfort of the bedding, just as the fully...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the staff needed 20 minutes to check us in. Lot's of hassle with the rooms available. They kept asking if we wanted a paid upgrade, by constantly downgrading the amount needed to be paid for. They clearly were instructed to make some extra money. The TV-cable made a crackling sound. It took the technician 3 1/2 hrs to fix it. Amenities were not fully stocked. Shower wasn't attached to the wall properly and the water turned cold very quickly wihout moving the handle. This Hotel seems to be losing it's magical touch.

    i really liked the comfort of the bedding, just as the fully equiped kitchen. There are 3 big windows in the room, with proper views. This is rare in NYC. Big fridge in the room, just as a mircowave.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    One of the best places to stay in mid-town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We reserved a family suite but it was not available when we got there so they gave us two rooms instead. One of the rooms had an awful back alley view.

    Excellent location and facilities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    3.8
    Never going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were hidden, undisclosed fees charged on check-out, the rooms aren't sound-proof (you can hear traffic and neighbours clearly in the rooms), the bar closes early, the concierge made poor dinner recommendations, and the rooms weren't cleaned properly.

    The location was reasonable, as it was close to the former location of the Waldorf-Astoria.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Staff was friendly, rooms were clean and most of all it was in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com charging per person for the room, even for a 3 year old.

    Staff was friendly, rooms were clean and most of all it was in a great location. Walking distance to most.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.3
    Other than confusion with payment it was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to put entire cost plus 3 days of room deposit in cc up front? Since when? And then when checking out could not use a different card to pay? Not happy

    Size of room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    5.4
    Reception staff was very friendly and apologetic about the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping. Rooms were very dirty. They moved us to a different room, amd not much better. Elevator panels smudged. Finger prints all ove bathroom doors. Needed good sanitizing.

    Reception staff was very friendly and apologetic about the rooms. They did their best and were aconodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the Staff are unfriendly in a way that showing laziness at work, so didn't really help at the concierge. Untrue descriptions online saying wifi in all area are free, where I paid for the services in-room. Noisy, no sound proof doors.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    Home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wish they could keep better records of the last room you stayed in. I have been there three times this year and I have been trying to get the room I got during my January stay...so far no luck.

    The friendliness of the staff. Every time I go to NY (whether for business or pleasure) The Benjamin its my go to place. I guess it is true, sometimes you want to go where everybody knows your name...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.1
    The staff was great and very accommodating given the issue...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in time was 3pm. We booked three rooms and 2 rooms were ready at 5pm and we waited for the third room till 10pm. We did ask for the three rooms to be on the same floor. They tried to be accommodating but every hour turned into another hour of waiting and so on until 10pm. We were traveling with 4 small children and had we known that the room would be so late we would have taken one on a different floor. Which in the end we did anyway since at 10pm we were told that it will be another hour before the one on the same floor is cleaned.

    The staff was great and very accommodating given the issue we had with getting rooms. They were also extremely helpful with helping us plan out our stay and offered great restaurant recommendations.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.4
    It was ok, but a waste of money, not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired decor Air conditioner made terrible noise Fridge made lots of noise too No complimentary water bottle ( should be standard at this rate) No proper wardrobe space

    The bed is comfortable, good sheets, gym is ok

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable and Convenience at The Benjamin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We enjoyed our stay at The Benjamin in a 15th-floor corner room. While there was little in the way of a special view, that was no problem because we didn't come for the views; we came for the comfort and convenience of the location. The room was a decent size with a very comfortable king bed. Outstanding water pressure in the shower along with quick delivery of hot water made me happy. The staff are quite helpful and responsive. Location was key for us. There's a Metro stop right across the street on the corner of 50th and Lexington, and many of the things we wanted to see and do were within walking distance (but we're avid walkers, so a few miles roundtrip is nothing for us). If you need to be in Midtown East, I recommend this property. I'd book it again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.3
    Very disappointing stay, not sure if we'll ever return. As we travel to the city quite often.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed in our stay this time. We've stayed at this hotel before and loved it. At the time of our arrival they placed our bags in the lobby when we came back for check in our room wasn't ready and our bottles of water were ripped open and found all over the lobby and our bag of food and wine were stolen. The hotel was great for compensating us but this should have never happened in the first place. When we got to our room there was food trash around the beds and no sheets on the beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    The concierge service was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The concierge service was excellent. Anya took really good care of our trip . She organized for us the sightseeing tours ,recommended the best restaurants and offered us shopping vouchers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    5.5
    In general clean hotel middle on the east side of Manhattan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite - Disability Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact i found poop on the pillows and on the toilet ruin the whole experience for me. Complaining about it of course had resolved the issue but amazing how this was missed by the cleaning staff. Adding daily security deposit to the room charges without informing me also wasn't 'Cool'!

    In general clean hotel middle on the east side of Manhattan. Friendly Staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    First time in NYC, but not the last time..will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lounge/ bar could have longer evening hours.

    Hotel staff were great..very informative concierge department. Cleaning staff were very pleasant and detail orientated. Restaurant was fabulous...great food. Bar staff were very knowledgable and a pleasure to converse with. Great location...walked everywhere from here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    I Lovethe Benjamin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soap in bathroom is my only complaint Parking quite expensive but quite efficient

    Had breakfast it sounds was excellent A bit expensive but worth it. Beds very comfortable Staff very friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.2
    Great value for the money from a frequent NYC traveler
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we had was in the 4th floor and you could hear all the outside noise plus the bathroom had some kind of odor, they moved us to the 23rd floor and it took care of the noise plus the bathroom was clean.

    The staff was very accommodating and nice, the rooms were roomy with the suite and everything was clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    5.4
    Not good stay
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel charges as facility fee which is ridiculous because the hotel does not care about the facilities are provided without any issue.

    I do not like

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    4.6
    Horrible staffs at late night check in. Not professional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at late night check in, he was check me in with different price from booking reservation. And he told me because it included redicilouse fees like hotel facilties fees which is ridiculous, it should be included hotel stay already. I will never return to this hotel again

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.0
    Worst hospitality experience in US, please avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible experience: 1 hidden costs, a hideous service fee, no breakfast included in price 2 entitled to 12.00 check out and late check out as genius booking member, they tried to force me to leave at 11.00 3 never replied to messages through the booking.com platform 4 very bad reception service 5 horrible service at the national restaurant.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    4.6
    Very disappointing, don't waste ur money on this dinosaur
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything needs updating if this property was $200 I would have expected it to be outdated n not clean but this was a $700 a night room

    I'm sorry but this property was very disappointing for almost $700 after tax it was outdated n not very clean bed was old..... it also was very noisy which was odd from the 14th floor, soap dispenser empty in shower there was no turn down service as mentioned n even with wifi code the reception via internet connection was poor. In addition they had no non dairy options or gluten free when in this day n age it's pretty common to have options for not only allergies but health conscious people who avoid dairy! The worst was the shower curtain liner was molded! Gross! I will say staff took a percentage off my bill n was clearly trying to make me feel better, however it was a waste of money n I couldn't wait to check out n go to work!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.1
    Rather disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our one bedroom suite (2301) was rather small and dark. No dining table and chairs. No coffee table. Bathroom was tiny.

    Location and service were excellent Pillow menu great idea.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Benjamin traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: