Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Blackstone, Autograph Collection 4 stars

636 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago Loop, Chicago, IL 60605, USA

#94 of 146 hotels in Chicago

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 67 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Paid WiFi

    5.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    It's a beautiful hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The paid wifi was utterly ridiculous. This should be free! The room service menu only shows dinner even though there is breakfast available. I wish there was room service throughout the day and not intermittently. It would be nice to have more information about the in-hotel food amenities in the room itself.

    It's a beautiful hotel! The cocktails at the lobby are awesome. The entire hotel, including the rooms are beautiful, elegant and stylish. The jazz music is awesome. Staff is friendly!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unless you want room service or Starbucks, there was nowhere within the hotel that served breakfast.

    Clean, stylish, historical, and conveniently located close to the South Shore line. The beds were comfortable. We could walk to just about anywhere we wanted to go, even in 10° weather. The food at the tapas style Spanish restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.9
    Great staff, great location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Starbucks was where the stuff suggested to buy coffee, the line was long and the coffee terrible. Chicago must have better places than that in the centre...

    Staff was great and very responsive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    I am a big fan of the autograph Collection,I was genuinely VERY impressed ,I never answer these
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could not watch the Mayweather fight.

    I stayed there for the triathlon,It was great, great staff , very low key, after 10 past years at the Hilton , that was always stressful,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    I liked the restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Paid wifi in the room was a put-off. We were forced to come down to the business center which happens to be a section in the lobby. The table and chair there are not ergonomic.

    I liked the restaurant. Great dinner and breakfast menu.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    6.3
    Not going back, sorry!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Bed with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took a very long time to check-in. We had 2 rooms and only one was available when we arrived after an 8-9 hour flight from Spain. Not appreciated. Then we were almost never able to have breakfast at the hotel as the service wasn't available until after 8:00 am ( too late for us).

    The rooms were very spacious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Awesome view
    • Couple
    • King Bed with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked the hotel it said we would have a lake view, but we had a view of the city instead. It was still an awesome view though. I still loved it. Maybe I misunderstood.

    Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    4.2
    Unpleasant experience
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Club Level King Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I came along with the booking. com confirmation . They refused to acknowledge and chased us away . I have to call booking . com hotline and took almost 1 hr before the issue was resolved ... the staff made check- in difficult. In addition , during check- out , I asked for the final receipt and she refused to provide . Only when I persisted , did she agree with a black face . Not a pleasant experience .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.5
    It's a beautiful hotel;
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our booking confirmation had parking was $60 so we were very disappointed when we settled & told it was $67 and the $60 was a misprint.

    It's a beautiful hotel; very comfortable beds!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    7.1
    The professorial staff, the spacious and clean room, the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view on courtyard, the lack of silverware, the sliding door to bathroom that doesn't allow privacy. Quality price ratio is average for this standard of hotel.

    The professorial staff, the spacious and clean room, the location of the hotel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    Ouite, low key, completely comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ouite, low key, completely comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.3
    More interested in Trendy appeal than customer service and comfort.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms too dark. No breakfast restaurant. Half-door showers.

    Leaving

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.5
    Overall, I didn't have a great experience. I would not recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow service, unavailable feature rooms, toilet wasn't working right.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.5
    It was a very cold weekend, the drive from Grand Rapids treachurous, both ways. The wedding, great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only one robe in room. not an electrical plug on both sides of bed for plugging in apple watches and iphones.

    the View from our room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    I will be staying at the Blackstone the next time I need a hotel in Chicago.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I only had one night to stay there.

    I love the aesthetic! So beautiful. And the Mercat.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    Great wedding guest experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location, large, clean, quiet room and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for wi-fi.

    Perfect location, large, clean, quiet room and very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    despite paying for the premium (higher cost/higher...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    despite paying for the premium (higher cost/higher speed) internet connection it was unsatisfactory

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    Old meets new.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not one thing

    Old meets new. History is met by beautiful contemporary design.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Great trip.
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All good.

    Good location for marathon & restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location, walking distance to almost everything in downtown!!!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendliness of the staff was amazing. I was only there for a day but they treated me very well the whole time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    The staff is friendly, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    n/a

    great location and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    5.0
    Get club level access for the best experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid WiFi at $15 plus tax per day. Bathrooms dated. Not terribly clean: a big clump of hair on the tiles my first day.

    The beds were comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.8
    Checking in was terrible .
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in was terrible .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    Young lady that checked us in was VERY pleasant, she gave...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Young lady that checked us in was VERY pleasant, she gave lots of information about the area and hotel. Will DEFINITELY return.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    10
    Great located hotel with friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the big rooms with comfy beds, friendly staff and the gym.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.8
    Lakeview
    • Couple
    • King Bed with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lakeview

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    10
    Great classy hotel. Away from the heart of the action but still very close.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan in bathroom.

    Beds comfy, the wifi was not free but they removed it from our bill. Great view. Lake side.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    5.8
    Nice building!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast, food in general, prices, location not too good, weddings

    The room, the decor within the hotel, most of the staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.9
    Staff were very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Mattresses were very soft in general.

    Staff were very friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location, great service, excellent food, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pricef for the room was a little high, but no other complaints.

    Excellent location, great service, excellent food, friendly staff and helpful, excellent room service and room.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    5.4
    The hotel is very well situated close to the public...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is very well situated close to the public transport and in walking distance to major attractions. The staff is not very friendly especially during morning breakfast . The process during breakfast is very smoothly and weekend days they forget the half of orders. Rooms services were too bad and I will not recommend you for using.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    8.3
    Very cool hotel with a nice location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room was a little worn down. The lounge and desk chair looked like they were on their last leg. One of the light switches did not work for light above bed.

    Very cool hotel with a nice location and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    Restaurant was fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I would like if you had a pool/hot tub.

    Restaurant was fantastic. Appearance of hotel was classy and elegant....not your cookie cutter hotel....loved it! Welcome drink was a nice touch!

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    10
    The bed was awesome, the view from the 21st floor was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The make-up mirror was broken and the comp bottles of lotion and shampoo were half used.

    The bed was awesome, the view from the 21st floor was spectacular, food was excellent! All in all a wonderful stay and we will definitely be back.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    10
    Very comfortable bed in a great location downtown for walks...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very comfortable bed in a great location downtown for walks and exploring the museums.the breakfast was so worth it and unexpectedly unique. very beautiful hotel. I don't have any complaints!

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    9.6
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a wedding party in the ballroom below our floor and I could hear the music until they quit at midnight.

    Great location! Our room had a beautiful view of the city, park, and the lake! Beautiful, clean, old-style/ornate, but updated marble/tile bathroom. Loved the room!

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    5.0
    I bought a drink in the bar and it had a fly inside of it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I bought a drink in the bar and it had a fly inside of it. I went to buy coffee one of morning and flies were flying around rhe coffe maker i told the lady make the coffe and she didnt care and gave me and atitute about it.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    6.3
    Nice big clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Description said they had parking, which is kind of true. You can park 2 blocks away for $30 per night, so it's not on site, and it isn't included. That should have been specified. Also, it says they have wifi, but doesn't say it's $15 per day either. Appears everything in the amenities is "a la carte" and costs extra.

    Nice big clean room

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    9.2
    excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    road noise

    excellent location...TOP notch restaurant . We had a wonderful dinner in the Spanish restaurant with excellent wine selection. Great old world charm and ambience.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    9.2
    Staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Didn't like that breakfast was not included during the weekend. Didn't like the outrageous parking fee and that WiFi was not free.

    Staff was very helpful. Location was perfect. Very clean. Loved the hotel and staff. Would stay again.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    10
    After crowding a lot of people into one room for one night,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They did not have our reservation from Booking.com for the first night. I had a confirmation number from booking.com when we arrived all the rooms were booked. It was terrible!

    After crowding a lot of people into one room for one night, they sent up a beautiful desert try for my birthday to apologize the next night.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Open shower left water all over the marble bathroom floor- very slippery. Staff weren't particularly friendly or helpful. Avoid the restaurant. Lots of stairs which can't be avoided so beware if you are traveling with crutches or grandma!

    Great location. Comfy bed. Starbucks insight. Interesting history.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    7.1
    The location is the selling point.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very expensive for what I got. I did ask for a room with no shared doors and still got a room with a shared door to another room with a hefty price tag. Consequently, noise from the room next door was constant.

    The location is the selling point. Easy to get about the L, and able to visit many of the attractions. Able to see a lot of Chicago on foot from here.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    6.7
    location, room was quite and had enough space for 2 people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    at $369 per night, there were other options in nice hotels for less cost. I booked months in advance and should have followed up closer to my travel date

    location, room was quite and had enough space for 2 people

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    7.1
    From the moment I arrived to even after I left, I was given...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A compact refrigerator provided in the accommodation was not easily accessible, at best operational and not at all reliable for cooling.

    From the moment I arrived to even after I left, I was given an emphatic sense of accomplishment to appreciate my visit than having to experience a task as well.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.6
    Decor/ design/ architecture
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decor/ design/ architecture Room size Magnificent view from corner room Friendly/ courteous staff Nice workout room with rather good machines and equipment Starbucks in building

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    8.3
    Ms. Shanon the Head Concierge was very helpful and a well...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The luggage rack in the room was broken.

    Ms. Shanon the Head Concierge was very helpful and a well knowledgeable lady. All her suggestions were simply fabulous.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    10
    We stayed here in 1999 just before the previous hotel closed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The parking fee of $67 a day is really just too, too high

    We stayed here in 1999 just before the previous hotel closed down. Thrilled to see the beautiful renovation and upgrade. Loved the tapas restaurant attached to the hotel. Delicious food and attentive service.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    9.2
    The front desk staff and the parking valet service were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The restaurant at the hotel was very good. The food was great. The staff specifically the bartender was a little cold. Maybe they were having an off night but I felt more like an obligation in the way, than a customer. I would still eat there though food was great.

    The front desk staff and the parking valet service were awesome. Very friendly and the desk clerk was kind enough to print we a map of the part of town my friend and I were going.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    9.6
    Love this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Love this hotel! We had a issue the first night with the way booking.com does there requests for two Queen beds so they had a king with a view saved for us. They gave us two queens with no view the first night and more then made up for it the rest of the time! First class hotel!

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    9.6
    The room was fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had to pay for Wifi. It was free in the lobby, so why not just make it free everywhere?

    The room was fantastic. Roomy, nice set up large bathroom, king bed.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    9.6
    Beds great.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    restaurant and bar.

    Beds great.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    9.6
    Nice location by Grant Park
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Red carpet in room

    Nice location by Grant Park Big room Lovely suites

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    10
    Covers and bed quality was amazing and super comfortable and...
    • Couple

    Covers and bed quality was amazing and super comfortable and the washroom was very neat and clean. :)

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    10
    Everything was absolutely great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything was absolutely great!

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    10
    Style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Style. Location. Comfort. Ambience. All fabulous!

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    9.6
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just a minor remark: AC/ heating makes noice.

    Location! View! Comfort! Price! Beds!Facilities!

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    9.2
    Great location, good amenities, restaurant was delicious
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location, good amenities, restaurant was delicious

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    9.2
    How friendly the staff was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    How friendly the staff was.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    10
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The ice storm

    The location was perfect. The restaurant on aute,2as delicious.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    8.8
    location good room clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room is small

    location good room clean

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    7.5
    No tea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    7.9
    Proximity to museums and attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Club area (comp breakfast and drinks) not available during part of our stay.

    Proximity to museums and attractions.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    9.6
    Location was excellent and the staff was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi fi should be free in such an upscale environment.

    Location was excellent and the staff was superb.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    9.2
    Comfort, restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Some of the interior design choices

    Comfort, restaurant

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    9.2
    Location was great, good size room and brilliant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location was great, good size room and brilliant staff

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.2
    Staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast service was very slow and disorganized.

    Staff were friendly. Bed was super comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    4.6
    Room was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Too expensive room late check-in there is no free wifi

    Room was clean

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    9.6
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The view

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    10
    Location, room set up, very friendly staff, food was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi was really poor

    Location, room set up, very friendly staff, food was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    9.6
    The restaurant, Mercat, is way overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant, Mercat, is way overpriced.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    4.6
    The men who gets your car and closeness to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The cost for parking the cost of the hotel the room view the room size.

    The men who gets your car and closeness to everything.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    2.9
    i dont like the bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    i dont like the bathroom

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    9.6
    Amazingly comfortable bed.
    • Solo traveller

    Amazingly comfortable bed. Beautiful mod bath. Sexy shower ;)

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: