Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Hotel Blue 3 stars

717 Central Avenue Northwest, Albuquerque, NM 87102, USA

Review score

Based on 315 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.3
    Overall, it was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee in room was very old, provided shaving cream was dried out and unusable, hallways and interior were beat up and need work to look presentable, leaving questions as to unseen hotel upkeep.

    Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    I love this iconic hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not one damn thing. Keep this place just the way it is.

    I love this iconic hotel. I heard a rumor that it is ready to undergo some ownership changes and I hope they stay true to the tradition that is The Hotel Blue. One of the main reasons I attend this conference yearly is my ability to stay at The Hotel Blue. Amazing place at affordable price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.5
    Good to just take some rest. Good staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neiborhood is quite unsafe to walk around. And parking lot needs to key to open the gate but it’s not working well. Heater is just beside of my bed so very noisy and dry.

    Staffs are kind/ good. Breakfast is neat and various. Location is really in cityproper.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    6.3
    The electric fireplace was a nice touch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bunches of bums, panhandlers and homeless across the street in the park. Further east on Central Ave was no better, beggars everywhere. The 'key reader' for the car park lot was broken, apparently has been for a good while.

    The electric fireplace was a nice touch. Hot water was available quickly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    3.3
    Sucked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door key didn't work. Bed was like a rock. Room had only 3 dim lamps and one didn't work. Heater in room was loud as a train. Filthy carpet. Exterior entrance doors to rooms. Neighborhood not the best.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    Break fast was good and generous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were there on a Saturday night, and it was extremely noisy. It sounded as if there were parties going on next to us, above us and below in the pool area. People were talking loud, music was loud, there was door banging. It went on until 3 am. I could not sleep. When I told the front desk the next morning there was no apology, explanation or anything.

    Break fast was good and generous. The hotel is in a great location. Staff is nice enough, but don't go out of their way to be helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.9
    Pretty good hotel with a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite several new, modern, amenities, the room itself was a little run-down. The bed was the firmest I have ever seen. I like firm beds, but not so firm that I felt like I was sleeping on the floor.

    The hotel had a good location near the old city, had free parking, an okay hot breakfast, and friendly staff. My room had nice amenities and a great view. I particularly liked the little electric fireplace thing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    I've stayed here before and may well stay here again when I need to overnight in ABQ.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The current road construction and having to be buzzed in to parking

    Hotel Blue is kind of scruffy looking from the outside but rooms are comfortable and clean. It is a good bargain for downtown lodging. People were nice. Breakfast was pretty minimal but okay - scrambled eggs and bacon or sausage, waffle option, cereals, yogurt - nothing fancy but serviceable. It's maybe in a less delightful part of downtown - parking is free and secured behind a fence - you have to be buzzed in, which might be a bit inconvenient at times if clerk is busy. (The keycard reader that once was there apparently has been damaged.) The park across the street is definitely one I would probably not wander through after dark. It is convenient to the zoo and botanical gardens as well as several downtown spots. Central Avenue is being deconstructed for a bus line down the middle so getting from side to side can be an adventure.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    5.4
    Nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The young man who checked us in claimed he couldn’t find our reservation from Booking.com. I asked him what we were supposed to do since we had the confirmation number and it was past check in time and he said “I don’t know ma’am.” He “found” it after we insisted he double check his computer. The area is questionable. There were a lot of homeless people walking around and yelling near the property.

    Large hot breakfast with REAL PLATES AND SILVERWARE to cut down single use item garbage. Bed & pillow were comfortable. Room was clean. It was quiet. It felt safe once in the property.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    The breakfast was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no desk lamp. So hard to do work there. The curtains didn't completely close. I actually taped them together in the middle to ensure complete privacy.

    The breakfast was good. Location good for getting to the convention center.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.2
    It was a pleasant stay and it was near my destination.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The trash in my room was not removed each day. I did not like the soap dispensers. I prefer the bar soap.

    Shuttle service from and to the airport. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast had a full variety of foods and there were cookies at the front desk in the afternoon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.3
    The staff were so helpful and friendly, and the shuttle...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had very few outlets and no USB ports, so it was difficult to charge my phone and iPad.

    The staff were so helpful and friendly, and the shuttle service was amazing--they took me everywhere!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.1
    Good option
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room lighting is very low which might suit some people but not all. Poor sound proofing. It can get noisy during weekends and street road was a problem for me.

    Staff are great and helpful. Good breakfast and comfortable bed. Service to the airport is available of you ask. Great location: the old town, down town and nob hill are just a short trip away.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.3
    The hotel is clean and may need an update.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is questionable. Across the street is a park where homeless sleep and police was there as well.

    The hotel is clean and may need an update. The parking is fenced in and seems safe.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    6.3
    An ok option
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs a makeover. The room had a sweet offensive smell that was hard to tolerate. The door didn’t fit well, the air con is old and noisy, Breakfast was adequate.

    Very helpful staff. We had a 5th floor room that was entered through an outside walkway. We overlooked a park that had a farmers market on Saturday. The mattress was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    6.7
    Replace carpeting.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Replace carpeting. Older building type doesn't allow for fresh air without using the heater/cooler vent option. Location is next to a public park that is a haven for the homeless.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    I prefer the Hotel Blue over the other hotels because of the friendly staff and atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The park across the way had some questionable activity at times.

    The shuttle transportation, friendly staff, hearty breakfast options, clean rooms, and all other amenities were helpful which makes the stay easier and more enjoyable. The secured parking lot and entrances were nice. There is a great view of the balloons each morning during the fiesta. The hotel is in walking distance to the Albuquerque Conference Center. The park across the street has a farmer's market on Saturdays.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    This 6-story almost boutique hotel is in the center of the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This 6-story almost boutique hotel is in the center of the action in downtown Albuquerque. It is right on Route 66. Price was great and rooms were better than expected.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location to the convention center where l had a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I barely was on property other than to rest so there was not much that l did at the hotel. So l feel like l cant give an honest assessment 😊

    Great location to the convention center where l had a wildlife convention to attend. Staff was friendly, polite and helpful. Room was nice and sufficient for my needs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.9
    The coffee and the breakfast was good.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location, while fairly central, is a bit problematic. It's right next to a popular cruising area for low riders. Restaurants in the area are of the rowdy sort. There's a nice park across the street, but the homeless people who sleep there can get noisy at night.

    The coffee and the breakfast was good. Wall dispensers for soap and lotion were handy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    5.0
    Some good, some bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet in our room was dirty/stained. There was a very foul odor in the bathroom where the tub and toilet is. Apparently the timer for the lights in the hallway/balcony wasn't set right - it was VERY dark as we were leaving at 7:00 a.m. There appeared to be homeless people sleeping in the park across the street making us very reluctant to go out at night.

    The bed and bedding were very comfortable and clean. The bathroom had been updated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.8
    First time at The Hotel Blue
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were kind of hard, vending machines only took $1 dollar bills and change which we were short on. They do have a mini fridge and microwave, just make sure and bring your own drinks or some change.

    How close it was to the concert we were attending. Also, onsite parking was secure which was great since it is downtown. Only those staying at the hotel had access to the enclosed parking lot. Didn't get up early enough for breakfast but it was available from 6-10.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value hotel close to downtown and amenities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Swimming pool in shade after 4pm

    Excellent value; friendly, and unpretentious . Great breakfast Comfy beds Excellent location Airport shuttle Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    5.4
    A tatty hotel (that is more like a motel) in an unpleasant part of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall, this hotel was very disappointing and did not live up to our expectations based on the pictures and other information when we booked. For a starter it is very tatty and shows many signs of being poorly run and maintained. The room we were allocated had a window that was mostly obscured by another side wing of the hotel making our room very dark - we had to ask for an additional lamp to put on the desk as the lighting was inadequate. Also, all the rooms are accessed by external walkways so people walk past your window and there were no net curtains - so no privacy! The pool had a dirty scum on the top and didn't look like anyone had used it in a while. The inclusive breakfast was also pretty awful - the hot items had been topped up a few times over several hours but the old dried out items were not cleared out first! There was mess on the floor and the coffee was cold (had to reheat it in a microwave!). Finally, the area around the hotel was unpleasant with a large number of vagrants and beggars on the streets and the green in front of the hotel - at least the car park was fenced in behind electric gates!

    The room was spacious and quite well equipped. It was also reasonably quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Excellent stay. Friendly staff. Secure safe building all made my stay wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of overhead lighting. Or they could at brighter light bulbs in lamps.

    Beds were absolutely wonderful. It was like sleeping in my own bed. Temper petit mattress was great. Bathroom was clean. It could use a exit grab bar from tub for my safety. Parking was wonderful and secure

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    The Hotel Blue was a great place to stay during the Balloon Fiesta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The park across the street was beautiful but a place the homeless slept at night.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. They have a shuttle that will take you to several places around town, we used it to go to Old Town. There were many homeless people in the park across street but never felt insecure at the hotel. The room was good. It was an excellent hotel for the price. It was easy to check in with the airlines in the lobby and the tickets were printed for you. The breakfast was very good. It usually started at 6 am but in thr Balloon Fiesta it was open at 4 am. They have free parking in a locked area attached to the hotel. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    Good value for a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Do not get there too late or there won't be any gated parking. Also be aware that inconsiderate guests and their after hours parking nonsense can make your AM departure a challenge.

    Great location, although I would not venture too far after dark. Nice staff. Clean rooms. Good bargain.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    The room was nice except for stain on carpet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outside noise and being in a downtown location which made me feel unsafe. I asked a staff member to pick up glass out in parking lot but he did not do it. I had trouble figuring out where to exit and there was glass at the entryway. This made me worry about my tires and if I would make it to the airport.

    The room was nice except for stain on carpet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    3.8
    Close to Airport but not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was crowded with large outdated furniture. Only one set of towels was provide per guest. Holes in walls, mold on shower curtain, dirty carpet.

    Parking area was gated which was good since the area was run down with questionable people around. The lobby was beautiful and the front desk clerk when we checked in was a real sweetheart!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant stay for two nights, good breakfast and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Few down and outs around, but can walk to the Analuz hotel for drinks but rooms were not in my budget.

    1930 hotel in an area that is on the 'UP'. Nice pool, good breakfast and free shuttle to 'historic area' and also to the airport. 6th floor has a good view and looks like it has been recently refurbished.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    6.3
    OK for the money spent. You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our toilet leaked on the bathroom floor so my pajama pants and fleece socks got really wet. Something on the table between the beds made an electrical grinding sound regularly all night long at least every hour. I unplugged the phone thinking it was related to that by not so. It was very annoying. The sheets were very itchy.

    The bed was really comfortable. The front dest staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Great value for the amenities you get!!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint I have is that the blackout curtains wouldn't overlap that would block out all outside light. I'm sure if I had called the front desk, it would have been taken care of but I was just too tired and dealt with it. Plus side is that I had a nice view from my room!

    Bed was comfy. I like the faux fireplace in the room! Nice awesome touch for those colder days/nights! Satellite tv. Walking distance to shops, restaurants. No extra charge for my dog traveling with me. Everything was just clean and nice!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    Solo traveler
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right next to a park where homeless gather and get fed on Sundays. A little scary upon first approach for a single female traveler. HOWEVER it was very safe and there was enclosed gated parking.

    Staff was absolutely incredible

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.3
    The most bang for your buck in ABQ
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lots of homeless in the area.

    The location to downtown and the conference center was the most bang for your buck in ALQ. Breakfast was good. The Rooms were small and mostly clean. Most of the staff was helpful and friendly expect they sent my car service away upon my departure. So I have to all a Lyft to make my flight.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    Perfect for a short or long stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, comfy beds and the free airport shuttle was excellent. I loved being able to walk from the hotel to great restaurants and other sights also.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    3.3
    Wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It smelled badly upon entering the hotel, pool was dirty, homeless people all around the hotel and entrance area made me feel very uncomfortable

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.5
    Very nice stay at a great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not great with respect to the neighborhood after dark. The hotel's curb appeal is very bad. If they could redo that it would help a lot.

    Room had everything you could need. My Laundry was done same day and perfectly. Breakfast was awesome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.8
    Good value, clean, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area where it's located isn't great, but not threatening as some reviews suggest.

    Good value, clean, helpful staff. International traveler quality - popular 😊

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    It's an older hotel and has a little peeling paint, but was a nice environment. Great value.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large swimming pool, very friendly staff. Personnel we're always helpful. Great location across from a park, and beautiful streets down which to jog. They drove me to my meetings in Old Town at another hotel whenever I needed. Breakfast was fresh and had many choices.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Delightful night in Albuquerque
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor of the hotel is a little outdated. The parking lot is a bit small so it can get cramped if you arrive later in the evening.

    The Hotel Blue is in a pretty central location in downtown Albuquerque. It was fairly easy to access from I-40. The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The TV was brand new and had DirecTV channels.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We kept waking up severel times during the night due to other noisy guests and revving motorbikes...

    The staff at the hotel were super friendly and helpful! The room was comfortable, but our view somewhat restricted.... The breakfast was brilliant as there was so much choice, from hot foods to pastries and fruit. I also liked that there were REAL plates, bowls and cutlery to use, as I have a problem with producing too much rubbish and throwing everything away. I approve very much of the recycling facilities throughout the hotel. Well done!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.5
    The staff was friendly and the room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gate to the parking lot wasn't working correctly when we got there so it was left open. We didn't feel really good about this as there were some questionable looking people walking down the streets in this are and it looked like the homeless used the park across the street as a bedroom.

    The staff was friendly and the room was clean. I had to ask for more towels and I was quickly accommodated. I didn't eat breakfast but my husband said it was good. The room was a nice size and had a refrigerator and microwave.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    6.7
    Fine for our purposes; a couple of nights to recover from travelling to get ready for rest of trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel offers '24 hour coffee' but if you go in there at night the room is dark with no obvious light switch (we never found it!). The hotel was hard to find - we ended up at the wrong end of the street it's on which was really long!

    The room was fine for the money - clean and comfortable and breakfast was good. There is a courtesy car to the old town which we was provided immediately we asked for it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Nostalgic! Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All soap and shampoo was liquid, which was fine, except the shampoo was empty after my husband washed his hair so I didn't have shampoo.

    My husband is a Route 66 fanatic so we had to stay on the Route. I found your hotel and gave it a try. Nostalgic, famous....not disappointed! Thanks!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.8
    I asked for a refund in an email.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a refund in an email.... as I could not get to sleep as the low riders were parked outside having party till early Mon morning. I needed to be up early to catch a flight . I have NOT heard back from them!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice retro stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the middle of the night it sounded like they were buffing the walkway outside our door.

    It was near downtown. It was across from a park. Walkable to restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.3
    Walking distance from City Hall
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a converted motel, but still a motel. There are no privacy curtains so anyone walking by your room can see in unless blinds are drawn and the room is left in the dark. Noisy air conditioner.

    Walking distance to City Hall, Center Ave., and downtown. Very friendly staff and helpful airport shuttle. Clean!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.3
    great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night clerk messed up our payment and charged the wrong card. Did not charge the card that we presented at time of check-in. He had difficulty in doing the paperwork or computer work for it. He obviously was asleep when we arrived and we were greeted by him and he only had one shoe on and he looked like he had just woken up

    Breakfast was awesome! Sausage, bacon, waffles, eggs, bagels, muffins, cereal, yogurt, fruit and Starbucks coffee

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.5
    The staff were nice and the hotel was made homey with little...
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many hobos in the park across the street.

    The staff were nice and the hotel was made homey with little extras like cookies, toiletries, and breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.7
    Not terrible, but too expensive for what you get.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a park right across the street where the homeless people hang out. I saw several dead cockroaches right outside the front door (better dead than alive!). Taking the dogs out to do their business isn't convenient because there is only one way in or out of the property. The furniture in my room was circa 1970 and well beyond its prime. The "desk" was just a folding table with a power strip. If I was paying a budget rate for the room, all these things would be acceptable, but for what I paid, I would expect matching, real furniture. The soap, shampoo and conditioner were all in dispensers mounted in the wall. That is tacky. Overall, I'd have given this place a much higher rating if the price was $20 a night cheaper, but for what it is, it's overpriced.

    The mattress was VERY comfy. The pet policy is great! The lobby looks really nice and reminds me of a 1920s era theme. All of the employees were friendly and nice. The vanity in the bathroom was updated and elegant. The room had everything I needed in it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    5.0
    For a quick cheap stay only, don't expect much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very hot, the curtains were fully opened and AC was off so the heat was very uncomfortable at first. Took a whole day for it to cool off in there. When we arrived there was a dried up piece of food stuck to the comforter, the tv stand situation was very dated, overall I thought it would have been nicer.

    The Location was vey close to historic route 66, and several bars and nice cafe's.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.3
    economical, well positioned and all the basics were provided
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning srtuggled to cope with the high temperatures

    Original pillows were not very good but the staff quickly provided us with a choice of different pillows. Shuttle service was excellent. All but one of the staff we encountered were very good and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.8
    Enjoy myself as if I was back home at an all-inclusive hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes the beacon was a bit cripsy No recreation

    All the staff was cooperative and accommodation They go the extra for me Ensure I get my dinner Shuckle service was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.2
    Beds comfortable , staff friendly , Room clean , Breakfast ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was closed and with temp's close to 100 degree's would have liked to know there pool was closed ??? Only problem as we had a 16 yr old with us who was really disappointed

    Beds comfortable , staff friendly , Room clean , Breakfast good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    enjoyed the room ,nice and quiet ,very comfortable, ,,,, will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    gated parking lot is a bit small, offset however by the hotel clerk that went out of her way to arrange things so we could get our truck in

    Bed was luxurious!! Breakfast was outstanding

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.3
    Okay, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room decor was in desperate need of updating. The floor in the bathroom was dirty (someone's hair stuck to it behind the door). It would be nice if the fitness room were updated and had dumbbells; I love to workout, but after looking in the room, decided not to. The great pool area could've used some sprucing up to look cleaner and more loved like it deserves.

    The beds were comfy. The location is nice for downtown. The staff at the desk was fine. My partner seemed to enjoy the breakfast. It was nice that there was a small fitness room. The pool area has trees and some shady spots to sit and relax.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    Good place to stay. Would be my first choice again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No easy chairs in the room. Tables around the pool could have been cleaner.

    Great breakfast. Beds were firm and comfortable. Quiet. Easy access to downtown. Great gated parking,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    5.8
    Difficult lodging to handle with children
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtub drained very slowly. Air conditioner had one level, high. I listed myself and 3 grandkids to stay in the room. We had 3 towels and 1 wash cloth and the room was completely filled with the two beds. The closet would not begin to hold our luggage. We were packed in like sardines. The hallways were not very clean and the same cigarette butts were out by the pool all time we were there. The breakfast area was coded and hot. We had to take our food outside to find a place to eat and the outdoor tables were dirty. There were no towels provided for the pool.

    The location and the reasonable charge for a pet. Also liked secure parking. Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Awesome staff and great rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff went above and beyond! We utilized the hotel shuttle to get to Old Town and they were very nice and accommodating- dropped us off when we got back late from sunset Tramway so that we could get some late night dinner. Wish we got their names to give a shoutout but woman working front desk 7/28/17 evening and both shuttle drivers-you rock!! Rooms were great for price. Clean and comfortable beds. Continental breakfast was awesome as well- eggs, bacon, sausage, yogurts, assorted cereals, waffle station, and most importantly Starbucks brewed coffee to wake us up and give us the energy to continue our roadtrip. Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - slightly away from the old town, but the hotel has free shuttle for you to use, and also it is right on Rt 66, so travel by bus is very convenient

    - Large and clean room with A/C, good wifi, fridge, microwave and coffee maker - Very comfortable bed - Free shuttle to the old town, the transit ctr and the airport - Good breakfast - not a lot of variety but has everything one would need

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    The Hotel Blue - very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good, though I would have appreciated bananas being available. I do wonder if they could find an alternative to the use of styrofoam cups, as every morning there were lots thrown into the bin, which is very bad for the environment. While the bed is very comfy, I found the pillows were very thick, which caused me some discomfort - I personally would have preferred an option of a more regular sized pillow in the room.

    Overall I really liked the Hotel Blue and when next in Albuquerque will likely stay there again. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Airport shuttle is free and easily accessed. I arrived after being stuck at an airport overnight after a flight cancellation, which impacted my booking and I found the shuttle driver and the woman at reception on that evening to be very warm and kind. Bed was very comfy, room was quiet. Very good location -I've stayed in Old Town on a previous stay and actually found this location more interesting, plus if I wanted to visit Old Town they offer a free shuttle (which I didn't take-up during my stay). There was a very good view from high east-facing rooms. The pool looked well maintained and a few guests seemed to be enjoying it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Good breakfast lots of choices Loved having a shuttle...
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First day took room almost six hours to cool. Staff could have turned in the air conditioner in the room prior to my arrival since they knew with the high temps it would take a long time to cool down. Trouble logging on to wifi in room. Once on worked well

    Good breakfast lots of choices Loved having a shuttle available to drive me to and from convention center at any time

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    5.8
    Convenient to downtown, clean rooms, pleasant staff -- fair value for business traveler
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property maintenance seemed a little lax, although our room was spotless. Concrete floor in the elevator lobby on our floor was stained with sticky, spilled liquid--maybe soft drinks? The room door was so warped that the door handle stuck alarmingly; it was tough to unlock and open from the outside, but scary-difficult to open from the inside. I would not want to be in this situation if the fire alarm were ringing. I told the front desk about it on checkout, but the otherwise nice enough fellow didn't seem to care much... Only one grab bar in the shower made entering and exiting the deep tub shower a little tricky--next time we would reserve an accessible room to be on the safe side... No obvious direction to underground parking so parked outside, which for probably 10 months a year wouldn't be a problem, but when we pulled in at 7 p.m., the temp was 105, so being directed to the underground parking would have been a big plus... Finally (and this is really nit-picky) the liquid soap smelled like Borax and dried our skin to parchment in only two uses.

    The room was clean and fresh and had a lovely view over a small park and treetops, and toward the west, so our sunset was worth hanging out for. The bed was superlatively comfy--with extra pillows. The a/c unit was remarkably quiet. The location introduced us to downtown Albuquerque--many restaurants nearby. Was easy to find. Pleasant staff. Instant wi-fi connection and plenty of outlets in a smart location in room for recharging or plugging in devices. Wall dispensers for soap, shampoo, etc., lessen trash waste (but see note under negatives). Especially given the neighborhood, we appreciated the parking lot was gated and key-accessible only. If we had business downtown, this would be a good choice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location and nice place to stay away from home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan in the bathroom. It stayed very humid when taking a shower.

    The beds were awesome... I slept so good. The breakfast was amazing. Stayed pretty full so people could have something to eat at 9 am. The staff was very friendly and awesome. I loved the security gate around the parking lot.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    You'll want to live here!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is always room for improvement but I was very pleased with my experience at The Hotel Blue, I can't think of any.

    This hotel is quite a gem! From the affordable price, awesome location,and Tempur-Pedic mattresses, you'll want to live here! I booked this hotel for just a one night trip and I'm glad that I did! I had many hotels to choose from but I chose this hotel for its location which is 12 minutes away from the convention center. There are many shops, restaurants, theaters and galleries within walking distance. Perfect for walking adventures.The hotel has a nice park across the street. The best thing about the hotel? Free GATED parking!! The hotel has 6 floors and the views are incredible. The staff is great, warm and welcoming. They offer free hot breakfast which consists of eggs, bacon and sausage. You can make your own waffles and enjoy a fruit cup or yogurt with your choice of fruit juice, coffee or water. The hotel has a small pool, perfect for lounging. The rooms are quite simple which I find is perfect! There's heating and air conditioning, a microwave and refrigerator with freezer. One awesome thing I found in this hotel that isn't in any other hotels that I've stayed at are soap dispensers! I forgot my shampoo and conditioner but this awesome hotel had me covered. So you won't find wasteful plastic sample products! It's all built in! This is impressive and important to me because I am very Earth conscious and so are they, I love it! This amazing hotel has Tempur-Pedic mattresses in all their rooms, I booked a king and I slept like a dream! The 40'flat screen TV was great too with full Direct TV service with HBO! Ok, so I can go on and on raving about this hotel but I'm not going to, just book your trip and you will see. I've already got my next trip booked with The Hotel Blue!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.3
    Excellent for the price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lighting in the room. Eggs so so. Would have liked a channel guide for TV. Fruit for breakfast.

    Bed wonderful. AC quiet and effective. Loved free shuttle to/from airport and around the city. Location excellent. Staff very helpful. Pool and fountain. TV. Breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.1
    You get what pay for. Good price for the night the rest so, so.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel location across the park with homeless , do not even think to have walk around. The hotel needs to paint the walls and do better maintenance.

    Safe parking, good breakfast .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.9
    A good value - consider bringing your own pillow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No exhaust fan in bathroom. Small room. Terrible pillows - everyone in our party had aching necks and backs as a result.

    Great staff, very helpful. They let us check in early - we walked from the train station. Convenient location for area attactions.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    Pool Fail
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was not accessible due to water temp. Suggest some type of pool heater. Should have a pool full of customers in June !

    Very accessible. Great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Brilliant find right in the centre, worth every penny!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom amenities including a small hamper with toothpaste/brush, razor, comb ect. Secure, locked car park. Great location in walking distance of bars restaurants. Great staff. Huge rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    Great comfort at a fine location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything!

    Warm hospitality from the staff, super great breakfast, nice electric fireplace in room, safety hold-on bar in shower, fine selection of channels on TV, very good downtown location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable enough but beware of the heat vent and plumbing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They were 2 problems during our latest stay. First, we had to change room because the one given to us was facing the busy part of Central Ave and in close proximity to the outside heat vent, so the noticeable noise generated by this system prevented us to sleep. The second room was better BUT the sink was clogged up and unable to drain for the last 2 days we were there. We had to use the bathtub to get water, including for making tea and to brush our teeth. We were told that the reason for the inconvenience was the number of people checked into the hotel but I am not convinced this was the only reason for this plumbing failure. Nobody came to look to see if the situation could be remediable. I think we should have gotten a discount for this problem.

    I am a regular traveler to the South West, staying alone or with my adult son at The Hotel Blue when in Albuquerque. We like the atmosphere and the convenient location of The Hotel Blue. The use of the shuttle from the station and to the Indian Cultural Centre as well as to the Old Plaza. The reception people are pleasant and helpful to relate to. The room itself was comfortable and spacious enough for the price. Jacquelyn Ménard

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.8
    Good, comfortable hotel if you can ignore some scuff marks.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole property needs some upgrading but I think this indie hotel is trying.

    The staff were amazing, friendly helpful. The mattress is superb. The other guests were cool and eclectic. I also love the location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    7.9
    The Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As the plane was delayed we got there at midnight, the front desk is OK. The tempurpedic mattress bed is very comfortable. The breakfast is good. The downtown location is close to the old town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.6
    Great location and super comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The sink did not have a plug. Nothing else.

    The bed was super comfortable. Great location near the Convention Center and Old Town. Easy walking in this area and did not need to use taxi's. Good value for money and very helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: