Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Copley House 2 stars

239 West Newton Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116, USA

#7 of 11 B&Bs and Inns in Boston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3160 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Budget room very disappointing, too small, no where to put cases or clothes. Complained and dealt with Lynda in reception who was very rude, aggressive and unhelpful. Had to pay more money to upgrade to premium room although it was showing a cheaper price on booking.com hotel would not honor that price.

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    you can hear everything about the one who lived in your upstairs or the one next to you, you can hear they shut their doors, they walk above your head, they wash etc. I doubt all water pipes are connected because I can hear the sound of water flows as long as someone is using it, which is annoying

    location is good, close to back bay station and prudential station; there are cooking facilities so you can cook yourself; big bathroom and hot water is stable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very far away from check in and carrying the luggage was a pain. We had to carry our luggage a from one block to another to keep our luggage’s.

    Neighborhood style home stay! Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and helpful staff. Apartment was great and well stocked with everything needed. It's in a leafy area close to Copley Square and Prudential Centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I cant complain . I loved my stay here. The water pressure for the shower was a little low that's about it.

    Proximity to shopping, train and restaurants. The friendliest and helpful staff. The studio we stayed at was immaculately clean. The bed was softer than what I'm used to and was still comfortable for me.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location near museums, shops transit,and restaurants. The bed was comfortable and liked having a suite with a kitchen as there were two excellent supermarkets, a deli and a wine shop close by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    our room was next to the garbage room, so the smell wasn't great, they did try to mask it with deodorizer.. the smell was in the hall not our room- but the deodorizer wafted into our room-

    great location, bed and pillows were awesome. We had a studio it was great. We only stayed one night but for what we needed I could not be happier. If you are staying a long time, the below level studio may not offer enough sun light but it was great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and in disrepair. The baseboards were falling apart and the wood floors were dirty. The entire evening we were listening to the stomping around of the people above us to where we couldn’t sleep, and in the morning were awoken at 7 am by repair men drilling and banging on the outside of our unit. For the cost of this place, we were very underwhelmed.

    The property location was amazing. Close to everything and rest garden corridor to walk through

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't the cleaniness place. Also the nose factor from water running and flushing in other units was crazy loud. The fan in the bathroom made a horrific noise and we could not use it. They also need to tell you that you will not be staying in the unit the have photographed.

    The location was the best part.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell in the room. The fact we weren’t warned that there were various properties that the Copley House owned, they need to be more transparent

    We arrived at the Copley House, checked in and were told that we weren’t in the main lot of apartments, we were 4 blocks away, it was fine because we had a car, but I was not expecting this, there was a complimentary car service they offered but we did not need it. There was a parking garage nearby that charged $30usd for 24 hours which is pretty standard for that area of Boston. Do not park on the street if it says “resident parking only” the ticket inspectors are lethal. There was no two hour parking for free in the area we stayed. The apartment was on a cute street and the area felt safe. We were warned by the staff member the lock on the door was a bit hard to get into but we managed after 10mins of jiggling around. When we finally got into the apartment it smelt like tacos, I don’t know where it was coming from but it remained the whole time we were there. The apartment itself was great. Had everything we needed for a restful night sleep and the bathroom and kitchen were super clean. The location was ok, 10minute walk to the train station and Newbury street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s clean but bit tired ... paint needs redoing and bathroom looked bit old and tired too.

    Check in staff were great, good to have kitchen and useful stuff in it, location is brilliant! We love back bay and the ability to go running from door around Newbury, the Charles river etc was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What we saw on Booking and on their site was as if the picture was where we would stay. As it turned out, the picture is their reception building and your room is in any of four buildings the manage nearby. The parking is behind the reception building . Although there was a “No Smoking” sign in our room, being an ex smoker, I did smell old smoke (not strong but there)

    Location was good. Bed was comfortable. It was 1 1/2 blocks from good restaurants and about 1 mike from Fenway Park and Boston Gardens. Across street from the Prudential Center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room serviced each day but our bed was never made, we did pull the covers up ourselves. No staff on site if you ran into a problem.

    We were not in the main Copley House but around the corner. Slightly closer to the main shops and restaurants. Rooms were good, small kitchenette small supermarket near by to get supplies for breakfast. No staff on site if you had a problem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator in the building, but staff offers to move your luggage up and down with check in and out, resp. And it's only 4 floors.

    Best location in a great neighborhood surrounded by South Boston and Prudential/Copley, Green line and Orange line.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit cramped - no place to put toiletries. Could be resolved with addition of a shelf or a couple hooks.

    Great location. Great value for room. Well stocked kitchen a bonus. Friendly staff. Nice to be able to leave suitcase after checkout. The properties are in different locations but they deliver your bag so you don't need to wander a couple of blocks with it in tow.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reviewers have written that it could use an update. I don’t think so. I suppose if you’re looking for something contemporary and sleek you should reconsider. But this is Boston, a little “history” is a good thing.

    I reported a maintenance issue and they were on it in a flash. Bed was comfy. Location was excellent. Had everything I needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First arrived had to switch rooms due to strong smell of cigarette smoke, then walked 4 blocks with luggage to new room. Middle of night TV box fell from wall, held on with duck tape, barking dog in room next to ours, someone holding dance class upstairs and air conditioner leaked water inside room splashing on pull out bed. Checked out a day early, only received 15% discount on first night and payed full price for night we didn't stay and for parking for night we didn't stay. Spend the couple extra $ and stay at a real hotel, unless you want to go camping.

    Close proximity to city and Fenway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall status of room is not good. Small,not clean, worn out.. Can't open the window blinds because the room is located lower than the road.

    Close to Back Bay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room located in a beautiful brownstone building in a quaint neighborhood. The room itself was damp, dark and unpleasant smelling. Bathroom is 2 feet from bed. Pullout bed horrible-had to sleep on the floor.

    Nice location in a quiet neighborhood.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was ongoing construction shaking the entire premises starting before the crack of dawn and we could not even relax before dinner as the workers had their music blasting. While they tried to “update” the bathroom at some time, the bathtub had missing glaze, there was a full length window in the shower and the tiles were cracked and unfinished. Cleanliness cold have been better - not dirty-but not what I expected.

    The location was the highlight of this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is very basic inside. Threadbare carpet, tiny room... is has the feel of an aging guesthouse rather than a hotel.

    Location can’t be beat. In a beautiful section of Boston. Major attractions are easily walkable or accessible through the nearby T stop. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    mattress on bed was very uncomfortable; apt. was dark - just two small windows, and no windows in the bedroom. I did not expect this would be the case given the high price I paid - If I had known this I would have booked elsewhere. There was just one table lamp in the living room, and it was broken - the twist nob was missing, so I could not turn it on. This meant that the only light in this room was from the glaringly bright lights in the ceiling. I informed the staff at the front desk the morning of the day after our arrival for a two night stay that the lamp was broken, and it would be easy to fix. They indicated it would be fixed that day, but it was not.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I had problems with the wi fi which kept on dropping out and necessitated re-inputting the access codes each time I wanted to use it.

    The position was fine. Handy for the T. Studio had all the necessary equipment to be independent of restaurants if that was wanted. Staff were pleasant and friendly to deal with.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fourth floor stairs with heavy suitcases, fortunately they assisted us up but our daily hike upstairs was tiring after a 20000 step walk each day. Nothing major though.

    Great old Back Bay style building, convenient location, super tidy/clean and access to a kitchen was very handy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Substandard daily cleaning service - two days in a row the used towels were put back on the rack and I had to call the office. I question whether the sheets were changed several days. Not pleasant at the end of the day to come back to that. Wifi not working 2 days. Yikes!

    Great location (Symphony, Whole Foods.) Loved the kitchenette and ability to cook my own dinner during the week. Overall, a bit expensive $300/night in total, for the so-so facility. I might do it again if the housekeeping and wifi were remedied.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls, so hope you don’t have a fellow guest shouting on the phone Bit expensive for a 2 stars hotel, but overall worth it

    Excellent location, clean room, comfy bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The establishment is presented as a hotel, whereas it's actually a series of serviced apartments in 6 separate buildings. The first room they assigned us was in the basement - it was shabby, down at heel, the paint was peeling and neither the phone nor TV worked. It reminded me of the worst bits of my student accommodation many years ago. We complained and they moved us (admittedly with good grace) to another apartment in a different building - a bit less shabby, but not enough room to swing a cat, little wardrobe space and, although the phone and TV worked, it was difficult to get a hot shower.

    The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s nothing like the photos in advertising. All brownstone building that needs renovation. Very cheap furniture with lots of use and abuse. Studio was very small, barely any room around the bed (no night tables). No elevator. The room was not cleaned during our 3 days stay, they only made the bed and change towels.

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing for me to particularly dislike. If you’re used to very new modern hotels this might not be the place for you as it is an old building, but it was good for what we needed. It was a little pricey for what it was since prices were up during a graduation weekend.

    Clean, comfy bed. Useful little kitchen, was very quiet while we were there. Close to nearby stores, stops for your bus etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our entry door to the building would SLAM HARD! every time it closed it would shake the whole building! Other than that, we have no complaints. Felt very welcome and like part of the neighborhood. Staying there really helped us enjoy our Boston experience!

    Location is excellent! Front staff was very sweet and accommodating. Very cool that our little dog was welcome. Clean and comfortable apartments right in the heart of the city. Walked to game at Fenway Park, Boston common, and subway stop. Could get anywhere from there!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Copley house is basically collection of brownstones that are converted into hotel. They are spread over several blocks. Our room was in the building that was a one block away. These buildings do not have elevators and stairs are steep. You will have to lug your luggage down the street and, up and down these steep stairs. Help is not always available. Our room was below street level and was very spartan. The drain pipes were in the wall behind our bed, so every time some used bathroom we would here water running down the pipes. I met a friend who was staying at Omni Parker Hotel and he paid same amount for his room. Copley house is expensive and not worst the money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bottom of the tub was very slippery - I was nervous showering (& there was no grab bar if I did slip)!

    Bed was sooo comfortable!!! Staff were very accommodating!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The apartment that we got was old and not really clean, including stains on the couch. On top of that, we found worms in the shower! The hotel attendant gave us a new room that was much cleaner and spacious than the first one. However, the toilet got clogged during the night. We were supposed to stay 2 nights, but we decided to leave after the first one. We got a full refund for the second night, but the hotel did not offer any compensation for the first and disastrous one. The only thing that I obtained was the refund of the first parking night at $29. In summary, it was an unpleasant stay and we will not recommend Copley house to friends and family.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location couldn't have been better for walking around the city, convenience of shops, restaurants and transport. Also, the kitchen facilities gave us flexibility to eat in if we wanted to.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A small apartment with one bedroom and a bedsofa. It was supposed to be for 4 adults, but the bedsofa was awful to sleep in. The Sofa is Not recommended for an adult to sleep in.

    Great Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at night. Very dark and patio look out to an alley. Need to use shoulder to close and lock door. Gaps in panel of door. One light burnt and another light switch does not work. Have to plug to wall socket yo turn on andoff light. Building is on a nice quiet street one block away and is different from those shown.

    Clean studio

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    High price (but it's in central Boston...), noisy air-conditioning vent.

    Great location for visiting Boston. Not only in a central position but also settled in a quiet residential area. Avenue with blooming trees. All you need is all around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was in a building around the corner on the ground floor near entry way. The other guests were very noisy and we barely slept. You can hear everything because it is an older building. If you are a light sleeper, your nights may not be restful.

    Great area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Windows are very old and it is time to change them or at least to clean them properly.

    Bed was incredible good and helped a lot to deal with a time difference.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Budget Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and the room were very small. A lot of noises from other rooms as the doors are very thin and unsecure. No elevator and the stairs are super tight . It didn’t worth my money.

    The location was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t know in advance that the hotel is spread across numerous buildings. The main building was tired looking - chipped paint, old carpets. Our air conditioning did not work well and was very noisy. The water pressure in the shower was appallingly bad.

    The location was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress dipped in the middle so it was not so comfortable. The same is true for sofa bed my friend had.

    The room size, the open feeling with high ceilings, the decor, the building itself, the tree lined street and neighbourhood. Park and convenience store very nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The sunlight at night. It was already light around 5 o'clock. Some heavy curtains would have been better. The kitchen was very basis.

    Location, quiet, near de centre, but not too busy, modern interior.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice, clean studio apartment that was easy to get to and perfect for a conference I was attending at the Hynes Convention Center. In a nice, walkable neighborhood. Thankful for the (quiet) air conditioner on an unexpectedly warm day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every morning exactly at 7am the construction would start. The walls are thin as paper and I would wake up to what sounded like a 2x4 being sawed next to my head. Or screws being drilled into the plaster. I could even hear the ring tone of the worker even though all the doors were closed. This happened every morning including Saturday. Being woken up at 7am on a Saturday is not fun, let alone for a vacation. We were told there was nothing that can be done.

    The location and staff was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location was fantastic, close to Northeastern University (we had gone there for my son's graduation) and close to centre of Boston. Lovely area altogether.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A compact bathroom makes this a quaint place to stay. The convenience of an additional shelf would have given me somewhere to put my toothbrush and razor and ... etc.

    The proximity to the Prudential centre and the Green line subway puts this property in a convenient location. A comfortable bed and what more could you want. And, the small kitchenette gave me some flexibility with Breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was awful. Horrible facilities classic bait and switch. The room displayed on Booking.com was the bait the room I got was subpar. Very noisy also. The staff tried to put on a Boston Marathon after run get together with food. The staff grilled indoors over coals in the basement! The place smelled like lighter fluid afterwards. I distinctly remember another guest complaining about this. My biggest problem was that I paid over 300.00 a night for sub standard studio. The studio was in dire need of remodeling. During the rain storm the windows leaked!

    Staff was friendly and helpful. They allowed us to check in early.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was actually down the road and around the corner. It was aged and semi clean. We parked around the back and were led past a seedy looking group outside in the yard, up to the 3rd floor to check in and back down and around to our actual room. The young man did help with our luggage and was very nice. The AC unit was unusual and we could not get it to cut on. It was warm and stuffy and we had not been shown how to operate it so we had to get someone to come up and get it working. Room was small. I would not stay here again. It would probably work better for a young person or someone more accustomed to a big city environment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen was very small and limited in cooking options. The stairs were slanted and narrow which made carrying luggage and supplies interesting.

    Great location and room was clean and sufficient for my needs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking could not be charged or be cheaper.

    You feel at home. In fact they are rented apartments with kitchen utensils, great internet. It is very well located, close to the Prudential Tower and subway stations, which in Boston are marked with the letter "T". It is also in a very nice neighborhood, close to a beautiful park and with spectacular restaurants in the surroundings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been much cleaner. The duvet was dirty. The bathroom was not cleaned at all while we were there, nor was the room vacuumed.

    Location was fantastic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty. Stovetop didn’t work and the the person at the office could not help us immediately so we had to make our pasta dinner in the microwave. Maintenance came the next day and fixed it within 20 seconds. Looking at us like we were daft they said the breaker was off. The breaker box was out in the hall! The room was advertised as a superior suite. It’s small and and banged up. Needs a clean and paint job badly.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I boarded my flight to Boston at 9pm CT and read the email from the property, only then realizing that they close the office at midnight. I was landing at 12:45am. I called the property and the staff simply said "what time are you arriving? 1am? OK, I will wait for you." I was blown away! Such a nice welcome! Certainly put a smile on my face.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bed too small, carpet and sofa dirty. The bathroom shower floor tilts to one corner and the water pools up. No soap dish in the shower. Had no where to put soap shampoo.

    The location was awesome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location and helpful staff. The property, however, is dated with heavily worn furniture and in need of repairs (i.e. peeling wallpaper, cracks/water damage on bathroom ceiling). It's a safe and walkable part of town, convenient to the Amtrak, so it suited my purposes for an overnight trip on a budget, but I wouldn't return if I wanted to impress my family or travel companion.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and noisy! Upstairs guest was annoying with the constant banging and dragging things across the floor. The stairs leading down to our floor were narrow and the treads were not wide enough to put your foot down!

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing specific. But, just a bit being a little away from the reception - that mainly because I traveled alone and would have like to interact with people. If i had traveled with family, I wouldn't have bothered.

    I have always stayed in a hotel and to have the experience that Copley House provides is amazing. The facilities were outstanding, the linen neat and clean, check-in staff just appropriate and informative, and check-out was seamless/no hazzle (just leave the key and go), TOP location for someone running the Boston Marathon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like that the room was cold and we were given space heaters. I also didn't like that the shower didn't work. But I understand that things like this happen sometimes.

    My husband and I stayed during Pax with my 5 month old and 6 year old. Everything was amazing except that we had no hot water or heat for a night. The staff was very helpful! I would stay again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom is slightly in the small side, you really cannot put anything on the sink, no hook around, shower water pressure could be better and no heater, lucky the temp was in 40s so I survived. TV has no good channels, the wall is so thin (room #402, building #215), you basically jumped each time someone walk into the building and slammed the door which you don't get use to it, even after the tenth time. But I'll come back, worth the money.

    Good size room for a single traveler or a couple. Bed is comfortable, everything works well in the room. They have small fridge, toaster/oven, stove, coffee maker, kettle and dishes. Location is close to Prudential Tower, Back Bay shops and many restaurants. Parking is cheaper than most places in Boston.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was awkward, and building was in need of some renovation, hallways were very tight and made lugging bags a chore.

    Access to other parts of the city, room was cozy, like visiting a friend's or family not hotel like. Decor needed some up dating, but if you aren't looking for fancy and a comfortable bed to rest, this is it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy area and property only had dash windows which rattled in the wind and provided absolutely no sound insulation at all. Windows also only had blinds which sun shone through so no chance of a lay in.

    Location was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hallways are filthy. Someone can at least vacuum. It looks like a college dormitory. Grow up. You're a hotel. I almost turned back. Also the office downstairs looked like a college room with packages piled up. What an unprofessional mess.

    The room was clean and fine and quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Premium Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location is wonderful Staff friendly We have stayed here before and loved it. Different studio apt this time Gives a person a feel of Boston Back Bay We stayed near the Boston Symphony Hall

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I know it's an old building but the room was either HOT or cold. It was extremely loud! I could hear other guests conversations through the walls, going up & doing the stairs. Slept HORRIBLY bc of noise. The rooms need a make over. TV is old w/fuzzy picture, couch is worn out, the kitchen hasn't ever been updated wouldn't have ever cooked in it. Changed my flight to fly home right after running the Boston marathon bc I couldn't stand being there the room was so uncomfortable & load.

    The staff was friendly, easy location to get to & from the Boston marathon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen in the superior apartment was almost too small to use.

    The location so close to Prudential. Easy to get to a T Line. Great access to shops and restaurants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ceiling lighting was a little harsh. Not an issue in the center of the room, but the bulb over the bed might make sense being a little dimmer. Definitely provides enough light, but it is a bit too harsh trying to read/do work while in bed.

    A really nice studio in a great location for a reasonable price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in the room was inadequate (barely worked). Our room was right next to the boiler room and it got very warm in there making sleeping uncomfortable.

    Staff helpful, great location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was awful, both of us woke up with sore backs and necks. It was very unfortunate that we could not control the heating without using the air conditioner. It's hard to want to use the air conditioning in March.

    The staff was very welcoming. The kitchenette was a very pleasant surprise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that there were a lot of broken and/or rickety things. Ie coffee pot, paper towel holder, table in living room area, toilet paper holder. I walked it and was not immediately please but became comfortable in time, my first thought was actually that this was not what I was expecting. Oh and the area rug was crooked which drove me nuts during my stay, I know I’m a tad OCD but stuff like that bugs me.

    I loved the location and feel of comfort there! I enjoyed having the kitchen amenities. The place just had a real comfortable feel that both my children and I could really get used to. :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was down three flights of very narrow staircases. It was difficult to maneuver the luggage down the stairs. The room was warm so we turned what appeared to be the thermostat down while we were out. When we came back hours later the room was still warm and we called the front desk. The staff immediately came to check out the problem and informed us that we could not control our own room temperature. So we were offered a box fan to keep our room cool. A room that cost almost $200.00 a night should not come with instructions on where to find the box fan.

    Staff was friendly and the location was convenient and safe

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't know it would be located around the corner from the original address on the reservation which was only the check in desk. I thought it was all in one area but we had to drag our bags a block or so away, in the dark, to find our actual room.

    I liked that it was a little apartment style room and it was located close to Northeastern university which is where we were going.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only complaint is that our room wasn't ready by 3:00 check-in, but the staff was INCREDIBLE at getting it ready for us ASAP. We didn't mind at all since we just wandered around the neighborhood while we waited. Also, if you're a coffee drinker, you may want to bring your own grounds. The provided coffee was very weak :)

    My boyfriend and I got into Boston before we could check in, but the Copley House held our bags at the office so we could explore the city luggage-free. Such friendly staff! Everyone from the owner, to the cleaning crew were exceptional. The room was clean and very roomy and the bed was comfy as could be. Plus we had a great view. Our apartment was within walking distance to tons of shopping, beautiful neighborhoods and great food. We even walked to the Harbor from our apartment twice! It was a 5 mile walk but with the good weather and easy views we hardly even realized how far we'd gone. Make no mistake- these aren't hotel rooms. More like a more reliable Air BNB with the way the rooms are setup but I was beyond pleased with the accommodations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was shabby and not very clean. Electrical installation hazardous. Wallpaper dirty and torn. Bathroom tiny and in need of repair (old-fashioned faucet)

    The location, close to a subway station and the Prudential Mall

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small. They put us in the front of the building so every time a guest came in you could hear the door slam closed. Also every time someone used a toilet or shower we heard it. Also the bed was uncomfortable. Definitely not worth $240 a night.

    Location was okay-ish

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: