Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sea Blue Hotel 3 stars

1670 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, Los Angeles, CA 90401, USA

#180 of 352 hotels in Los Angeles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1488 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, good bedrooms and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't comment on the website that refurbishment was taking place in the hotel which was noisy.

    The view from the bedroom and style of the room was fantastic. Location is prime. Beds were comfortable and staff were friendly and willing to help.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Lovely placecloseto everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Love this place. Just a stone's throw from Santa Monica Operand the beach and with very helpful, friendly staff. The Junior Suite was big enough for our family of four, with plenty of space, a closet and a safe. No breakfast but there was free coffee. We stayed there 12 years ago and loved it, this time was no different. Would gladly stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    To be fair it was perfect for us on our route 66 journey, I would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For us - nothing

    Our room was lovely, roomy and the beds were comfortable. The location is spot on, easy walk into the shops and to the beach and pier. The staff were awesome, very friendly and helpful. Parking looks like it may be a disaster but the staff have it all under control, just leave them the keys and you don't need to worry.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent place for a visit stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sound isolatgion between rooms vere not good, easy to hear and be disturbed by activities in neighbouring rooms. Restaurants good, but expensive.

    Location was excellent. Personnel very flexible and accomodating. Rooms had a charm you do not see in conventional hotels

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Cute hotel, easy beach access, really friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super super loud road noise, and construction next door. $35 per night parking fee.

    Cute hotel, easy beach access, really friendly staff. Beds were comfy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable and spacious apartment with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A coffee maker in the room would have been an improved addition to save having to walk down to the lobby.

    We stayed in the junior suite room 37 which was very generous in size. From the living area there is a perfect view of the Pier which is great if your sitting having breakfast or reading a book. The beach is a 2 minute walk away. The beds are super comfy and the rooms have fans which make them really airy and cool. The fridge is great for cooling your drinks and there is free coffee available in the lobby. The staff are very friendly and helpful too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice place for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was outdated and fan in room didn’t work.

    Great view of the ocean from our room. 3 minute walk down to beach. So close, at times you can hear the Ferris wheel on the Santa Monica Pier.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    Good value, spacious. But loud!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud. You could hear doors slam and people in other rooms moving around. Also, some late night people on the patio- even over a sound machine. And they started construction at 7am on Saturday.

    They were accommodating with the parking and very spacious rooms!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.8
    June 2018 was probably not the good time to enjoy this hotel because of renovations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an hotel renovation during our stay (june 2018) which was very noisy. The access to the beach is a 44 steps stair, should be mentioned in the description.

    Hotel close to the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Can't wait to stay there again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awesome location with beach access and pier next door. The property keeps it's modern look and rooms are very cozy, clean, and upgraded. Complimentary coffee is available downstairs and friendly staff to make your stay enjoyable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location, great staff, and good (if somewhat noisy) rooms - overall very good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast options are limited (just bananas when I stayed here). The hotel is pet-friendly, which could be an issue to some. Also, the hotel is situated on a major road, and the parking is just in front, leading to some noise.

    Extremely friendly staff. Complimentary wifi, hot drinks, and breakfast are always a plus (although the breakfast is quite minimalistic). Excellent location, just a short walk away from the beach and Santa Monica Pier. Also some nice cafés and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.1
    Stay was fair.
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too much noise of the street and city. Also, a request was put in for two birthdays. The Hotel said they would take care of doing something special. Asked if a 'reminder' call would be helpful, and they said no. Nothing was done. Disappointing, as this 'stay' was a gift to help celebrate.

    Close to the beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    Location was great, rooms were cute.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is great other then lots of construction. Unfortunatley my neighbors were up till 4:30am one evening and there wasn't much we could do about it. The rooms are on the road so lots of traffic sounds. Great stay by the beach

    Location was great, rooms were cute.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    Spot on location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress had seen better days.

    Spot on location. Right by Santa Monica pier. Staff very helpful. Easy parking. Bed wasnt too comfortable and may need changing but overall good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Santa Monica 3 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows weren't comfy. The noise of people walking upstairs was loud in a ground floor room. The curtains didn't give much privacy & the light at the rear lit up our room during the night. Could do with a kettle & a microwave in the room.

    Location is brilliant for Santa Monica pier. Price was reasonable considering facilities. Freshly painted so it was light & bright and fairly clean. Bar fridge in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.0
    As it was a touring holiday, we stayed at lots of different hotels and this was by far the worst
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was awful - broken tiles on floor and I didn't have a shower as bath looked old and dirty. Valance also looked dirty although bed linen was spotless

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Original 50's motel right near the Pier...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All rooms face the street, so it's busy, but well insulated from noise. Original bathrooms and showers are small, but have the original tiles and design and have there charms :)

    Location,location, location... right by the Pier and action. It's an original 50's motel, so it's pretty basic for the $$$. But you ar epaying for convenience. And yes parking is very limited, but lucikly we rocked up early Sat evening and got lucky! $30+ for 24hrs parking...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location a lite pricey. No parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Remote control lights in the room can be controlled by different rooms, lights and fan kept going off and on bed was broken

    Location great staff great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    Good Value basic hotel in Great Position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A good basic hotel that can't be beat for location right near the Santa Monica Pier. Helpful staff. It's currently being updated so a bit of noise during the day but overall good value. Parking on the property was handy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They were renovating and it was SO noisy. This is also disgustingly expensive for what you get. The website images and reality do not match. We checked out after the first night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.7
    I would like to return for a longer stay., once the reno is finished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately there was renovations being carried out and perhaps the price should have been reduced.. The location is excellent the Staff member Carter was lovely. Perhaps a breakfast voucher to ease the pain of the renovation would have been nice.

    The Beds were great.The Rooms was adequate and quaint and very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Great stay, intimate hotel with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was exactly as we hoped for. Location is perfect, very near the Santa Monica Pier and walking distance to 3rd street Promenade. Also easy to get on/off the Pacific Coast Highway. Friendly staff, clean hotel and it offers all comfort you can wish for. With respect to the available facilities we did not give the optimal score, referring to a pool, which would have made it a complete holiday experience. We have been here twice; in both instances we had the junior suite. Perfect for a family. 2nd time we had a room at the front of the hotel, which does not have my preference with respect to the busy road in front of the hotel. But in the end we did not have any problems with noise whatsoever.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    3.8
    I hated it and will never return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was tiny, dirty and nasty. We had to put towels on the floor to avoid stepping on the dirty tile. The shower was dark, tiny and looked dirty. We had to wait 20 minutes for the water to heat up. Some of the bedding was not completely clean. It was all white and we could see every stain. The whole room needed to be wiped down from the door to the bathroom window. We had NO sleep due to very loud and rude neighbors next door. The noise went on for hours. Called and spoke to the front desk person at 3am. Noise stopped around 4:30AM. TERRIBLE NIGHT and I will never go back. All walls are paper thin. There were tons of hidden fees that took the room from $269 to over $300!!!!

    The size of the bed was nice. I enjoyed the FREE coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    The parking would be the only down side of the trip it’s...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking would be the only down side of the trip it’s limited amount of parking but then again everything is at walking distance I would still recommend this location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Adorable beach hotel in a perfect location, but walls are paper-thin.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls are quite thin so neighbors' conversation/music woke me several times during the night. Bring earplugs!

    Comfortable room in a perfect location just steps from the beach. Staff are super friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Cute place in an ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's loud. The people walking upstairs woke us up each morning. It was so bad I wanted to go ask them why they were dropping bowling balls over and over again. So bring ear plugs if you are on the lower floor. Also the bathroom is clean, but older, so almost no counter space. Also the shower ran hot and cold.

    Location is excellent - can walk to almost everything in the Santa Monica area. Hotel decor is super cute, bed is comfortable and the sheets smell really clean and fresh.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    Construction began at 7.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction began at 7. Parking always an issue here seemed to be worse with construction workers parking there. Then had to wait for them to be found to move their car.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    A hidden gem offering great access to a wonderful area. Will definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room with the beds was great, but the bathroom area and shower/toilet need some renovating, especially the crumbling tile floor. It appeared dirty when I think that was just due to the age of the floor. I personally didn’t mind it but could see why it would be a turnoff to some travelers.

    The location was fantastic...easy walk to the beach, pier and lots of local restaurant choices. I liked the location better than some of the higher end (pricier) hotels that were across the busy street, whereas we could just take a back alley to the beach. And the alley was very cute and nicely landscapes and furnished too. Our concierge, or property manager, whatever you want to call him..at the front desk...Carter was awesome. So friendly and helpful carrying our bags upstairs and getting our AC started. Can’t say enough great things about him. The beds were very comfortable too! Had a great night’s sleep!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    Very small and not fully functional, great location and great staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee maker in the room No microwave Smalll bathroom No bedstand at the head of the bed (just at the foot of the bed) - it was inconvenient, Small room No elevator

    The bed was very comfy with dawn pillow top Fridge Friendly staff Coffee tea 24 7 at the reception, and if you wake up early enough - bananas

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee maker in the room, but plenty at reception. There was a lot of redecorating happening whilst we were there but obviously this won’t be happening all the time. The hot water didn’t work in the shower in the morning when I had one. Reception said the plumbing sold and it happens sometimes, but knocked off the price of the parking.

    Good location. Individual. Not a lot of space in the actual room, but nice having separate spaces for the beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    2.9
    This is a scam!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First to know, this is a motel not hotel. That means that you’re on a road and if your room is at ground floor, you’re in a parking. The ratio price/quality is the worst ever. I paid 300 dollars not to have any service, any breakfast, and staying on a road. Moreover the h/motel is on renewing and you hear noeses from early morning but you pay as if it’s a five star brand new hotel. The bathroom is 1sq, the shower takes 20 minutes to get warm. Never go again!!

    The room was enough clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful visit.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything I did not like about it. If I had had a car, it would have been expensive to park in the area.

    Charming, comfortable in a great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Sea blue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was excellent

    Location location location 2 mins from santa monica pier Great nearby restaurants Staff were friendly and helpful Housekeeping were excellent On site parking facilities Tea and coffee on site Room was big for 2 people

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean when we checked in. However the daily housekeeping service was not that good. By the end of our stay in the room and the sheets were full of sand.

    Comfortable room. Plenty of space and a great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.3
    I should not have wasted money on the suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jr suite was not like the jr suite pictured on hotel website. Our room was not ready at check in. The bathroom was tiny and the shower was terrible.

    The bed was comfortable and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.4
    Feels more like a motel than a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's much more of a motel feel than a hotel. It's also a very noisy area due to it's proximity to the hwy and due to the way the walkways are situated around the rooms windows.

    It's very close to the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    A must visit!! For us the staff was amazing!!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house keeping and the staff make this a must visit!! Room was well kept and very clean!! They were under remodeling while we visited and we never heard noises or had any disturbances. Close to the pier and Promenade!!! Beach views were beautiful! We be back again in 6 months!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    5.8
    Friendliness of staff, central location, 60s vibe, view out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovation work going on - noise. This was not stated on Booking.com site at time of reservation. It would have impacted by choice.

    Friendliness of staff, central location, 60s vibe, view out to sea, access to beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.9
    If I was to stay in Santa Monica again, I would definitely like to stay at the Sea Blue Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and bathroom was quite small and the shower pressure was low.

    The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The location was close to the beach, pier and to Santa Monica shops and restaurants. There was a relaxed, unpretentious and friendly atmosphere at the hotel. Our room at the back of the hotel was quiet and had a small patio although we noted that not all the rooms were quiet or had the outside space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretended to be the Hotel California when clearly it’s norhing like! Paid for a quadruple room but got just one double bed!! As allowed in early and had sea view did not complain

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Helpful lovely staff. And fab location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    was under going renovations, which one wouldn't know when booking online and would not be able to take a quiet snooze in the room in the day...which sometimes you may wish to do...

    super cute vibe....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.7
    Not relaxing, great location but hotel is in need of TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was stuffy, shower did not function properly, floor was very dirty, neighbors upstairs were very noisy starting at 6:30, and building renovation at and nearby was very loud starting at 7:30. It was hard to get a good night sleep.

    Fun and good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Cute little beach motel with personality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is very tight and expensive $35/ day

    Loved the location - super close to the beach and Santa Monica Pier. Plenty of great places to eat in the area. Cute and comfortable room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    A warm welcome to Santa Monica
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The refurbishment was underway and there was building work next door too. Might be nice to have a bedside cabinet to place a drink or phone.

    The staff were all great and the location excellent. My preference to a chain hotel in this location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    I would come back! I am curious how it's going to look when it's renovated. We really liked the sta
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom facilities were a little bit old, but ok. The Hotel is going to be renovated so maybe that's gonna change. Because of that it was sometimes a little noisy when they started working in the morning but whatever.

    The Hotel is quite beautiful. The location is awesome! The beach is so close, same with the small shopping mall and street. Buses and the metro are very close,too (8min walk). The room was cute and the right size. We got a fridge and a TV.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Location was great, staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovations are currently being done on the hotel, so was a bit loud at times. We were also on a ground floor room, and could hear everything the people were doing above us (was only an issue as the people above us were very loud).

    Location was great, staff very friendly. Easy access to beach and Santa Monica. Shops and restaurants a few blocks away within walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Sooooi enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceeded our expectations. Worked with us as we had unexpected delays. The owners are refreshing everything. Good to see this little piece of history thriving

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    Large room, comfy bed, 5 min walk to pier and 10 min walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the main street, a pair of earplugs was necessary to fall asleep. No breakfast. Not cheap!

    Large room, comfy bed, 5 min walk to pier and 10 min walk to Third Promenade (shopping). Always someone at the front desc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    Bed and linen were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was not much that I didn't like about my stay. I was worried about noise as I was there for a marathon and knew I needed to get a good few night's sleep, but noise really wasn't a problem. If I could change anything: - add coffee/tea facilities in the room (although there is coffee at reception); - add bedside lamp - add bottle of water in room

    Bed and linen were great. Room and facilities in the room super clean. Loved the little mini fridge. Location is everything about this hotel! The front desk let me leave my bag with them as I arrived early and gave me a map and showed me points of interest for me to explore.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.3
    Cosy room in an excellent location but room facilities in need of updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little cramped & dated. Not convinced the bed sheet was changed from previous occupant? The room had a drinks fridge but no means to make in room coffee/tea. Our bathroom was tired & in need of renovation. During our stay workmen started renovation the room next door which was fine except they started at around 7am...quite a lot of noise & disturbance. A note under our door the night prior notifying us of the planned work would have been appreciated.

    Location, location, location!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice and laid back.
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The name. It was once The Hotel California. I expected to be able to buy t-shirts and such. Instead, the rooms were made over and there wasn't a shred of the old left. Big disappointment.

    The people were very helpful and friendly. That is so important. Please read on.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.4
    A great location that could be made much better by providing basic furnishings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nowhere to sit or put your suit cases, makeup, beside water or phone. It's just 2 rooms with a bed in each. One has a miniature fridge, end table that serves no purpose because it can't fit by a bedside and is too small to place your suitcase. There's a small table and 2 chairs that can't be used because it's in what was probably a closet opening and you can't pull out the chairs to sit. We were freezing cold and there was no heat source other than a space heater in the closet that said "do not use". The tv didn't work and the guy who came to investigate said he'd offer a credit for the inconvenience but didn't do that nor know how to fix it.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyable and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains are too thin and therefore provide no privacy and allow bright light into the rooms very early in the morning so no chance of sleeping in.

    The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful and really made our stay. Great location within easy walking distance of Santa Monica pier. Room was a good size.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    3.8
    Surprisingly disappointing, expensive, dirty, cracked tiles, bad toilet with flies and bugs.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    different place from what showed in your site: Not the room choice, Bad bathroom, I've booked: HOTEL CALIFORNIA but as I arrived it was the SEA BLUE HOTEL

    location extremely good to be in Santa Monica

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.3
    Amazing value for location and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to add!

    Fantastic location. Room nice, clean and comfortable. Dont expect luxury but friendly staff amazing location and fantastic value will stay here again. thank you for a great stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.4
    Freezing, jet lagged but with an ocean view!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was uncharacteristically cold during my stay and the hotel was absolutely ill equipped with heating mechanism. Rudimentary little radiator was provided which did not help at all. No in room coffee either. Have to go all the way to reception to get one..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    Loved loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Excellent! Will definitely be back!

    Easy access to the beach. Loved the cottage/bungalow feel. Very friendly staff. Walking distance to the Promenade. Was able to park car at the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.8
    Location, charm, nostalgia within steps to the beach and Santa Monica pier - Love <3
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were traveling with 5 and it could only barely fit a small child. My friend had to get a single room so that was a big disappointment otherwise the place would have exceeded my expectations. I would stay here again!

    Location! Location! Location! Loved this boutique hotel it was so close to the pier and could not have asked for a better spot. It was decorated very beachy and the courtyard was adorable. A great place! The staff was very accommodating and Denise at the front desk was great :) My only issue was the coach in the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    5.8
    Good, but not so great having a toilet overflow on me!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Firstly, there is construction at the hotel which you are not warned about prior to or at check-in. Banging started at 7am! This is not something that you need on a holiday. Even worse, it was in the room next to me. Secondly, coming home after an evening out the hot water in the shower did not work. I ran it for over 10minutes before giving up! Thirdly, the toilet in my room overflowed onto the floor when I flushed it. I'll let your imagination fill in the blanks but let's just say it was pretty gross. This not only happened in my first room, but nearly happen in the second room when I flushed it. Clearly there is an issue with the plumbing in this place. P.S I only peed! Fourth, the location is super noisey. Investment in double glazing the windows may help. Lastly, upon check out the staff member had no customer service skills whatsoever. Didn't even bother to raise his head when I left, let alone wish me well heading back home. This is not a reflection of the other staff as they had all been delightful til this point.

    Initially the staff were very good. There was an issue with my room and they were happy to arrange another for me. The rooms are pretty clean and the beds quite comfy. It's a great location to stay in Santa Monica - close to the pier and local restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.3
    I liked the location and bed
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the shower to small I need a tub and room was too small for the price.. The t. V was bad location to far out

    I liked the location and bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.3
    Good for a place to sleep and if you’re going to spend most of your time out at the beach or pier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overnight parking wasn’t included. $36 charge at their lot which was full anyways so had to park and walk from the civic center for $5. Walls were really thin, neighbors were up at 4:00am and could here everything. Crying cat sounded like it was just outside our door.

    Location was close to the beach and near SM Pier

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    It was charming and the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was freshly painted which looked very nice however it smelled really bad...couldn't open the windows because it was too cold and the heater could of been better. Other than that it was a great stay!

    It was charming and the location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.8
    Nice location, all the place is like from american movie!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room is small, but you are in California, 1 min from the beach - who cares about the room? :-)

    Nice location, all the place is like from american movie! Absolutely love it!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is exactly as advertised- a 70s style motel with great location and quasi surf character. Room was a good size with modest but period tiled ensuite. Appeared recently painted/redecorated and everything was extremely clean. Only 3-5mins walk to Santa Monica pier and bars and restaurants. Given location, great value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    The perfect old school California experience right at the pier
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathrooms need to be updated and more amenities are needed like coffee in the room. It would also be nice to have a lounge are with a view since the lobby room is limited.

    The hotel had a great vibe of old school California.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.4
    mediocure
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    . No heat when it was cold. had to ask for portable heater. Had to move due to noisy construction next to our room. moved to room at end of building that was very noisy from street and homeless people in alley. Cleaning service was poor. Ran out of cups, toilet paper, towels. Bathroom need work. Tiles broken, Faucets leaking. Water turned hot and cold.

    Staff was very nice and helpful when we had problems. Location was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    Location and staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a room on the first floor. People were running and making a lot of noise in the room above us. Until 1 am. Than someone was yelling out obscenities in the middle of the night. Don't go here if you want to sleep. No breakfast. Had to go to office to get coffee.

    Location and staff!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower temperature was close to impossible to adjust. We were in a room near outside tables and chairs, and our neighbors decided to talk from 1:30 am to 2:30 am there... No signs to encourage not to do this.

    The location and staff were really great! It’s walking distance to The Promenade.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    6.3
    adequate for a one night stay but overpriced for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was located on the main road so we had typical city noise. Not for the romantic looking for ambiance better for those looking for location, beaches and amusements.

    This was a clean motel room one block up from the pier and beach. I would say great it was great for a younger crowd looking for a great location near the beach. We like a little more ambiance. We had the junior suite so there was an extra bed in the back for a child or guest.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.1
    They are under construction so it's ok for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were cutting palm leaves in the middle of the afternoon with a chainsaw for two days, so that was loud. I understand they were under construction so this is not a complaint, but it was a bit inconvenient since I'd just gotten off a plane and would have liked to nap. The cleaning service is my only real complaint. When I walked in first moment they had used some air freshener cleaning product that was very strong, but the windows didn't open so I couldn't dissipate the smell. I'd have opened the door but they were cutting the palm leaves directly in front of my door.

    The front desk staff were very personable and informative.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, right where you want to be, great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms and heating could be updated, would make it more comfortable, possibly perfect :)

    location was fantastic, really good beds, lovely staff, sweet rooms, charming

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    Very good location and very friendly stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No laundry service in the hotel, no microwave, coffee machine or kettle in the room, no furniture except beds in the room, staff does not provide info about LA

    Location, clean rooms, staff, access to the perfect beach, electric heater in the room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    6.3
    The location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did have the carbon monoxide alarm go off at 2 am because the 1900's heater was leaking! we could not get it turned off. The staff never said anything about it when we check out.

    the online pictures showed an beautiful building but this place is straight out of the 50's. When we first saw it we laughed but the room was not horrible.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    i liked the authentic, cool flair of the apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    i liked the authentic, cool flair of the apartment. in addition, it was very spacy. i will come again. It is located directly next to the super-expensive hotel and gives a good option for a fraction of the price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.1
    The room and the outdoor areas are very cute and freshly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls and the ceiling are paper thin. We had the worst possible neighbours that started making noise at 4am... I can't totally blame the management for this, as it should be a common sense that between 10pm and 7am the noise should be kept as low as possible, but the rooms could have been insulated better during the recent renovation. The parking is veeeery expensive! $36 per night is too much!!!

    The room and the outdoor areas are very cute and freshly renovated. Everything was claan and the accommodation can't be in a better location.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sea Blue Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: