Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel 5 stars

35 East 76th Street, Upper East Side, New York, NY 10021, USA

Review score

Based on 127 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    6.3
    Very disappointing. Will go elsewhere next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very tired and needs money spending on it. Much worse than when I was last there in 2013. Belatedly told that next to no restaurant and room service facilities due to refurb and no discount offered. Common parts very dirty and given a very poor room. The Mark close by is much the same price and far superior.

    Stayed there several times before. Excellent location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful experience I will forward to repeating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were in was very comfortable by any standard. However, must say the room for our stay was really dated. There was not a single thing about the hotel that isn’t superior but would recommend a update room wise.

    Overall, a great hotel and the service everywhere on the property is first rate. Staff and ammenities are second to none.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.7
    average, i will not go back again
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staffs are generally polite ...... though can one imagine you go out at 10am and return at 3pm ,the room is still undone ?! i then asked the housekeeper to return at 5pm after i go out for dinner. then i returned at 8.30pm.... the room is not done yet..... i called the housekeeping again.... went out for a walk half hour to give them time to clean.... NOT yet done still..... i then told them to forget about it.... i was checking out the next day, the reception apologized..... honestly, i hv tried many 5 stars hotel.... they would probably free the last day. i did not tell them I know the hotel owner....... sad.. i had to visit philly, so i thought interesting to move to another hotel for a different experience.... i had booked the 1 hotel central park behind the pierre..... i took my luggage to store there ,everything changed.... the first smell of the hotel ,young lady from the hotel reception was welcoming anc helpful... i have not even moved into the hotel yet.... that is something to say there !

    property is smaller ,but the rooms are big. My friend suggested me to try there as it is also close to her apartment. of course it was the carlyle name that attracted me to book.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    I'd stay there again, but I would like to look at other rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was quite small and tired. interior windows, dark. TINY bathroom. not a great value for the the price and it was on a thursday night of a holiday weekend, and not busy in NYC

    the staff was nice, Bemelman's and the Café are amazing. lobby gorgeous, great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.4
    Ok at best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at breakfast what a disaster . The eggs were COLD , the smoked salmon with cream cheese came out without the cream cheese I asked and it still didn’t come out 5 min later then had to bagel retoasted. So basically my wife was finished with her breakfast before I had bite one SAY NO MORE

    The ambiance

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Upper Eastside everytime!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being turned away at the breakfast buffet at exactly 10:27am was infuriating. The buffet full of eggs, bacon, sausage, fruits, patisseries, salmon, cheeses, going to the trash was tragic on multiple levels. After dinner we wanted one drink, but a $30 cover charge to walk one room over seemed exorbitant, even after spending 4 figures for dinner.

    Restaurant Carlyle could have a Michelin Star. The French food and wine reminded me of my childhood traveling though Europe with my grandparents. Those are some of my most cherished memories. The time warp seems to bring you back to a more gracious period of the Pax Americana. Grand, yet not ostentatious. A subdued atmosphere that emanates from the live jazz quartet in the bar gave a soundtrack to the whole experience that could not be improved upon.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    4.6
    Will not return and won’t recommend to anyone
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carlyle used to be an amazing spot to stay in NY. Now it became a no-class, no Service hotel where staff only cares about doing their job whatever way they can to pass the day Rooms are old. Bathrooms-if one person can walk in and turn around freely-call it an achievement. They always run out of items during breakfast. Events manager is utterly unpleasant and will most likely do nothing to accommodate guests (our experience). You will not be treated as a return/regular guest-staff have no idea how to make notes about guests’ preferences-they will only check you in and out. We mentioned we didn’t enjoy our stay at the checkout and the reply was “ok” I could continue

    Location. The bar is still a nice spot to spend a night at

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.1
    Mostly enjoyable. Love the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom shelves were too small to keep all cosmetics and necessities together. Also, there was no table in the room which made room service dining a challenge.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room very clean. Cleaning service was tops!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    3.8
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was old, dirty, run down, rooms horrible, trying to stand on when they were grand. Mark is across the street and for the same 1,000 per room is amazing. Couldn’t get in and out of the shower, lights burned out, tv didn’t work . Was old shabby and just a run down mess. Water stains on wall paper, dirty worn rugs, lumpy mattress, spare or no towels. Not a 5-star hotel. More light motel 6.

    Only location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Unbelievable. I travel quite a bit. The Carlyle is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com screwed up my reservation but it worked to my advantage.

    All superlatives. A truly grand European hotel. The people at the front desk were incredibly accommodating. Staff was amazing. Elevator operators were a class act.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.8
    Staff was wonderful and the Kiehl's bath products were a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The initial room I was in was right next to the elevators -- I had to move because it was so loud. The property overall is very old -- so the floors creak and sound travels. The entire property could use a massive upgrade -- from the curtains to the carpet to the furniture. Also, during my stay 3 of the 5 elevators were down -- taking super long to get to/from my room.

    Staff was wonderful and the Kiehl's bath products were a great treat!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    Bed comfy, staff friendly, easy access, food good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrival was a non event, breakfast buffet luke warm, a dog sitting at the table (on a chair with a bib on) in the lounge! Our room was not ready until 4:00, but we were comped a round of drinks for the wait.

    Bed comfy, staff friendly, easy access, food good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.1
    My stay at the Hotel Carlyle in New York
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in. I had a 3 PM meeting the day I arrived and the was told that the room would not be ready until 330. I had to pay an extra 200 dollars to have a room that was available given to me so that I could shower and change. Also, my friend ordered Ice for the room and it was never delivered.

    Nice location. Friendly service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Great place for singles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Love the atmosphere of the hotel and the piano bar, perfect location, quite but close enough to all the shopping, park and the Met museum. Perfect for singles as I am, very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    The Carlyle's location fit us perfectly for this particular trip.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cost of meals at the hotel was frankly pricey compared to the quality of the food. Although the quality was okay, it didn't stack up with the cost. Also, I believe that the Booking.com information suggested that there was breakfast was included but this wasn't in our plan. Perhaps my mistake but I don't think so. Anyway, whatever.

    The curtsey of the staff was good. The availability of a driver and car for short trips like for lunch/dinner was very nice and improved the quality of our stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    8.8
    A special place for a special trip - one of NYC's finest hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen facilities looked good but did not have a kettle or tea cups but these were provided on request.

    Dinner in the restaurant was first class. We did not have breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.6
    I love everything about this hotel - but I think what I like...
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I love everything about this hotel - but I think what I like most is the quiet nature of the public rooms, while there is so much to offer in the other spaces- the bars, restaurant, entertainment. They have somehow managed to capture both, and do so beautifully.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.8
    Another great weekend in New York City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was quite dated. The bed, linens and amenities were wonderful, however, the furniture is outdated and worn. The room was a nice size. Bathroom was very small, but I think that is the case in many NY hotels. The hallways were also in need of an update. Stains on walls and worn out carpet. It may be that some floors are in better shape than others.

    Loved the bar, cafe, and restaurant. The bar with live music is always fun (on the weekends there is a cover charge). The cafe is a wonderful place to have a drink and people watch, and the restaurant is quiet, elegant, and the food is delicious. A lovely boutique hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.1
    Location near park, shopping, restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel didn't inform us of renovations. Jack hammers at 7 AM outside our window? Really???

    Location near park, shopping, restaurants. Bemelman's bar has nice jazz. Staff mostly friendly. Nice gym facilities (though small).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    9.2
    wonderful staff, beautiful public rooms, great food and brilliant jazz
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hotel having new electrics and only one power point worked in our room. Bathroom was very very tiny

    Beds were normal twins and very comfortable. Room faced inside so was very quiet. Shower brilliant

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    Classic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cover charge at the bar on weekends when jazz trip plays.

    Wonderful classic hotel with very polite staff. Also rooms were beautifully decorated and quiet.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    10
    friendly helpful service
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    friendly helpful service location breakfast included it was raining and the captain gave us an umbrella for the evening! that was great!!! reasonable parking

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    10
    We loved the entire experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our stay was first class all the way. We were well taken care of....and enjoyed every minute! This is our go-to place in NYC! Get reservations for a meal, and spend an evening at the bar.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.8
    Good location, to expensive for what they offer. Old fashion
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.7
    The concierge was very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs an upgrade and refurb

    The concierge was very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely location. Great if going to cafe Carlyle
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy fridge room needs updating needs new drapes , paint job , coffee maker

    Lobby service cafe Carlyle bedding

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant just ok

    One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in! Comparable to the used-to-be Mandarin Oriental in Francisco.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent overall Timeless traditions

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Overall it was a perfect getaway
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room furnishings are a little tired.

    Wonderful staff and beautiful lobby. Close to Central Park

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Always lives up to expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking is a little pricy

    Favorite hotel in NYC, slept like a baby. Staff was kind & welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Older facility slow elevators
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older facility slow elevators

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Construction going on and the elevators roo slow
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction going on and the elevators roo slow

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    the jazz bar was so crowded and popular we couldn't get...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the jazz bar was so crowded and popular we couldn't get in!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    Close to Central Park and a lot of restaurants/galleries
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Close to Central Park and a lot of restaurants/galleries

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.2
    Overall, the staff was friendly and responsive and quite cooperative. Tips do go a long way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Housekeeping was inconsistent. Sometimes thorough, and other days not.

    Almost everything.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    6.3
    Rooms, gym, restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms, gym, restaurant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    The best in town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bring back large bath soaps in tubs.

    The general atmosphere. All the staff is excellent. The restaurant

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Still fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was amazing....

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    7.9
    Bar, Concierge Hall, Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Furniture, Windows, Carpets etc in the room was old

    Bar, Concierge Hall, Breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    7.1
    Generally pleased
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heating in room not adequate

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    7.5
    It's a bit noisy in the night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit noisy in the night. Don't know which mechanisms are humming and swirling. I was woken up several nites.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    8.3
    In all, a lovely hotel, with really friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of a dated feel. Could do with some upgrading.

    The breakfast was great, the staff were friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast delicious.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast delicious. Great view!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    10
    Elegance in the heart of NYC combined with courteous staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Include breakfast in the overnight price

    Elegance in the heart of NYC combined with courteous staff and a scrumptious breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    9.2
    Traditional ned reliable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    cost

    expensive

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    8.8
    Beds comfy, rooms like old (very) New York.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food totally without seasoning and overpriced.

    Beds comfy, rooms like old (very) New York. This sort of ambiance has a place. Staff very kind.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    10
    Carlyle Hotel - a Classic
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave !

    The staff were the most helpful without getting in your way - always there but not cloyingly so.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    9.2
    Certainly lives up to its billing, ambiance, elegance, convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit pricey for upgrade to suite

    Great morning buffet, very attentive service

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    10
    Amazing Place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing Perfect

    Amazing Place

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    9.6
    Good breakfast sandwich, though pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast sandwich, though pricey. Kiehl's bath products.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    10
    Mum and I have just enjoyed the most sensational 6 nights at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mum and I have just enjoyed the most sensational 6 nights at The Carlyle. Every member of the team were incredible. Everyone friendly, happy, polite, helpful and a credit to Rosewood Hotels. We recommend The Carlyle to anyone looking for a memorable special peaceful stay in NYC.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    7.9
    Wonderful old hotel - clubby atmosphere, elite crowd in bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise in next room and attitude of staff concerning our discomfort was problematic. Also, the elevator was not working properly. Not a usual Rosewood experience.

    Wonderful old hotel - clubby atmosphere, elite crowd in bar and dining room as well as the famous Cafe Carlyle. Enjoyed dining room staff and atmosphere so much ate dinner there twice. Very expensive but good food and ambiance.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    6.3
    The food is uniformly delicious, both room service and in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The lift and door men were surly, unfriendly and sometimes hostile; they clearly preferred their uber-rich and famous guests to us mere mortals (presumably they tip more). As I checked out, the door men stood watching as I struggled to get my bags into the car.

    The food is uniformly delicious, both room service and in the restaurant. The rooms are very quiet and beautifully decorated. The restaurant staff are the best I've ever encountered; truly in a league of their own and house keeping were both delightful and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    6.7
    Furniture was tired, bathroom was clean, but a little run...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms need a facelift. Linens were great and comfortable. Bathtub kept slowly draining when taking a bath.

    Furniture was tired, bathroom was clean, but a little run down and street noise was quite loud in room.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    9.6
    Great size Deluxe King room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Slow elevators.

    Great size Deluxe King room. Bed / pillows were very comfortable. Excellent service. Cafe Carlyle saw Rita Wilson & food excellent. Bemelman's Bar is a classic. Sunday brunch ambiance & food outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Nice hotel but pricey for what you get. It's nothing special compared to much cheaper options available in the city. - Very loud housekeeping slamming doors constantly for 3 hours made it impossible to sleep in past 9am which, on Jan 1st, was a massive downer.

    Location Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    7.1
    Location and the beautiful views from our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Only a small lounge for relaxing. Extra charge for internet use. Should be added to room rate to avoid inconvenience. No coffee making facility in the room.

    Location and the beautiful views from our room. Comfortable and tastefully furnished room.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    5.8
    The hotel is well located and the bar is its usual great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For a top of the line hotel, the place is a bit seedy. Everything looks or feels tired including the staff. It needs an upgrade in everything physical. We were sent to a room that was not made up and they did not know that at the front desk.

    The hotel is well located and the bar is its usual great gathering spot. The bed and bathroom were both good and the room was a decent size.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    6.3
    Location is excellent and the staff are gracious
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beds are not very comfortable. I think the price is too high for the service you get. To have to pay for wifi this is totally outrageous. Overpriced

    Location is excellent and the staff are gracious

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    5.4
    I've always stayed at the Carlyle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Since the Rosewood take-over the Carlyle is not what it used to be. It is shabby, dirty in need of a total refurbishment. Won't stay there again.

    I've always stayed at the Carlyle. Location, rooms, staff etc. It has changed hotel

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    8.8
    Each time I come to The Carlyle I feel like I am in a time...
    • Solo traveller

    called down to the lobby to extend my stay, they said they had no rooms. I got on booking.com and they had plenty rooms. I am a frequent guest at this hotel and expected better treatment.

    Each time I come to The Carlyle I feel like I am in a time warp living in royalty. I absolutely love this place and its unique and elegant atmosphere. Some have said it is not their favorite, but hotels like The Carlyle are special and must be appreciated and preserved. Wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    6.3
    Excellent location if you are in NYC for museums, boutique...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Apparently this hotel had magnificent past. Not clear how it can compete now. I paid 600 per night in low season for a "deluxe king" room. Reasonable size room, clean but water was dripping in bathroom, furniture was old and didn't bring much of style. The gym (so important these days for most travelers) was not functional - just a couple of tread mills. Breakfast was decent but nothing special. Cafe Carlyle - just a cafe. All very basic, below expectations.

    Excellent location if you are in NYC for museums, boutique shopping and fine dining.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    9.6
    Breakfast buffet was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast buffet was delicious. Pricey but good

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    8.3
    The food is really good
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    I could not get room service at a certain time

    The food is really good

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    8.8
    the location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    too long a wait for the elevators

    the location!!! Near Central Park!!!

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    6.3
    Staff extremely professional.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was really not up to their name and tradition.

    Staff extremely professional. Location extremely convenient in a charming Upper East Area.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    10
    Very friendly staff was attentive, available and courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very friendly staff was attentive, available and courteous... I would highly recommend staying here!!!

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    6.3
    It was overpriced, undersized.
    • Solo traveller

    It was overpriced, undersized. Is it really necessary to have an elevator operator in an elevator the size of a shoe box?

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    5.4
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not bad, but disappointed with the room

    location

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    10
    As always a fantastic landmark place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    As always a fantastic landmark place!! Great staff, great service, comfortable, love it all!

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    5.8
    Location and reputation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lack of personal attention to complaints and didn't reduce the nightly rate as a result of our discomfort

    Location and reputation

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    8.3
    convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    minor point...first concierge we spoke to was not really helpful

    convenient location very spacious bedroom comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.6
    The staff especially the concierge were wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff especially the concierge were wonderful!

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    10
    One of my bags was missing from my car when I checked out.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    One of my bags was missing from my car when I checked out. However it was rectified and the missing item will be shipped to me.

There are also 52 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75