Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Centennial Hotel 3 stars

96 Pleasant Street, Concord, NH 03301, USA

#5 of 8 hotels in Concord

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 54 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.0
    Mediocre to poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dirty sheets, the run down feeling of the furniture and decoration. I would compare it to a Motel Six without the section 8 people, but obviously cheaply.done. You also need an affordable alternative to the Granite resaurant. Say a nice pub? Don't describe the house as historic or old, it was HGTVized long ago and it looks cheap. A few old doorways left, but in the sense of an old house it is in bricks and mortar only. Over 200 dollars and tips.for a very mediocre experience. I am being generous at this.

    The towels were nice but the sheets were semen stained. The rooms could use a lot of character, outdated and rather beat up. Not a place I would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.0
    Overpriced and disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is run down. Peeling paint in the room, dirty tile in the shower, holes in the carpet. The room (204) was HOT - a solid 76 degrees. Bartender on Thursday was smug, overwhelmed and unwelcoming.

    The bed was comfortable but the bedding was old and rough.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    The bed was very comfy and despite being close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The workout facility was really hot! We propped the door open to get some air and it was only big enough for two people.

    The bed was very comfy and despite being close to the restaurant our room was very quiet. We also used the workout facility, very small but has all the weights you need.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Warm, charming & convenient
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel restaurant Granite, serves delicious food in two portion choices and has a great wine list. The hotel staff was gracious, professional & polite.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.8
    Great find in Concord - excellent service, price, food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We entered the restaurant around 19.45 and didn't realise this was late for this hotel, so were rushed by the bartender to finish our food and ended up taking a glass of wine to the room. I think we ate in about an hour!

    Huge room Helpful staff Massive car park Delicious food and wine in restaurant - we ate at the bar Free coffee available at Reception

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful property and the hotel restaurant was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Making the reservation through booking.com was our only problem. Booking reserved one bed and the hotel was full and could not move us to another room. We ended up adding a cot to the room. The hotel was kind enough to reduce the rate even though the issue was caused by booking.com.

    Beautiful property and the hotel restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.5
    Historic building that could do with some sprucing up. Staff could be slightly friendlier.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Insufficient lighting in the room. Dark carpets (impression of dirt) and dark dressing area and bathroom. Wash basin a little stained and slow flowing. Only two free hangers for 3 person occupancy room!

    Food in their own restaurant was good quality. Service staff was friendly and professional. Love the size of the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not happy with our first room because it was too close to the very busy restaurant but we easily were moved to a larger quiet room. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    Lovely, relaxing, convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding a way to block the noise in the little foyer that connected my room, to the restaurant, the adjoining room, the outside, and to the front desk. All centrally located in the smallest area. A bit intrusive....

    The bed was very comfortable. The warm cookies delivered to my room by a lovely person upon my 1st hour in my room. Very nice. I got to chat with staff; so accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    6.7
    A nice looking hotel with lovely rooms and nice facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were very disappointed with the attitude of one of the bar staff. My friend was having a wedding at the hotel in one of the basement rooms one of the nights that we were staying and he was quite rude about us taking our own bottle of Prosecco downstairs. Mr friend had paid a lot of money to have her wedding there and guests had travelled half way across the world to go there. I was also disappointed that wen we checked out and I paid for the room which was quite expensive for what it was that we were charged 10$ per night for a baby crib. I thought this was rather cheeky and will not be staying at this hotel again.

    A nice looking hotel with lovely rooms and nice facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    9.6
    We had a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked buffet breakfast included. However, coffee and pastries were available at front desk in the am, as well as refreshments such as hot chocolate during the day. The best treat were the macaroons in the room before bed.

    Comfortable bed and with nice linens and plush towels in the bathroom with high end toiletries.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    5.4
    Don't bother
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We the room had been booked almost a year in advance. We were given a very small room right next to the extremely noisy restaurant. We were told by the concierge that the small room is the last room they book. How can that be? And the room was expensive.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    10
    Historic beauty makes Concord visit authentic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of a thing except the chance to dine at your restaurant.

    What a joy to stay in this historic hotel while we were in Concord. Everything was clean, room was spacious, and neighborhood quiet and within walking distance of the downtown area for shopping and dining. We would have dined in the hotel restaurant but it was closed for renovations, darn. The front desk staff was so helpful with directing us to points of interests that we might like to visit. Even gave us complimentary tickets to the local indie movie theatre to see a film we'd been wanting to see. What a memorable visit. Staying at The Centennial made it all the more so. Thank you from 2 Florida visitors!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    7.1
    Food was good and well priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service, especially room service, was mediocre and they did not do a very good job of fixing the issue.

    Food was good and well priced. Location was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.4
    Don't recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like that the room floor was slanted and it was like was downhill to the bathroom and uphill to the bed..👎

    I guess that it was somewhat clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    The restaurant was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wait to check out.

    The restaurant was superb.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Everything.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable and so welcoming.
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Love the location, the comfortable room, the robes and slippers, the tv welcoming me by being on and the cookie. Also LOVE the restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    The restaurant was out of this world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was out of this world.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    Neat old building that has been converted to a hotel
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neat old building that has been converted to a hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    It's a converted old mansion, so the floors slant and...
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a converted old mansion, so the floors slant and there are odd coves in the ceilings, but that all adds to the charm. Very comfy beds.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    8.8
    Looking forward to my next stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Robes had makeup and other stains on them

    Size, lounge, downtown location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    8.3
    confirm with the hotel your room before arrival
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    did not get the confirmed room type! was charged 4 times for 1 room for 1 night!

    nice & big room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.5
    Air Conditioning system did not work properly and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air Conditioning system did not work properly and the staff could not correct it. Otherwise everything was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.6
    Worth visiting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor street signage

    Pretty town good location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.2
    Clean, quiet and lovely surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cookies at bedtime. Very prompt service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    10
    The hotel staff were friendly and warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel staff were friendly and warm. They went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. It was my boyfriend's birthday, and they upgraded us to a beautiful suite. The bedding was super-comfortable, and the bathroom and shower were great! They even had chocolate chip cookies brought to our room as a nicety! The hotel restaurant, the Granite Restaurant, was excellent from appetizers to dessert. We'll be back soon!

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    9.6
    Convenience, lots of parking, excellent restaurant (dinner...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Even though I had booked weeks before, there were no rooms on the second floor available. First room on ground floor was too noisy. Offered a smaller room on the other side of house, which worked very well.

    Convenience, lots of parking, excellent restaurant (dinner and breakfast)

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    7.9
    Clean and tidy room and bath.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Minor engineering problems, such as slow-draining sink, clunky window blinds. Bed had too many blankets.

    Clean and tidy room and bath. Spacious room, plenty of seating. Bed was good. Restaurant served good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    5.4
    The hotel is okay but there's really nothing special...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is okay but there's really nothing special about the property. There is no where to explore indoor or out, except your room and the restaurant/ bar. The accomodations are adequate but not spectacular which at their price is what you'd expect. We had friends over before going to dinner and they were also unimpressed.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.2
    It was a very cute hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was on the small side along with the bed. Dissappointed we could not stay longer!

    It was a very cute hotel. I felt at home. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. We did not eat at the restaurant in the hotel but it was very busy and the menu looked great!

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    5.8
    the age of the building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bathroom was not in good shape, tile old and dirty looking nothing around the area to do, down town half empty and under construction

    the age of the building the way it was renovated

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    9.2
    The Centennial is a nice, clean professionally run inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The complimentary coffee in the lobby was watery and the interior decor is overall rather bland, modern institutional, but it's a dependably comfortable clean room if you need to stop in town.

    The Centennial is a nice, clean professionally run inn. It is located centrally in concord, nh just a few blocks from Main Street.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    10
    This hotel is a very nice alternative to staying in a big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would be nice to have microwaves in the room or access to one in a common area, perhaps.

    This hotel is a very nice alternative to staying in a big chain or a B&B. And Granite Restaurant & Bar is the icing on the cake. My girlfriend and I loved this place. Perfect for a short get-away weekend.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    10
    Historical building, friendly & competent staff, quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Could not get the hotel internet system to stay on for more that a minute or two.

    Historical building, friendly & competent staff, quiet room, absolutely wonderful restaurant in the hotel for drinks, brunch & dinner

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    9.6
    The alarm clock was broken and the bed was too short for my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The alarm clock was broken and the bed was too short for my 6'2" husband. His feet hung off the end of the bed.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    10
    Quiet, comfortable and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet, comfortable and spacious. Staff was very friendly and service was great. Delicious food!

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    10
    Warm, inviting and tasteful décor and furnishings, all...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Warm, inviting and tasteful décor and furnishings, all amenities, close to NH State offices

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    7.5
    Friendly staff.
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    10
    The staff were accommodating friendly and made sure we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    The staff were accommodating friendly and made sure we were well taken care of.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    7.5
    Very comfortable.
    • Family with older children

    Service in the restaurant for breakfast was extremely slow and rude.

    Very comfortable.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Browse The Centennial Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: