Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of River Hotel 4 stars

75A East Wacker Drive, Chicago Loop, Chicago, IL 60601, USA

#89 of 154 hotels in Chicago

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1877 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    8.8
    Great location plus a few added extras made for a comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Room Suite with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. great location too

    Had a room with kitchenette/ lounge which I would recommend otherwise the room would have been very small. Lots of natural light. Level 2 has nibbles, fruit, coffee etc- a real bonus! Liked the refillable cold water on each floor too.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    8.8
    Our room was for a family of 4 and the family room met the ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room was for a family of 4 and the family room met the mark with the two bathroom as the family member were for parents with young adults . The room gave us space so we were not tripping over each other.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    8.8
    Convenient and friendly with reasonable comfort. Great position to explore the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our booking was not in the system when we arrived well after our check in time meaning a long wait while staff organised rooms for our party. Although we booked 3 rooms exactly the same, we had three very different rooms on different floors. All different sizes, one had a fridge and the others didn’t. You don’t have access to your room when housekeeping is in cleaning. Concerning and not even to grab a jumper. Our room had a loud continuous drone from a large aircon or generator. This really affected our sleep. When queried, we were told they would look into it and we didn’t hear anything else and no improvement. Some renovations began on the floor with one of our party without us being informed followed by a flooded toilet. No access to room while they tried to fix it but the couple were moved to another room for the final night. The room was smaller and still no fridge.

    The beds were comfortable and location was brilliant. The bathroom was clean and enough space for toiletries. Shower was hot with good pressure. Washing machines and dryers were such a well appreciated bonus. Club quarter facilities were great also. We enjoyed the wine hour too. Great wifi. The hotel was clean and welcoming and staff friendly if not always helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.1
    Great location. Room was meh...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a place to sleep. There was no fridge or ice bucket in the room. The window was blacked out so we couldn’t see outside. There were two positives - the filtered water on our floor and the elevator was quick. I wouldn’t stay there again. In fact, I wanted to turn around and leave the second I saw our room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Basic but comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Website says there is parking nearby for $56 but doesn't say where the garage is located. We had a hard time finding an overnight parking lot that was open at 7:30 pm.

    The bed was very comfortable. It was a no frills room. Small but comfortable. Very clean. Pretty linens. Nice toiletries.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    The location, staff, kitchenette, cleanliness, wifi, free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Room Suite with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The first room that was given to us had a blocked sink and broken toilet door. When we mentioned this to the reception, they immediately gave us another room which was perfect.

    The location, staff, kitchenette, cleanliness, wifi, free wine at happy hour, free laundry room. It was a great hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.7
    Cute, but not providing information
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wasn't informed about amenities until I ask specifically about them. Location is good, however, it seems that Chicago has very big issue with homeless and drunk people. Going out after sunset requires some serious courage.

    Business centre is great. However I haven't known about 2nd floor lobby area with coffee and snack until the last day. No one told me about it and I think receptionist should.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    Convenient and good deal for the money!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small gym, not getting my recipe on my email immediately, Bad view from the room

    Staff was nice and kind, Amenities are good, I liked that I can wash and dry my laundry and location is very good. Building itself has nice interior, just toilets are miniature

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    A nice 'no frills' hotel with nice staff, good food, and a great view (if your room is high up)!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perhaps a slightly less expensive valet service. Perhaps they had a porter to help with bags, but I didn't see one.

    The old style of the building coupled with the free wifi was nice. I only ordered a deep dish pizza from the hotel, but it was excellent, and delivered to the room. The room I was issued was nice and clean, but I wasn't happy with the long skinny dimensions as well as a not-too-great view. Thankfully the staff was more than happy to upgrade us to the 40th floor which had a wonderful view of the city and was a considerably nicer room! Free wine at 5 in the lobby, and friendly housekeepers as well. Overall, a 9.6 rating is just right.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.0
    Brilliant location, big space for family to stay, amazing pizza attached
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Suite with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was no safe in the room (that we could find) which was surprising

    The hotel were helpful pre booking to clarify which room type would be best, the room was great, the bathrooms more than adequate, the space was great for us as a family, not sure it would suit two couples as no doors separating the spaces (apart from bathrooms) The location was incredible, right opposite Trump tower and perfect for walking to almost everywhere we needed. The building is very narrow and tall so understandable that there was very little natural light, but we were really only there for sleeping so wasn't an issue. the lift isn’t not the quickest. The refreshments on second floor were handy, not the biggest choice, but coffee and fruit available, wasn't told about this on check in so didn’t discover it for a few days. LOVED the water bottles and filling station by the lift - brilliant idea for the hot weather and the amount of walking we did!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    4.6
    i guess you get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is outdated or in need of repairs possibly both. The internet is super slow makes connecting to watch apps on the TV very hard. The AC in our room was broken so they moved us and then that room was just as bad. The AC never went below 72 which made for uncomfortable nights. The rooms are not river facing at all do not let the pictures fool you. The elevators are super slow, so plan ahead. The parking was not great takes 20 min to get your car

    the free coffee was nice on the 2ed floor

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    4.6
    Why does this hotel have such a good score?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny and so was the bed. Inversely proportional to the price of the room which was very high. Easily the worst value ever in our experience. The paint was bubbling up on the walls and the pervading smell of damp was masked with air freshener when we alerted the front desk to the problem. The lifts are few, slow and inadequate for the number of floors. We were on 37 so if you called the lift then went and had a shower you didn't have to wait too long for it to show up.

    Not much. Location ok but not so great as to make up for the numerous shortcomings.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff is amazing: helpful and very friendly. The hotel is in an excellent location, close to many of the Chicago attractions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location, staff was nice, just wouldn’t stay in the room we had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the 36th floor. Only a few rooms on that floor and ours was so tiny. The view was nice but I am there to sleep and get cleaned up. The little furniture that was in it was old and scratched up. The bed was comfortable just so close to the walls because of the room size. Wouldn’t stay up in the tower part of the hotel.

    Location was good. One out of three rooms was available for early check in, which was nice. Was going to a Cub game so we were able to put the luggage in one room until we returned. Both my siblings had nice rooms and were on the lower floors.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, winning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful views of the river from our room and just a short stroll from the shops on the Magnificent Mile. The free laundry room was a great addition for those of us who had been travelling for a few weeks!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Great location many complementary snacks and drinks
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room No fridge

    Location next to river. Close to all main attractions Snacks, wine and soda, water bottles , coffee and tea are complementary . No need to go to the supermarket. Strong wi-fi Meeting rooms to work

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Amazing view and very quiet and well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No breakfast (although I did know this when booking)

    I requested a quiet room with a river view and that was exactly what I received. All the staff were very professional and friendly. Snacks provided were very welcome. The room was adequately sized and had all the necessary amenities (coffee maker and hairdryer). Great location for exploring the fantastic city of Chicago!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.0
    The location of the hotel is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too expensive for one night and I expected a bigger room with more facilities and a nicer view from the room. The bathroom was just ok. Moreover, we had to pay 20 bucks for early check-in.

    The location of the hotel is great. It is in the heart of Chicago downtown.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is in the centre ofthe city, and has a normal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very helpful staff, no fridge in the room, small room, dark with no window,

    The hotel is in the centre ofthe city, and has a normal price...no more advantages...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.6
    Little gem in chicago
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Suite with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No safe in room however, facilities available via reception

    Location, spacious room with 2 bathrooms. 3 tvs and seating area. Kitchen facilities and 2 great restaurants literally next door

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice location!! & Kind staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanness, Bathroom shower water pressure

    Club Quarters hotel and the River hotel in the same building, at different floors (The River up to 10th floor, CQ from 11th floor). Very nice and kind staffs

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel. Great location great staff. Enjoyed the gym and free laundry facilities for guests. Fantastic guest station on second floor with free tea, coffee, fruit cereal bars in the morning and soft drinks and MnMs in the evening. Also great free wine in the lobby at 5pm!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are smaller than expected. With little view windows, however you are still within range of everything and have access to great restaurants

    Location is unbeatable for the value of the rooms. Walking distance to everything from restaurants, the river the park and even nightlife.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    We had a great time and were able to walk to everything we wanted to see downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The ice machine in the basement is annoying to get to, since only one of the elevators goes down to it. Pro tip: there's an ice machine on the 9th floor as well which is easier to access.

    The location is incredible. Coffee and snacks available at any time. The tower at the top is interesting, you should definitely take the elevator up and check it out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Well situated hotel in the heart of Chicago
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon was cooling the corridors too much...making it uncomfortable

    Ideal situation just by the Chicago River, not far from the Navy Pier and the train station. Very quiet place even in the center of the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    A few days in Chicago
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Bedroom Suite with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were a bit hard and there was not enough crockery for 4 people.

    The room was good with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and a small sitting area. The position was excellent. Very close to everything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.3
    Will return to Chicago for a 2nd visit but will research more intently next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for location but found it more expensive than NYC/Times Square by room size comparison For the price I would have expected a fridge in the room & not have to get the elevator down 22 floors for ice

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Loved everything about this hotel its location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about this hotel its location...staff and the beautiful restraunt to the front of it....staff went above and beyond to help and the refreshment area on the 2nd floor was a great asset!!!! They also had free wine from 5 to 6 every evening which my mam loved 😍

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    A wonderful hotel in a central location catering for your every need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the location of the River Hotel across the road from the hop on ,hop off bus. We walked to a number of restaurants especially Irish restaurants.We loved the interior of the hotel ,the lounge where tea ,coffee and snacks were always available.The free laundry was very useful as we had been in U.S.A. For 2 weeks. Bottles for water excellent idea

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful, no complaints!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just the fact of only one chair in the room.

    Location was wonderful, near shopping, restaurants of your choice, public transportation, helpful staff. Do wish there would have been at least two chairs in the room as there was only one desk chair and a bed to sit on. But, we would consider staying again as we have no complaints about anything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    One night stay in Chicago
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit on the small side and it faced the road which was noisy for most of the night of our stay.

    Quick check in and staff were friendly and polite

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Best western river north 👍👍👍👍👍👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff there was awesome they went the extra mile and made sure my stay was perfect this was the best customer service I've ever received keep up the good work

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location + very nice staff and snack bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a small queen room, and the room was very ‘small’ indeed; there’s little room for you to move around.

    The location is superb, and the staff were nice. We also like the afternoon snack bar and wine tasting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for what we wanted. Nice bonus of free wine tasting that evening. Comfy bed and great shower. Easy access to river walk, the lake and theaters. Small but perfect for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location. Very pleasant staff Coffee shop next door quite good. Free wine in the evening!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Free wine available for only one hour in the evening!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Very good checkin experience friendly staff. Upgraded to a suite. Quiet room. Excellent location. Club room with coffee, soft drinks and nibbles available to all day. Free wine between 5pm and 6pm!!!!! Short walk to The Elephant and Castle bar which had good food and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    I could walk easily everywhere I wanted to go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of a thing.

    I could walk easily everywhere I wanted to go. It was so easy to travel to and from the airport on the Blue Line and the hotel was so close to the River tour and Hop on and off bus.. The staff were always friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Loved that the day of checkout we could store our luggage...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The comforter was uncomfortable to sleep with.

    Loved that the day of checkout we could store our luggage securely at the hotel after we had already checked out. Great location and very friendly staff!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Incredible night and view of the skyline at economical price!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of the AC system

    Amazing location, incredible view from the 38th floor. The amenities are comfortable though the room was quite small (due to being the highest floor!)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.5
    For the amount of money I paid to stay at this hotel (it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small. No minibar.

    For the amount of money I paid to stay at this hotel (it was the same weekend as the National Restaurant Show, so rates were much higher), I expected a more attractive space. The best thing about the place was the location--it's close to pretty much everything .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Attentive staff and an amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Or bad needed a new mattress and while they offered to replace it they did not have one in order to do that. Also I think the restaurant has gone downhill since the reviews that I read. It is now independent from the hotel

    Attentive staff and an amazing location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.1
    Good location, easy walking distance to the river...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was slow. The one clerk on duty was more interested in helping a guest out with a phone wi-fi problem than checking guests in.

    Good location, easy walking distance to the river attractions and a couple of blocks from the start of the shopping/theatre district. Close walk to Millennium Park too. Rooms are fine, no complaints. Solid free wi-fi. They don’t mention the complimentary lounge on level 2 which you need to access in the elevator with the room key. It has free breakfast bars, coffee and fruit in the morning and snacks/soda during the day. Stock doesn’t get replenished much and they pack it all away early evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    worth the money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air ventilation was poor, no possibility to open windows and a very bad smell came few times a day from the ventilation. Cleaning services were good but room overall a bit dusty. Wi-fi could be improved

    We got a double room and we were very surprised to see it was actually a suite, with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. We even had 2 dressings which was very pleasant :) Staff was very helpful and even though we had a second booking for a smaller room, we got an free upgrade and were able to keep the suite for the entire stay. Location is also perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Good location hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too warm at night even though cold outside..air conditioning not on when cold outside. Window did open so that helped.

    Quiet hotel very centrally located. Bed was comfortable. Club quarter lounge is cinvenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I didn't like and it was a perfect location

    Perfect location for being in the center of town... Very easy to find and great walking area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent area, beautiful view and wonderful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pedro (the front desk attendant) was THE BEST! We did have a minor problem with our room (the toilet wasn't flushing properly), and when we complained Pedro found us a better room with an even better view and took care of us!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the street. But it's Chicago, huge city.

    Excellent location and view. Comfortable room, there is everything what you need (huge bed). Nice compliments on the second floor and daily wine on the thirst. Friendly staff. Very nice restaurant, everything was so tasty. I can recommend it for visiting Chicago. And I of course I can recommend Chicago. I was a great time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Great memories in Chicago
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture and carpets Bed sheet is not clean, itchy and old

    Quick check in and out Welcoming friendly reception staff Excellent location I like there is a bottle to fill with cold water to drink at any time for free. There is complementary snack and drink in one of the floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel, awesome location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The window in our room was TINY so there was almost no natural light in the room. There were also only two elevators so you were often left waiting for a while.

    Location was fantastic - within walking distance of lots of shops, restaurants, cafes, etc. and close to the subway. Staff were very friendly and helpful and let us check in a few hours early. The room was clean and the shower was awesome. The complimentary coffee/bottled water/snacks were most appreciated as well!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    I’d stay again as long as I could face the river!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was mostly slow and our TV kept freezing.

    We had a great view of the river, it was close to the Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Loved that we had a refrigerator and microwave too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.4
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was not represented well by pictures. Furthermore, the bed was as hard as a rock and the sheets were stiff and scratchy.

    The staff was friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is very well located and the view from my room was...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Had to always wait for the elevators, sometimes for more than 10 minutes. It can be frustrating, especially if you're in a hurry.

    The hotel is very well located and the view from my room was fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.1
    It was good but i have had better value for money in other hotels in Chicago.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I looked out on walls and I could not open the windows because cooking smells from the restaurants would enter.

    The room was good and included a small kitchenette

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.8
    Wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The amount the hotel holded on my credit card was not informed previously. I booked River Hotel and I was assigned to Club Quarters, I don´t know if there is any difference, but I was not informed. Even the location is good, riverfront, my room had a tiny window opening to another building. I had breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel, the greasiest eggs I´ve ever eaten... A hotel to never come back.

    Wifi Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Bedroom Suite with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can definitely tell where they spent less on items in the rooms. So nor plan on using the make up mirrors they offer. Only once were bottles supplied at cold water station in hall and then the water was warm. The woman checking us in was merely adequate. Valet and restaurant was superior service!

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Good location, friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expected kettles to be available. There is a microwave and a coffee machine in the room, but they don't make boiling water for my herbal drinks. Better if housekeeping could provide.

    Good location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.7
    Stay and staff overall were very good. 2nd floor snack experience was poor
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The snack items on 2nd floor were poor at best. Soda was depleted, bananas this morning were border rotten (a soggy mess). If that the best offerings - avoid the criticism and don't offer.

    Stay was ok. Water bottle station was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    This hotel is great value in an excellent location, with super-friendly and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No major dislikes. Just to note that at peak check out times, the lifts can take a long time.

    The location is excellent. It places you right in the heart of the city. The price is great for this location and the staff are super friendly and helpful. They gave us great recommendations for restaurants, for example. The rooms are good and include a big flatscreen tv, an adaptor charger so you can just charge your device via USB. This is very handy when travelling from Europe! The room also comes with a yoga mat! During the week, there is a drinks happy hour in the evening. We went on our first evening and met some interesting people and got some great recommendations from other guests about places to see. Another nice feature is that on the second floor, you can access complimentary tea, coffee, fruit and snacks 27/7.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    Convenient, good price-quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Room and bathroom are quite small for 2, but enough for 1 person.

    Location is very convenient near many touristic places, and train stations. The free coffee and fruit was very welcomed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.9
    Tiny room in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was TINY. Ridiculously tiny. There was about 12" around 2 sides of the bed. If we would have had more than one suitcase, would would have had to step on it to get around. The thermostat didn't work great either. It suited our purpose, however, which was to be downtown for 4 days. I traveled with a 10 yr old who didn't mind close quarters.

    Location location location. We literally walked across the street to watch the river turn green.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Overall - it was just great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Restaurant in the Hotel should be perfect, unfortunately the breakfast was below standard and the coffee hardly drinkable.

    The Club Floor with the Coffe Maker, Lounge etc. was great The Location is simply perfect - I was there on St. Patricks Day, I had perfect view of the river

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about

    Staff were courteous and professional and responsive to our requests. The location was central and convenient. The room was very clean. We enjoyed our stay and wood definitely stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.8
    The room was fairly clean but too small and crowd.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was fairly clean but too small and crowd. I lived in Chicago and booked this hotel b/c of the location. The location was great but there was no viewable window in the room. I could only see a wall which was a kind of depress.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay while you your Chicago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a bit small, but we didn't stay in much anyway.

    Pillows were great, free wine during the week, friendly down to earth staff, breakfast bar in the mornings, location was on point.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    The staff was super accommodating, they let us check in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was super accommodating, they let us check in early and were always attentive. We got a bit lost before arrival and they provided directions. Check in was a breeze. Our room was extremely clean, comfortable and had a great view to the river. Location was great, in the middle of everything and the price was amazing considering the quality of the property, I would have gladly payed more. Exceeded expectations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    5.0
    I liked that we had a place to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge, just a small mini fridge in the room. Mattresses need to be updated. Cleaning service: we had 3 towels so we obviously asked for an extra... so leave us an extra... Overall just missing some good old fashioned above and beyond service... service was not noticeable which is a problem. It should stand out.

    I liked that we had a place to sleep... and that The hotel was in Chicago. That’s about it, likeness wise, concerning the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Everything was beyond expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints. The service was wonderful.

    Staff, comfort, location. Coffee, fruit, snacks, wine tasting when available. Restaurant with excellent food and service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.9
    Peace and quiet!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weird to have to pay for a late check out. I only needed an hour. Also, the small restaurant attached to the hotel closed earlier than specified on the interet. The manager was very nonchalant about turning me away too. Not cool!

    Small, quiet hotel in an excellent location. Hotel staff was professional and courteous.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Thought the room was going to be smaller but it was a nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having only two elevators for the 40 levels of rooms... Had to take the stairs with all of our luggage because we waited for the elevator for twenty minutes. There wasn’t a mini fridge or anywhere to get ice to keep drinks cold.

    Thought the room was going to be smaller but it was a nice size for the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room did not have a minibar /fridge. The hotel charged a deposit at arrival.

    Excellent location, nice lobby. Hotel does not serve breakfast, but has a room at second floor where free coffee and fresh fruit are available. Also, there is a nice Italian restaurant next-door.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Great staff, awesome location, would definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from our room could have been nicer, but didn't bother us too much as we just stepped outside and saw the view for ourselves.

    The staff at this hotel were nothing but AMAZING! Seth at the check in counter was fantastic! They were so helpful and welcoming and checked us in earlier than we expected. The room we had was small but met our needs perfectly. The location was fantastic! Close to Michigan Ave and Millennium Park. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Chicago! Thanks River Hotel for making our stay wonderful!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay by the river. Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi isn't that great.

    The hotel is in a fabulous location. We had a room on the 9th floor overlooking the river. We initially booked for 2 nights and ended up extending for an extra 3 nights. The hotel room was comfortable and we always had a great nights sleep. The facilities on the 2nd floor and lobby are great-grandmother snacks, beverages, business center and laundry. Lovely stay and great value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    5.8
    Room key didn’t work after check in, and I had to return to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room key didn’t work after check in, and I had to return to front desk for a new one. Room was 55 degrees - took three hours for the room become comfortable. WiFi was lousy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.8
    super convenient and comfy with a friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    when I called for walking directions (twice) I was not given the easiest and most direct route, witch I later discovered on my own.

    nice efficient room with comfy bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    6.3
    Location and price are the only reasons to stay here.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cons: Mattress way too soft (backache every morning), every seating surface in the room was badly stained, as was the carpet, difficult to control heat/ac, no enforcement of non-smoking policy. I appreciate the option to not have bed linens/towels changed daily as this is wasteful... however, a dirty drinking glass should be replaced by a clean one as part of the daily servicing of the room.

    Pros: Fantastic location, great rate, quiet at night, friendly staff, excellent pillows, very good restaurant in the lobby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    Would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would say if you are booking a room for 2 people, the sofa bed might not be the most comfortable option for everybody, but the room and amenities were great value for money!

    This property is situated in a superb location, with a perfect view overlooking the lake and several bridges directly opposite the famous Trump Tower building and a 5 minutes walk from the Magnificent Mile! The room was spacious enough for two people and clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the customer experience was a pleasure from arrival to departure.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse River Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: