Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Clay Hotel 3 stars

1438 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139, USA

#183 of 390 hotels in Miami Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2509 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room did not bring bottles of drinking water. Sometimes there was not enough towels in the room. Beach towels are very small. Do not rub the table in the room.

    Excellent location. But it's clean. The bed is comfortable. Staff super.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is great and it's totally Latin, so I loved it even more. I really liked the staff, everyone was friendly and helpful and polite. It's also extremely well located for those who go to the beach and they have a special place (Esteban´s place), just a couple of blocks away, where the guests can get free deckchair and sunshade. And everyone speaks both Spanish and English. Not to mention great free wi-fi and a lot of nice restaurants and bars around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Full Size Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator there is no parking had to pay an extra $100 to park building is very old had a mold smell had to keep asking for towels not a hotel for kids rooms are very very small and the bathroom as well.

    Was not far from the beach and the hotel gives you a section on the beach for you to enjoy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures were deceiving. The room was super small ! There's no elevator so you have to carry your luggage up the stairs. There wsswas so many bugs in my room .

    Location was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Full Size Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If anything would be the cost of parking.

    As both my family, and I have stayed twice at the Hotel we were both very surprised that they have kept the same look of the Clay Hotel from years previous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    What does it mean breakfast included?? We were looking for hotel with breakfast included, cause we dont want to spend our time searching for something to eat at the mornings. We wanna exploring city and not exploring breakfast places- it cost us not even money but TIME!Not talking about getting wet cause there was raining at the mornings. We were very disapointed when we got ticket for breakfast in restaurant near hotel which we have to BUY fo 8,50 not included tax!! And guess what- that shoud be especially for CLAY hotels visitors but it was much as breakfast like in prison. Toast bread with butter, juice, cofee and disgusting white jogurt with lumps. Im sorry but this is not a breakfast cost 8,50 when you will pay about 12 dolars cause you are also paying servis and taxs! When you should have it in price you paid for hotel. Next time please write it to descriptions at the first place so we can choose another hotel with really breakfast included.

    nice rooms, very helpfull hotels stuff. good locations near beach and camp-bed on the beach- very good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - the hotel is pretty old and the carpet in our room looked disgusting - we also had a dead cockroach in our room on the last day - staff mostly speaks spanish and their english is not the best however don't forget you get what you pay for - don't expect a luxury hotel for the price!

    - great Location not far from the beach (located on famous "espanola way") - lots of small shops and supermarkets around, for those who dont want to spend 40$ p.p. (?!!) for spaghetti bolognese in the various beachrestaurants. - fair prices for the rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Two Full Size Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the rooms could be a little bit more clean but it is ok.

    being safe is very important for me. The Clay hotel provides this secure very well I feel like at home. many thanks

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was perfect, don't have any complaints.

    We spent six nights at the Clay Hotel and could not have been any happier with our experience. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and cute and the location could not have been any better. It is a few minutes walk to the beach, there are a lot of stores and restaurants nearby, buses going to Downtown and the airport and the location is very beautiful. Espanola Way is especially gorgeous at night with its fairylights and a lively atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music from the bar downstairs was so loud the floor vibrated

    Distance to beach and Ocean Drive, staff were very friendly and helpful, free beach chairs and umbrellas

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware of choosing non by the street rooms since there's too much croud and music coming from the street.

    Nearby South Beach attractions. Can stay here as o everything by walking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only complaints that i had was valet was a little high at $32 a night. They brought ur car very fast though. We found a $16/night parking garage just two blocks away the first two nights. And the bed def needs softer pillows and a bit softer mattress but was a decent night sleep, but overall for the location right across from the beach was amazing. Definitely worth the stay though!! Oh and the good channels on the tv were very fuzzy 😢

    The location was perfect and the staff was very nice. I think we got one of the remodeled rooms which was very nice and very clean although they r pretty small. The restaurants right outside were very tasty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is currently being renovated and while many of the rooms are new, the hallways and some of the rooms smell of paint and other unidentifiable chemical smells. I would have appreciated a heads up from the hotel.

    The location is great - right on Espanola Way with many restaurants and bars to choose from right outside of your door. That being said, the noise carries and Espanola Way-facing rooms are at a disadvantage for this reason.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place smells from the moment you step in the lobby. Room was dirty, with clumps of hair on the bathroom floor, nuts (!!!) on the floor next to the bed and stained bedsheets. We have stayed in many hotels, never in such a gross one. Our floor was also under renovation which resulted in visible mess, like dust and paint smell etc on the corridor. They offer towels to use on the beach, but beware they are the size of a tea towel - no joke! Sad that this is what 250 USD gets you. I would recommend avoiding it, unless you are desperate for a place near the beach for a short stay ( which is what we needed before we moved onto our next hotel for the week).

    It’s well located if you are looking to be close to the beach and shopping areas. The bathroom has Bath & Body Works toiletries.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Full Size Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in terrible condition!!! Rooms are small, smelly from all the moist and bad ventilation, ventilation - very loud, windows - not possible to open, WC door - unable to close - swelled from all the moist. There were different types of hair in the bed and on the bathroom door that also was dirty. It was absolutely filthy there. To get to the rooms you have to struggle narrow stairs 2 floors up. The area is very noisy and busy, facing Esperanto Way. But even if you prefer to live in the middle of the party I would not recommend this hotel. It really IS HORRIBLE!

    Personell. We checked out faster than we checked in and we got our money back as the room was under any criticism...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not cleaned properly day after day. The room window didn't have blackout.

    Excellent location, the receptionist Joel was very nice and helpfull. The chairs, towels and umbrella free of charge was very nice. Water and coffee was also free. Quiet room on the third floor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The straff was not service minded at all! In the evening the streets restaurants play super loud music, make sure to get a room in the building far away from espanola road if you want to stay at the hotel. The only positive was the location.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lamp in room, only 2 bare bulbs in ceiling fixture, one burned out. Furniture was old and beat up, no closet, no elevator. Short double bed, no headboard. Boarded up ground floor. Resort fee (wifi, water, towels and beach access) seems high for what you get. Free "grab and go" breakfast was a cup of coffee in the lobby.

    Location, quiet. They are remodelling building 3. Bathroom redone.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture very old

    Location is excellent. Right on Espaniola way. But after staying in a motel for 3 days in Fort Lauderdale , I could tell you Iwas initially terrified of the idea of staying in this hotel for 6 days. Only when we changed room for a two queen beds in it I told myself that it could be worse. After all it was ok. Don’t expect 4 star comfort and facilities. Everything is basic and dated. To be honest was happy to leave. The good thing about the place is that you ll get 25% discount for restaurants nearby and free access to sun beds and umbressla on the beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the fact that this hotel is Extremely over priced and the rooms aren’t worth damn near $700.00 for 4 nights. Not pleased with my experience here at all.

    Honestly the best part about this hotel was the location. Definitely will not stay here again! NO hot water in the shower, when I reported it to the concierge I was simply told to “Let the water run longer,” which didn’t change a thing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small and the part of the building we were in at the end of Hispanola Way needs updating and the rooms were outdated. There was also a bad smell in the hallway.

    The location was great and the room was fine for one night. I would have chosen a different place for more than one night. The price was low and that is the reason why we picked this hotel. We had a room at the end of Hispanola Way and it was quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very unfriendly, they first put us in a room located above a resturante that truns into a nightclub at midnight, we woke up and it felt like you were sleeping in the nightclub. We were eventully moved to another room which was better. The interior is very old and the furniture is torn and they would really need to replace much of it. You pay 19 dollars per night for something you don't need and they don't ask if you would want the complimentary service, they just charge you 19 dollars a night which is a complete waste of money.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was being refreshed so some work in the corridor. The breakfast was supposed to be across the street from 8am but nothing was ready at 8.10am, they told me to come back later.

    Very well situated to visit Miami Beach

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Full Size Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is under construction and it is old, so it is not that clean, but they are working on it, so it is OK with me. Rooms are tiny, but doable. No elevators. It is a bit hard to find and my room was in another building 200 feet away from the office, and you'll have to lug your bags up a lot of stairs. Hallways are dimly lit. Wifi not strong.

    Location was awesome, on a quaint Spanish street with no cars on it. Felt like we were in another country. Lots of restaurants and bars downstairs within walking distance. Very lively at night on the street, pretty lights and great people watching. Can be noisy, but it did not bother us. Only two blocks from the beach, central to everything! The free umbrella and lounges are a great bonus! Free water, free beach towels and friendly staff. I would stay here again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell in the rooms and hallways was unbearable. Strong smell of mold. The room itself is not really worth the money but I think miami is expensive in general . Some members of the staff were really helpful such as Zoe’s I think and the girl with the natural black hair that had the morning shift.

    The area .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maid service was horrific. They did the barest minimum. You need to ask for extra towels, toilet paper, body wash, tissues, cups, etc. Just so you have sufficient. The music from the restaurant below is loud and goes through the paper thin walls. Goes well up till 1 am. Always a wait at the front desk even if there is no line.

    Book this location for the location. In the heart of everything. The shops, restaurants, the beach, everything u could want.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was really small, poor and old. Nothing like the pictures. Bathroom was dirty when we got there. They once just didn’t clean our room for an entire day and forgot to replace our towels on another day. Very poor service and we expected more!

    The location on Espanola way and the discounts at the restaurants

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reserved a king size bed, ended up with a full size bed. I had 2 children which would have easily slept 3. Room was small. No place in shower to place your personal hygiene products. Had to drag my heavy suitcase up 2 flights of stairs.

    The location. Just blocks away from the beach

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know they are still renovating but probably I missed a surface (like a table or a chair) where to put more things than a bedside table. Same for the bathroom it was a bit tricky to hang wet towels cause there was just 1 hook. But these are very small things.

    The bed was very comfortable and The room recently updated. I liked the possibility to have the free coffee pods and machine. The staff (in particular Luis) that welcomed us was very friendly and helpful. I loved the area also. Is on one of the Main Street in south beach and Espanola way is full of very nice spots where to eat and drink. Very close to the beach as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Full Size Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud music at night...🤫

    I love that fact that this hotel was 2 blocks from the beach and included chairs and towels in the price of the stay!! Does get a little loud at night since the alley in between is Espanola Way/Lane so lots of live music, and people if your a person looking for relaxation. The hotel ambiance is great though! Little coffee shop in alley is awesome-desserts and any kind of coffee/expression you want!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lazy lady receptionist. The cold showers. The smell in room and corridor. The buzzing electrical loud repeating sound in room 157. I also made the reservation more than 6 months prior to visit and still we couldn’t get a room big enough (beds for 4).

    The restaurant is good. Joel at the reception tried his best and thanks for that.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Full Size Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel and furniture are old. It’s worth 2 star. Rooms are small and smile stinky. I had an issue and I tried to speak with the manager but he always not there.

    Perfect location and restaurants. Mr. louis in front disk was so helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We booked a deluxe room. However, an old stinky room was booked for us, which is entirely different than what is shown in the pictures. The room was not clean at all and damp smell was felt both in the room and the hallway.

    Location is quite central. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Full Size Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little tight. And the stairs up to the room were difficult with luggage.

    Location for restaurants was perfect. Shower was great water pressure.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -No elevator

    Location. Location. Location. And the 2 restaurants were everything. Only thing missing is an elevator. Other than that, I will be staying again definitely!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't care for the resort fee. We only stayed one night and didn't get in in time to use beach chairs.

    The location is great. Close to the beach and the Art Deco buildings on Ocean drive. I love the atmosphere of Espalande. I like the food at Oh Mexico and breakfast at Havana 1957. Both offer 15% off with room key.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    charged $32.00 for "Valet" parking only to have to drive to drop it off, walk to pick it up as they would not bring it to the front for luggage loading and the car was not available to us between midnight and 7 in the morning. rip off

    location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole facility needs to be renovated,including the stuff..By the time we arrived at the facility after a 13 hour flight,we were actually been held at the lobby for 2 hours because the policy of the hotel is to pay the whole amount of your stay in advance..our credit cards were not accepted(all the other machines in town accepted our cards)so we ve been forced to make a withdrawal from the atm and charged 10$ each for that,but thats not the problem.The problem is that i never saw again in my travelling life a hotel that ask his customer after a long trip to pay in advance the whole amount and if there is a problem that they will leave him like a dead tired hostage.Thats not hospitality gentlemen..There is no elevator,the key card didnt work so we went again at the lobby,a guy came with us,took our ket cards,he said i ll be right back,but he never showed up.so we went back again at the lobby,the same guy came again with us,with new cards this time,he opened the door,and suprise..the air-conditioning didnt work,phone was dead..so we went again at the lobby,complaining this time..they gave us another room,and this time the air-conditioning was working but it sounded like a Black Metal band rehersal.Our whole experience with this MOTEL was terrible,i cant even describe it as a hotel..its a rip-off..

    The location was good,but thats it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in a fun street with lots of restaurants and bars. Nice room. Good value. Breakfast is offered at a restaurant opposite for $8.50. Valet parking is at the back of the hotel. $34 overnight until 11am. Beach chairs are offered (free) on the beach just remember to get a beach towel from reception before you head off.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Décor but then they will be working on that.

    Very convenient to Lincoln Road and beach. Liked the fact that you got a free sun lounger on beach arranged by the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking fee.

    It was a good place and pleasant stay. A little over price but good. The only thing that I was thrown was the parking fee but other then that good. The hotel is in the center of everything within walking distance. And plenty of choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The steep stairs leading up to our room. But it's a historic building so there is nothing that can be done about that.

    My husband and I were traveling from Amarillo Texas to Miami Florida for a Thanksgiving Carnival cruise. When selecting the hotel room for our stay the night before the cruise I wanted something unique to Miami and "not a chain hotel." After seeing The Clay Hotel on here I was intrigued by the pink stucco and culture of the area. I am so glad we chose to stay here! We were in room 301. The view from the balcony was incredible. Our room was over a restaurant that was playing loud music late into the night. That did not bother us one bit but for travelers that like some piece and quiet I would recommend specifying that you do not want to be near the bustle of the street. Would highly recommend (and actually already have!) to friends that this is a great place to stay!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator; Valet parking is nice to have, but they could also mention that 200m from the Hotel there is also public parking available, maybe more convenient then valet for longer staying; We were both days waken up at 9AM: our room was facing the roof, on the first day we were waken up by some workers with leaf blower, and the second day by some workers putting silicone rubber on our very window! It is not nice to to this with people inside. Small room.

    Perfect position, in the middle of Art Deco district; Nice bathroom; Room was lately renewed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    even though it wasn't our case, if you are travelling with heavy luggage, having to use stairs is not very convenient, but considering it's only two floors, it wasn't too bad either.

    the staff was always accommodating on everything we needed. The room was super clean and enough for what we needed. Having umbrellas and chairs on the beach included with the room, which we were not aware when we did the reservation was definitely a plus.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the smell in the room..

    The bed, it was very comfortable. The hotel is in the center of everything. Nice restaurants right over. The beach is close, only 5-10 minutes away.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - We booked and paid for a queen room but on our first night were given an incredibly dingy room that was not even part of the main hotel, about a block away. The room was missing the most basic amenities like a bin for the room and curtains for the bathroom that faced the street and rooms of other buildings. The corridoor absolutely reeked of cigarette smoke to the point where we held our breath walking down and had to put a towel under the door as the odour was too overpowering to sleep at night. The area was incredibly loud until about 4am in the morning and felt quite unsafe as there was no staff in that building. We asked to move as soon as we saw the room and were told we couldn't move until the next day as the hotel was fully booked. The second room did have a queen bed but the corridors still had a foul smell albeit not as bad as the other building. - no elevators which was even more annoying since we moved rooms and had to drag our luggage from one building to another and up and down several stairs - staff weren't even remotely apologetic about the first room and didn't acknowledge we were given a double room when we had paid for a queen. - nowhere near a three star hotel, first room was like a one star motel and main building was maybe two stars if that - Terrible value for money given the condition of the place

    Location was good but that was the only positive

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I went to Havana 1957 which was one of the on site restaurants and I got my finger cut on a glass shard. Not a pleasant experience.

    Beds and room were fine, parking was a little difficult. The price for the hotel valet parking was pretty expensive. I did use the 15% off one of the on site restaurants which was nice. And they give you free water which was also nice considering nothing is free in south beach.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THIS PLACE SMELLS OF MOLD EN MILDEW, THERE IS SOMETHING SERIOUSLY WRONG WITH THE VENTILATION AND IT MAKES IT VERY DIFFICULT TO BREATH IN ANYTHING OTHER THEN THIS MOLDY SCENT. UPON ENTERING YOU SMELL IT RIGHT AWAY I LOOKED TO SEE IF MAYBE THE CEILINGS HAD MOLDY SPOTS BUT THERE LOOKED TO BE A FRESH LAYER OF PAINT ON IT. ALSO IF YOU ARE PRONE TO MIGRAINES AND SUCH THIS IS NOT THE HOTEL FOR YOU AS THE SCENT IS STRONG AND WILL MAKE YOU ILL. THIS PLACE CHARGES A RESORT VIEW FOR YOU TO ENJOY THE AMENITIES AT THE BEACH, BUT IN REALITY EVEN IF YOU DO NOT FREQUENT THE BEACH YOU HAVE TO PAY IT AND NO AMOUNT OF WATERBOTTLES COULD MAKE UP FOR THIS FEE ADDED TO YOUR TAB.

    THE ONLY THING GOOD ABOUT THIS HOTEL IS THE LOCATION. IT IS NEAR EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO SEE IN MIAMI BEACH AND SOUTH BEACH IS WALKING DISTANCE.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. I really like the Hotel, the staff and its location

    It is very close to a lot of nice restaurants but more importantly it is close to the Beach, Shopping area and the pick-up spot for our Hop-on-Hop-off Tour Bus. It is walking distance to everything. Plus the Hotel agents are very helpful in giving tour/shop/food recommendations.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roach that crawled on my leg while I was waiting for security to bring me a key. My room key never worked so had to get escorted every time entering my room.

    I liked the price and how close it was to all the restaurants and the beach. Free cold waters and amazing staff!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    :D

    The hotel is on Espanola way, which is one of the most animated places around. A lot of restaurants (very good ones) and places where you can have a drink. The room was very clean and nice. We had sunbeds included in the price of the booking (this was a nice surprise), also towels for going to the seaside are included.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They are restoring this great historic hotel and I fell in love with it. Spanish and artistic and just lovely!

    WE LOVE this little place! Our room had a view of Espanola Way and the front desk day manager was soooo nice to us! He took our luggage and gave us cold water and 2 towels with a little map so we could hit the beach until our room was ready. Customer Service was EXCELLENT!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our rooms were in a block next to the main hotel accessed by a set of very narrow and steep stairs. Made moving our suitcases challenging.

    Two blocks from South Beach with free lounger and umbrella. Surrounded by restuarants and night life.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I got very negative experience with their staff and client service. I stayed a weekend in The Clay Hotel and after reaching back to home I found that I was left some of my belongings into hotel room – 3 pairs of cuff buttons and one bartender set. All were brand new and in package. I called immediately to hotel and ask about my forgotten items. They took my number and promised to call back within 15 min, but nobody called. Same evening I sent written message to them with all my contacts. Still no response. Two days after I sent them e-mail about my worry and asked the feedback once again. Still no reply (one week later). At least the answer that they didn't found my stuff would have been response. But this kind of client service can not be acceptable, so for your pleasant stay I recommend to avoid The Clay Hotel and look another ones, there are many of nice hotels nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guys at the reception were not that nice. They were acting a bit weird, like superior in some ways. The hotel is situated on Espanola Way, so until untill maybe 1AM there is loud music outside and people talking because there are many restaurants. So if you wanna come here to wind and relax, maybe that's not the place for you or you should buy some ear plugs like I did.

    The housekeepers were nice. The hotel is situated exactly in the center of Miami Beach which is great because everything fun is at walking distance. We had microwave in the room which I found to be a nice touch. Also we had 2 small balconies on 2 sides of the room because we had a building corner room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No ice machine, we had issues with our AC which the hotel properly addressed.

    The property was very friendly and hospitable. The staff was very friendly and great location. Great value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got several really itchy red spots during our stay, they looked exactly like bed bug bites. Can't be sure though.The hotel apologized but when I asked afterwards are they going to compensate this somehow, I did not get an answer at all.

    Very cute place with a good value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish I could have gotten a room in the first building closer to the front!

    Love this place every time we stay. Perfect location. There is no better environment than Espanola Way!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water, bathroom light kept going out in the replacement room. Not the best looking hotel and could have had a better room to stay in

    The location to the beach was great. They don’t have a problem accommodating any guest with an issue

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is a valet one and it was not well described in the booking page. The breakfast is not included and it is served in another shop.

    The hotel has a partnership with a beach stand and you can benefit a complimentary service with umbrella and seats

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and building smelled like mold and mildew. Like there had been bad water damage.

    No bed bugs. Clean room. Balcony view. Good location. Staff was accommodating and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Theres a restaurant underneath the rooms. We could feel the floor shaking from the loud music. This kept us up until 2AM. Also there were quite a lot of cockroaches in the bathroom.

    The room was clean. The bathroom were like new. Nice lighting in the room as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold shower (I let the front desk know), mustiness in the hallways and room, and that the desk attendant recommended we could save money by not using the $32 valet. He was correct, but as off-site turned out to be $25 it wasn’t worth the walk.

    The look of the hotel, very European in feel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No dislikes!

    The room was very comfy with blackout drapes. The bathroom is fully remodeled and has shampoo and conditioner which is very nice, not a cheap product. Our room overlooked Espanola Way. The room also had a microwave, small coffee pot with supplies, small frig, iron and ironing board and a safe. We have previously stayed at The Clay and looked forwarded to returning. We stay prior to cruising. The staff is extremely friendly and even called taxi service for us the next day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Friendly staff, very generous with water and towels to enjoy the beach nearby with sun-loungers and umbrellas included with the cost of the room! There is a fridge and coffee machine in the room I found very useful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 1st room smelled really bad like smelly carpet, so we moved 2 a room with no carpet and no bathroom shade. We informed the front desk who assured us it would be corrected when we got back from dinner which it wasn't. So I spoke with the front desk again who sent up maintenance, the guy tells me the room across can't see in, so we went 2 the room and checked 2 see my husband waving at us from our bathroom. The hotels solution was 2 put a boogie board up at the window. We checked out the next day, & went 2 a real hotel. U GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!!!!

    The bed was comfortable, and the room was clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much to list here! The only thing that I was missing in my room was an ironing board and I called down to ask about one and they brought it to me. The place is perfect!

    The staff was absolutely amazing! They always remembered my name and made everything perfect for me! They even allowed me to store my luggage and gave me a late checkout. The location is beyond perfect too! It's right on a very lively street with lots of bars/restaurants and only two blocks from the beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Weird smell in the corridors, not very disturbing but still - I could really not smell it in the room or maybe I just got used to it by the time I reached my room Room view - some to the street and some to the wall Can be noisy due to the location

    Location, location, location - prime location for Miami Beach, ~3-5 minutes to the beach, clubs and restaurants nearby Ironing board in the room, fridge and coffee/tea facilities (only in 'older', not renovated rooms) Bed is comfortable and the room is clean FREE beach towels and sunbeds at a nearby beach Wifi was working quite well

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing only the keys stopped working so had to keep getting new keys from reception. The staff were fast and responsive which was superb. Beyond excellent customer service :)

    Staff were extremely friendly and courteous. They would go the extra mile for customer service and make you feel welcome and satisfied. Always listen and respond to the request. Loved the free bottle of water and the location was absolutely perfect !!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel had no curtains and the window blinds didn't close properly also had no hot water very disappointed that Booking.com would recommend this hotel I've been a loyal customer for years and will look at other sites in future

    nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel charged the resort fee twice and not responded to the email sent regarding this issue after we left. Would't recomment this place if you want your money to be safe.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing....

    Location awesome. ....Very near to beach....Very safe....everything near by....love this hotel and place ....Definitely will come again. ...Best value price....Worth it......

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were given is very deceiving to the pictures that booking.com has on display. The hotel is under some reservation which didn't affect us at all but the room was like a shoe box and we had a small child. The wardrobe was a small rail that can hold about 5 items. There is no space to walk around in the room. The air con was so noisy too which would wake you up quite early. One particular staff member on reception was really rude to guests, aggressive and unhelpful. When it got to us he apologied and said he was tired and hungry. Even so this is no way to treat guests. We were unfortunately there when we were mandatory evacuated due to hurricane Irma, we were given a list of shelters and told to just go. We obviously did for our safety but no real help from the staff when we were guests spending a lot of money with them. Hopefully the hotel remains safe through out the hurricane and all the staff are safe.

    Fantastic location, espanola way right outside has brilliant restaurants and a great atmosphere. You get 15% off at the restaurants as a guest and you also get 2 free sunbeds and brolly at a specific beach spot on south beach each day which is a saving of $45 per day! The rooms were cleaned daily and the hotel felt secure and safe.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like how the bed was not made when I got there I didn't like how the walls were so thin that you can hear everything going on on the other side I don't like paying for a chair on the beach and going to the beach to find out that they can't find my name because the hotel didn't register the staff was not helpful it was just the worst experience

    I like the location and that's it

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not like the smell of cigar smoke that permeated in the hallways. Everywhere you turned, although hotel claimed they were non-smoking, smelled like smoke. I did not like the standard bedroom. It was the size of a jail cell. Very uncomfortable. Some rooms are updated, others aren't. Security walks you around as well - makes you feel as if the property is dangerous. No help with bags. No perks except free towels. Showers and bathrooms made weird noises. A/C units had issues. Building we were in was "under maintenance" - some rooms were updated, others weren't. Trash in the hallways. Loud at all times. Unpleasant experience for the $. You get what you pay for, but during peak season, they shouldn't be charging so much for what they have to offer. Also, most if not all restaurants tack on an automatic 18% gratuity. Not much of a deal.

    I liked that when we were not comfortable in our room that they moved us to another one the next morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Clay Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: