Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Colonnade Hotel 4 stars

120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116, USA

#28 of 81 hotels in Boston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1539 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.6
    Very happy with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Pool was closed even though it was still warm outside. Very expensive breakfast at on site restaurant.

    Friendly staff! Great location! Walking distance to many touristy sites and also right in front of subway station. Excellent neighbourhood with supreme restaurant choices. Fast free wifi. Clean and comfortable and spacious.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Excellent Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comment as we liked everything about this Hotel

    Large rooms, tea and coffee machines, tv, massive windows, trolley bus stops outside hotel. Jo Brasserie located within the hotel. Plus convenient location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.7
    location is good opposite of the Prudential shopping mall...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    noisy room on top floor. Probably the booking.com room.. I have seen before that hotels do not offer the best rooms for booking.com customers. This one was located at the far corner at the top floor. Very noisy air conditioning and when switched off there was a lot of noise from other units (maybe on the roof or something). Furthermore it was relatively small and outdated. It should be a superior room, but didn't look so. The hotel has very nice rooms, because I have been in such earlier. But this wasn't one of those. Although the price was even higher this time.

    location is good opposite of the Prudential shopping mall with many restaurants in the surrounding area. Gym, although this could be bigger. But all in all enough equipment.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxe Room King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was over 80 degrees both days we were there but the swimming pool was closed for the season despite it being only mid September! This was one of the main reasons we chose this hotel so wouldn’t have booked had we known this.

    Good location and friendly reception staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to know at booking that the rooftop pool and bar was closed for the season. Main reason I chose that hotel besides location. Room needed a second trash can too.

    The location was great. Walked to Fenway and many restaurants nearby. Shopping a plenty. Room was good. Had an issue with noisy ac unit and fixed right away.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Good location, comfortable room, but need to look into staff quality control & handling of complain.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checked into a room with faulty air-conditioning unit, request to fix the air-cond unit or change to another room was handled by an unprofessional front desk assistant manager. Complain further made to the hotel via email was not responded as well. Case was reported to booking.com who helped to channel the complains successfully. Disappointed with the way Colonnade handle the guest's issues.

    Great location, clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.7
    5 star rating with 3 star amenities... Left you feeling a little empty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have not booked this room if we knew the pool facility was closed for the season. Limited amenities on the property. Dining was a limited French type menu. 3 stars at best. You felt for the money there should be more on the premises

    Location was great . Close to everything we needed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Location at prudential station very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Preferred Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The swimming pool looks good from the pictures. However, it is very small. It is actually a big bath full of kids.

    Location at prudential station very convenient. Most place could be reached by walking or subway GREEN-E.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    A hidden gem that you have to stay in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment we set foot on the premises, it was a fantastic experience. Norman greeted us at the door with a huge welcoming smile. Julia checked us in very speedily & efficiently but at the same time, didn’t rush anything and the reception area was buzzing with guests. She told us everything that we needed to know. We returned later on that evening to the reception area and Julia greeted us by first name which was incredible, as if we were regular guests to the hotel. She introduced us to her colleague Tomas who we also met regularly during our stay, he was most polite, helpful. Next day, we decided last minute literally to go to the Vaughan Mills Premium Outlet and between them both they had it all arranged within 3 mins & the best part was that we were on the scheduled bus within 20mins, they even gave us a complimentary take out cup of tea while we waited for the bus to arrive. The service by all staff that we encountered was top class, the care and attention that they gave & personalized to each guest is exceptional and outstanding. It was also lovely to encounter Debbie, a Director in the hotel lobby area mingling with the guests and staff alike - this is what a lot of businesses can learn from - happy staff makes a happy environment to work in and a super positive experience for a stranger like me... they make the place feel like home from home. The photos on the website is exactly what you see and get but the experience is even better. Bed was super comfy and room was spacious. Location - excellent, near everything and the hop on hop off bus stop outside the door, opposite prudential center and outside subway station. The place is so brilliant- I will have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone visiting Boston. Top class place deserves top class marks. On our next visit,we will be staying at the Colonnade Hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, always...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, always available to assist with any matter or question. I stayed for 4 nights and the service until in check-in and check-out both went very smoothly, plus the assistance the staff and manager gave with the packages I sent to the hotel were top notch! The advice the staff gave about getting around was most appreciated and I am thankful to have interacted with such friendly, professional and hospitable employees and management. Thank you!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Very old but comfortable enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - No heater or boiler for your tea - The shower pressure was strong and unbelievably uncomfortable - no sleepers provided - parking is very expensive - we asked for tissues two days in a row and never go it

    Location Staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Will definitely use again location excellent- wonderful shopping mall across the street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing every thing was to a very high standard

    Bed very comfy and room good size - loved the coffee and tea facilities also bottled water left every day. Very clean and staff very friendly would highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel in a really nice area and a good base to explore the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    one little niggle. sockets beside beds were fitted on the lamps and a charger with UK adapter doesn't fit because of the shape of the base of the lamp. had to plug in phone on other side of room and run across when alarm went off.

    Very friendly staff, great service. beds are really comfy and rooms had tea/coffee facilities, mini fridge and smart tv. shower was good and strong and hot water was almost instant. Access to roof top pool during summer season. floor to ceiling windows offered amazing views of city from higher rooms. Transit is literally outside hotel which is perfect for transfer from the airport or to explore the city. Star Market is across the road too for all the bits and pieces you'd need during a stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.3
    My overall stay was good and I would stay there again.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The house keeping services could have been better, They were quite inconsistent with their room supplies everyday. Most of the days, they forgot to put the hand towels in the bathroom, the water bottles were forgotten on one occasion. These minor irritants can be bugging when you are out the whole day and come back to the hotel to find the necessities missing and then calling up the housekeeping service to send all these to your room and they would take their own sweet time in doing so. Also, the Air conditioner is noisy.

    The proximity to Northeastern University since I was there to drop my younger daughter. The room was big and comfortable for the 3 of us. The reception staff was very warm. One of them helped my daughter to book her tickets to New York. She was very warm and considerate with her suggestions. She was so thoughtful that besides giving the print out of the ticket to my daughter, she gave one to me too saying as a mom I would be more at peace if I had a copy with the information. That was so thoughtful and kind:))

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    The location was excellent and the staff were attentive,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room faced a wall. We had booked the room months ago so felt we could have had a room with a view. It was a very hot week in Boston so we were looking forward to the roof top pool. It was way too busy and it seemed that they let the public in as well. We couldn’t find a seat even to sit. I’m not sure if the non guests were allowed to swim or if they were just going to the bar.

    The location was excellent and the staff were attentive, friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    Great having a pool on the roof given the recent Boston heat...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit tired looking and would have liked a bit more space in the room, furniture was well packed in which I felt as was me, my hubby and 2 sons in the room for 4 nights

    Great having a pool on the roof given the recent Boston heat wave.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    we enjoyed the stay and hopefully will return on our next visit in December.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is located close to the Prudential Train station and to the shopping areas. Lots of restaurants nearby . Very close to the universities. The Bar & restaurant below is good and the rooftop pool is great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Staying at the Colonnade Hotel greatly enhanced our six day visit to Boston!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping staff repeatedly knocking on door even when the Privacy light was turned on. Had to keep telling them that we were still in room. One morning they came back three times and it was before noon. High cost of parking!

    Extremely friendly staff at front desk and in lobby AND very helpful! Outstanding location! T line right outside the door with connection to shopping mall with restaurants. Beautiful room and comfortable bed. Excellent French restaurant on premises.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.8
    Good location, old fashioned hotel with low standard of bathroom. Lovely roof top pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Preferred Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bathroom in the property was a low standard, if looked and felt like a cupboard in the room rather than a proper bathroom.

    The hotel is in a convenient location and it has a lovely roof top pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location, helpful staff, very clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel elevator is a bit old and dark. It's hard to see the button (Open and Close door) button. There are times I pressed the wrong button which is quite embarrassing. Parking here is pricey.

    location of the hotel is a big plus. It's right in the heart of Back Bay. I can travel to BU or Downtown Boston within a time span of 30 minutes each. The Hotel Gym room is a bit small. However, people are friendly and courteous. Overall, I have a great stay and shall recommend to anyone that I have acquainted with.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.8
    Unacceptable for the price we paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wifi was horrible - we incurred charges from our provider (told front desk 2x - nothing done first time and when we complained again someone from maintenance sent to our room but nothing improved), safe was not working so could not protect our valuables and travel documents for the entire trip (we notified front desk the first day and when a maintenance person arrived to our room we were told it would not be able to be fixed for our stay), we were put in a room with an adjoining door (not requested) & neighbouring room was very noisy & kept opening their door. Only option, according to staff, was to place a mattress in between the doors. With all this going on we were pretty disappointed that moving to a different room was never offered. Further, prior to check-out we were told that these issues would be forwarded to management for their review - no one has gotten back to us and we've been home for a week. It would have also been very convenient to have a microwave in the room and although the beds were advertised as large double beds they are still small for a couple. The bathroom was quite small as well, for a party of three.

    Great location for our needs. Friendly staff. The Roof Top Pool was a great amenity but often crowded. The foyer was spacious and nicely decorated. Nice large windows in rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    From the moment we arrived, the staff, reception, front door...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxe Room King
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment we arrived, the staff, reception, front door, daily cleaning, everyone was excellent. Room was lovely, bed comfortable. Room service food, was excellent👍Would recommend the Colonnade to everyone, brillant😊

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel...a few issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had problems with the room’s AC and television. Aggravating but to the hotel’s credit they were promptly fixed.

    Location was great. Right across the street from a mall with a wide variety of food choices, a grocery store nearby, and within walking distance of Fenway Park. Staff was outstanding, very friendly and helpful. Overall I would stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    It's very clean and comfortable, with a pool on the roof...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's very clean and comfortable, with a pool on the roof to get relaxed. The staff is so friendly and kind and chat with you while waiting, feeling like being welcomed very much. besides, the location is just the place I want.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    The roof top pool was a nice break, however, it isn’t very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very small. The location is quite a walk to the Common and Downtown. Good for Fenwick Park.

    The roof top pool was a nice break, however, it isn’t very big and can get busy. Not ideal with younger children!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    Not good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    For the price, they should include buffet breakfast. The restaurant is rather lugubrious and the staff appear to have an attitude.

    For the price you get a robe but no slippers. The lifts arrived very quickly. There was also a complimentary Wall Street Journal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooftop pool is probably too small compared to the size of the hotel. It was absolutely packed! In the rooms half the lights didn’t work and no DVD player in the rooms although mentioned in the rooms facilities list. Apparently they are in the process of changing the system but at present there was no option to watch or rent a movie ( except regular TV)

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location, but not great hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls are very thin. I could hear the neighboring room blasting their TV at 5am in the morning for the 2 mornings I was there. I could hear conversations of other guest too.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.1
    The room was very spacious and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Preferred King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Do not stay here if you are a light sleeper, walls were paper thin. I could hear every word of the gentleman in the next room on his business calls (and his penchant for Law and Order at 5am every morning). Front house staff and the doorman were aloof and unfriendly - I was barely greeted in the 5 nights I stayed. They messed up my check in time and left me waiting in the lobby for hours with only a half baked apology. This was a business trip and for what was paid, I would find another hotel next time.

    The room was very spacious and comfortable. Amenities were well provided with bottles of water, coffee machine and fridge. Location was convenient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.1
    Could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise and mess from the renovation work

    Location was excellent, in Back Bay. Unfortunately the hotel was having renovation work done and we stayed in the room next to it, so it was quite noisy. They should really have closed off a couple of rooms either side of the renovation work, as the workmen started drilling at 9am each morning. Staff were helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a party in the room next to ours which went on all night, not the fault of the hotel, drowned the noise out with the noisy air condition

    Great hotel, great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Would definitely book here again and would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom split door tended to stick. Bathroom was a bit cramped. Overall okay though.

    Location, roof top pool, restaurant, floor to ceiling windows, spacious room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Lovely, well situated, good staff, really terrific pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were noise issues with our room and they resolved it well, giving us a room upgrade and free room service, so it was nice to see a hotel really address an issue. The rooftop pool was the stuff of dreams. They have a bar and food you can have poolside, a sunscreen dispenser, spa water, etc. And it's literally right next door to the Green Line and about four blocks from the Orange Line. It's across from the Prudential Mall, which is cool, but fyi, few to no cheap eats in there. But the room does have a fridge. It's also about a block from one of the Duck Tour stops.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Loved the pool!!! Staff was very friendly. The manager at the pool was also excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Preferred King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room they gave in the pool floor was awful. We immediately asked for another which was better. The first had a hole in the comforter, smelled bad and was too tiny. Looked and felt dirty. I was stunned that they gave us that room. The 2nd room was more in line to what we would have expected.

    Loved the pool and it's atmosphere. We booked for the pool and it didn't disappoint!! It exceeded as a result of the friendly staff, towels, water, and lotion they supplied....nice touch!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.8
    Location to great, and the lobby is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Okay the buffet breakfast wasn't that great - the sausages were hard, eggs nothing special and the variety of food options does not warrant the price tag, plus taxes plus service tip. Also I do not like the fact that the lobby restrooms is located in the restaurant and when you use the lobby restrooms you get stared down by the waiting staff. Please do not refer guests to use those restrooms and them have the waiting staff look at you in an unimpressed manner. Also the carpet near the air con was wet. I'm not sure whether this has anything to do with the air con but you could not walk bear foot near the television.

    Location to great, and the lobby is beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel in fabulous Boston!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location for us. We travelled from the airport by train and the hotel is within 10 mins walk from the station. We were greeted by the concierge at the hotel and he was brilliant. He upgraded us to another room and we had floor to ceiling windows it was fabulous. The room had coffee and tea making facilities plus bottled water in the fridge all free of charge. We did not use the pool on the roof so cannot comment on that as we were too busy travelling around Boston.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    great, central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the chairs around the pool were very nice but a bit like sardines in a tin! Mind you I was there on a saturday...

    The staff were extremely helpful especially at the reception.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    It was enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I mentioned above the pool staff were very rude and snarky and as a result didn't spend much time there and the pool was the reason we choose the colonnade over other better located hotels

    Concierge staff were exceptional however the pool staff were rude and very snarky and as a result we spent very little time at the pool which was one of the reasons we choose the colonnade hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.7
    Nothing special, certainly not Luxury. The hotel draw is the roof top pool, wnich is small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Preferred King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bring your own pillow. Pool staff not very attentive. Not checking to ensure only hotel clients were allowed in. Room had broken iPhone dock, couple of lights out. Some incessant banging (hammering) throughout the stay.

    Nice view, centrally located, roof top pool, great shower.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    No need for a car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Preferred King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked the hotel for the roof top pool and it was over crowed, which was disappointing.

    I loved the location close to stores, restaurants and many historic sights.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Great stay, great city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had a bit of an issue with noisy wedding guest but it was dealt with quickly when we called down to the desk.

    Great location across from the Prudential Centre, easy access to Newbury Street and other shopping. Hop on Hop off bus stops outside. The Roof Top Pool (RTP) has a great bar area for a dip and/or drink after a day out. Bistro Jo was great, the night time bartender was very accommodating when we arrived at midnight after a concert, the chef had gone but he made sure we had some nuts and chips as a snack with our drinks, breakfast was good too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Location - Prudential Center shopping mall is right infront...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is currently construction going onsite indoors. The design of the bathroom in the superior double room in my opinion is not practical. For example, the shower is quite claustrophobic even for someone who is petite; there is hardly any counter space and no shelving; and the lighting could be brighter.

    Location - Prudential Center shopping mall is right infront of the hotel and so is the metro. Easy access to other areas in Boston, especially Back Bay, Boston Commons, Newbury Street, Commonwealth Avenue, South End.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool is wonderful but has an issue with seating. I suggest a sign-in sheet for seating. You could wait forever for a lounge chair and yet someone just coming in happens to be lucky enough to grab one.

    The beds were comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Love the location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location, liked the hotel but didn't love it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooftop pool liner dirty and pool pretty small. Cabanas had to be reserved. Hot water didn't work great in the shower, very finicky. The tv didn't work but engineering came up to our room and fixed it. Parking $48 per night!

    Location was great, near Fenway, Prudential Center shopping and spectacular restaurants. The staff were very nice, especially the bell-hops and concierge. Mason was very helpful and professional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Great for a weekend in midtown Boston!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The buffet breakfast (Continental) doesn't come with anyhting else to put on the bread than jelly/jam. It could use some ham and cheese. But the rest that you expect is there. And of course you can order a la carte as a good alternative.

    The bed was great and so was the gym. The absolute bonus was the rooftop pool with enough sun beds surrounding and friendly staff to serve drinks and food. The location opposite the tube station and a modest shopping mall is handy. And from the hotel it is a 10 min walk to Newburry Street with all the fashion brands and 15 min to Boston Common park to the east and Fenway Park (Red Sox baseball) to the west.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    Location is amazing, but eat off site
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant for breakfast is to be avoided! Expensive and looked horrible. Worst coffee I have ever had! I left it on the table. USD25 for 1 coffee, 1 tea & 1 orange juice..... no thanks!

    Bed was super comfy, rooms were quiet even on a main street. Great location!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    Great view from the bedroom and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool was closed and the manager made no efforts to satisfy us considering we booked the hotel based on the pool. Very poor customer service. Overpriced.

    Great view from the bedroom and good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Excellent. Great hotel. Great staff. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a splendid hotel and deserves the tag “luxury”. It’s very smart and stylish and situated near the smart end of Boston and walkable to Fenway Park. Our room had windows that went from floor to ceiling which was amazing. Very quiet too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel in a great location with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The doors to the bathroom in the bedroom are made to look like a closet door and while they look lovely from the outside do not offer complete privacy.

    The Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The housekeeping staff always had a smile and a hello when they passed by. I felt welcome and comfortable. The room was lovely and bed unbelievably cosy. The on-site restaurant is nice although not my style of decor (Art Deco). I had breakfast most days and although quite expensive the food was very good. I enjoyed the location of this hotel as it is close to many sights and very easy to get to other sights further afield.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    Boston MA is the best - stay at the Colonnade and put it to the test.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There wasn't anything to dislike.

    The staff at the hotel were exceptional. They even got me a ticket for the Redsox game. The hotel is well situated and within walking distance of the centre, right opposite the Prudential and with the T right outside. I would not hesitate to stay there again or recommend it to anyone. Go Sox!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.0
    I often travel to Boston and will not be staying here again. I feel like I was shorted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I specifically booked the hotel based on the rooftop pool and the view. It was a special trip and I wanted to centrally located hotel for my family to use as a meeting point that would offer some special extras. The pool was closed and this was not disclosed at any point. The AC wouldn't get cold and when reported to the front desk nothing happened. The concierge told me that we could go to another rooftop pool and once I got there this wasn't the case. Additionally, my view was of another building, hardly the city view I requested.

    The hotel itself was located near where I wanted to be in the city. My very brief interactions with the staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Beds extremely comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Preferred King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only complaint I have is the noise level. 7:00 in the morning doors started slamming. Shook the walls. Very annoying. Also, the bed frame. My husband and I must have stubbed our toes at least 10 times.

    Beds extremely comfortable. Very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air condition sound Was very loud. The hotel is expensive if we consider the money for the value. No concierge service and no business room as well.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location, friendly staff, nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool wasn’t open even though was a hot sunny day. Would have like to have known this prior to booking.

    Great location, friendly staff, nice room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    My first ever stay in Boston, The Colonnade is a perfect hotel to stay at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot think of anything, I was very pleased with everything

    Bed was very comfortable, room bright and with good view. Nice to have a fridge in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    Great location. Can't trust the venting to prevent sickening cigarette smoke blasting in.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the venting system piped bursts of cigarette smoke into the room periodically all night. It woke us up repeatedly & I realize we were at the end of the building wing directly over Brasserie Joe, a French restaurant. In the morning I complained to the manager who asked me, for example, why I didn't call & get moved in the middle of the night! Frankly I think they must know about this as an ongoing problem. He refused to comp me the room although he did offer first 75 off a 500+ room. Finally he agreed to 250 off despite my pointing out my report on social media would likely be valued at more than 500. I'll never go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Air conditioner was loud.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner was loud. Did not work properly. The staff fixed it second night but still very stuffy in room. Not cool enough. Pool and roof top not opening until end of may.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.2
    Wasn’t even able to check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t even able to check in. Staff wasn’t helpful at all. They basically laughed in my face and then disappeared and while I was waiting for a ride to take me home after my bank account was completely wiped out because of them, the managers that were “helping” me walked by with their left overs from wherever they disappeared to. It was ridiculous and now I have no money because of them.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    The Colonnade is in a wonderful location and is worth the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is extremely small and the door to said bathroom doesn't actually lock.

    It's right across the street from the Hynes Convention Center. It also has plenty of food and shopping options surrounding it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice place at good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None.

    I was lucky to have a spacious room on the highest floor with a nice view. Nice comfortable bed as well as pillows. Coffee machine was also great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    We had a wonderful stay in Boston and would certainly choose The Colonnade again for our next visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a wonderful bright bedroom on the 9th floor with great city views and with a very comfortable mattress. We liked the fact that there is a icebox in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.4
    Location fabulous but rooms not brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no staff on arrival and very few throughout our stay until the day of the marathon. The rooms were clean and towels in abundance, fresh water daily and a nice coffee machine but the rooms were a little cramped for a superior deluxe twin and a few things didn't work. We were on the 11th floor so very quiet other than noisy neighbours.

    Hotel location was perfect, next to a tube station and opposite a mall with restaurants and shops. The duck tour started across the road from the hotel at the entrance to the prudential centre which was good and lots of places for breakfast to choose from - Au bon pain across the road and Thorntons two doors along.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Ideal location to Transit, mall, restuarants
    • Family with young children
    • Preferred King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Couple of tiny details - peeling wallpaper and chipped furniture.

    Super comfortable bed, though I noticed a couple of holes in the sheets. FANTASTIC view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Great room, staff, and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom doors were French style, so two doors closing to make one. Unfortunately when you close both doors, there was a slight space in the middle, so if you looked head on, you could see through to the bathroom. Maybe it was just our room. Not a huge deal, but may be for some. Also, the only mirror was in the bathroom, so one couldn’t get ready in the room, while someone else was in the bathroom.

    Hotel front desk, bellman, restaurant staff, and housekeeping were all very nice, helpful, and friendly. Front desk, Thomas had great restaurant recommendations. The restaurant at the hotel let us borrow a few forks to take to our room so we could indulge in some Italian delicacies we bought from the North End. Elevators were readily available and large enough to accommodate a group of people and their luggage. Hotel was very close to shopping area, restaurants, and walking distance to Fenway Park!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    So happy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and very very friendly/helpful staff!! Thought snow was going to prevent us from our connecting flight to Boston and the staff at Colonnade quickly said we could cancel at no cost even though it was at check in time when we called (after long flight from Barcelona with stop in Philly) luckily we didn’t have to cancel because then we would have missed this great hotel, but the understanding on the side of the staff meant the world to us

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    I loved the hotel location, the people and the bed. Love the pillows and we got a really good sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing I didn't really like, except a minor thing. One of my things is that I hate stirring my tea with a plastic straw and some hotels have gone this way due to losses I assume. It makes the experience a bit cheaper and I don't like that. The hotel room which was lovely and spacious could do with some touch up and again, I assume it will part of a refurb program.

    Thomas on reception was brilliant, from the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out. He gave us all the information about the hotel, facilities and restaurant. As a former hotelier I was impressed by Thomas and if he was one of my staff I would be very proud. The coffee machine in the room is great and the location is superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Stay at the Colonnade to feel like a Queen at Court!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is a little pricey but it is a covered lot. If you are driving a larger vehicle it could be an issue.

    This is one of the nicest places I've stayed! I wish I had known about this little secret years ago! I'm almost reluctant to say how beautiful it is and how pleasant the staff is for fear of it becoming more popular!! :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Convenient location; mediocre comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Issues with bathroom lock, but that was fixed within a day; pillows and bed weren't very comfortable, and the room got quite hot at night even with both windows open

    Extremely convenient location for the event we were attending; staff was very courteous and the cleaning staff did a great job

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.7
    Clean, but king instead of double, someone had to sleep on floor, unacceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We hated that we got a king bed when we booked a double bed room in November, one of our group paid $70 to sleep on the floor, which is unacceptable. Cot was very uncomfortable but at least I got to sleep on a bed. The bedside lamp kept flickering at midnight, had to turn it off even though some of us don't like sleeping in complete darkness. More than three other groups that we know of commented on getting a king instead of a double, one even negotiated for 5 hours before they were able to get their room changed. The lower price did not outweigh this bad experience, will be paying extra to book a room at the Sheraton next year for sure.

    Clean, good water pressure/hot shower, nice/friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    Generally exceeding expectations; great location and value.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't lock bathroom pocket door. Thermostat apparently dysfunctional-room grew increasingly warm despite turning it down; luckily windows were operable.

    Great location and staff. Room décor, floor to ceiling window, shower quality, bed, room layout, hall configuration - location of elevators, etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    5.8
    Rooms small
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the room and bed. Bathroom was tiny. Staff in check in not helpful. Really bad suggestion for a ride to the airport, costing us a lot more than a uber or a regular taxi.

    Rooms small Double beds are really not big enough for 2 person

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.5
    The extra $100 hold charge per night is too excessive and affected my stay in Boston.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The payment policy is awful. I had $100 taken off my card for each night (3 nights in total) which meant $850 was taken from my card when checking in as opposed to the $550 I was expecting. This extra charge was to cover any damages that may occur on the room and was told it would go back on my card when checking out. As I was not expecting this charge to be $100 per night it was very inconvenient. This affected my spending money whilst in Boston.

    Good location and room was very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfect hotel for business travel and conventions at Hynes.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    French Roast coffee pods. Otherwise it was everything I wanted

    beds were very comfortable and the room well appointed but simple. Loved the view over Boston. When I asked for more coffee, someone brought a huge bag of assorted pods, cups and creamers. Lovely. Reception and bell hops were great- friendly, helpful getting cabs and informative about the neighborhood. Short walk to the Hynes Convention Center through the mall at Prudential Center. Room service was fast and tasty. I would happily stay again. And when my flight was delayed, the reservation was adjusted no problem

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.9
    I don't think this hotel was worth the money, as the sleeping conditions were not favorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fan in the room had only one speed- LOUD. When the fan was off, all we heard were people talking and doors slamming. I need to sleep at 63 degrees, but the heat did not go below 65 - terrible night's sleep. The lobby has a cold atmosphere - too modern

    friendly staff, cleanliness, good food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the room could have been better.

    The staff was extraordinary as was the location. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Nice coffee and water in room. Bathroom was very clean with nice bath products.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: