Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Colony Palms Hotel 4 stars

572 North Indian Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262, USA

#19 of 69 hotels in Palm Springs

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 309 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a beautiful property with amazing staff. Friendly people staying here and we always meet people here who are fun . Great food and drinks. Always our favourite Palm Springs hotel as it’s very dog-friendly too. There was a bottle of champagne and a fruit bowl on arrival to welcome us back too which was a really nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Server at breakfast was...easily distracted, not as attentive as we hoped for. (E.g. We had to stand up and walk to the bar to request our bill)

    Beautiful spacious clean room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Casita
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool wasn't open 24 hrs. We went to swim at night and it was closed for the night do to "chemicals". Also the patio furniture in our villa was nice and dirty.

    Amazing property with a cool, old school desert vibe. Great laid back staff, cold drinks and a nice "salt water" pool. We stayed in a private villa. Dog friendly like most places in palm springs. Definitely recommend the villa.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place looks nothing like the photos online. The rooms are dark and dingy. It's tired and noisy. Apart from 1 guy on reception and the pool/restaurant staff I found hotel employees rude and unhelpful. Very disappointed. The room toiletries were not replenished by housekeeping, there was a constant drone of trees being cut and leaves blown from early in the morning so it was difficult to relax and impossible to sleep in.

    The restaurant/bar is lovely. The staff especially Michael were super nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't use the spa because the prices for various treatments were higher than other places in town.

    Beautiful property, comfortable room, excellent restaurant on-site, great location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Casita
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was dirty and the staff needed improvement in customer service!

    Bed was comfortable- room was what we expected and really enjoyed it with friends! Love the grounds and the Buddha’s!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water in swimming pool was... disgusting! Floating sweat... and some "general" dirt in all the water volume. Like not filtrated at all.

    Well located facility, just in heart of the "holiday village". Room acceptable, a bit old fashioned. Superb Mexican restaurant "three steps away" - named: Mirasol.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Honestly this is not a 4 star hotel - primarily because of the quality of the staff. Every time we asked the front desk for directions, information or recommendations on restaurants we were given either no information or inaccurate directions. There is no concierge but we assumed that the management would hire people who had some local knowledge. Perhaps they all had tourist fatigue as we were there right after Coachella. The bartender was downright rude most of the time. Other small things that make a 4 star experience, like restocking the shampoo etc just made it seem not quite the level that I expected. They also advertised yoga, both on the website and at the hotel, which we were looking forward to but were curtly informed "we don't do yoga anymore". Our room was clean but had some repairs that needed doing and there were large cracks in the tile in the bathroom... generally a bit run down looking. For the price, I would consider another hotel next time.

    For us, this was the perfect location - I wanted to be within walking distance of shops and restaurants, but off the main road so this was perfect. The hotel itself is exactly what we were looking for - quaint architecture, beautiful grounds, gorgeous pool area with a great poolside restaurant. Our room was adequate - not high end, but fine... I believe there are only 3 rooms in the whole place with two beds so it's clear that this place caters to couples, not friends. The spa was small and did not have any extra facilities like steam etc but I enjoyed my massage and facial. My friend felt that hers was just ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff throughout the property at check-in were extremely unpleasant and started our stay on the wrong foot. We were directed to head over to the spa to enjoy the pool while our room was in its final stages of cleaning. We retrieved our swim gear and headed to the spa. After changing and placing our regular clothes in a spa locker, we were soon told by staff that we could not store our clothes in the spa lockers despite no one using any of the lockers. I asked for a bang to store our clothes, as well as, a swim towel and was rejected by staff on both requests. I was then told my son could not use a spa towel to swim despite the hotel not having any available swim towels for guests. Throughout the stay locating swim towels was a struggle. Also, I called the front desk for information several times, and the phone was never answered.

    Grounds are beautiful and well maintained.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Colony King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room facilities should have been in better shape. The sink drain was clogged, the toilet didn’t flush properly, the safe needed new batteries. I felt these should have been addressed before we checked in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some Rooms can be noisy near the restaurant.

    My favorite hotel,with the most beautiful pool and restaurant/ bar.Love the style and decor and serene setting

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff significantly miscalculated our rate and final bill. Overall, felt like the reception experience was sub-standard to the rest of our experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our experience was mixed. lovely spot. for close to $500/night, I would have expected a cleaner room, more than one chair to sit in, friendlier check in/out. The food was only ok in general...particularly the desserts. Has the potential to be perfect, just missed the spot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front office staff was young and inexperienced, and didn’t seem to know that much about the hotel itself or the palm springs area in general. They were extremely unresponsive; attempts to call them before we arrived were not returned. A gate to the outside right next to our room was tied open for our entire stay, despite repeated mentioned to the staff. And a dirty breakfast tray was left outside our door for two days, again despite repeated calls to have it removed. To It off, on our last night there the fire alarm went off at 6 AM. There was indeed a fire in the main part of the hotel, and our room gave directly onto the outside so we were not in any immediate danger, but staff should have appeared to help us leave our rooms and to give us information about what was going on.

    The restaurant staff was very helpful, and the food was pretty good. Location was great, right near downtown shopping.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Casita
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor showers: Luke warm water (at best) with low flow. Bathroom plumbing definitely needs an update.

    Great decor and lush vegetation make the property very beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Casita
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    purchased a high end room with outdoor private patio with fireplace. It backed onto a major road lists of trucks motorcycles our fireplace we had to request fuel for it and it ran out before being fully able to enjoy. Our room had not been serviced so at 4 upon our return had to ask for service. After they cleaned we noticed we had no hand towels or face cloths or soap. We requested again. We were brought enough bath towels,soaps shampoos 24 bottles to be exact -enough for a family of 6 (felt sarcasm when delivered) yet we still had no face cloths or hand towels. Went for complimentary coffee at 745. There was no cream. Asked the desk staff if there was more cream. Told that the restaurant was bringing some over 5 minutes later another person asked when it was coming. We were then told that the restaurant did not open for another 10 minutes. I left with black coffee (blah) as the other guest was pretty vocal about having to make us wait. Upon check out we were told that our folio would be emailed to us. That was 3 days ago and 2 emails and one phone call later we still have not received.

    the dining was excellent. Beds and linens were perfectly perfect. The property was very lush.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Casita
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife and I came for our honeymoon and we couldn’t have been happier with our experience. We stayed in a casita (highly recommend) with its own wonderful patio. The grounds are lush and pleasant and the pool is even more so. The staff of the hotel and the on-site restaurant were attentive and polite. The entire hotel has a ‘private club’ feeling to it. We will be back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even though the room was clean and updated, it had a very "dead" energy. No rug and with a bed frame + box spring + mattress so high off the floor it actually made it quite difficult for my dog. (In contrast, the Ace is the ultimate in dog-friendly accommodation.) Cold leather club chair and no desk area even though there was room for it meant the room could have been cozier but it wasn't. For the price, I wanted the room to feel comfortable and a place you want to stay which meant instead I regretted my choice. Too bad, as there are still a lot of things to like about the lovely property, the attentive staff, and the good location.

    Very friendly and attentive staff, the grounds were nice and well kept, the bed comfortable, and the location good. (Centrally located, walk to the left for shops, coffee, etc., walk to the right and stroll through quiet neighborhoods.)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot tub was luke warm, there is no exercise facility on the property and the pet fee is pretty outrageous at $100 per dog. Definitely not worth $600 for a one night stay. I should have read fine print better. AND they charge tax on the pet fee.

    The staff were awesome and the property is really lovely and picturesque. The restaurant was gorgeous and food really good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Casita
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a Casita room with hot tub but on arrival found the ‘hot tub’ was actually an outdoor bath which would not heat up after running the water for over 15mins. After we complained the room rate was adjusted but this was disappointing & could not be rectified. We also found that we had to run the taps & shower for at least 5mins to get any warm water. This was a little frustrating & not very environmentally friendly. We were told by the staff that this could not be fixed & happened in all rooms. Also they’d ran out of nespresso pods for the machine in the room so we didn’t get any for the two days during our stay. No alternative offered.

    A beautiful property with an amazing bar/restaurant....not cheap though even in ‘happy hour’ so be prepared to splash the cash. Overall though a great stay with nice staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What affected our stay most, and our impression of the hotel, was being given a terrible room, #4, at check-in. In my life I've never requested to change rooms at any hotel, but this time was an exception. Incredibly noisy, right alongside the most trafficked corridor in the hotel. It's basically the equivalent of a room right next to the lobby. Further, the room door isn't even solid. It had a clear glass front with only blinds to keep people from seeing you inside. Mind you, you could actually sneak a peak of part of the bed from outside. Incredibly unsettling. It's an unacceptable space and shouldn't be a room at all. Thankfully, after not being able to take a nap due to the constant noise, we requested and were granted another room. This made our stay much more enjoyable; although on our final evening in that room the power went out (our room only) for about 20 minutes. Little things that add up, and compromised the overall quality of the stay.

    The location was excellent. Central to a lot of shops and restaurants. The food at the hotel's restaurant was better than expected and a solid value for a hotel. The pool was warm, and there was a nice seating area with a gas fireplace to warm you up in the evenings.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Colony King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort tax added to the bill which is no fault of the hotel.

    Very comfortable and centrally located hotel with excellent facilities. I have never seen a hotel room with a bar stocked as extensively as this one. A very relaxing stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We we given a disability room even though the hotel was not full and it was dark and the bathroom was not good - a weedy shower on a big wet room style slippy room. Food is provided by the restaurant attached but does not start breakfast until 8am which is a little late if you plan a day trip the desert parks etc. We moved to a far cheaper motel and the facilities were better but not as good looking .

    Great location just a block from all the shops and pretty pool area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was opposite the pool and there was a strong smell of chlorine the day we arrived, or maybe they mop the tile floors with bleach - I'm not sure. It would have been great to have a coffee/tea maker in the room with supplies to make both. Although the reception lobby provided both in the am it would have been nice to have had the option to make them yourself in the pm and not everyone wants to walk to the lobby in their robe in the am.

    The beds were very comfortable, as were the sumptuous robes and the on-site restaurant was superb; we ate breakfast and dinner there during our three day stay because neither were equaled elsewhere. Despite the hotels proximity to the very busy main street, it felt private, quiet and secluded. We loved the fireplace with chairs close to the pool. Gorgeous view of the mountains and palms from our charming casement bedroom windows.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room location was right on the main busy road, so we heard more traffic than we would have liked. The room also had one small window which did not provide very much light, so it felt quite dark. Wish the property had had a small gym/fitness area.

    The bed and pillows were super comfy and divine. The pool area and surrounding garden/trees were gorgeous and well maintained....loved the cozy, small boutique feel to the whole property. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Casita
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our only real quibble was that we got there quite early, hoping for early check-in, but had to wait about four hours for check-in at 3 p.m. (the official check-in time is 4, so we can't really complain, but most hotels will get you in earlier).

    The property is very attractive and our room was beautifully furnished and appointed, with nice touches such as a bathtub on our outdoor patio and a full bar with top-quality liquor (for a price). The staff was uniformly friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There's no gym and no sauna or steam room. The room is way too dark--only two dim bedside lamps (no lamp at the desk, no overhead light). The room had painted concrete floors, but no slippers were offered. Bring slippers if you stay here!

    The staff were friendly and attentive. The hotel is old and charming, and the garden grounds are well-maintained. The pool area is lovely. Food and drink at the pool side restaurant is excellent. Coffee in the lobby is available in the morning, and a rose wine in the afternoon. It's an easy walk to the main street and restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room service menu could have had more options.

    A very quaint boutique hotel close to everything downtown. Cody our front of house goto for anything we needed during our stay is wonderful and extremely accommodating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Colony King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't notice that the hotel is "pet friendly" when booking so all the dogs around the pool were not overly pleasant.

    Decent but not fancy rooms, very nice grounds, excellent service. We only had lunches at the restaurant and they were variable, Bahn Mi sandwich and prawn noodle salad excellent but fish tacos and ginger chicken salad were mediocre. Great location for walking to restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Colony King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is beautiful, like a desert oasis. The room was comfortable, clean and pretty Moroccan style. The staff was super professional and friendly, and restaurant delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice location and lots of parking space for guests. Staffs are friendly, helpful, and ready to tell you all information you need to know. Room is clean and big. Comfy bed. I love the shower set here. Smell nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Colony King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything was fantastic, but there could have been a gym. during off season the indian canyon is opened only in the weekend.

    Outstanding design, beautiful surroundings, felt old Hollywood, classy visitors, no loud screaming families.rooms are perfect in a garden. Free bikes. On walking distance, but not on heels but you can park everywhere in palm springs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved the room, the lush vegetation and winding walkways to the pool and restaurant. Each member of the staff we encountered was smiling and helpful. The on-site restaurant was wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Casita
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is just so pretty, small, and relaxing. The parking here is a breeze which we love because we just want to get to our room without traipsing through a large lobby, and massive block of rooms/hallways. The rooms are pretty, quiet and so very comfortable and this time in booking a casitas' we had a lovely patio with a jet tub which my husband was in love with. The best part is that the restaurant (which we have been to on a number of occasions when we were at other hotels) is so good that we just hang out at the pool and order ALL our meals there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wish there had been a non-slip rubber mat for the shower floor. The tiles were slippery and I always worry about falling, but standing on a bath towel worked out okay. Uncomfortable seating in some of the prettiest garden areas outside. A few cushions would really have helped.

    Old-time Palm Springs architecture and decor made me feel like I was in southern Spain or maybe Morocco.The grounds and gardens are just beautiful, with lots of little private nooks with seating. Delicious spa and pool. And they have a really good restaurant with full bar as well as a lovely spa on-site.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Colony King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!!

    The location was great. Bed super comfy. Breakfast was very tasty. And very appealing to the eye. We enjoyed the hotel very much and would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only wish is that kids were not allowed. There were several kids when I was there, most of whom were really well behaved, but at least one that needed to be attended to and wasn't - she brought toys in to the pool and was throwing them around with no intervention from her parents. I just popped in headphones, but it was a distraction and seemed really out of place for this property.

    Absolutely lovely property with a spacious pool, attentive staff and world-class food! Lots of wonderful details, quaint seating areas, lush landscaping. Very, very relaxing getaway. Plush towels and robes, luxury sheets. High quality and upscale without being fussy - perfect for me! The welcome glass of rosé was a very sweet touch. I ordered off of the menu for several meals and was always delighted. It is obvious the chef and his staff are skilled professionals. If I lived closer, I would come in just to dine! Cocktails were great too!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The original room we got was not what I was looking for. It was outfitted for a handicapped person which fortunately I am not. I felt uncomfortable occupying a room not meant for me. I have used other sites and got better rooms.

    I liked the pool and grounds the best. They have food and drink service by the pool which is so great and important to have in 104 degree heat. The staff were amazing and helped me get a better room and print out documents I had to sign for a new job. Nico at the Purple Palm is a wonderful server. This was my fourth stay at this property this year.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Colony King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything I didn't like.

    The bed was unbelievably comfortable. The staff could not have been more genuinely polite and accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Colony King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not my best experience. The room location was poor, it was loud and the smoking outside wasn't the best. Waking up at 6 am with banging outside from plastic bins was not my favorite.

    The comfort of the bed was fantastic!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Colony King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the part about children playing loudly when we're trying to chill. No biggy.

    The resturant was excellent, terrific food. Very relaxing and quiet. I love kids, but not while I'm lounging around the pool. We are grandparents and like to venture off without children loudly playing. Other then that, I can't say one bad thing about this hotel!! Staff was very friendly and accomodating.. I'm a stickler on a clean hotel, this one was top rate clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room for improvement is in the Wifi connection and the room. In our room we barely got connection and even poolside the speeds were low. The rooms are well appointed and very clean. However, they feel a little too traditional for my taste and could do with a little bit of an overhaul. Nothing serious, though. The one thing I was missing was a good gym. Since the pool is not really a lap pool and the weather is too hot for a run the natural workout place would be a gym. There is none, though.

    The property as a whole is fabulous and has really nice grounds. It is really all around the pool and the adjacent restaurant/bar. The pool is great, nice deck chairs and great drink and food service pool-side. It is also accessible 24 hours. You can take this late night dip if you like. Generally, it is really about what guests want, not about the rules. Staff is amazingly friendly. The property is in really good shape. The restaurant is pretty good, the best food we had in Palm Springs. The hotel can be tranquil but has a lively pool scene at times. Over the holiday weekend there was plenty of buzz. During the week it was very relaxed and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to fault

    Love this property! Bed was amazingly comfortable ... pool area and restaurant fantastic!! Staff very accommodating. Love the style and boutique with wonderful character!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Casita
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room were good, but could use a little freshening up in the next couple of years.

    Bar and restaurant were excellent. Poolside service was awesome. Proximity to downtown Palm Springs was convenient. Free bikes available as well for nice rides through the neighborhoods.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Colony King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kids splashing in the pool and making way too much noise. I don't remember unsupervised children the last 2 times I stayed there. That being said I will return in the future.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Colony King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Holds on our credit card for a week after we checked out and paid.

    Pool staff was great, view AMAZING. I've had to delivered, not sure how I feel about that. Salt water pool - THE BOMB. Super pricey, though.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not really kid-friendly. They don't explicitly say kids are disallowed, but if you're bringing kids, go elsewhere. Pool frolicking was discouraged, for example.

    The restaurant was quite good, and the pool area was comfortable. Nice location a bit north of the middle of downtown.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Colony King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was dark, no bath, on the main road. Bed comfy and decor stylish but seriously not worth the $500 per night they charged Fri & Sat. Really disappointing.

    Location is amazing, minutes from everywhere you want to be. Pool lovely, long enough to do laps. Restaurant great food (pricey mind you). Staff lovely.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only negative from me is that having paid $500 a night to stay there they added $35 a night for use of the spa (which we didn't want) and for valet parking when I could have parked myself right next to our room.

    Great location. Staff were attentive and responsive. Calm atmosphere that makes it feel like a high-quality hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt like first two rooms they offered were with closed windows, so no fresh air, the third room we stayed in was viewing the parking and the trash, was noisy and the trash was cleaned every day 8 am and at night too! Almost all rooms are facing the street, not the mountain view(( the hotel's restaurant doesnt offer good variety and their coctails were undelicious. Nothing special abt this hotel, is overpriced.

    The pool with the garden, free coffee in the morning time

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Colony King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The weather! It was chilly and drizzly...I would probably wait until Feb. or March next time :(

    The overall charm of the Hotel, the grounds and the excellent staff!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is what it is... A very well maintained and lovingly updated older boutique hotel. Third time here; back next year.

    Just a perfect boutique hotel in a great location. Thoughtful, caring staff, solid restaurant and nice vibe.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeping staff does a pretty poor job. Twice when I put out the "do not disturb" sign I was awoken from deep sleep by loud knocking that continued until I answered the door. Both times they were delivering something for a different room. On day 3, someone had taken my "do not disturb" sign so I made one from scratch and put it on the handle On day one it took them until 4 PM to clean my room even though I was out all day from 10 AM until that time and there was definitely no sign keeping them out at that point. Each time I returned to my room over the three days, housekeeping had left garbage, laundry or some other such debris on the table and chair set outside my door and I had to call to get it removed. Several of the bathroom fixtures were loose or broken and had to be fixed during my stay, the bath faucet dripped and needs a gasket. Be sure not to stay in one of the few rooms that has rooms above because there is no insulation or soundproofing and you hear people clomping around - including all of the laundry and housekeeping carts. Additionally, even early in the morning, the housekeeping staff is yelling to each other from different rooms. If you don't like cold floors come prepared because the cement is only painted and ice cold. The only rug is under the bed and gives barely a foot of coverage around the circumference of the bed. There is no coffee maker in the room so you have to go to the restaurant, which isn't open, and hope somebody sells you some.

    The restaurant dinner food was amazing. However, it was being rehabbed so we dined next to caution tape and construction and the place was not open for breakfast or lunch . The reception staff are wonderful, but they could not compensate for the rest of my experience.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints,would definitely come back.

    A really relaxed atmosphere,just summed up what I thought Palm Springs was all about,very romantic but also great for the kids.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Colony King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 21 was at the back of the property and next to the dumpster, so we occasionally heard loud noises in the evening. No breakfast was included in the price plus a resort fee was added on, reducing the value proposition.

    Meals in the lounge of the Colony Palms were very good. Really enjoyed the outdoor fireplace near the pool, which was a great place to hangout in the evenings. Parking was included in the room rate.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Colony King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    first we had planned only one night but then extended our stay because it was really excellent! clean, cozy and everything you could wish for is available!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of carpeting made every door shut heard and can hear conversations through the walls. I like the cleanliness of no carpet, but it makes it hard to have peace & quiet.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Musty smell. We used a travel candle to alleviate this issue. Rooms need an additional side table and a full length mirror. They are sparsely furnished.

    Bed and linens, shower, court yard and pool area were nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too much chlorine in hot tub. Constant feeling of getting upsold on food (menu cut-offs were so intense every few hours). Definitely should install wood floors in room; would make things more cozy. Wish there was better view of mountains from pool lounge area (could see it only from resty).

    Comfy bed. Cool aesthetics of room including headboard. Nice pool area and landscaping. Housekeeping was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely, but could have been bigger and/or a bit nicer for the money. But it was quite nice.

    The grounds were beautiful and I loved the jacuzzi and restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Colony King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charging a "resort fee" of 35$ is a bit surprising.... So beware, the prices on booking.com must be increased with the taxes AND this "resort fee"..

    Good location in Palm Springs, centrally located. Nice style and architecture. Nice rooms and good beds.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were aware that the spa was being renovated, but disappointed that we were not advised that the gym was also closed.

    Pool area and bar was very good. Very good location. A number of very good restaurants close by. Very good breakfast by the pool.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Colony King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool was broken, they offered to waive resort fee, but fee was on bill when I checked out. Felt like they were making me remind them or they would have just charged me anyway.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Colony King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren't notified the spa facility was having a refurb at the time of booking, once we spoke to reception they did take off the additional hotel fee.

    Loved the interior, the boutique vibe, the resteraunt had a great healthy menu.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Casita
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no negative feedback from this property. It is exacly as described and met expectations.

    The staff was friendly and the location was just perfect!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    quaint little hotel, very cool restaurant and pool area, beds were super comfy. Drinks were very well crafted. Free WiFi, without any extra hassle was a plus. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Colony King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When booking at booking.com, $290 for three nights have been shown. When checking in, $498 where shown (representing taxes + Resort fee). Still good value for Money, but beware of this Details in "small letters".

    Great Hotel with lot of history. Setting of the pool / Restaurant within the Hotel is great, it is a pleasure to have breakfast at the pool and then relax at the pool later. Restaurant is great, too.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was a perfect quite intimate little get a way hotel. Loved small size of it and friendly staff. Beds were super comfy! Loved the room, just right! Old Hollywood style charm.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    don't expect too much of palm springs

    the restaurant is quite good (although freshly squeezed orange juice is too complicated to get here, it is still America), and the 24/7 swimming pool is pleasant, as well as the total atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Colony King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At times it was a bit tough to get someone on the phone to order room service or contact the front desk, but nothing too bad.

    The room was beautiful, comfortable, and clean. I would live in that bathroom if I could. I was extremely comfortable throughout the grounds. The pool and restaurant were lovely and they made some of the best scrambled eggs I've ever had!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Colony King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgraded upon check -in and received a larger room. Every employee we encountered was polite , friendly and helpful. Loved our one night experience. Will stay again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are incredibly small and have some cheap touches. I would go so far as to say that rooms with 2 queens beds are claustrophobic. The historic building has few windows (due to the climate and 1930s construction) and the beds occupy almost the entire room. Concrete floors and lack of space make you feel like you're in a dorm room or a camp cabin, not a "luxury" hotel. Furniture is notably lacking unless you get a "suite"--no desk or dresser. TVs mounted to side walls are useless as they cannot be seen from bed and there is nowhere to sit. Artwork, lamps, bathroom fixtures are low budget and give the rooms a downscale feel that doesn't fit the rest of the hotel. It would not be hard to replace these with higher quality items to better fit the price point and create a more luxurious feel.

    Location is the best in Palm Springs. Common areas and some aspects of the rooms (e.g. Bedding, headboard) are beautiful. Attentive service at every touch point from parking to the pool to housekeeping. Extremely good onsite restaurant with particularly good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool seemed a bit murky and toiletries weren't replenished. Also, the deluxe queen rooms are nothing special - small sq footage and closets; whereas king deluxe rooms boast more sq footage and fireplace or bath tub amenities.

    Staff is AMAZING. All issues were handled promptly and service was excellent. Rooms are comfortable, but a bit dark and dreary. Deluxe room types are not all created equal!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Colony King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool water was ridiculously hot We didn't use the pool With a temp outside well over 100 it would have been great to cool off in the pool

    The friendliness of the ground staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An issue with my credit card at checkout was not handled well. After a great stay I unfortunately left feeling bad.

    The staff go above and beyond. It's a beautiful, intimate property.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: