Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The Conwell Inn This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

1331 Polett Walk (formerly West Berks Street), Philadelphia, PA 19122, United States of America

#52 of 75 hotels in Philadelphia

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 414 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    Pleasant stay in a nice hotel, great location to visit Temple U. (On campus).
    • Solo traveler
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Renovation did not extend to shower. Some water damage on ceiling and rust around drain. No refrigerator I suite, but available on request for extra charge.

    The room was renovated since the last time I stayed. Suite was large. Staff was pleasant, professional, and accommodating. Price was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    9.2
    There was a pizza place and a 7 eleven right nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was kind of hard to find. I don't know if it was just my GPS or something, but it was hard to find at first as it's in the center of the college campus.

    There was a pizza place and a 7 eleven right nearby. Nice property, in the center of college campus. Quiet, clean. Would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    7.9
    Great little hotel in heart of Temple
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little farther than I prefer from City center, but a nice location. Rooms were a little worn but clean

    Beautiful area in the heart of the campus. Safe right next to the campus security. Convenient shops like a coffee shop,great coffee and a 7-11. Good ability to find street parking and we ubered into the center of city for less than parking would have been . Nice beds. Very Large room. Quiet , we didn't hear neighbors. They had fresh cookies and a tea and coffee in the lobby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    7.1
    The Conwell Inn is direclty located on campus of Temple...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The Conwell Inn is direclty located on campus of Temple University. Though, the campus is nice the area seems not to be the safest part of Philadelphia. However, I never experienced any troubles using e.g. public transport to get back to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    9.2
    Memorial Day Weekend trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The housekeeping staff knocked three different times even though we had the do not disturb tag on. We had until 12 to check out and they started knocking at around 8:30.

    The bed was really comfortable and the location was pretty close to everything. As long as you reserve parking beforehand you can get a space in the back. The front desk was really helpful in directing us to the lot and where the office was, as it is a little confusing driving in at first. I enjoyed the area and it was a bit more peaceful than if we had stayed in city center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place+lovely city = lovely stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wi-fi conection was unstable at night. Not the deadly and frustrating kind though. The connection, for some reason, gets slower and drops from time to time, so maybe you need to connect and reconnect your devices.

    It's a small place, beautifully located right in the middle of the Temple University, (about 30 USD from the airport). Very comfy and intimate space. The front desk personal is too kind and attentive. For 1 or 2 persons, for the price, it's of the best around Philadelphia´s downtown. Cecil B.Moore subway station is 5 minutes away (walk-distance), and that line can take you to the heart of the city in 10 minutes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    7.1
    Good choice if t
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cost of parking is $34 overnight at a garage 2 blocks away if you don’t reserve one of the 9 parking spaces at the inn for $15.

    Good value for room IF you’re there specifically for something in campus or close by. Otherwise, not a great area to stay...there are better options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    7.1
    Good but not great. If you can find an affordable place closer to downtown, I would recommend that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no fitness room and no complimentary breakfast. Given the price, one of those could have been possible. Even though on Temple U. the surrounding area was run down and there wasn't a lot within walking distance.

    I liked being on Temple University. It's a pretty campus. Cookies in the afternoon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    8.8
    Feel the student life
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Construction works nearby the hotel, no breakfast

    Friendly staff, good location at the university campus, food store, bar and street-food close to the hotel. Parking place available and can be provided by the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    9.6
    The room was a terrific size, and I loved the sunken steps...
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only caffeinated coffee in the room OR in the lobby was dark roast. Yuck! I wish there'd been a lighter option. But overall you guys were great. Thanks!

    The room was a terrific size, and I loved the sunken steps to the bedroom. Also awesome to have windows that I could open and look out on the campus walks. And I was there for an event at the Liacouras Center, so the location could not have been more ideal!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    7.1
    Nice, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although not the hotel’s fault, the stay was unbearable because of a major construction project across the street with sledge hammers making a deafening noise from 7 AM till we checked out.

    Nice, clean room. Cookies and apples in the lobby are a nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    8.8
    Fine for my purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Desk is not always attended, and so timing can be inconvenient. Construction noise on Temple campus didn't affect me but could be a problem.

    The Inn was simple and clean. Coffee and pastry shop, access through hotel, is excellent quality although limited. Coffee maker also in room and lobby. Convenient for my purpose, and parking was available. Parking spaces are cheap but a small number of them.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, quiet and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Have stayed at this location many times. This time the linens on the bed did not fit properly (fitted sheet popped off mattress twice in the night) and my pillowcase seam had an 8” hole. Time for some new sheets!

    Location to TU Campus

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    6.3
    Very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleaning staff missed my room (I was there for just 2 nights) which was quite annoying considering this is not a very cheap hotel. The hotel is located in the university campus which is safe but the surrounding areas are a bit rough (especially when it's getting dark).

    The staff was extremely nice and helpful, they were very kind and gave me tons of information about Philadelphia. The room was spacious and clean when I first came in. They have coffee / tea facilities in the room which is always nice!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    8.8
    Great location for Temple families
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sunday morning emptying of dumpsters and construction in front of Inn Monday through Saturday (three different buildings currently being erected simultaneously) makes it impossible to sleep past 8:00 am.

    Location is great for visiting temple parents and really allows you to share campus life with your child for your stay. Saxbys is great for morning coffee and convenient parking behind inn makes the Conwell inn a true gem!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    7.1
    Great place if you are visiting TU campus for a day or two.
    • Solo traveler
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    PARKING!!! Very limited. Booking.com does not tell you that you have to reserve a parking spot, when you book the room, and it costs $15/night. If you don't, there is the Liacouras Parking a few blocks away, or you can park on the street and risk getting towed or ticketed.

    Good location, in the heart of Temple Univ campus, but hard to get to. The street is not accessible by a vehicle. The front desk staff are VERY good and knowledgeable about the area. Especially Matt. He is the epitome of hospitality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    6.3
    pleasant stay but a bit overpriced for accomodations
    • Family with young children
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room could use some work. there was door slamming and very noisy during night and got woken up at 7 am with a blower making noise outside our window. a little over priced for the room which need some repairs.

    close to college and restaurants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    5.4
    Quaint hotel friendly staff but you take your chances if problems arise with your room.
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No 24 hour housekeeping or janitorial staff. Manager seems to be gone over the weekend and desk clerk has very limited authority to problem solve.

    Traveling with a friend and her son. 1 of the 2 rooms were ready for early check in so we all left our luggage and attended an event at the college. When I returned at 9 pm I was assigned my room. Upon entering the room we found the beds unmade and room had not been cleaned from the previous guest. The only room they could offer was a single queen room which would not accommodate the 3 adults in my party. My girlfriend graciously agreed to change rooms with me as she was a party of 2. To add insult to injury her single queen room did not have a properly draining shower. FYI no 24 hour housekeeping or janitorial staff so after hours you are out of luck. The main manager was not present on the weekend I stayed there. They gave my friend 20% off her room but at first took 20% off the higher price room which she never got. She had to go back to the front desk and explain that she had a single bed and the room rate was less then the 2 queen room she never got.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    9.6
    Value-added stay in a comfortable room- paying half the price of downtown Philly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurants around the hotel were fewer than downtown. And I would advise caution walking west as you get away from the campus (Temple campus is well patrolled). The bathroom could use a little TLC in spots. The entrance to this particular room (#207) is a little odd in that there is a short hallway that then goes down 2-3 steps into the bedroom. Could hear some noise coming from the hall. But none of these observations were show stoppers.

    We were checked in very fast; they were able to provide the parking we had asked for ($15/day, less than the local garages); room was clean and bed was comfy. It was a queen bed room. Shower and bath were more than adequate. They provided chocolate chip cookies both nights we were there in the lobby; also bagels one night, croissants the day we were leaving plus coffee. The hotel is right in the middle of Temple University campus. Subway station (Broad Street Line - Cecil B Moore) was only 2 blocks away - 10 minute walk at most.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel but thin walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The walls are very thin, can hear college students all hours of the night from outside and can hear everything in hallways clearly. Hard to find the front door and hard to get to due to construction.

    Very clean and nice rooms with large bathroom and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    7.1
    near the location I needed to be at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath tub was clogged but it was fixed after I mentioned it. Had empty pizza box on the table but was not thrown away.

    near the location I needed to be at.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    9.2
    Great little place in amongst temple university, not super...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great little place in amongst temple university, not super fancy but far from a dump.. well worth the price of a nights stay.. we would def stay here again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    8.3
    The pillows were great, the bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Most of the stores were closed since it was New Year's weekend. The neighborhood was not the best or the safest. Don't leave the area of the hotel late at night or alone. The room was a little outdated.

    The pillows were great, the bed was comfortable. The staff were helpful enough. Love the coffee bar and the bagels in the morning and the cookies in the afternoon. Hotel was cute and convenient as far as stores, etc around.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    8.3
    Friendly staff, vary polite
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room needed some aesthetic work done. Wallpaper was peeling back a bit, there was water damage and mold in the ceiling by the window of our room

    Friendly staff, vary polite

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    8.8
    I liked the fresh baked cookies they have available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was an additional $15 a day. Location was a little difficult to find.

    I liked the fresh baked cookies they have available. Location wise was good, it felt safe and it was convenient. The hotel room was very homey feeling.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    10
    Convenient , clean, friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel was clean and quiet. Staff was friendly and attentive. Housekeeping is excellent. Coffee shop next door had great selection. Staff was friendly, quick, and funny.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    9.2
    overall im happy!!
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I just wish that the rooms would come with a small fridge and microwave......almost all other place's i stay have these and dont have to pay extra.....

    I Love that it's in the middle of the college grounds and my son can just walk to my room at any time...Thanx

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    8.8
    Great Little Inn in North Philly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall our accommodations were clean and very comfortable. The building is a little older so you saw signs of what didn't look so clean but in fact it's just age and water damage. The area was super safe and had a lot of on and off campus police visible. The surrounding area is not too touristy but you're only a quick Uber ride ($8) to central Philly.

    Fresh coffee and homemade cookies available to guests. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    9.6
    Charming College Hotel, Close to Transit
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't realize parking would be $16, but if that's the worst thing, we're doing alright!

    A quaint and charming hotel from long ago, it definitely feels like the boutique hotel it is. Free Kuerig and cookies in the lobby, beautiful and rooms, and a very good location on the campus of Temple University. Make sure you get a SEPTA card, leave your car, and take the subway everywhere you need to go. And there's even a "vending area" in the basement, which is just a microwave, toaster, ice machine, and a "take a book, leave a book" nook. Trust me, this is a plus in my opinion!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    10
    Great facility and neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking is limited. Had some trouble getting to the hotel because the street of the address is not accessible by car. The hotel’s site does say this but it caused us a bit of time driving around the blocks to figure out where to go. Also If you want two queen beds, the Club Queen room only has one—there’s a separate room type for two beds and I wasn’t aware of the difference until we had only one bed in the room.

    Hotel was updated and clean. Right next to a Temple campus police station. Safe neighborhood. The rest of the city of Philadelphia leaves something to be desired but the immediate area of the hotel is nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    10
    Lovely big rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No breakfast included but plenty of cheap places to eat nearby.

    Although set around Uni campus was very quiet. Staff helpful with lovely coffee and biscuits in lobbe

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    8.8
    a nice and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Situated within the campus of Temple University, the inn was safe and comfortable with a cafe, 7-11 and campus police downstairs. Spacious room with comfortable bed. Close to metro lines to city centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2017

    10
    Information you should know.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The front desk is the first person you see. Earring in the nose shouldn't be a loud. I also think uniforms should be put in for the front desk too.

    The location is a great area. Right in the heart of campus

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    9.2
    Charming and convenient
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would not recommend for anyone with mobility issues

    Quaint old Inn off the noisy roads. Set in the middle of Temple University. The campus police station is next to the Inn. Very convenient little pub and 7eleven right behind the Inn.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    9.6
    Safe. Quiet. Loved it. There is a 7/11 store next to it. 30 second walk to road for Uber
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Taxi does not stop next to the door of the Conwell Inn. This is a bit of a problem when you book Uber. Make sure you pinpoint the location where you will wait for Uber car

    Right in Temple University campus

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2017

    9.6
    I'll be back again if in Philly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - The location slightly confused our Uber driver as the property is on university grounds and there isn't much indication it's there until you actually walk down the pedestrian path. - Being that the hotel is on university property it can be noisy/busy around the area on weekdays (but it never seemed excessive).

    - Friendly staff available to assist during late check in and early check out. Always nice to have warm service after a long day of traveling. - Room and bathroom were very spacious and clean. - Bed was comfortable and roomy even with two people sleeping. - Coffee/tea available in lobby all day and nightly cookies are put out for those with an evening sweet tooth. - Hotel is joined next to a little cafe that serves breakfast, and it's only a 1-minute walk from 7-Eleven if you want to grab a quick, cheap bite to eat or are missing any travel essentials (there's also a small pizza/sandwich joint right across from the 7 if that's your fancy). - Close subway access (5-10 min by walking).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    10
    Fix the parking situation and I like this hotel very much.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Room Selected at Check In
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was very poor and hard to find. My GPS didn't take me to where I needed to go so I had to ask for help. In fairness, there was major construction under way so this was not a normal situation. They charged me to park - this was not indicated when I booked. Given the circumstances they shouldn't be charging any way right now.

    I'd liked the physical location. I liked the fact that it's an historic hotel. The price was fair.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    8.3
    Clean and convenient location. No noise insulation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There's no noise insulation. You can hear loudly when people are in the hallway or when vehicles are outside the window in the lane way.

    Room was clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2017

    10
    Great Temple stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was difficult to find, as it is located inside the campus. Had to call the front desk and ask several people on the street where it was (midnight). Once there, we were happy!

    It was located on campus, so we were able to sleep in before our tour. Also the food trucks were amazing!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    6.3
    Convenient as part of drive to NY but locating a nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was hidden due to advance building on a university campus, it took an absolute age to find and even when we had walked to locate the hotel we still had trouble finding the entrance for the car, poorly signed and should of really been advised of the issues

    Not much

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2017

    6.7
    Changes made after booking without notification and choices.
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booked for 2 queen beds and was given a queen and twin. Was very disappointed that they made the change and had surgery which made sleeping arrangements uncomfortable with a twin and queen and not two queens which were booked.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    6.7
    Hotel placed in university campis.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom soon should be renovate.

    Hotel placed in university campis. Nice to see studenta life. Next to the hotel there is 7Eleven store and caffe with very good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    8.8
    Homey and comfortable small inn
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little hard to find and off the beaten bath somewhat (unless you are visiting Temple University specifically).

    Beds were so comfortable! Plenty of room to spread out, good parking, loved the free coffee in the lobby, pets allowed for a reasonable fee. Neighborhood felt very safe, too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2017

    10
    We were there for an event at Temple University and the...
    • Family with young children
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only thing I can think of was that we couldn't adjust the air conditioning, it was cold or we could shut it off and be comfortable. It seemed the dial was not working.

    We were there for an event at Temple University and the location was perfect. I liked that I could park my car there and not need to move it during our stay. The staff was very nice and helpful. We definitely will stay there again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location for visiting Temple University!!!
    • Solo traveler
    • Room Selected at Check In
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been nice if the room had one or two comfortable chairs (Queen Ann or Love Seat) to sit in. The room definitely had the room for this. Also, the room had plain walls; some artwork or other decorations would have made it feel more "cozy."

    I loved that the room had a set of stairs going from the entry way landing down to the sleeping area. The staff was VERY cheerful and helpful and the bed was very comfortable!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasent
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price

    I liked that the inn was on the college premises ..we drove down from Maine to do my son's oreintation ...He will be moving in on August 22nd and I brought my Parents along so that they could see what a great college that their grandson will be attending and they just loved it .As well as I do ..Only thing in my complaint is the price is a little high for what you get...And being a parent I can't see myself coming to visit my son as often as I would like....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    9.2
    Great Location - Good Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Make sure you inform the hotel as soon as possible about parking. Parking is limited so make sure you reserve some.

    Liked the hotel and staff - loved the location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable and reasonably priced!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints. Didn"t see the option for paid parking on Booking and wish I had known about that before arrival.

    Very comfortable. We were visiting Temple so the location was perfect!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2017

    10
    Quaint, spacious hotel in a great part of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was one of the most quaint hotels that we have ever stayed in. The location was perfect. It was in what seemed to be a very safe area, and it was only about a 2 mile drive to the historic sites in Philly. The room was very spacious, and the welcome cookies were delicious!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2017

    9.6
    Brief but enjoyable visit
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is very hard to find the turn to go to Conwell Inn off of Broad St. My taxi driver ended up passing it then we had to drive around a little longer before I eventually got out and walked the rest of the way. The instructions on the website say "If you get to Norris St. you've gone too far!" But they don't say what to do at that point!

    I liked that the property was right on Temple's campus. It is in a really great location and Saxby's coffee shop right off the lobby was great!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    2.9
    Will never go back.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    dirty hallways,dirty shower curtain,dirty carpets,the only ice machine and microwave available to us was in the basement and the microwave was dirty and smelled like old milk.They charged extra pet fee but had no accommodations for them,all of the staff except for one were cold towards us and our pets,only one blanket in a room where we couldn't get the temperature to warm up.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2017

    8.8
    Nearby construction started very early in the morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nearby construction started very early in the morning. We didn't ask to change rooms, but perhaps another room not facing the construction would have been quieter. Also, staff reset the A/C to VERY cold while we were out for the day. Not sure why anyone would do that (?)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    9.2
    Great little Inn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We travelled to Philly to attend a concert at the Liacouras center. For this purpose, staying on Conwell Inn was perfect, as it is literally a 3 minute walk door to door. The inn is located on a college campus, so most of the dining option are fast food - Chipotle, Qdoba, 7/11...etc. The check in process took 2 minutes and we were off to our room - which was basic but just perfect for a one night stay. I would absolutely recommend Conwell Inn for short term stay in the area!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    10
    An amazing temporary home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much, everything was pretty much to the point.

    Loved the overall look of the place, very neat and clean. Loved what the rooms looked like. Would definitely book them again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    7.5
    Close to subway but can be difficult to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn't drive real close to the front door and had to load our luggage in the rain! We were allowed to temporarily park near the police station to load, which was about 30 feet from the door. The police were nice and moved their car for us. There are some beautiful campus buildings near the hotel that you should visit.

    The hotel was 2 blocks from the Orange line, so that was very convenient. The hotel Is actually located on the grounds of temple University, which made it hard to find. Parking was Ok, in the alley and cost $15.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    7.5
    The room was basic but comfortable, it was a good location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a room over the outside seating for a cafe and it was really loud in the mornings.

    The room was basic but comfortable, it was a good location for what we needed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2017

    6.3
    Great Stay for Parents of Temple University students, but not for average Traveler
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom vent had years of Dust accumulated on it. Housekeeping staff needs to "Look Up" . Cab Driver had difficulty finding Hotel picking us up, and another Cab Driver had difficulty bringing us back to Hotel. We had to direct him to Broad Street and search for Pollet Way. :-(

    Front Desk Clerk was nice .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2017

    7.5
    Good location, clean...but car parking expensive....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No breakfast (could link up with café that is attached), no fridge/safe...car parking expensive at £15 per night - I thought it was for duration of stay :(

    Room was clean, beds good, location not to far from City Centre (can walk)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2017

    7.5
    Location Location Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No fridge! Minimal parking spaces for hotel guests but eventually hotel staff was able to get us a parking space.

    Location was spot on and the security of having a police division next door was comforting

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2016

    6.7
    If you like 7-Elevens and not much scenery when on Business.
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not that it is the hotel's fault, but there is NOWHERE to grab a decent bite within walking distance. Considering that it's by Temple university, it reminded me of the bad parts of Newark NJ. Also, the parking is sparse and be prepped to possibly park at a parking deck. Not that this might matter in the summer, but I stayed there during the most windy and cold day in November. So keep that in mind.

    I liked that it was cheap and relatively close to the museum on a marathon weekend.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2016

    8.8
    Nice setting!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Inn is nearly impossible to find. The night clerk wasn't very helpful - on our third call we kept her on the phone until we arrived. It would be helpful if a map were included with the confirmation.

    Nice setting!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2016

    9.6
    Love the location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That the garbage trucks are dumping and crashing outside the window at 8am on a Saturday morning.

    Love the location! So convenient and our room was nice and big. Great for visiting son at Temple! And the new coffee shop attached is great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2016

    8.3
    Very convenient location for Temple parents.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is one front desk person who just does not enjoy her job. Not friendly at all, and actually sighed when I asked a question, as if she was being bothered by my question. Employees like that should probably not work with the public.

    Very convenient location for Temple parents. Room was quiet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2016

    6.7
    Alot of money for a little service
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Website stated bed and breakfast. There was no breakfast offered, very misleading. Also, staff did not show a willingness to address issues. We had a shower that was clogged up which meant taking showers above your ankles. A staff member came up with a plunger which obviously did not work. Promised us a staff member would come up with drano, never happened. Felt like our issues was an inconvenience for her. Very disappointing for 190 dollars. A discount was given for 26 dollars after we inquired. Did not feel it was sufficient.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2016

    5.4
    During our stay the bathroom was not cleaned and clean hand...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    During our stay the bathroom was not cleaned and clean hand towels were not provided. Paper coffee cups were not replaced. In the room we expected there to be tea as an option to drink, not just coffee......for those people who do not drink coffee. I found two cockroaches in the room one day.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2016

    9.6
    Nice unique location, convenient for the university and getting something different or of your holid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The coffee shop was a little loud in the early evening, room 210 is directly above. There is some building going on nearby.

    The location was unique and gave us a little bit more of an experience on our holiday. The room was large and comfortable. The air conditioning was quiet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2016

    10
    Fantastic room and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was construction on campus which started early in the morning and was quite noisy.

    The room was very spacious and comfortably fit or family of five. The location was great with a 7-11 downstairs and a sandwich shop. Close enough to downtown to either take public transit or a cab/Uber.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2016

    7.1
    Good hotel for visitors to Temple University
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty much a room-only hotel. Furnishings a little dated.

    1) On-site Temple University location, 2) Beds & pillows very comfortable; 3) Good value

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2016

    9.2
    nice room, location on campus of Temple U.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Upon arrival I had momentarily problems with my credit card (card blocked as I was on an oversees trip and had not informed my bank). They would not let me check-in unless I solved the problem with my credit card. After a long, one-day trip, one would have hoped that they would be a bit less strict and let me check-in and solve the issue later, especially given that I proposed to hand in a official ID document instead and that I was going to stay for 4 nights. Flexibility in those situations would certainly be appreciated!

    nice room, location on campus of Temple U., closeness to train and subway.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2016

    7.9
    The Place for TU Families!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really just the carpeting and two of the three times we went to the front desk we had to wait for a clerk,

    It's s very quaint hotel, although the carpet is a bit too aged. Great location for Temple families!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2016

    7.9
    Move-in days
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking area stunk like garbage.because of the business dumpsters. The businesses should hose that area at least weekly or Conwell Inn should fit that into their maintenance schedule.

    Convenience to the dorm for drop-off was perfect. .Staff was lovely (thank you Veronica!)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2016

    6.3
    More downsides than perks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Front desk girls were not very helpful and friendly, besides Amanda, who really did her best to make us feel at home. She also offered to wash our laundry for free - which I really appreciated - but there was an accident and many of our clothing items were ruined with bleach. Not her fault, but we were promised a compensation that we never had. Whatsmore, the wifi didn't work well from our room. The signal was very fair and the connection wasn't stable at all, so we were moved to another room. Same problem, the wifi was good outside the rooms but not inside. I definitely wouldn't go back to this hotel or recommend it.

    The hotel is located on Temple campus and it was a pretty quiet area. The rooms were OK, quiet at night. Location is OK as well, you can easily walk to the subway station.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2016

    8.3
    Need to visit Temple University- Think Cronwell Inn!
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    thought the lobby was too warm - did not sense air conditioning

    attended son's Temple White Coat Ceremony at Performing Arts Center- so location copuld not have been better

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2016

    8.8
    Always a great stay at the Conwell!
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The girl that checked us in didn't seem too happy she was a little surly.

    Bed was very comfortable and you can't beat the size of the room! Very clean!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2016

    7.5
    The room was very large and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room cleaning was only half done - it looked like the work was interrupted in the middle

    The room was very large and comfortable. Very good value for money

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75