Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Dana on Mission Bay 3 stars

1710 W Mission Bay Dr. , Mission Bay, San Diego, CA 92109, USA

#63 of 226 hotels in San Diego

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 597 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    The entire stay could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were small spiders in the room and the birds were noisy early in the morning. They were walking on the roof and crowing outside the window. The restaurant was very pricey and food average for the amount of money it is asking for.

    Free bikes during our stay but one of the bikes got a flat. We walked back to the resort with a flat bike.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful view of the water
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A shuttle to the Zoo would have been nice as well. Wish the Firefly menu was more varied

    Beautiful view of the water The deli sandwiches down along the marina were fabulous. Great to offer shuttle bus to Sea World.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful location. comfortable. clean. great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have said the pool opening at 10:00 but we went in at 9 and no one kicked us out. Another nod to their exemplary service.

    The staff all seemed to have customer service training beginning with the reception area. The girl described EVERYTHING we asked her. Restaurant staff were wonderful and always offered to do extra. Luis was the man!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    Views are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was really expensive for what you got, especially for the children. The bed was not comfortable at all. WiFi kept kicking us off.

    Views are great. The hotel is centrally located to many things. The pool was nice, with plenty of seating.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.8
    Not quite what I expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room didn’t have a view of boats and harbor like I thought we would. So not what I was expecting. We did have a view of Seaworld’s firework show from the bathroom. Our first night there we had to listen to loud music till 11:30.

    Our room was large and nice. We were close to seaworld.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Overall it was great, quite, cute and quaint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant

    We made reservations at the restaurant for 8:40 PM, when we arrived they told us that they were closing the kitchen in 10 minutes and had to make a decision on what we wanted to order. It felt rushed and very inconsiderate, they should have told us this over the phone when we made the reservation. The food was horrible and there was little to no options to order from.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    pleasant stay, will stay again in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the omelete chef needs a little smiling, look angry every morning but he has good skill to cook eggs

    front desk ladies with good smiling,. room services are very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.9
    I liked this hotel and the location and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service was slow at the hotel restaurant the and sever seemed grumpy, it was not busy, so service should have been better.

    Location was perfect, on the bay, near beaches, and tons to do. The pool was also very nice with a bayside view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location, comfy beds and great food!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Found a few fleas in the room (not an infestation by any means), but it was enough to ask to switch rooms. Also, the first room smelled really musty/moldy. The second room they gave me was 100x better! Had no issues in second room. Also I came back to stay with a friend a few days later for pleasure instead of business and had no issues in that room.

    Beds were very comfy, and the food at the restaurant Firefly was top notch. Great service at Firefly as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    Well worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People leaving food trays outisde rooms or under the stairs. Maybe there should be a area to put trays after they are done. Nust to make the walking path look better

    The beds was comfy. Room was clean. Staff was friendly and fast with request. The hotel was really close to mission beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Excellent As Always!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the rooms are lovely but the larger rooms on the bay were just a bit dark.

    The hotel layout is very nice, it's easy to get in and out of your room. The location is lovely and the dinner food at the restaurant is amazing, try to roast or sea bass! Sometimes we come just to have dinner at the restaurant overlooking the pool and the bay. I'm a local and I've done a few staycations here, I also refer family to stay here when they come to visit. We love this hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    We checked in at 1:00am.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Bay View, Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We checked in at 1:00am. There was only 1 person in front desk duty and he was on the phone with an upset client. We waited 20 minutes to check in while the call went on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    This is a great hotel to escape to with your family!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying at the Dana was truly a vacation! I was traveling with my husband and 3 sons and I never felt cramped in the room. I was very impressed by the cleanliness of the whole facility! The pools are gorgeous! My youngest loved the movies by the pool each night. I will definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.7
    Quick 3 night getaway. Close to SeaWorld and beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, the noise from the main street was quite loud at night. To make things worse, we were placed in a room next door to very loud teenage guys. They were stomping around (which literally made my room shake) and they were loud - knocking on each others’ doors or slamming the door late into the night and early morning. I had complained to staff after midnight the first night. They could not move us to a quieter room since they were almost at capacity and the rooms they did have only had one bed (we needed two beds with our family of four). They did send security to tell the guys to keep the volume down, but that didn’t stop them for the remaining nights we were there. It was disappointing, especially for the amount of money we paid for the room.

    The restaurant on site was good for breakfast and dinner. The location is close to SeaWorld and has a shuttle that runs frequently.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.1
    Good choice for vacation/leisure
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast buffet could offer more choice.

    Location is pleasant for vacation, with many activities on Mission Bay nearby. It's definitely not a luxury hotel, but it's decent and the value for money is good. The bed is comfy ! Breakfast in the sunshine is a good way to start the day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we got was rather small for our family of 4 but still comfortable. The breakfast buffet at the hotel was okay. It's best to find a good restaurant on your stay rather than eating at the property. My husband was upset they charged us for the buffet for our two small kids when they only had pancakes, which they barely ate. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay.

    The loction of this hotel is fantastic.The hotel is very close to Sea World, Belmont Park and Mission Beach are just right up the street, maybe a mile. Ocean Beach is about 2/3 miles away. Our room was clean and the property is gorgeous! We will be back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.6
    I am very happy with my stay and I would definitely recommend The Dana to friends and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom didn't have a fan and there was no trash. Also, it was a little awkward not having a door between the sinks and the room.

    The reception staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. The restaurant Firefly was delicious and very friendly as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area on rainy days is too small

    It is an allergy friendly hotel. I have MCS and The Dana was allergy free! The beds were soft and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.5
    heated pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bathroom near the pool or anywhere on grounds, had to return to room from pool to use restroom Makes you wonder how may people would use the pool instead of walking all the way back to room. Hummmmm

    heated pool

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    5.8
    Was unable to get a good nights sleep over my 3 night stay;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan in bath; no insulation=very noisy; small parking spots, bathroom felt a little cramped and not to clean; price too high for value

    Liked the location and multiple pools and spas, pool bar, restaurant, fire pit. Missed the movie. Liked the tropical vegetation, shutters, linen were clean and ok quality. Towels were pretty well used and some stained. Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Overall an excellent experience. Would not hesitate to stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wish the room had curtains. It had thick wood blinds but no curtains(thick or thin). Was not able to let natural light in without completely sacrificing privacy.

    Beds were extremely comfortable. Room was impeccable!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    3.3
    Wont be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator to second floor room. Room was old. Paint peeling from bathroom ceiling. Additional charge for Dana fees of $31/night that was not mentioned in price. 10 miles from downtown.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Price seems cheap online but there are BIG hidden fees.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't forget to check the (RESORT FEE) it will add $30.00 USD to your daily rate. Sneaky for a place that seems more like a motel on the water rather than a resort.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.9
    The property is mostly people going to Sea World so it...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hair in the bathtub from previous guests and the beds aren't very comfy.

    The property is mostly people going to Sea World so it wasn't really what i'd consider romantic. Perhaps if you had certain lodging that was away from the family fun them park feel. I had to rate it not so good on cleanliness as there was hair still in my bathtub from previous guests. Overall it was still a good stay ... your staff made it worth it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.8
    Overall it’s a very nice hotel I would definitely stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of noise from the surrounding rooms in the room smelled very musty it could’ve used an Airwick plug-in

    I love to be included amenities such as coffee in The room complementary water bottles mini fridge microwave iron ironing board app through HBO free Wi-Fi

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    In addition to a resort fee they charge you a non-refundable...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Duplex Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In addition to a resort fee they charge you a non-refundable $25 per night "incidental" fee in case there is damage to the room. It is not returned and it is charged regardless of if you use a credit card here or pay cash. I didn't find this out until check in at the front desk; when you make your reservations with sales they don't tell you that.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff not welcoming, trees not organize, high price for nothing

    I follow the hight rate given to this hotel but unfortunatly it not as expectation and the place not organized

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Very relaxing vacation resort feeling!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a 24 HR beach launch or dock launch for our personal sup's or kayaks

    Being close to the water/ harbor. Movie night at the pool. Liked the tropical theme and landscape. The pools were excellent! Microwave in the room and comfy robes were nice to have too

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing stay at a well-run resort. Would go back any time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Really enjoyed our stay at the Dana. Room was clean and well-equipped, pools and other facilities excellent, and above all the staff were all unfailingly helpful and courteous. For the price we did not expect 4* amenities, but even so our expectations were exceeded. Overall very good value and no real complaints.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    My family enjoyed The Dana and will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff could have afforded to be a little friendlier, even though there is a marina easier beach access would have been nice.

    Property was gorgeous, full of beautiful flowers and tropical bushes, wonderful placement next to the marina, breakfast buffet was great and offered a wide variety.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.1
    location, acces to bike rentals, free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    small hallways and room space, our room had a view pool but kids movies would be played a t night and we wanted to rest from that. found hair in the bathtub and pillows were to high and too soft

    location, acces to bike rentals, free parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.1
    I would recommend the The Dana highly for rest and relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Bay View King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cost of the daily resort fee for the facilities we did not use.

    My husband and I spent 4 days here for rest and relaxtion and it was very peaceful and relaxing. Property location is excellent. The waiters/hostess at the restaurant very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.9
    Looks like property was built at two different times, we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Looks like property was built at two different times, we stayed in the older part. No elevator to second floor rooms were nice but older. Pools and landscaping were well kept. Pool side movies for the kids a big plus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They put a 250.00 hold on our credit card for 45days even after we paid with a different credit card

    The food was amazing and the staff was so friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    The whole stay was perfect and just what we needed- will definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could comment on was our outside patio door was broken so we couldnt leave the door open without things flying in.

    The room, staff and location was brilliant. The pools were lovely and I loved that they stayed open late for a late night dip after a long day. We also got a lovely upgrade on arrival with being on our honeymoon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.3
    Came for our anniv and a wedding. Not quite as relaxing as we had hoped for.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was a bit high, the bathtub needed to be resurfaced and root rootered. The neighbors next store were fighting and yelling for two nights during our stAy. Difficult to sleep and enjoy our stay.

    Nice location, friendly staff and nice pools.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Comfy, friendly location, excellent to relax. Beach within reasonable walking distance,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found the breakfast quite expensive ($18 per person) hence prohibitive

    Loved the film evenings in the pool and the animations projected. The complimentary yoga session in the morning was great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Staff were all smiles and accommodated my every need! We will see you all again very soon! Thanks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were awesome! We got an upgraded room at a low rate with beautiful views! And like Jeseah at the front desk said, we did NOT regret it! They accommodated my every request and made me feel safe. Pools were beautiful and I couldn't believe how nice and friendly everyone was. Such a great resort they are running with staff with all smiles! We LOVED our stay and will see you all again soon!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.2
    Love the resort not the hassle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like how I booked a full ocean view king room and when I got to the hotel I was told I booked a "any view room". They said since its through a third party site it could be any view. I paid the price of an ocean front view and I was told I could have the pool view which was cheaper on your site. I told them that was not acceptable especially when I could have saved money and chosen the pool view if I knew this was going to happen in the first place. They ended up finding a ocean view however it was two queen beds. Although the room was still nice I would have had a better time not having to deal with any of this and got the room I booked.

    Very nice rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Good value hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great value family room Lovely views of the bay Great location - Easy to get to Mission Bay, Gaslamp, Balboa Park and La Jolla areas Pools and "Dive In" Movie nights

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.8
    Upset about being charged twice
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has charged me twice on my credit card for my 3 night stay and every day there is a $35 dollar resort fee to pay in addition for nothing. Breakfast is too expensive and charged daily per person. Overall this is a very expensive hotel for 2 star accommodations

    The view around the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Good sized room for a family of 6.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite with Two Queen Beds and Park View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was situated on the ground floor and overlooked the park. This didn't give us much privacy if we wanted to relax outside. We were there on a Sunday so the park was full with people hanging out. Felt as if we had people in our back yard. This hotel is far from downtown San Diego but walking distance to the beach. We only had 1 full day so chose the beach.

    Good sized room for a family of 6. Beautiful setting. Great pool. Very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Nice and quite!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was kinda poopy but it was still beautiful. I really don't have anything bad to comment on!

    Nice and quite! Location was perfect!! Very accommodating! My boyfriend and I drove in and got in pretty early for check in but they still got us in before normal check in time. Super awesome!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    It was wonderful; I hated to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Next year's annual Family Reunion I just may book the whole week.

    Everything was excellent, however I book an extra day to be with family. Unfortunately, I booked with the resort and not Booking.com. My mistake and a costly one

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.8
    Clean rooms, restaurant & pools.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small, very small, towels at pool.

    Clean rooms, restaurant & pools. Pool nice temperature. Dive-in movies every night. Fine restaurant. Discounts on restaurant. Jet-skis, boats, etc. to rent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    5.0
    Location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smaller than anticipated Pool seemed dirty, the water was a bit milky Carpet stains, worn out Spa was a closet. Truly, about 1/4 of the size of our tiny hotel room.

    Location was great! Amenities were all available Maid service was great, very friendly Great massage! (Ken)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Worth every penny!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free breakfast Would have been an added treat

    Everything was perfect. And they upgraded us and let us check in early!! Wish we could have stayed longer. Was only there for the night

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    We loved the bay area but our guests (family members) left early due to the limited space to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were told on booking.com that room was 600 sq. feet and this is not true, we had two queen beds and asked for a small extra for our granddaughter and furniture had to be moved to accomodate a blow up half mattress. Staff was very assisting with this, however, when I booked this room I was under the assumption that it was bigger than the one we had earlier in san diego but it was smaller which was an inconvenience and crowded four adults and child more than anticipated. For this reason, I felt the value was not as good as I had expected. Checked with hotel and they said none of their rooms were this size and that this was a booking.com error but she was going to let her manager know of the issue also.

    Quiet, near seaworld, lovely setting on bay, nice pools, water activities available, easy walk to bay, beach areas, nice staff and room workers, nice restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    5.8
    Room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner staff was to busy to give proper service. Plates sat on table. 15 min until they got to us. Wedding party with live band outside our door until 10 then drunks until 12. No help when checking in from maitre d.

    Room was clean. Nice area. But not worth the price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    customer service all around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    customer service all around. when i first checked in, we had a room on the second floor, but Chad at the front desk found a room on the first floor for us due to my wife"s condition. but wait. I hand car trouble at sea world and my fix for it was back at the motel. a driver name James came to sea world, picked up me and my family. also returned me to sea world so i could get my van.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful room and grounds. Rude staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was rude. We needed a late night place to have dinner and the Front Desk recommended Denny's. Tub stopper was broken had to take a shower with my 6 month old son. Caulk in shower was gross.

    Beautiful grounds. Centrally located.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rodents crawling in the walls, the uncomfortable bed, and no view through the windows.

    Walking by the bay. The view of the boats, etc, was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Great stay at The Dana Mission Bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    Stunning location, great views from the balcony and marina. Nice, clean pools and onsite restaurant was good! Good location for getting around, with no shortage of things to do

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    The room was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean. The parking was easy and close to room. Staff at the boat/kayak rental were friendly and helpful. Our server at the pool was pleasant and nice. Easy check in and out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Very relaxing stay in a beautiful oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I opened the window of the room, everybody passing there could look inside. I would improve privacy with a tend allowing air to pass

    Great location, super helpful staff, very nice pools and rooms. As Italian I can say the restaurant is very good and its staff is very kind.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    The property was nice to walk around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a little small. The bathroom is tiny. Hard to manuever especially when you have little kids.

    The property was nice to walk around. The Marina was gorgeous and very calming. The two pools were nice and the outdoor movie each night added something extra you dont get at other places.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    family friendly tropical paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The on-site restaurant is a bit spendy for budget conscience families but there were other less expensive options close by. Other than that it was a really great place to stay.

    The tropical pool was a great area to relax at after visiting the theme parks. Our youngest child (8yrs) especially enjoyed the pool side movies every night. Having a bar at each pool was a plus for me & mom. The staff was super friendly especially the 2 ladies who worked at the gift shop and our room was always clean and well made when we returned in the evenings. The location is great, only minutes away from Seaworld, zoo, Belmont Park and beaches. There is also the marina which offers boat & watercraft rentals and there are bike rentals available as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Very comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't elevator so up & down stairs. Free water but they never restocked our room w bottles. Walk to front desk was dangerous & long. No path way. Movie night by pool meant loud movie right outside our window.

    Very comfortable beds. Clean property

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    Roomy, kid friendly, nice shower, comfortable room, space...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restroom trash can was in the walkway and had wet toilet paper on the bottom. I moved it back to restroom and underneath it was a large puddle of water. Also had to call for toiletries after our late check in.

    Roomy, kid friendly, nice shower, comfortable room, space for the kids. Staff was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    3.8
    Piss poor hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The alcohol

    I booked and paid for a kind bed and got a 2 queen room. I was also promised an upgrade, that never happened. The room looked like my old barracks when I was stationed active duty. I'll never return to this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to know there was a market within walking distance upon check in. No information in the room regarding nearby restaurants, sights, etc. The onsite restaurant was too pricey. No "average" food options such as burgers or sandwiches.

    Beautiful views.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    One of the greatest in San Diego
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Bay View King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the landscape of the property. The fire pits by the pool are awesome. Parking was great and the bartender and entire staff at the hotel were super pleasant. The room was spacious and very clean!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.3
    Lovely stay, just a little difficult getting there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were not able to help coordinate arrival/departure. It was tough for those arriving by train. If they might simply investigate and give information about best method of picking up rental cars after arriving at the train station, it would have saved us time and stress. It turned out not to be so far or difficult in the end, but we only discovered this by making several phone calls ourselves while on the road.

    The property was relaxed, pleasant, family-friendly and with a lovely marina view. It was also good value for the price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    I booked at the last minute because I am having work done on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That I couldn't stay longer

    I booked at the last minute because I am having work done on my house and couldn't spend the night at home. This hotel is about 2 miles from my house. The price was good and the property a delightful surprise. Not what I expected from a last minute booking.I loved everything about my stay. The rooms look like they have been recently redone, everything was clean and stylish. I had a lovely view of the marina. The pools and jacuzzis were clean and well attended. I will keep this property in my phone for another staycation and as a place for out of town friends and family. I especially appreciated the late check out - 2pm!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    7.9
    Pillows and bedding in general were very comfy, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in the washing area. Having the washing area was a plus but the lighting was a super strong white.

    Pillows and bedding in general were very comfy, very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.9
    Non motorized rentals next to hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bathrooms at either of 2 pools. Inconvenient to have to go back to hotel with a child constantly. No bay sand for play. All rocks at a dock. Was not aware.

    Non motorized rentals next to hotel. Pool temperature warm.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.9
    Great weekend at the Dana
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little musty and humid. Bed was not that comfy however, can't be absolutely perfect considering reasonable room rate. Would recommend and would stay again.

    Location was perfect. Layout of the property and grounds were pretty. Amenities offered at the marina was a great bonus too..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    5.8
    Poor location for jogging and beach access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Poor location for jogging and distance approximately 1 mile to the beach. And the courtesy car didn't run until 7:15 pm, according to the desk. Carpet in room 410 was soiled and should be replaced, additionally bird droppings remained on the patio table, so I didn't use the patio.

    The staff and food were excellent, as was the Happy Hour from 2-5 pm, but unfortunately didn't run to 6 pm.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    My go to place for San diego trips
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything!

    I absolutely loved it at the Dana i recommended it to anyone going to san Diego. My friend actually took my word for it and tried it out, he came home and told me they had a blast! Great for adults traveling with or without kids.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.5
    The property was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property was beautiful. However, I really wanted a bay front property with access to the beach part of the bay. This property is more of a marina front.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.6
    Will be back as positive anniversary atay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many taxes and fees making good price for top hotel but $60 more to pay for one night. Signs need to be displayed on a pole with lights very hard to find at night

    Staff very helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.6
    The hotel is centrally located to many attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is centrally located to many attractions. We utilized the pool and food/drink server at the pool daily. Discounts are given for food and drinks upon arrival. Staff was amazing and super accommodating. They have paddle boarding rentals that my oldest girls used and a kids movie at one of the pools each night We will definitely be back!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Excellent room and service we loved our stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Bay View, Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there was more for parking

    The room was perfect for our family and the view was phenomenal from our balcony!! Very kid friendly too!! Definitely will be back for next vacation..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    5.8
    Amazin location of motel 6
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Accommodations are just like in Motel 6 for $24 a night. Smelly and very outdated rooms. Dirty bed sheets. Terrible pillows and blankets. The whole room is shaken when people are walking in hallways or rooms next door or above you. The worst part of the stay was an air conditioning. It's located in the bathroom by the floor. If you want to use it (without it it's impossible) you can't be in the bathroom at the same time! Freezing cold air blasts on you. I will not stay in this property again.

    Let's start by positive. Beautiful property outside. Great Restaurant! Friendly staff! Shuttle to and from Sea World.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.2
    Great place & great stay
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC unit was the only problem. Didn't like how it's. it in the main room where people sleep

    I like how I came I came in before my check in time and Aaron found me a room with a view. The pool is nice and clean. There's a ping pong table outside to use to kill time.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Dana on Mission Bay traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: