Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Donatello Hotel 4 stars

501 Post Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102, USA

#40 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 783 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found mattresses quite hard

    This hotel is ideally situated in the heart of downtown san Francisco within easy reach of buses, trams and underground trains. This is the 3rd time I've stayed here. I find it dependable and it meets all my needs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Time share marketing

    Block from the cable car line, one the same street as the bus line, sink, refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave , and dishes. Noisy street but then again that’s par for SF in the city. Oh and Comfy beds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The gym

    Nice, clean and comfy bed, microwave and sink area were good to prep food. Nice bathroom and shower, staff were friendly. My only disappointment was the gym, 3 machines.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a pull out bed in our room, when we pulled out the bed there was a underwear stuck underneath the bed 😔

    Rooms are clean and bed is really comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ,everything was perfect for my stay.

    I didn't expect this hotel to be so good, excellent location , so clean , staff were fantastic very friendly. We got a room for four it was huge with high quality beds, even the fold out bed was very comfortable. Shower was huge and classy.Im still in awe what great value this room was, would definitely recommend. Private parking was only $35 for 24hrs. WiFi was free, we used the gym and jacuzzi yes they were small but very clean and done the job.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was fabulous, recently refurbished. The bed was huge & extremely comfortable. We were minutes from Union Square and walking distance to all the great attractions. I would definitely recommend the Donatello Hotel 👍🏻😁

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint is that Saturday morning the concierge called and said we had a welcome package. When we went down to pick it up there was infact no package they just wanted to try and sell us on coming to the timeshare breakfast to sell us on that. Felt very deceitful on the staffs part to try and con us to stopping by.

    Centrally located. Nice renovated rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud flushing toilet, remodel construction began at 8am Saturday and Sunday. Was told it began at 10am

    Comfy bed, clean room, pleasant staff, coffee on the top floor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows need to be double panes. Very noisy even when closed. There wasn’t a breakfast place in hotel besides room service. Lobby needs work, no flow

    Shower was done well Coffee maker needs updating

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise is a problem, but location is worth it, if you can book room at a good price.

    Great location, but ongoing building maintenance is noisy. This time around we asked for a room at the back away from traffic noise which worked a lot better.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like your new shower , I prefer your bath tube for comfort ,plus you took off the TV in the bathroom who was fun and special....BIG mistake.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Full payment was deducted a month before our stay which is completely different from the Booking.com agreement which is pay on arrival. We were on the fith floor and roadside noise is incredible. No double glazed windows and you can hear everything in the busy road below. We did asked to be moved to a quieter room, but no rooms were available.

    We were placed in the newly renovated area. Therefore clean and comfortable. Staff are friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small. Could barely move arround if sofa bed was open . Very small bathroom. You could hear the hallway noise. Counter with spots. Way too expensive valet parking 35$ day !!!! No free breakfast. Very small lobby . Way too expensive for the quality offered !

    Location was somewhat good but there were too many homeless just outside and spoiled the atmosphere .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel os currently going under some renovation and therefore noisy during day time. The bath sink did not work properly. However hotel staff was quite polite during our stay and tried to compansate this with some gestures. This was our 4th time in this hotel and we will probably stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing the Donatello can change but you will hear city noises I.e fire trucks ect but I am a light sleeper and still managed ok. We are well aware of the renovations going on before we booked and were fine with that occurring from 10-6 but if you were planning to hang out at the hotel during the day I'd consider this factor.

    The room was bigger than expected, very comfortable bed and great location, very easy to get to everything from here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brand new rugs needed vacuuming, not dirty, but still had installers small cutting left on rug, that is how new the rom was. I hope the next step would be refurbishing elevator doors as they are remenants of what previous hotel was like and didn’t fit with rest of remodel.

    New remodeled rooms are really nice,everything is brand new, like staying in a brand new hotel. Bed was lusciously comfortable. Showers big enough for two.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do note some parts of the hotel is still under going renovation and the front desk did inform us that there might be some noise coming from the renovation when we check in. The noise did not really bother us, since we are out most of the time during the day.

    - Excellent location, within 3 mins walk to union square. - very good size room - we got the refurbished room that was renovated just 2 weeks ago.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had a renovated room. Although it looked 'nice' it was to practical. No dresser for clothes! Why take away the dressers??? I don't understand that logic. Also, the person we thought was the concierge turned out to be a Wyndham 2 hour presentation. Actual hotel concierge is on the 15th floor.

    Liked having coffee all day. The fitness center was acceptable. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pushy staff about membership, toiletries could have been better, lack of USB outlets.

    Kitchenette was well stocked, comfy bed, location, and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we had no water on Saturday afternoon and were Not notified.

    The use of the club room space on Friday for an unplanned but wonderful family gathering was Outstanding. Thank you so much !!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took 20 minutes to check in Fatima at the counter had to call someone twice to ask for assistance in guiding her on the phone for my incidental payment. The next day I was told the incidentals were not charged and they wanted to swipe my card again. I refused because at this point incidentals were over and I had none so there was no need

    Location close to everything I needed to do.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym opened too late. It was way too small to accommodate the number of people who wanted to use it. I thought the bathrooms could have been updated.

    I liked the kitchen. It made it convenient to heat up left over food. We could snack anytime.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no fault of the hotel but the traffic noise was extremely loud, they may need new window sealing it sounded as if the fire truck was coming straight through the room.

    The bed was very comfy and the room decor was beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel’s only restaurant is great, but was not open for breakfast. Similarly, the hours for which room service is available are fewer than others which do serve breakfast. This isn’t a major strike however, as the hotel is in a great location close to many breakfast solutions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from renovation/ construction was horrible...We were told it would go unitl 4pm and it went until 6pm. The constant drilling was so loud, I couldn't hear my husband talk. I have always loved the Donatello, but this was unacceptable. I was on the 9th floor and it sounded like it was above us. We were informed that it was below on the 7th & 8th floors. They should have been more informative of the actual conditions and noise. We spoke to other guests and they also were upset. I will never stay there again when they have any remodeling scheduled.

    Everyone there was great and helpful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Heavy construction work taking place. So loud from 9am until 6pm. When I say I mean LOUD! The whole hotel was complaining. There was no warning when we checked in. Ruined our trip.

    Clean and spacious rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service menu is extremely limited. Also, we were told there would be construction during our stay. However, we had no idea how loud it would actually be...it was ridiculous. The drilling, pounding, hammering, etc. was pretty unbearable. It sounded as if it was actually inside of our room...and it lasted 8 hrs per day :(

    The room is spacious & the bed is very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under construction but didn’t bother us.

    Large room with sitting area , roomy comfortable bed and quality linens. Kitchen bar and amenities very useful. Walkable to most of city sights and dining. Quiet at night for good sleep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Donatello is owned by a time-share company so, when you have booked in, you are turned over to the adjoining sales desk staff. We had forgotten how profoundly irritating it is to arrive tired from travelling (we had spent 2 days travelling to London then San Francisco, arriving late afternoon US time but after midnight by our UK body clocks), then be kept standing in hotel reception, clutching heavy bags and forced to endure a practised, cheerful sales pitch which offered more sales talk, $100 dollars for our time at a free breakfast....or something like that! By this point my brain had seized up and all I heard was garbled speech. I believe I said No rather firmly and we staggered away to the elevator.... Dear Donatello: We really really like your hotel, but help with luggage is more likely to win over weary (and, in our case, elderly) travellers than an effusively cheery sales pitch! I haven't deducted points from the hotel score because your staff are all doing their jobs properly, including the ones who have the thankless job of luring in potential time-share customers. I do think management needs to re-think the timing and nature of the 'welcome' marketing approach especially for foreign visitors who are unused to this kind of thing!

    We have stayed at the Donatello previously and would certainly stay there again. It is well situated for anything you might want to do in San Francisco. Close to Union Square and Market Street, close to theatres and with a great choice of cafes and restaurants. It's a short walk to cable cars, trams and buses and a 3 or 7-day pass gives you unlimited use of above ground transportation. The people at the hotel transportation desk, in the lobby, are really helpful! We were pleased to find ourselves in a corner bedroom, so we had windows and street views in 2 directions. The bed was big and comfortable and the bathroom excellent - the TV in the bathroom is something we didn't expect! We were warned ahead of arrival that the hotel was undergoing refurbishment in the early part of 2018, so we were prepared for some disturbance. In fact, we were really only aware of the work on one occasion and it was actually rather nice to know the amount of effort that is going into maintaining the hotel fabric. We would recommend anyone to try the Donatello, to experience its comforts and to check out the refurbishments!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is a little tired and the location of my room (over the cnr of post and mason) while attractive was noisy at night with sirens etc.

    The staff could not have been more gracious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being told.we had to go to another desk for check in and try to be sold on a timeshare. We've done that before and it's always lasted hours longer than they say.

    Comfy room, great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water bottles in the room. Has to go out every day to buy water bottles at CVS. Very inconvenient. Cleanses of overall hotel and room especially the carpet and floor can be improved. There is a smell on the hallway.

    Room is spacious. Location is excellent. Live jazz music at the restaurant is a plus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    ALL of the staff were amazing! They all seemed to be happy in their jobs, as well as genuinely interested in making our stay a good experience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi didn't work the entire time we were there (3 nights). We understand that it was beyond the control of the hotel and that we were staying during a holiday period. It just would have been nice if the hotel had offered some sort of compensation as it did impact on our stay.

    Comfortable beds, spaciousness of the room, easy access to shopping and transport, 24 hour check-in (our flight from Hawaii was delayed by nearly 4 hours and we didn't get to the hotel til around 1.30am). It was so nice having friendly staff greet us and check us in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They tried to sell us on a timeshare presentation when we arrived - I HATE THAT. Once we said no they stopped though. The housekeeping changed linens and refreshed the bath but DID NOT CLEAR AND REPLACED USED DISHWARE or REPLACE ANY OF THE CONDIMENTS like coffee and popcorn.

    The building location is great. The hotel is clean and staff friendly. They have valet parking (expensive compared to across the street). Rooms are spacious. The kitchenette was a plus. They have an actual coffee maker compared to the mediocre keurig quality single serve coffee makers. The club room had water and coffee but not snacks for the kids. They did have a friday night wine and cheese hour though.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the room was not ready for all the people, we should request help in the afternoon an it was not quicker. Wifi was off for more than 3 days.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower kept getting really hot randomly while showering. The wi-fi wasn't horrible, but it wasn't fast. Also, we thought the restaurant's food was really expensive and they charge too much for the delivery fee (I would skip and eat elsewhere.)

    I loved the location, it was easy to park the car all day and walk to Union Square. The bed was comfortable, the free coffee and tea upstairs was a bonus! I read somewhere that housekeeping was not everyday but when we came back to the hotel, our room was clean (so that's a bonus), we enjoyed the spa upstairs too! The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Donatello Hotel was a great choice for our 7 night stay in San Francisco. It had very reasonable rates during the holiday season, and was centrally located just one block away from Union Square. There are a lot of restaurants and diners in the area, so you don't have to worry about food. The area is generally safe, with occasional homeless people strolling around the area, but they shouldn't cause any worry. Homeless people are found everywhere in San Francisco. The room was a lot larger than I had expected, and the sofa beds are large and comfortable enough for two adults. The staff were super friendly and accommodating. I had packages sent to the hotel, and they were all handled well. I'll make sure to stay in the Donatello when I'm back in San Francisco

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was no working well,

    I love this spacious room , the bathroom with tV screen where my 7 year old girl was really enjoying her shows when she was in the shower ! The microwave in the room Was really nice too ..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. We have no criticism or complaints for this hotel at all, and would certainly stay here again or recommend to others. We liked the location - central but not unduly noisy - and so much within walking distance. Also liked the guests lounge up on the top floor.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable. Hard to sleep. Woke up sore each morning. Basically felt like sleeping on the floor. Staff kept pushing us to attend a timeshare presentation. That was annoying

    Layout of room. TV, kitchenette, small sofa

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Great location and friendly staff. They went out of the way to get us in the room early after a long flight. They were knowledgeable and made good recommendations about local places to eat. Room was large with lotta space.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We enjoyed the size of the room and the proximity of the hotel to downtown San Francisco. We were able to walk everywhere. The subway was close and we were able to go to and from the airport. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. Good value for the money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hot water in the shower is not very stable somtimes

    The room is very spacious and comfortable. Microwave, fridge and tableware wew very convenient. Location was also great. I would stay again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was fine as it was our first stay @ The Donatello Hotel.

    The staff was very nice and we were able to use the Club Donatello facilities such as reading the newspaper, drinking the coffee and relaxing before our return flight home. Very convenient location and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing! It isn't as old as some described.

    Excellent service and location, big and spacious. They even have a concierge to provide itinerary advice. Free drinks in their club was a nice gesture. Safe neighborhood. Thumbs up!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeping staff was very rude: never gave us new towels and I’m almost certain they hung up our dirty towels from the floor.

    The location and room size was incredible. Beautiful hotel!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv channels were limited and we were not able to see spanish channels but is was not too important because we were out of the hotel for almost the whole day

    The rooms and location was excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As soon as you check in they pitch you on a free breakfast (in other word a sales pitch on time share/properties) . Luckily I work in Sales and read some reviews so could smell it a mile off. Kind of tacky for a Wyndham chain hotel

    location, terrace and size of rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like being latched onto by the time share salesperson immediately after checking in. High pressure and unwanted. Don’t be fooled that this a concierge there to help you - they are there to rope you into a time share presentation.

    Very nice stay with a feeling of luxury. There’s even a TV built in to the bathroom mirror! How cool is that? Microwave, small fridge, and a full size coffeemaker. Bed very comfy, large couch ch with footrests and pillows. Loved the concierge floor with delicious coffee...no need to go to a coffee shop. Major shops just 2 blocks away - about 10 minutes walk. Loads of restaurants nearby in every price range. Highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lighting was poor especially in the kitchen type area but it seems that the US refers dim lighting using lamps so possibly just the norm there.

    Staff were lovely and bed was comfortable. Coffee and tea facilities were good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.Very enjoyable stay

    Central location, close to transport & shopping. The room was large with a very comfy bed! Staff were always friendly & helpful. Certainly recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside to this property is that it is a timeshare also and they are a little persistent in trying to get you to attend a sales presentation. We politely declined 3 times and that was the end of it.

    GREAT location. Room was very large and comfortable. Entire hotel was very clean. Had a minor problem with the heat and the staff was very quick and helpful in resolving. Great value!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed were very uncomfortable. Felt awkward when we were passed on to the concierge and we were told we would get free points but the catch was we had to attend a 90 minute breakfast to listen to selling pitch for time share. Felt like we were tricked and they kept harassing to reschedule.

    The location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room was on the 8th floor but the soundproofing from the street was almost non-existent. You could hear EVERYTHING. Trucks unloading at 5:00 a.m., dogs barking at 3:00 a.m., people shouting to each other at midnight. It was disruptive and non-peaceful. I have had hotel rooms on the first or second floor so much quieter than this. San Francisco can be a noisy city but nowhere that I have stayed in the city has been this noisy. It wasn't even on a major street. Other than that the room really was great.

    The room was comfortable, spacious, well appointed and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They invited guests to a free breakfast that turned out to be like a time share travel presentation. Maybe a little more transparency on what the presentation was about would be more helpful if its not for you. Not a massive deal but does take 2 hours off your holiday time.

    The room size was excellent and clean, and the location in the heart of the city was great. Close to the bus stop so getting around was cheap and easy. Bed was comfy, we had a great stay here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small bathroom but was ok and the effort to try us to get us to a free breakfast on the Friday to listen and tell us about a hotel chain type thing.

    Oversize main room and the staff going to great detail to tell us of the area. Top marks.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could do with an update.

    Great location and such a clean hotel and comfortable bed! The rooms are huge and great idea having a microwave and fridge.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit pricy.

    The hotel makes me feel at home due to their business centre set up on the top floor. The people there are very friendly and can easily remember your name:)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning broke on day one and never got fixed. No follow up either as to whether it was going to be fixed. Had to sleep with the window open for fresh air.....which was a bit noisy.

    Great location for Union Square and lots of facilities like cash machines close by.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lost our booking, given room, unpacked then moved to another room. When we left they charged us for 4 nights instead of 1 night!! Still trying to get our refund.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was dated. It had a crack in the sink and cracked tiles, rust on bottom of the door and the tub faucet had about two inches of bare pipe sticking out of the wall. I brought this to the attention of management and they offered to knock of the parking charge. Cheap response.

    Staff was very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In the heart of San Francisco. If you like to walk you can visit the city without a car! You can reach the Pier 39 with a very nice walk. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel didn't inform us about the water supply will be turned off during midnight ,the phone not even working so we had to go down to lobby to ask why but the front desk staff with really bad attitude saying when we checked in should be someone inform us already with a paper but we pretty sure we didn't receive any paper, never experienced such bad attitude at any hotel until this time ,we were even asking politely but he did apologize in the end.

    The room is actually bigger than we thought it would be

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were woken up on the second night by a vacuum cleaner at 2.30am because the hall way was flooded from a toilet. Very annoying didn't get much sleep that night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly and smooth check-in. During first night the water piping was defect and we were sent to the Hilton two blocks away, this change was well organized through a great team. We would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just be warned that you may be invited to a free breakfast for them to promote Shell vacation resorts.

    Big rooms, very clean, great location. It is no longer a hotel, it is a Club Shell vacations residence.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa bed was the worst ever. Springs sticking up into your back. Literally unusable. The kids slept on the couch. Was upset that there was no option for a rollaway bed.

    Location was excellent and king bed was comfy. The fridge and microwave was good to have and the plates and glassware in room were helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were somewhat dated, could use an upgrade.

    Spacious well lit room with food prep area and nice patio for eating outdoors. Good value for money in this overpriced city, anywhere else it would be average.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping was poor. First morning, no one made up the room. When we returned at 3 we had to call. They only changed towels. Second day, all morning garbage was left in counter and counter still had drink spills on it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single glazed windows meant traffic noise was horrendous. Pushy staff getting us to have a time share meeting even though we told her we already own a property abroad. She misled us by telling us it was a rewards scheme. Not happy 😡

    Location and excellent room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room Lighting poor, room service bad when we forgot to leave tip, I could not reach safe, overnight parking fee, no free wifi

    Location ,transportation right outside ,big room, food good restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room got a bit too light in the morning. Blackout blinds/curtains would have helped. There was a lot of building related noise from the street and not particularly well sound proofed in the room. Only other comment is that after we checked in we got a bit of a hard sell to attend a hotel presentation the following day. We declined and were not pushed further

    Room was spacious and clean, very comfortable. Small kitchenette area extremely useful to prepare lunchtime snacks

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was not included as it states when I book reservation. Breakfast menu needs a better variety. I ate breakfast from various restaurant during my stay.

    Great Staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Sales pitch when arriving. Also the bathroom was strange as there is a television imbedded in the mirror. It makes half of the mirror unusable so it's hard for two people to use the bathroom at the same time.

    Loved the location and the spaciousness of the rooms. Enjoyed the concierge floor where we could get coffee, tea and discounts for various restaurants and attraction.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Donatello Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: