Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Driskill – in the Unbound Collection by Hyatt 4 stars

604 Brazos Street, Austin, TX 78701, USA

#27 of 193 hotels in Austin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 538 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vintage Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From lobby to rooms your either take two elevators or go up stairs thru bar to second elevator. Minor inconvenience.

    Text mesage came in when we arrived at airport, requested early check in. Friendly valet staff took car, checked into room. Beauty historic hotel, rooms very clean. Great happy hour at bar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Not great, but super staff.
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wasn't really happy that they oversold the hotel. Moving between hotels was not great

    Although they oversold the hotel our first night, they paid for our night in a hotel around the corner plus the valet fees for both nights. The next morning, I asked if they could get us a room as soon as possible so we could take a nap after our early morning appointments, Sidney found me a room about 11:00 AM. Unfortunately we didn't get back to the hotel until after 11PM. When we checked into hotel, the manager saw what a frustrating day I had had and treated me to a glass of wine from the bar. When I got up to the beautiful, well appointed room, there was a bottle of wine from Sidney. The situation wasn't great, but the staff did wonderful job.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Elegant old hotel in the heart of vibrant downtown Austin
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not very many electrical outlets in the room.

    The bar is fantastic! The bathroom is large and spacious. Location is great! The breakfast restaurant was wonderful, full of old features and the food was very good. Newspapers available every day to pick up and read while eating.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    Only offered restaurant week menu when advertising original...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vintage Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only offered restaurant week menu when advertising original menu I was billed after I left my stay for breakfast that was included had to call for refund and did not receive a apology it was a good job I asked for email receipt

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Great overnight for a UT visit with son .
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking price of $45 is a bit steep as is charging $8 for a bottle of water in the room .

    Beautiful , historic , 5 star quality hotel with true Texas flair . The rooms and baths are spacious and clean while keeping the historical feel . The beds are amazing .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Exceeded Expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vintage Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to leave :(

    Friendly, helpful, patient staff, The valet was quick, professional, and my personal items untouched. The front desk offered me an upgrade and I'm glad I accepted.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    Awsome room but it had a musty smell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price. There is a lot of fees and tax on top of the posted rate. Room smelled musty. The fridge has sensors on the items for sale so you could not rearrange to put anything in it.

    Beuatiful heritage building. Recommend upgrade. Awesome room for only a few more dollars.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Great place for big city getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vintage Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great ambience in historical hotel. Right in middle of downtown - walking distance to Lady Bird trail and Long Center..cafe next door was delicious for breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Perfection!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vintage Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!

    Took my daughter to Austin for her 13th birthday and she was in aw of this historical landmark. The room was amazing. Beds were very comfy and the location made it easy to navigate Austin.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in a vibrant city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Neighborhood was central and lively, close walking distance to a lot of things but there were a lot of homeless people.

    At check in, we were offered an upgrade for only 10 extra a night, I appreciate when upgrades are offered and reasonable. The room was a nice size, bed and bedding were very comfortable. Clean and quiet with AC that was not too noisy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Historic hotel in heart of downtown, lacking comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedrooms have been updated but the bathrooms must have missed the cut. They're incredibly small and the appliances are outdated. For such a nice bedroom, the bathroom was a big disappointment. The rooms are very small as well. I know it's downtown Austin, but the overnight parking is by far the most expensive in town.

    Beautiful, historic hotel in downtown Austin. Great hotel bar. Friendly valet service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Book now!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great! Location, staff, amenities! Looking forward to my next stay.

    Loved the history behind the hotel, the customer service was above excellent and the cleanliness of the room was above any similarly priced hotels. Would have loved a turn down service but that's a personal preference.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Average
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Senate
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude Hostess- long wait 20-30 mins even though plenty of tables available $45 a night parking is over the top

    Great location and very good valet service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    One of my favorite places to stay in Austin!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Vintage Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and drinks are a little pricey comparatively

    One of my favorite places to stay in Austin! Great location, updated yet nostalgic, extremely comfortable rooms!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    I had the most amazing weekend in Austin :)
    • Solo traveller
    • Vintage Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Front desk staff was just so-so.

    The staff was so kind and caring . . . particularly the bell staff, the maid and the bartender. The hotel was stunningly beautiful. The rooms were small (as you would expect from a hotel of this age) and reminded me of European style rooms. All in all, a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    June 2018 stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked most everything. Rooms are a tad small, to be expected with its age though. Toilet ran all night, but noise cancelling saved us so wasn't an issue

    Loved the beautiful details of every piece of it, and elegant Texas charm.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.0
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vintage Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator to our room was located up a stair case and past the bar which was a bit awkward. Also the room was small and outdated. The bathroom was horrible... and the staff in the hotel was not very friendly or helpful. Over all the hotel seemed on the internet like a Luxury experience but turned out to be a cheap hotel next to all the 6th street bars.

    The bar area was very western and had a nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Delightful and would stay here again in a heartbeat.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Vintage Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Front desk - Veronica in particular - was very helpful with a few hiccups I had along the way. My travel arrangements and meeting schedule changed dramatically and they figured out how to get me checked in much earlier, etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    We love this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vintage Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Vintage Rooms are definitely not the most quiet rooms. The walls seem to be made of paper. Otherwise our stay was absolutely wonderful!

    We love this place. The smell of fresh-cut flowers permeates the entire hotel. The Sunday Blues Brunch was just delightful. The marble details showcased throughout the lobbies are just a wonder to see.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    2.9
    Very bad place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cityscape Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad service specially valet parking stuff at night, he was mad with us maybe because we are latín people, we reserved a room with two beds when we arrived to the hotel they gave us a room with 1 bed for 2 adults and 2 kids I got mad, I spoke with the manager and the only solution for this problem was one old portable bed they add to the room with very bad quality of mattress, very disappointed . Never again we will be there by sure

    Honestly nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    The perfect wedding headquarters.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not crazy about walking through the bar to the elevator. Wish it had a pool.

    First rate experience. Immaculate rooms, attentive and friendly staff. Luxurious without being pretentious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    A lovely hotel, and our favorite during our Texas trip.
    • Group
    • Vintage Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I suppose it would be more convenient to have a refrigerator in the room without having to ask, but one was delivered promptly when we requested it..

    The atmosphere is one of luxury and comfort. The hotel is beautiful, and the staff were all outstanding!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Best hotel in Austin by far!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the most beautiful historic hotels in the US. Staff there is exceptional. Rooms are immaculate and beautifully decorated. Fantastic location right in the heart of Austin, easily walkable to most major attractions. The Driskill Bar is not to be missed. Won't stay anywhere else in Austin - this hotel is perfect!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.4
    We will not recommend this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Senate
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms that were given to us. The lack of understanding from the check/in staff. The location and the lack of views.

    The courtesy of the waiters in the breakfast restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cityscape Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet parking was not cheap.

    Location was ideal in the city centre and the rooms were very quiet. Staff very helpful. Choice of food was very good. Superb characterful building. Excellent and varied entertainment in the evenings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    I definitely would stay here again, ask for a larger room, but perfect location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the pillows are too fluffy for me, my room a little Spartan and small. the bed itself was just fine. No desk to work on. Really just for sleeping in and getting out.

    its a beautiful, well maintained historic hotel. The hotel's décor is breathtaking and harkens of another time in American history. The food, the bar, the live music was wonderful and true to Austin. The location was central to the Convention center and to great bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    It is the only place to stay. wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Senate
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was fine with the step in the bathroom, but If you are unsteady on your feet and tend to get up while sleeping, you might want to have a bathroom without a step

    The sheets were amazing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful building, wonderful staff and fantastic details!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I’m nit-picking, the valet service could have responded quicker when I arrived - but again, this is nit-picking

    What an amazing entrance when you walk in!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    was good except for the parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vintage Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    had no parking ,even valet parking sucked. had no where to park my truck and i had to park it 3 blocks away in some random parking lot that cost me 30.00 a day and then walk to the hotel.

    great comfortable rooms. cold with good fans

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Best hotel on our Texas trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly the restaurant was closed during our stay but the Concierge booked us a table at Eddie V’s which was another highlight of our stay.

    Professional and friendly check in. Delightful lady valet with a winning smile. Ambience throughout the hotel. Breakfast. Bar and cocktails. Fabulous bed and luxury bathroom. Stylish hotel and so easy to stay there! Met all of our needs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    A great location and a true mix of good ole boy feel surrounded by hipster places!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallways were a bit bright and wish the bedside lamps could be dimmed? The staff seemed a tad off at the cafe...

    Did not know much about Austin, until Chris the Driskill concierge gave us the best ideas and booked us some of the top notch restaurants in town! she made our trip so memorable...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    We had a wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Senate
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to call several times to request toilet paper and Kleenex. When you are paying close to $500 per night, you should have an extra roll of toilet paper!

    The room was beautiful. The outdoor patio was great. The location is perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.7
    The size of my room was great and the double sink bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Senate
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was near the elevator and it was very loud at all hours of the night . The sheets are soft but polyester . It’s a high price .

    The size of my room was great and the double sink bathroom very nice .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    Staff atmosphere and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vintage Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I would complain about is although the room appeared very clean on my last night there was a roach in my bed.

    Staff atmosphere and location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Great location, very comfortable bed, great public spaces.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a petite queen. That made it tight for two people. Also, no window, just an airshaft outside the bathroom.

    Great location, very comfortable bed, great public spaces.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Vintage Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The “middle of downtown” location is great, but don’t expect expansive views. You are surrounded by tall buildings!

    Beautiful property, super staff, comfy beds

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Definitely the perfect place to stay on 6th street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No self park option, valet was $40 a night, but it was very convenient and efficient.

    Gorgeous historic hotel with cozy, comfortable rooms. Tons of great bars, food, and entertainment within short walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.3
    Historic hotel with a modern twist in a great location - very comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Vintage Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was pretty slow and the front desk staff didn’t go over my reservation with me (for example: I got breakfast included with my reservation and had no idea where to go or how to receive my breakfast - little things like that.)

    The bed was super comfy!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    4.6
    Not bad, but wouldn’t go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cityscape Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am really not a fan of this hotel and wouldn’t recommend it. From the lack of water in the rooms, to the outdated rooms, to the ridiculous cost of parking. There is nothing wrong with the hotel, per se, but it was not good value for money. I’ve stayed in no frills hotels in the past, which is what this is. The room rate should be recalibrated to take account of this.

    Good location; decent Concierge desk

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful building, good location but I wouldn’t stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vintage Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls, pillows where old or something because they went real flat real fast, poor WiFi reception, our view was of a gigantic air conditioner. Tile and grout of the shower looked like an amateur did it.

    Good Location. Close to everything going on on 6th Street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.9
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No outlets in bathroom. On check out they wouldn’t give us luggage carts, unless they came and got our luggage for us.

    Bar area is nice. Great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My big complaint is that Booking.com never communicated our reservation with the hotel, which had no record of our reservation. Fortunately the hotel was not fully booked, and they found a room for us.

    The location of the hotel is perfect for enjoying the downtown area, as it is walking distance to everything we wanted to do. It is a beautiful building, both inside and out, and staying there was so much better than just a look into the past. The room was attractive, the bed was like a cloud, and the sheets were luxurious! There were a couple of things that made it not perfect. The room was a bit small, with no sitting area. The coffee maker had to be transported to the bathroom, as there was no other place to plug it in. A second luggage rack would have been nice, as my suitcase was on the floor of the closet in the bathroom area, which was awkward as the doors would not stay open. The minor inconveniences did not affect our enjoyment of our stay, as my daughter and I loved the old world charm of the hotel, and would definitely choose to stay there again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    6.7
    THE EXPERIENCE WAS TAINTED BY BEING GIVEN AN UNSUITABLE ROOM.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I WAS GIVEN A ROOM THAT HAD NO VIEW AND HARDLY ANY NATURAL LIGHT. FRONT DESK WAS UNAPOLOGETIC BUT FOUND ME A ROOM WITH LIGHT AND A VIEW. THE ROOM HAD BEEN BOOKED WELL IN ADVANCE AND I SHOULD HAVE BEEN GIVEN THE BETTER ROOM IN THE FIRST PLACE. AFTER A 10 HOUR FLIGHT FROM LONDON I WASN'T BEST PLEASED.

    COMFORTABLE BED. GOOD SHOWER.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Absolutely wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was extortionate but there you go

    Everything!! A beautiful hotel with lots of places to sit in and relax and enjoy the atmosphere. Very luxurious

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Amazing 2 days in Austin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Senate
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked it all

    Beautiful old, Art Deco building, big hotel with very good cafe downstairs, elegant lobby, location is good, walking distance from good restaurants, bars and music venues.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Enchanting and exciting to the point of exhilarating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Vintage Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Weather:)

    The bed was one of the most comfortable ever. The decor was decadent and relaxing. The historical objects that surrounded the entire hotel were magical. The restrooms and lounging areas were like going back in time to a place of lost peace and comfort.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    It was a perfect way to spend the Christmas holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amanda at the front desk was amazing. She found a restaurant open late on Christmas so we could have dinner and helped with a room upgrade. She was fantastic and made our holiday stay perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    I had a great time
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Cafe Dinner. I was told the bar and grill is good by another customer. Oh well, next time

    The Cafe does not have a very good lunch / dinner. The breakfast was outstanding

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.8
    Overall nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They couldn’t find our reservation twice! People knocked and called even though we had the “do not disturb” sign up, also the person who booked at booking dot com thought she had paid, as it was a gift, but then the driskell asked us to pay when we checked out.

    Food was good! Nice room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    6.3
    The bartenders are very friendly
    • Solo traveller
    • Vintage Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was has a view again another Building, so you feel there is no space, it feels like a prison !! I could have had a better room in pretty much every cheap hotel in Austin !! That’s not fair

    The bartenders are very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel! No paranormal experiences. Lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small table in the toilet and no table by the sink to put extra toiletries.

    The queen bed was comfortable, tv had good channels, well-stocked with toiletries. Made the right choice to stay in this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Charming, comfortable hotel with friendly staff and local flavor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Vintage Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right near bars on 6th street which could have been a little noisy, but wasn’t the time of year we were there (Dec 15-18).

    Charming hotel with local flavor and history. Great bar and wonderful Christmas tree. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms quaint and comfortable. Was very happy that we chose this unique Austin hotel over a chain hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.2
    Architecture and history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vintage Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They were out of Fish & Chips at the Driskill Bar and had no vegetarian burger - my wife is vegetarian. Also the 1886 Cafe was out of white bread for toast.

    Architecture and history.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.8
    Nice older hotel to try once I'm not sure I would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vintage Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small everything in the room has some kind of charge we thought the water was complimentary as the tag on it said so but the small print said you had to be a member or pay $6

    It's an older property with smaller rooms and very quaint. Location is great the old field the hotel is very nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.8
    Although the crew has been ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️- we would recommend a hotel in another district- may be the Domain
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t sleep well in rooms where you couldn’t open any window. Therefore the air was very bad, although there is an aircondition. The bathroom was always cold , so we warmed it up every morning with the hairdryer ( may be we were not able to handle the aircondition 😏)

    First: the crew is wonderful and very helpful!! The area, where the hotel is situated is nearby the station of the homeless people and the people under drugs- and there are many around the hotel!!! One must be careful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    The place to stay in Austin TX when you want the Classic Luxury experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cityscape Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location - all popular sights are within walking distance Staff - professional, courteous, responsive and attentive Rooms - comfortable, well-appointed and comfortably sized Amenities - Bar / Restaurant was always a "gathering place" for locals, Cafe a popular start to the day

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Romantic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Vintage Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was ok but not what I expected. We ate their breakfast the first day but decided to go elsewhere the last day even though their breakfast was included.

    My wife and I enjoyed our stay at this very romantic hotel. Our room was very nice with separate shower and hot tub. The distance from 6th street entertainment was literally a few steps away. I would highly recommend this place and would return for our next visit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.3
    Room not functional or comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was awful. The head of the bed was lower than the foot of the bed. In the middle of the night I finally turned around and put my head where my feet should have been. They had a blow dryer, but the cord was to short to use it. There was no full length mirror Really disappointed 😔

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    5.4
    As a traveller with 3m airmiles this was over priced and not up to the pricepoint expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vintage Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small, we had to move from the Austin JW Marriott which was significantly bigger. The bedroom was sparse with hideous faux furniture. The bathroom was mediocre but worse was the black mold in the grout of the tub, The "bath-towels" were little bigger than hand towels in other hotels - see photo

    The bed was good and the location very central

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.8
    A beautiful historic hotel with modern ammenities
    • Couple
    • Cityscape Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the close proximity to the "dirty 6th" area. Historic room could be repainted and updated in the bathroom.

    the staff is incredible at the Driskill! So welcoming and accommodating. Rooms are very quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vintage Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wished we had a coffee maker in our room

    I loved the comfortable bed and bath products. I loved the breakfast/brunch and bar area. Love the history of the place. I peaked in the workout room and wish I'd had time to use it. Great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.3
    The hotel building was beautiful, our stay and experience was not. Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cityscape Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our reservation was given to someone else, my husband sent a bottle of wine to our room that we never received and our bill was overcharged. The front desk help was rude. Our room smelled like mildew.

    Our breakfast was great. The lounge was fun with the live music

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Great historical hotel near everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great historical hotel near everything! Hotel was elegant, staff was efficient not one thing was wrong. Really loved staying in a hotel that looked like it was Texas not just some corporate franchise highrise.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    My solo stay was a lovely mini vaca!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly cannot think of anything that I didn't like.

    Bed was very comfy..appreciated the light and air temp controls, but the key element of my happy stay was The Staff!!! Door persons, Concierge, Desk Staff, Cafe server, the cook who stopped to chat, the woman who hailed a cab for me, the morning room service waiter, ..everyone was so professional yet personable, friendly and efficient...my 1 night stay will not be my last.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful older hotel but I'd go modern next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Downtown hotel prices seem too high for a small city , but we never needed a car so that's a plus.

    The queen bed in 509 (accessible room) was dreamy. The king bed in 540 was a bit hard. The bathroom in 509 was roomy. The bathroom in 540 was too small(a pocket door would be nice there). The a/c in 509 was quiet enough. The a/c in 540 was way too noisy. For the price we paid it would be nice to offer free water on a daily basis to everyone- maybe encourage membership with Hyatt afterwards. Plus the tap water tastes metallic and to us was not drinkable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vintage Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No swimming pool Breakfast is not completely free and is not buffet style Nothing for kids within the hotel Parking is not free

    Locatoon is great and staff is friendly, breakfast is very good. The room size was ok. I have 3 kids and i booked room with 2 queen beds. Nice art work all over the place

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.9
    But for Austin's horrible manners towards their tourists, it'll happen again!
    • Group
    • Cityscape Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Austin's food servers have standoffish attitudes that are accepted as normal! They truly shouldn't be tolerated ever. They're SO nonchalant. My peacekeeping daughter warned me beforehand, yet still ~ I couldn't fathom her word tho absolutely appreciated her head's up! I saved BIG $$$$ in tips by eating at the hotel. Silly servers, you had a seasoned Vegas local ready to tip over & over. Yeah, sorry didn't happen. Maybe next time, eh? 🙏🏻

    The hotel is off the charts beautiful & most of the staff are TRULY INCREDIBLE! The Cafe's community table is awesome & makes up for their servers (kinda) tho it'd be so much nicer if all (MORNING people) of us could be able to order & eat our breakfasts dealing with (@least) pleasant servers, who could explain what's done to the food. LOL!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    I would definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vintage Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over all it was exactly what I expected! It was beautiful. Staff was friendly and service around the hotel was outstanding! Love that it was walking distance to our favorite places.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    3.3
    Never again will I waist money on this hotel. I wish I had taken pictures.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Vintage Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was on a raised platform about 4 inches up. My wife and I both ran into the platform and fell off it. Room had Zero view with fogged out glass. Bathroom door did not open all the way because of a doorstop making it hard to even get in the bathroom. Valet was $42 and it took over 30 minutes to get our car. Reception Staff and valet all snotty. We did not feel safe in the area that this hotel is in.

    The bed was nice but the air-conditioner blue right on my neck the entire night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vintage Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got massage and very disappointed They asked my daughter what kind of message she said she didn't know so they upgraded (even after filling out paper work and not checking an upgrade) and I paid 325.00 for two off the worst messages I've ever had. My arm has hurt ever since and my daughters back has hurt Never doing that again!

    Sheets on the bed! Comfy bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Expensive, but worth every penny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Senate
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a view of the roof and another building. But didn't get the room for the view so not really a problem.

    Purchased the breakfast upgrade and well worth it. Excellent, fresh food and great service. Decor was amazing. Staff was super friendly and always helpful. Room was spacious and very clean each day. Bed was comfortable. Our room was next to elevator, but noise was never a problem, quiet all night long. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Great room and location. Prefect combo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved this hotel! It's centrally located on 6th street, so you walk everywhere. We also loved the high ceilings of the room we were in. Also the bath tub.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Great Location on the edge of the the Austin Music scene,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All good....

    Great Location on the edge of the the Austin Music scene, half block from a Starbucks, as well as about 5 blocks from the convention center, which I walked to and got an amazing VooDoo Donuts along the way most morning. Breakfast at the hotel was good the one morning I tried it. It is a historic hotel so you get the amazing look and feel of the cattle barons heyday.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    I appreciated the history of the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cityscape Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not require much service, but for a 'luxury ' hotel, I felt the overall atmosphere, including dress, was too ' casual,

    I appreciated the history of the property. Also, the location in the heart of midtown. Very convenient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable "old-world" hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was smaller than usual for this level of hotel, and the sink was tiny and tucked into a corner.

    Charming "old-world" feel to the decor and lobby. friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: