Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Equus, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3 stars

1696 Ala Moana Boulevard, Waikiki, Honolulu, HI 96815, USA

#88 of 210 hotels in Honolulu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 343 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.3
    I'm not sure if I'll stay here again, just simply because of the bugs.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As soon as we enter we noticed one (1) half alive big cockroach in the shower floor, which we killed and then disposed. The next day I was showering and two live cockroaches the same size appeared out of nowhere as I was showering, I was not happy to share the shower with the bugs at all. When we walked over to check out there was only one clerk (Rene) wich she seem very sweet I could tell because she was checking out a returnees I supposed as she was trying to catch up with then and talk story. But she should limit the time spent with each guest especially if there's some one else waiting to check out or simply add more clerks.

    I didn't have to pay the resort fee.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    3.8
    Not happy with my stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the worst place I have ever been. Not worth for the money I have spent. It's an old building with broken furniture in the room allocated for me and staff claimed that I have got the best room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    3.3
    We should have walked out the first day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    stairs, parking situation, access to get water, food.

    Room comfortable, but access difficult!!! Had to climb stairs with suitcases, parking limited and expensive. No food access in hotel. Had to walk a block to get food, drink. (NOT even water) Had just come from Japan where we were treated like royalty. This hotel was a real disappointment and we will never stay there again. In fact if we were staying longer than 2 days we would have walked out the first day we arrived even though we were threatened with a reservation payment of $138+.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.8
    Helpful staff, nice coffee cafe and bar on site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding and pillows very old and uncomfortable. Very noisy rooms, thin walls, doors and windows.

    Helpful staff, nice coffee cafe and bar on site. Clean and neat lobby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    5.8
    This hotel has the potential to be so much more than it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting. Beds & pillows too soft. (Yes, I know personal preference.) No kettle or toaster in rooms. A simple minimum inclusion in a lot of hotels. Stairs from street level to lobby not ideal for families with babies or small kids still in prams. This should be mentioned on booking sites/ web page. Walls are quite thin apparently. You can hear QUITE a bit the interactions of your neighbours.

    reception staff on arrival were able to arrange an earlier check-in for us which was great, although our booking info was a bit mixed up, this was quickly remedied- again nicely handled. Staff generally quite helpful, especially house -keeping team. Onsite coffee bar / cocktail bar. Good location, close to bus / trolley stops, walking distance to Waikiki beaches / shopping areas.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.4
    Great location and value, don't expect cleanliness or quality service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Double Beds with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Soft beds. Unclean room (hairs in sink, shower). Lack of help loading in bags upstairs (no elevator to ground floor parking) to lobby check in.

    Location location location. Great value for the money. Very close to beach without resort fees. Easy to walk around Waikiki. Don't expect a high level of cleanliness or service, though the barista in the downstairs coffee kiosk is excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.2
    Location - smaller and more personal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs at entrance and had to ask for help with bag.Some small things in room eg couldn't work coffee maker even with instructions. Taps in shower were very stiff but quickly fixed when repprted.

    Location - smaller and more personal

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable & friendly - all in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift to the first floor which didn't bother us but could be an issue for some - that said I'm sure the staff would help out where necessary.

    Super-friendly staff, incredibly comfy beds. If you like horses you'll feel right at home!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.9
    Good location for my brief business trip, quick and easy in and out, reasonable price for area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honolulu can get very windy, This building was a high rise with 10 stories and the doors to the balcony did not seal shut and weren’t very sturdy. I was located on the 9th floor facing towards the ocean (not an ocean view, it faced other high rise buildings. but that was the direction). So when the wind blew (20-25 mph winds), it blew through the buildings like a wind tunnel and as the wind blew by the balcony doors, the doors rattled and shook and also created the sound of squealing wind as it blew through the cracks and opening of the unsealed door area. This went on the entire night (from 8pm until the morning). It was a combination of low quality doors and a very windy night.

    Convenience. Very easy to check in and out and located within walking distance to many of the stores, businesses, facilities, beaches, transportation, etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    5.4
    For a start let’s make this clear, this is a basic hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi, excessive cost, cost of parking it was concierge, but when the staff tell you where you can park, then you wonder why you’re paying $25USD per day

    For a start let’s make this clear, this is a basic hotel, not a resort, I had to pay the $11USD Per day resort fee. Next I had to pay parking fees of $25USD per day, who’s is not advertised. Next the rooms shouldn’t cost any more than $125 per day given there’s no breakfast, and the rooms although nice are basic. When I arrived the TV didn’t work, it took two staff and a hour to fix, then I broke again a few days later. The wifi didn’t work, none of the hotspots would work, I found one that was just good enough to communicate on. Overall when you pay so much money you expect more. There’s better hotels, cheaper and closer to downtown.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.8
    There is no elevator from the parking structure to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator from the parking structure to the upstairs lobby, the staff is very proactive about bringing your baggage up, but we had a stroller that needed to go and down the stairs everyday

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.7
    Fine for a very short stay but not luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very noisy location because there was an intersection close by. The room was very small having an unnecessary 4 poster bed.

    Bathroom recently renovated small but efficient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.5
    Great location and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a taxi at Reception to take us to the airport early next morning. Or at least we thought they had, it didn't turn up and the taxi company had no record of a booking having been made.

    The best thing about this place is the walking time convenience to Waikiki beach (10 minutes in one direction) and Ala Moana centre for shopping (10 minutes the other direction).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    Very happy with our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could be a little loud at times due to being on a main road.

    The stafff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is super cute with a gorgeous cafe and fairy lights. The beds were so comfortable. It's set back from the beach to help with the cost and is only a 10 minute walk to Waikiki and lots of restaurant nearby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    5.0
    Never coming back here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small, filthy room. Expensive for what we were given. Very very loud street noise,

    not much that we liked, person at front desk was indifferent. Not kind or rude.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    6.3
    Convenient stay prior to cruising but ageing and needs a good scrub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little squeezy and there was a bad smell of old vomit on the floor with matching stains

    Location was very convenient and the staff were extremely helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.5
    Plenty of coffee and tea available in room and in the lobby.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One ply toilet paper is a bit hard to work with. So thin you can read a newspaper through it. Also, it seems like the bottom sheet on the bed is too small for the mattress. by morning the sheets are all pulled out and I found myself sleeping on the mattress without sheets. AC in the room was a bit overpowering. It was uncomfortably cold most of the time. We slept with the slider open to regulate the temp.

    Plenty of coffee and tea available in room and in the lobby. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    3.8
    Terribly disappointed in general.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to climb numerous steps to get to check in & it is in NOWAY disabled friendly. This should be made very clear upfront, before booking.

    Not much

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    It is close to Waikiki, you can walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ala Moana Blvd is noisy, we live where there is no street noise, took awhile to get to sleep.

    It is close to Waikiki, you can walk. The bed is comfortable. Nice amenities in the room. The ac was on in the room when we arrived so the room was already cooled.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Budget accommodation with friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two Double Beds with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to find somethi g it would be stairs to the lobby but there was a lift from the lobby to rooms.

    The position it was walking distance to Ala Moana centre, hop on trolley, beach, shops and restaurants

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    This hotel was very good, we were able to walk to most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Double Beds with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that was probably a slight negative but was certainly only minor for me was there was no lift up to reception and it was only an inconvenience because we had so much heavy bags.

    This hotel was very good, we were able to walk to most places and bus stop at your door also hop on hop off trolley across road practically. Muffins and coffee on offer but that was not for me. Staff were all amazing and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.1
    Nice place, good geographic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel is situated next to a 6-lane Boulevard which is a major connecting road - traffic is very noisy, even in rooms further away from the road. This is of course not the fault of the hotel - but it is a fact which needs consideration. There are heaps of "masculine" drivers revving their engines day and night, and truck drivers using their exhaust brakes. Crazy.

    Nice Staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Pleasant family holiday experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Maybe Next time will go for a room with a microwave.

    Shout out to the reception manager, Puka for helping us accommodate early check-in even though we understand rooms are quite full because we arrived during thanksgiving season from New Zealand. He was so kind and hospitable making sure we are comfortable since we really look a bit exhausted travelling with children and baby plus luggage. Room is clean and fresh, always changing our daily towels and beddings. Unlimited Kuerig coffee cups, yummy muffins and fresh fruit to start your morning. Best Hotel location for us, 5 mins walking distance to the Ala Moana Mall, Ala Moana Beach, ABC souvenir shops and restaurants. Pleasant family holiday experience. Will definitely come back soon. :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.9
    Great place for a couple nights stop over in Honolulu!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t say to be honest!

    The rooms were small but well equipped with fridge etc.... we enjoyed the fact that despite it being a smaller hotel the rooms had a bit of style to them and were genuinely clean. Comfy beds too!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent first impression in Hawaii
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it is located next to the main road, sometimes it can get really noisy but not all the time!

    I arrived in Honolulu in the morning and went straight to the hotel (8am). Although the usually check in time is around 12pm, the staff was really helpful to accommodate me and got the room even before 10am. The bed was soft and comfortable. Very clean. The staffs were friendly and eager to help throughout my stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Here's some genuine Hawaiian charm!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two Double Beds with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great little boutique hotel, closer to the airport than the big Waikiki boys further east. Cute little kitchenette and ample coffee and toiletries. Quality period furnishings and 4-poster beds. Lots of fun. Easy walk to the beach and cheap local bus to eastern Waikiki Beach and the aquarium.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    Good location although access not so easy via road, small intimate hotel, comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to access by car with very limited parking on site. I am not a fan of having to use a valet parking service. Parking fees at US $25 per day expensive. No alternative parking, although this applies to the whole of Waikiki not just this hotel.

    Small boutique hotel (72 rooms) so not as a busy or congested as others l have stayed at in Waikiki. Friendly helpful staff. Good sized room (king room on 10th floor) Far enough away from the congestion of central Waikiki but close enough to either take a 20 minute stroll or catch a bus. 5 minutes walk to Ala Moana centre. Decent variety of food outlets/ restaurants within a few minutes walk, including Ala Moana. Reasonable value for money. Located on Ala Moana Blvd it is access to airport and buses pass the door to take you almost anywhere. Very close to Ala Moana park and beach area with para sailing and other such things.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.3
    Good location for the beach and getting into the city on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no (working) safe in the room, and the lights weren't very bright for an early morning pack up.

    Good location for the beach and getting into the city on foot. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Hotel manager Rene is an angel, i was injured during my trip but she helped me a lot
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Staying in this hotel I felt so much love from hotel staff, they came to help me when I'm truly in need. We never met before and I'm appreciated all the help and mental comforts she's done for a foreign stranger. Love this place and will come back next time!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyably and happy to stay again because of the good location, staff and value for money,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Street traffic noise outside was a bit loud, however it did quieten down during the night.

    Staff were very helpful and supportive in solving our inquiries. Location was good for public transport, shopping, local restaurants and short walk access to the beach front and marina.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    A very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cannot think of anything

    The reception staff were extremely helpful in making flight arrangements to Maui. Also they were very knowledgeable about public transportation, e.g. local busses

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    4.6
    Try somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Double Beds - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man at reception on arrival was rude. Three rooms and everyone was billed twice on our credit cards. Bed in room 904 has as big sag in the middle. Lady on check out as extremely helpful.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.7
    Served our purpose, but would not stay their again, to old to be lugging suitcases up stairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to climb about 16 steps from street level to Reception before gaining access to a lift, NO MENTION of this in their advertisement on Bookings. Com, speaking of the lift it was old and unreliable.

    Value, location suited us

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.5
    Would stay there again value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to use the pool.

    It was clean and very comfortable beds, disappointed they where doing renovation in pool errands , but when finish will be great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    Good place to stay for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were supposed to have a coffee maker in our room, but when we noticed it was missing at 7am and notified the front desk, we were told we couldn't get one until housekeeping arrived an hour later. We went out for coffee instead. The shower is extremely tiny - water pressure was very good, but it was difficult to stand facing the shower without my face directly in the shower spray.

    The beds were comfortable enough, and the employees were very nice. The room was clean, we liked the bath products, and I loved the beautiful wood soap dish. (Were I different kind of person, I might have slipped it into my luggage on the way out.) Easy enough walk to the beach and restaurants, and very close to Ala Moana shopping center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    4.2
    2 cokoroches
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty,2 cokoroches in the shower,I felt disgusted,second day without telling the staff what I found,they sent me a message that they want to spray the room for pest control,and that made me more disgusted+I am allergic ,I informed them and they respect .Its a family motel not a hotel !

    Under construction

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    Value for money base for your Oahu Adventures
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked it all but other travellers might look me to know that it's an old style hotel with a small pool and only one elevator.

    Basic, clean, comfortable hotel at a decent price in a super location for Waikiki or shopping at Ala Moana.Handy for public busses too. If you need a room and no bells and whistles like a Club Floor or restaurant or minibar this is an excellent choice. Big call out to the lovely Rene at reception.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    6.3
    Central location, close to transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I felt a little insecure as the lock to the lanai was barely a lock. I also could not find any instructions to use the phone in the room. However what I sorely disliked was when the elevator wasn't working and I had to get up and down several flights of stairs, which pains my knees.

    The location was central and close to the buses and to Alo Moana shopping centre. The staff were also very helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    I will consider this place if I come to Honolulu again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No computer desk and it was a little bit uncomfortable for me to use my computer for writing emails.

    The location is excellent, only 5 minutes walk to the Ala Moana center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.9
    Convenient location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's very noisey as a main road is just outside

    Good location, nice amenities, very friendly staff. Close to bus stop and to the mall. About 20 mins walk to Waikiki beach

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.3
    Friendly and accommodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed mattresses were old and soggy. Needed replacing. Not enough electrical sockets for connecting/charging mobile devices.

    Friendly and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.1
    Acceptable for a few nights' stay in Honolulu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nowhere close by. Clumsy airco operation, took us quite a while to figure it out. No breakfastfacility in the hotel.

    Nowhere far off. Room/beds are fine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    2.9
    Would not recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Double Beds with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The put us in a almost completed renovated room only to wake us up at 830am the next day asking us why didn't we see the text message they sent us earlier that morning and that they needed us to move out of the room before 9 am and wait at the lobby till the other room is available because their contractor needed to get access to room to do renovations. I cancelled an earlier booking with them and wasn't refunded the money until a month later when I checked in and queried them on it saying I've been charged twice.

    Nothing really.. maybe the water dispenser but you get drenched when it's raining while trying to fill up bottle with water as it's place outside not exactly under the outdoor umbrella

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.2
    Great stay without going broke.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is difficult. You must pull into the valet area and have him park the car and retrieve it when you need it. Also, there is no elevator from the ground floor to the check-in area on the second floor so be prepared to lug your luggage up one flight of stairs to the elevator. The hotel is on a major road so there is some traffic noise but not terrible.

    This is a smaller hotel that has fewer rooms and therefore fewer people. We enjoyed our stay very much and found almost everything to be fine. We could easily walk to the beach from here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.1
    Slept well after a long flight - with a day in transit this was a good option.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit tight. Only one lift and quite slow. No restaurant, gym or other facilities you might expect in a good hotel.

    Location is good for the price. Easy access to the waterfront and marina and only a 15 minute walk to ald Moana mall.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    3.8
    Won't be returning anytime soon...
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows desperately needed to be replaced. Noise level is high in this hotel. If you are a light sleeper bring ear plugs as the rooms do not have much if any sound dampening. while staff seemed friendly the customer service aspect was lacking, even a simple good morning from our end was often met with a grunt or a nod. It felt like staff needed more support or training.

    The grounds were kept rather clean and the AC was cold.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    5.8
    Noisy location and bed too soft- Why not upgrade to double glazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traffic noise from being on main road Internet did not work from room- had to use lobby stairs from road entrance- no lift until inside Lobby - on first floor

    located close to Ala Moana Shopping mall

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    I very much enjoyed my staying because the staff members are very receptive to my requests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two Double Beds - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like not getting daily newspapers and continental breakfast.

    I like the receptive staff. I like the cable tv because it has a lot if channels.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    5.4
    Ok for a short stay. If looking for luxury Hawaii then look elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud street noise in our 4th floor room made it difficult to sleep. Small room and bathroom overall but the price was low and it was only for 1 night so it worked for our needs.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.2
    Charming boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of any. They have done a wonderful job with an old hotel.

    Nice, friendly and most helpful staff. Centrally located. The rooms were lovely, not the boring grey on grey hotel interior decorations. We stayed 2 different times and the 2 rooms were furnished differently. Not only different but quaint and lovely. Nice comfortable beds though the pillows were a bit too soft. Luv the coffee machine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.2
    Cute Boutique Style Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rooms are very noisy, both from neighbors and above - but mostly from the street traffic. Very noisy cars and especially motorcycles take off like its the Indy 500! The echo off the building across the way through the balcony is intolerable. Only one old elevator and it is slow at times. Bathrooms; although a modern update, are small and the shower is tiny.

    Great job updating the rooms. Very clean and comfortable. Friendly staff who kept in touch via texting. They will do ANYTHING necessary to ensure your stay is pleasant. I was given a welcome fruit drink. Helpful honest tour guide right at lobby entrance. 24 hour Kuerig coffee, tea and water with morning muffins and afternoon apples. Great location just outside the hustle/bustle/mainstream typical tourist "hotel row". Across from a major tour pick-up point, next to a bus stop, short walk to the brand new Ala Moana Center/mall with an amazing "Whole Foods style" grocery store. Across from park and beaches and Marina. Small food and supply store right on corner. Easy and pleasant walk to anything. Bus system is fantastic!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    6.7
    Basic room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Double Beds with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy room. Above main road. Carpet filthy. Had to wear shoes or your feet got black. No lift to lobby. You have to carry suitcases up stairs. Bathroom door difficult to slide open. Very dark lighting at night.

    Comfy bed, although it's a double, not a queen size.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    3.8
    Not the best on the block
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room noisey, and attitude of one member of the staff when we commented about this, Was told 'Well what do you expect, you are staying in the city, on a main road' - we were on the outskirts, the window/balcony door did not shut fully, looked as if someone had hit it with a big hammer

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    A Hawaiian Honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at Equus made our honeymoon extra special! They clearly have the Aloha spirit in their ethos, they went above and beyond to look after us from the moment we walked in. The staff are always smiling and willing to help. They helped us find the best deals as we planned our sightseeing around Oahu. They clearly look after their customers!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Quality Service at the Equus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The K-Cup coffee machine had not been cleaned recently - coffee grounds all over the place where the k-cup is inserted. Also, no ramp or elevator to access the lobby - you must carry your luggage up a set of stairs.

    The location, facilities and rooms were all quite nice. We slept very comfortably and enjoyed walking around the neighborhood and also the shoreline which was only a couple of blocks away! Additionally, if you are into shopping, there is a huge shopping mall only a couple of blocks away as well. However, the best feature of the Equus is there staff. Rene, who was staffing the front desk on our departure day, went above and beyond to assist us in a crisis. We had misread our flight departure to Kona and she called the airline to reserve seats on the next flight out, arranged for an immediate shuttle driver (who almost got us there in time for our initial flight!), and then also followed up with an email to us giving us great ideas as to places to visit while on the Big Island. She was helpful, calming (I needed that!) and very friendly - we will stay there again when we visit Honolulu next - if only because of Rene!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.2
    Highly recommend The Equus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The swimming pool was sooo cold and it is a shame that were wasn't a balcony.

    The staff were so friendly and accommodating, especially Renee. The location of the property was great. Would recommend spending a little more on a room on the top floor.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    My new "home away from home" in Wakiki!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My stay at The Equus has been amazing! Comfortable beds! Kurieg in room! Coffee provided daily, with biscotti! Each room has own wifi router, no weak signals! CLEAN! Staff was absolutely amazing! Yoshi, Paku, Glenn,Paul, and I'm brain cramping on young female's name at front desk...But she greeted me everytime she saw me...And that made all the difference! The location is the best. Shops, restaurants, beach within walking distance! I will be back!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    5.0
    The air conditioning unit was in the corner of the room by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning,as stated above. Room was dated & dusty.The windows were only single pane so the noise from the street made it loud in the room . The room was also very dark even with the lights on.

    The air conditioning unit was in the corner of the room by the second bed & it was only cold in that corner of the room,the rest of the room was warm. They stored our luggage when we got off the cruise ship at 9:00am until checkin .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    3.8
    The room was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were very old fashioned and needs updating. The bed was ghastly, it was too soft and we kept rolling into each other. The lift took far too long to come. There was no lighting outside our room so we had to fumble in the dark to try and find the door access. The location on a main road made it very noisy from the sound of traffic.

    The room was very clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    5.4
    They took a refundable security deposit of Aud$ 228.87 on arrival which has not been returned
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See below re the security deposit. We mentioned this issue to the manager at the time and she advised that the money would be returned to my bank account. This has not appeared in my account noting that we departed the hotel on March 3

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    7.9
    Great with flaws
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One house keeper by the name Elley or something like that. That left my room unacceptable but other than that 'twas great

    The staff is super friendly and great they are attentive sand great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    5.8
    You get what you pay for. just make sure you do your research
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Didn't realize Ali moana was a heavy traffic road. Noisy as hell. We were on the 4th floor and had to wear earplugs every night. Being on the top floor wouldn't have been any different. The hotel is in need of a revamp. My wife couldn't even open the ranch slider to the patio, it was that old and abused. If it was replaced it would cut down on noise 10 fold. Don't expect a nice view from your patio. The photo of the pool is is taken with a fish eyed lens, it is tiny and you feel a bit exposed swimming there.

    The staff were friendly and the general location was close to shops/activities. Short walk to the ali moana mall and restaurants. Although they forgot to clean our room one day, it was generally a clean hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    6.7
    Check air conditioner and heat pump before u unpack.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was there with family and had booked 2 rooms. The air conditioner in one room didn't work and it was too hot. Reception sent 2 different techs to sort it out to which 1 tech says is all ok, though we sitting there boiling away, n the other says not working! On asking are told there is only 1 adaptor between 2 rooms n so only 1 room can b cold at a time!! Ridiculous!

    The property was very well located n close to the beach n mall. W

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    7.1
    Convenient one night stop-over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise level in room due to proximity of major road. Ear plugs for sleeping essential

    Good access to nearby walking trails on "locals " beach. Good access to bus and nearby mall with large food court

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.5
    Yoshi at the front desk was very friendly and proficient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping missed a day Other than that a satisfactory stay.

    Yoshi at the front desk was very friendly and proficient taking care of multiple tasks. Thank you Yoshi!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    10
    Gem in the hectic Waikiki/ Honolulu environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two Double Beds - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just wished there was a pool. I understand their space constraints, so probably better to keep costs lower than the other hotels in the area. 8-10 stairs into hotel might be a restriction for some with limited mobility. Staff assistance compensated for this.

    Comfy bed, keurig coffee in room, energy efficiency, STAFF, mai tai get together in evening was nice to meet other residents. Private family ownership a plus.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    5.4
    Great location but requires major upkeep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken bed backboard banged against wall Broken coffee pot replaced after 36 hours with another broken one In room phone didn't work until reported and repaired Blown light bulbs reported and replaced Missing key to safe in room, not replaced

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    3.3
    Disappointing and very noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really noisy being located right next to the highway and only single pain glass.. tired, miserable rooms and staff!

    location was walking distance to mall etc

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    7.5
    Hotel staff a great plus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was not value for money as offered by booking.com. on arrival to Honolulu and checking into the room it was clear I was being overcharged incredibly.

    Warm and welcoming staff eager to assist.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    6.3
    Adequate place to stay if just looking for a bed and short visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was noisy due to the street. The location is about 3/4 of a mile from the Waikiki main area. The elevator is shared with the linen service (note singular with elevator). Maid knocked on door to service room at 9:00. I asked her to come back in 5 minutes. She never came back and the room did not get done at all. Night time, the area immediately around the hotel is not the safest area.

    The room was recently remodeled and was nice. The location was close to several good restaurants and an ABC store just up the street.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.6
    Very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very convenient location. The Equus is not grand at all but it provides comfort and convenience. Coupled with the price, this is the de facto choice whenever we come to Honolulu

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    7.1
    Nice boutique accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift from street level to lobby, would be good. Currently have to walk two lots of stairs with suitcases. Staff are able to assist (I believe) but they don't know that you have arrived!

    Location. Willingness of staff allowing us to check in early.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.1
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise was annoying. The room was too small to fit in a king sized bed. Queen size would have been better.

    Good location. Close to a variety of eating places

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    7.5
    Nice charm hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not the best if you want to go to Waikiki Beach (which I think is not the most beautiful beach), but you can easily access Kahanamoku beach which is very nice!

    The king size bed was very comfortable, and we loved the decoration of the room!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    9.6
    Great things can come in little packages
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Ac condenser was in the balcony so it was a littlle uncomfortable

    The staff was caring and always available. This boutique is not 5star but you get the5star feel

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Equus, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: