Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 5 stars

4100 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, HI 96753, USA

#7 of 35 hotels in Wailea

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 109 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful hotel, make sure you go on season
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Suite With Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was renovating parts in the hotel and we had to switch rooms because of the noise. The AC in new room was not cooling and we did not want to waste another day in moving. Also the gym was being renovated so it was closed part of the time.

    Gorgeous hotel! Beautiful location, amazing beach and reef. Very nice pools and view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Good deals for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Suite With King Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet is overpriced but I think it’s a given in a hotel. Kids eat free before 5 yo but no one told us! So we spent the first 5 days buying separate food. Would have been nice to know at check in. Also, if you’re self parking, the lot is shared with staff so often there’s very limited parking on the roof where the car bakes all day. They seem to have a staff lot but it’s not used except to store junk

    Heavenly pillows! Family friendly and doesn’t seem packed like the other larger resorts on Maui.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    It was wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Suite With King Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    the property is beautiful, spotless and well kept. the rooms are spacious. the staff were pleasant & helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    Perfect vacation in paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Suite With King Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    fitness center to small for the size of the resort, the place is cramped. Roof over the Ko restaurant is ugly (no flowers/plants or other camuphlaging items to cover the concrete when looking from the hallway balcony)

    The pool and beach area very clean, with complimentary reef-safe sunlotion, great snorkeling just off the beach (sea turtles and other marine life), early morning hawaiian canoe experience was great, Ama bar at the pool with excellent food, all staff very attentive, warm and welcoming

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    A beautiful & memorable stay!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain View Suite With King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was on the "P" level (ground floor) and the corridor felt a bit like a dark basement, but it wasn't a huge deal as the room was beautiful.

    The Fairmont Kea Lani was an absolute dream. We splurged on this stay hoping it would meet our expectations and value for money, and it completely exceeded them. We spent most of our time by the adult "tranquil" zone and pool, and the swim up bar. I was there with my boyfriend, and though there were lots of kids and families, it didn't feel crowded or intrusive. The staff were amazing and the hotel facilities, beach, grounds and room were all so beautiful - the Le Labo products were a luxurious bonus to discover. We just loved our stay here and will be saving to come back!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Great Spring Break vacation spot that exceeded our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean View Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very professional and courteous (greeted me and my family by name everyday). Will be back for another vacation in the future. The resort was beautiful and in a perfect location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    Staff were wonderful, gardens were lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Suite With King Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I'd like to see an updated gameroom and perhaps a refresh of some of the pool areas. More activities for kids would be great.

    Staff were wonderful, gardens were lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Expensive, but worth every penny. Excellent resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain View Suite With King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beach was lovely but had a weird "crater" in the sand that was filled with stagnant water, hopefully they'll fill that in. Adult pool was nice but in an odd location; got lots of shadow in the morning, otherwise beautiful. Wish there was an adult-only hot tub; only one we found was with the kid pool and it was always packed.

    Incredible grounds, well kept, plenty of things to do for adults and kids. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Food at the restaurants, while pricey, was amazing: treat yourself to the Ko restaurant if you get a chance. Great cocktails also. Room was immaculate; bathroom was incredibly luxurious. WiFi was of reasonable speed (3 Mbps up, 3-4 Mbps down) and far-reaching throughout the property. Fitness area was very decent and well-equipped. Good location; driving/walking distance to Wailea shops and restaurants, and 10 minutes drive to downtown Kihei. Kids will have a blast at this resort; the pools are terrific with the basketball goal and waterslide, plus lots of space to run around.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing fun and enjoyable ambiance, we will definitely revisit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Suite With King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Corridor carpets and suite furniture were just a little tired.

    Overall impression is that the hotel is just a little tired in as far as the corridor matting and the suite furniture. The beach is a little small but otherwise the hotel is beautiful and the grounds are kept in immaculate condition. We really enjoy staying here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.1
    other than the above the Fairmont was wonderful and I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Partial Ocean View Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    initially our room was cleaned before noon. but the last 3 days it was cleaned well into the afternoon. this was frustrating because we couldn't nap our grand kids one of the days. I also found some tiny bugs in the bath room when I spoke to the housekeeping they said they would take care of it but they were still there until I used some cleaning wipes that I had.

    The beds were comfortable. Room service was exceptional.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden View Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was lovely but it was a horrible location of the resort. Our balcony overlooked the parking lot even though it was supposed to be a garden room. Noisy and unappealing spot experience outdoor dining or leisure.

    Beautiful property. Amazing beach access. Great pools and dining.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    It was a wonderful holiday experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain View Suite With King Bed
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Renting a pool 'cabana' or shade cloth for US$205 + tax per day was a little 'over the top' expensive, as was the buffet breakfast for US$37 per person. I travel extensively and a US$25 buffet breakfast would have been more appropriate IMHO, and we would have had breakfast in hotel everyday.

    Everything, well almost - see below.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.5
    had a great time even with the blackout!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Suite With King Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    our shower had no hot water, even though we told them, it was never fixed.

    liked everything except the shower, pool was great, bars were great, Nick's was fantastic

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Perfection! We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean View Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cell phone reception and the free wi-fi at this location are very poor. For adequate internet and wi-fi calling, travelers with AT&T or Verizon will need upgrade to the paid wi-fi service for approximately $11/day.

    The staff are most friendly and go above and beyond to provide excellent customer service. The hotel property is gorgeous, offering pristine beaches and breathtaking views of the ocean, Maui and the surrounding islands.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.1
    Great amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean View Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was awful and very poor cell service would have had to pay another 10 dollars per day for upgraded wifi when already spent 600 a night on the room

    Great amenities

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful resort, location, staff, pools, beach, rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Suite With King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair dryer is awful. Nick's fish market isn't worth your time

    Room, bathroom, shower, pools, swim up bar, Ko restaurant, staff at swim up bar, staff at Ko, concierge text messaging option, location, AMA grill.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Second time at this location, we enjoyed the staff and the onsite restaurants a great deal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Suite With King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleanliness in the public bathrooms were a bit less than expected.

    Sunset was absolutely incredible. The staff was nice. They provide a service to anywhere in Wai Lea by car free of charge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    3.3
    Misslead on details description , pillows smell bad , room was small
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small for 4 people to stay , they mislead customers as the room was only designed for two people to live in , however the charges were higher , requested for ocean view however only gave partial view which we can't see the ocean from our room . The hotel is old , the pillow has smell , we had a worst stay ever in such an expensive hotel , will not come back for sure

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    7.1
    They spoiled the view of the sea by having villas down there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden View Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They spoiled the view of the sea by having villas down there, so from the adult pool, that's bundled up by the side of the building all you can see is rows and rows of sun beds. A real disappointment !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.6
    Great with some issues that had to be attended to!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked to change rooms shortly after arrival - upgraded with a fee. Last night there were bugs that landed on my back - very disconcerting. When we complained we were offered breakfast the following morning and they disinfected our room.

    Great location, large suites.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Celebrating or 50th Wedding Anniversaryu at your beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Suite With King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were ,unfortunately, reported as a no show at Nicks Fish House. We were there! We walked in exactly on time! I remember as we said to one another that we had one minute to spare!

    Beautiful surroundings and exceptional staff. A bottle of Prosecco and the most delicious Belgian heart shaped chocolates awaited our arrival from the Fairmont. Thank you so much!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    4.2
    Comfortable bed, tasty buffet w lots of nuts for oatmeal,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Ocean View Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly like cat urine in bedrooms, ants in livingroom and kitchen, birds nest made hdaily mess on lounge chairs, limited time frame for green juicing in deli. Did not know about scuba lesson until last day, cane to turn down beds very late

    Comfortable bed, tasty buffet w lots of nuts for oatmeal, great egg service Appreciated fresh water bottles each day

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    8.8
    Nice place, but not sure if worth the very high price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Suite With Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. The only hot tub working was tiny and at the children's pool, so always full of kids. It seems that there should be a hot tub near the adult pool. 2. We paid over $800 a night for the room after upgrading when we discovered that our reserved room would overlook the parking lot. At that price I would expect much more of a luxury experience. I really disliked the additional fee for covered lounges at the pool - at these room rates everything should be included. 3. Charging an additional resort fee is ridiculous. If a fee is required it should be included in the room rate. The resort fee is not an option and charging it separately creates a feeling of being nickeled and dimed. 4. Great large bathroom, but why wouldn't you have a curtain or door in the shower? It's nice that someone could use the sink while someone else is in the shower, but it would be even better if there was some privacy in the shower. 5. Nice to have a Keurig coffee machine in the room, but you need to descale the machine regularly. The coffee tasted like the machine was due for descaling. 6. When reserving a room, I was asked if we were celebrating a special occasion. I wrote that it was my husband's birthday, and told that there would be an amenity waiting in the room. I was looking forward to my husband's surprise when we opened the door but there was nothing in the room. The next day I inquired at the desk and was told something would be delivered right away. Nothing came. When I asked again, the desk agent apologized and said it would be coming right away. Several hours later a lovely chocolate assortment and bottle of champagne was waiting when we returned (thank you!) Offering a treat for an occasion is great but only if the follow through is there. The best way to create happy guests is to delight them with more than you promise. The worst thing is to promise and then not deliver. Although the treat did eventually come, we were disappointed several times before it did.

    The room was large with a lovely lanai. The beach is pretty with a nice, white, sandy beach. The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    10
    Great property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Suite With Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast / buffet was way overpriced for what was offered. Pay a few extra $$ and go to the Four Seasons buffet.

    Pool area was awesome. Staff very friendly

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    10
    Fabolous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Fairmont Suite With Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property , views, candy people.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast onsite at their buffet was ridiculously expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Suite With King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast onsite at their buffet was ridiculously expensive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Staff were really helpful, gym was nice by hotel-gym...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Suite With King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were really helpful, gym was nice by hotel-gym standards and the room was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Ocean View Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to do here

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    Not Munch!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden View Suite With Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is OLD and Tired!!

    Not Munch!’

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    This is paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden View Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing not to like here.

    Every room is a suite. Whether you are looking out at the ocean or the gardens, this place is exquisite!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    AMAZING!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain View Suite With King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire resort and its amenities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Ocean View Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hair dryer is kinda old, probably need update.

    great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    This property is phenomenal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was perfect

    This property is phenomenal. The grounds are beautiful. Well kept grounds, good restaurants, wonderful staff, very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    30.00 per night for parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Suite With King Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    30.00 per night for parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    We were upgraded to a larger corner suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgraded to a larger corner suite. Beautiful, comfortable room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.2
    Over the top for luxuary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Suite With King Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best way to spend with family very accommodating

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic hotel for a dream holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Suite With King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 80m2 room was huge. Lovely property and family friendly beach. So glad to be back

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    Will be back
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden View Suite With Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big hotel but felt quaint for the size Friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Suite With Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    need to improve activities for the guets during the evenings

    everything was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean View Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely perfect location. Clean rooms. Everything for spend you best time in Maui

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Great place to stay in maui.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Suite With King Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, and setup and architecture, staff. Cleanliness. Golf course proximity

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful faciluty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden View Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at the pool was just fair. The adult poolside fills up quickly.

    The room was spectacular. All rooms are mini suites and very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    Very busy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Suite With Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Very busy. Expensive. lack of shaded areas by pool and over kids pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    10
    We enjoyed all aspects of the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Suite With Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes

    We enjoyed all aspects of the property. Very attentive and considerate staff,

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Suite With King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Everything. Amazing food, rooms, resort grounds...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.6
    Great vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Suite With King Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lower food prices.

    Friendliness of the staff. Beautiful property.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.2
    Pleasant & Elegant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Ocean View Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    dbl bed size is small and the sofabed as well

    overall nice facility, well kept gardens and service at pool. good shop and caffee shop

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    6.7
    Ok hotel with great guest service all around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden View Suite With Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run-down facility Limited pool Limited options Bedroom needs to be updated

    Top notch Service

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    7.5
    Great for the mind, relax and take it all in
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fairmont Suite With King Bed
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some how a lot of flying bugs got in my room at the end

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    9.2
    Room was very nice, bed was extremely comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioner in the room didn't work that well. Pool umbrellas were usually taken, they could use more. Valet service and breakfast buffet were absurdly expensive.

    Room was very nice, bed was extremely comfortable. Bathroom was monstrous, couldn't be beat. The private beach was perfect - no rocks or shells underfoot. Pools were beautiful. Service was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    6.7
    Adult pool is lovely, cocktails terrific, nice staff and it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Food is ok, not much for older kids to do, definitely don't feel value for money. Parking lot view for a $700 a night room. Housekeeping and grounds maintenance are so-so

    Adult pool is lovely, cocktails terrific, nice staff and it has an amazing view, flowers. Kids pool is great for 8 and under

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    8.8
    The only thing that we did not like is the old carpet on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing that we did not like is the old carpet on the suite that we took,it's really needed to be changed. Restaurants was expensive,,even the hotel supermarket was very pricy too. No intertainment at all,during the day or at night!Needed to be lively a bit,no boutiques at all to shop in the resort,not even a souvenir shop!

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    9.6
    Attention to Details-elevator floor mats messages changes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lobby lounge should have more choice of food and wine.

    Attention to Details-elevator floor mats messages changes three times in a days- good morning, good afternoon and good evening. Made ur beds twice a days! Private car shuttle to shopping trips !

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    8.3
    Had great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a bad point exactly but please be aware of that besides the room you also need to pay tons of the taxes, resort fee(it might be included in the pre-deposit or not) and others. We didn't know because it was the first time visit.

    Had great time. The room was big and nice with pretty garden view. Having microwave in the room was extremely helpful. Staff were friendly. It's one of the hotels along side the ocean and we could just walk down to beaches easily. We had dinner at 'Ko', a bit pricy but great food.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    9.6
    Nice walk path along the ocean, you could walk approx 6 mile...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lots of birds by the breakfast restaurant. this time of year (feb), beach had too big waves for our 18 month old to enjoy it.

    Nice walk path along the ocean, you could walk approx 6 mile round trip. Walking distance to the shops at Wailea (the island market has tasty poke) kids pool was nice. we upgraded to a vila, and it was great having our own pool, kitchen and bbq :) I'd recommending picking the first row of vilas, since infront of them you have an amazing lawn and close to the beach

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    6.7
    The hotel property was beautiful and and parking was always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Being a budget minded couple with a young child, we were not able to eat at any of the restaurants in this hotel due to the prices. A regular breakfast was $27 USD per person... and it didn't sound like a lot of food for the price. Before we left we asked someone to come help wth our 6 bags, whilst we had a stroller to manage as well... we were ready to leave and finally after about 15-20 minutes, we just took it all ourselves only to find 6 luggage carts and several staff members standing around claiming they were very busy. Not impressed with our departure. How arrival was somewhat late at night, and also took about 10 minutes for someone to take the responsibility of helping us upload our car and help us with our bags to our suite. Nevertheless, it got done, and very well, but waiting was not pleasant after being on a plane for 6+ hours. Our first room was on floor K and the first day we had a really hard time getting our baby to sleep due to lots of noise outside our room for over an hour. We called the front desk, and they promptly tended to our needs and upgraded our room for free and set us in another location on the other side of the hotel. However... the noise didn't stop there. Though it wasn't always noisy, on a daily basis, there are a large crew of gardening staff with gas operated power tools around our hotel room and the pool area. Perhaps it was just a matter of bad luck, but we ran into this issue several times. For guests not travelling with such a young child that doesn't nap, they would not have this issue. It was an inconvenience to us. The air mover in our room was near the TV and we had to keep turning the TV volume up just to hear it. The machine was very loud. For the price we paid to stay in this hotel, we would expect most if not all of the above to not have been a part of our experience.

    The hotel property was beautiful and and parking was always good. The pool area and beach were also very nice. Staff were always very pleasant. At 9:00 am daily, there is a fish feeding activity near the pool area that our daughter loved and we attended several times. Away from the busy part of town, access to the highway that will take you wherever you want to go without running into any traffic.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    9.6
    This all suites hotel has beautifully appointed rooms &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The door stop in the suite can rip open your foot as you frequent the frig & bar top behind the door.

    This all suites hotel has beautifully appointed rooms & grounds. Has a more adult feel than the other local 5 star hotels on the beach. My favorite amenity was the outrigger ride & daily torch lighting throughout the property at sunset which is stunning.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    10
    So many to list but I'll give it a shot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food is over priced and not enough options. I thought the KO restaurant was one of the worst over priced meals I have ever eaten. To be fair I did not eat at Nick's Fishhouse but did eat AMA and again was not impressed with the food or it's options but the staff were impeccable.

    So many to list but I'll give it a shot. It's only all suite hotel on Maui. Well designed with an open layout. lot's of parking and Valet. Free shuttle all around Wailea area. Staff is super friendly(every single person we encountered said aloha every time). 24hr swimming pools with free towels and free sunscreen an water at every pool. Our suite was big and clean with huge balconies. Bathrooms were huge with soaking tubs and beautiful showers with good water pressure and nice Robes. Our suite had mini fridge and Microwave with storage. I liked that I could plug my HDMI cables into the TV and watch movies on my IPAD.Plenty of closet space and safe. Sleeper sofa in the living room. There's a croquet area with corn hole game and a Disc Golf basket(which really made me happy). Even though Maui is non Smoking they have a cool discreet smoking section hidden by trees with a path and even some chairs. For free you can borrow all kinds of toys(Golf Clubs,Bikes,Snorkels and Flippers,Boogie Boards, and some other things too). They also the Ninja full face mask scuba mask for rent for 20 dollars(it's really cool). They offer pool side scuba lessons and ocean lessons. The Turtles swim just a few yards off the beach. There's a path you can walk towards some of the other resorts with beautiful views. There's so many chill areas at this hotel to relax and hangout along with all the beautiful art and decor. They change the elevator rugs out three time a day to say" Good Morning.Good Afternoon,Good Evening", there attention to detail is very impressive. I highly recommend this hotel if you have a lot of money because it's pricey and the food is also pricey. That being said"other then the food" you get what you pay for with there customer service.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    10
    I adored the service upon many other things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That we didn't stay longer

    I adored the service upon many other things. However, Tami at the front desk is so kind and made our 48 hour experience impeccable

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful facilities -- to me it felt more grand than the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I wish there was a nice evening restaurant on site where a normal entree price was $50 (that's entree alone!). We were not willing to pay those prices at Nick's Fishmarket (super boring) or even Ko, especially with our child in tow, so we ended up going off site to dinner most nights (Migrant and Monkeypod were our faves). One night we got pizza and salad from the on-site deli, and that was not very good. Room service was not great either. We ate breakfast in our room (which included a fridge and microwave, so we brought food in our suitcase) and ate lunch occasionally poolside, which was also meh, but it's fun to eat poolside, so I didn't mind that very much. The only food highlight was the new lounge, which opened in December and is beautiful and actually OK for well-behaved children. The cocktail program there was awesome and the apps were tasty, too.

    Beautiful facilities -- to me it felt more grand than the Four Seasons, but more tasteful than the Grand Weilea. We loved the pools and being right on such a beautiful beach. The all-suite layout worked great for us with our 5-year-old child. We had a ground-floor room on the P level so he could run around the garden looking at birds and geckos and picking mint and lemons for our water bottles. It was a dark room, though. The cleaning staff was amazing -- the turn-down surface at night felt like a second cleaning. The free shuttle service to other Weilea hotels is great, as is the walking path along the ocean.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    7.5
    The infraestructure of the hotel is marvelous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The relation of price quality for food, drinks and spa are overrated, this is not a friendly hotel to travel with a big family group.

    The infraestructure of the hotel is marvelous.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    10
    Beautiful hotel with spacious rooms and wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beautiful hotel with spacious rooms and wonderful staff. Saw whales from our balcony while watching the sunrise. Highly reccomended, will be staying here again on our next visit to Maui.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    10
    This place is amazing for families with kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The food was expensive but it was good.

    This place is amazing for families with kids. The rooms were huge and had a nice lanai. The location is beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    9.6
    The thoughtful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience at all. I found the elaborate marble bath a bit slippery when wet.

    The thoughtful and friendly staff. The decor and furnishing details. The options for relaxation and sightseeing.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    7.5
    room and bathroom size
    • Couple

    staff always seemed to hustle for tips. felt like hotel stuff tried to rush us out of the hotel on departure day. Restaurant and bar prices very high. Beach very short, not enough to walk along.

    room and bathroom size

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.3
    Facilities--the location and the resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Service at the retail side--restaurant, poolside and concierge. The attention and style is based on the assumption that guests expected Sheraton/Marriott care rather than Fairmont/Four Seasons care.

    Facilities--the location and the resort.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    10
    The hotel was wonderful, beautiful pool area with waterside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel was wonderful, beautiful pool area with waterside and a children's pool. Great view of the beach. The service was very good, by the pool, beach and around the facility. The rooms were spacious and large, all suites. Housekeeping did a great job making sure the rooms were always clean. The food was great, love the market cafe and Nick's Seafood. Excellent beach, water was so clean! Had a great vacation!

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    6.3
    Property was nice enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Vastly overpriced for the quality of accommodation and service. Everything was extra and everything was overpriced. Insufficient pools and lounger provision. Badly organised activities. The expensive WiFi was woefully poor.

    Property was nice enough. Most staff were OK. However nothing about this part of our trip stood out. Nothing was great or exceptional.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    5.8
    Beach was nice but crowded
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The suite we booked for 550.00 was in a dark basement feeling corridor far from the main part of the hotel. They did switch me to a higher floor, upgrade, however it was above the smelly kitchen fans and I was sick all night due to the smell. They once again offered me another room, but I decided to check out and go to Kaanipali.

    Beach was nice but crowded

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.9
    View, water slide, service, lobby area , dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not many breakfast options other than the buffet. Wi-Fi was not very good. Pretty crowded everywhere we went. They're expensive for what we got.

    View, water slide, service, lobby area , dinner

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.6
    Gorgeous property, huge rooms, very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Only criticism would be the value of the poolside menu. Quite expensive for what you get but I guess you're paying for the experience too.

    Gorgeous property, huge rooms, very friendly and accommodating staff, super fun pool with great slide for the kids.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    9.6
    There are not enough words to describe how wonderful a stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There are not enough words to describe how wonderful a stay here can be. The hotel is spacious and welcoming. The grounds are exquisite. The rooms are beautifully appointed and very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    9.6
    All the restaurants have high quality, fresh and interesting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The morning out-rigger canoe experience was impossible to book. We arrived on a Wednesday,.investigated booking on Thursday and there were no spots open until the end of the following week, after we were leaving. Suggest online pre-booking.

    All the restaurants have high quality, fresh and interesting food. i liked that there are options for all diets and preferences. Lovely small beach which almost felt private to the facility. Good access to most island attractions.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    9.2
    Customer service was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked a suite with a king bed 4 months in advance. When we arrived we were told one was unavailable and they only had suites with 2 standard beds. Not great for a second honeymoon!

    Customer service was excellent. Nice gym. Great shuttle service. Spacious suite.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    10
    Staff were very friendly and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were very friendly and attentive. The hotel set-up, the architecture, the "open plan" foyer looking straight through to the sea, the grounds and pools, the proximity to the beach, the food, all made for a beautiful place to stay. The location towards the end of the hotels lining the shore made it more secluded and private. (A free up-grade to a lovely suite was also very nice!)

There are also 46 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: