Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fairmont San Francisco 5 stars

950 Mason Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108, USA

#15 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1465 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Paid WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s on the top of a hill which affords good views but walking back to the hotel is a very steep climb. Take a cab or a tram.

    Great views out of some of the rooms. Very accommodating and friendly staff. Comfortable beds and rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was interior and I didn’t have any view outside. The breakfast was too expensive

    The staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is stunning from outside

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient, spacious and friendly! Excellent room service - they made an omelet at midnight outside of their breakfast hours at our request and it was spot on!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In rooms was very cold, termostat not working. Night service at front desk not good. Asked for item we left off in the room we transferred from and they said they did not find anything. Went there our selves and found the item on the shelf. Hotel rooms overpriced for what they have to offer.

    Morning front desk people where very helpful. Try to accommodate us best they can.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking costs $70. I think that is ridiculous and internet isn't free for a $500 room.

    It's lovely and comfortable and a great locatio n. It's really iconic and the Tonga Room is a top bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all perfect!

    This was one of the best hotel experiences I've had! Staff were exceptionally helpful, courteous and friendly. The room and view were gorgeous!! Couldn't ask for a better trip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive but comparable to other hotels in area.

    Beds were extremely comfortable, location was within walking distance of wharf, staff was polite and effeciant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I imagined a beautiful view on San Fran for this price and the pictures. We had a view of a tree and parked cars at pavement level. I was woke up by the lift operating during the night and very early morning everyday. Parking was $60 a day extra and no mini bar.

    Service was excellent. Tonga restaurant was amazing. Hotel itself was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Bay View and Sofa Bed - Tower Building
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant Tonga, we booked a table, we arrived and were told 10 minutes, we waited and waited - there were lots of empty tables, checked again still nothing, we left, hungry and tired. The breakfast buffet in the middle of the hotel foyer area was very disappointing in variety and price. Room service was better.

    The view from our suite took our breath away - just stunning. If you can, book a one-bed suite as the views from the lounge (and bedroom) are gorgeous - Alcatraz, Bay Bridge, Golden Gate, the bay. The tram stops right outside. Room service food is incredibly fast. Beds and pillows were comfortable. Rooms were serviced by housekeeping well. Bathroom nicely equipped with separate shower, plenty of towels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Tonga Room was very overrated- food was pricey (and not very good), hostess not very friendly and the entertainment lacking.

    We loved meeting Tommy and hearing the history of the Fairmont from the 48 years he has been on staff at the facility! Breakfast Buffet was incredible! The food and service at Cafe Cento was exceptional! The beds were ultra comfortable!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Screens and some fixturesun room did not work, left hand does not know what right hand offers; some bellmen or car service people were fab others rude....

    Beautiful architecture, good design, lively collonades, impressive entry

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking extortionate no free wifi no free water in the room. Toiletries not replaced in 3 nights. Impersonal ambience

    Uncrowded. Unfortunately it was overpriced & overated

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food could be cheaper. The price of food was expensive as compared to many other locations for a the quantity and the quality of the food provided.

    The kindness and courtesy of the staff in the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing a wonder

    My wife who has been in many 4/5 star hotels says this is the nicest hotel she has ever been in. Her #1 favorite. I agree, from appearance to staff. Even the restaurants and stores in the hotel were fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel haa no pool or hot tub. Breakfast service was slow.

    Amazing views, wonderfully attentive staff, best band in the city at The Tiki Room and lovely bed to sleep in!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very wierd configuration. I think it was not originally supposed to be a guest room No tub. Very little bathroom counter but enormous walk in closet

    Beautiful lobby

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were awesome. We slept like babies. The staff couldn’t have been more professional and courteous, the hotel itself was beautiful. The gym was one of the best gyms at hotel I’ve ever been to.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at afternoon tea seemed annoyed and were not very cordial Pehaps they were just having a rough day Discovered after checked out of hotel the Fairmont has had charged my credit card without my knowledge $114 per room per night (2 rooms, 2 nights) for potential incidentals Found out via possible credit card fraud alert from credit card company after I checked out Sounds like the hotel is operating under some financial strains

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to change room as noise from air condenser too loud at night. But there was no problem when did so .. slept like a baby and room quite and spacious.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Pech up the hill - unfortunately it dominates one of the highest hills!

    Excellent 5* hotel, with everything such a hotel should provide - lavish decoration, restaurants, suites, Gym, spa - none of which I was vaguely interested in - just wanted a bed for a few nights and got a good deal for what it was.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Through no fault of the hotel (this is SF anyway), the location on top of a hill. Means strenuous hike back to the hotel from nearby Chinatown or Union Square. Wifif should always be free. Not here though

    Classy hotel. Awesome service from the staffs. Concierge was extremely helpful. Front desk Vanessa pleasing. Doorman never failed to cheer me up.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is very very picky but the counter space in the bathroom was lacking.

    The hotel was beautiful and all the staff we came in contact with were amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our family had the best week at the Fairmont! We have four kids and the room was PERFECT! Couldn’t have asked for anything better. Best spring break for our family ever!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Information from staff. I asked one staff member if there was a store in walking distance where we could pick up a bottle of wine and some snacks, and she responded that there wasn't, and that we should go to the store in the hotel. We got on our phones and found several very nice grocery stores in walking distance. I don't know why she didn't just tell us. Also, the parking fees are high!

    The exquisite property, the view and the location were showstoppers. The staff was OK - a little slow and didn't answer questions or converse with ease. I would suggest training them more about how to make upgrades easy. The front desk person I worked with seemed flustered when I asked her about upgrade options, and she wasn't able to articulate the difference between the tower and the original building. She also couldn't articulate whether it would be wise to upgrade to a suite or a king room with a view. She would awkwardly ask i we were planning to spend time in the room or spend more time out in the city. Then giggle nervously. We decided to go for the suite, and once we saw it, we had no regrets! It was gorgeous, with splendid views of the bay. But we sold ourselves on it and didn't have much information to make the decision. Just as in Dallas, the Fairmont is an elegant escape we love to treat ourselves to on special occasions. We will be back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is awesome. Staff really friendly. Doorman was hugely entertaining & funny but also super friendly. On checking in, I gave my cell number to the front desk & they were always on hand to answer questions via text in a timely manner. Nice touch. They also checked in via text to see how our trip was going.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing special to mention

    Great hotel. Food was really great. However wished breakfast was included in the rate. However regardless we received a good rate. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. All the colleagues were quite happy with the saty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Signature Room With Two Queen Beds with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was not good as kept giving us rooms without whatcwe specified such as walk in glass shower instead of tub shower. We wasted 2 1/2 hours . Traveling with my 83 year old mom. No one went out of their way to apologize and offer us upgraded room, dinner chocolates nothing. Very surprising for a Fairmont. Finally at check out I mentioned that to the day manager and she gave us a free breakfast. This is definitely not 5 stars. Maybe 4 as looks worn down. Hotel needs a renovation. At least we tried it.

    Nice staff and piano music in evening. Great view of Bay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet broke, water kept running, fixed myself at night Cleaning stuff knocked on door twice by mistake in morning Insanely loud neighbors and poor sound proving of building, had to use earplugs to get some sleep Room service breakfast: eggs not prepared as requested, tea was forgotten Bathroom door hinges rusty Only one water bottle, always have to call for slippers and toothbrush and second bathrobe No view ... Recommend Loews or st. Regis for better value. This was pretty awful

    Good location, nice lobby

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the two elevators in our wing was broken, causing us to have to use the stairs frequently. Also the line for the Tonga Room made it impossible to visit.

    The bar was excellent in the evening, as well as in the morning for Bloody Marys. The location was fantastic and overall it was a very good stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No basic amenities like tooth brush kit (even a 2 star hotel in asia now provides those). Housekeeping very forgetful - 2nd day no floor mat in bathroom. Laundry good up and on top billed as express whennit was one day late - they did reverse that but that it was even billed incorrectly goes to ahow how slack the management of that hotel is. Nothing of what one expects of a Fairmont property, sadly.

    The toiletteries from Le Labo were good. The minibar was as can be expected. The staff were largely courteous, at least those that understood english. The rest were also courteous but communication could be a challenge.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waited too long for the room, past check in standard and not even an offer of tea. And then when we asked for a half hour more to checkout they gave us a hard time. Finally relented but made it unpleasant. Sour note to leave on. Paid a lot more than was on the website and even though we paid our contract price, they gave no upgrades. However we had the service of a Tesla ride -gratis - to our evening out Friday. The ice cream in the restaurant was amazing !!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor water pressure in bathroom Had to pay for WiFi Loud neighbors, thin walls! Soft and lumpy bed Garden view was sold to us but next to it were pipes and unsightly

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting was a bit intense at the vanity- not super flattering. But otherwise very nice.

    We were upgraded to a city view room with a king bed, with a large bathroom with a big tub and a shower, very roomy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was by the elevator and one of the elevators was out of order.A large protruding fence was placed in front of the malfunctioning unit. It was very unsightly and having one elevator seemed confusing for some. Every time my husband and I got one the elevator from the 7th floor, people had boarded on the unit when they wanted to go downstairs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    San Francisco is such a fabulous city to walk. We like to head out early and would have enjoyed lobby coffee service for an easy cup to go. Only coffee available was in dine in at the restaurant.

    Tiki cocktails in the Tonga room were incredible. Great service and ambiance in the lobby level restaurant at night. Wonderfully helpful concierge services. Great beds and love having a walk-in closet to put all suitcases and purchases away in - keeps the room uncluttered. Great view of the bridge and the city and the scent of bath products was wonderful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Signature King Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is literally on top of the town so you need strong legs to walk up and down. Room service clearly under par and difficult to find priceworthy breakfast.

    We had two rooms on 19th floor with a view over San Francisco to die for. Old fashion american luxury hotel with history

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt like a the chain hotel it is It was filled with large groups The halls were noisy late into the night with loud crowds The resturant is marginal at best - food, menu offerings and service were all poor Breakfast was their only slight strong suit The resturant is in an odd internal room that doubles as a bar - big disappointment in a city known for stellar food and cool spaces One elevator was kaput another was glacially slow It lacked the feeling of magic one can have in a grand old hotel that has been wonderfully reimagined

    It's a glamorous grand old property with a spectacular lobby The rooms are comfortable, attractive and offer A variety of thoughtfully placed outlets Nice breakfast buffet but if it's a weekend walk across the street for the breakfast buffet and the drop dead gorgeous views at Top of the Mark

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s surprising that for an expensive hotel, they still charge $20+ a night for internet and are able to leave dirty pillows and sheets in your room.

    Great building and location with fantastic views of San Francisco

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I loved everything. It would have been EVEN BETTER to have coffee to go in the morning. Still, I have no complaints! Every part of my stay was enjoyable.

    The morning door man was exceptionally nice and very professional. Front desk staff were courteous and accommodating. The shops and the restaurants really rounded out the overall experience. I will stay here again...and again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to leave!

    The staff went above and beyond! We have stayed in other Fairmont properties, so we were expecting good service. However, their staff is EXCEPTIONAL!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tonga Room buffet food was awful, way over priced for what it was for NYs Eve. Price of room service good way high also.

    Comfy bed, great room service food, lovely staff, nice sized room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Since I didn't plan my stay at Fairmont in advance of arrival, my partner and I received one of the last three rooms in the historic building during a Citywide conference for JP Morgan. Thus the room was small, view was ugly, and several items in the room were unnecessarily broken. We had to call maintenance and also arrange our plans accordingly to accommodate service. Consequently, my partner and I moved rooms to the newer tower on the 22nd floor with charge for an upgrade. The room was slightly larger. Still both rooms provided a mostly useless mini-bar with junk that simultaneously does not offer refrigerator space for any food item you might want or need to store on your own. Also, the desk was only big enough for me, but not my partner to work on throughout the day. On a lower hotel floor there is an excellent new gym and small spa with a changing room and lockers. Sadly, it's not free to use the gym and the steam room smelled terrible.

    The Fairmont is a historic building, wonderfully located on a tall hill along California Ave, overlooking much of the city and the SF bay. The building is spacious and solid, elegant, and beautiful. Gorgeous marble columns, tile, and sculpture adorn both inside and outside the building. Fresh flowers, art from Tony Bennett, and historical photos hang from the walls. At every turn in the building you'll find true beauty. The Tower Building, where I stayed for most of my 12 days was very well maintained. My tower room was well furnished, super clean, and equipped. The bathroom was more than adequate; it was designed with stunning, wall-to-wall yellow Italian marble. The bed was comfortable enough and the climate system smelled clean. The Smart TV worked well, and tech support was able to additionally connect my Google Home device. For many reasons, Fairmont was a very nice experience. The staff went out of their way to ensure my partner and I were very happy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cramped rooms, expected something more for £200+ a night. Pay a little less attention to your lobby and more to the comfort and value for money by upgrading the rooms

    Comfy beds, stunning lobby and great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel and staff were completely amazing! We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived to a big congratulations balloon on our second wedding anniversary, as well as a delicious chocolate cake for my birthday! The hotel completely spoilt us and made us feel super special :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Signature King Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room rate was outrageous, bumped up no doubt due to demand for rooms related to a major conference in town. Not only is wifi not free and overpriced, but I had to be transferred to an offsite tech specialist to get it to work properly. A choice of pillows would be nice - i.e. foam instead of feather, firm vs. soft.

    As expected for a marquis property on Nob Hill, the common areas were beautifully appointed. Staff was friendly and helpful, especially the bell captain. View from the room was gorgeous and the room was very comfortable, spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel-the room was lovely, even though interior facing it was still great. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Great dinner & entertainment at the Tonga Room, wonderful breakfast at Laurel Court.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Fairmont Hotel is a grand Hotel sitting atop Nob Hill in San Francisco. It has been beautifully restored and the service was impeccable. The in room dining selection was extensive and with 3 cable car routes at the door of the Hotel, this the only place to stay in San Francisco!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Signature Room With Two Queen Beds with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly hall out the elevator,old facilities and very slow and unfriendly service. Plus: we had the worst dinner during our journey in America,horrible steaks and dreadful service!

    Comfortable beds

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi should be free, so should the gym. I wanted to work out but when my husband found out you have to pay for just the gym I skipped it. Other than that, a great experience and I will stay here next time I’m in San Fran!

    My experience with the staff was incredible, they were super nice and professional, and helped me out a lot when I arrived and when I the next day ordered a second night and wanted to stay in the exact same room. The rooms were a good size for a king bed room, we had a city view witch was fantastic both during the day and night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The iPad in the room didn't work. The food was terrible and all the restaurants closed early. This is a very old fashioned place not a lot of healthy, vegetarian or vegan options in room service menu. Also my bed had a HUNK of GLASS in it. I told the text message service and then they guy was very annoying and told me I would have to move rooms - it was 11 o'clock at night. I only stayed over because I have meetings than the guy told me security has to come to the room. The laid hs to remake the bed. From scratch. All I am thinking about is I paid to stay over so I would be well rested for my meetings. But it was the exact opposite. This guy stressed me out. He didn't offer to comp anything. The gym is nice but they don't have headphones you can borrow and I forgot mine. I thought the people at the gym were awfully annoying. This is a good place to stay if you are a grandma type.

    The people were really friendly when I checked in. My room had a nice view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Short on staff, elevators were out of order for most of our stay and we had to use the service elevator. Internet cost a lot Mini bar had old, shabby looking packages of chocolate. In general, we felt the hotel wanted to squeeze as much money as they could from us.

    Amazing location! Beautiful lobby

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from other bedrooms, this is a old hotel so you hear everything. Had to complain more than once. To eat at the hotel is outrageous, afternoon tea costs $119 pp excluding 12% tax Breakfast costs $40 dollars, diner a few blocks away for $16

    The staff were amazing and friendly Location was great in between down town and fisherman’s Wharf

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The hotel was beautifully decorated and the rooms were comfy. The helpfulness of the staff was a bit mixed, although everyone was friendly. Suggestion that, as I had left a dinner reservation too late for New Year’s Eve, we should consider calling room service and eat in our room was not well received from the concierge. Is that not their job to find something for you? Then on New Year’s Day being told we had to wait half an hour to be seated for breakfast (despite the restaurant not being full) was not appreciated either. Surprisingly they managed to pull a few tables together when I complained to the restaurant manager in no time and managed to seat us. Everything was at a premium, no complimentary water was offered at night, for use of the gym there was a charge and a daily charge for WiFi. Considering the price of the hotel, gym, WiFi and water should be included! Rooms were beautiful and comfortable but not cleaned properly on a daily basis. Spare toilet paper, towels and toiletries were simply dumped on the dressing table rather than arranged in the bathroom for our children’s room. Overall a very beautiful hotel, great location but far too overpriced for the facilities offered. It rides on its reputation with little offerings for the clientele.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in room number 40 and the elevator made clicking noises the entire 3 nights I was there. I told the receptionist who checked me out and she comped a movie, which I felt was not enough for the inconvenience of the noise. I also paid for a city view and the only city view I could see was if I went close to the window on the right side and looked out to the left.

    It was a good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main bar area/dining room looked a little tired & dated. Was surprised at the very basic glasses & presentation used for cocktails, certainly at the prices charged!

    Location was great, at the top of the hill, great views and away from all the crowds.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wifi. Dining costs are expensive, and the hotel was generally very busy- possibly with non-guests enjoying the Festive decorations.

    Beautiful building and festive Christmas atmosphere. We didn't travel with a pet but loved that they had room service for animals too. Beds were comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom had just been remodeled and were awesome! They left a piece of cake and Happy Anniversary card in the room, and that was a joyous surprise.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Bay View and Sofa Bed - Tower Building
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service is very slow. One hour plus but it’s a very large hotel and we came at a busy time - the week after Christmas

    Very friendly staff. Our first night the room wasn’t ready so they upgraded us to the Tony Bennett suite. It was glorious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We felt like there is to much nickel-and-diming going on. If you pay $300 and more per night there should be some accommodations like a breakfast, free wifi....

    Great location and very comfortable nice room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While I understand the need for water restrictions - the water pressure in the shower was poor. The tv signal was also disrupted. Few other facilities in the hotel which surprised us a little for a hotel of this rating and scale. The staff were very friendly but communication between them seemed to be poor. Housekeeping arrived really early each day - we were barely awake.

    The Christmas decorations in the foyer were wonderful - great when you are spending family Christmas away from home. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. The beds were very comfortable - a great night’s sleep, and the views from the room were spectacular. The room size is great, and there was good availability of connecting rooms. Free wifi with club membership was very good. The kids loved the breakfast buffet in the Laurel room. Easy to walk to Chinatown and Union square - cablecar proximity was terrific but so crowded that practical utility was limited in peak holiday season so we took taxis back up the hill!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What does need improvement is the room service. Unfortunately, we placed our food order at 7:10 pm, did not receive the food order until 9;30 pm, that was after several calls to the front desk inquiring if our food order was sent elsewhere. Due to this malady, staff was sincerely apologetic, and the meal was on the house for the inconvenience. A classy move on the part of the FAIRMONT. Also, the quality of the food was not impressive, along with the menu, which is surprising as everything else about the Hotel and staff is surely 5 stars!!!! They need to revamp the room service menu, and find a new executive chef !!!

    The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable, better than our own bed at home! The sheets and pillow cases had a fresh and clean smell. The Christmas tree and decorations in the lobby were fabulous and beyond expectations, along with the marble Roman columns and flooring in the lobby. The cleanliness of the Hotel from the lobby to the hallways, our room, and bathroom was fabulous. This shows that the management and hotel staff take great pride in what they do. Upon our arrival, and check in, we were immediately upgraded from a queen bed to a King, and given a room on the fifth floor with a fantastik view of the city, and the Church Cathedral.. Every staff member we came in contact with was polite, cordial, respectful and willing to answer any and all questions or concerns that may have arisen during our stay.. We absolutely loved our room, cannot wait to come back to the FAIRMONT.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel with great staff. Great location. The in room dining was the best we have ever had. Room was stunning. Thanks to the staff and management for making my wife’s 50th birthday something to remember. This is a terrific hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wifi in the room. I think a hotel of this calibre should have free wifi in the rooms. Shower pressure was awful.

    Foyer beautiful and staff very helpful. Good sized room and cupboard space

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure is awful. I live in LA, I know all about water saving features, but this was one of the worst- it took three solid minutes to get my hair wet and twice that it rinse it out.

    Perfect for the kids the day after Thanksgiving with the life size gingerbread house and the beautiful Christmas tree in the lobby. We set out to take the ultimate holiday card photo and the tree was a perfect backdrop for our family Christmas onesies. The other hotel guests got a kick out of it and were requesting to take their own photos. The card has been a hit!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely busy with holiday tourists making the lobby chaotic. Wait time for room service was well over an hour. Rooms (specifically bathrooms) could use some updating.

    Comfortable bed, friendly staff, festive holiday decor.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could staff bringing room service please knock on the doors quietly at night-time, as the noise can disturb guests in the neighbouring rooms. I was woken up twice, once at 4AM and again at 5AM as the staff knocked on the room next door so loud it sounded like they were knocking on my door and woke me up. A trash bin in the bedroom would be helpful, in addition to the one provided in the bathroom. Some free TV channels providing radio music would be appreciated.

    Friendly helpful staff. Breakfast off the menu is a little expensive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast as part of the deal.

    When I arrived my room wasn't quite ready so I was upgraded to a bigger room with a beautiful view of the bay. The staff were friendly and helpful with any questions I had. The Fairmont is a hotel with character and as it was christmas I got to see all the decorations. I'd definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi should be included. This is a basic necessity, you should be able to get free WiFi without being a bonus club member, especially since all local cafes offer WiFi for free

    Very nice and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk went above my expectations to make a difficult day for us bearable. Excellent service. Room Service food was amazing. Christmas time at Fairmont is magical.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Signature Room With Two Queen Beds with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was average for the price. Valet parking was expensive. Very busy in foyer area due to a conference.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean. The view across the bay from the room was amazing. Location was great. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was spacious and spotless.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Signature King Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Phones were not answered when called through the room phone , complimentary water was not provided to the room at all , location is a bit far from the rest of the city attractions, very overpriced for what was recieved

    Lobby was nicely designed for christmas

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Bay View and Sofa Bed - Tower Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Paying for wifi sucks, BUT, if you join the Fairmont President's Club, premium wifi is free!

    The Monterey Suite was AMAZING, and the Christmas decor really got us into the spirit. I'd stay here 10 out of 10 times. Very convenient and beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As in any top notch city hotel, the cost of food and drink is pricey!

    The place is magical, overall an amazing visit! The decor at Christmas time was fabulous! We were upgraded to higher level Tower Rooms with breathtaking water views. Beds, linens and pillows were of a high quality which ensured a good nights sleep. We particularly enjoyed our visit to the Tonga Room where as hotel guests the cover fee is waived..this is a "must do" during your stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible panoramic view of the bay from Golden Gate Bridge, across Alcatraz and Coit Tower to the Bay Bridge. The hotel staff members were professional, efficient and friendly. Rooms were immaculate, comfortable and quiet. Location perfect for access to everything San Francisco offers. An historic hotel that has hosted the world’s finest visitors to San Francisco for over 110 years.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seated in a section of the restaurant with a huge party of 22 or so in the same area. Difficult for a party of two to complete with a party of 22 with the same sever. Server did the best she could under the circumstances. Host who sat us could have been more thoughtful by seating us in another area.

    Exquisite decor, friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Fairmont San Francisco traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: