Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Farrington Inn 2 stars

23 Farrington Avenue, Allston/Brighton, Boston, MA 02134, USA

#11 of 11 B&Bs and Inns in Boston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1498 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.9

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    2.9
    Horrible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a nightmare staying at this inn. Room was dirty and all the furniture was dilapidated. The furniture put on the roadside for free pick up would be much better that in the room. Air conditioners were very noisy which made you difficult to sleep. Would rather sleep in the rental car instead of paying more than $170 for a night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    It was a good residence that could be better if more upkeep was provided to the property.
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    AC could have been more prevalent, and the house maintenance could have been more robust.

    The suite of rooms were clean and the various amenities were there. Location was close to a lot of schools that could be accessed by the train.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    The perfect place to live back your University years!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Antique furniture in an anciens house: you feel back to your university years! Close to everything: transportations, restaurants, pubs, shops, Harvard campus and downtown Boston. There is a free parking and the staff is really kind...all this for a price difficult to find in Boston area. A big, big deal!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    3.8
    Filthy
    • Family with young children
    • Quad - Two Double Beds - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A thick layer of dust covered everything. No light bulbs worked in any of lamps.

    Location was good but place was not clean the only reason we stayed was bc we arrived so late & were so tired and were scheduled to travel early next day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    4.2
    I would compare it to a hostel in a developing country. But surprisingly expensive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place has a putrid smell. The bin had rubbish in. Parts of the wall were held on with tape in my room. It’s not good value for money. Not sure if that’s a light not installed or a fire alarm in my photos...

    Last minute availability. The bed was clean and I wasn’t bitten in the night. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    3.8
    I would not recommend this place for anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was a disaster. There was dirt everywhere, the curtains were falling apart, the carpet was dirty and sticky, and the bathroom hadn't been cleaned for weeks (as it seemed). We booked 2 rooms, and they gave us 2 smelly ones with a common bathroom for 2 of them.

    I really did not like anything about this place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.0
    replace the carpet or clean it up
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the smell of the corridor

    I don't like the bad smell when I enter the property...I think it comes from the carpet. And the carpet seems never been cleaned up or vacum. that is the only terrible thing in Farrington.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    I recommend the space to stay but owner needs to ensure cleanliness.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have already suggested to them to improve cleanliness. They need to clean the whole space, closing hotel for two or three days.

    It is a nice place to stay especially nearer to Harvard and other places. Pleasant and helping receptionists.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    Spacious, good internet but poor kitchenware.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen facilities very limited. Lack of utensils, plates etc.

    Very spacious, we were put in our own appartment. 10 minutes to the metro with breakfast places nearby. Reasonably quiet and good internet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    3.8
    The only good thing about this property is the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Questionable neighborhood with several boarded up homes nearby. Far from downtown. Bedroom is small and old. Bad bed. And you share a bathroom, including the shower. Yuck.

    The only good thing about this property is the price. But still not worth it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    Old building, a bit dirty, but has the bare necessities to sleep/shower and is cheap for the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. The shared bathroom on my floor was out of toilet paper for 2 of the 3 days of my stay. 2. There was soap for washing hands in the bathroom, but there were no hand towels, so my options were to dry my hands with either my shirt or the pair of underwear left on the floor by another guest (which also stayed there for 2 of the 3 days). 3. The floor in my room was filthy. Walking on the hardwood with bare feet was a mistake, as it clearly hadn't been washed or vacuumed in months. The carpet was covered with visible bits of....something. I did see someone from cleaning staff carrying a broom around once, that might be all they use. 4. Some idiot guest hung clothes from a sprinkler head and set off the fire alarm for the entire building around 2AM. Not the hotel's fault for sure, but maybe stick some signs on the sprinklers? The one in our room didn't have any warning, but luckily most people know better.

    The location was good, and the price was much lower than other traditional hotels nearby. I think I paid about $160 a night for a room with two full size beds, and the nearest comparable room I found would have been $220-$250. There was a mini fridge, sink, & flat screen TV w/local channels in the room, which were convenient. If you can bite on the bullet on traditional comfort and hospitality, this is the place to go on a budget.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    4.6
    large room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Not a hotel. Room was never cleaned over a two week stay. Communication with hotel staff always through phone rather than in person (reception was always closed). Corridor smelled. Was sometimes noisy at night.

    large room. Kitchen included. Area in Allston nice (lots of restaurants/bars close by).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    Overall I had a good experience. It served my purpose
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the bedding ( sheets /blankets) could have been nicer. I had to ask for a new top blanket. One of the two towels given to me had a stain on it so it couldn't be used. Nobody was ever at the front desk so I just made due.

    Location was not far from downtown Boston and my scheduled activities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.3
    It is good if you have no expectations. And just need a place to stay in town inexpensively.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the cleanest place, checkout was on an internal phone dropping keys down a tube and keeper was short about what to do.

    It was inexpensive, available, near where I needed to go, safe and clean enough for my purposes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    3.8
    Not again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heat no soap 2 towells for 3 days ..rodents .. place,was dirty and dusty..couch was filthy for 435.00 i excpected just a little more

    Closeness to public trans

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    2.5
    A total waste of time and money.
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire interior had a terrible punjent smell. I could hardly breath. The bathroom had no bathing soap. The room was cold. There was no way to adjust the temperature. The bed was the most uncomfortable I had ever seen.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    4.6
    Dirty hotel I have ever seen!!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lobby is very very dirty. I think they don't know when the clean the hotel last time. Very bad smell everywhere. I think nobody will book the place next for next visit in Boston.

    Parking Spot behind the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    This place is a gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is an old house so one can hear what is going on in other rooms even on other floors.

    This place is a gem. Location is great (public transportation; easy access to downtown (even by car); lots of restaurants; nice neighborhood). But the best thing about it is the price !!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.4
    I’d say it was in a decent location, but I wouldn’t stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there were private bathrooms with the room. There were burn holes in the comforter that was on the bed I was sleeping on. There were cobwebs and the room was dirty

    The skylight in the room was nice for natural lighting. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    3.8
    Avoid if possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room smelled really bad, and we had to keep the windows open all the time. The room was not very clean. The beds were uncomfortable. The pillows too thin. (Though, after we asked, we did get new pillows). The shared bathroom was not ideal (though the water temperature was excellent). The room had a kitchen, but no plates, cups or glasses. The towels are tiny - barely larger than hand towels.

    The location - close to several restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    No air conditioning or ceiling fans.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning or ceiling fans. Very hot last night of visit,very uncomfortable. No wash cloths or hand towels provided, just bath towels. Had to buy wash cloths.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    This is what I didn’t like: I left with bites on my chin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is what I liked: they had parking. Restaurants nearby to walk to. Nice, decent looking customers.

    This is what I didn’t like: I left with bites on my chin. They might have had bedbugs. John said he’d investigate and call me back, but he never did. But it may not have been bedbugs. I don’t know what bit me.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    You get what you want for your money theres rooms with...
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The maids dont come to the rooms and ask if you need cleaning.

    You get what you want for your money theres rooms with kitchens if your staying for a while and trying to save money its comfy and cozy great area friendly staff defitently worth coming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.4
    Not good, but did the job
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very uncomfortable. Price is ludicrously expensive for what it is, but it seems that is Boston prices...

    Friendly staff, comparatively cheap compared to others in Boston.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.2
    I don't think I would return in a hurry with my Wife
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very basic. The room was tired. The bathroom was old and worn out. The bed was very uncomfortable and creaky.

    The staff were all friendly and helpful. The room was warm. The expectation of staying in a Bostonian clap board house were high.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    6.3
    Good location, but house is 100 years old
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room are too old and not really clean. One window we couldn't close, and the other one was broken and it was hard to open it. Pictures was not accurate. In reality rooms are really old and was not clean :/ We found also few bugs on beds. House looks little bit creepy.

    I really liked we had heating, it was very hot in the room. Wifi was good. Nice staff. Comfy beds. Good location, close to the public transport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    5.8
    Ok place for the price, but very run down and needs to be updated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Worn down furniture and beds. Bathrooms were in need up upkeep (cracked mirror, mold, stains). Paperthin walls - other residents were extremely noisy at 4 am. Neighborhood was a little sketchy.

    Staff was extremely helpful and courteous. Local pizza delivery was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.8
    Liked talking with the manager and staff as well as the proximity to the T line to downtown Boston
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV only had about 6 relatively useless channels. You could get more channels by just using an external antenna I think.

    I liked being outside of Boston. I liked a reasonable price, but during the Boston Marathon weekend the price was nearly doubled. But still a reasonable price. I liked the quiet neighborhood and all the wonderful local restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    It wouuld have been very, very nice if we could have checked in early. The group took a red-eyed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A couple of broken tiles on the floor.

    One whole unit for the 5 guests in our group. On the ground floor with not so young legs. With a living room and kitchen corner and a fridge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    amazing atmosphere, didn't want to leave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing, I couldn't complain if you paid me :)

    They had all the accommodations I like including WiFi, the price was incredible, the staff were friendly and personable, and the beds were comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.8
    Ok for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The floor of the room wasn't clean. We found a lot of dust on the bedroom furnitures... The building and the furnitures need renovations.

    The size of the room. The bathroom was clean. There is a small fridge and a microwave on each floor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.0
    Neat house/Poor beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was way way to worn out. It was sunken down in the middle. If the beds were completely replaced; I’d recommend it to most people I know. As it is I cannot. A good nights sleep is the whole point of renting a room. Sadly the bed presents a real problem getting that sleep.

    It’s a simple room in an old house. Loved the nostalgia. The Green line B was very close. 1/2 hour to park street downtown. House holds some history; which plays well into a history tour of Boston :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    2.9
    Overall, the location of the buildings are good, the conditions they were kept I would say is poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the windows and doors leak air so you have to run a heater 24/7 to keep a good temp, my wife saw a cockroach in the bathroom, the beds seemed original to the building they sucked so bad, the free WiFi ran at an idle speed all week,the building was run down, we understand it’s old, but repairs that should have been made are being neglected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    I would stay here again every single time I would ever come to Boston!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The area was a little loud because of the Sox game and a couple of house parties. It wasn't /too/ loud but it was noticeable.

    The staff was incredibly nice and available. The room was great and the house itself had so much charm!! The area has so many food options and is very close to the green line train.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent place to stay, to be near Harvard and to access the entire city by mass transit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad - Two Double Beds - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radiator heat was inconsistent some nights.

    Great location to MBTS bus and subway, and to Harvard. Appreciated the free parking space. They even upgraded our accommodations at no charge when we arrived. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We felt very safe and enjoyed the neighborhood when walking around. Wonderful price to accommodate our family for the week.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    They gave us an upgrade when we arrived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They gave us an upgrade when we arrived. Instead of one room we got an apartment for the night. Really enjoyed the space. It was clean and comfortable. Guy at the front desk was really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.0
    I would probably pay more money next time to stay at somewhere a bit better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I knew what to expect because I read all the reviews beforehand, I decided to stay here because I'm traveling on budget. When we arrived there was another party checking in before us. The staff went to show them their room in another building, so we waited for 10-15 minutes. The house is extremely old and carpet looks really dusty. I have really bad sense of smell but according to my friend the whole building stinks. Our bed is ok, it sinks a little bit in the middle but we fell asleep pretty easily. We both used our jackets as blankets because we thought the blanket looked sketchy. I actually thought the bathroom is not bad, it is clean and I didn't have to wait in line for shower. The door lock sucks and made me feel unsafe because anyone can just kick the door open. The walls are not soundproofed at all, you can hear the next door snoring. I think this place is fine if you're traveling on a budget, however I would not recommend it if you're a female traveling alone because it's just not safe enough.

    The location is really great, it's close to restaurants, supermarkets, and public transportation. The staff is really nice, though you have to wait for them to show up.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    3.3
    no go
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - 2h in line to check in - after ring on the door at 2am by housekeeping asking why I was in that room - voucher for breakfast not being able to retrieve them - people not fast

    the doorman! wonderful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.1
    Good value for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed needs a new mattress. The current one is lacking firmness. A larger towel would have been nice. A bed lamp would be a good addition to the room.

    The check-in was smooth and the people were very friendly and helpful. The map of the area that was provided was quite helpful for locations of public transportation and nearby restaurants. The room was relatively clean. It was easy to get to downtown and other locations in the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Worldly atmosphere, shared bathrooms
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs indicator system (like pod 51 in New York) when the bathroom is free.

    You have the option to take cash or card, and with the price of staying per night, it's very affordable, which is especially helpful when you're dealing with homelessness and scattered employment.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location for triangulating our college visits. No frills and relative low cost.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The nature of old houses in the city is that they come with noisy streets and windows that are not well insulated against noise or wind. I am not too picky but some might find that uncomfortable. Perhapes a roll of paper towels in the kitchen would be nice. This is a place where you want to outfit yourself for your stay.

    The boarding house quality is a good change from the typical hotel. We had a double room with a private bathroom, which for me and my teenage son was ideal. Walking distance to the train, grocery store, and just minutes ride to-from cambridge, chestnut hill, and Boston. Coming home each evening to our flat suite was relaxing. No frills, but we were in the right spot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.1
    Staff was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The palace where there were the rooms was old and dirty. In the room, furniture was old, the carpet was full of dust and windows were dirty.

    Staff was nice. The price was good for Boston. The bathroom was clean. Position is near both the subway for Boston downtown and the bus for Cambridge.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    2.5
    Never, ever, ever stay here.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolute nightmare hotel, straight out of a horror movie, suffused with odors I did not dare to name, with a bed so filthy I kept my jacket on and slept on top of the comforter.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.5
    My stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other guest were loud going in and out place. They kept leaving puddles of water in bathroom.

    The rooms were clean and some furnishings. The room I stayed in had a full kitchenette.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    Quiet, Relaxing, No fluff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some coffee or other little amenities in the rooms would have been nice.

    It was a nice, quiet place to get away. Very cozy and warm. The location is great, just a short walking distance to restaurants, bars, and coffee shops.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.0
    Was not very clean.
    • Group
    • Quad - Two Double Beds - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was not very clean. Looks like they haven't dusted in a good while, in addition to all the doors having cracks in them, knobs falling off and bolt locks on every door. This place could have great potential if they kept up with the cleaning and properly fixing things. Also if you like fluffy pillows bring your own. The pillows in the room have no cushion at all, completely flat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.9
    Alright for a short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little noisy. I had a room on the bottom floor and people walking up and down the stairs woke me up a few times. Also, as I was there in Feb., they had the heat on and it was so hot in the room that I had to open a window. The heater was right at the head of the bed and was so strong that it made the room feel like a tropical beach.

    The room was clean and the hotel was not far from the metro stop.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.9
    Good location, great parking spot, excellent staff on check...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quad - Two Double Beds - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room door security could be better.....that's about it

    Good location, great parking spot, excellent staff on check in, excellent knowledge or surrounding area, very willing to help.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.3
    We love our 7th night stay at Farrington inn. the staffs are really helpfull
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house is mostly clean though I found Mouse under my bed at my 5th day. Please make sure there is no more mouse/rat inside the room.

    The staffs is really helpfull and we love the hospitallity. The location is good not that far from Boston convention center which is our expo area. And the facilities are quite complete. Farrington avenue is budget hotel with quite good facilities inside like microwave,kitchenset,refrigirator, free wifi, Hot water, heater. My room got cleaned most every day,l and we got new towel every day. Our room is also quite big to fit 3 people inside.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    2.5
    Switched building and room at check in that were different...
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Switched building and room at check in that were different from website photos. Lots of stairs to climb. No coffee pot. Extremely small, smelly and dirty rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    4.6
    If you are a crack head that just spent 5
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything besides location.

    Dirty. Nobody cleans. Place needs some serious tending to....ciggarette burns in blankets,hole in bathroom floor, dust EVERYWHERE. Found personal items left from previous renter which means no one even cleaned. Run down place that could be awesome if the people that run it would take even a LITTLE BIT of time to clean and update. Not much to ask if I was the owner I would be ashamed. Take some pride in your establishment!

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.5
    The location was great and loved that it felt like I was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been cleaner

    The location was great and loved that it felt like I was inside a haunted House Loved the organ on the second floor and the Bates motel looking bathroom. Felt I really could have been stabbed while taking a shower...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.3
    Bathroom was clean, room otherwise was okay with a clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedding and floors looked dirty and sticky and the mattress was uncomfortable, hard and with a sagging middle.

    Bathroom was clean, room otherwise was okay with a clean kitchenette. Close to train and many nice shops.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They were very accommodating. We ordered a room and were given an entire apartment with a kitchen. They were helpful and pleasant to deal with. Parking was good and they are close to the T stop.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Farrington, a twenty year old travellers review
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit minimal and bare. Could do with a lick of paint to brighten the place up a bit.

    It had a friendly feel. It was cheap and cheerful and the ease of access to many sites of Boston via the Harvard Ave green line stop.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Cosy and comfortable and characterful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cosy and comfortable and characterful. The size, furnishing and the atmosphere of the room were really a nice surprise, the location was great and I really enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    I arrived on a Sunday afternoon and anticipated a peaceful stay and that is exactly what I got.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room did not have a mini freezer which could have made a difference.

    The Inn was situated in a residential area so the environment was peaceful. The Inn, itself, was quiet. Everyone seemed to respect everyone's personal space. I will definitely return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.9
    Good stay with welcoming attitude.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The taps n sink needs to given attention.

    Smiling and helpful staff with ability to answer all the questions and Extending the checkout time smilingly. Sharing bathrooms is like one bath among three to four rooms . So I would prefer not to share bathrooms .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    2.9
    This place was filthy and full of roaches.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place was filthy and full of roaches. Honestly way below any standard. I understand that it is a discount location but the place was disgusting. Also the carpets probably haven’t been washed In years. Don’t stay here

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.1
    The inn is very easy to find, a short walk from the Harvard...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quad - Two Double Beds - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking. There is a small lot to park in, and the street is very narrow.

    The inn is very easy to find, a short walk from the Harvard Ave. T station (Green line "B" branch). The man who checked us in was very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.8
    You get what you pay for. It was outside of the city and cheaper than a hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were stains in the ceiling panels and cigarette smoke holes in the bed spreads.

    He staff accommodated my delayed light allowing me to check in after 11 pm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    it was a great value stay. you get what you paid for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    not much only that there is no elevators and gives you a brief time to workout

    Value for money! And with the T you can basically move around Boston easily.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    No adequate towels one for two persons for two night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No adequate towels one for two persons for two night. There is no cups there is no sadal shoes there is no tea boiler. In any ways it needs some improvements with the availability of facilities. Thanks

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.1
    chosen for location, facilities were unbearable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My apartment was in a different building. Parking was horrible, especially if you work late. Bathroom was very bad, long wait for hot water in shower, door was very difficult to open. No kitchen table.

    Location, friendly staff, clean room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.4
    Good location and that is it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were not very clean (mouse dropping and cockroaches in the kitchen), and the bed was uncomfortable. The heating was not working which was particularly bad considering it was a cold snap (electric heater was provided but for safety can't leave on through night). The staff told us to expect snow for one day but did not emphasise the importance of being prepared, he made it seem like everything would be normal the next day with a bit of snow but it was a blizzard and everything was closed, luckily we stocked up on food the day before.

    The property was close to public transport.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    5.8
    The staff was friendly and the location was convenient, in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is very very old- the paint is scraping off the walls, the bed in our room was broken, the shared bath had seen better days. We had a mouse in our room and the staff upgraded us to a better room, but they obviously knew about the mouse and were not surprised to hear about it, nor did they seem to do anything about that. The mouse ate our Reese's which was very sad for my partner.

    The staff was friendly and the location was convenient, in a neighbourhood with a lot of restaurants and coffee shops. The upgraded room with bathroom and kitchenette seemed better so I would stay in that if I am ever back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.9
    10 mins by public transportation to Harvard University and 30 mins to downtown Boston.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restroom is too cold and it has only one room to share for all floors. No shampoo, conditioners, and body wash. The bed is not support the back.

    The room has a small kitchen and counters bar. They also provide an extra heaters. Also, the window on the roof which it can see the moon when lay down on the bed. There are a bunch of restaurant near the place within walking distance. Near bus stop no.66 and subway - Green line (B).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.9
    nice and quiet area of boston, plenty of food options around...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got a room at the top floor, staircase was a little bit squeaky so everyone could hear me walking up or down

    nice and quiet area of boston, plenty of food options around, nice staff, free parking, good internet connection, good facilities

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.0
    It has the potential to be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's quite run down. Room can get cold in the winter.

    Staff are there to help. In our case at 9am on New Year's day when we locked ourselves out of the property by accident.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    great jewel of a property
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    leaving

    This is a jewel just outside downtown Boston. Mike was very helpfull and I even got a free upgrade to a room with private bathroom, whereas before I booked one with shared facilities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.3
    Far from comfortable, but cheap and good located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not enough equipment in kitchen: only 3 dishes, one fork, one spoon. Only two stools for up to 7 peoples. Windows leaking with cold air, so we was need to put pillows on them to close holes. Very low WiFi signal in the rooms, so you have to stay in some place to be able to communicate

    Good location, with free parking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    Very clean and personel very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit far from the center but there is a suway station within 10 mins walking

    I loved the personel. They were very helpful and always there to help you with everything. The residence was very clean and the room very cosy. The bathroom was also very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Overall very good!!
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would say it needs a little more cleaning and dusting. It needs TLC!!

    The people that works there a very nice and helpful, great location good size bedrooms for the price specially now!! So far no complaints. I really like this place!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    I found a comfortable clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was rather flaky, though when it worked it was rather high-speed.

    I was looking for a clean comfortable no-frills place to stay while I spent two weeks in Boston for work. The Farrington Inn was clean, quiet, and very conveniently located. It’s a lodging house, not a luxury hotel: there’s no maid to make your bed in the morning and no mint on your pillow at bedtime — calibrate your expectations accordingly. That said, all three of the staff members that I interacted with during my stay were incredibly helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.8
    Great budget stay close to downtown!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quad - Two Double Beds - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom definitely could be a lot cleaner. Also is snowed while we were there and the stairs and walkways weren't treated at all. It made us all a little nervous going to and from the apartment.

    We had a fantastic experience! Great value for the money- especially for groups! The kitchen and living room area were fantastic! We would definitely stay again! Also John in reception was very nice!

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: