Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The French Quarters 3 stars

346 West 46th Street, Hell's Kitchen, New York, NY 10036, USA

#1 of 24 B&Bs and Inns in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1672 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    8.3
    Very cute place right in the hub of things.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room-Located over Bar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cute place right in the hub of things. Excellent location near Time square etc. Plenty of nightlife and restaurants adjacent. I arrived very late and reception guy most obliging.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    10
    Great mini vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow elevator, so we took the stairs. Not really an issue for us, but there will always be complainers.

    The room was great. They upgraded us and it was a nice surprise.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    8.8
    Great Boutique Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were in the townhouse next door on the 3rd floor and there is no lifts. The steps are very steep and we managed, but a lot of people would find it very difficult.

    Great boutique hotel, close enough to everything but not in the thick of it. Complimentary breakfast was a bonus and there were some great restaurants close by.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.6
    Looking forward to coming back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price could always be better but for the location in NYC it's comparable.

    This is our 4 the visit. The staff is welcoming and accommodating. The bed is comfy. Room clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.0
    Very nice hotel in the centre of NYC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room-Located over Bar
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were just above the bar which had music on until late but we were told that before we booked and the price was adjusted accordingly so we are not complaining.

    Excellent location. Clean. Easy check-in/out. Pleasant continental breakfast included. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    The perfect location for our stay.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room-Located over Bar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Upon arrival, Colin at the front desk was extremely welcoming. He suggested a gamit of things to do and places to eat. Additionally, my orignal booking was slated for a king sized bed and he queried if I was interested in two doubles. Absolutely, was my response! I extended my stay another night.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Requested a quiet room away from the street, as we stayed for for 5 nights we had hoped for our request to be granted unfortunately it was not and we had a number of nights of disturbed sleep as our room was straight onto the main street. Having said that we would stay again as in a great location and staff were very helpful.

    Great location in the heart of Restaurant Row so plenty of quality places to eat (be aware that this means that it is noisy late into the evening) , close to Times Square and easy access to the subway. The accommodation was extremely comfortable and facilities were excellent. Would recommend.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    This will become my home away from home in New York!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room-Located over Bar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff seemed to genuinely care and went the extra mile to help us. Proximity to the theatre district was a huge plus! Great restaurants abound in the neighborhood

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.6
    We hope to stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room-Located over Bar
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a tiny bit musty but that seemed to clear after the first day. Sometimes when we went to the front desk the people weren't there but they always showed up in about ten minutes.

    The staff was great and the room was beautiful. They held our bags for us after we checked out and were very nice. The nearby restaurants were all great but we mostly went to sushi haga 46.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Excellent trip to NYC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    had some trouble with our keys and the mag stripe 2 nights in a row. The front desk fixed it right away.

    great location, nice sized rooms, comfy beds and linen, nice bathroom, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Charming decor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet was in a bar area that felt a bit off first thing in the morning but there was a good selection of items.

    Charming decor! Excellent bathrooms- fluffy white towels and nice showers. Lovely and friendly staff! Received a fortuitous upgrade from a one bedroom suite to a two bedroom suite for a mother daughter weekend for three adults. Felt luxurious and spacious. Location was amazing and allowed us to walk to a great dinner and show!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    8.8
    Good value for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room-Located over Bar
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was above the bar but we knew that the music was loud but ear plugs helped. The air conditioner had trouble keeping up our room was warm.

    The beds were every comfortable and the check in staff were so helpful and friendly!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    This is my go to place when in New York!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little bit of a musty smell on arrival. Wish we had hard boiled eggs on weekdays.

    I find this property charming and all of the staff are helpful and welcoming. Free coffee in the rooms, refrigerator and small stove top. Wifi works great. If you going to the theatre, this is very close.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    We liked everything about The French Quarters.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room-Located over Bar
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about The French Quarters. A charming place in the heart of New York. Very great location for easy theater acces, subway acces and places to eat. Will stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Excellent food, accommodation and sights. A pity about the weather. Next time we will stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather on our middle day! We were only there for 3 nights.

    The room was very spacious with plenty of storage. We even had a terrace with table and chairs to sit out on. When it was especially wet one evening we only had to go next door to the bar/restaurant and got an excellent meal with drinks. Excellent location with Restaurant row and sights within walking distance. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.6
    New York as I imagined.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great location close to Broadway but not too noisey. Lovely breakfast overlooking the bar area, dont let this put you off the bar was close. Atmospherice mid town area "Hells Kitchen" close to great bars Broadway andrestaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Excellent staff and accommodating highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast needs more variety each day however it was relaxing and comfortable

    Position position position and rooms like home it was good to come back to after a long day in the city

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.6
    Great experience
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is ok but could have been better, there weren't many options.

    Almost everything. It was a big an comfortable room, the staff was super friendly. We arrived early at the hotel and they invited us to have breakfast, gave me an umbrella (it was raining outside) even before I asked for one and allowed us to do an early check-in. Location is great, there are a lot of restaurants in the same block. We had a great time.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Comfortable, safe, and enjoyable!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like that there are no usb outlets in the room, so remember to bring adapters for wall outlets.

    I loved the location, I loved the quaintness of the hotel, I loved the comfort and cleanliness. I would stay there again and become a regular. There are restaurants up and down the street and close to just about everything! I felt safe too - the front door of the building locks at 8 so you need your key card to get in, which I liked. I am hesitant to recommend only because I don't won't more people to find out about this gem.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    5.0
    I took photos that showed the problems with the room but was unable to download.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dreadful view out windows, stained upholstery on chairs, Peeling pain on bathroom shelf, and if toilet seat was down, we could not open shower door!!!

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room-Located over Bar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got the room over the entrance and it was super bright because of the hotel’s lights. And also there was a club right across the street so it was kind of loud.

    Bed was excellent. It was very clean. The staff was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    property was very nice, with a small B&B feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing specifically comes to mind. Was more expensive than we normally would pay for a hotel, but it is New York City and was cheaper than a lot of other options we had.

    property was very nice, with a small B&B feel. Staff were excellent and always willing to help. Great location, walking distance to Times Square and other popular spots. Was big enough for a family of five.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    The coffee in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mainly the cramped feeling when checking in at the entrance.

    The coffee in the room. The room was beautiful, clean and cozy and it was one of the best continental breakfasts I was able to experience. Lastly everyone was extremely nice and welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    I love the staff the feeling of family when you are there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once in awhile I can’t get a room! Spoiled! Always want to be in this hotel!

    I love the staff the feeling of family when you are there ❤️Not a typical hotel Love Love love it

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Cozy and homely
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room-Located over Bar
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The place has got a character, with sort of French amnience. I could see and feel that they know how to look after costumers, paying more attention to details. The location is perfect. Not too noisy just a little away from the crazy crowdy times square.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front room was a bit noisy on a Saturday night. However, we stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment previously and it was lovely - quiet, great views and awesome terrace. Get the two bedroom if you can.

    Excellent location. Far enough from Time Square to be less busy and near enough to the theater district and time square to be central. Right in restaurant row. Close to kids’ sites as well as adult ones. Spacious rooms, great service, good bathrooms and excellent toiletries. We stayed at another hotel - a top, posh, 5 star hotel in NYC and as much as that was nice, it didn’t have the same sense of friendliness, warmth and couldn’t beat this location. Lesson learnt, I won’t stay anywhere else in Manhattan when visiting.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    THE BEST!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room-Located over Bar
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower head doesn't provide much volume of water, but suppose the environment appreciates that more than my thick hair.

    So clean, luxurious and comfortable. Staff amazing! Have stayed here multiple times over the years. They continue to update and remain our favorite! We visit NYC about 4-5 times yearly. For many reasons, this spot remains our favorite! Convenience to fab food and the theaters and Central Park! Plus we have a kitchen in the room!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Enjoyable french experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room-Located over Bar
    • Stayed 1 night

    One toilet seat mount was broken which gave me a fright when it slid sideways! Other than that was a nice clean bathroom

    Much larger room than expected, very friendly staff and brilliant location. Great bar on ground floor with spacious breakfast mezzanine. Will definitely recommend to friends and stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Amazing design of the rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was gorgeous! The interior is truly amazing!! The location was central and very close to Times Square and all the attractions! The hotel offered a complimentary breakfast 👍

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Very good location, beautiful room with great view, staff extremely helpful. We hope to return soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room-Located over Bar
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was too short due to flight issues!

    The suite with roof terrace was stunning. Also loved the roof opening at breakfast on a beautiful sunny morning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful stay at The French Quarters
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room on the front which unfortunately was very noisy from noise outside but please note this did not spoil our holiday.

    The rooms are lovely. Very clean with coffee machines. Hairdryer and iron also in the room with lovely l'occitane toiletries. The breakfast was great and enough to keep us going. Very helpful gentleman in the breakfast room and would do anything to help you. The bar adjoining, The Bourban Street Bar and Grill was a great place to have a drink and food was delicious too. Location was perfect. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Good location -walking distance to many attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed to keep curtains closed as the view from window was bad -needed a tidy up

    Cosy room -clean and comfy beds -close to lots of restaurants -visited piano bar across the street which was amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Will stay here again when in NYC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room-Located over Bar
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It wasn't really a problem! But if you going to stay here, stay above the 1st floor rooms because you will hear music till 2am.

    Great location! In a neighborhood setting with little restaurants. Everything is a hop, skip and jump away!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    very comfortable , as if staying in own appartment in an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    could have better breakfast especially fresh fruits and vegies , no ommelets or equivalent available .

    very comfortable , as if staying in own appartment in an excellent central location in newyork ,we walked to almost everywhere and we did a lot .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    We love staying at the French Quarter!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We love staying at the French Quarter! The accommodations are great and everyone on the staff, from the manager to the cleaning staff, is so friendly and helpful. It is like staying with family!!! An added plus this trip..: my daughter decided blackened catfish was her favorite food and wouldn’t eat anywhere else!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    French Quarters is in a great location, with a good sized room and amenities. Would stay there agsin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much space to store suitcases or bathroom toiletries. As we were only staying 2 nights that didn’t matter so much.

    Comfy beds, room a good size for New York and big enough to fit 3 - 4 people , friendly staff and free continental breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    This was an outstanding accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was an outstanding accommodation. The staff was so helpful. The location was ideal. The room was way beyond the normal NYC room in style, size, comfort and peace. The rate was terrific. We will return!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    Very nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower wallmounted w/o the “telephone” (very common in the US)

    Very nice location (midtown) Friendly staff Very good breakfast Bathroom (big, comfy) Room clean and quiet

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Great bargain
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very professional but also friendly and helpful. Room and bathroom were large, well lighted and very clean. Near lots of great restaurants and theaters. Loved having free breakfast with lots of choices on property.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    WONDERFUL
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an amazing time. The staff were all really friendly and helpful, the location was PERFECT. The style of the whole place was lovely, having a smaller hotel made it personal and cute. Do not have a negative thing to say about our stay. Thank you!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist/check I staff very helpful. Clean, quiet room. Room was larger than many other NYC locations. Continental breakfast was included. A couple more roosters and upgrade on danish would have made it better than adequate.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    AMAZING.! !! A must stay again place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing LOVED IT.

    Love, love this hotel. We'll be staying here whenever we visit for now on and the owner, Colin, thank you so much for making our stay personal, important to you and your staff, and just overall AMAZING.! !!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room-Located over Bar
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the room was little bit dark but that's OK.

    It was our second stay in this place and it was great again. Combination of nice staff, location and pretty good breakfast is superb.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.7
    If the room didn’t smell so awful I would recommend, everything else was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled awful...beyond awful. A musty moldy smell that made me feel sick. That killed it for me.

    Location was great, the staff was professional and beyond nice, room was clean, shower had great water preasure, towels were soft.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    I would come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a stale/old scent to it. Luckily I brought air freshener which helped out a little bit.

    The staff were extremely helpful. The location was perfect for walking to and around Times Square, Broadway and Hell's Kitchen.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    The French Quarters have real character, amazing location, couldn't have asked for more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No problems at all with anything.

    The location is fantastic - you are in the heart of New York, a few minutes from Times Square, but in a really lively, exciting neighbourhood. We got upgraded to a two-bedroom apartment and the balcony was really wonderful - had to blink really, the view was astonishing and it was a great place to return to. The staff were wonderful too, consistently friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    I was very happy with the hotel, the staff were friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room-Located over Bar
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was very happy with the hotel, the staff were friendly and helpful the room was clean, comfy and nicely decorated. Location wise it was a good base to visit all the attractions and there were a lot of nice looking restaurants in the area. Breakfast in the hotel was good. There is a restaurant / bar downstairs which does play loud music at night on certain nights and you could hear muffled music on the first floor. The hotel did contact me prior to my visit to make me aware that I may well hear music in my room, I slept well but if you are a light sleeper you may want to contact the hotel first and ask for a room where you can't hear the music.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Wow!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything was superb

    The friendly helpful staff location fantastic. Clean well equipped. Beautiful building in tree lined area. Just wish we could have stayed longer!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    A great place to stay that’s near Times Square and lots of restaurants!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The same stoop we loved unfortunately the public does too. We kept encountering a man who would sit outside to smoke a joint and the smell permeated into the building so that strong smell followed you up the stairs. My 10 year old son did not like that. Fortunately we only saw him the first two days and that was it. However my son made me go down the stairs before him from that point on just to check so I hate that it made him feel uncomfortable. Our last night I went to ask advice on airport transportation and times to LGA. The young man at the desk was helpful and offered to have someone come in the morning to help us carry our bags down the flights of stairs. He said just call them to which I replied our phone was not working. He said he would go check on it but no one ever came that night. We ended up carrying them ourself which, thank goodness, we didn’t have a lot to carry. Also the noise that night (Friday) was very lively from our room. I couldn’t sleep well from the sounds of celebrating and music until it finally ended at whatever time. If you get a room off the main building that faces the street it may be quieter on the weekends unless you’re a hard sleeper. If not, bring ear plugs or a noise canceling machine.

    The location from Times Square is great. You’re not too far from the Port Authority station and two other subway stations. The staff I had interactions with were accommodating for the most part. Monica and Moe were both super friendly and helpful. Monica gave me subway directions and even a metro card to get us on our way our first full day. The room itself was very quaint with the exposed brick inside and decor. We got upgraded to a townhouse on the third floor and the room was bigger than what we originally thought we were getting so that was a nice surprise! When we walked up the stairs the day we checked in the hallway smelled like you were walking inside a L’Occitane store. Heavenly. I love L’Occitane products so that just adds to the charm! We loved the feeling of walking up the stairs/stoop to get to the room through your own door. It felt more like going to your apartment than a traditional “hotel” feeling. Felt more authentic like you were a true New Yorker (or close to it). Ha! A few times our room keys got demagnetized and stopped working but we quickly got those fixed. The rooms were always stocked with plenty of towels. It was nice coming home to a nicely made bed and tidy room each day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were exemplary..friendly helpful and efficient throughout. The boutique feel was a welcome contrast to the energy and sheer scale of the city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    It was very well placed between Time Square and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room-Located over Bar
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being an “older” couple the night time was a bit too noisy for us as the revels went on until about 3am outside

    It was very well placed between Time Square and the waterfront. The food was excellent and the staff very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room-Located over Bar
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water for tea could have been hotter

    It was amazing from start to finish. Loved every part of my stay. Staff were beyond helpful and the hotel was beautiful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Excellent facility with amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    American breakfast- carbohydrate-based (bagels, cereal, fruit, croissants)- would consider adding some vegetables or salads

    very comfy bed spacious clean room and bathroom attentive staff 8 minute walk from Port Authority 5 minutes from Times Square and major Midtown attractions

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Amazing stay for our honeymoon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room-Located over Bar
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfy beds, size of rooms, excellent and helpful staff. We stayed here here for our honeymoon and upon arrival we’re greeted by friendly staff member, our room was upgraded and had prosecco waiting for us on arrival. It was a very pleasant surprise after traveling all morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic apartment hotel for a family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be improved. The safe provided was big enough for laptops but was not bolted but just placed on top of a chest of drawers. Although heavy, I would suggest to bolt it for security.

    Excellent location, minutes from times square and broadway theaters. Near subway. So many restaurants nearby. Right smack at hell’s kitchen! We got a 2 bedroom apartment which was spacious for a family of 5, very clean and had comfortable beds (even the pull out sofa bed mattress was comfy!). Staff were very nice and accomodating.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    - The staff were very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was slightly on the small side, whilst our bathroom was huge

    - The staff were very friendly and helpful - Excellent location near Times Square but far just far enough away for it not to be too busy - The bed was extremely comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Loved the decor and the New Orleans ambiance and the great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator wasn’t working so had to carry luggage up 3 flights of stairs. But otherwise, I highly recommend it.

    Loved the decor and the New Orleans ambiance and the great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit on the small side. Street noise at night in room at front of hotel.

    Very close to Times Square and major attractions. Staff were welcoming and helpful. Good bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    We will likely stay here if the price remains the same
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room-Located over Bar
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room never had hot or even warm water in the shower but the faucet in the main room would get scolding hot??

    The botique style of the hotel, the location and price were all well balanced

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The phone in my room did not work and we did not know where to get ice from.

    The bed was very comfy and a great location to Time Square, Penn Station, and Fifth Avenue. I would highly recommend this hotel and we gladly stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Staff was really friendly, room clean but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room-Located over Bar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No more coffee at breakfast. Room was noisy as we were close to the door and on the street side. Kept hearing people coming in and out.

    Friendly staff, nice and clean room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    A bit of charm on 46th St.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived, a bedroom lamp was broken. Management immediately responded, but it remained hard to turn on. The fax/scanner was out of service although the front desk could print documents if needed.Not really a business hotel.

    Charming king room (302) overlooking the street but not too noisy. Comfortable bed and bathroom with upscale toiletries..Free breakfast was unvaried but adequate -got to be boring after two days. Plenty of nearby restaurants. Bar downstairs not under same ownership and a little expensive compared to others for breakfast/lunch.They did a late checkout to accomodate our travel scgedule, but early arrival was not possible.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Small and charming, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast selection has lots of room for improvement (but the black coffee was excellent!)

    Perfect location, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable bed, nice bathroom, free waterbottles.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    A gem in New York City!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A slight smell in our room which meant we had to leave the windows open.

    The French quarters was easy to find and in a perfect location just off time square! The staff were what made our stay amazing, from check in until we collected our cases to leave they couldn’t have been more friendly or helpful. Breakfast was delicious and included a great selection. We will be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Feels like home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    service at breakfast is somewhat slow... you may go to breakfast hall and find several tables empty but not cleaned yet.... but otherwise all is good.

    This is my second time in French quarters in 2 years.... well this hotel is different.. room atmosphere gives you sense of being home... comfort and cleanliness are at best... location. location, location... close to every thing, time square, theaters, shopping, restaurants... and yet tucked away from the hustle and bustle.... Very good continental breakfast... and you can a great lunch or dinner at bar/ restaurant on the premises... My favorite 2nd home when I visit NY. Recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Great location, great room, lovely breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on the 2nd floor at the front & all was good only a little noise until the Fri night, noise was horrendous until 4am! Would stay again but would bring ear plugs!!

    Excellent location, all staff were very welcoming,room was lovely & very clean. Breakfast was perfect for us. The bar downstairs was great too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location pick your room with care
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room-Located over Bar
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First floor rooms suffer from loud noises from the bar below . Can go on until 4 am !! Ear plugs no use very very loud

    Location near time Square and Broadway. Breakfast included was very good and a large choice. Comfortable beds and large walk in shower

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    4.2
    Even though I paid 200$ for a night, I was still above the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room-Located over Bar
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though I paid 200$ for a night, I was still above the bar with a very noisy room. The reservation form mentions noise (and heavy discounts) on thursday to saturday. I was there on wednesday and had no discount (200$) but it was still very loud until 3am.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    Really nice and very personal staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room-Located over Bar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice and very personal staff. We actually booked the room above the bar. They moved us up a floor for free. It was a random Wednesday so I wasn’t too worried about the noise but when we got back to the hotel around midnight the bar was more like a club (very loud music). So I really appreciated it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room is used as a bar in the evening, bit cold and worn down, alcohol bottles behibd the buffé. Not a very nice room to have breakfast.

    Very nice and helpfull staff, spacey rooms and great beds, location is brilliant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable beds and lovely decor with helpful staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff. Big comfy beds and lovely decor. Quiet. Good continental breakfast. Great location with easy access to sights and theatres and lots of restaurants and cafes nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    Didn’t stay- wasted my $230
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room-Located over Bar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I checked I , took a shower . The room was lovely. However when I had prepaid , the site Booking.com was confusing and first said “no cancellation penalty” and after I paid it said no refunds and your room is above a bar with disco. The room was beautiful , small and cramped by pretty and clean. I left because already the streets outside were filled with cigarette smoke and the air inside lobby also - and they told me that noise from the DJ below would start at 10pm and continue until 4am. I took the train back to Westchester after work at 10:30. This is not a place for people who want to sleep and have to work i the morning . The area is all tourists of course but quite congested and everyone smokes. Ugh.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud music from bar kept us awake. Room on higher floor might have been quieter.

    Staff was wonderful. Very helpful. Location perfect for walking to broadway shows and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic location, large,clean rooms. Lively area of NYC
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room-Located over Bar
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a room at a very good rate - large, clean. The room was on the floor above the bar - which happened to be more a disco, that was open untill 4 in the morning, so you should know and accept this before booking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant downstairs was disappointing as bar staff were not friendly or very helpful...found another place around the corner: Mercury bar!

    Great location! Room was clean and comfortable, brekky was simple but sufficient and staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The French Quarters traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: