Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of 36 Hudson Hotel 3 stars

449 West 36th Street, Hell's Kitchen, New York, NY 10018, USA

#346 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 712 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.0
    Nice location if Javitis is your only destination.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small even for New York standards which was okay since we were only there to sleep but the place needs a major overhaul. Bathrooms needed work to repair leaks and crumbling paint. Beds were also but the pillows had seen better days as had the bath towels All of this might have been acceptable if it hadn’t been over $300 a night Not a good value

    It was an easy walk to the Jacob Javits center were we were going to a show The air conditioning worked well even in 90 plus temperatures Staff kept our luggage when room wasn’t ready and after check out which was nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Good price for a basic room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t bother us, but if you want snacks/food/vending you need to go out or delivery.

    This is a basic no frills hotel, we got what we wanted. Nice bed, clean room, private bath. Room was quite. Cleaning staff was nice. Front desk staff good. Good location, we walked basically everywhere. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice location makes up for basic offering.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was extremely small (think cruise ship size room), but I didn't need much. There wasn't much offered besides a room to stay in (and the floor seemed more like an old apartment building than a hotel room).

    Great location if you are visiting the Javits Center. Staff was very friendly - Sean, in particular, was great. King Sized Bed was quite comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    4.6
    The location to where i take megabus to boston is the only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that spacious in terms of moving around inside the room and the exhaust fan in the bathroom is not working.

    The location to where i take megabus to boston is the only reason i book this ans the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    location and facility was great, staff was awesome...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location and facility was great, staff was awesome particularly Shawn at the front desk. We had a small problem with the air, reported it and it was fixed within minutes. Overall a great experience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need some tender loving care. Needs fixed up.

    This is our 7th year staying here. Love the location and the price. There is a parking lot across the street and if you get you receipt stamped you get a discount.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    i'ts a bed to sleep in and taxis are easy to find to get around.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    location.. but we knew this before we booked... for the Javits its perfect .

    the bed was comfy .. the hotel is cheap for nyc so you get what you would expect. not bad.... but not great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    Great value for the money if you have a quick trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is not appropriate to ask people to stick around for 5 minutes to sign a piece of paper for the bill given the hotel has already taken a credit card impression.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    4.6
    Absolutely terrible attitude towards customers by one member of staff
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The South Asian middle-aged man at the desk had an absolutely appalling attitude. He was extremely impatient with guests and would flare up and SHOUT at them for asking any questions or for clarifications. He needs to be trained thoroughly in customer service.

    Room and bathroom were fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    4.2
    The water in the sink and shower kept cutting off.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in the sink and shower kept cutting off. I reported it and a worker just turned on the water to check it. This is a 2 Star Hotel, not what was advertised

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.3
    NYC not the cheapest place to enjoy transmitting through.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced for size and standard of hotel facilities even though half the price of rooms elsewhere in Manhattan. Rather run down neighbourhood with nearby construction sites a dispiriting feature. Really to far from Penn Station to walk dragging heavy cases, and cabs/Uber an unwarranted additional expense.

    Location near to Penn Station made it an appropriate place to transit in between arrival at JFK from a long distance flight, and an Acela Express train to Boston the next day. Would also have been handy to Times Square and Broadway theatres had we the energy to visit. Deli nearby for breakfast next morning was excellent value for money despite queues of construction workers ordering for colleagues.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    The staff were very helpful and kind
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Roos are some what small No facilities like room service so you have to bring your food and drink

    The staff were very helpful and kind The location is good The rooms are clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Met the needs of the five of us with its good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms slightly larger

    We felt fortunate to be able to book a room with a convenient location and reasonable price at the last moment. Helpful staff who stored our luggage while we were at a museum

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Clean and cozy room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bigger than I expected for a NYC hotel, not huge, but bigger than I expected. The hotel was quiet and clean. It was also easily accessible to where I needed to go.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was very close to Times Square and Empire State...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms needed basic repairs. The electrical outlets were loose. The inside door lock was missing 3 out of 4 screws. Toilet paper holder was falling off the wall.

    The hotel was very close to Times Square and Empire State Building. The bathroom and beds were very clean. The staff did a wonderful job.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.4
    2 to 2 1/2 star hotel in okay location --
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check-in wasn't allowed til 3 pm (on the dot). So when we returned to the hotel to check-in there were of course, everyone else waiting to check in. Other hotels - if rooms are available, let you heck in early.

    2-star hotel. Small rooms, but nice staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water was not hot enough.

    Perfect location to visit main areas; close to subway; lots of restaurants in the area. Staff was attentive and helpful. I lost an earring and they recovered it. Very honest.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.7
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    the heat was blasting, even when we turned thermostat down, wound up turning it off for periods because room was too hot

    We only stayed one night after a concert, so it served it's purpose.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.9
    A nice place to stay for a weekend trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could’ve been bigger. Maid service came at 5pm on Sat. It was too late as see were back in the room before our evening outing.

    Friendly accommodating staff, very clean room, comfy bed, had everything we needed, room wasn’t by any means tiny, but would have liked more space. Location was easy to get to, very close to public transportation. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    6.3
    In a pinch with money to throw away, I would stay again.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to a change of a funeral schedule I was unable to cancel my less - than 24 hour reservation with out a huge fee. Therefore my elderly mother had to stay alone. She came downstairs from her room and found no one at the front desk (I have a pic to prove it). Next time I will go with another hotel with a more flexible cancellation policy.

    Small but comfy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    5.4
    I booked this hotel at last minute and during Christmas eve,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked this hotel at last minute and during Christmas eve, so for me it was more of an cheaper left over options (which wasn't that cheap). The location of this hotel is great as it takes under $10 Uber to reach to Times Square. The hotel lobby and the elevator were very unappealing and so was the room size. The bathrooms were clean which was really nice. We stayed just for 1 night so it was ok, but not recommended if you plan to stay more hours at the property

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    2.9
    Would not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like the rooms, would never be able to accommodate 4 people there was hardily any room for me & my daughter, No view at all. We had to ask to move room as our room had a horrible smell, I had to ask for the bedding to be changed during our stay, the whole place needs a make over......definitely not worth the money! I cannot remember the young guys name on the front desk but he was very helpful. The manager was not helpful when I complained to her about the rooms!

    Very good powerful shower, beds were comfy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    5.4
    It was walking distance to quite a bit!
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and it didn’t have a fridge or microwave. The hotel didn’t offer anything but coffee in the morning which was disappointing because of how much we paid to stay. It was really just a place for us to sleep and shower, very basic.

    It was walking distance to quite a bit!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.7
    Served its purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast. Weak coffee. Several cold showers. No fridge (which they do not claim to have so I knew this going into it). Wallpaper peeling off walls. Had to ask housekeeping SEVERAL times for more towels because they never provided enough.

    Hotel is priced better than other but you do get what you pay for. Most of the staff are very friendly. Maintenance man is not. Had no hot water one morning and he was not very accommodating and basically just wasted my time by coming into the room and not doing anything. Only half a mile from closet subway station. Nice walking distance to Time square and restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    6.7
    pretty much what I needed
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked slightly larger room and reception area

    The room was fine and clean, small but not unusual for New York. Bathroom was clean with nice amenities

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.5
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were not able to connect to the WiFi in our room. We put used towels on the bathroom floor but housekeeping just put them back up on the shelf as fresh ones :(

    Excellent location. Room was small but comfy. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was clean. Staff was very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.9
    Good location close to Penn Station and Jarvits center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater in the bedroom was extremely loud and the warm air blowing on me was unbearable, so I kept turning it on and off. Couldn't sleep with it on, but then woke up every 2 hours because I was freezing. I imagine it's the same issue with cold air in the summer.

    Room and bathroom were clean and I enjoyed the toiletries in the bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    5.4
    Meh...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down hotel a few blocks away from convention center. If you’re in town for something at the convention center, this hotel is convenient; if you’re inNUC to explore Manhattan this hotel is not convenient to popular hotspots (although Manhattan is small so you could walk/car/cab everywhere).., valuewise - much better, cleaner and updated/modern places in LIC and Brooklyn for same amount or less that are convenient to Manhattan... plus Brooklyn has its own hotspots to explore...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.9
    Mostly great! For the price, you can't beat it. =)
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No enough towels, and they didn't replace our drinking glasses each day. Some of the daily upkeep was not quite on the mark.

    The price was great, staff were very helpful, and the room had what we needed - wifi, tv, comfortable bed, shower. The location was also great for exhibiting at the Javits Center as well as getting to restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Perfect place if you're on a budget and want to be close to the theatre district.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs a full length mirror and mini fridge. We had noisy neighbours. Rooms are very small.

    Clean room, friendly staff, great location. Friedman's is just around the corner for the BEST breakfast. Easy access to Penn station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    A clean and comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was absolutely nothing wrong with my experience in this hotel. It wasn't a five-star luxury experience, but the hotel does not claim to be!

    The room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was very nice! And the room's window opened ... always a plus.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.2
    I will add this hotel to my list of hotels where I would consider in the future.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is not the best and I would not recommend a woman to arrive alone after dark. Easy access to cross town bus on 34th street

    The bedroom and bathroom were like new and with a comfortable bed. Very quiet. The staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.3
    If you want a cheap hotel in mid-town with eassy access to Penn Station then you can't go wrong.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The area is a bit run down but don't be put off it's OK.

    The hotel is absolutely fine - the staff are very helpful and friendly. The room was small for four people but you don't spend top much time in it. Free coffee is a nice touch...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.8
    No good for buidinews
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi never worked and when you travel for business this is the main thing to have!! This is not a leisure hotel not the location or the venue, therefore the only thing you appreciate is internet conection. I am never staying at it again or will ever recommended for business... no internet ruined my travel

    It was clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.5
    Clean rooms and close(walking distance) to the Javits center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very tiny. No amenities, room and ice is about all you receive. Area not the best. But we felt safe walking around in groups.

    Clean rooms and close(walking distance) to the Javits center.!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very small but we didn't mind much just would have been nice to have a little more room

    The bed was big and very comfy rooms were clean. great location. easy parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.3
    good location and good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    View from room was literally nothing else only bricks:|

    Short walk from middle of Manhattan. Great and helpful staff. Complementary coffee in the morning+++

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.1
    The King bed was quite spacious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom needs an upgrade

    The King bed was quite spacious and comfortable. Location was quiet. However, the room is quite small so you might feel crowded with your luggage and things laying around. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to the 34 St Hudson Yards station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.1
    Location, Location, Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad wifi, closet-sized bedrooms. Audible noise from lobby (we were on first floor, with door near lobby).

    Location, Location, Location. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    Clean, neat, quiet.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front lobby area is underwhelming--not what one would expect, given the photos on the booking site. When I walked into the hotel and looked at the lobby area, I began to worry, for it seemed shabby to me. But, in fact, the rooms and staff are great, and I would gladly stay there again.

    Clean, neat, quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.8
    A nice hotel to stay when the only thing you need is a clean and comfortable place to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only thing that it was a little weird were the surrounding areas, you can always find in that street people living on the street and some of them were screaming all the time, so it could be a little disturbing when you arrive late at night, but in the whole week I never had a problem with them.

    The room was always clean when I arrived, I didn't have to pay an extra charge for receiving a package there. The free coffee in the morning at the reception was a nice thing to have. Staff as very nice. They keep your luggage until 3 PM which is the checkin time. Wifi works perfect everywhere in the hotel. There's only 4 rooms per floor so the elevator was never crowded, when I saw the one elevator I was worried about that but it was never a problem. It is really close to penn station, so it was very easy to get there from the JFK airport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.7
    Economical, but don't expect fancy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet was NOT clean. I walked around without shoes and the bottom of my socks were almost black. Otherwise seemed okay.

    This is a block and a half from the Javits Center and easily accessible by subway. Best feature is location and price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.8
    Would not stay again despite extreme convenience of location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hairdryer shut off for the day after 30 seconds. Rooms smaller than depicted online. Water would randomly shut off in sink and shower. Sink water would surge and sputter when not shutting off. Staff not at desk semi-regularly. Elevator would stop at unselected floors.

    Location very close to Javits Center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    6.7
    It was perfect location for an event at the convention center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't very cozy, little to no decor. Bedding felt cheap. No place to workout.

    Staff was great. We were able to leave our bags at the hotel while we spent the day at the convention center. Free wi-fi

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location, easy to get out & about in the city but quiet enough to get a good nights sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was comfy, the room was clean. The location was close enough to get to metro and walk to key locations in the city but also offered protection from traffic and external noise at night. Staff were friendly and efficient. Highly recommend and would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    3.8
    pretty bad experience for how much i paid per night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small room, AC temp didn't work, loud noise when someone in the hotel turned on water, pillows were flat. scratchy location too, empty beer bottles all over the entrance.

    free wifi in half of the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    The beds were comfortable and clean, the room was small but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cab service was not available although at corner is cab service station. No hot water for tea in morning only coffee. And the area feels sketchy. Not easy to walk to attractions for older folks.

    The beds were comfortable and clean, the room was small but had everything you need. It was also very clean. We found the staff pretty helpful although could not call cabs. Over all it as a nice place to stay since you are gone all day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.5
    Great location and made for a stress free stay in NYC
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was basic and the rooms are smaller. However I think this was reflected in the price.. if you want luxury you need to pay more outwith this hotel.

    The location is good , it is about a 10 minutes walk along 36th to get to 7th avenue. From there Penn station is another 5 mins and times sq is about 10 minutes up the avenue.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    2.9
    It was awful and booking.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was awful and booking.com played into the experience. We inadvertently booked two reservations for the same time at the same location because I never received a confirmation for the first booking. The property did nothing to help - refused to even give us a credit. There was no one at the desk when we arrived except the cleaning folks and a janitor. They were having a personal discussion. We waited about 15 minutes for someone to arrive. The room was dirty, the bathroom was horrible.. dripping faucets, cracked toilets, mold and whatever around the fans the wall paper was dirty in the main area.. we were to afraid to look any closer. .... should I continue? The area is a little questionable.. lots of folks on the street panhandling.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    The staff was wonderful when I had to check out early to get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was wonderful when I had to check out early to get home before a hurricane! The manager even followed up with two phones to check on me and my family after I had arrived home.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    Affordable room at a great location for conventions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was very friendly and accommodating, the location was perfect for us (within a ten minute walking distance of Javits Convention Center), and the bathroom was wonderful (loved the shower). The room itself was small, but we knew this going in and it had everything we needed: king size bed, safe, small closet and drawers, and a desk. The free wi-fi was also good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.4
    Good location but not a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area doesn't look very good, but it's conveniently located to reach Manhattan attractions. The hotel is in dire need of a refurbishment (new painting on the walls is needed, carpet is dirty). The king room was so small there was no space for 2 big suitcases on the floor and felt claustrophobic even for a short stay. We stayed 2 nights and they did not make the bed in between. A more thorough cleaning would be good. There was no breakfast option and no fridge in the room.

    Hotel is located in Manhattan, about 15 mins from Time Square. Close to buses from Washington (like Bolt Bus) and metro. The room included a kettle, iron and safe and some basic bathroom toileteries. The staff was friendly and helped us book a shuttle to JFK. King size bed is very comfy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.8
    I will stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    NA

    All the people working at the front desk were excellent and friendly. They gave us great directions to a wonderful restaurant nearby for breakfast, Friedmans. We ended up going there three days in a row! They allowed me to stay longer on our last day because I was feeling sick. They allowed me to check out late which I really appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.5
    We had a huge bed what we didn't expect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a huge bed what we didn't expect. The location is quite nice as it is in walking distance to the Time Square and Madison Square Garden. Moreover, the noise level in our room was amazing what I really enjoyed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location to enjoy the sights of New York with friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a great boutique hotel in a great location. Short walk to restaurants, shopping, tourist sights. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would absolutely stay there again and recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make sure the private patio area is a little cleaner. Dirty underwear was laying on the ledge.

    It was a great room for the price. It wasn't a big room, but in NYC who needs a big room? Go see the sites! Definitely would stay here again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.6
    Dissappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel lobby was not well taken care off. Refuse was left in front of the building, not a good sight and impression for arriving guest. I was not impressed that my room was not properly cleaned and the bed not made up on one of the days.

    Not much but I loved the free coffee.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Great stay, location great. Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Reception was super helpful and available 24 hours. Did some printing for us at no charge. We felt they were always genuinely helpful. Location worked so well for us, the street is one main street back from the hustle and noise. So a ten minute walk from restaurants, cafes, bars and the rest. Location perfect. Very close to the harbour to catch the city sightseeing ferry. Wifi worked great. coffee available every morning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    4.0
    I like the fact that its a short walk to the Time Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was not pleased with the staff. On our second day, our room was not properly cleaned. Our bed was not made , only the bathroom cleaned. The hotel entrance was not really a good sight compared to what we saw on the pictures. It looks dodgy and dirty with all the rubbish and dustbin still lying on the front.

    I like the fact that its a short walk to the Time Square.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.8
    It was very conveniently located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was kind of small and there was no refrigerator in our room.

    It was very conveniently located. It was very affordable also. And it was very quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.5
    Adequate , but ask about water /construction issues first .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was construction all around the building and the WATER was completely TURNED OFF for the whole neighborhood from 8 am on because of construction work . While this was not the fault of the hotel it was inconvenient and it would have been nice to hAve received warning from the hotel with an option to cancel or to get a credit . We had been traveling for 2 days and looking forward to a leisurely morning with a good shower etc ... we had to get up and out early to make sure we got everything done before water shut off .

    The room , the bed and bedding and bathroom were modern and fine

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.8
    It was a great place for a short visit, close to Javitz Center and most other tourist attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small. We had just enough room to move around the bed. But we just needed a place to sleep.

    It was very clean, minimalist style. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The bathroom was clean and updated. There were no visible leaks or wear & tear. It was a great little place (literally little!). Perfect for a visit to the Javitz Center. I would book it again next time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.3
    Nice hotel, good location, scruffy street
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. No water during the days (maintenance during this period). Realy bad! 2. The drinking water you had to fetch in the basement (always), a bit "scruffy/scary".

    Very good beds

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.5
    cheap and cheerful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area around the hotel wasn't the nicest area, hence cheaper price no decent restaurants or places for breakfast close by,so had to walk a distance to find somewhere nice to eat

    Not far from main attractions,Times square and main train stations nice quiet location close to everything. Comfortable,clean room and pleasant lobby area

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    Very good cleaning of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather High sound from the A/C but nothing that ear plugs won't stop.

    Very good cleaning of the room. Nice with Coffee in the reception in the mornings. The room was small but it worked fine during our 8 night stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.9
    Gentleman at the front desk was helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price of the hotel room dropped $80 dollars after booking, and apparently nothing could be done about it.

    Gentleman at the front desk was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.2
    LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION! & NO BEDBUGS!!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The comforter was a little lumpy because when they was it, the batting balls up inside. That is my only complaint. Everything else was an A+

    LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION! Quiet street, two buildings away from a 24/7 parking lot, a block and a half from the javits center, and a few blocks from Times Square. Also NO BEDBUGS!!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ice machine was in basement and you had to keep pressing the button over and over and over for ice to come out.

    Wish they had free continental breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.6
    Great small hotel for NYC break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was just as expected from website

    Friendly staff, clean rooms serviced everyday. They also printed tickets for us and stored our luggage after check-out until our late night flight no problem, great service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room a little small...but clean

    Very clean room...had everything I needed...reception are friendly and helpful...I would stay again...when in Newyork...close to herald square

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    8.3
    Value for money in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe add snacks next to coffee in the morning.

    I booked this hotel because i got a great rate but i wasnt sure if it was going to be nice or not. The hotel has a nice location and is located in hells kitchen, close to all the touristy places.. the staff was nice and the room was spacious with a comfy bed and basic ammenities. The bathroom was clean and spacious too.. total value for money. Just to mention my room also had a balcony which was quite nice and unexpected.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    7.9
    Good location, out of towners impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nada

    Location, coffee from reception area, friendly staff. Met 3 friends from UK who had stayed at nearby property previously, they were impressed with location and lower cost of 36 Hudson..

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    9.6
    Dont judge a book by its cover, the rooms are excellent, the reception slightly less so.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    the room is excellent, wifi was brilliant which seems to be a rarity in manhattan and the bed was super comfy. Right next door to an all night gas station which was really convenient

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    5.8
    Could have been better, could have been worse
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Elevator broke down and I was told to take the escalator. I WAS ON THE 7TH FLOOR! Luckily, it came back in order before I had to climb all the way up with my luggage. The room is a shoebox. But, since it was for sleeping only, it was OK, I guess. The bathroom was almost no space to put toiletries, it would be a good idea to add a small shelf to the wall.

    The free wifi was a plus, as was the complimentary coffee. Staff was OK, not extremely friendly or helpful, but I guess it's New York.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    7.9
    It was a reasonable stay at 36 Hudson Hotel when traveling alone or with one closefriend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room got too foggy when showering with hot water because there wasn't any ventilator. I wish there was more mirror in the room (there is only one in the bathroom). There was a iron in the room but couldn't find iron board in the room.

    Kind staff, location was good. They store luggages before check-in and after check-out. If you arrive early or plan to look around more after check-out, it was very convenient to use their luggage store service so that you don't have to carry your bags around.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse 36 Hudson Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: