Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon 4 stars

149 State Highway 64, Tusayan, AZ 86023, USA

#1 of 5 hotels in Tusayan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3952 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not very cooperative when checking-in, it took about an hour. System was down by checking out so I did not get any receipt of the Hotel.

    The hotel exceeded expectations regarding to the rooms- it’s very good value for money!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and hotel were nice but SO expensive for a family to stay. One night in a room with 2 beds was $450 ( in June). Dinner at the restaurant was equally as expensive and just an okay steak place.

    The property was close to the Grand Canyon south rim gate and had was access to the shuttle system into the park. We saw elk or perhaps a caribou (not sure which) grazing in the back from our patio. The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the price includes breakfast,it will probably be better.

    Big room,comfortable kingsize bed,friendly staff,especially unique commons area.We arrived at noon,a little early,but we checked in, and the room was upgraded.So friendly, and big surprise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant prices outrageous , no option for reasonably priced meal or appetizer. They were out of ribs, chicken and duck. We wete not allowed to order burger anything less than well

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A better outside sitting area to chill out when not exploring Grand Canyon.

    Location was great and general standard of hotel was high. Grand Canyon is amazing and this is a good place to stay when visiting it. We would return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, especially in the restaurants of the hotel were poorly trained. The food was on the pricey side and the quality on the poor side.

    Beautiful facility with comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced and no breakfast included. Had to go to front desk daily to request more towels and coffee refills.

    The location is awesome. The room had refrigerator and microwave. Bathrooms were stocked and nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Does a lodge have to display dead animals? Ugh. This seems out of place today in an area celebrating the beauty of nature. The front desk staff was okay; not as friendly or as helpful as I would have expected. The lack of laundry facilities was our biggest surprise and disappointment. Surely a facility with this price range should provide this service for or to guests? The a/c was adequate, but not as cool as expected.

    The breakfast buffet is $15, but is worth the splurge. Includes everything you could possibly want. The decor is lovely if you like lodge style. The business office and ability to print were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Your staff at the front desk not friendly at all, did not want to be bothered. One gentleman was ok, the ladies were not. The lobby not what I expected, old and beat up. Nothing like the pictures.

    Did not have breakfast at hotel. The beds were wonderful and the rooms were very clean. The lounge was great, reasonable prices, and the workers there were very friendly and happy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    terrible check in experience: the give me a one bed bedroom even if I booked ana payief for 3 persons ( me , my husbund and I). Nobody excuse for that and the receptionist ( a youg man) was very impolite.After the night the bed had not be done

    perfect location they kepp out 100 dollars from the bilt for that

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kerig coffee machine in the hotel room did not work and there was no way to get a simple cup of coffee on the premises without paying $14 for a full buffet breakfast. It would have been better to have the option of an ala carte menu or at least free coffee for guests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Curtains in our room could not be completely closed so we were woken up early in the morning by sunlight.

    This hotel is perfectly located near the Grand Canyon NP. Our room was spacious, and beds were comfortable. We loved lobby in the hotel with big open fireplace where we enjoyed free coffee in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the money, I'm sure a Continental Breakfast could have been thrown in.

    Loved the décor of the place. A lot of thought went into every detail from the lobby to the rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were extremely unpleasant and unhelpful. The room was filthy - extremely dusty. The towels had holes in them and my bedding had a stain on it.

    The location is great! They have an awesome gift shop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was very expensive.

    This is a perfect place to stay if exploring the Grand Canyon. The location is very close to the park entrance which is brilliant if you end up exploring the park until sunset. The bed was massive and extremely comfortable. The spa area was a nice added bonus for recuperating after a day of hiking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast overpriced for the area

    Just outside the park - walking distance to restaurants and imax. Nice saloon to watch sports and live entertainment with dinner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our particular room faced a retention wall and the pool was closed for renovations

    Shuttle ran right from the hotel. Visitor center is across the street to buy tickets for the park. Restaurant/ bar had a great atmosphere. Very clean room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service at the restaurant was a little slow to begin with but the food made up for it :)

    The breakfast was really tasty and offered a lot if variety. I loved the restaurant on site, it was great to have on site especially after a long day of driving and walking around and the food was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant was overpriced, and service was sub par. Server forgot our drinks, then brought the wrong ones, ultimately getting it right (beer and a cocktail). Didn't comp the drinks or provide anything for our troubles.

    Hotel is clean, nice bed, good shower. Nice amenities/hot tub.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food options would have been better for us if there had been just one vegan dish available in the restaurant. Helpful waiterstaff assisted us in putting together combinations of side dishes and hold-the-sausage-and-meatballs pasta.

    Friendly, helpful and attentive staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was very disappointing. It was over priced with a very limited menu and the food was a major disappointment.

    The hotel was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drawers in the room stuck which was a nuisance. Food for breakfast buffet was ok, but burners burnt my hand when lifting up server tray.

    Service by staff great all around. Complimentary Coffee at 430am in lobby fantastic. 5 miles from entrance of the Grand Canyon National park. Room was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the fact you were charged a security deposit and didn’t know about it. I booked on line and thought I was getting a good deal not knowing that I was getting charged $75 extra that I would get back in 3-5 business days.

    It was conveniently located to the Grand Canyon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very expensive and wasn’t very clean . For almost 400.00 a night I expected a lot more out of this hotel.

    The convenience of the location, about a mile to Grand Canyon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The expensive breakfast.

    This hotel was very modern; almost luxurious. The beds were very comfy and everything in the room was well thought out including being able to turn the fridge up or off (to stop any annoying noise). The breakfast seemed expensive so we bought food at the local Starbucks. The pool was clean and perfect for a short 20 length swim, and a hot tub massage was perfect and timely after Canyon walking. The bar was great, where we could eat appetizers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was next to one with a crying baby and kids who were loud. Not a good nights sleep, but I’m not sure how you’d work around that.

    Bed was comfy, coffee bar was awesome! Gift shop has a better selection than most of the shops in the park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just a normal hotel room. Over $ 300.00 a night was way too much. Expected more. Breakfast not included. Room was small. All the prices in that town are high because it is 50 -100 miles to anything else. Breakfast buffet was overpriced for quality. But you don't have any choices. McDonalds in town charged over $23.00 for two egg McMuffin breakfast meals.

    Lobby was very lodge like. Room was clean but small. Right outside the South Rim Gate. Nicest hotel in town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant was very poor. The waiting staff were great. Sent hot potato skins back because they were cold and then the pasta main was over cooked and all dried up.

    Great location for the South Rim Grand Canyon .... and also for the airport for helicopter flight. Liked the lodge feeling to the hotel. Would stay again .... but would definitely not eat in the restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited eating choices in the town, though all were within easy walking distance - given Tusyan is very small.

    Very close to the Grand Canyon Visitors Centre and numerous Grand Canyon viewing points. Also less than 5 mins from the airport where we were doing a morning helicopter ride from. The room was a good size, clean and very quiet, with a comfortable bed. There was good wifi coverage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in a room opposite the pool and near the front desk so very noisy. Staff could be more friendly felt I was interrupting them!

    The children enjoyed the indoor pool, but it needed a good clean and the spa wasn't working.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the pool and jacuzzi, which my children were looking forward to, were being renovated. This should have been noted when I made the reservation. The wifi did not work. We asked for late checkout, which the hotel granted, but then our card did not work and we had to go back to the front desk three times before getting a card that opened our door.

    The rooms were very comfortable and the bathrooms lovely. It was very close to the Grand Canyon and easily accessible.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was terrible, exceptionally overpriced, mediocre service, mediocre staff and poor quality food and portion sizes given the excessive price. Both dinner and breakfast were a total rip off.

    Hotel room was excellent, great facilities, great decor and very comfortable and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not so near the park. The breakfast was bad, old nothing fresh. The room nothing special And the rate is not cheaper! I will not came back.

    Really nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very uncomfortable, dipped in the middle. Room too light as was no curtain on the upper sky light window. Hotel seemed very shabby and dated. desperately requires reburbishment and updating and new beds. So therefore not comfortable nor was it value for money.

    Location only

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the restaurant was very mediocre and while the staff was nice, the service was very slow, especially in the bar. The pool closed the second day we got there much to my kids disappointment.

    The hotel has a nice feel and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overpriced for what it is. Price is purely based on location to the Grand Canyon. No good eating options in the hotel and surrounding city.

    Location to the Grand Canyon is great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud jack hammering of the pool, at 8 A.M. followed by drilling of the doors across the hall and then hammering. Not how anyone wants to start Vacation! Pick another hotel! This was not listed on their Booking.com site. Booking.com customer service when I called did nothing!!!!

    On the surface as you drive up you have high hopes but that all went away. If the facility and management lived up to the 3 Diamonds there is a chance this would be a great place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    It feels a bit artificial, like a theme park hotel. Dining options are limited, and get very busy in early evening.

    It's an attractive modern property, well-located for the park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too soft. Breakfast too expensive. Staff was not welcoming or friendly or helpful. In fact gave us incorrect information.

    Big, comfortable room with good temperature control. Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was not fully staffed. Bar menu was way too limited. Restaurants in area were not great. Pillows were very uncomfortable. Room with 2 queen beds was too small to walk around. The TV's were having issues so we couldn't use. I had to book an extra night as our plans changed and booking directly thru the hotel was $100 LESS than Booking.com did not seem right. Would never use Booking.com again and would give this hotel 3

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price, the rooms were a bit small. A family of four had difficulty finding floor space for lugguge, and we didn't have that much.

    Location and convenience of transportation to Grand Canyon. The bus service was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dark and dingy restaurant with low quality food. Breakfast was quite poor with cold hot options and most items wrapped in cellophane. Coffee was OK.

    Great foyer and gym. Good central location for the airport and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that was unfortunate was near-absence of WiFi. It was there de jure, but the speed was not sufficient for anything even emails. So if you are coming with any hope of logging into your work for a couple hours at night - forget it :)) but maybe it is for the better !

    We’ve liked almost everything. Very good location, convenient parking, very helpful staff, spacious and well equipped rooms, very clean pool. Also a very good restaurant and a souvenir shop downstairs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little further from the Canyon than I thought but good shuttle system

    Excellent room with modern amenities. Great environment friendly amenities. Comfortable night’s sleep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got in late and the only thing open was the "bar" area of the restaurant. We decided to eat there.... food was average at best and overpriced.... would have fared better to scrounge with a granola bar!

    Beautiful property, ideally located. Comfortable accommodations for our family of 5.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurants are WAY overpriced. Dinner was $200 for the five of us, and we didn't splurge. Food was just so-so too. Not many options in town for dining though.

    Room was fine, maybe a bit small, roll away bed for our teenager (we had 5 people total). Hotel was clean, location is ideal if you can't get a hotel in the park. The Grand is right on the shuttle route, can't believe they don't advertise this more.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant has terrible service. Made us waited for one and a half hour only to find the place was only half full. After we were seated, the waiter never ask for order after walking passed us and say hello. 20 mins later with hungry kid, we just walked out and never return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was so busy in the grand canyon area. It was impossible to get dinner unless you had a reservation. No special accommodation fir hotel guest in the restaurant and No room service-

    Very clean, nice attention to detail and small touches in the room. There was even a scale in the bathroom. The beds were very comfortable not to soft not too hard- soft sheets. Warm lobby. Top notch workout room. Pool facility and hot tub clean. Great gift shop. Convenient bus pick up in the front of the hotel for Grand Canyon park visitors.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was terrible. The hotel was completely sold out the night we stayed, but the restaurant was not staffed adequately. They had many open tables that they could not sit because of staffing issues.

    Location is great, very close to the South Rim entrance. Rooms were updated, and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet was not very good. We did it one morning and decided we would find breakfast elsewhere the remainder of the trip.

    The location was very convenient. We also really enjoyed our conversations with the bartender at the Saloon she was great the two night we went down there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen too backed up for us to eat in a timely fashion the first night. Second night the bar was closed for unknown reason so we decided to eat elsewhere. Though amenities were nice, we didn’t spend much time there so next time I would choose something less expensive.

    Great location to access Grand Canyon. Attractive inside and out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were a bit smaller than I expected. Worked out okay, but for that price it was rather tight for four adults in one room. Also, the breakfast was fairly average and expensive. Dinner was nice, but the dining room could use more lighting - hard to appreciate your food when you can barely see it.

    Absolutely LOVED the cookies in the lobby in the afternoon, as did my toddler. Also, most of the staff was super friendly and warm and really helpful. The room was clean and well maintained with all the basic comforts we needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered a triple room, which was confirmed and charged extra and had just a king bed, when we asked for the extra bed they said that we would have requested it in advance, and that one of us had to sleep on the floor ,(this said by the manager,, who was also saying that it was not the first time someone had to sleep on the floor when getting a triple

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate at your steakhouse in the hotel and were very disappointed by the service we had. We waited for a server for 10 mins then to have her give us the 1 min finger after she went to a table that was sat after us. Never getting our appetizers and having reminder her about our drinks. Food we did get was good but would never recommend this restaurant again because of the poor service.

    Our room was nice and pool and hot tub enjoyed during our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Dining Room was a total disappointment. Extremely overpriced and poor selection. Every thing was al a carte. No mashed potatoes only the “special sweet potato casserole “ I love sweet potatoes but not this concoction!

    The hotel was beautiful and felt like the Grand Canyon! Huge fireplace in living area downstairs for meeting up or playing games. Nice gift shop with good selection. Bar was fun with jukebox and TVs ! Several barstools were saddles! The bar menu was good and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was a sad environment. Seemed to be “out” of menu items and the items ordered were incomplete. Short staffed. Had to wait 20 minutes to get water and order cocktails. Less than 1/3 of tables were occupied. Rather pathetic for the $ spent to stay at the lodge. I would not recommend eating at the hotel restaurant. You would be much better off at the steak house down the road. Front desk clerks acted like they were doing me a favor to give me my room. They would benefit from a briefing on how to greet weary travelers. Not very friendly employees anyplace on site. Seems like none of the employees enjoyed their job....they should go home and let someone else work that needs the $

    The room was comfortable!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Subaverage breakfast. Limited menu in restaurant. Very noisy with kids running around. Room doors close very loud.

    Excellent location. Nice bathrooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting in room was poor; we only had one bedside table and had to ask for another; phone did not work. Restaurant food, evening meal, was not very tasty; breakfast buffet was nice but the eggs benedict had a funny taste, as if the oil used was old.

    physical facililty was quite nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Service at the hotel restaurant was awful. The food was mediocre -- especially given the price. The server did not take our drink order. All menu items were a la carte. Even though traditional entrees were offered such as various steaks, baked potatoes were not even on the menu. The one highlight was the live entertainment. The gentleman played classic country songs with banjo, harmonica, and guitar. He had a versatile voice and was very entertaining.

    Hotel staff were friendly, informative and helpful. The beds were excellent. The room was clean and we enjoyed the balcony very much.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sorry, whether it was a busy night or just an off night we had poor and slow service at both the bar and the restaurant as well as problems with our orders. We had chosen to stay here because the reviews said the restaurant was great. Our experience was very disappointing and is the sole reason for our poor scoring review. Like I said though, maybe we were just unlucky.

    The hotel was only about 5 or 6 miles from the Grand Canyon which was great. The room was nicely decorated and clean. The check in/ check out service was fast. Parking was close to check in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i loved the CLEAN, and LARGE room! comfy bed, modern decor, & minutes to the grand canyon. nice & hospitable staff! the bathroom was very tidy & i love the shampoo & conditioner stand!!! great way to be nature-nature-finally. beautiful hotel inside & out!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waitstaff was slow and food prices were high but that is generally the case throughout the town.

    Clean and comfortable and perfectly situated. Restaurant quality was ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The setting was nice but the lighting was too dark. It would be nice to have better views out of windows and better lighting to feel like it's morning. We wanted to have a better view out the window and perhaps would recommend you add balconies.

    The buffet breakfast was the best part of the stay. The food was delicious and the convenience perfect. I especially liked having Eggs Benedict on the buffet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast buffet was hard like it was sitting for a long time.

    Super helpful staff, everyone was nice from the door, to the concierge even the restaurant staff when I didnt like the food. Super great staff!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    food prices and selection. That they offered complimentary coffee but ran out of it each morning we were there.

    The rooms were spacious, clean, and modern. The Grand Hotel isn't Grand...it's just the name. It is certainly a decent sized hotel but not huge. The room included a fridge but it was shut off to save energy so be sure to turn it on in advance if you plan to use it. The food was VERY pricey so we didn't eat there but it is very close to the South Rim entrance and a comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price for the quality of the level Grand Hotel For the Dining and Breakfast We are not talking for a Michelin Star of course But a little effort for the menu and a realisation in ckichen

    Pretenttious fooding / Diner and Breakfast not enough in the standard of the kind of international hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's no electric pot in the room and the hotel didn't provide hot water when we asked. It's not very considerate for visitors in cold weather.

    The location is great, in the center of the town, just a couple minutes of driving to the Grand Canyon national park. The room is clean and equipped with a microwave oven. Beds are confortable as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not have a bad thing to say. Would highly recommnd this hotel.

    The room was new. Bed was comfortable. Loved the soaking tub and the shower. Room was very quiet. Gift shop had a wide variety of items. Bar and restraunt on site. Shuttle to the Grand Canyon. Walking distance to other restraunts and gift ships. Great hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet offered many options, but the eggs were cold and the pastries were dry.

    The location is great, just a short ride from the Grand Canyon. The room was beautiful and comfortable. I wish I could have stayed longer. Dinner at the restaurant was very good but a little overpriced.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable beds, decent breakfast buffet. Very close to entrance of Grand Canyon. Hotel had lots of character. Beautiful fireplace in lobby. James our waiter in onsite restaurant was very friendly and offered some advice we found useful in the park. Dinner was pricey but good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived, we were greeted by a gentleman at the front desk. Upon informing him of my last name for the reservation he quickly asked me if I made a reservation along with another guest. I said no. He informed me that my room had been taken so he gave us another room. I thought that was odd as we visited on February 28th when practically no one was in town or at the Grand Canyon. There were very little cars in the parking lot as well. Regardless, we received a room on the third floor directly across from the elevator and ice machine/vending machines. It was a tad noisy even though there were few guests at the hotel (from what I could tell). Although still a lovely room, I can’t help but to think that we were purposely given this room — perhaps because we paid much less for our reservation as opposed to what they were charging on their website? I’m not sure. The room overlooked the hotel roof... I wasn’t expecting anything glamorous given the location in town, but thought it was odd that the gentleman would have mentioned anything at all about the room location. Either way, it was a one time visit. We enjoyed the time that was spent there.

    The renovation is beautiful. The rooms are clean and large. The same applies for the bathroom. We enjoyed the little coffee bar in the room as well!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel has feel good ambience..the staff are really helful and the rooms are well equipped. Toiletries are of good quality and where others skimp, The Grand is generous even providing mouth wash!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was really disappointed that the gift shop hours were not visible and closed all 3 times we tried to go in the store. There were a few unique looking items that I likely would have purchased.

    Great location! Wonderful front desk staff and comfy beds. Overall great experience and would return if visiting the area again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the hotel should make possible guests aware that there are a large number of animals that have been killed an mounted on the walls. I presume they have been there a long time? If you have strong feelings about that sort of thing I'm sure it would influence your decision as to whether you wanted to say there or not.

    Very comfortable hotel with a log fire and rustic feel. Great bar and shop. Great location for the south rim of the Grand Canyon; the entrance is only about a ten minute drive away. Staff there very helpful in planing your tour of the Canyon.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was near the stairwell and the door slammed, waking us up both mornings.

    Hotel is clean, comfortable. Bar/restaurant is convenient after a long day of exploring the Grand Canyon.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: