Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Green House Inn 3 stars

1212 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130, USA

#14 of 38 B&Bs and Inns in New Orleans

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 63 B&B reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Can't imagine a better place to stay in New Orleans!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like when a palmetto bug ran under my foot by the pool, but that's not something that can be avoided in New Orleans if you enjoy tropical landscaping.

    Soaking in that hot tub after a day of walking around New Orleans was wonderful. My husband said it was his favorite part of our trip. The inn is so beautiful and relaxing. We also enjoyed the delicious muffins and croissants, very comfortable bed, unique building and decor, vending machine Abita, laid back atmosphere, the parrot, and the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.1
    See above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guests in the adjacent room were very loud and furthered their little rendezvous at the swimming pool just below our window with loud music and chatter until 2am. This spoiled our enjoyment of the property and we were exhausted the next day. We were disappointed that the hotel owners did not correct the problem. - The bottom sheet on our bed was a flat sheet that did not cover the bottom of the bed, causing my feet to rest on the uncovered mattress piping that others likely had their feet on previously. Highly recommend using a fitted bottom sheet. In addition, the baseboards in the bathroom were very dirty.

    The two owners were very welcoming and friendly. They were gracious in providing hotel and local restaurant information for our stay. The hotel is old and very nicely maintained. We enjoyed our continental breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    We would stay here again, very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location was ideal as it was central to our wanderings. The bed was very comfortable and we felt at home in our room. The courtyard/pool area was an oasis for quiet relaxing after a day of exploring. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Green House Inn.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.9
    All together it is definitely a great BNB just not a recommended choice for young people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were about 3 streets over from St. Charles (walking distance) so we walked to those parades and maybe 10 blocks from Bourbon. Its walkable but a Lyft or Uber is cheap. The house is older style but is very homey. There was coffee , breakfast food and water available every morning. The parking lot is gated so you don't have to worry about anyone getting into your vehicle.

    The Green House Inn is a nice bed and breakfast for an older couple or group. I am 26 and my boyfriend is 30 and seeing how we went during Mardi Gras we were doing a lot of partying. When we came back at 5 and 6AM we almost felt like we were sneaking into our parents house because we had to be so quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    A historic gem in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Orchid Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the weather had been warmer so I could use the beautiful pool. This is not a negative against the hotel, just mother nature

    Great walkable location in a historic building full of character. The hosts could not have been nicer or more helpful. Would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.2
    Over all we had a great time for our firdt visit to New Orleans and the Green House Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bird Of Paradise
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to leave the room to get coffee, although it was made fresh every morning in the inn and it was delicious, I still had to go out and down a flight of stairs to get it. WI-FI was really slow.

    Loved the friendliness of staff. They gave excellent recommendations for food, tips to help with where to stand for parades while experiencing our first Mardi Gras.The Green House Inn has a lot of history that goes with New Orleans. It was interesting to hear about.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    The Suite was wonderful.
    • Group
    • Royal Poinciana Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No biggie - Instructions for the TV would be handy.

    The Suite was wonderful. The bed and the pullout couch were both very comfortable. We went out for coffee and breakfast every morning but there was always something to snack on downstairs. Jesse and Frank are so welcoming and helpful with maps, tips, and just pointing you in the right direction. You come and go as you please, the neighbourhood has great bars, restaurants. French quarter is a 10 minute walk. Magazine street is worth a walk to the other end of the street. There is a huge binder full of useful information.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    Coffee house next door excellent - walked around in the morning great area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hibiscus Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff friendly and helpful. I am from NOLA and loved the area - easy access to French Quarter and Garden District. Will definitely stay here again and recommend

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    The perfect B&B for a convention center visit
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Heliconia Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We liked everything about our trip. Staff was very welcoming, breakfast excellent, room has everything you need. The best part is the pool and hottub with the subtropical environment, palmtrees, perfect for winding down. We were in town for a tradeshow and the location is definitely within walking distance of the convention center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Superb!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bougainvillea Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great old building, very comfortable bedroom and common areas with period furnishings, lots of character and to top all that you have a tropical oasis at the side... perfect ! Frank made us very welcome and all staff were nice😁😁 no hesitation in recommending 👍👍👍👍

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Our stay at the Green House Inn was magical.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We can't think of anything - there was nothing to dislike

    Our stay at the Green House Inn was magical. Ideally placed for all the touristy things we wanted to do but an oasis of calm to return to at the end of the day. Frank and Jesse our hosts were so welcoming and made us feel completely at home. To find an inn perfectly located offering secure parking was an added bonus. Anyone looking for somewhere a little different to the usual hotel accommodation will be more than delighted with the Green House Inn

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.8
    Really pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit of a distance from prime locations like Frenchmen Street. Need to take 3 street cars. But definitely a gem and very lovely and relaxing which is key for a holiday!

    Jumped in the hot tub at 10pm night of arrival after a 16hour flight. What is not to be happy about!! Loved the property. Loved the host. Really enjoyed the stay, very relaxed, comfortable and we enjoyed being able to sort breakfast, take our time and the privacy. Gorgeous hot tub and pool area. Very European which is what we like when travelling. All and all a great experience and would recommend if you like being a bit away from the hustle and bustle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.5
    Pool awesome; Just be informed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Food at the Inn: The breakfast was mostly processed food except for the hard boiled eggs and fruit- appleas, bananas and oranges available Also yogurt Muffins and croissants in plastic wrap ; cereals - ok and although it tasted ok- it was not a freshly cooked meal as usually I have received and is expected at a B and B. There was waffle batter and hubby made a waffle in waffle iron each day I had hard bolied eggs and an apple and shredded wheat 2. Hot tub - only tepid and although one guest told them every day- I think the system just couldn't/ didn't get any hotter 3. To tell the truth- I didn't understand the "clothing optional" to mean that all the other guests we met would come there specifically to enjoy that freedom outside around pool and hot tub. It was OK but a first for us to be in that environment when we don't embrace it ourselves. Just be sure that it is what you want. As beautiful as the pool area was, and the kind staff that run it, and we made the best of it, but we probably wouldn't go back.

    beds were comfy; staff amazingly helpful and polite- really great people pool environs were absolutely beautiful and there was a wonderful floral aroma sitting around the pool and reading; it rained the whole 2 days we were there- but the manager made a point of putting lawn chairs up on the porch around the pool so we could sit there outside and enjoy the view and keep dry; he was really a nice guy and had good dinner recommendations; location great- away from the bustle of french quarter- but easily walkable there ( 20 minutes) and the trolley is 3 blocks away; some great pubs nearby in that neighborhood with over 30 beers on tap; good food in local deli nearby too!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    3.8
    Quirky
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hibiscus Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was not clean. Pool area was in a very poor condition with broken furniture and the planting had not been cared for. Pool water did not look inviting. Property is too far from town if you don't have a car. No air conditioning so would be very unpleasant during the summer months.

    The owner was extremely friendly. Our room was good with a comfy bed, although could have been cleaner.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    8.3
    Delightful garden with pool and hot tub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Anthurium Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All OK, although the breakfast tea, bread, etc., needs to be checked more frequently to replace items that run low.

    Great location on edge of the Garden district, near the WW2 museum. Easy tram ride to French Quarter. Delightful garden with pool and hot tub. Owner and staff very helpful in giving good advice on places to go in N.O.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    9.6
    Feel like home in a big city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I loved the atmosphere and that it was within walking distance to most of the city without being in the muck of all the craziness. It felt like we were coming home everyday.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    10
    Bed was wonderful and the pillows perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    Bed was wonderful and the pillows perfect. Wifi was great for email and netflix and finding wonderful places to go. At their suggestion Uber perfect and inexpensive to get you to French Quarters for less then $7 and no parking fees. breakfast with all, let us all share many discussions. Everyone was like your best friend with lots of support. Back yard with pool, spa and swings with beautiful tropical plants gave you a seclude paradise from the city. a perfect home away from home. Thank you Green House Inn

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    8.8
    Wonderful, long birthday weekend; )
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Departing!!! Even though we did add a night,would've loved several more!

    Awesome private tropical gardens/pool/spa;huge for NOLA a property! Sweet library,beautiful green comfort lighting outside for safe night use.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Enchanted stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. We will definitely be back (2018) for our 40th anniversary. This is a place that you can just be yourself and get lost in the tranquility. This is freedom to the max. Thanks Jesse and Frank. We love your place.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.6
    Value for Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The opportunity to meet other guests was a highlight. The staff was very helpful. The long breakfast time until 1100 was unusual and helpful to have a true feeling of being on vacation. Too often hotels cut off the breakfast at 9 or 930 and one must either rush to the breakfast room or simply prepare one's own, or go elsewhere.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    8.3
    Only Place to Relax in N O
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The attendant Scott was very knowledgeable with helpful suggestions for things to do and modes of transportation to use. The place was most relaxing. This will be the only place I stay in New Orleans from now on....just please take better care of the pool area, it is the jewel of the place!

    I enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, however, I selected this B&B because of the clothing optional pool. It was really upsetting that I could not get in the pool due to the pool not being properly maintained. The pool was covered with leaves. Thank goodness the hot tub cycle allowed the leaves to circulate out of the tub. So, I was still able to relish the pool area somewhat, just not nearly as much as I had planned. This was very disappointing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Love the antique feel and made many new friends
    • Group
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner had made our group uncomfortable

    Love the antique feel and made many new friends

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    I hope to visit again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Poinciana Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The garden/pool area was very peaceful an relaxing. the staff was fabulous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    So friendly and the gardens are fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Lotus Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    So friendly and the gardens are fantastic. Great area for accessing both sides of the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was ok but the pillows were rock hard

    Very close to everything. The B&B staff was all wonderful and knowledgeable about New Orleans!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.5
    Great people and a wonderful city to explore this location is good too
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lotus Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness is my only complaint

    Location and staff were great... needs to be cleaned a little more and maintained.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable bed!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Pool available, nice and ambient, small hotel, friendly...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Bougainvillea Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have some more variation

    Pool available, nice and ambient, small hotel, friendly personal

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Royal Poinciana Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enought coffee during the morning.

    Almost very good and clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    We'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fab including the staff - human and canine

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    Awesome neighborhood, super helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Royal Poinciana Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could be a little cleaner.

    Great location!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    Wonderfully relaxing and comfortable.
    • Group
    • Orchid Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled a bit musty and old.

    Great staff - friendly and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing and comfortable stay close to great coffee, bars, and restaurants!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mandevilla Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room smelled very musty.

    The pool/sauna area was beautiful!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    One of the best vacation weeks we've ever had!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like.

    This is one of the coolest B&Bs we've visited. Pool area spectacular and clothing optional to boot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    4.6
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hibiscus Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the cleanest room or place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    10
    Great get away inn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hosts were so helpful to newbies to NOLA! Convenient location to places we wanted to go and easy to get to streetcars!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    9.2
    Nice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really like the place and so kindly people working there, nice experience and would come back in the future

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    8.8
    Nice house !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Anthurium Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful house in a quiet part of the City but close enough where there is fun. Owner and staff really carefull and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    7.1
    A bit pricey for what it was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Hibiscus Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit pricey for what it was. You could stay downtown for half the price.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.6
    Great location in lovely old house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe bit more variety for breakfast

    Location ,garden and pool area.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    Green and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All perfect especially the pool and garden - more of an oasis.

    Quirky but comfortable and memorable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was very comfortable. The rooms were quiet. The owner Jesse and the staff were incredibly friendly and accomodating. It was well located.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't want to leave the place!

    Stayed in August 2016

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Browse The Green House Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: