Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago 4 stars

521 North Rush Street, River North, Chicago, IL 60611, USA

#77 of 146 hotels in Chicago

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 129 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in a handy location. Really enjoyed our first stay in Chicago.
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Would have been nice to have had a 'Happy Hour' or cocktail hour in the early evening.

    Lovely large bedrooms and a great shower. Really nice terrace next to the bar area to sit in. The staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two of three days we didn't get our room cleaned. Bar staff was slow and then gave me a card to rate her on trip advisor. Did not like that at all, not from a fancy hotel.

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel, location could not be any better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from our window could have been better than the side of a building.

    Fantastic hotel, location could not be any better. Value for money is superb. Rooms are extremely clean, comfortable, and airy. Staff were extremely professional and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    A super classy and comfortable place to stay in an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would like the 5th floor bar/lobby area to be a bit more partitioned, where more private gatherings are possible. As it is, it's totally open, so when the lobby/bar is busy, it doesn't feel cozy.

    A super classy and comfortable place to stay in an outstanding area of downtown Chicago. Excellent service and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Good location, great atmosphere, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a view looking into an office building but can't really expect anything else in Chicago..

    Good location, great atmosphere, clean. Bartenders at lobby bar super nice. Connected to mall so super convenient for shopping!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Excellent property in a great location with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor problem with sink stopper not pulling up completely so drain was a bit slow. My partner didn’t like the shape of the sink (long and shallow rectangle) although I did.

    Excellent hotel for the price in a great location. Staff is really the key to setting it over the edge.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    This was a beautiful hotel with such friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a beautiful hotel with such friendly staff. We needed a few more blankets and towels delivered to the room and they were at our door in 5 minutes. Such great service. The hotel itself is in a wonderful location, just a 5 minute walk to the river walk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Very luxurious hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Gwen was so beautiful and such an amazing stay! They were able to check us in an hour early. Our room was so lovely and had a huge soaking tub. I wish I could stay at the Gwen every weekend!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    It was excellent, can’t wait to stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower setup with the pumps for shampoo and conditioner bolted to the wall. Pumps didn’t work well and since it was attached to wall, you couldn’t open it up and use the shampoo.

    The location was awesome, connected to the mall for easy access to shopping and right near mag mile and all the shops and restaurants, lots to do around there. The hotel room was very nice, bed was comfy, light blocking curtains were good, but the staff was outstanding. Especially at check in, very friendly and since it was our anniversary looked for a room with a view for us. Very much appreciated her kindness. Breakfast was excellent too, better than I expected from a hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom lay out...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In room coffee pot without having to ask for it would have been nice.

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom lay out was a nice change for sure! The morning coffee in the loby was welcomed and the fruit infused water a nice treat.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful place with memorable decor, but odd little lapses they need to fix.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's odd that at such a wonderful place there were funny little oversights/misdesigns/slips. We had two reservations. In one room the card on the bed telling you about Gwen Lux was folded and seemed as though it had been recycled (which is perhaps admirable). Weird. The electrical outlets in the bathrooms, both the regular and the suite, were so effectively hidden behind the towels that it took some detective work to find them. There was no light in the small room with the toilet (vs the rest of the bathroom) so you needed to leave the door open to see. In contrast the floor light fixture in the suites blinded you unless you took a bulb out, since they were pointed in four directions, so you couldn't rotate it to point away from people, and couldn't be adjusted to tilt up/down. The soap/shampoo were great but the bottles dispensed so little that you were pumping away to get enough to use. And in this wonderful, luxurious hotel, the coffee in the room had Coffeemate, not even real cream.

    The view from our north-facing suite on 17 was fantastic; the room down on 8 was just of other buildings, but it's downtown Chicago. The decor (Gwen's) is a reason to stay here and it did not disappoint. We had breakfast at the Circa and that was quite good. With the location you can do better nearby, although it's great to know you can roll out of bed and have an excellent breakfast. Didn't try other meals. Staff was really first rate throughout.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    We arrived a bit early and were greeted by friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived a bit early and were greeted by friendly staff. They held our bags and offered us a cocktail while we waited to check in. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The bathroom was clean and full of everything we needed. The location of the hotel is a dream - connected right to the Shops at North Bridge. We'd love to go back and take our daughter, whose name happens to be Gwen. She'd have a great time there, too. The pool, the restaurants, the fun family activities all around. We'll definitely stay at The Gwen again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    This property and staff were magnificent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property and staff were magnificent!! My husband got so sick and the staff went above and beyond to help us get to the hospital. They were so attentive that they called when we returned to ask if they could help us pick anything up for us, run errands or anything to help. I'm truly grateful for their help. Would highly recommend this hotel. Excellent!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.6
    Best hotel for shoppers with close proximity to the Magnificent Mile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could hear doors slamming from other guests rooms in the morning. Was overcharged for a upgraded room that I didn't get and had over $100 in charges at the lounge that we never visited. Hopefully this will be resolved by the management.

    Indoor access to Nordstroms and the Shops at North Bridge, king bed was comfy, bathroom was roomy with a enclosed toilet room, a empty refrigerator you can stock yourself, friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    The room sizes were great and the bathrooms were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini bar which we appreciate and guy have to up one set of elevators to the lobby and then a second set - past all the restaurants etc to get to the rooms. Not ideal if you aren't really dressed to be "seen"

    The room sizes were great and the bathrooms were amazing. Very comfortable and relatively quiet for the downtown location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Awesome!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone was so helpful and friendly...both the staff and other guests. It was delightful to be in such an atmosphere. We were there to meet with foreign exchange student from Brazil that we hosted 20 years ago. It was wonderful to be with her and family.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.2
    Overall had great experience in Chicago fo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I upgraded my room before my reservation was locked in and received confirmation for the upgrade however when I got there I was given the single bed that was originally booked.. I wasn't able to switch to my reserved room because they were sold out.. They did offer a roll a way bed at no cost though.. Also when traveling gps it routes you underground to get to parking area but the signal dies underground so you get lost.. Need additional signage..

    Huge t.v. nice terrace.. Great location.. Beautiful artsy decor.. Great size bathroom..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Great experience at the Gwen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I do not have anything to complain about!

    The greeting of the staff! They made sure i was taken care of and if I had any other problems the staff addressed them!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Very nice and clean. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we got there, they said that they don't have the room I reserved (a room with two full beds) through booking.com and they said that even though I reserved the room that doesn't mean that I can get it. It just means that they guarantee a room but which room will it be depends on the hotel situation. So we goy a king bed room with an extra side bed snd they gave us free breakfast.

    The staff who helped us was very nice. The facility was very clean and the bed was comfortable. It was close to everything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    Beautiful property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property!!! We stayed in a brand newly renovated room. It was gorgeous! Love the location. Restaurant/bar is fantastic. Can't wait to return.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    5.8
    TV did not work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the last 2 nights, the TV didn't work. Even though I called the front desk to let them know, they didn't fix it or offfered me to change me to a different room. Really dissapointed, I was travelling by myself, and had nothing to do when I came back to my rook at night. This would not happen at The Langham or The Peninsula.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    9.2
    The staff at fromy door were friendly and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didnt appreciate bill at breakfast because it was included in price

    The staff at fromy door were friendly and welcoming Lewis was very helpful at the desk room was great

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.9
    Pro's & Con's
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because girl at the desk didn't give me what I ask for a higher floor with veiw a must. She was snippy when I ask her about it.

    Location location location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    7.5
    Customer service could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel allows pets. I don't like the idea of staying in a room where pets have stayed. I feel it's unclean and not good for those wth asthma or allergies. A room close to us had a dog that yapped at all hours. Very disturbing. The price you pay puts this hotel in the range of the Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons etc, however it isn't as luxurious or as good at customer service as those hotels. When I checked in I asked to check out late at 2 because my international flight was in the eve. The lady who checked me in said that was fine. However she didn't note it in the system. Keys stopped working at 12 and housekeeping kept asking when we were going to leave. For what I paid I'd much rather have stayed at the Ritz or Four Seasons or Peninsula.

    The hotel has undergone some recent upgrading. The decor is lovely, the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Some of the staff are polite and accommodating but not all of them. The location is fabulous.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Art Deco decor was impressive
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pass through lobby to get to the room from Rush Street entrance

    Art Deco decor was impressive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    It was beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from my room

    It was beautiful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    5 stars!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very chic decor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Delightful in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely perfect. The staff was wonderful! The bed like a cloud. Location ideal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Staff, location, luxury, admosfere everything is superbe
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Staff, location, luxury, admosfere everything is superbe

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    6.0
    The horrible smell upon walking into the horror room
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The horrible smell upon walking into the horror room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Everything about the Gwen is pure luxury 😀
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My favorite hotel in the Windy City by far!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    We had 3 rooms for our family and everyone was able to be on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no mini-bar...

    We had 3 rooms for our family and everyone was able to be on the same floor which was great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Convenient and comfortable that made me feel special
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great towels in the bathroom nicely folded. Good lighting in the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    Beautifuly decorated and clean hotel. Great staff! Perfect location!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing wrong, everything was perfect 👌🏼

    The stuff was extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.8
    very nice hotel in heart of chicago
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    lovely, clean hotel. nice location, bathrooms, fitness area, etc. view from room was a minus, overlooking rooftops and parking areas

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Super comfortable bed, very friendly staff, superb atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super comfortable bed, very friendly staff, superb atmosphere

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.2
    LOVELY, except GPS DOESN'T WORK IN THE AREA
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was very expensive

    Staff, ambiance, comfortability, walking distance to a dog park, food, shopping, etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.5
    front desk moved me to a new room after nasty discovery but no refund/discount was offered
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found a burnt heroin spoon and baggy of dope in the dresser...

    front desk was very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Great friendly staff, perfect location. Awesome experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though luxury was in the name it was somehow surprising just how luxurious it was, great experience !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    Good all around place for first time visitors to chicago
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prefer sophisticated quiet public spaces- was somewhat noisy

    Very comfy bed- bathroom well appointed- good location for tourists

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel right in the middle of Chicago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, fab bar area and very clean!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Must stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great service and beautiful room. Liked the Molton Brown complimentary toiletries.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    Loved this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like that the parking garage and hotel didnt have a deal together like they originally said.

    The location was great and staff was wonderful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    10
    The stay was perfect!
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints.

    The hotel was beautiful! Customer service was great!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    10
    Nice place and great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great.

    Awesome "French Press" coffee and Eggs Benedict. Nice place.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    6.3
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room were super stuffy/ little air flow. Needs a fan

    Nice appearance and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    10
    After Christmas Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to discount handicap valet parking

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel in an excellent location. No need to walk far for anything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, ease of parking, quite rooms, near great restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    5.0
    Good and spacy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unkind receptionist. Only one .carile.

    Good and spacy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.5
    A bit tired for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast

    Bathroom

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.6
    Loved the location is just WOW.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receiving staff could be more active. Never saw someone to help us with the luggage.

    Loved the location is just WOW.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    6.7
    Rude front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front desk was rude and unhelpful in most circumstances!

    Food was excellent and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    5.8
    I booked two rooms and one wasn't ready at the agreed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked two rooms and one wasn't ready at the agreed upon check in time of 3pm

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    6.3
    rooms need updating the lobby is great but you can tell they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms need updating the lobby is great but you can tell they did nothing at all to change over the rooms when they renovated

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    7.9
    Wish I could have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location. Super comfy bed! Nice hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

There are also 44 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: