Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Omni Homestead Resort 4 stars

1766 Sam Snead's Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445, USA

#1 of 2 hotels in Hot Springs

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 175 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    A week at the Homestead
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The long drive in from I81.

    I was very happy, relaxed and comfortable there. I had no prior knowledge of the Homestead Resort so I was very surprised of the level of services and friendly/helpful staff. The beautiful grounds and mountains was added bonus. I will definitely return in the future.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    I'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were nice, but a bit small.

    Everything was terrific. Especially liked the food, the pool, the spa and activities like horse back riding. A wonderful escape from the world for a few days!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Very nice resort, although a bit run down, that nickel and dimes you like crazy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They nickel and dime you for everything. All you get for the $39 resort fee is very poor WiFi (you can pay extra for what they call premium service). They even charge extra for parking even though there is nowhere anywhere near you could park if you didn’t want to pay. They have an expensive facility which needs a lot of maintenance (some of which has been delayed) and the total price wasn’t too bad, but we were pretty annoyed that they list a $350 room rate but end up charging at least $400.

    Relaxed atmosphere. Dinner was good and our waiter was skilled enough to extract the rather difficult cork from a bottle of very aged wine we brought.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Southern hospitality - on the old plantation - great experience for all
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    when its time to leave.

    the is southern hospitality at its finest, when i need to recenter my world, this place definitely does the trick. the price and cost of the stay is well worth the experience. the addition of OMNI has actually enhanced the stay, i thought OMNI may change the experience to a commercialized location, but that was not the case. Mere words cannot describe the Homestead, it cost but it will transform your world.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Will come back again but pack more food, drinks, and other necessities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices of everything were extremely high, resort prices plus some. There are no family friendly bathrooms in the lobby area or around the hotel.

    Met all expectations and the staff was amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.1
    Not happy upon leaving
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food service was very slow and the quality of food at the high price was poor.. Not a big fan with a dinner that does not include a salad and side within the meal.. A $10 parking fee was and insult after paying a resort fee.. Parked my own car and hiked up and down the steep hill x2.

    Beauty of the hotel and area

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'll be extremely hesitant to use the valet service again. When we got the vehicle back the cover to the fuse panel was loose, the time was no longer set, and the driver side door no longer controls the passenger window. May be coincidence... But maybe not.

    Friendly staff, welcoming environment.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely trip overall!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional View Room- 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was not hot at the buffet in the dining room, especially the eggs. At that price, I was very disappointed! Also disappointed that the dining room was not open for dinner.

    Room was spacious and very clean. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Grounds were beautiful. Jefferson's Restaurant was exceptional!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic place to go and detach or go have constant fun, the choice is yours!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional View Room- 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! It was all great!

    The entire staff is fantastic! Friendly and personable. There is so much to do there, need to stay there at least 3 days. A great get away for a couple or a family. You can relax the whole time, or stay active the entire time, choice is yours!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Had a great time as always, the family skiied there for the first time and it won't be our last!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurants are quite expensive, so if you are looking for a economic place to eat you will have to leave the resort or bring a cooler of food and drinks as we always do.

    We love staying at the Homestead, every room has a bit of history to it but at the same time is well maintained, clean and comfy beds. So much to do without having to leave the resort for the whole family!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed the facility, but do not plan to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional View Room- 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything, like food and activities, were twice as expensive as they should have been. On checking out we learned we were being charged $10 a day for parking. This on top of a $39 per day resort fee (at least we knew about this in advance). We often ate in Hot Springs to avoid the high food prices.

    Room and bed were comfortable. Liked the afternoon tea service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    4.6
    Spa was delightful, interesting place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No personal attention ie no one took us to our room. Resort is tired perhaps a bit "dusty", beds are uncomfortable, could hear noise outside room, ie children.

    Very grand building, certainly has plenty to do. The spa was wonderful!Beautiful great hall. Food was tasty well prepared good service, a bit pricey.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.1
    Glad we did not pay usual rates because it is not up to par.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in main dining room is not what I expected for a hotel of this caliber. Food was okay but not extraordinary. Carpet in hallways needs to be replaced. Some furniture had rips and wallpaper in rooms are starting to peel. While we were sitting in main entry area by large pillars. They had workers on scaffolding taking down Christmas decorations. We had to move to not be in the way. Seems like that should be done late night or early morning while guests were not in area. This happened at 4pm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.2
    Relaxed and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service got it wrong both times, wanted bingo and puzzle competition more than one day, hot springs pool closed.

    Lounge was comfortable and casual, bingo, staff friendly, the hike right up the road .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    6.3
    The address on Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The address on Booking.com is wrong. We got to hot springs at night, the streets aren’t lit and we had no internet connection. We were lost. Please fix that. Room service doesn’t always answer the phone. Apart from that I love that the homestead is not a sleek resort. It does feel like home with lived in furnishings. The staff were wonderful (Roderick Ottey) and the views amazing- not from our room though. Our view wasn’t good at all. The morning buffet was quite satisfying.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.9
    The Homestead is one of those "things to do in Virginia." We were glad to experience it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional View Room - 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff we encountered were less than knowledgeable about the facility, restaurant hours, etc. Even the Concierge gave us incorrect information.

    Beautiful, historical hotel complex. The history tour is a must!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.5
    The Homestead was gorgeous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional View Room - 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While I know The Homestead is a very old building, it was a pain that the elevators to get to the spa, indoor pool and fitness center were broken and the halls and some stairs were slanted. The last thing I wanted to do after getting a really good workout in was to walk up 5 flights of stairs to my room. We would like to go back to The Homestead when it is not so cold and we can participate in the many activities they offer.

    The Homestead was gorgeous. Outside and the lobby were decorated for the holidays making it very home-y and having the retail shops was great. We also had a lot of fun in the Downtime arcade area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    5.8
    Spa is way way too expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room - 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa is way way too expensive. Men’s facilities - sauna and steam not working. Attendant didn’t bother to acknowledge- bad start to a spa day for me and wife/ massage and pedicure for 2 came to $1100.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.5
    Historic beautiful hotel with southern charm and luxury features but don't expect modern luxuries
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier View Room - 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old Historic hotel. Which is great because you are staying in a hotel older than the US, but the downside is it that the hotel makes a lot noise. The elevator feels unsafe and the noise level is through the roof. The service was adequate. I got overcharged several times from the corner store as well as from the bar. Working with management to get it off my folio. I think they think that a souther accent equals southern comfort. Had some excellent service and some not so good service. The place is quite overpriced for what you get.

    Historic Hotel with great views of the surrounding mountains. Plenty of activities. Great place for couples and with the plentiful activities you can keep you kid's busy and tired at the end of the night. The multiple pools on site were great. It was 40 degrees out, but with the hot springs, the water is plenty warm. A decent spa and several great golf courses all on the grounds.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay, staff very helpful and courteous,outside grounds beautiful and well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive cost of activities. Think hot tub could be a separate cost from joining the spa.

    Casual environment, a number of rooms available to relax and read.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful weekend getaway! We’d love to visit again soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe View Room - 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not able to run AC or keep windows open when room stuffy overnight. Would have liked a few more casual food options on or near property.

    Very accommodating bell man who moved our luggage when we asked to change rooms for a better view. Housekeeping staff members were friendly and unobtrusive. Social hour is a very nice touch too! The property is a veritable treasure trove. We very much enjoyed exploring it and all it’s many interesting rooms, halls, and corridors. The library, great hall, and garden were lovely places to relax with a beverage and good book.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Magical and memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some breakfast items in buffet were luke warm (hash, Eggs Benedict). A lot of extra costs added on, like service and resort fees despite the fact you have to pay extra for use of some amenities anyway.

    Staff welcoming, helpful, and kind. Shrimp and grits beyond amazing. Enchanting location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.3
    We went for the fall weather and colors and Virginia...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Room - 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was ok (granted we booked at the last minute) we had no view. Our blinds didn't work so natural light was difficult. And the shower was cold...that was our biggest complaint.

    We went for the fall weather and colors and Virginia Highlands didn't disappoint.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    Nice weekend getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional View Room- 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleaning staff could have cleaned up around the property better and the wait staff at the Dining Room was not very attentive.

    The grounds and spa were quite enjoyable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    Overall stay pleasant. Hope to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of the room: soiled carpet and furniture; bathroom floor dirty; found soiled towel in bathroom the first day.

    Food good; activity level excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.8
    We had a wonderful stay and would love to visit again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little dated and the drapes needed some repairs(falling off the rod)

    The food was excellent especially the breakfast buffet. The staff are exceptional!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Very relaxing. Want to go back. The spa was booked. We couldn't get in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were hoping to get early check in 12-1 but didn't even get in tight at 4 & the room we requested wasn't available. Had to take another. Then took another hour to get our luggage

    Staff was very helpful. Everyone was friendly & relaxed. Area is beautiful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    This was the most relaxing "getaway" weekend I have experienced in years, well worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the interior maintenance needs to be addressed with chipped paint and faded upholstery. I also feel like the spa service providers could use some improved training (the general service folks were fine and friendly). I am talking about paid for services (that are very expensive) that do not rise to the level of what I would expect ... performed perfunctory and certainly not A+ experience.

    The Homestead was an easy drive from the Washington, DC, area to the resort. It is older, but that only added to the quaint charm of this historic property. The grounds are beautiful and there were plenty of activities for everyone's taste. The staff was very friendly and they were able answer all of our questions and concerns during the trip. Loved the afternoon tea time with piano serenade in the main lobby that harked back to a classic time of grace. The spa was the very best part of the trip and we spent a full day relaxing and basking in the warm spring waters there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful visit for our anniversary. Glad we got a good deal, so it made it feel like a good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room showed its age (needed a new toilet seat, large water stain on carpet, musty smell), and housekeeping was a bit spotty. The restaurants are also a little overpriced for the food they serve, but the service in each was fairly good.

    The service is outstanding on most fronts. Overall a wonderful experience. The history of the property gives it a romantic charm.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful building and property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guest room carpet was stained and stretched out. Grand hall yellow and white chairs are lovely, but need to be reupholstered. They were worn out.

    Beautiful building and property. Lots of activities. Family friendly- also nice for couples. Enjoyed the Jefferson lounge for dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.5
    So much potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had two rooms, one for us and one for our three children. Both rooms showed age and wear--stains on the carpet, a kind of mustiness in the air. The main complaint I have, however--and it is a major one--is the lack of variety in dining. The menus at all the resort dining rooms are redundant, and the prices are ridiculous for what you get. $16 for a hamburger, whether by the pool or in the dining room, is a great example. We spent nearly $400/day for the five us simply to eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily for five days. And the food was just average, never better than that. This fact alone will likely prevent us from returning. And that is unfortunate, since we live just an hour away in Lexington, VA.

    It's a lovely historic property. The grounds are tended to perfection, and the public spaces are very beautiful. Classic Virginia. The staff are outstanding. Every person we encountered, from front desk to waitstaff, was just lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.1
    Serene, calm place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking fee was charged.. parking lot is on hill, which is hard to walk with lots of stuffs.. so I had to ask valet parking..$10..

    Serene, calm place..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    5.8
    The grounds were beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It rained a lot during our stay and there weren't many indoor activities. Considering the cost of this place, you'd think they would prepare for that. The bathrooms and room were very old and not updated. The food was extremely pricey.

    The grounds were beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    Meals were superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For its prices, the Homestead needs to focus on the general maintenance of its facilities. Chairs in the lobby were worn and dirty. Tables in the lobby should be cleared and wiped clean immediately after each patron's use. Elevators had brass railings and wood panels that needed to be cleaned and polished. Paint on the wonderful, detailed woodwork needs to be stripped, sanded smooth, and repainted. Beds were not made completely each day. Coffee cups were left in the room and not replaced daily. It is a glorious place to visit, but ownership needs to improve the overall "look" of the facility. We would gladly return but our hope is that the details of this marvelous resort should reflect its history and the caliber of its environment.

    Meals were superb. Activities were well organized and engaging. Service was excellent. Resort personnel were kind, welcoming, and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Food and service beyond expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To use the thermal water is an extra. Should be included in a thermal hotel. Indoor pool is NOT thermal, as in the past.

    Food and service beyond expectations

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful environment and excellent service
    • Couple
    • Traditional View Room- 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Little hot water in the shower, very weak flow of water in the shower and several tiles around the bathtub were off. Breakfast was a little disappointing.

    Beautiful environment and excellent service

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.5
    Homestead July 2017
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bugs in bathroom light, wait for bellman, resort fee charged for business attendees who are in meetings and can't use amenities

    Attentive service, good food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.8
    I loved having a balcony overlooking the grounds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the room service breakfast. The eggs were not cooked to order and the bacon was cold and hard. One day we ordered two orders of French toast, coffee and tea. French toast was cold and the fee was $68.

    I loved having a balcony overlooking the grounds! Very important to be able to sit outside and still have the comfort and privacy of the room.I did not like the room service breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.8
    Nice hotel with experience below expectationsp
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    99% of the activities are extra cost. Service was way below expectation. Pool was very Dirty in the afternoon.

    The nature around the hotel is beautiful and there are many activities for adults and children.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE FOR MOTHER'S 80 TH BIRTHDAY.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING.

    STAFF WAS EXCELLENT, ROOM WAS EXCELLENT, BEAUTIFUL, SPA GARDENS WERE WONDERFUL. WENT TO THE JEFFERSON AND MAIN DINING FOR MY MOM'S BIRTHDAY AND THEY GAVE HER A SPECIAL DESSERT AND SHE WAS THRILLED.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Old fashion service rated five out five stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe View Room - 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food price and what was brought on the plate did not match. Food like chicken was burnt very dry, not worth the money. Over cooked steak when asking for medium well. The food quality did not match the price or establishment.

    Very beautiful place. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Anniversary Escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier View Room - 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The resort is beautiful! It's a gem retreat place. It's a resort worth driving out too. The staff are friendly especially the zip line activities staff. They were very patient and encouraging.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    A great, historic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional View Room- 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged $10 per day for parking. No small restaurant for breakfast--only main dining room and enormous buffet breakfast on weekends.

    Service was fantastic! Loved the homestead tour and activities

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Original room assignment was dismal, but they moved us upon request to a much better room. Charged for self-parking which was located up the hill from the hotel. Parking space was plentiful. Extra activity charge regardless of which activities you choose or not. All-in-all, a good experience though.

    Beautiful setting. Food was good, but somewhat pricey. Cascades golf course is great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    The Omni Homestead is a beautiful historic place to relax and be pampered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heat in the room took awhile to warm up on a cold spring day. Otherwise, the room was very comfortable.

    Bed was very comfortable. Loved the sheets, blanket. Restaurant offers a delicious menu for lunch and dinner food plus a beautiful view of the surrounding property - trees, lawn, gardens. Breakfast at small deli provides coffee, fresh pastries, yogurt, fruit - convenient and tasty. Relaxing in the bar with glass of wine was a treat. Many other amenities - golf, walking trails, swimming, skiing, spa - are nearby the main hotel. A great choice for a stay in either winter or summer.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.2
    Massage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Massage.........................................................................................................................................................

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.8
    Acceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices...main dining room was not available we had to dress more formally and had to bring clothes just for that and then they didn't open it....

    Clean and comfy

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    6.3
    Fabulous resort with lots of potential for guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This did not affect our stay, but the property needed some maintenance. In particular, the carpets seemed worn and the entire building needed painting (trim, windows, etc.).

    Beautiful property and well staffed, but the staff did not seem overly anxious to make sure our needs were met.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.6
    bed was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    more caffeinated K-cups. 3 decaf and 1 in the room. no time to call in the am before leaving.

    bed was lovely. phenomenal new restaurant within walking distance called Les Cochons d'Or--can't wait to return for another meal. from cocktails to desert, everything was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    7.1
    Loved the venue, activities and the landscape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor food quality. 1 star food in a 4 star resort. After 3 days in the resort was desperate for a decent meal!

    Loved the venue, activities and the landscape

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    6.3
    Beautiful place but has issues.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed at the Homestead before in September for our anniversary. The resort had much more to do realistically in the summer and fall months than in the winter. Be aware that this is not an all inclusive resort or even close. They bill you for absolutely everything including a hidden daily resort charge which was never explained and I am still not sure what is was for. The meals on the Homestead property are very expensive and many of the activities are overpriced. The worst charge is a daily fee for wifi charged for each device. When most hotels and motels offer travelers free wifi, this is a shameful charge for a purported 5 star resort. Although the Homestead sells itself as a year round resort, it really is not. It's winter activities are limited and it is not a resort for serious skiers. The ski conditions were poor. The ice skating rink was tiny. The outdoor pool was much to cool to enjoy in the winter even though they claim they claim it is warm. Our stay in January was also compromised because our room was ridiculously too hot and we could not regulate the room temperature. Although we complained, it was not fixed and we were not offered a different room.

    The Homestead is a beautiful old historic resort in a beautiful setting in Bath County Virginia. Its buildings and grounds are gorgeous and well appointed and maintained. The staff, especially the bell staff, valet and waiters are very friendly and professional. The spa and fitness center are very nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    6.7
    Omni Holiday Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is overly expensive. Need more choices for food. My bathroom needed to be cleaned better; the toilet was dirty.

    The breakfast was extremely good as well as the waiter. The staff is very friendly

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    8.8
    Nice, charming place --- yet felt like a cruise ship at times
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe View Room - 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At times, we kind of felt like we were on a cruise ship because we were on a "schedule" as far as food went. We could not eat whenever we wanted. We had to wait until each of the restaurants were open (only one opened for breakfast and two opened for lunch). You had to make reservations and there was a dress code (business professional, business casual and for the "finger foods" were resort casual). I wish they updated the Jefferson pools. I was shocked that the original building from 1836 was still standing. I'm all about nostalgia but the building was not well maintained and kind of made me nervous for stability reasons. Also, there was a ton of algae and mold on the various stairs within the water.

    We liked the old charm of the building. It was quite an experience seeing so much original work with the hotel itself. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The food selection was decent. It was neat getting into a real mineral spring! The outdoor heated hot tub and pools were a nice touch. We liked the activities but definitely was there for the relaxation more than anything.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    9.6
    Super nice people, beautiful setting, nice room and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier View Room - 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    When making the reservation I had asked for a high up room with a good view, I got a basement room with a good view 1086 Rather deceptive floor numbering I thought. The courteous gentleman at the desk did offer us a room on the 15th floor (5) after I was in the basement room, but the wife was too tired by that time to move. When we arrived we left our cell phone number for a call when the 1086 room was ready, but it never happened.

    Super nice people, beautiful setting, nice room and clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    8.3
    Overall a great place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very large and the beds were very comfy. Cleaned well every day. Very relaxing environment over all. Surprised dining room was not open. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    10
    As a solo traveler, I felt completely at home and safe while at the Homestead.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The inconsistent, day to day change in operation of the Jefferson pools.

    The Bath County people are the most genuinely kind people. They are incredibly attentive.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    6.3
    Hotel charges $10 for parking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel charges $10 for parking! If there is a parking garage then I would not have minded, but there are just two small disorganized parking lots for self-park in the open and are far away from the hotel. Of course they don't tell you that up front when you register. I did not really want to make a point out of it in front of other guess, so I paid. I was not very happy with the way they "milk" customers for money in anyway they can.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in an amazing setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would love to return and enjoy this beautiful place but it is too expensive. No easy way to reach the property.

    The room was very comfortable and the bed very nice. The dinner was delicious. The grounds were beautiful. The golf course was manicured beautifully. The afternoon tea was very nice with the piano player.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    7.5
    be prepared for above problems if you go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    quality of food in Jefferson Restaurant just mediocre. bed too soft, old mattress checking out invoice showed charges that were never incurred. as others had same problem, I assume this is a everyday practice.

    the facility is extremely comfortable overall with a distinct tie to nature. the staff were very good..

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful, historical & lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful, historical & lovely!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    2.5
    They charged my visa 4000 $ extra !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged my visa 4000 $ extra !!!!!!!!!😡😡😡😡😡😡

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    Hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous hotel with lots of activities to do on the grounds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    Amazing building with great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe View Room - 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Golf was just too expensive so did not play

    Amazing building with great facilities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.9
    Great older mountain property
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cascades Golf was great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent place to relax and unwind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could use more restaurant choices

    everything!!! grounds are truly beautiful, food was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    great visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional View Room - 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    dining options are expensive

    The hotel itself is very impressive

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing and deluxe stay. Would come to this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional View Room- 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meals in restaurants onsite were overpriced.

    So many things to do on property. Spa garden was amazing and well worth the money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Great breakaway into the past
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    $25 extra for a room with a view of the north.

    Bed was firm, food is $$ but tasty. Lots of activities on offer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    The Homestead takes you back to the grand resort vacations of the past.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The comfort, excellent service, delicious food, gorgeous buildings, relaxing and healing springs, and variety of activities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Skating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Skating

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    6.7
    ROOM HVAC POOR.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ROOM HVAC POOR. MADE LOUD NOISE ALL NIGHT.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.1
    Will have to save up more money to ever go back but it is lobely
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much money

    Ir s way too much money for what You get. The staff is amazing though!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    All family members had a wonderful time enjoying being together.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    Spacious rooms, friendly employees and lots of activities for all ages.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    6.3
    Average because of the overall tiredness of the hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities need repair. Very shabby in areas!

    Staff. Food. History.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75