Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Scarlet Huntington San Francisco 4 stars

1075 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108, USA

#4 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 922 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Absolutely brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely brilliant. Great location, close to Union Square but on top of a hill - the view is beautiful though. The rooms were very clean and quite spacious. We absolutely loved it. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Fun in SF.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much.breakfast staff overwhelmed is all.

    Comfy beds,friendly helpful staff,location,cable car out front,big room(executive room),nice shower and toiletries,safe in room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    The hotel is in a superb location with excellent facilities and friendly super efficient staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel Is in a fantastic location. The staff are really friendly and super efficient. The room was beautifully decorated and very clean,it felt like a much more expensive hotel. The quality ofthe service and the standards of the food was excellent. Overall it exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    The view from my room was stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel us on the hill so walking up here is a bit of a challenge.

    The view from my room was stunning. Big room with lots if space and very comfy bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    A step back into a simpler time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very cute little Hotel on nob Hill. Staff was very attentive. Restaurant gave the feeling of the 40's or 50's with its shaded atmosphere and Piano playing in the background. The rooms are large and it would be easy to host a small gathering.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location, great staff would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t have complimentary water in the room. We were told we had to pay $40 per day for use of the spa and pool which was not clear on booking. This was very disappointing.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The courtesy car service with Ursula was brilliant. Beds very comfortable. Big 4 bar good if a little expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Old lady in the best part of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It s a bit old fashion. Room service is to expensive 2 hamburgers and 1 coke plus service almost $70

    Neihborhood is classy. Pool and spa superbe. Staff very polite

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Stay would have been perfect. Almost there.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow and blanket don’t smell clean. Smelled like they were already used at Day 1. Lighting is not well positioned. It’s a bit dark, in my opinion.

    The location (15-20min walk away from Union Square and Fisherman’s Wharf), the view from the room, its relative price (amongst other hotels), size of room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location, comfortable hotel, my parents loved it and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, comfortable hotel, my parents loved it and this is based on their experience. If you'd like to experience SFO without staying at a big hotel chain this would be the way to it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    We stayed in the Executive Room, Beautiful & spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the Executive Room, Beautiful & spacious room, with king size bed and two lounge chairs. However the bathroom - was totally inverse, being tight bath/shower combination - a disappointment. However, the view from the room overlooking Huntington Park - was picture perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location and very friendly staff with great knowledge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was told when booking the pool was free for guests to use. When we arrived we were told the pool and spa access was $40 per person per day! Was very disappointed as the pool was one of the main reasons we booked the hotel.

    Great location and very friendly staff with great knowledge of the area. Really nice bar and cocktails with fantastic piano player.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    A pleasant stay. Comparatively reasonably priced for the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freshly decorated but decor is dated.

    Very good breakfasts, and generally a good restaurant by American standards. Bonus of a lively piano bar in the evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    The staff are super friendly and welcoming and the hotel is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is good but very limited room service menu. You are better eating at the restaurant for breakfast.

    The staff are super friendly and welcoming and the hotel is in a great location. We were upgraded to a fantastic room which we appreciated, for a special occasion.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    There are other better, friendlier top notch hotels in the area, maybe try the Fairmont.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was tiny for our deluxe king room. Also, I had begged for an early checkin as I had a rehearsal for my sister's wedding and they didn't look busy. One of our room wasn't even ready for the given time. They don't seem to be able or willing to help go that extra mile usually included for a luxury hotel.

    I think the location drives the price as it is in a fabulous neighborhood. However I think the decor of the rooms is a bit on the garish side. The spa is amazing though. So is the Big 4 bar. The bathroom was tiny for our deluxe king room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Some minor frustrations but generally great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We’re given access to spa as on anniversary but didn’t get to use it first day as when husband tried to go guest services said no didn’t have it. Took 30 minutes next day to get confirmation which was awkward. Only used once as too much hassle. Shower is over bath. Took a long time to get service in bar and had music playing at same time as piano playing which was really annoying and made it extra hard to hear each other.

    Suite was large with seperate seating area and windows you could open for fresh air. Team were generally helpful and concierge Juan was fantastic. Having a town car to get around was great. Food in Big Four was good and piano playing nice touch. Big Four is popular and had a good vibe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is clean and well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were under the impression it had a pool however you had to pay 40 USD to access it.

    The hotel is clean and well located. Overall it was a good stay but value for money is not great in my opinion.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking too expensive at $59 per day (more than The Montage in Beverly Hills!!!)

    Rooms well appointed and spacious. Great location and vibe. Staff outstanding

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was told that there was no Easter Brunch at The Big 4 restaurant so we went elsewhere, sadly. But that was wrong there was an Easter Brunch. The request to pay for "higher speed" WiFi seems chincy. Our room was not ready at 3:30 when we arrived (3:00 check in time). at 4:30 we asked for a glass of Perseco and were told they couldn't provide one. We stayed in a large and expensive suite we paid for. It needs to step up its game.

    Beds good. Slept well. Big 4 had a great dinner. It is a classy, well-located property, but needs to step up its game. Competition is intense,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Great location and beautiful boutique style hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ice machines would be nice. Having to call for ice is a bit inconvenient. Parking is pretty pricey but I suppose that comes with any stay in SF.

    Opted for a one bedroom suite for my daughter to spend her last night as a single woman and it was perfect. The day of the wedding, all her bridesmaids and glam squad showed up and there was plenty of room for everybody.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Enjoyed our stay and will come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel hallways are somewhat dated looking.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Concierge was amazing in recommending and arranging restaurants. Room was very nice. Hotel location is outstanding.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Technical issue?I got scarlet direct confirmation saying it is refundable but when I call to double check it kept saying non refundable. I sent email with the confirmation saying it is refundable, but no reply at all.

    The park in front of the hotel is awesome! Front and other staffs are wonderful and helpful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.4
    The Hotel has a beautiful spa attached.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel has a beautiful spa attached. If someone is not staying at the hotel but wants to use the spa, you pay a day fee or pay for a service. If you're a guest at the hotel, however, you have open access to the spa. This has been the policy of the Hotel/Spa for many many decades. This was the reason I booked at this particular hotel, so as hotel guests we could use their spa. We arrived, went to check in at the spa and were told the policy had changed as of a few months ago and that we needed to both book a $150 + spa service to have access to the spa, for that one day (i.e. for every day we were at the hotel, we would both have to book another service to have any use of the spa). After much wrangling and frustration and speaking to many people, multiple managers, they agreed to let us use the spa, one day, for a day use fee of $40 each. Turns out the policy is so new, even the in room binders still have the old policy in it: welcome as hotel guests to use our spa while you're here. They need to make this policy clearer. The spa itself anyway is so crowded now it's not worth it, 6 people in a small hot tub, all the tables and chairs taken, someone came out and told us not to get in the pool in a way that would spill the water on the floor (it's an infinity pool, so just getting into the pool does this).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    The sum of all the 'little' things, made it great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can't think of anything?!

    GREAT staff which just totally made it. The doormen were funny and super kind, the porters too. The bed was super comfy. The location was great. I loved the Piano man at the downstairs hotel bar - he was just brilliant. The room size was huge (and I travel every month somewhere in the world), really impressed. And what I really liked is the USB ports all over the room. As an international traveler the voltage is so hard sometimes, so having a straight USB making everything charge faster.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    6.3
    Noise from adjoining room was, at times, impossible. Mobility challenged should perhaps avoid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Our room had a locked door to an adjoining room (I was given to understand that this was common to most of the rooms in the hotel). This may have been the reason for the transmission of noise from the adjoining room - at times we could, quite literally, have joined in the conversations in the next room! And the noise from the Bollywood movie on 'til gone 1.30 am one night did little to aid a good nights sleep. A call to reception did nothing to lower the noise level. Mobility challenged should perhaps avoid the hotel. We had been given a wheelchair accessible room, which we didn't need, on the 5th floor. The sign by the elevator suggested that "in the event of fire disabled guests should wait for assistance" - a bit worrying if one is in a wheelchair I would imagine.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Great location, great staff. Comfortable and clean suites.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Put waster bottles in th e room.

    I love everything. The room was perfect. Deco was 1st class. Bathroom tub shower was awesome. Bed was yummy and slept well every night. I would definitely recommend this hotel to all. Room service food was great. The Big 4 restaurant was fantastic, had dinner there multiple nights. Didn't have to leave for anything. We will come back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Excellent stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Missing hooks in the bathroom to hang towels and clothes. There were lots of lamps that had to be switched on and off individually, rather than a central switch that controlled all the lightings in the room upon leaving it.

    Great location, very good size of the room and pleasant ambience

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water pressure in the shower was week. The volume on the television in the living room did not work well...it never seemed to get loud.

    We liked our suite - especially the views. Also, the bed and pillows were comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Magnificent stay and a lovely location. By far my best business traveling experience to date!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Junior Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Only wish the workout room had a few more machines from which to choose.

    Loved the location and the spacious suite. Could not have been a better choice for my two week stay. Plenty of room to relax and a separate place to sleep. What a treat! Staff was very pleasant and loved the hearing the piano playing from the bar each night when I returned from a long day at work. And speaking of long days at work. The room was dark and quiet which meant great sleep for me.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    It was a very pleasurable experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gift shop had no real sundries. It is helpful sometimes to have items available for purchase such as some snacks, beverages for convenience.

    The size of the Junior Suite, it had comfortable seating;free basic wifi, proximity to event center, decor. The staff was great, especially the bellman and room service staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Amazing stay during honeymoon at the Scarlet Huntington!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    If I only had to comment on something, it would be that although the hotel was aware that we were on our honeymoon, there was nothing complimentary offered to make our stay even more perfect.... But all in all I would definitely recommend the place!

    Our stay at the Scarlet Huntington was amazing - we stayed there for a whole week during out Honeymoon, and we absolutely loved it!The service was impeccable, the room was fantastic with an unbelievable view to the city, and the neighborhood is ideal for exploring the city (watch out for the steep hills though...be prepared for some panting!) The hotel's restaurant/bar is definitely worth a visit, very atmospheric. Good Wifi signal in the rooms and very comfortable bed to say the least :-)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    A small Hotel on Nob hill with an excellent Bar and a Spa I would like to experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Boutique Hotels tend to be intimate and this Hotel certainly was. The service was crisp. The rooms had modern amenities but felt like I was in a different time. The Restaurant bartender managed his post that created a 1950's experience. I will return.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hotel on Nob Hill. Staff are so friendly and helpful, location was great, easy to get to all the main spots from the hotel plus there is a free car for town drop offs. We got upgraded to a suite and it was beautiful. Bed was amazing. Highly recommend loved our stay here and in SF

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    5.8
    Location was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed sunk when you slept in it. Bathroom was small cramped. Tub was smal. Bed and tv were far from each other. You could not use the spa ass advertised.

    Location was nice. Bar was nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, we would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service. It came over 20 minutes late and an item was left off ( English muffin). We had to call for it and I was promptly brought to our room but without butter. Soooo expensive for bad service.

    The customer service and room decor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.3
    Piano bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool looks like it is advertised as part of hotel. Buyer beware and read the fine print. It is associated with the spa. I think the hotel and booking.com Are remiss in advertising the hotel in the photo slide show of the property. When you book a room, you can’t us the spa on the weekend unless you have a service appt or if a weekday you pay $40/person. That’s in the fine print at the bottom

    Piano bar

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    The best of SF
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's cold year round in SF so not an issue, but no AC.

    Best Hotel in San Francisco by far. Fabulous location, chic rooms, and the best bar (The Big 4) in California. Legendary.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.3
    A visit to San Francisco's past glory days.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast. The lox was not fresh, bagel tasted store-bought. No mats in the work-out room. Our guest's shower didn't work properly. They were stingy with toiletries and cream for the in-room coffee. The concierge didn't know what was happening in the city on new year's eve and sent us to restaurants which were all closed!

    Lovely, exclusive location. The hotel lobby / period restaurant-lounge are charming. The rooms are spacious, luxurious, and comfortable. We rented two adjacent rooms with connecting door. Cable car runs right past the hotel, which you'll need if you're not up for hoofing up the hill!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    Comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building, you can hear the sound easily from outside and other rooms, the hotel locates on the hill so you need to walk a lot to locations nearby

    The bad is comfortable and the radiator runs well, the hot water and good shampoo/conditioner brand.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    We stay here every time we come to the city, which is often...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stay here every time we come to the city, which is often and I stayed here alone when I was in town for one night for work. It’s so comfortable, close to everything and the park across the street and views of Grace Cathedral are my favorite views in the city!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    6.3
    Poor room, not worth, expensive valet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is old and the room is poorly insulative, I can hear sound from both room besides me, the room is generally good, but I don’t think is worthy this money. The staff did not tell me the valet parking price when I checked in, and it is really expensive, all they ask is if I wanna pay extra to upgrade my room, mention no view, pretty view and etc, I did but I think is not worth.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    • the hotel is located quite high up, as in you will have to walk down/up a few blocks of steep hills to get to/from Union Square/Powell Street station etc. Not mentioned much in reviews but important to note if with someone that struggles with such.

    • comfortable beds • good bath/shower facilities • nice decor • generally very friendly staff • useful chauffeur service to local areas • good location (if you don't mind steep hills)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.9
    We enjoyed our stay in SF, even if we had to do some exercise to get to the hotel each day...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It has no access for people with movement problems. The fitness centre is very small and poor. Although the hotel is only 4 blocks from Union square, it is on the top of one of the steepest and highest hills in SF.

    It is a very nice hotel with spacious rooms and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    The service we received was excellent. All hotel staff was pleasant to deal with and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much. Pleasantly surprised with just about everything.

    Fantastic service from the hotel staff. The room was larger than expected and the beds were extremely comfortable. Had a decent view of the city, but the view of the skyline at sunrise was awesome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Best stay in San Francisco!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Come to San Francisco 3-4 times a year, this is my new favorite hotel! I will be staying here on my next trip to SF in February. Great staff, great rooms, great location!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    Does not have pool, great location for tourists
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have booked elsewhere, had I known the pool wasn't actually available to hotel guests. If it requires a spa service, or even a regular day pass charge, it is not a feature that should be advertised as part of the hotel. This is a hotel located next to a spa where the spa will allow, for a fee, guests to use the pool. This is not a hotel with a pool. Consider yourself warned.

    The bed was, in fact, cloud-like, and we had a lovely view of Grace Cathedral and the Flood Mansion - it's at the pinnacle of Nob Hill.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    Renovated Older Hotel on Nob Hill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room layout was odd, with 3 closets and 2 doors to adjoining rooms. Perhaps because of these doors, we could hear our neighbors (and presumably, they could hear us). Breakfast was pricey, but good quality.

    This is an older hotel that has been substantially renovated. Our room was large, clean and nicely decorated. We had a pleasant view of a park from our window.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Great. Big room. Always love the BIG 4.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a extra bartender in bar. One is not enough for the busy bar.

    Room is very large. We had the junior suite which was cheap for SF. Furnishings are quirky, but comfortable. Spa is awsome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.6
    39th wedding anniversary and they gave us an upgraded room with views of the bay. Would be happy to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could not change a $20 bill and I had to cash the 20 at a nearby bank.

    Friendly staff and the front desk manager went out of his way to find our Uber car on a very busy night. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. However, I am basing my ratings on the fact that we only paid 190.00 for the room. I have gone back to the site and have not found anything below 400.00 for Jan. and Feb. (Maybe there will be some last minute deals down the road.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    6.3
    Average in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the money, I have stayed at way better hotels. It was at best an average experience. The view from our 10th floor room was not impressive. The staff were not rude but lukewarm. The amenities are relatively new and the room clean but but no mini-bar or complimentary water. The bathroom's layout was odd.

    Great location, nearby the cathedral and the fairmont. The hotel is a hidden gem location-wise. I've gone past it so many times without noticing it. The piano bar downstairs seems cute too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    6.3
    Would look into other options next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa and gym facilities are a joke in my personal view (for me it was important, I only chose it because of the so much advertised spa facilities). Gym - very small, spa done in the 90ies, plus hotel guests are only allowed to visit the spa, if some spa procedures are booked (really?). No drinking water in the rooms and the mini bar was empty.

    I personally liked the location, a bit walk from the center, but a pleasant one and the area is nice. Rooms are big and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful, magical, romantic weekend at the Scarlet Huntington!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Valet parking charge was exorbitant (@$59/nite) and there is no self park; the location affords great views and is close to a few things at the top of Nob Hill, but you are going to need a car or other transportation to go anywhere else; we walked back to the hotel from Union Square and it is like climbing a mountain to get back up the hill. Those streets are STEEP!!!

    Even from our fourth floor room (corner room “400”), the view was outstanding. Nice panorama of Grace Cathedral, Huntington Park, and even some slivers of the bay. The weather was so nice that the sailors were out on the bay. The door man, Jason, was fantastic! Friendly, helpful, great smile, too! The bell crew was also top notch, as was housekeeping. Front desk staff, despite apologizing for not putting us on a higher floor, did find us an incredible room! It was nice to wake up to the church bells from Grace Cathedral on Sunday morning!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    Really enjoyed my stay. A luxury hotel and a stunning room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service finishes at 11pm. Shower is built a bit strange,

    Luxury hotel in an affordable price. Beautiful and large room which you don't get to see much in SF.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    great location with breathtaking views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No drinkable water in a room (minibar is empty too), bed is a too soft but this is subjective, free wi-fi is slow (they charge extra for better bandwidth), valet parking is $59 while a parking next door is only $40.

    great location with breathtaking views.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Nice place in a great location- but I don't think we will stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    They tried so hard to up sell us on a better room- that I felt bad for booing a suite. When we got to the room I saw why. It was a very nice large room with nice furniture - but by no means a suite. I felt taken advantage of.

    location was wonderful. Nob Hill is the place to be. The doorman was wonderful and made us feel welcome. The lobby is nicely appointed and the room was fluffy towels. The coffee maker in the room was a nice touch.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Perfect stay atop Nob Hill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were very helpful and welcoming. Could not do enough to help us. We were upgraded to a suite and as this was a special occasion it just added to experience. The location was perfect for the Masonic Auditorium.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Fantabulous Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really, just maybe a more lights in the breakfast room.

    A hotel with a spirit on a wonderful location! Spacious nicely decorated rooms. Warm hearted staff. I just fell in love with this place!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Exactly what we expected from a high end Knob Hill stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Timing and communication of housekeeping service.

    Loved the hotel restaurant and bar. Valet and concierge staffing was very attentive and professional.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    Overall great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hilly and a little difficult to walk, not too much aside from other hotels nearby. Short walk to Chinatown but difficult due to hills

    Large beautiful room with a great view, nice quiet location with a small park right across the street

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Great hotel. Great location. Really helpful and knowledgeable staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not use restaurant or spa. Compared to rest of hotel they felt small and a bit formal. We ate at the bar and enjoyed that.

    After travelling for almost 24 hours we arrived and were upgraded to a suite. The room was large, great bathroom and very well maintained. Location great. Not too busy or touristy area. Staff very friendly and attentive. Great bar!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    6.7
    The spa cost took the edge off an otherwise enjoyable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of the spa facility is NOT included in the room rate and is $80 per couple per night extra!! The spa/pool facility features strongly in the hotel advertising and that persuaded us to stay there. The hidden charge is expensive and misleading.

    Staff were very friendly and bar is a great spot

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    The service was exceptional and we appreciated that we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was exceptional and we appreciated that we were given an upgrade. Our room was stunning with a beautiful view. We will definitely return to stay here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    Old school luxury accommodations on Nob Hill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The gym was a joke. A very small room with a few machines and not even a treadmill. I am not sure if they are renovating the workout room and this is temporary, but it was pretty annoying. I find this odd especially because there is a very nice spa at the hotel.

    Charging for wifi is getting old. That is not a luxury extra at this point. I really think this should be included with the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Scarlet Huntington is a gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We ran into a couple of locals who, upon discovering we were staying at the Scarlet Huntington, exclaimed it's the best hotel in San Francisco. All the locals know this and the Scarlet Huntington is their preferred hotel. We were upgraded to a gorgeous executive room with stunning views over San Francisco. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was grand and everything was charmingly luxurious. Great location, high on Nob Hill. The neighbourhood is safe and clean. Staff were consummate professionals and very welcoming. A fantastic hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    well located, quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast room is dark and dingy

    the concierge was very friendly and helpful (Chris & Juan) amazing ambassadors for the hotel the town car service with Ursula was a highlight of our stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    Boutique and upscale hotel on a quiet street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minibar all empty, not even water. The upgrade could have been offered free of charge (many hotels do) since we've made our reservation months ago Parking very expensive. Some USB charges placed in the furniture did not work.

    We upgraded our room upon the offer of the front desk at some additional price. The new room was quite spacious with a large living room. Bathroom quite nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    Unnecessarily expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was very, very disappointed and upset to discover that the price I was charged by Booking.com for one night was far higher than the rack rate on the day - I was charged £460 for the one night and the rack rate was $395. That is a difference of £157 - which is a huge amount of money. I felt completely ripped off.

    The hotel was very good - location and facilities and staff all faultless.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely staff & location superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    dining room too dark, esp at breakfast.

    Staff, before arrival and during stay, excellent in every way. we had a teen ( 16) with us, and i wanted to be assured her room was adjoining our suite.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly staff. We had reserved 2 rooms (1 room was for the kids), which was upgraded to 2 adjoining suites. The suites were huge. Extremely comfortable beds. Very quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    4.6
    Location is good but that's about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible room that had the toilet exactly opposite our bed with a badly designed sliding door. Insulation in the room was terrible and overall for the price this was the worst of the hotels we stayed in the area over a period of 2 weeks.

    Location is good but that's about it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Terrific vacation stay at Scarlett Huntington!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked to have known about the dress code at the hotel restaurant, The Big Four, before having to return to the room after a long day of travel for my husband to change into long pants. On a positive note, the food and service were both incredible!

    The Scarlett Huntington exceeded our expectations. The old world style combined with superb service from all the staff we encountered made for a very enjoyable experience. The Nob Hill location is beautiful but get ready to walk some very steep hills as you explore the city!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.8
    nice but not for me
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no air conditioning in the room. Not really family-friendly (children can't use pool). The price was outrageous; didn't get anything more (probably less) than l could have gotten at a cheaper hotel. We had to find a store to get soda/snacks.

    Staff was nice. The room was warm/hot. We were upgraded to a mini-suite(?) instead of having to wait for our room to be ready. l only picked this hotel because it's across the street from the Mosaic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.7
    13 year old not allowed to use pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    13 year old not allowed to use pool. That was stated in spa section on Internet. Not stated on main page. THAT was one of the main reasons I booked this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.7
    Change is not always good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furnishings are terrible. The new owners have ruined the hotel's interiors and turned the lobby and rooms into garish designs. It was a lovely historic hotel in a great setting with decor that matched the building and had been updated just before it was sold. Very sad to see what has been done.

    Staff was very nice, great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive valet parking. Car park right next door. Advise do it yourself. Restaurant a little too dark.

    Free upgrade from executive room to a suite, the breakfast and the spa.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: