Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Independent Hotel City Center 3 stars

1234 Locust Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107, USA

#26 of 75 hotels in Philadelphia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 344 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very comfortable and clean. Breakfast in the room a great bonus-delivered every morning. Friendly staff! Excellent location - central and easy access.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our corner King room was spacious, well appointed, and super comfortable. Emma and staff were very friendly and helpful. Terrific hotel for a Center City adventure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets did have a couple of stains. But were clean

    Emma in reception was wonderful she was extremely helpful pointing out location to sightsee while we waited for check in. Room was luxurious. Very close to historic part of Philadelphia walking distance

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got the completely wrong breakfast. Everything we wanted they did not have at their disposal, though there was not much choice.

    The rooms were very nice and clean. The staff was very friendly. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is not giving any information about area, activities at the hotel or restaurants to eat, even if you directly ask for it. Breakfast is poor and very low quality. Too expensive for quality received. I would not choose it again

    Location is quite good. Hotel facilities and rooms are modern and new

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some glitches: the television stopped working the second night and couldn’t be fixed before we left. There were little things missing in the room (like a second chair for two people to each have a seat) but the room had recently been renovated and they have a few more things to add.

    Its location was great. The staff was personal, helpful. The wine reception was a nice touch. The room was sweet and very “warm,” cozy. A quick, complimentary breakfast was delivered to the room. We would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly random breakfast, we were there for 3 nights and one or two items on the breakfast tray were missing every day.

    Alexis the receptionist was excellent, she was very welcoming and helpful with any request, including moving us to another room when the TV wouldn’t work. The hotel is in a great area for access to everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just did a random search for hotels in the area and The Independent was close to center city at a good price, so I booked it. The room was a single, but large with high ceilings and hardwood floors. It felt more like a studio apartment in the city than a hotel room. Staff was nice and helpful... I'd stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator was very slow. Reception area is on second floor.

    Enjoyed breakfast being delivered to room at requested time each morning. Wine in afternoon was pleasant after day of sightseeing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were not cleaned until very late in the afternoon. They were spotless on completion though.

    The room was spacious and well appointed. The staff were friendly and helpful. Guest happy hour was really enjoyable. Complementary breakfast delivered to the room was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the hotel a lot. Bit pricy for this time of year

    Great Pillows, comfy bed, huge TV- loved continental Breakfast delivery. Bit of trouble with the loading zone but not hotels fault. Great vibe and great location. Right in the middle of everything! Everyone was friendly, was unsure of after hours entry as the lobby is on the 2nd floor but figured it out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had made the booking for 4 nights several months on a pay on arrival basis. A few days before our stay the hotel tried to access our credit card without success and I got several emails via Booking.com asking me to update the details. I did this several times for both my cards and each time the hotel replied to say it couldn't make access despite me having ample credit available. On arrival we were told that because the card had failed our booking had been cancelled. After some delay the hotel tried to rectify the situation first by saying "you are with us for 1 night". We said no 4 and the first retort was that we may need to move rooms mid stay. A free a further discussion they eventually found a room for us. The room was comfortable but we have no idea if it was of the standard that we had reserved. I checked with Booking.com who confirmed that the hotel should not have tried to açcess the card before we arrived. To add insult to injury we then had to pay 50 USD more than the agreed price with Booking.com We are having a really good holiday in America but this experience has left a sour taste

    Central location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This boutique hotel is a must !! Fantastic location, walking distance to everything! The room was beautifully decorated and the bed extra confortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was located on the side of the building where through our own bird poop covered windows we had a view of a brick wall. Our room was very dark, and the bathroom was super dark. The photos for the hotel are very misleading. They show natural light in every room and bathroom. Our bathroom was super dated with tile counters, low light, and peeling wall paper. Most things in the room were dated. Our room wasn’t made up one day,which isn’t a big deal, except that I could hear the cleaning staff gossiping in the hallway about other guests. When we checked in, we were told, “I think I have a room.” Ridiculous. I made reservations a month before, and then you stuck us in a dark, dated room. Also, we saw the same individual spit at his front desk. We were so grossed out.

    We liked the location, quality of mattress, light breakfast, and the bathroom products.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower took a long time for the hot water to kick in. There was a very strong draft coming through one of the windows making it a bit uncomfortable to sit at the desk.

    Lovely little boutique hotel. Staff is super friendly and helpful. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom is huge! For the complimentary breakfast, choose the croissants...they're quite good. There's a parking garage a block away for $28/day. I highly recommend The Independent!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The closet door was broken, therefore we were not able to hang up any clothing. It was obvious that the door was broken and this should have been addressed. I did advise the front desk when I checked out.

    The queen deluxe room was very spacious. I also really liked the bathroom which was supplied with L'Occitane toiletries.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi for being a boutique hotel with only about 20 rooms was poor. For the price I would have liked a bit better breakfast option but it wasn’t horrible for being included. Room service did not change out mugs for coffee both times they tidied up.

    Location was great for roaming center city, public transport was super close and room was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is priced very reasonably, considering the location. As noted above, it is dated and a bit worn in the rooms. Outlets for charging were not conveniently located near the bed or the desk. My room was on the top floor. It was very light and had a view, but the hot water or heating pipes knocked so loudly about 3 times an hour, that I didn't sleep much the first night. The wonderful staff, great pricing and overall good condition of the property, made up for the other issues.

    The staff was very welcoming, efficient and pleasant. The room was spotless and the bed very comfortable. There is a wonderful assortment of restaurants literally within the block. Good value for the money, but dated in terms of ergonomics and electronics.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Continental breakfast leaves a little to be desired.

    Good location. Friendly staff. Excellent value for the money. Not opulent, but spacious, clean rooms. I would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no safety deposit box in the room (as I might have guessed from the room description). The toilet flushes like an airplane toilet, meaning rather loud.

    The room was big and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom (including shower) were roomy and nicely decorated as well. No noise from the corridor or streets.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not to sound trivial but the bathroom is huge and yet no bathtub. The room was kinda dusty- curtains if you opened them, the walls need to be painted. Not to sound trivial but for the money to pay, details are important. The walls had handprints on them. The streaks and patches in the paint was very noticeable. The lighting In the bathroom is awful. The noise when the bar closes was extremely loud at 2 am. The bed was too soft for my back. The night stand stereo didn’t work. If I am staying in center city and paying good money there needs to be just a little more attention paid to the details.

    The staff was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is an old building and the rooms on the street side do not buffer ANY of the street noise. Unfortunately for us, that included jack hammering in the street at 2am our first night. Luckily they didn't do that on our next night, Friday, but that night we could hear all the street noise. And they honk a lot in Philly, and it's a pretty happening street on the weekend so we could even hear people shouting. We needed our big large fan (which we did not bring of course). If you need quiet, ask for an interior room or bring something to buffer the street noise. We did not sleep well those nights.

    Super friendly staff who offered to move us after the first night of street construction noise, and even went down to find out if they would be working the next night. Enjoyed the breakfast served to our room. Neat old building that has been updated. VERY large room with nice furnishings. Good location-not a bad walk to all the major sites and lots of restaurants, bars etc.. Felt very safe walking in the evenings. Great value especially compared to the hotels by the Convention center.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed on the 2nd floor. The noise from the street was easily heard. From the drunk who girl, the cop yelling at traffic, and the he horns going off it made for a very restless night.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small ceiling leak on ceiling above shower door. Had to keep bathroom door closed because of loud HVAC hum emanating from it. I understand they start renovations in a week.

    Easy early registration. Good information by desk clerk. He was friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there for 4 days. We would be gone all day, arrive back late afternoon to find an unmade room and then a knock on the door by housekeeping. We discovered on the morning of departure that there was a way to signal for housekeeping, but it seems like someone would have pointed this out to us...especially when we expressed displeasure the first time.

    Rooms large. Wonderful location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were extremely helpful and provided great suggestions. Affiliated workout gym a block away is superb. Large rooms, great and lively neighborhood

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was SUPER comfortable, the room was very clean and neat, the bathroom is very spacious , and the staff was SO friendly and courteous. I would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much noise from the streets on Saturday night.

    The room was big and comfortable and the shower was wonderful. Breakfast served in the room was a delightful surprise.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little noisy at night with street noise.

    This hotel was terrific! It is different to the ‘normal hotels’. They deliver your breakfast to your room and the staff were outstanding! The rooms are very comfortable with everything you need.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning person just needs to be alert at having enough washclothes and bath supplies but easily resolved by the desk staff.

    The room was lovely and comfortable. Breakfast was brought to the room and generous.we also were treated to a glass of wine during our midweek stay. I wish more smiling and ready staff as here were at other hotels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel sits on a very busy corner (13th and Locust in Phila., Pa.) We arrived on Saturday and there was possibly a protest or something with many people screaming outside our hotel all night until 6am. The other nights were not so bad, but noise is part of that corner.

    Liked all things about the hotel except for one.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived in Philadelphia around 12:30, parked across the street, walked over to the hotel to ask what time check-in was. We were told 3:00 p.m. so we went to do some sightseeing. When we returned at 5:00 p.m. there was no room ready for us or our traveling companions. We waited another hour before going back to ask again. We were taken to a room that had been partially cleaned. The floor and dresser top were dirty. The duvet cover had yet to be replaced. The TV didn’t work. Lighting was poor. The switch by the door wasn’t attached to any light in the room so we had to fumble around to find table lamps.

    The bed was comfortable. The female assistant manager tried to make up for the appalling check-in by bringing us a bottle of wine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You could definitely hear things going on outside and in the hallways, however we didn't find it bothersome.

    From check-in to check-out, our stay was very pleasant! We were warmly welcomed and the check-in process was quick. Our room was very nice and the bed was really comfortable. It was also very convenient to have a microwave, keurig, and fridge in our room. The location was perfect for our needs!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com charged $90 more per night than the hotel's own website, which I checked the night before I checked in.

    Location and all the little things--nice shampoos & toiletries, coffeemaker & frig in room, breakfast delivered...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Perfect location in the center, close to the convention center as well as South street. The wifi works well, and the staff is truly friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was nice but the street noise and the air conditioning noise were pretty terrible. Bring earplugs, it was hard for me to sleep. If you are used to city noise shouldn't be a problem. I got athlete's foot from the slow draining shower. That could have just been bad luck.

    Very courteous staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room wasn't properly cleaned 2 of 3 days (trash not emptied, towels removed but not replaced, cleaning supplies left in room, coffee not restocked

    Not much, except the staff's restaurant recommendation and coffee

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please see above.

    Beds were great. Bathroom rug was soiled we called, but it was not replaced until next day. Towels were gray,not white, and the few we wished to be replaced were not, until we called to request and then only got face cloths, no hand towels. There was shampoo, conditioner, body wash, no soap ? Had to request. The breakfast menu was scant, no eggs were offered (?),and there was no menu in the room we had to request both nights. We received croissant, butter (one day), strawberry jelly (only, no choice) fruit request was ignored. And juice was cranberry or OJ. Kureig coffee machine did not work, and there was no creamer or sugar. Not even in the main lobby. We found out on our second night upon returning from dinner that they had a "complimentary wine" happy hour, that we were never invited to? They gave us one restaurant as a lunch reference, but had no information in the rooms as to anything in the vicinity, we received information from people we met on the street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A nearby neighborhood club closes in the middle of the night and causes the area to become extremely noisy, making sleep difficult. You may want to consider requesting a quiet, non street facing room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful and inviting hotel in a historic building, very friendly staff, our room was spacious, beautiful and tasteful decorated and well equipped with every comfort you want, breakfast delivered to room, great location, short walk to city center and all historical sights, tons of restaurants and bars

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was too noisy. I understand it's located downtown philly but we were able to hear every noise outside. Footsteps from the room above

    Loved the staff and the room was beautiful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in bathroom could have been better. Needed a mirror in the bedroom. Told management.

    Staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Hotel was charming and close to everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking situation is not ideal. Although a 24 hour lot is a block away. It would be nice to have a valet option.

    Very nice hotel in a location close to a lot a nice restaurants. Nice continental breakfast delivered to your door. They upgraded my room which was a very nice touch.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice and friendly hotel in good neighbourhood; breakfast in the room, handy! Coffee, frigde, microwave in the room aswell; large and comfortable bathroom; silent rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator broke down with my husband in it. TV in room did not work. Very loud- street noise and from within the hotel itself. If you are sensitive to noise, probably not the spot for you.

    Staff was friendly and very accommodating. Clean and comfortable room. Hotel very convenient for walking to points of interest

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was perfect....nothing to complain about. A five star experience at a 3 star price. Parking lot across the street is well run (not affiliated with the hotel) and you can park there with little fuss. Really painless.

    Continental breakfast was great. Nice complementary wine and snacks in the lobby in the evening. Manager was very helpful. Great service. Rooms were nicely appointed. Ask for a room on the 5th floor facing Locust Street which are really spacious and have high ceilings.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had some problems with the reception guy who make some mistake related to our card payment and the attitude wasn't really pro-active to help fix things but just telling me it might be a problem elsewhere. The problems were solved much later after two weeks and with the help of a manager. He was maybe a beginner as it was hard to get information from him also regarding parking or general stuff to do in the city.

    The breakfast is served in the room as there is no other place to have it. This might be a plus or a minus, depending how you prefer it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was not easy to move around the hotel. Wanted to take the stair instead of the elevator but could not get outside. Only one elevator and it was slow.

    The room was nice. The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived at 1:30 pm and were told our rooms weren't ready. Check-in time was 3 pm so we went to lunch and came back at 3:30 pm. Our rooms still weren't ready until after 4:30 pm. This was very discouraging as we were exhausted. It was at this point when we were forced to wait they should have brought out the wine and snacks, making the wait a bit more tolerable. We did not receive a late check out or any compensation for the long wait and just an apology when we said it was unacceptable. There were 5 rooms of people waiting in a small area for their rooms to be ready. Could not understand in such a small hotel how all the rooms were not ready! Also while waiting we used the restroom several times and each time reported their were no paper towels but it was not addressed until the next day.

    The added continental breakfast and small kitchenette were very nice. The rooms were spacious and I really liked the hardwood floors as opposed to rugs. There was wine and snacks in the evening one night which was also an added bonus. Smaller and more cozy than a hotel chain.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor staffing. Didn't care about toliet leaking or about parking. Tried to check in at 2:00 was told to back at 3:00. Came back at 4:00 and still not ready. Person at desk went to check and was gone for 20 minutes and when he returned had no answer. Finally got checked in about 4:45. Asked about parking an person had no idea were to park.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The maids could have been more conscientious. They forgot to restock the coffee the first morning, the second day they forgot to do the room. We asked for towels and coffee supplies which they brought cheerfully; thus the room did not get made up.

    Location and the lovely room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can I tell you how welcoming the woman at the desk was? My son had just had surgery and I was emotionally and physically exhausted. She went above & beyond to make me feel like I was at home!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place and staff, good location. Our room was very comfortable and cozy. Nice decor as well :) we will definitely come back if we visit Philly again!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'd have preferred having a carafe of coffee in the morning, and real milk with it, though it's easy to use the Keurig machine and the powdered milk-like product provided.. Someone should have reported the curtain partly off its rod before I did, but surely by now it has been fixed. The chambermaid couldn't have fixed it because the rod is high up; the ceilings are high, at least on the 2nd floor where I was.

    The staff was particularly helpful. I'm not good at electronic things, but the male desk clerk was very helpful with the radio/alarm, internet connection, etc. The female clerk in the morning brought breakfast precisely on time---there's no interior restaurant so they bring you breakfast if you order it by l0 PM the night before and it's included in the room price---and checked me out quickly and pleasantly. I liked the size of the room and the furnishings. The bathroom had a stall shower with a glass door and two shower heads. Towels were thick. Toiletries by L'Occitane were well chosen. Good full-length mirrors. The bed, high off the floor, had a good mattress and two pillows for each person in a double bed (though I was alone). Closet had a luggage rack and several hangers of the type one can remove from the rod, i.e. normal, helpful hangers. Information about the city was on the desk. Good reading light over the bed. Keurig coffee maker with six beverage cups. The hotel is a block from the westbound city bus #42 on Walnut St. and 3 from the eastbound #42 on Chestnut St. There are other nearby buses, too. Flanking the hotel at street level, perhaps in the same building, are a pub-style restaurant and an Italian restaurant. A father and son praised the meatballs at the latter; they are apparently locally famous, so make a reservation there when you check in. A pizzeria and a salad restaurant are across 13th St from the hotel and each other. The pizzeria is just adequate.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe more choice at breakfast would be better.

    Great and big room, with big and comfortable bed. Nice equipement, nice bathroom, great decoration. Great location with lots of restaurants nearby. Close to the city center and not far from the main places to visit at Philly, we didn't need to take the bus or a cab to go anywhere. We would ceirtanly return if we ever go back to Philadelphia. "L'occitane" toilettery was also a plus. Breakfast included it served in the room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Your rate confirmation for two nights was NOT honored the second night. I had to pay $52 more than your confirmed rate the second night. I have sent the proof to you with my rate confirmation and the invoice for two nights. I am still waiting for your response and rectification!!!!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Decor in the room was interesting and attractive, Very clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the welcome drinks and conversation with the Manager and guests. The art work in the hotel is varied and interesting. Location is central. It felt safe as well.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast option is kind of bland, but WHO CARES??? there are a bunch of breakfast spots close by, and everything else about the hotel makes it so unimportant

    everyone is friendly, the beds are AMAZING, i just love this place so much!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None that I can think of

    Best location I could have asked for. The staff here is incredibly attentive and helpful. This is our go-to hotel whenever we stay in Philadelphia.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the quaint, uniqueness of the room with the antique vintage look of the furniture, the hard wood floors, the electric/fireplace, and spacious bathroom. Was in walking distance to the theater for our show with many great restaurants to choose from.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating system was odd, if we didn't have it at the highest temperature it could go our room would get cold in the middle of the night.

    The bathroom was lovely and the delivery breakfast in the morning was much nicer than a typical continental breakfast you would have at other hotels.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The height of ceilings, size of room, and huge bathrooms, have stayed there several times. The staff is great and the location is very hip and hoping.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, a wonderful and personal hotel, not like a big chain. Such a nice change.

    I was unable to order my breasfast online but the AM staff was so helpful and got me breakfast go quickly and she was so pleasant

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I did not like is that there was a lot of noise in the street and I could hear it very clearly from my room. I could not sleep at night.

    I loved that the hotel is in the middle of everything. Is very easy to transport.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was super-cool, but it can get noisy at night so bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper.

    My room was huge, and very reasonably priced (a Booking.com deal for midwinter)--liked the way it was decorated and the wooden floors. I chose to stay here rather than a conference hotel because it was a bit different, and was glad I did. Very easy to get to the centre of the city, and area has a great buzz. (Was pleased to note afterwards that Locust Street is where Jess starts his zines-and-slam-poetry coop in Gilmore Girls season 6!)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    first room was street noisy, cold and frigid. took hours before they dealt with me. Finally moved me to another room, much better.

    what eggs?

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning/heating was not working and they couldn't fix it, nor change us the room, my rate was different than my sister's although we had exactly the same room and both reservations done with booking.com. You told me it was the hotel problem, they told me it was your problem. One day the breakfast was completely wrong from what we had asked. One of the ladies in the front desk was very rude when I tried to fix my problems with her.

    The location, the bed, the rate they gave us at the end because we had sooo many problems.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Visit one-2 times a year. This trip was noticeable different in staff expertise, elevator cleaniness, and cleaning service (which we had to request. Room was not ready when we arrived...

    The rooms are great!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel manager was very nice. They provide wine tasting we didn't know. So we took a glace of wine and spent realy nice evening there. Location is good. Walking distance to all important points. Staff is able to help you and recommend places to eat. The hotel is design in specific way. You feel really comfortable there.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a lovely portal to the charm of Philadelphia. Starting with one of the city's gorgeous murals across the street and a vibrant performing arts center down the street, I was able to explore the beauty of Philadelphia on foot returning back to the Independent to recharge in the quiet comfort of my well appointed room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very hot nights when we stayed. The air con worked very well but at a cost......it was very noisy.

    Great little hotel in the heart of Philadelphia. Room clean, comfortable and a good size. Tea and coffee making facilities available in room a real treat, as not many us hotels have it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I Booked the room for two but requested a double queen room on your site as we were not sure if our friends were going to be able to fly in. The confirmation said 2 Queen Room. When we arrived we had our group with us and in no way did we try to his that we had more than 2 people and would have been happy to pay a difference if it was required but you decided for us that we should only get a single queen. They would not honor the confirmation that said 2 queen room. They also would not allow us to have a roll bed in the room as "it was against fire code" and would not allow us to switch rooms to the King room that was available. We ended up having to spend over 200$ more in order to accomidate our group and honestly we felt that we as young travellers and college students were taken advantage of. Unless we are credited the 200$ we spent on the second room or get a travel voucher good for a room we will never be ising your site again / will also be leaving negative feedback online as well as with anyone we talk to about your services. Like I said, we are college students and do not have lots of free cash and this put a damper on our entire weekend. In the future, you should book the rooms that ARE REQUESTED. People have reasons for doing the things they do even if it is not clear to you.

    The rooms were clean and good showers.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff disinterested. Got wrong breakfast and charged for stay twice by mistake. Rang to rectify but woman seemed unbothered. Did get refund but no reassurance.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge room with a great bed. Wonderful staff...great manager John. Had an issue with our TV and he was right there to resolve it. Would recommend to anyone!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Somehow, we seemed to think that while parking would be available, it might be a bit of a distance away. The description of the property should note that parking is directly across the street and the "open" lot can be seen from one's room if on the street side of the building.

    Here is a real "boutique" property close to all the downtown attractions. Found parking lot directly across the street. Contrary to some reviews, we found our room very quiet....even while we could see the revelry that went on into the "wee" hours. We will return!"

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: