Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Kahala Hotel and Resort 5 stars

5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96816, USA

#12 of 210 hotels in Honolulu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 377 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Happy to stay for refreshing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We thought breakfast was included, so we had breakfast there every morning. But if we knew that it's not included, we would have gone out for brunch. It's expensive and not worth it.

    Great view from anywhere in the hotel. Cozy, calm and clean. Not very far from Waikiki.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Staff are very friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The afternoon tea in Veranda was not a very good experience at all. The choices are limited and not worth of the price they charge.

    Staff are very friendly and accommodating. Very clean facilities and comfortable bed. Pacific dream photography staff Macie and Daniel are very professional and efficient. To have a souveneir of your cherished moments in Kahala, I will recommend having the photography services.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Quiet location excellent but very expensive for the dated facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is clean and comfortable but very dated and desperately in need of a complete renovation to bring it up to a modern standard. Its also very expensive.

    Location excellent as not too busy and away from the crowds of Waikiki.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    If you are after a luxury hotel out of Waikiki The Kahala is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are after a luxury hotel out of Waikiki The Kahala is perfect. It has its own beach and is quiet and relaxing. The rooms are big and the bathrooms are excellently laid out so there is a men’s and a women’s section. Perfect for couples. It is not as crowded as some of the other luxury hotels in Waikiki. The restaurants are great too. No need to leave but then only 10mins into Waikiki if you want the buzz.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Staff very polite !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had a cockroach on the floor. Everything needs to pay ! Before moves to Kahala I was in a 3 stars hotel which offer an excellent breakfast without pay, different of that one. SUP, canoeing, whatever you think you pay. This hotel doesn’t need it. Disappointed.

    Staff very polite !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Luxury; Relaxing environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Luxury. In particular, the large bathroom - two sinks on either side, toilet in a separate room, separate bath and shower. The Japanese style toilets - complete with heated seat and the facilities. Great restaurants on-site - Arancino; Hoku's. The Dolphin Lagoon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    luxury, comfort, and pampering
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool itself was a bit dated and not as impressive as the rest of the hotel. Also, as an advocate for dolphins, I am hoping that eventually the captive dolphin program will be ended soon.

    This place is all about service. Everyone called me by name, with a smile and a courteous demeanor. The rooms are lovely and large. The beach is pretty and the breakfast is delicious. The pool itself was a bit dated and not as impressive as the rest of the hotel. But we definitely felt pampered. Will return!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can not think about anything we disliked

    Beautiful location with mountain view Spacious clean room Lovely coffee machine Friendly staff. Gorgerous dolphins to swim with Hotel Bus to take us to centre makes transport so much easier

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Excellent full service resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The high tech toilets - they made constant mild noise, I was not always in the mood for a warm seat and, though they neutralized the strongest odors from toilet use, they created a constant mild odor of their own. The menu in the restaurants could have more vegetarian options (my wife is) but that is true for all of Oahu

    The entire hotel experience was quite good with no complaints that were significant The pianist on Sunday and Monday nights is phenomenal!!!!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room Dolphin Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our dolphin lagoon room definitely needs updating, especially the bathroom. Mold in the shower area, a large amount of water damage to the walls - not what I expected for the room rates charged.

    Wonderful property. Plenty of activities. Friendly attitudes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dolphins. Beautiful creatures shouldn't be kept in captivity for financial gain.

    Impeccable customer service. Staff amazing. Beautiful beach. Fantastic room. Idyllic location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Always the best at The Kahala
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have been staying at The Kahala for 20 years! Love the location away from Waikiki in a great upscale residential neighborhood on the other side of Diamond Head. But still only 15 minutes from Waikiki via their free shuttle. No beach in Hawaii is private but The Kahala beach feels private. Bonus is their rooms are the largest in Hawaii!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    A short visit, very nice people and the Italian/fusion restaurant was good. The beach was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs updating, and a little far off the beaten track for us.

    It was a little dated, very friendly staff, one restaurant we ate at was very good, Italian I think. It was on a lovely beach, but a little far from a town and deslote.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    45th at the Kahala Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room Dolphin Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a wonderful time at the Kahala Hotel. The staff was super nice, efficient, and accommodating. We were upgraded to an oceanview room which was absolutely lovely. We were celebrating our 45th weeding anniversary and could not have picked a more perfect place to spend it. Food and dining experience was top notch. We are planning to make this a yearly anniversary trip!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    A world class resort - stay away from the madding crowd in one of Hawaii's exclusive areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was a little bit dated, and in need of renovation.

    This is a top class 5 star resort. The greeting from the front line staff was brilliant - given at sit down desks. A touch of class. Hoku's restaurant was superb, and matched the class of the hotel. It's a pity that we only stayed for 1 night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a lovely room that was very quiet, overlooked the golf course. The large bed was extremely comfortable . Spacious bathroom with a fridge for drinks and snacks. The beach was just right for me, I felt very safe swimming there as it is shallow. I like Italian food, the restaurant was very good. I had a wonderful time and I would recommend it highly for women travelling alone.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.2
    Hawaii Vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a small deli or shop for snacks or quick bite to eat on site

    Guest Service team (especially Dee Dee) were excellent. Very helpful and pleasure to work with..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    3.3
    House keeper was nice and very kind
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception wasn't nice. I asked about reservation of shuttle bus. One staff gave me wrong information and seems like not professional.

    House keeper was nice and very kind

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like was having to leave!

    The pineapple that was sent to our room upon arrival was a wonderful start to an amazing week. The dining on site was fantastic!!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    6.3
    Definitely a fading glory!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Check out was horrendous, standing around waiting for reception staff to even acknowledge your presence. Watching them give preference to "elite" clientele rather than respecting the order of the queue, even an instance of people walking past the queue, demanding and receiving the service. More concerning is the length of time the hotel takes to return "preauthorisation", there remains preauthorisation outstanding with no explanation from the hotel. It's been more than a week now since we left. Service at the main restaurant was disappointing... breakfast was nothing special for the standard of this hotel and dinner was extremely disappointing specifically being seated and then having service staff walk around us for more than 20 minutes to serve other tables seated well after us... we witnessed 3 complaints in the space of our dinner from other guests. The trouble with the hotel is there is nothing around it so leaving the restaurant due to bad service would have meant a taxi to get to somewhere else for dinner with our kids late in the evening. Expect the Italian restaurant to be booked out, because they accept bookings from outside of the resort. Whilst the pool team (mainly the beverage/food staff) are great, the size of the pool is small for a resort this size. Be warned when the hotel is full of families enjoying spring break the pool is way to small and our experience was older kids get too rough with little kids. Our 7 year old was knocked in the head and ended up with a significant cut to her lip, the lifeguard remained in cabana without even an offer of assistance or check in to see how she was... not really sure what the point of having a "lifeguard" is when they don't render assistance when incidents occur. Room Service be warned... they charge $8 for the deliver and then expect an 18% gratuity... in fact all the staff have this expectation of you tipping... good service equals tip...

    The resort is beautiful, set right on the beach and it offers great poolside service. The kids enjoyed the dolphin experience and we all enjoyed lazy days around the pool. The shuttle service into Waikiki and the Kahala Mall was good but doesn't always run at convenient times i.e. there is no early morning service which makes it impossible to join any of the day tours which require early morning pick up. Would highly recommend families/couples to take advantage of the photography service, beautiful photos in a stunning location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    8.8
    Out of the rat race, great place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great beach, unique to have a dolphin pool on site. Our bed was extremely comfortable. The Hokus restaurant and the Italian restaurant provided great quality food

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    5.0
    3 star at 5 star prices
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility dated . It is not 5 star and is way too expensive for 3 star. Room view with upgrade was nice. Food mediocre. Toilet broken. Our rooms carpet was strangely sticky . It's obvious this facility is putting nothing into its infrastructure . I wouldn't be surprised if closed for major remodel in near future . Probably gorgeous 30-50 years ago

    The beach was easy to use

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    5.8
    the staff is great the place needs better beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    beds are old and uncomfortable,i had to sleep on the floor. there is a fee for parking Super expensive and they tell you parking is available but they don't tell at first that there is a charge of 32/night.not nice. restaurant on main level food is not good.

    great location nice and helpful staff,breakfast on the lower level is excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    9.6
    Luxury plus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room Dolphin Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Although a convienience shop would have been good as the resort is a distance from shops.

    The rooms are very luxurious, we stayed in a lagoon view room and enjoyed watching the dolphins.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    9.6
    Turn off street noise and neon signs for some nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No convenience store in the resort. You should buy stuffs from Wikiki or airport.

    Morning buffet with decent kinds of oriental foods. Wooden ceiling fan in room. Dolphins, turtles, and some sorts of colorful fishes in pool. You can see some stars in the sky at night on the private beach. Shuttle stops at Ala Moana shopping center and Wikiki Galleria T. Several aspects of the island---highway, downtown, Wikiki beach, and Diamond head---are shown on the shuttle.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    9.2
    Dream kahala Resort Experience 10/10.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was good but the you do pay a 5star $$ amount for the level of standard and service.

    Staff were so accommodating and helpful at All times. nothing was to much of a problem. Resort is just superb. The dolphin lagoon is simply awesome. It was an fantastic experience to stay where Movie stars, presidents, Famous bands & Musicians all stay when they come to Honolulu. The wall of memory lane stars at the resort is so worth looking at!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    8.8
    Our 10 day stay was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra charges for many things. For $650 per night I think they could do a better job of providing beach chairs with umbrellas on the beach and water toys, i.e. Canoes, paddle boards/boogie boards without charging $30 an hour to use them. The entertainment on the Veranda was very nice. However, we ordered a shrimp cocktail with our drinks and were stunned at the quality of the shrimp. It was Costco frozen shrimp soaked in brine. Yuck! We didn't even finish the appetizer. We would strongly suggest upgrading the quality of the shrimp/prawns.

    We loved the location away from the Waikiki madness. We walked to Whole Foods each day which is about a mile away. The free shuttle service to Waikiki is great. Jordan at the front desk was terrific. Also, Cameron the concierge was so helpful and friendly. The dolphins, turtles and sting rays were such fun. We spent lots of time watching them from our room and as we walked to the beach.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    7.1
    Not what I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The food is terrible at almost all restaurants in the hotel and was pricey, the only good restaurant was the one that serves breakfast. The bar at the pool closes at 5:30 and everyday closed before that time. My room was very humid and I let the hotel know, but did not care.

    Staff was great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Enjoyed all restaurants/food service on property with the exception of the Veranda. Food was tasteless and not prepared as ordered. Mentioned disappointment to Veranda staff member who seemed to have a 'could care less attitude'.

    Very relaxing. Wonderful service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel; exactly what you need for a unforgetable vacation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rental for deck-chairs/canvas that are directly at the beach is rather expensive.

    The hotel is beautiful! Very luxurious and modern. The room (standard room with mountain view) was very spacious and the bath room was super big as well. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel shuttle brings you to Waikiki (make sure you always reserve your seats for both ways!) and to the shopping areas so you actually don't even need a car (the hotel is though located rather outside from the center). The breakfast buffet was very good, lots of variety and for a reasonable price. The beach is very nice. Be aware that you have to rent the deck-chairs/canvas that are located directly at the beach. The deck-chairs at the pool are free of charge. The hotel shop where you can buy drinks and some snacks is not that big but you get everything you need to survive :-). And, this is the best: everything to a reasonable price. The concierge was also very helpful in organizing tickets for us for the Pearl Harbor Memorial Tour prior to our arrival. In case you leave the room for a day trip or short trip and you want your room to get done before you are back you might want to call the Housing in order to ask them to come around. Otherwise it might be the case that you come back and the room is not yet done. You can also always ask for complimentary water bottles.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Excellent facilities and welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent facilities and welcoming staff. Peaceful location with a stunning beach frontage.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Heaven on earth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Scenic View Room with Lanai
    • Stayed 2 nights

    5 star service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    The Best
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had absolutely no complaints

    Everything was just perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Will recommend Kahala to friends & family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent accommodations

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Scenic View Room with Lanai
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive breakfast

    Dolphins

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    The concierge was very helpful the whole time we were there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Resort prices are always hard to swallow.

    The concierge was very helpful the whole time we were there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    It’s worth to stay at here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room Dolphin Lagoon View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is beautiful beach and lagoon with dolphins and seatyrtles.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Go!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    View

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.2
    Everything awesome and their free shuttle to Waikiki and ala...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was ALL good

    Everything awesome and their free shuttle to Waikiki and ala moana was a plus

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Excellent for romantic getaway not too crowded
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room Dolphin Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been able to spend more time at the resort

    The staff is very kind and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    5.4
    Bad money value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff You have to pay for everything, beach, parking, breakfast... very expensive after you have paid a very expensive room

    The hotel is nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    8.3
    beds were very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    pool and Jacuzzi crowded with kids

    beds were very comfortable

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    5.4
    Quality price not worth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs renovation

    The beach

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    7.5
    Lovely . Enjoyable and will always go back there if hot holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Private beach. Quietness and swimming w the dolphins . Gd for honeymoob couple and families .,got shuttle bus to shopping center

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    the facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the pool

    the facility

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    7.5
    Far from anything off resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room Dolphin Lagoon View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from anything off resort. Expensive food. Nice resort, but not amazing.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.6
    Excellent experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room Dolphin Lagoon View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent Hotel, Private Beach, Clean and spacey rooms, friendly service

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    6.7
    Good atmosphere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was big enough for family stay. Though building was pretty old we could styay comfortably.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    6.7
    Nice location and room but not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs were not so friendly Breakfast was not worth paying $38 at all

    Room size

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    Paradise at Kahala
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room Dolphin Lagoon View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed everything

    Love Kahala location. Nice and quiet and away from the businest of Waikiki

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    9.2
    Loved the dolphin pond off our balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extra fees for umbrellas, kind of dated.

    Loved the dolphin pond off our balcony. Service is outstanding, they really value the guests. Amazing toilet seats. Shuttle service to downtown.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    10
    Loved the peacefulness of the resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the peacefulness of the resort. Beach was lovely and the dolphin's in the lagoon were awesome. Very relaxing place if you need to "get away". Room was spacious and clean, and the staff was top notch!

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    10
    I can't say enough positive about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My husband was a little put off by the birds hanging around the buffet.

    I can't say enough positive about this hotel. The breakfast buffet is fabulous. Staff is friendly and responsive. The addition of the Toto systems in the bathrooms put it over the top.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    8.8
    The hotel is in an excellent location and all the public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is in an excellent location and all the public rooms and facilities are great. The rooms are good sized with really good bathrooms. Private beach is perfect.

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    9.2
    Great room, fantastic environment, excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    At a hotel like this, a detachable shower head should be standard. Another issue (possibly a Booking.com one) was that I was unable to reserve a room incl. breakfast without paying for two people (the price differential would have been over $60/night).

    Great room, fantastic environment, excellent food. Well-trained, friendly staff who sometimes were a bit too obsequious for my tastes. The location is really quiet, compared to the craziness of Waikiki.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    9.2
    The Kahala Hotel is beautiful and is tucked away in an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Kahala Hotel is an excellent choice if you love the beach however the pool was underwhelming. The design of the pool is dated and would be disappointing for anyone who enjoys sitting in the pool while enjoying a drink.

    The Kahala Hotel is beautiful and is tucked away in an upscale residential neighborhood. I loved having easy access to the beach and enjoyed seeing the dolphins and other sea life that is right on the property. The food was excellent and I enjoyed the live music every evening near the lobby restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    10
    This is my favorite hotel in the world.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I loved everything.

    This is my favorite hotel in the world. Service is unmatched the place is absolutely magnificent and the people are friendly and the food was wonderful and the scenery is incredible. I stayed here probably 10 times over the years and will continue to go back.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    Beautiful view of ocean, large room and large bathroom with...
    • Couple

    Only stayed one night, couldn't find anything we did not like.

    Beautiful view of ocean, large room and large bathroom with two vanities, shower, and soaking tub. Service was excellent and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    7.1
    My husband and I stayed here for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This a four star hotel, and an expensive one at that. There is no complimentary water and the minibar is not stocked. The pool is small, the breakfast buffet was not included in the 600 dollar room price.

    My husband and I stayed here for one night. This is basically a four star hotel. If you think of it as that, it is a lovely hotel. It's located right outside Waikiki, so it's nice and quiet. The rooms are very spacious, with a big comfortable bed, a bathtub and shower, and a lovely Japanese toilet. There is no complimentary water and the minibar is not stocked. The grounds are unimpressive, but well kept. There's quite a few wonderful water features, even with dolphins, manta rays and sea turtles in them. The pool is quite small, and it closes quite ealry at 5.30 pm, but the (private) beach with reef is absolutely lovely. The breakfast buffet was also quite small, with no fresh orange juice and an extra charge for espresso. We payed about 600 dollars for the night - breakfast was not included. There is free wifi throughout the complex, even on the beach. The one thing that absolutely impressed me was their hospitality suite. We had a late flight and couldn't get a late checkout, but were offered the hospitality suite for the day. It is a communal area, with comfortable chairs and couches, a tv, drinks, a business unit, a shower, a few beds outside and things like an iron. The hospitality suite made our day amazingly pleasant. That and the Maui mule cocktails on the Veranda.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    6.3
    Spa and the treatment was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They coulnt find the booking we made and prepaid 4 months ago, staff was slow to respond. They charge 28 usd per day for carpark eventhough the place is a out of town resort and there is no other option for parking.

    Spa and the treatment was nice

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    9.6
    Excellent area, quiet and relaxing and just 20 min with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    All good, no complaints at all....first time ever..... I recommend this hotel 10000%

    Excellent area, quiet and relaxing and just 20 min with hotel shuttle to Waikiki ...dolphins are great in the Laguna

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    9.6
    Great location -- quiet and away from Waikiki, but close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Didn't get the room configuration we asked for, and had called to confirm.

    Great location -- quiet and away from Waikiki, but close to everything. Lovely beach.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    8.3
    I loved the size of the hotel and property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dinner at the pool side restaurant was disappointing. It was billed as a special full moon dinner and they didn't even bother taking down the umbrellas so we could see the moon. The food was ok but not special as it was described.

    I loved the size of the hotel and property. Big enough but not too crowded or bustling. The gym was well appointed and had nice view. The few outdoor classes offered for an extra charge were nice. Breakfast was delicious and a gorgeous ocean side setting. The dolfins on the propery are an added bonus without creating too much commotion or commercialism. My mountain view room still had a lovely view of the golf course and peek a boo of the ocean.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    10
    The understated luxury, comfort and tranquility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The long waiting queue was quite disappointing...

    The understated luxury, comfort and tranquility... the spa experience was unbelievable, highly recommend it, you will be pampered from the moment you reach the reception area, a great spa team..

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    10
    The people- Danny (Bar) , Cryus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The high cost of food in some of the restaurants.

    The people- Danny (Bar) , Cryus. Gloria, Kelly, Damon (Valet), Kim (Food), Leimoni, Alissa and most of all Ryan at the front desk. The location of this resort Is beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    10
    I was originally puzzled by the stacks of lawn chairs in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I was originally puzzled by the stacks of lawn chairs in various places but discovered they were there so guests could sit where ever they wished- beach, lawn, pool. No jockeying for chairs, quibbling over how many towels, resort fee. Breakfast was really good. Not an inexpensive hotel, but when it all added up a better deal than the Hyatt on Maui which we had just left. Oh and great bathroom: separate sinks, closets, tub and shower and toilet closet. Relaxed ambience!

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    9.6
    Having spent a week at Halakulani right in the hustle and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Girl on reception on our arrival was very rude.She was the only weak link all other staff were great.

    Having spent a week at Halakulani right in the hustle and bustle of Wakiki which we loved and could walk everywhere.In contrast this is a suburbane area the hotel is on a golf coarse with a beautiful lagoon like beach that is very safe.A shuttle is provided to Wakiki and Shopping centre which overcomes it's isolated location.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    9.6
    Pretty much everything great buffets, great location, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Relatively limited dinner menus, trouble with wi fi beds were not the MOST comfortable

    Pretty much everything great buffets, great location, nice facilities. great staff

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    9.6
    I have travelled extensivly this hotel must rank as one of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    I have travelled extensivly this hotel must rank as one of the very best hotels not only in Hawaii but worldwide

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    4.6
    Very normal, not really worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very normal, not really worth the price.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    10
    Dolphins, sting rays and turtles being properly cared for,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Taste of the coffee in the bedrooms

    Dolphins, sting rays and turtles being properly cared for, in the hotel grounds. Comfortable dressing gowns.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    8.8
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms needed updating

    great location

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too many birds

    Very good Like a heaven

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    9.2
    Staff are wonderful, eager to assist and always available
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    A bar area open evenings would improve the facility

    Staff are wonderful, eager to assist and always available

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Kahala Hotel and Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: