Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Kitano Hotel New York 4 stars

66 Park Avenue, Murray Hill, New York, NY 10016, USA

#79 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 799 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    5.1

  • Paid WiFi

    4.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. I added grilled fish and miso soup, it cost $37/person. Very few kind of foods.

    Location. Very close to Grand Central Terminal. Quiet at night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel within walking distance to Grand Central and Empire State Building and also UN Building
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Management need to consider offering free wifi in the rooms as well.

    The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The toilet was Japanese style - with a warm seat Live jazz band

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    Hotel was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stayed for three nights and had a sore back each morning. Bed was double size and not comfortable at all.

    Hotel was clean. Toilet had a heated seat and it also cleaned your bits. (Didn't use this)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Awesome and affordable for a weekend on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My girlfriend and I decided on a crisp morning in early June to take a weekend getaway to the city. We considered Airbnbs first, since they generally have more character and are less pricey. The Kitano came up as a unique and non-corporation hotel that was not much more expensive than the cheapest AirBNB. Just a few blocks from Grand Central and the NY Public Library, the location was great and not too packed on the sidewalks outside. The concierges, bell hops, and other staff members were gracious and accommodating with us as we needed to store our luggage both days before and after checking in or out. Our room was beautiful, with a spacious sitting area and a king-sized bed. The bathroom was also beautiful, with a bathtub and a stand-alone shower. When we checked out, the concierge told us he’d upgraded us to a junior suite, without any extra charges! That room would normally cost $100 more. We were grateful. We would certainly recommend this hotel. Hot tip: check out Momosan Ramen & Sake one block down on Lexington.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay as usual!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Though we have not been charged for WiFi, the hotel still charges guests for using WiFi in their rooms. You don't find many hotels in the world charging their guests for using WiFi nowadays.

    Friendly staff, clean & comfortable room, shower works, location is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    The Kitano is in an excellent location, 3 minutes walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    In room Wi-Fi is extra and locked to one device at a time. The house bar & restaurant prices are very high. There are no shortage of fine A rated locations to eat within 2 minutes walk.

    The Kitano is in an excellent location, 3 minutes walk to Grand Central station and only 15 minutes walk to Time Square. 6 minutes to the Empire State building. yet you can sleep at night and don't hear a sound. Staff were great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Great location comfortable and calm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything, nothing negative to say

    Lovely friendly staff. Good size room wonderful bathroom. Very peaceful. Great location, close to Times Sq. and Grand Central Station but without the noise!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    I had higher expectations about the hotel's service levels because of its Japanese attribute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a bit stuffy. We had to ask for room services to carry out a more thorough clean up, which in fairness, they promptly did. Internet was pricey.

    Kitano's location is convenient and for practicing Catholics, ideal because of the church across the street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Comfy stay with Japanese standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wifi in room

    We stayed for 2 nights. The room and bathroom were comfortable and big enough to accommodate 2 people. Staffs were polite. Very welcoming atmosphere at check-in in the lobby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet has to be paid for. Would prefer it to be included in the room rate.

    Excellent breakfast. A lot of options. Japanese breakfast. Really comfy bed and excellent views from the 17th floor. Staff was helpful and friendly . Close to grand central

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Good hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you wanted to attend the jazz performances in the bar you had to pay a fee, even as a hotel guest.

    Clean rooms, great bathroom. Easy walking distance to many attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    overall it was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were there 4 nights and only were given a roll and a half of toilet paper had to request for a new one on the 3rd day. I'm sure housekeeping saw that we were low. wasn't offered any water while we waited for our room to be ready. we didn't receive a call when it was ready even though we were sitting in the lobby for over an hour waiting. until my husband asked it if was ready did they remember that we were waiting.

    it was a nice and quiet hotel. bellmen super friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    The warm toilet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the people at f/o could have been friendlier. Rafael was great. Found long hairs on the bathroom floor when we first arrived which really put me off. Location was not ideal for our purposes.

    The warm toilet. Very quiet room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and drink was expensive

    Very professional, friendly and helpful staff. Great view of the Empire State Building from our room, and the heated toilet seat has to get a mention!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    NYC gals weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar cover charge. If you want a night cap you have to pay to get in to get one.

    The location is very convenient to all major NYC landmarks and attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel but a few nigggles
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and drinks expensive! The only hot drink provided in the room was green tea. WiFi was not included in the room price for Booking.com customers.

    Great location. Excellent staff very friendly, helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice, quiet hotel. A pleasure to return to after walking the noisy, busy streets of New York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a charge for WiFi. Ridiculous for a 4/5.5 hotel. Should be included with room rate.

    Bed was really comfortable. Staff were extremely courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    View-empire state building and Rockefeller center from 10th...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive-room service, mini bar, restaurant Charges for business center use No free WiFi

    View-empire state building and Rockefeller center from 10th floor Location-right next to grand central Clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, quiet, easy access to most attractions without the crowds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not hip or have a lively scene but clean & comfortable! Didn’t get the chance to try out their jazz club. Wish they had a pool!

    The view of empire estate building, the comfortable beds, the air conditioning of the room, the quietness of the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was like a water bed, bounced every time hubby moved. Otherwise very comfortable, slept well.

    Excellent value for money, great location, would definitely stay again, lovely friendly staff. Room temperature control.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Streets of NY were hussle & bustle but this hotel mage h feel calm & relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sharing a family room with two teenage girls, would have liked a mirror in the bedroom other than just the two mirrors in the bathroom

    Adequate size room, plenty of hanging facilities , room was very quiet at night no street noise so we had a good nights sleep during our stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.9
    Other than the beds being too soft and the food too expensive it wasn't too bad of a stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't like the beds. They were too soft - it was like sleeping on marshmallows. The food was too expensive for what you got. Sodas 7 dollars. Two steak dinners over 100 dollars. Room too small for four people. I booked for 4 people and when I got there, I was told the room may be too small for four people. At the check in counter they informed me if I paid an extra 100 a day, I could get a bigger room. The hotel was not worth paying an extra 100 per day for a bigger room. I've stayed at 5 star hotels that were cheaper and rooms were bigger. If you're looking to stay at a good location then this hotel gives that to you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.9
    In general, the hotel was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Run of House
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wished to have one or two bottles of complimentary water in the room.

    Cleanliness of the bath room was very good, especially the Japanese style toillet was wonderful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was only free WIFI in the lobby. WIFI in the room was pay only. We were able to connect to the wifi of the neighbouring hotel though.

    Hotel room was very comfortable and had all the needed amenities. The shower was great and I love the Toto toilet. Staff was friendly and helpful. Peaceful and quiet. Nice jazz bar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Great service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection is a big area for improvement. They offered paid Wi-Fi service but the connection was not great .

    Great service. Great location. The room was very clean and quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.8
    Prices of items stocked in fridge/mini bar were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Prices of items stocked in fridge/mini bar were ridiculous; $8 for a bag of M&M candy. Bought our own snacks. Door men were extremely polite and helpful! Parking $65/night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Surround yourself with Serenity/Quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I missed my morning cup of tea in bed. Being Japanese, only green tea is offered in the room. However, I purchased English breakfast tea bags and milk so the second morning was great!

    The serenity of the surroundings. This is a Japanese hotel and it shows! The manners of the staff were impeccable. The quality of the food was very high. Fabulous hotel! A real find.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    3.8
    Very disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The thin and cheap bedding and few lights in the room. The bath tub had black cracks, the old fashioned shower knobs were hard to use, there was not enough light to apply makeup, and the hairdryer was too weak to dry hair. I expected something better from "the Kitano."

    Location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    6.7
    Great promise, disappointing delivery... brrrr.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For two of the four nights we had no hot water in the morning. Admittedly, on check out we were compensated 50% on one night’s stay, but even the guy at reception said he felt this was insufficient but that there was nothing more he could do. Didn’t help that I also had the flu during my entire stay. Another (minor) gripe was the astronomical fees for internet access. Not every guest is traveling for business and thus cannot recharge $10 a day to their company.

    Great midtown location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    We loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi should be free at times like this.

    The staff was very nice and attentive. Upon request we received a room in one of the upper floors with a view of the Empire State building. The room was always clean and comfortable (the room was quite big for NY standards). The hotel is located in the center (Park Ave.)- therefore easy access to subway/ sights and 5th Ave. Always received extra towels upon demand, bed was super comfy. It was a very nice stay!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    After walking all day it was nice to get back "home" to the hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff, from the maids to the doorman, everyone was so professional and respectively polite. Exactly what I was expecting for NYC on my very first time there! We were in a corner room that was a perfect fit for my wife and I. Thank you all at The Kitano for exceeding our expectations on our anniversary stay in the Big Apple. We shall return!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Amazing stay at an amazing hotel with an amazing toilet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was wonderful. Great sized rooms for Manhattan, comfortable bed, clean rooms, amazing location and lovely friendly staff. Also something I never thought I'd mention in a review but the toilet is an experience in itself, it has to be used to be believed. Would definitely stay again next time I'm in New York.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Nice location, close to Grand Central Terminal;
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Premier Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location, close to Grand Central Terminal; great and helpful staff; quiet and decent size room; large bathroom with warm toilet seat. Strongly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.5
    The Kitano Hotel was very comfortable and the location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    furniture looks old and worn, window treatments ragged and torn, concierge not available one afternoon, concierge not very communicative

    Location, large room, lobby, corner view, quiet, coffee in restaurant, clean, good housekeeper, windows open, windows keep noise out when closed, nice low bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    The staff were very courteous, professional, helpful, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very courteous, professional, helpful, and friendly. The rooms are spacious (by NYC standard) and clean. The location is very pleasant and walking-distance to areas of attraction as well as public transportation. I highly recommend it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    Super nice and spacious hotel very well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    The hotel is situated on the lovely Park Avenue Boulevard, super close from 5th Ave. The room was excellent, very comfortable and big (for New York and for that price) and very clean. Lovely view from the window. The staff was OK and I strongly recommend the hotel to anyone else who enjoys comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.8
    Hotel loaction and room size excellent. Other than heat issue are stay was enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In room bar items pricey. No hair dryer, iron or board. Heat in our room did not work. Hotle staff was responsive to the issue. We'er offered another room on same floor but difficult to move late night. House services put space heater in room which worked fine.

    Room size and cleanliness. We stayed in superior King. Staff friendly. Location excellent Mid town NY

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Great staff, fantastic room, perfect location. Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff made this stay even better than it already was. The hotel is wonderful - definitely in line with Japanese standards and a lovely hotel. But the staff were terrific and made the stay a real treat. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    We had a wonderful stay and the hotel exactly suited our requirements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest we couldn’t fault the hotel.

    The staff were incredibly courteous and extremely thoughtful. My daughter and I had run the New York Marathon and they arranged for a bowl of fruit and bottles of water to be delivered to our room which was a lovely surprise. They also kept a copy of the newspaper containing the marathon results for us. It’s the little touches which make a stay extra special.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No.

    Room is clean and bed linen is super comfortable. Bathroom is big with heated towel rail. We stayed in 7 hotels in the recent trip and it was the best one. We walked to most of places in midtown Manhattan. It is close to metro as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.3
    Hotel served a purpose and was relatively good deal compared to NYC prices but not good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were small, squeaky and uncomfortable, room was very cramped for four people and luggage, and not overly clean. Took quite a while to figure out how to use the shower! Quite noisy in room, we were disturbed a lot, but I guess that’s NYC for you.

    Good service from some of the staff, in particular the night desk reception person Timothy and the doorman who hailed us a taxi in pouring rain.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    Would recommend it.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1) No free wifi in the room in this day and age is not acceptable. 2) If there is a 5 dollar discount for pre-purchasing breakfast, please make the discount clear at the time of booking.

    Location, staff, cleanliness

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Email response is a bit slow, especially after the stay, I sent an email regarding the payment, but didn't get a response for a week. Most of staffs were friendly, except one staff person at the front desk.

    location is perfect. satisfied with overall stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Relevant for tourists with debit cards only: the full...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Relevant for tourists with debit cards only: the full payment has not been charged upfront (although, I specifically asked for it). As a result, I paid approx. 800 USD for my stay and almost 1300 USD (800 USD + 500 UDS as an end of day operation(?)) on my account will be blocked for 15-30 days. This is very frustrating taking into account that I anticipated the problem and askes to fully prepay my room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    The convenient location and reasonable price drew us here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.

    The convenient location and reasonable price drew us here. The easy and courteous check in process was impressive. The room was large by New York standards, clean, comfortable and well equipped. Other hotels can take a lesson from this place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.5
    Some good/some bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was way too soft, and there was no full length mirror which was extremely inconvenient. Everything was weighted in the fridge and mini bar so you couldn't touch anything. Room seemed much smaller than shown in pictures. Very little vanity/storage area in bathroom

    Pretty lobby area, close to places to eat. The toilet was a nice touch. Room was quiet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant stay in a convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    We are familiar with the hotel as we have been staying here for many many times during the last 20 years. The front door men are always very friendly. It is a straight forward hotel. The only thing is that the hotel should not charge their guests for providing WiFi. Having talked to the management, they have taken it off our bill.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    6.7
    I booked non smoking online.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked non smoking online. I called the day of to ask for early check in and was told no. I arrived at around 5pm to check in and told that the only rooms left available were smoking rooms. I was also told had I come earlier I would have had non smoking because smoking preference is a request, not a guarantee. The room and view was great and clean. BUT the room reeked of cigarettes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    I've stayed here before, & love the location, staff,& lovely rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have appreciated a large magnifying mirror in the bathroom. Also, a little store for notions, candy, etc.

    Room was very quiet; no traffic noise. Very good bathroom amenities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel, 5 mns walk from Empire State
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness overall good but the rim of the sink was terribly moldy.

    Location, jazzclub, comfortable matrasses, quiet rooms, toilet with cleaning jets. Rooms may be outdated but still in good condition with clean carpeting etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Perfect price and location foe a memorable weekend!
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price of mini bar and snacks/drinks in rooms a little steep.....it is NYC though. The price of the room through Booking.com however more than made up for that. Took my 15 year old son to the city for his birthday.....the location was perfect to be able to get to and from all the "To do's" on his list.

    Fantastic location only a 2-3 minute walk from Grand Central and then easy walking to Times Square and other popular sites.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    Gorgeous! Hope to return soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free breakfast.

    Great location. Nearby eateries. Walking distance to popular attractions like the Empire State Building. Beautiful hotel. Huge rooms. Stellar bathroom. Robes and slippers. Super comfortable bed. Loved it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Great stay - excellent room, great value, super clean, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi is not free - $10 per day but we didn't need it as ATT cell signal was very good.

    Good location on Park Avenue - walking distance to most everything. Great value via booking.com! Super friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.9
    expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    With this price, service must be excellent. If this hotel suppose to be a Japanese Hotel, they need to provide free wi-fi and better quality of stuff service(a specially Japanese stuff). In Japan, they have much better service even if the hotels are much cheaper.

    good location. nice and tidy room. Staffs are not bad.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    GREAT SERVICE, CHOCOLATE, SNACKS, COMFORTING BED AND PILLOWS, AND A BIDET!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't like the automatic billing system of the mini bar. Mostly used it for our own cold items - small area. But the staff could take the charges off if none of them were used. Wifi not free in the room. Only lobby.

    Comforting room (King Supreme), with a nice bidet (surprise), a nice mini bar for personal items - GREAT ROOM! Great service and staff. Clean, heated towel rack, chocolate bar, water, snacks complementary of the hotel. Couldn't get any better. ROOM SERVICE AVAILABLE!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family visit to NY, first time for our kids(13/16/18), we thoroughly enjoyed using the Kitano as our base, and will definitely use it on any future trips.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.8
    A good choice for Murray Hill area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was not a major problem, but given that the reservation was specifically made for three adults, the room could have been equipped with "amenities" (the hotel's term- i.e., towels, shampoo, robes, etc.) for three people in advance of our arrival. At check-in the person at the front desk volunteered to have the amenities for the third guest to be delivered (we were not aware that they were not already there at the time), which was nice, but it required a special request a few hours later before they were actually furnished.

    Staff members very friendly and efficient. Excellent location; walking distance to Times Square/Broadway, Morgan Library, NYC Library, Central Park, etc. Rooms are decent size for NYC and rates relatively reasonable (again, considering it is NYC and location). We were granted a late check-out (i.e., noon v. 11:00 a.m.), which was nice, but no later than that time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Great location. Great base for New York visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the toilet dryer was fusty! No coffee provided in the room.

    Great location, bed was comfortable, plenty of space in the room, toilet is very good!(weird to say but true!!)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Great stay! Exceptional service!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We traveled to NY to see the Yankees play for our son's 6th Birthday. The staff was great! The ladies at the front desk sent up a little Birthday card signed by each of them, along with complimentary water and chocolates. Smiles on everyone's face in that building. Very refreshing to see employees who take pride in their establishment.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Elegant Japanese Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought $55. pricey for the parking garage until we discovered it was $72. if we went on our own. Just a fact of life in NY. Parking is prohibitive.

    This is arguably the best hotel in NYC. It is spotless, elegant with magnificent fresh flowers, marble/granite floors in the elevator. Jazz at their club next door can be enjoyed from plush seats int he lobby. Famous heated toilet seats. Lovely cucumber toiletries. And so much more. Very close to Grand Central Station. Beautiful gift shop.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.3
    Highly recommended place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The phone calls are charged a lot of money. Had I known I would have used my cell phone.

    There's a great dinner just a block away where you can have great American breakfasts

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    You won't regret staying here! 5/5 A+++++++
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a con or maybe they forgot, but there was a $100/night deposit requirement that was not disclosed to me. This also could be my fault as well for not reading the contract as well. But hey, in this day of age, who reads contracts anymore. I had to check my Credit Card Statement for me to figure out that I was going to be charged extra $100/night. The deposit is insurance in case something happens. You get refunded the amount once you check out.

    The Staff was really friendly. 5/5 Customer service. The Room was really clean as well! My girlfriend had a bad night the night before we were supposed to check out. I gave the front desk a call and the manager gave us an extra hour to check out w/ no fee. This helped us so much and I was really grateful for this, so I decided to write a review. Overall we both enjoyed this stay. We both give it a 5/5 and will visit back if we were to come back for our own little vacation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have nothing bad to say about this hotel.

    They upgraded us for free since they ran out of the type of room we booked, they immediately brought us extra robes, slippers, towels and mugs without us asking. The beds & pillows were very comfy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Room size was as expected and neighborhood was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room size was as expected and neighborhood was nice. Valet parked our car on the street Sunday morning so we could spend the day in NYC without extra parking fees.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    6.7
    Nice place to stay, place has good location, near Grand...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - for the price i can expect, that i receive more - at least free water to drink, more ear stick - in this time i expect FREE internet on the room with better speed.

    Nice place to stay, place has good location, near Grand Central but that is all

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.3
    Great value in a wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Kitano bills itself as a boutique hotel - it may have been at one time but no more. No one offered to take my luggage to the room; the 'automatic-billing-no-exceptions' for the mini bar is off putting. The rate was excellent for NYC and this location (I paid $240 including taxes for a Saturday night for a king sized bed) so I am not complaining - but it is not a 5 star boutique property.

    Staff were extremely courteous. Appreciated the bathrobe in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Excellent Midtown Location at a Good Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Ice only available via delivery, requiring tip. Pay for wifi.

    Expected a nice/clean hotel and was not disappointed. Staff was very attendant, helpful and efficient. Excellent size room for Park Ave and king size bed. Great location for subway, Grand Central and Penn Station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.2
    Great Hotel, Great Location. A touch of home for Japanese tourists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    They don't have free wifi in the rooms which is pretty stupid in this day and age. I think the charge was about $10 per day to have wifi in your room. Free wifi is only available in the lobby and Jazz restaurant/bar. They also warn you not to touch anything in the minibar refrigerator because they have sensors on the shelves and will charge you if anything is moved. However, they do provide you a tiny space to put personal items like pills or liquids that need refrigeration. If you need more space, you have to rent a refrigerator from them.

    The Kitano Hotel provides Japanese tourists and business travelers a sense of home while in NYC. Just like most hotels in Japan, the Kitano offers a Japanese and Western breakfast buffet; a Japanese high end restaurant for lunch and dinner, and a live music jazz bar for evening entertainment. The rooms are large, beds comfortable, and the bathroom is equipped with a Toto washlet toilet and large enough tub for soaking that Japanese people are accustomed to. Most of the front desk and concierge staff appear to be Japanese nationals and speak both Japanese and English. Its located on Park Avenue and 38th St. so its only 4 short walking blocks (5 minutes) to Grand Central Terminal to catch the subway or train. Times Square and the theater district are only a 10 minute walk away, including all the shops on 5th Avenue. There are many restaurants in the area that offer every cuisine you can imagine (Japanese, Chinese, Korean, Indian, Mediterranean, Italian, Greek, and of course, American. Its clean, comfortable and in a great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    Location is amazing and the hotel could not have been more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is amazing and the hotel could not have been more lovely! The room was clean and quiet. The staff was extremely accommodating and prompt. I would definitely recommend this to friends and will stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Love the Kitano!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the heated toilet seats! Pillows were just the right size and fluffiness; not too big. Room was very quiet. Room was well-designed so it felt spacious even though it wasn't huge. 5-minute walk to Grand Central was a huge plus.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.1
    Cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deal of the Day Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The internet connection was very slow and additional 10$ per day. The connection (for free) in the lobby was much faster. Late check-out was very expensive! Jazz in Kitano was unfortunately already booked out.

    Cleanliness. Nice staff. The Japanese toilet was an experience! Japanese breakfast available - but also very expensive.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.2
    Very quiet hotel close to Grand Central station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The wifi isn't included in the room rate.

    Very quiet hotel close to Grand Central station. Polite and friendly staff, very comfortable and clean room. A great place to stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.6
    The hotel was very quiet, spacious and spotlessly clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location, while central and convenient, is a little bit "boring" as far as the surrounding area goes.

    The hotel was very quiet, spacious and spotlessly clean. The heated toilet seat and towel warmers were an added touch of luxury.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    The BEST hotel ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deal of the Day Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I have stayed in many hotels in NYC. I can honestly say this is one of the most genuinely pleasant places I have ever stayed in.

    The hotel staff was stremely helpful and accommodating. They went out of their way to help me. The bathroom is divine. Everything was exceptionally clean. The general aesthetics of the hotel is very tasteful and elegant. And Oh, did I mention they got one fantastic Japanese restaurant (even the wasabi was being freshly grated) and a world class jazz bar? Attention to detail really sets Kitano apart.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    10
    Classy Japanese Hotel on Park Ave.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They have a great jazz club, and you can sit in the lobby with the free lobby wifi and listen in.....a real treat. They have Toto Washlets toilets...very upscale and unusual experience. They have wonderful toiletries Nice Park Avenue view of historic church, but not noisy at all

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Kitano Hotel New York traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: