Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Lucerne Inn 3 stars

2517 Main Road, Dedham, ME 04429, USA

#1 of 1 hotels in Dedham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 64 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inn needs some TLC and updates. Room had 1 photo on the wall with the TV on a unit in front of it covering up half the picture. No ambiance

    The view to the lake

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have dimple changes that would make it much better, ie water on serving table

    Historic structure, pleasant staff and proprietor, beautiful fall vistas large rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise was minimized with a “white noise” app on my phone. It wasn’t an issue for me but might be for some.

    A beautiful inn, wonderful staff, comfortable room and spectacular setting.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have had to travel frequently around the country. Lucerne is by far the best value I have encountered. Great staff as well as the owner being hands on in house. Up scale in an antique Inn setting meeting anyone's highest expectations. The only place we will stay in the future in central Maine This included having a party of 40 people for a Saturday evening meal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Problem with booking, Could not find us in system. Hotels.com problem, and mine, couldn't find e-mail. Hotel was also full for mother's day. Bar was closed. Most of the staff were past ready to go home, they said they feed over 700 people. We got lost in the masses. The owner of the hotel made it right. He came out and talked to me, thanks, looking forward to next time. This is a Hotel, not a B&B.

    Loved the fireplace in the room, the view was great. Parking near door. I look forward to going back. Hope owner is still there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Continental breakfast was satisfactory, but unremarkable, mostly bought-in pastries by the look. The bed was very tall, it could present a problem for someone with mobility issues.

    Parking was adjacent to the lobby and various entrances to the rooms. The facilities and room were clean and well maintained. The room was comfortable, equipped with a gas fireplace, towel warmers, and a whirlpool. We didn't get there in time for dinner, but the dining room looked very nice. If you were there for golf, the tee is right the parking lot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was disappointed in continenta breakfast. Have had better at cheaper hotels.

    The meal Friday night was wonderful. They made my husbands meal to his dietary needs and it was still perfect.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the room was well below expected. There were dried rough bodily fluid stains all over the comforter on the bed, the fridge in the room was filled with old take out food from a previous guest, and the robes in the closet had previously been used.

    The restaurant had some quality food. Seafood buffet was a good deal.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Privacy. Wasn't making any noise in room other than talking to spouse. Was called from front desk told to keep it down. Unreal. Paper thin walls. No privacy.

    View from room was amazing.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little disappointing. Most items were cooked or prepped and then portioned into containers such as the scrambled eggs. You had to microwave them to reheat, one dish at a time. And, you can not use the microwave and toaster at the same time. the bagles or English muffins are individually wrapped in plastic. There was no cutting knife so everyone had to use a butter knife to "poke and tear" the bagel or muffins apart, quite a mess.

    The location, people and atmosphere were great. We arrived late in the eveining so we did not get a chance to visit the bar or dining which was disappointing because the bar looked so rustic and inviting with Feeling of early America.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet available at all for the guests, which is surprising in 2016, also we would have loved a breakfast at the level of quality of the dinner offered in this hotel or at least full American (basic continental)....but our 4 night stay was during the winter/ holiday period. A duvet on the bed would be great, instead of the standard blanket.

    Stayed during the winter holidays.Affordable rate..Beautiful location and cozy atmosphere. Beautiful pub, nice fire place, gas fire place in the rooms... Great dinner menu and excellent chef. Very pleasant personnel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great view for leaf peeping. Great location for going to the coast and Bar Harbor or West to Bangor and the interior of Maine. Wine Tasting dinner was outstanding. House chef is first class.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had bad odor. Breakfast staff of One person, so items were slowly replaced. Juice replentished, but no glasses brought out until much later. Coffee out, but no cups so we borrowed from bar area. I wanted yogurt but that was not replaced during my time in dining room. I did not care to have to walk through the dining room to get from our room to front entrance. We left for dinner elsewhere and felt awkward walking through dining room while they were serving.

    Spacious room, scenic surroundings, complimentary breakfast offered multiple options.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only complaint I had was that I could smell the gas or maybe it was propane from the fireplace. We had to keep the windows open all night.

    The meals at the restaurant were very good. The staff was pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was disgraceful, frozen scrambled eggs and sausage to be self microwaved. Stale englsh muffins and bagels. Fruit and coffee were OK. Room cleaning , neglectful and sub-par

    Size of suite, comfort of bed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cobwebs in closet, carpet felt moist, old fashion tv screen, no iron or microwave or fridge in room.The carpets are worn and dirty in whole facility. I just wished I could take a vacuum and at least vacuum for them cos they needed it.

    Property is beautiful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked 2 rooms and only received one room. Lost?! Five of us piled into one room. They did try to make us comfortable. They did credit 2nd room. We had to ask. Complimentary breakfast a disaster.

    Beautiful old Inn/Hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE RAILING LEADING TOTHE POOL WAS ROTTEN AND ALMOST BROKE. The hot tub in the room was very small and didn't really allow the pumps to do their work.

    THE BED WAS GREAT and THE ROOM WAS COZY

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    4 Things They changed my room without notifying me first. The staff were dressed in jeans, sandals, too casual to represent nice place. No ice water with breakfast had to ask for additional glasses. Decor needed updating Walls needed to be cleaned or painted No tissues in room or bathroom Shower curtain smelled musty

    Lovely view, quiet, nice pool. Restaurant available, A/C and able to open window.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inn is under new management and they are in the learning process. The only issue we incurred was with breakfast. We had to ask for plates, cups and silverware and also for bread for toast. They were busy and I am sure they will learn from these issues and be more prepared.

    This was our second time staying at the Lucerne Inn. It is a very nice spot. Very scenic. There tends to be a fair amount of road noise which could bother some people. We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear people walking above us.

    Fire place tub and beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the home feeling..fireplace was great bonus

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was a bit steep

    It had a gorgeous view and its a nice location for romance and quietness!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff! The ambience is wonderful for relaxing. Food was excellent!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful rooms. Very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very good Sunday brunch buffet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had a great time. Loved the New American Restaurant & a lovely location .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the view, staff, food, room, and most of all the dog and his birthday celebration.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner was not worth the price!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a buzzer going off constantly by our room

    Liked the comfort of room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The charm of the old inn coupled with location was so romantic.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel! Romantic spot for a marriage proposal, and I said Yes!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was just average compared to our room at The Bar Harbor Inn for 50.00 more

    The dinner was fabulous.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Continental Breakfast not so much..

    Location was spot on!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice stay - comfortable place with good restaurant !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were expecting lakefront/view but there was none.

    Nicer looking on outside than inside, though it did have some charm.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A/C didn't seem to work right. But did keep the room comfortable.

    Comfort, views, staff, gas fireplace, breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed some new things (rug in dining area) There was garbage in our bathroom can...? Why

    Quaint. Beautiful grounds and pool looked nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lucerne inn was a bit of the past that was stunning and beautiful! The staff was positive and helpful The food-Sunday brunch was amazing! Location to Bangir and the universities was good Nice to be able to get out of town and end up at beautiful Inn on a lake! Thank you Lycerne Inn!

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Inn was quaint and charming. We loved the service, the hospitality, the room service meal, the restaurant, the bar, the greeting, the comfort of the room and the cleanliness.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Like lots of older buildings, some people (like us) noticed things, like the need for plumbing and bathroom upgrades and new matresses. But, the place is clean, beautifully situated, and the staff make up for these minor issues.

    Fantastic location, excellent and careful staff, a wonderful little pub and a *superb* restaurant. This is our second time here, and we did not regret returning! (And, WOW the veiws are incredible)

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room excellent value. One criticism is the tub tile had mildew- should never see that! Also the entrance and exit seems dangerous, need better signs and angle of entrance on the road.

    Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Building is old and need renovating. The breakfast was not up to the standard I would expect from this hotel.

    Very nice employees

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Liked everything about the inn 😃

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    room very comfortable with nice fireplace

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very polite staff.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The TV had only 10 Channels 3 were all news, 5 were all sports , HBO and a fuzzy NBC

    Very quiet, relaxing place to get away. Fine dining restaurant

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Couple

    the bed needed a new mattress

    great location and overall style of the Inn

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were fortunate to attend a wine pairing event. A great experience as well as value. We plan to attend more in the future!

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast.

    Sunday brunch, dinner, friendly staff.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Guests also reviewed these properties: