Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Lucerne 4 stars

201 West 79th Street, Upper West Side, New York, NY 10024, USA

#145 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2013 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel. Wonderful location on the upper west side. Warm, welcoming service. Lovely room, Excellent value. I stay in the City about once a month for a few days. I always hope that the Lucerne is available at a reasonable price on Booking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    view with clean windows, bathrooom smallish but very adequate, who spends their time in the bathroom when in New York???

    location, great subway station one block away, traditional ambiance (not all glass and metal with gigantic wasted space reception areas), staff very accommodating, inhouse restaurant quite good (Nice Matin)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A fridge is a must given the price of the room. The bed could be more comfortable. A bottle of water could (or maybe should) be offered to us upon our arrival given the fact we were paying more than 200$ per day and the temperature was over 32 degrees Celsius.

    The location was perfect and the room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have stayed there multiple times over 20 years. They have some rear rooms which are drab and sad and I stopped staying there because of this and ventilation issues. This time my room was excellent, the room temperature perfect, the sheets soft and beds comfortable. I need to be on the UWS when in NYC and this will again become my "go to" hotel. Upset that there is "no" loyalty though.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Missed not having a coffee pot in the room. Noticed that we could have ordered one - but saw that too late in our one night stay.

    Very accommodating staff. Location on Upper West Side is outstanding for access to Central Park, Museum of Natural History, MOMA, Guggenheim, Cooper Hewitt, lots of restaurants, etc. Definitely prefer this area to excessively busy Theatre District/Time Square and lower Manhattan.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    size of the room and the whole hotel was a bit cramped.

    I liked the location, however, the room was a bit smaller than expected and the hotel felt a bit cramped. I still think its a good location to stay in and I would recommend it to a friend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Charming little hotel in the most central Paris location. The room was small, but fine - we knew what to expect. The bathroom was updated and efficient, with a good shower and plenty of space to store our toiletries. The staff at this hotel is very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very good, and reasonably priced. You can't beat the location - so easy to walk to most attractions, metro stops, and plenty of great restaurants/cafes close by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Desk staff were sometimes dismissive and more interested in their chatting than assisting other guests (not myself), but overall helpful.

    Rooms were clean, comfortable & well-maintained. Typical older boutique-style hotel with small-ish rooms, but still comfortable. The concierge was very helpful and went out of her way to assist. The hotel is just a block from the subway, and a short walk to Central Park, and a relatively easy walk to many parts of the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room swipe frequently didn’t work and I had to be issued with a new one each time.

    Lovely hotel with comfortable rooms and absolutely the best staff. The entrance foyer is gorgeous, very stylish. There’s a market on Sunday mornings just down the road that sells handmade items including stylish bags, great food and coffee, antiques.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom ( if I’m being fussy ) was a bit dated however still had a great running shower and bath etc

    Fantastic location 2 blocks from Central Park , subway at end of block lots of restaurants and bars a short easy walk , great friendly helpful staff especially Elizabeth , clean room ,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room could have been a little more spacious, but was typical of hotels in big cities. Otherwise it was a very pleasant place to come back to after a long day of tourism. Our window overlooked a group of roofs where work was going on, which did not make for a very nice view. But we had asked for a quiet room and it was!

    The hotel is very well located, close to main subway lines, a bus which takes you across central parks to museum row on the 5th Ave. We love the area full of shops and good restaurants. The hotel itself and our room were very comfortable. The room itself is not very spacious but there was a walking closet, which gave us extra space. Plenty of drawers if you are staying a few days. It has a very good restaurant (Nice-matin).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    When I checked in, a flood of people arrived and one lone person had to work the phones and check in guests. Jamie handled the stress with poise and confidence where others would have crumbled, I know I would have!

    Knew I would feel comfortable there when I saw the repro. Martin Heade painting on the wall. Lovely, helpful staff went above and beyond. Also, a great asset to have Nice Matin downstairs: bustling yet calming atmosphere with yummy French bistro fare. Glad I stayed here, my old stomping grounds when I lived on the upper West side.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely clean room.....1/2 block from subway and bus... Nice Matin restaurant excellent. .. hotel gives 15% discount for breakfast. Staff all friendly and helpfull. ..will definitely stay again..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room had some problems: AC/heating unit loud & somewhat musty/dusty - it should be more quiet & filter or clean the air better; the desk chair very uncomfortable & needs replacement; no full-length mirror; no safe.

    Overall, very good. All the staff were polite & helpful. The bed was quite comfortable. The products were good. Location great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I have just checked my credit card statement to find that a further £25 was deducted from my card after I left. There was no reason for this and certainly no discussion when I checked out. Disappointing and the sort of thing that will stop me recommending it to my friends.

    Superb location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were smaller than we had expected. Was not aware we could request a fridge. The lip on the entrance to bathroom is quite dangerous almost tripped on first day

    Liz(concierge) was very helpful on planning our days great asset to your hotel your staff very helpful and friendly your room staff met our every need with a polite smile

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No in room coffee. Very late getting housekeeping daily

    complimentary wine at 4 pm daily in the lobby. Upper West Side much quieter and less congested than mid town Manhattan

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice comfortable hotel. Friendly staff. Located excellent for those who want to be in a neighborhood and not in mid or downtown. 2 minutes from the subway station, 5 minutes from central park and lots of good and nice restaurants and pubs around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just my luck that I got holed up in a room with absolutely no view on the 4th floor. They said I had a quiet room request, I didn't know it would get translated into a room with no views at all. Also, no refrigerator or microwave, and storage space pretty limited. I would have appreciated an online bill, helps with company reimbursements, but not a major issue.

    Charming hotel in a nice part of town. Great stay, helpful staff, complimentary newspapers in the morning, Aveda bath products.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lovely historic building in a great location, very clean, quiet and charming room, (and spacious by NY standards), comfortable bed, fast and reliable wifi, helpful and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a slight musty smell in the room, maybe could have had air fresheners in there along with 1 or 2 more waste baskets (There was only 1 in the bathroom and none in the room). There should be an ADA entry for people with handicap that can enter without climbing the stairs at the entry.

    It was a nice place to stay, although there was no ADA ramp or entry at the entrance of the hotel. We had 2 handicapped people that had wheelchair and a walker that had to climb the stairs which was wet from the rain. The staffing was nice and the concierge person was cordial and offered her services, although we just stayed over night. The room was a little small and had a slight musty odor. But was clean and comfortable. There was alot of small stores and eating places near by and within walking distance. This property get an C rating or 3 star from us

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More room in the bathroom. A bit more space in the room itself, especially if one is staying for an extended stay. More reliable housekeeping.

    The hotel is very nice and clean but our room was very small and the bathroom inadequate for anything more than one person (even that was difficult). The bed was comfortable but the housekeeper kept forgetting to give us plastic cups so we needed to call the front desk each time. The adjacent restaurant was excellent. Staff very friendly but not really going out of their way. Would I return? Not before thoroughly checking out othe options first. Location is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Need more handicap capable rooms; complimentary water

    The Bell staff are wonderfully attentive to people with wheelchairs/elderly. Their complimentary wine at 4 pm was great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was quite dark as the window overlooked buildings very close.

    Comfy beds spotlessly clean good toiletries. the location of the hotel is superb. Very close to subway and with easy walking distance of Central Park, good shops and restaurants. A quiet locaation too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I felt it was pricey for the size of the rooms. Also, the double rooms are with double beds, not queen. In fairness, I don't think a queen would easily fit. I felt the room was small. Still, a very nice hotel and we would stay again.

    The hotel is very well kept. The staff was perfectly fine. It was extremely clean and had been nicely redone to complement the vintage hotel. While the closet was very small, they had a nice dresser and bedside table with adequate, even generous, storage. The windows open which is always a plus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was renovated art deco style, expected wood panelled lift to break at any moment. There was no bar but a cafe next door which was a bit pricey.

    rooms and beds were very nice, decent size for new york. For us location was perfect, real new york with bagel places for breakfast and lots of bars and restaurants nearby. A mile and a half walk to times square, We pre booked hop on hop off bus which was great as we were there for 3 nights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about.

    I loved my king room, really spacious for New York standard, nicely appointed, nice views and super clean. I love this residential neighborhood, with lots of restaurants and cafes and just minutes walk to Central park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I will definitely stay there again. It is an older property, very well maintained. You must request a coffee maker in your room. I had to reserve on the spur of the moment and for 2 nights, the rate was reasonable. The third night rate was very high, due to limited availability. Booking.com consolidates the rates so I wasn't aware of that 3rd night rate until I checked into the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place is amazing. Beautiful, quiet, comfortable, perfectly located. I wouldn't stay anyplace else in the Upper West Side now that I have tried the Lucerne.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff is Wonderful! The room was spotless, and the sheets and bed were perfectly clean, and so comfortable! Train station is nearby and taxis are easily accessible. The staff is the best part of this hotel, they are truly awesome!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room faced the street and was noisy. I found that leaving the fan on during the night was helpful.

    Good location, room and bath had plenty of space. Efficient staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet are too low and the water level too high therefore the hand gets wet as well as other anatomic parts, especially a male.

    Good choice of breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old hotel and it shows; the shower is very hard for an elderly person (me) to use. Hard to regulate room temperature, chintzy toiletries. No list of TV channels!

    Helpful staff, great location (for my purposes), comfortable bed. Nice breakfast and free NY Times!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    UWS location can be problematic for taxi travel times, given street congestion during busy times. Can't just "walk out the door" to theatres, etc. like in midtown. But close to Lincoln Center (NY Phil, Met) and a good neighborhood.

    Conveniently located on UWS (1 block to subway). "Old timey" feel, but it works. Friendly, helpful staff & doorman.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    kitchenette had no sink but the fridge was adequate -- good size room but needed more closet space

    Nice Matin is the restaurant and you get discount coupons for breakfast which is very nice -- it was very clean and great temperature controls -- good bed and fairly spacious-- really good amount of outlets--nice to have 2 bathrobes !!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Was disappointed to have to be moved from our original room on the top floor which had great views, and was much bigger, to a smaller one on the floor below because the TV wouldn't work (rather than just sending an expert to reboot the IPTV system) Hotel would have looked even better were the ground floor not hidden by scaffolding.

    Stunning looking hotel, right beside a subway station. Great rooms and comfortable clean beds. Nice bathroom with toiletries and towels. Hotel staff were always polite and willing to help.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Dreary colors in room. Very old fashioned feeling.

    the room was smaller than I would have liked, but clean. Bathroom was quite small. Loved the location. Loved the restaurant and room service from it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The furnishings are a little dated - my 14 year old called it "grandma decor" - but everything is clean and it goes with the historic feel of the place.

    Excellent location close to the park. Charming old hotel with a friendly staff. Breakfast at Nice Matin was great. A perfect home base to explore NYC.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Keurig coffee maker is a little slow.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Beds super comfy. Location was perfect with easy access to 79th Street subway station and Central Park.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned heaters are loud and the windows were fairly drafty, so finding a comfy temperature was a bit hard.

    Fantastic location on the upper west side, clean and comfortable rooms, nice amenities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An older hotel on the upper west side. Perfectly situated to see Central Park, The Met, Natural History, etc. Attentive doormen. Excellent housekeeping. Very quiet. Good rate for NYC. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The same staff has been here for ages. They are professional, courteous, friendly. Beds are comfortable. Restaurant has great food for breakfast and dinner. Love the neighborhood for restaurant, easy transportation, friendly feeling.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fire alarm went off in error - but went on and on even after they said it was false alarm. They made announcements but really were not apologetic about the inconvenience ( statarted at 2 AM). Front desk was efficient, cordial but not really friendly at check out.

    The bed was comfortable, staff polite - privacy was respected and the partnered restaurant was A1.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fire alarm went off at 2:00 AM one night. The staff made an announcement to say it was a false alarm but it went on far too long.

    Everything was excellent. The location was great, the room was a decent size for NYC, and it was very nicely decorated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a woman and I fortunately I don't know her name at the front desk, although I believe she was the supervisor. She was rude on the phone, and difficult. I also saw her being rude to another guest. On the other hand, the doormen were wonderful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room key didn't work. Shower did not drain properly. Hot water took 3-5 minutes to come on. Beds felt "old". Decor was 1980s dated. Hallway noise penetrated directly to room.

    Great location. Acceptable hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding too heavy and pillows flimsy and rather old. Decor and bathroom rather dated.

    Staff excellent, food good. Enjoyed afternoon complimentary wine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A welcome tea or coffee provision.

    While "olde worlde" ambience wouldn't suit all, we were charmed. The staff were friendly and efficient and the room was well appointed and supremely comfortable. The arrangement with the conjoined restaurant (Nice Matin, excellent!,) using discount vouchers, worked well and the surrounding area and greater access was stunning. Well Done!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a nice size and I liked the bathroom products...Aveda staff was friendly & helpful. Restaurant was attached to the hotel where they offered a discount if you had breakfast at their location. The room also provided an umbrella that came in very handy as it rained during my stay. Also Loved that a drugstore was right on the corner for convince. Spa services were available and a workout room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a Keurig or similar coffee pot in room and small fridge would have been great. Staff said I could request the fridge and I didn’t ask about coffee pot. Bathroom was nice but shower could be stronger.

    Room clean, bed and pillows very comfortable. Very nice decor, safe in closet for valuables. Great value and location. Nice boutique stores and restaurants near by. Extremely courteous door man and staff at entrance and behind counter.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    opps read above !!

    Nice location in West end Bed just OK rather soft. NO maker coffee in the room !! Very small room, yes it is NYC !! Water pressure hit and miss in the shower

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff is helpful. The location is great. The lobby is a good place to meet people and the wine hour was nice! We also enjoyed the 15% off at Nice Matin. Great restaurant!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing special

    Good value for Money. Nice large and comfortable rooms. Good breakfast restaurant linked to the hotel. Probably the best experience in New York I have had considered the price paid.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower!!! I understand there has been a renovation a few years ago - the showers should have been modernised to up-to-date standards! Also, the elevators give a bumpy ride. The view from my window (6th floor) was pretty awful. The staff doesn't seem to apply an even standard to customer service; some staff members extremely good and some others less so.

    I appreciated the cleanliness, the location and the fact that it is a small, cozy hotel close to the Lincoln centre. Some of the staff members were extremely kind and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    By modern standards, room was quite tiny. (But we were there to wander about the city, so who cares?) Jammed bathroom window cost us some desired ventilation.

    Quiet room. Staff seemed genuine in the wish to be helpful. Hotel restaurant, Nice Matin, quite charming. Price simply cannot be beat.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Loyalty is not appreciated, unfortunately. Even Though we told the reception desk that we have been coming for 18 years now, they're not impressed.

    The rooms and location of the Lucern are great. This is year 18 that we have visited this Hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could have been better. The window was a bit too small for our room too.

    The concierge, bell men were great! The room was great too - a bit too dark though.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom sink didn't drain properly. Could use more pilllows on the bed.

    Comfortable, clean, great location for what I wanted to do. Staff was friendly but didn't interact with them much because of the short stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Deplorable conditions. The first room they gave me they told me was handicap but that the only difference between it and regular rooms was they did not have a tub just the shower. This was a lie. There was no proper shower head in the shower and the water from the shower went all over the bathroom floor soaking everything because it was like the whole room was the shower. In addition there was a large banging continual banging sound in the room I asked him for five times to rectify the situation and they told me repeatedly I had to change ro deplorable conditions. The first room they gave me they told me was handicap but that the only difference between it and regular rooms was they did not have a tub just the shower. This was a lie. There was no proper shower head in the shower and the water from the shower went all over the bathroom floor soaking everything because it was like the whole room was the shower. In addition there was a large banging continual banging sound in the room I asked him for five times to rectify the situation. Apparently it turned out the problem was from poor pipes and they could not fix it. Clearly the room was not habitable because they had to know about this problem. So I had completely unpack and was getting ready for an evening event which is the only reason I was there and I had to repack and transfer to another room. That room the shower did not work and it was also filthy. Nothing has been rehabbing a hotel for over 100 years or so it locks. The carpets are filthy the bed coverings are disgusting and my shower had hair in it

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food situation wasn't great - the room service and the cafe were mediocre quality but very expensive. Also a coffee maker in the room would have been nice. There was also some plumbing or air conditioning noises or something at night that were annoying, but again, it's an old building in New York.

    The staff was courteous and helpful, the room was reasonably comfortable and a good size (given that it's New York!), check in and out was easy, and wifi was great. The location was fantastic - super easy to get to transportation and right in the middle of lots of amenities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was freezing! No way to add heat! Bedroom also cold ( both had poor windows!) and heating system very noisy and felt as though it could overheat and potentially be dangerous good value for

    Very comfy beds and lovely fluffy towels!the

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stand up shower was a little strange with no boundary so shower water traveled to the rest of the bathroom due to poor drainage. Also there was no soap dish in the shower.

    Great location one block from the subway station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure in the shower was terrible. There are no refrigerators in the rooms and ice is only available on one floor. The WiFi is so slow and terrible; it kept cutting out in the middle of use.

    The location was excellent and the room was clean and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room with NO view. A little expensive for what we got.

    Hotel and staff were warm and inviting. Moved our check-in time ~2 hours earlier for us. Great bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scaffolding out front of the hotel. But there is a lot of scaffolding in front of buildings in NY at present. I guess it’s good that refurbishment is going on.

    The staff were very helpful & the Concierge got us great tickets for a broadway show. The room was tastefully decorated. The beds were very comfortable. The room had a microwave, small fridge and had plates etc and cutlery. The Nicemartin restaurant served very good food. The wine list was pricey, but the moderate priced wines were very good. The hotel is well located to Central Park, brilliant museums, restaurants, shopping, subway (Times Square only 5 stops away). When we left the Broadway show, we took the subway and were back at the Lucerne within 20 minutes. Last time we were in NY we stayed across from Penn Station. W79th Street, is a much, much nicer neighbourhood. Well worth the little extra for much superior accommodation & neighbourhood.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Liz and Michael at the concierge desk were both excellent---pleasant, patient, helpful, and knowledgeable Young Serbian bartender at the Nice Matin was also very pleasant and professional

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely loud heating in the bedroom, and no intermediate space in the entrance of the building which would have stopped the cold air coming in = freezing entrance hall.

    Comfortable bedroom and bed, lot's of hot water pressure, nice toiletries, quiet room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing except when they charge your credit card they add 50.00 which is "pending" but removed before it is charged

    The location Comfortable bed All the extras nice towels, shoe mit, great toiletries Great restaurant next door with coupon for 15% off breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in first room wasn't contained so the water flowed into the middle of the bathroom and pooled. Not a great design. Second room we stayed in a couple of days later had a better shower but a very small barhroom.

    Great safe location on upper Westside Walking distance to Central Park and museums.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I've just spent 10 days at the Lucerne and I had a very good time. Nice and clean room and very nice staff. Price performance very good. I had a problem with my return flight to Italy 'cause it was cancelled but Justin and Kyra at the reception helped me with both airline company (to find another flight) and to make me stay in my room for two days more. Thank you again. I'll be back soon.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Not impressed with restaurant service, slow, staff chatting rather than attending to customer. Not giving small change (silver) when paying cash. Why then leave a tip?

    Anonymity!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service the second day No clean towels as we did not reliese we would not have more coffee and dry towels for showers the heater was so load we had to turn it off so the towels did not dry. Would not stay again

    We stayed 2 nights and the second day they did not service our room we needed the clean towels the requested more coffee pods and 1 hour later NO coffee pods we had to leave to catch a plane, would I stay again NO thanks front desk staff NOT friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing needs improvement!

    Great location. Quieter and calmer than the frantic pace of mid town. Close to Central Park. A chance to see another side to the city. Hotel facilities and staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No restaurant - arrangement with cafe next door, but internal door only open during serving of breakfast. Should have had all day access for hotel. No proper lounge area, only by front door which was cold. No mirror over desk/dressing table in bedroom.

    Hotel was ok but we chose the wrong location - it was too far away from many of the things we wanted to visit e.g. Times Square; shops; many of the museums (although a couple were nearby); dock etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hot water was a little slow, but I don't really consider that a flaw. There's no microwave or refrigerator in the room, which was somewhat inconvenient, as we sometimes did bring food back to our room. Microwave and refrigerator would be a great plus.

    The location is great. Walking distance to many tourists sites. The room was comfortable, not big, but adequate. I used business center to print out boarding pass for the return trip, so that was convenient. Wifi was adequate as well. All in all no complain.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Lucerne traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: