Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Mansfield Hotel 4 stars

12 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036, USA

#369 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 775 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    4.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice location, nice comfortable room and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Guest Room Petite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service for coffee and no provisions to make coffee in the morning. Have to get dressed and go to the lobby main lobby to get a cup. A deal breaker- Will not stay there again

    Nice location, nice comfortable room and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Would definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked this hotel last minute because we had a horrible experience with another hotel that we originally booked for the weekend. This was a breath of fresh air compared to that. We arrived to friendly smiles and cookies. We had a junior suite. The room was beautiful and spacious. The beds were comfortable and we liked that there were two tvs: one for us and one for the kids in the sitting room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location, just needs a bit of tlc
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room for a family of 5 upon booking I selected the room that it said best suited our family, when we arrived the room was just 2 double beds! We had to share a double bed with our 5 year old. I imagined they would set up a pop up bed when we arrived knowing the age of our kids!

    Perfect location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    Great position. Poor overall condition of hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A fight occurred on our floor late at night. Not the requirement of management to interfere but we were very unimpressed.

    Breakfast rather poor. Downstairs condition very dated and in need of refurbishment. Overall the property requires significant updating

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location and staff amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Guest Room Petite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite noisy outside ... the water from the tap was Luke warm not cold... pillows not good..

    Staff were very helpful on reception and the manager ... location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    ++ Super friendly and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The free WiFi was terrible, had to sign up a new every 10 minutes or so. - It rained during the nights of my stay, and the rain falling on the window AC unit was so noisy I woke up multiple times and had troubles falling asleep again.

    ++ Super friendly and helpful staff! ++ The location of the hotel is right in the heart of Manhattan! ++ Gorgeous Lobby to hang out with decent internet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic vintage hotel in prime location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Room Petite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The noise from the air-con shaft that ran right past our window.However,this was only a minor gripe and didnt really affect our stay.

    Everything about our stay was fantastic,The staff were very friendly and professional,our room was excellent with a very comfy bed and great shower,the vintage style of the hotel was perfect for us,full of character with many original features especially the wonderful staircases and elevators.You could not beat the location,perfectly situated and a great base from which to explore the city and beyond.Overall,an excellent hotel,we felt like we were in our own private apartment rather than a hotel room.Brilliant!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    We love it here. See you all again later this year!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk could have been a little friendlier when I called down asking for toiletries.

    The comforters are incredibly comfortable, to the point we are looking to buy one. The doormen are just awesome!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.3
    Won’t go again unless things change
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Guest Room Petite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall, the management of this landmark is lacking care and awareness. The hotel’s greatest assets are it’s historical value and design which are unfortunately of no or little interest to the staff I spoke to. I was shocked considering the hotel’s and the area’s significance in the history of early 20th century arts and culture. Of course, the hotel being a historic landmark it is unable to renovate drastically, or install central air conditioning, but the phone in our room didn’t work and there was no safe. When I asked about these minor things at the front desk I was met with boredom of having answered the same question, and in the course of 5 days little was done and not one person followed up on the problems during our stay. All in all, the attitude of management toward their staff and building, evidenced by the unedifying staff argument in the lobby, changed what could have been an enhancement of our New York experience to it’s most forgettable and regrettable aspect.

    This is a landmark building in a historic area of great interest very close to Times Square with many neighbourhoods in walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    The bed was comfy and is in brilliant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a room at the front of the hotel and it was so noisy! I couldn't sleep without ear plugs. There was not kettle/drinks facilities in the room.

    The bed was comfy and is in brilliant location. Rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels and linen.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.9
    I will never go back and will tell other business travelers to stay away. They ignore complaints.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Guest Room Petite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible customer service/attention to resolving problems.

    Hotel staff were not attentive nor cared about a bad room service experience. The attitude was “call someone else-not my problem “. 2 days later-repeated voice mails and messages left with front desk-still no communication/resolution. This does not happen at other hotels. They deal with and resolve problems immediately.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    2.9
    Bad experience for business travelers. I would not stay again and I would not recommend it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean rooms -stains on the couch, dirty blinds, dark room, sync outside the bathroom- room looked like a prison cage. Bathroom so small that I had to use the toilet with the door open (and I am only 130lb)! Horrible internet quality. It is advertised as free internet but you need to pay premium service in order to have normal access. Not very hospitable staff either. Felt like a hostel.

    That it was close to the office that I was about to visit

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    My review
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon and pet policy. Allowed a dog to be left in a room yapping for hours while the human occupants went out. This happened continually over 5 days. Hotel staff informed me that because there was a do not disturb on the door that they could do nothing. I would just have to put up with the noise. My son has special needs and found it very distressing but the girl on the front desk could not have been more disinterested. It was clearly not her problem and I would just have to deal with it. Aircon was broken so did not occilate and made a very loud banging noise. Impossible to sleep with it on.

    Rob and Stevie were wonderful, helpful and understanding. The room and bathroom were very clean. Housekeeping did a great job and always ready with a happy welcome greeting each morning when we saw them.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    5.8
    It's fine. It's OK. It's a hotel in a good location for a reasonable amount of money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    "Breakfast" is hilarious. Not worth $10. Should be free regardless how you book. I paid $2 for weak coffee and they don;t have cream. Just milk. My toilet kept running every 4 minutes like clock work. It took over an hour of calls and attempts to fix it before the maintenance guy took the step to get mne in a new room. This should have been the FIRST move by the front desk. The phone didn't work in the room (only speakerphone) the TV was hilariously small. (Look up The Office episode about plasma TV)

    Location and price was OK. Has a "charming" feel (think older, shabby chic) so if you are ok with that and not the chain hotel feel, go for it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    The staff were parrticularly helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Room Petite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room size was on the small size but would not stop us from staying here again as the positives far outweigh this such as location,and staff

    The staff were parrticularly helpful. The concierge, Robert Licata was a credit to the Hotel and really helped us when our flights were cancelled due to adverse weather.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.5
    Liked the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Felt the mattresses should be upgraded. Sagged, seemed to have no "give/body area support." No complimentary guest coffee service. All hours coffee would have been easy - but not done. :( For a booking of 5 consecutive nights, we felt that AM coffee & pastry should have been complimentary.

    Liked the location. Liked the room set up. WiFi was fine. Wonderful historic ambiance in the public spaces. Liked the bare wood floors in the room. Dinner in the dining room was great, for the one night we ate in the Hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable but noisy outside street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Room Petite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going downstairs in mornings the reception staff did not even lift there heads to say good morning poor customer service,no kettle in room to make yourself a coffee,scaffolding on front of hotel,noise from front street the noisiest hotel we have ever been in.

    David the bellboy very polite,always ready to help,comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.8
    Good location is the best thing I can say about this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Much of the staff seemed annoyed and it might have been due to under-staffing but the bigger issue was our room. Our room had a window unit in it that was very, very loud and didn't work well. We stayed here in the winter and the room was very drafty. We had to use our clothing to cover leaks in the windows during the middle of the night. I travel a lot and like most of my hotels but would not return to this one.

    This hotel is in a great location and has a great library room downstairs with seating area and fireplace to meet people, etc. There is also a bar and restaurant downstairs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    4.2
    Great Location , needs improved facilities across the board
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Better Heating controls; Better free Wi-Fi (not useless one that needs upgraded at ridiculous cost , Kettle or hot drink facilities available in room, no Iron, no Laundry

    Style of Hotel and rooms is great. Location is spot on.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    4.2
    Location was the only good thing about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was delapidated. Wooden panels falling off furniture, door knobs hanging off doors. Bad aircon. Sheets dirty upon arrival. Very very bad wifi.

    Location was the only good thing about this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Amazing customer service, clean rooms, and a perfect location
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk people was so nice, they had excellent customer service and it was just wonderful to check in at this hotel. The other staff was also so helpful and they all had such a great customer service. The rooms are so clean and comfortable, and I had a fantastic stay here!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air-conditioning/heating was not working properly. It was really loud, could hear other guest. Workers were fixing something in the other room at 8am.

    Location The bar/restaurant area is very stylish

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    3.8
    Worst Hotel Ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are dirty. Dust everywhere. A/C doesn't give warm air and there is a window without glass behind the a/c . So the air from the outside is coming inside which is making colder and smell. There is a radiator inside the room as well but we changed 3 rooms and none of them were working! Even our final room was upgraded to junior suite because of all the issues we faced with, suite room was dirty and there was a whole at the window frame so it was giving the cold weather and smell from the outside as well. There is a kind of sofa at the room but there were spots on it. Apparently they do not renovate the rooms at all. Everything was awful with that hotel and i can say that it was the worst hotel i've ever stayed..

    only location was ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.8
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi too slow and kept dropping connection Rooms either too cold or too warm

    Friendly staff. Location was fantastic. The bar/ breakfast area and the lounge had great character

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.3
    Perfect stay in mid town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Guest Room Petite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had no issues.

    The hotel is a beautiful, old building which is well maintained. It was in mid town and close to what we wanted to see. The room was small, but clean and just what we needed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    The Internet service is a mess.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Guest Room Petite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Internet service is a mess. Paid for three devices able to connect one. Waited 32 mins on hold and never was answered. Front desk can’t help. For this reason probably won’t return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    The Mansfield is a classic hotel on Club Row.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Please fix the fire place and bring back the coffee machine in the club room! Also, it shouldn't matter where you book in order to get the breakfast voucher.

    The historical architecture and ambience are exquisite. The room is comfortable, beds are comfortable. Gym is convenient. Bar and club room are fabulous. Little business center worked great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.9
    Still a bargain
    • Couple
    • Guest Room Petite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old so the heat and air conditioning can be hard to control. The staff helped us resolve our issue by moving us to a different room. They used to have free cofffee and tea in the library which the new management has discontinued.

    The location is great. It’s within walking distance to grand central station and Times Square. They are happy to store the luggage before or after check in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    3.8
    The property is in pathetic condition and not re omnended till it improves uppn...!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attitude and overall ambience. Heating System was not working. Rooms had sub-dued lights and above all Mattress of sifa-cum-bed was highly deplorable. Due to non-functioning of heating system, extra blankets were requested, which were not provided. The property could not keep us warm!

    Only the Name and Location if rhe property.😧

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.0
    Wouldn’t stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I get that it’s an old hotel, but toilet wasn’t flushed when I arrived, rooms very small dark, no where to put you bag, hap hazard room servicing. There are lots of things that could have made this better that are low cost, rack for your bag, proper glasses rather than plastic, more attention to cleaning and servicing room. Towel rail in the bathroom.

    Bar was the redeeming feature.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.1
    Great location fair quality price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room.was dark. Pictures did not correspond to the reality Hotel.is fine but overall.smaller and darker than i had imagoned from pictures.

    Location was great. Staff helpful overall. Breakfast nice and breackfast staff very kind.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    5.0
    I would choose another hotel nearby before I stay at this hotel again. The management was very diffi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The radiators won't stop working and overheat the rooms and the bar which is also the restaurant is very hot in the mornings too hot to drink tea. The bathrooms in the rooms are a strange addition and are very small and cramped. There is not enough room for your personal belongings they have to be strewn about the floor or kept in the other part of your small room.

    The location to the theaters and Time Square was the best feature of this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    3.8
    Room was old fashioned with old wooden floors that were...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Guest Room Petite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was old fashioned with old wooden floors that were painted a hundred times. The bed was clean but I had doubts that a cockroach wouldn't sneak up on me in the middle of the night. The room was too warm. The AC to make the room cooler was LOUD. So, couldn't keep that on all night and ended up sweating. Bathroom was modern. The photos online made it seem more glamorous and updated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    6.7
    The location was great and the hotel is clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff weren't overly friendly and made little or no effort in interacting with customers.

    The room was comfortable and the hotel was central to NY attractions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    3.3
    At almost $400 a night for a king room this was not worth it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heat in room did not work and management couldn’t fix it, I was told “sorry, many rooms are like this,” bathroom had a horrible moldy smell, strong smell of gas in the hallway and elevator, and room door security lock did not work.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    5.4
    Too noisiy!! A shame because the place looks good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No water in the mini-bar, no laundry service (not even a laundry bag in the room or at the reception) No expresso coffee at the bar! Very warm and noisy rooms due to the old split A/C units blowing warm air underneath the windows

    Nice common areas and bar Very good bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    very pleased
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room and bathroom tight but ok for 2 but good use of space. it not a problem as the price was right!

    quaint, romantic, good bar very friendly staff excellent location!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.5
    Location great, hotel room and lobby (library room), and...
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No way to adjust heat (too warn ) but able to open window to cool but subject to street noise

    Location great, hotel room and lobby (library room), and staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    5.0
    In need of TLC, far too hot, not clean, which is a real shame because it could be a lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Cleanliness of the carpet in the room was poor. Room in general was in need of a lot of TLC. The shower head wasn't fixed to the wall as securely as it should've been. The heating was on full blast and made for a very uncomfortable night's sleep. It was almost unbearable. The air con blew warm air also. My partner was bitten quite badly despite windows not being open. Cleaning staff didn't clean, they just changed towels and made the bed. We also requested a bucket of ice from room service which never arrived. I was a bit disappointed from the word go really with the hotel, staff on the front desk were not as welcoming as the staff at other hotels I've stayed in NYC. I think they have really oversold the hotel with the images on the website as this was not what we saw

    The complementary upgrade to a suite, But they only provided this because they assigned us a room which was already occupied.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.8
    Location was fantastic, staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room temperatures were inconsistent each night. Very warm mostly but often very warm and then very cold. The air con was quite loud as well.

    Location was fantastic, staff were great. Rooms clean and the hotel not too busy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    4.2
    Not worth 4 stars, maybe 2. I stayed in cheapest hotels in Chinatown in the past; way better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 212, it’s actually a closet not a standard room. Three or more electronic keys didn’t work, had to wait quite long time before getting into my room (10pm). I obviously asked for a change of room the day after. Poor breakfast. Early am receptionist -female- very unfriendly, I was asked full rate charge for late check out.

    One only thing: the location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.8
    Exceptional atmosphere and location with a terrific staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Room Petite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom door has an opening down the center that doesn't completely close. Not quite as private as one might wish.

    The staff was extremely helpful. The location was terrific: walking distance from/to Grand Central, Times Square, and Bryant Park. The room was small, but tucked away and clean; very quiet. The hotel has wonderful Art-Deco atmosphere. We loved the library/gathering area in the lobby, and found that other guests there seemed to relax and be friendly. Excellent value for the cost!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.3
    Just average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On second floor facing 44th, the noise was intolerable. The windows were inadequate to mute the sounds of traffic, etc. Bathroom was tiny, even by midtown hotel standards. Room had an unpleasant odor. Shampoo and conditioner etc were inferior. Won’t return.

    Great location. Confortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.4
    Good location, very stylish hotel which deserves a better service and refreshed bedrooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpets in corridors are old and worn. The bedroom airconditioning system was too loud. The bedroom decoration is nice but worn out. The fabric on the bench by the window was stained, and a board was missing under it. The bathroom was functional except for the sink which was really too small. The in-room free wifi was slow and required a reconnection every 15mn. Choice of food over breakfast was too minimalist for such a hotel and the $10 fee deserved better coffee than the cheap coffee they served.

    Nice old building, very stylish and well located in Manhattan. I liked the bar and library lounge, which are cozy/comfy. A reasonable choice of drinks and beers, a short menu with good stuff. The bed was also comfortable with good pillows.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Guest Room Petite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air conditioning did not work Could not turn on heat

    Changing room locations due to heavy construction work during the night Exercise room where the tread mill works Friendly staff in the lo9unge

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    3.8
    Old uncomfortable hotel -- Stay at a nice hotel and visit to use sold sitting room & bar!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room is old & unacceptable -- Many problems but worst is one can NOT PHYSICALLY sit on the toilet! UNACCEPTABLE. Even worse, management doesn't care! TRUE STORY.... I booked a junior SUITE for 7 nights at $2,000 cost. Several hours before my arrival, I called to alert the hotel of my very late flight and arrival, and requested they kept my junior SUITE for me. I arrived Oct 15 close to midnight, and was given what must have been the only room left #206, which must surely be the "use only in emergencies when sold out" room. It was HORRIBLE! ALL I REALLY NEED TO SAY IS... It was physically NOT POSSIBLE to SIT on the toilet in order to use it! The wall was <12 inches from the front of the toilet! It's only usable by people <5' tall! The ONLY way to use the toilet was to sit SIDEWAYS and slide your legs UNDERNEATH the sink (with a lot of sharp edges). And this was a JUNIOR SUITE !!!!!! I should also mention... There was no safe, no bottled water, no mini-bar in the room, I was unable to shower without a flood of water from the bathroom, the air conditioner is LOUD (especially when trying to sleep at night), there was no exterior facing window, the window in the light-well looked out onto garbage dropped from higher floors, and the walls were scratched up with broken molding everywhere. The morning after night 1, the front desk promised they could move me to a "nice room" after night 3. I accepted this (as I would be away from the hotel from 7am to 9pm both Day 2 & 3). On night 3, I checked again with the front desk about my new room the following morning. THE DRAMA.... The next morning after night 3 -- I expected to be moved to a new room with NO QUESTIONS asked -- A room that I would at least SIT ON THE TOILET properly to use it. INSTEAD...

    Location, building facade, and front sitting room --- But do NOT STAY at this hotel. Stay at a proper hotel and just come use the sitting room and bar (like smart people do.)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    5.8
    Great location and staff, but that’s about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is in need is an update, it is worn and tired. Our King room was extremely small for NYC. A/C unit is a noisy window shaker blowing directly on you while you’re in bed.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Another great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our stay was great. They gave us a room upgrade and it was wonderful. I like this hotel because of its location near Grand Central Station. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.7
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Guest Room Petite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't bright enough. Tables were small...not much space to organize our stuff. The free wifi was terribly slow and usually disconnects after a few minutes.

    Great location. Very close to 5th Ave and about 7~10 minutes walk to Times Square.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating! The room, bar, and sitting room stupendous! We loved everything about our stay:-) Perfect after a fun-filled day at Billie Jean King National Tennis Center!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel and staff, perfect location, horrible breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Guest Room Petite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish they had parking available and the continental breakfast was awful! I just had an apple and orange juice. All the pastries were dry and tasteless.

    Staff was great !!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    5.0
    The location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room for 5 people but once there they said they didn't have room for 5. The double beds were small and uncomfortable. The toilets overflowed more than once. When I asked for extra towels( they were 2 towels in a quadruple room!!) it took 30 minutes to get them!

    The location was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    Overall, we enjoyed it and it was super convenient for our stay. A lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bottom bed sheet didn't reach to the bottom of the bed! Not enough good lighting for reading...a.c. was noisy..there should be another towel rack in the bathroom, not just in the tub.

    Very charming in an old-fashioned way. Enjoyed the continental breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.5
    comfy bed and size of the room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast needs more variety. not worth the money charged Gym needs improvement. Half of the equipment was out of service. No double glazed windows, so it can get a bit noisy from the street.

    comfy bed and size of the room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.7
    Classic, sufficient NYC hotel on GREAT location, with very small rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel did not offer their own parking, neither did they have agreements with the nearby parking for special rates. This makes me NOT recommend going to the Mansfield by car. Also, the lobby is not quite accessible for strollers or wheelchairs because of a couple of stairs (only a few steps each, but still). The entire hotel had a classic atmosphere, but was very dark. Kind of reminded me of the 'Tower of Terror' in Disney World. The room itself was not much lighter, accept for three small windows that looked out over an alley. The size of the room (Standard Queens Room) was insanely small, post stamp size small... we had to move a chair, side table and the bed in order for our Pack and Play to fit. This was NOT ideal at all. The room itself was clean, although under the bed it was not. The bed was wobbly and squeaky. The bathroom, although complete, was in a very tiny closet. I would not stay here again with a kid.

    The hotel was in the center of Manhattan on west 44th street. Only a three minute walk to Times Square, and right of off Fifth Ave (shopping). Also Central Park was within walking distance (took us approximately 20 mins). There are several Subway stations around the hotel, with basically all of the lines within walking distance (most of them stop at Times sq.). The Mansfield has about twelve floors with rooms, two elevators and two staircases. A hotel on the same street offered served underground parking for (considerably) acceptable rates. This got us (my wife toddler and myself) with all our luggage to the Mansfield fairly easily. The doorman opened the door for us and carried our luggage to the lobby (check in) and then to the room. The receptionist was friendly and helpful. In the room we found most things we needed, including a bathtub with shower, sink and closet with safe and mini fridge. The room was quiet, had airco, and the bed was comfortable. The price was very good, considering the rest of the available accommodations in NYC and the location. If you're looking for an affordable hotel right in the center of the city, this is a good choice. Be aware the room feels very claustrophobic, but will be sufficient for just spending the night(s).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.3
    Good location & bed room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very small, with small window to the shaft, without natural light and fresh air. The smell in the air is really not good, like in closed placed.

    Just the location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location, clean hotel and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    You could not make a cup of coffee in the room. There were no onsite laundry facilities. Not an issue if you are only staying for a short amount of time.

    It was my daughters 21st birthday during our stay and when the check in staff member realised he upgraded us to a nicer room which included a sitting room. That was great as the standard room is quite small. (as are most hotel rooms in NYC) The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is fantastic. Walking distance to many attractions such as Time Square, Theatres, Observation Decks, Central Park, subway, restaurants, delis, shopping and much more. On site restaurant and bar was handy. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    4.2
    buyer beware
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My receptionist(s) were not welcoming. It's the hospitality business and two of three were not welcoming. My bathroom was dirty..it had a hair on the floor to greet me. The blinds were dirty and did not work. the floor on in the corners were dirty. the elevator was hot and the rug was very dirty.

    Robert the concierge was extremely helpful and friendly. Eric the manager fixed some of my problems and was very friendly. Location was outstanding. room service was prompt and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    6.3
    Location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Guest Room Petite
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too dusty. Bathroom too tight. Window blinds are old and cant really blind all d light from outside. Hallways are too narrow.

    Towels and beddings changed everyday.Satff are helpful, Cleaners are cheerful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    4.2
    This is a 2 star hotel with dirty small rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Guest Room Petite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room No view from the window - ongoing construction No ventilation in shower room Small window AC unit , which make great noise

    Good location , several steps from 5th

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.3
    I can't recomend this hotel for my friends, because it is very old, dark. The
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to ask to clean under the bed, it was very, very durty!!!! everything is very old and datk, durty! The fascade of the buildind is rebuildind last 5 years. The build is all rapt. For years, the same. The rapt is durty because it is there for a long time.

    The staff is very friendly e very, very good!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    WEEKEND IN NEW YORK!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Guest Room Petite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom just has small French doors which are cute but not that much privacy, and the bathroom got very hott because the AC is a window unit in the bedroom. although the hardwood floors were original and nice, the floors were dusty and you could tell it wasn't dusted. Minor thing though. As long as your fine with a smaller room, these aren't penthouse suites, you'll love it.

    The hotel is beautiful! You can tell this building used to be apartments because of the small narrow winding staircases and the way the rooms are set up in the hallway. It felt like you lived in New York. The rooms are small, but that's usually the case in New York. And the floors are hardwood. Felt more homey than a hotel. The location is beyond excellent. Near everything and the street is pretty quiet. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was quiet. Even for it being an old building, you couldn't hear anyone else.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    Can't beat the location and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC was off when we checked in, and the room was uncomfortable at first. We also picked it initially because free espresso was advertised, but that service was not available during our stay. The room was also quite dark, even on sunny days

    Great price, fantastic location, room was extremely clean, and everyone was very helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    4.2
    Don't stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The furniture in the lounge room was very old. All furniture made noises, fabrics were scratched and used. The corridors made you think you were in a NYC old motel, and last, the rooms were very small in comparison to what's shown in the pictures. Very deceiving.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    5.4
    Would not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tiny bathroom for the price. Advertised free coffee. Machine was broken and there was no offer of coffee from the breakfast bar until I questioned it. Not overly friendly folks. No liquor licence for the bar!

    Location only

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.2
    Perfect for first New York visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no coffee or tea making facility in the room and the bath was small

    Hotel was perfectly placed with everything you need local. Really nice room, great size and very clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    2.5
    Very poor would not stay there again terrible noise from air conditioning all night!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms noisy with old air conditioning going all day and night like an engine!!

    Very noisy hotel with little comfort and unhelpful staff. Would not stay there again!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    2.9
    Location is very good and tasty coffee in the lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The room was very small and very dark, the bed was really uncomfortable and bouncy, there was dust everywhere. 14,95 USD / day for wifi in the room is ridiculous in year 2017 when even subway stations have got free wifi.

    Location is very good and tasty coffee in the lobby.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    8.8
    Stylish hotel in the heart of NYC
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Lightening in the room was minimal... a few lamps more would not change its charme and style.

    Position, staff kind and helpful, we had an issue with our room and we were upgraded with a larger one. Very clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    5.8
    Sorely disappointed: info about hotel overstated
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of services - information on food service available was completely incorrect as provided on booking.com and at hotel. No real restaurant operating in hotel and minimal room service. Certainly not 24/7. Room temperature was hot and there was no thermostat to adjust it. Had to leave window open and wait for cooler evening temp to cool down room. Rooms somewhat updated, but halls and elevator dark and somewhat dingy. Amenities in room seriously limited. Not even a drinking glass or ice bucket or note pad or pen. I won't be back there.

    Location and employees.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.9
    Pricier than I would like but location makes it worthwhile...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    It would have been nice to have room service as an option (or an open restaurant which didn't seem to be the case - if so, it wasn't well advertised). Inclusion of free wifi in the rooms would also help rather than paying each night or having to head to the lobby to use the wifi. As mentioned, rooms are a little dark although in NY, being blocked in by tall buildings, this probably can't be helped.

    The location of the hotel is excellent. We were able to walk to most of our destinations, only needing the subway or bus every now and then. It's just far away enough from Times Square that you're not constantly surrounded by people but close enough to all the main attractions that makes this hotel worthwhile. Staff were always very friendly and helpful whenever we needed assistance. Rooms are nice, if not a little dark and the bed was nice and comfy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.6
    Super trip in NY ..!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wi-fi in the room..!

    The room style brings you back in the 40' with the wood furniture, that gives warm sensation, and soft light that gives a comfortable and beautiful experience of our trip in NY.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.5
    Good location and very comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant/bar were not selling alcohol and there was scaffolding over the whole front of the building which made the rooms really dark unfortunately we were not advised of these things before arriving, which was disappointing!

    Great location, very nice hotel!! The bed was extremely comfortable and the 24 hour coffee machine was a big plus!! The rooms were very spacious and very clean!! I would recommend this hotel for your New York stay to get your head down after a long day!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    6.7
    Location is awsome...comfort not so much
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Bedrooms are small, dark and cold. Front bedrooms are extremely noisy. We could only be comfortably set after changing rooms twice.

    Staff is friendly and happy to accommodate needs. Location is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location but dark room and miserable staff let the Mansfield down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room which was very dark. Staff could be more welcoming. Bar was not able to serve alcoholic drinks throughout our 4 night stay.

    Excellent location close to Times Square and Grand Central station.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Mansfield Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: