Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Maritime Hotel 4 stars

363 West 16th Street, Chelsea, New York, NY 10011, USA

#63 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 633 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor issues - the room did feel a tiny bit stuffy, but opening the window resolved that easily.

    Great location, amicable staff, cozy room, nice complementary breakfast, excellent coffee, efficient front desk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room smelled vaguely of smoke like it could have been a smoking room at some point. There was random street garage on the patio floor of the restaurant.

    The staff could not have been more friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Room decor is very cool. Location is killer across from Chelsea market, near subway and with lots of cool shopping and restaurants close by

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing.

    The view. Staff put my lovely girlfriend and I on the top floor, which was requested! Complimentary bottle of wine to top it all off. Discount off parking and they held our bags as we explored the city after we checked out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great hotel. Super comfy bed! Small but still spacious. Old school and glam, loved the decor. Staff were very helpful! Liked the little amenities by the bed (pencil and notepad, ear plugs etc). Great location. Had a lovely dinner in the restaurant - I recommend the pasta and the negroni sundae! Can't wait to visit again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t supply sanitary disposal bag,sewing kit,difficult access re stairs(I have arthiitis),poor breakfast& buffet supervision ,&slow clearing of tables

    Friendly staff,newspaper delivered to room,earplugs,prompt housecleaning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More staff. Better physical accomodation for entering and leaving. Breakfast was poor. I will probably not return.

    The location is terrific. Chelsea market is a treasure. Highline is great and the Whitney Museum is a treasure. Physically the hotel is a mess. Entering is difficult and the lack of staff is appalling.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was concerned that the neighborhood was too clubby but it wasn’t at all a problem.

    The room was like a tomb despite being near a club with a pounding bass. Great bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Super noisy! The hotel's club and neighboring club meant for a noisy environment until 5 a.m. Lots of taxis and ubers honking.

    Great breakfast each day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I left my belt in the room called after 2days and said no belt reported at housekeeping . I used to work as a housekeeper i know the deal there. Hope they are more strict when it comes to lost belongings .

    Location and the bellboy was helpful to tell lots things to go

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the hotel is located at the corner of 9th and 16th...prime area for the top clubs in the city. We are talking Tao Downtown, Electric Room , and Dream. VERY popular starting at midnight when all the taxis line up to drop off and honk at each other. So sleepless nights, the beautiful porthole windows are not soundproof.

    Just a lovely hotel. The decor was beautiful- just like a ship. The staff was attentive and very helpful. The sheets were divine- such a comfortable bed. Continental breakfast was substantial and the bar/restaurant was great for a bite and drink.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friday and Saturday nights outside were on the loud side, but that’s not the hotel’s fault.

    So much charm! Good continental breakfast. Friendly staff. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My shower head didn’t work.. i ask to someone to fix, they went in the room.. but the shower didn’t work and they didn’t say anything about it after they leave. I hope they suggested a solution for me. I had to use a small cord that wasn’t good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very comfortable. I am 6’4” tall and bed and mattress was great! Rom darkening curtains were a blessing. Rooms were extra quiet, no outside, hallway or other room noise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A couple of bartenders were not that great...slow and kind of rude - like we were bothering them. The one guy Thursday night was awful.

    The bellman and front desk staff were friendly and efficient. We loved the look and atmosphere of the hotel. Our room service attendant was excellent. Some of the bartenders were great, others could use some customer service instruction. Overall, we loved it and had a great time!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast provision was chaotic, badly organised and they frequently ran out of food, coffee and juices. Only when we had breakfast at 7am was it satisfactory.

    Excellent location just by the High Line, exceedingly friendly staff, comfortable beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about our stay was fabulous. I asked if the hotel could do something special for my partner's birthday, and the hotel brought us a complementary bottle of really nice wine!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lack of any firm pillows on the bed (until requested).

    Enjoyed the continental breakfast.....house-made granola, fresh squeezed juices...yum! Loved the lobby decor and overall ambience downstairs; the lobby/lounge is a great place to read, relax, have a beverage, visit with friends, etc. All of the staff members were cheery and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The original architecture of the hotel takes you back in the new york's 60's. The concept of the rooms interiors and windows are a real experience. Manager was super pro.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the staff and we received an early check in without having to ask Fireplace and La Sirena for dinner was lovely! Would definitely recommend and stay here again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was on the soft side and sank in the middle a little.

    Great location - across from Chelsea Market, close to the High Line and Whitney Museum. If you’re accustomed to walking and have the time, you can even walk to Times Square comfortably. All rooms face 9th Avenue and if you’re high enough, eighth or higher, you can have a pretty nice view of the Hudson River. We were on the 11th floor, highest not counting the Penthouse. Also, about the breakfast: I didn’t have a high expectation for the continental breakfast based on the reviews but it turned out to be very nice - good quality, nice presentation, and a nice range of choices that included besides coffee and teas: hard boiled eggs, yogurt, toast with quality jams and real butter, various types of croissants, oatmeal, fresh fruits and berries, and juices (orange and freshly squeezed grapefruit).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of us didn't like the pillows (found them too flat), but that's personal preference.

    The room we stayed in was small, but very well designed to maximize storage/shelving space. We especially like the bathroom, which was well appointed with toiletries, but also had a wonderful waterfall shower. The round window was large and let in a lot more light than a typical hotel window. Breakfast had limited options, but was complimentary and included freshly squeezed juice, so no complaints there. Overall, just an excellent property in a great Chelsea neighborhood.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a bit smaller than expected. We were on the second floor and could hear the bass from the night club next door all night long.

    Everyone who works here was very kind and helpful. The lobby is very beautiful and I really enjoyed sitting around the fireplace.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    "Large" full bed was a bit small for my taste. Pillows were overly soft and offered little neck support.

    The lobby decor, fireplace and breakfast spread were all excellent. Room and bed were small but very functional. Decor in the room was lovely, including dim-able lights and long desk with mirror were all very nice touches. Location was excellent, right around from Chelsea Market, High Line, galleries and other fun outings. Would stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very loud traffic at 3am. Those earplugs don't cut it.

    Self parking across the street was convenient and and great deal. The proximity to Chelsea Market is a bonus--I got make favorite tacos at Los Tacos No 1 every day of my stay. Usually have to make the trek :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No USB ports in this day & age; No black tea at breakfast ...? Staff were efficient but not overly friendly

    Great hotel in a great location; excellent brunch & bar, comfy rooms at a reasonable price Ask bartender JR to make you a special 👌

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water in room Had to ask for moisturizer

    Liked the yummy bfast you use to do Liked the bottle of wine but wished it was as white! Would like water in room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish the price was a bit lower than what we paid.

    This is the second time I have stayed at the Maritime Hotel in NYC and it has become one of my favorite spots to stay. The Customer Service and the rooms have exceeded my expectations every stay!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location is a bit out of the way but neighborhood is walkable and near chelsea market.

    small but comfortable, quiet and well designed rooms with comfortable beds immaculate bathroom breakfast was great, nice selection for continental and included in room rate parking convenient to hotel and very reasonable cost for nyc

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant, La Sirena, is so delicious and it is so great that they offer free breakfast. Breakfast was a great time for guests to not only eat but a quiet place to work before the day starts. The rooms were so cute and the most comfortable beds and pillows. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a triple room at booking.com site, we got there and found out it’s just a double rooms hotel, very rude staff, called booking, no solutions at all, in the end my son have to sleep on a mattress, booking should never allow to make triple room reservations for hotels that don’t have that facility, once more very dissatisfied and disappointed with the service that booking.com provides

    Horrible experience

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complimentary breakfast lacked a little effort some mornings. No one kept an eye on things when food was running out. Tables were cleaned of dishes but not wiped from stains. Front staff at the reception could also be more present and greet customers, I would expect that in an expensive hotel like this one.

    Rooms are spacious, clean and nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room on fifth floor had some street noise.

    comfortable bed decent sized room for new york nice breakfast friendly staff great location 1 block from subway

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value was horrible. Way to expensive for what was offered. Room was small. Breakfast had few options Cable offered very little. Just way over priced. Value was horrible. The mini bar snacks way overpriced Room was very Tiny. I would find a better value. For 477 dollars for 2 nights. I felt robbed. And another 100 dollar deposit for each night.

    Very clean Great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel brilliant but New York could have been warmer.

    All staff at every level could not have been more helpful. Great location, smallish bedroom but very well appointed with views across to the Hudson . Lobby very traditional beautifully decorated with a open fire.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel was warm, clubby, and friendly. The rooms are small, but very stylish and well designed. Really appreciated the continental breakfast provided every morning. It was nothing fancy, and the coffee's not great, but we were working every day, and appreciated not having to go out. The staff was lovely and accommodating at every turn! The only down side to this excellent property is there is a bit of outside noise due to 3 nightclubs under the hotel; a lot of horn honking. The hotel does what it can to help, providing ear plugs, and even window plugs, if you ask. We were on a high floor, and it wasn't a problem.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If u r 180+ cm - this hotel not for u. Bed extremely small. Room is cramped. Restaraunt in ghe lobby - very expensive. Draft lager bear (not tasty btw) with noname small glass 10.5$... be carefool. After check in I went to the room and opened mini bar. There was an empty bottle of beer. It was at the back of the fridge and looks like new. I took it and brought it to reception. Next day they charged my credit card))) I called them, after short explanation they told me that they will return my money back. I'm still waiting it - both for deposit and for this bottle.

    Bath

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise because it’s NYC, but the hotel provided ear plugs which were a nice touch. Consider better quality earplugs.

    Clean. Great toiletries provided. Nice size for NYC.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable and clean rooms. Nice common areas. The staff were very helpful. The location was close to the subway and there were tons of things to walk to in this neighborhood.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are ok. Thermostat gives you little control. Room gets warm. Our room could hear the nightlife late. If the location was not good it would have been a loser. Average!!

    The location is the bonus with this hotel. Chelsea Market is on the same corner. You can walk to many restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    It was like staying in a yacht on land. We loved the round window that looked out on the Hudson River and the HighLIne Park. The 8th Avenue trains are close. One thing that would help at the end of the day, is an elevator to go up the entry steps. The breakfast buffet had wonderful croissants but the staff was no where to be found to clean off the crumbs of previous persons.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff was really great! However, the queen superior suite was much smaller than expected, maybe the smallest hotel room i have ever stayed in. Loved the fireplace in lobby!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is really boring and after a 9 days stay feels very repetitive

    The staff are great and the rooms are special and cosy and the location is great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No ice for the room.

    Staff were at the top of their game. Most questions were answered before we could even ask them. Amazing service. Comfortable room. Great water pressure. What more could you want?

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only drawback about the room was the street noise - it was loud and we were on the 7th floor.

    This was a boutique hotel with amenities not usually found in others, such as robes, ear plugs and even an umbrella!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    High floor, nice view, small but very ergonomic room. Very adequate continental plus breakfast included. Asked for and immediately revived in room coffe baker and humidifier.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows are too soft.

    The location is awesome. There are lots of great restaurants and activities nearby. Parking is easy and right across the street (but expensive). The hotel is beautiful, clean, and the staff are helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a little limp and snacks were charged at premium.

    Quieter neighborhood, excellent breakfast included, nautical themed bed and window. Late checkout approved.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room & bathroom. Sufficient but not comfortable. You wouldn’t want to hang out in this room. And too small to have more than 2 people. We had 3.

    Great price

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ordered room service and was was a little disappointing - no knife or fork was provided and had to call down for one which meant the meal was getting cold.

    The lobby decor was stunning and made a was a good environment for both work and relaxation. The bed was unbelievably comfortable!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    this has nothing to do with the hotel - but there are many night clubs outside of the hotel, walking down the street at night can be a challenge due to the groups of people waiting to get into the clubs.

    Great hotel, very nice breakfast, very comfortable and friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a nightclub downstairs, with really loud music. I could hear it in my room, and could barely sleep all night. Also it felt like a thousand degrees in my room, and the thermostat was clearly not working. Terrible gas smell in the morning. My room was extremely dark with almost no natural light, as the only window was obstructed. When I checked out, no one asked how my stay had been. By far the very worst experience I’ve had in a long time, and I’d really recommend to book somewhere else.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception sometimes get a bit lost with Amazon deliveries, but nothing that hasn't been solved. Staff is always very nice and ready to help. The only thing that I really don't like and would love to be changed are the pillows - they're to soft and thin, so your shoulder will sink into the bed.

    Excellent location in Meatpacking, across the street from Chelsea Market. Very clean room and bathroom with nice amenities and comfy bed. I really like the nice details such as an umbrella, universal power adaptor, corkscrew, hair dryer, reading light by the bed and USB charger available in the room. Hotel facilities are beautiful (I loved the fire at ground level in winter), breakfast counts with great options and there's also La Sirena and TAO at the same building - both must do in NYC! It's my second time and I'll make sure there will be more opportunities!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine in every room without having to ask for one

    A great and friendly welcome and willing to go that extra yard if something was not quite right

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived we asked for a high floor due to the loud evening we had the night prior in another hotel we stayed at in Brooklyn. The person at the front desk put us in a room on a higher floor than we were first booked and also suggested a special pillow for the window to drown out the noise. The room was quiet and we got a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THE RESTAURANT IN THE HOTEL IS NOT MY FAVORITE. VERY EXPENSIVE AND THE SERVICE TAKES FOREVER!!! I WENT DOWN TO GRAB A QUICK BITE TO EAT AT 8:00 AND DID NOT MAKE IT BACK UP TO MY ROOM UNTIL 9:45...THAT WAS FOR A TAPAS AND A GLASS OF WINE.

    I LOVE THE FIREPLACE IN THE LOBBY AND THE ROOMS ARE COZY. THE LOCATION IS INCREDIBLE!!! THE STAFF IS GREAT, SUPER FRIENDLY. LOVE THE HIGHLINE AND THE ABILITY TO WALK EVERYWHERE.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is pretty lean, would have been nice to have more than cereal and yogurt/bagels. For healthy eaters not a lot of choices but hey, it's free.

    Great location walkable almost everywhere. Excellent restaurants in every direction and very quick from the New Jersey airport (about 20-30 mins) Quick cab ride to SOHO and Times Square. I will definitely stay here again, for the price is was a great value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the reception staff were a little too frosty for a boutique hotel.

    The decor is unique and the rooms cosy and clean. The location is all time. The lighting was tasteful and the bar downstairs was stylish and the staff very friendly. Try the gin cocktails.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift access to street & many stairs to the street; used luggage lift to assist me. Noise from venue Tao excessive & can see why they provide ear plugs!

    Location excellent; all desk & door staff were extremely helpful & very friendly. Liked the continental breakfast. The La Sirena restaurant was very good too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could not afford to stay here on my own (not for business). Over $500 for a room is way over my price range. I couldn't find affordable accommodations anywhere in the city for that night. I thought staying in a hotel as a single person would be more affordable. Was there something going on in the city that night to make rooms so expensive??

    Lots of tasty options and pleasant atmosphere to eat in.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's free breakfast in La Sirena downstairs (yay) but it was pretty picked over very early and wasn't refreshed (boo).

    Great location, hotel has lots of modern touches, the nautical decor is surprisingly great, staff friendly and helpful. The neighborhood can be noisy at night but the sound proofing is great - and they have free earplugs in your room if you want them.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint is that in one of the two rooms I had one of them didn't have a thermostat, so we couldn't adjust the temperature. Wasn't horrible but would have preferred a little more air in the room.

    Bed and pillows were very comfortable. The room decoration was really cool. The bathroom was huge and gorgeous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger choice on the breakfast menu . Continental was ok but the cooked to order only had 3 choices

    Excellent location , excellent staff .. lovely toiletries as well .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given a room on the second floor that had no view. Looked out at a concrete wall 👎. Cool porthole window to nowhere. Like spending two days in the basement. The manager did give us a bottle of wine to compensate.

    Like the location and design of the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I enjoyed my stay at @maritimehotel this weekend. Still has a cool vibe, cozy rooms, and nice escape in #Chelsea. The porthole windows and 60s architecture from the building's origin as HQ for the National Maritime Union of America were clearly the inspiration for this hotel's design in a massive remodel from the early 2000sies. In the interim years before that, this building served as housing for a drug rehabilitation non-profit and as home for foreign nationals run by the Chinese government. Almost 15 years since its conversion to the hotel, it's still a cool spot for Chelsea and and decent stay in the competitive New York hotel market.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The establishment is 'aged' with wood paneling everywhere giving it a dark feel everywhere.

    Service and cleanliness were very proper, the more so appealing considering the aged nature of the property. All conveniences e.g robes,toiletries were meticulously provided

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was uncomfortable. But most important, the noise from the street was really bad. The hotel supplied ear plugs. But even with those it was very very loud. The hotel should have white noise machines in the rooms...

    Staff was super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    We loved this hotel! Clean great location and the vibe was added to the stay! The entire staff was nice and accommodating! Top hotel for a weekend stay in NYC!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our experience stay was absolutely amazing. So much details in the room. Shows how much customers are well thought into all services provided to the customers. We slept like babies, beds were very comfortable. Thank you!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I requested the late check-out as part of my Genius reward program but did not hear from the hotel and was not provided. I do not know this is due to the Booking.com arrangement or the hotel, but I am not satisfied with that.

    Located in Chelsea and very close to the Meat Packing District and High Line, which means very convenient. The room is not small in terms of NYC standard. The staffs are friendly and kind. Love the architecture.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is a short flight of stairs to enter the lobby, wondering about handicapped people. I would inquire about that if you have difficulty with stairs. There may be an elevator somewhere to enter the lobby. I just did not see one. Also, the room was quite small, which was perfect for me staying alone. It might feel tight for two people.

    Great hotel, everyone who works there was exceptionally courteous. Super cozy lobby. Complimentary continental breakfast was very good. High quality bagels, bread etc. Bed and sheets were top notch and don't forget to ask for the "window plug" to block out all street noise. I travel to NY for work quite often and this is definitely my new favorite hotel!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    I noticed this the last time I stayed here as well, the towels in the bathroom have a sort of "hot metal" smell, similar to melting solder in a heating vent.

    Signed note from the manager welcoming me back, along with a complimentary bottle of wine. Staff had no problem quickly accommodating my change in length of stay without any issues.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small but overall well appointed and the bathroom although small was perfectly formed.

    The lobby was really cozy and I thought the books were a nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The front door leads to a long set of stairs, making moving one's luggage into the hotel cumbersome. There wasn't consistently a bell hop there to help out.

    Cute motif. Bed was comfy. Our room had space for a rollaway.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    do not take a room on the 2nd floor if you want to sleep. the club on the ground floor kicks up after 1am and goes until 4am - very loud and vibrates all night. better if you go to the club.

    great location. clean and cool design.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No basics in the room like water, tea/coffee making facilities. For these there was an extra charge. The breakfast was extremely minimal and being asked to pay for decent coffee, i.e. an American was insulting when paying the high end amount for bed and breakfast.

    Staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Could not have asked for more. Would like to highlight Danielle on reception.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Maritime Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: