Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Marshall House 3 stars

123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401, USA

#8 of 135 hotels in Savannah

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 936 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Our stay was wonderful and we loved the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having anywhere in the lovely large bathroom to sit or put things on...like a bench.

    We liked the location, cleanliness and comfort of facility, great southern hospitality of the staff , the evening wine and entertainment. The breakfast was excellent in a very pleasant dining solarium.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All excellent

    Staff very helpful and polite. Excellent situation for sight seeing and shopping. The historians and harpist in the library were a wonderful touch to start the evening off and the hotel served wine and cheese.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    A nice and friendly boutique hotel in Savannah.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was the most impressive aspect of the Marshall House. Everyone we encountered could not have been nicer. From the valets, to the GM everyone was so warm and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Stay At This Inn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t a thing I would change - the staff was friendly, everything about our stay was top notch.

    The property was quaint, beautiful, historic, and the ghost stories just made it more fun (we didn’t see anything!)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    a charming hotel full of history and character
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    the air conditioning unit was very ,very noisy,the room is not very big

    very comfortable beds,nice atmosphere,very good breakfast,even is not included in the price.My kids loved the bath robes,we loved the interior garden with the glass roof

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    The property has a lot of charm and is in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attentiveness of the staff. Our room was a lot smaller than the description lead to be. I feel the price we paid to stay wasn't fair. Still a beautiful property

    The property has a lot of charm and is in a great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    I wish I could have enjoyed it more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very hard and uncomfortable. Breakfast buffet was not the best, eggs cold and watery and quiche was cold. Our window view was of rooftop air conditioning. And I got a splinter in my toe from the wooden floor. I was really looking forward to staying here. Very disappointed.

    Hotel was beautiful and highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Attentive staff in hotel with great location!
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be enhanced by whittling down the menu and featuring local and seasonal produce and foods- more like the local biscuits offered. Despite the beautiful breakfast room, the biscuits and quiche, the food was sadly similar to chain hotels off the expressway

    The staff was very attentive and friendly. There was a wine and cheese reception daily with either music or a historian. The hotel had a cooler of iced bottled water to keep guests hydrated in the heat. We used the large wooden handled umbrella in our armoire to protect us from a summer downpour- again so considerate of guests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.0
    Not worth the money, especially $300 for a Friday stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Housekeeping was poor. By 3:00 pm room was still not made up. Did not replace shampoo or soap. Cleaning supply was left in the bathroom. Shower was not wiped down.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little pricey and check out is an hour too early. The beds could be less hard and the pillows need upgrading. But it like the movie Somewhere In Time & we really enjoyed it.

    They provided umbrellas in the closet because they know at any moment in the south it can rain! Of course I forgot mine but what a thoughtful touch!! It came in handy:-)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    A total 10 our of10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Exceptional hotel that goes above and beyond. Incredible staff and service and added touches including complementary wine and cheese each night with special performance. Truly authentic that celebrates the unique heritage of the hotel. Elegant and first class all the way

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Charming hotel right in the middle of the historic district with shopping and dining all around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could be more comfortable. Both my spouse and I woke up with sore backs.

    Intimate historical property. Elegant but welcoming. Boutique hotel. Entire staff delightful. My kind of hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    A beautiful stay in the historic district
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were a bit thin. People talking anf phones ringing will be heard. At least the hotel provided ear plugs.

    The location was amazing! One evening there was a harpist playing in the lobby, and complimentary champagne was provided. The staff was kind and helpful with any questions or requests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Great location for exploring the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While antique tub in bath lovely, the high step-up and no guard rails could be a problem for some folks with handicaps to maneuver.

    Room very comfortable. Excellent staff. Reasonably priced public parking in adjacent building. Nice buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    The old world charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old world charm. Our room was perfect size. The decor was great. They kept the charm from it’s era, but with a clean, new feel. Everyone who works there are Really nice. The hotel is in close walking distance to most everything- even the river walk. The breakfast was also very good- everything tasted made from scratch- not fake. We would definitely stay there again!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    The beds were comfortable and room was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking was inconvenient but realize since its an old building it would not be difficult to change. Most hotels at this date in time of traveling include cost of parking and cost of breakfast.It was difficult to get to sleep due to people yelling outside and inside the facility

    The beds were comfortable and room was clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Loved the authenticity of the decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was on the street side and black out curtains are desperately needed. If we come back we must be on the non street side.

    Loved the authenticity of the decor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    The location is perfect and the staff is as helpful as they...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet parking ends at midnight. Breakfast on the weekend ends at 10a. One elevator that is shared by guests, housekeeping and bell man.

    The location is perfect and the staff is as helpful as they can be.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Three nights at the Marshall House in Savannah felt like a total vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked it all.

    Amazingly friendly staff from front desk to room cleaners door men food service. Perfect location, nice touches with champagne reception, wine and cheese hour.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.1
    The staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like having to pay extra for parking and breakfast i guess i assumed it was included and the parking was down the street.

    The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.5
    This hotel is a poor value.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bait and switch rates. Five different added taxes and fees. $30 more for your car. Staff unfriendly. Restaurant refuses service before advertised closing time. Bedding old and uncomfortable. Tiny tv. TOURIST TRAP THAT CHARGES 3 TIMES NORMAL RATE ON WEEKEND. AVOID!

    Advertised price $189 real price $500+ There is no way this hotel is worth $500 a night. Beds and pillows were uncomfortable. Staff unfriendly. Refused service at restaurant 15 minutes before closing. $30 more if you park here. Five different "taxes and fees" added to already inflated room rate. THIS HOTEL IS A TOURIST TRAP AND NOT A GOOD VALUE. ROOM RATE TURNS OUT TO BE MORE THAN THREE TIMES HIGHER OR WEEKENDS AND IT SIMPLY IS NOT WORTH IT! AVOID!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Lovely Stay at this Boutique Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We don't recommend the buffet breakfast - it was just average, and there are many good places close to the hotel where you can get a great breakfast or brunch for about the same price as that of the buffet. Suggest you just skip it.

    We loved everything about our 3-day stay at The Marshall House. Let's start with the staff - friendly and always helpful. It is very centrally located - close to shopping, restaurants, historic areas, residential neighborhoods, and the river. There is a public parking garage just around the corner from the hotel and within easy walking distance - once you park, you don't have to use your car again until it's time to leave. The hotel is very quiet... and very clean. Our bed and bedding were very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location and staff was accomodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a change to travel plans and I didn’t realize I could not get a credit for the night we were not staying. May not use booking . Com again because of that

    Overall very good. Breakfast was awful and expensive we were near the ice maker and near the breakfast area so very noisy at times.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Worth the every penny! Will come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to call the desk to get a coffee in my room instead of having it avaliable when we got there.

    The staff was fantastic and it was located basically in the center of everything. First time I have ever had a valet help with my bags and bring them to my room. Definitely a service driven company.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.7
    The rooms and atmosphere of the hotel are historical which...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very noisy, the windows cannot open, in the morning the firealarm went on which roughly woke me up. So for a one night stay in a business trip this is not the hotel to choose if you want to have a quiet night of sleep....

    The rooms and atmosphere of the hotel are historical which is nice for tourists.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    Lovely historic hotel in the heart of Savannah!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need more hooks in bathroom for hanging up towels.

    Location and staff were awesome. Room was comfortable and lovely. Liked the 5:30 pm wine and cheese receptions with music and the historian..nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    We loved Savannah and the great location of the Marshall House. We could and did walk everywhere .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I,m not a breakfast buffet person so I wish there were small breakfast choices other than the buffet. The buffet was good, though.

    I felt very safe and really at home both in the room and the library area. The location was excellent and I appreciated the coffee being ready when i woke up at 6:00 and the great wine and cheese reception, each night. The staff was courteous and helpful in making dining suggestions. I really felt pampered!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Savannah is a lovely city with it's many squares and beautiful buildings. Marshall House perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all.

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The happy hour harpist one night and speaker on the history of Savannah and Marshall House was good. The wine, cheese and crackers were good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    Location, staff, and proximity to parking garage are the Marshall House's best attributes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room work area lighting was low.

    Staff were all very accommodating, wine and cheese reception was nice with a friendly atmosphere, and breakfast food was very good and it was enjoyable to be surrounded with a pleasant group of respectful diners.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.4
    Very disappointed in our experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in room 419 was terrible. There was no way to adjust the temperature to avoid the extremely loud and obnoxious unit from turning on every ten minutes. We could not relax, have a conversation or watch anything on TV. Earplugs were provided since this room faced the street, but there was no street noise. The cleaning staff left all our dirty towels in the floor of the room and did not throw out any used cups or trash. It was very disappointing to pay for such nice amenities for our anniversary trip and have this experience.

    Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.3
    Courteous pleasant staff, nice comfortable bed, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price- Valet only parking, terribly noisy A/C, generic buffet only breakfast

    Courteous pleasant staff, nice comfortable bed, excellent Bistro 45 restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Valet Parking expensive. I should have done self park. Kinda talked into valet parking only took car out once in 4 days. City is so walkable did not need the car.

    Afternoon wine and cheese. Great location. Friendly staff. History.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Marshall Hotel is the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really no complaints...there was a fire alarm to go off at 5 am but I wouldn’t blame the hotel for that.

    Great location to explore the riverfront and Forsyth Park by foot. Hotel has tons of charm and the staff was very accommodating and friendly!!! We only stayed one night but look forward to returning!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.4
    This is the second time we stayed at the Marshall House, we would be reluctant to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The problem was the room needed a thorough cleaning. In addition, towels, bath mats, and toiletries had to be requested. I understand that it is an old hotel and that is part of the charm, however, a dirty room is not charming.

    The location is excellent, and the staff very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was delicious. A safe in the room was appreciated

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice experience, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The curb side arrival and departure from the hotel was on the main street. You needed assistance to get from your car to the room.

    The bed was very comfortable, the breakfast area was very nice and the food was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.9
    Expensive, nice but small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a nice historic hotel, but it's way over priced. It's priced this way because of location and major chains are allowed to build in the historic district. I honestly believe saving the integrity of historic Savannah is the top priority... I just didn't realize that the rooms were going to be that small with no amenities for the price I was paying.

    Great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    4.2
    Savannah has many better options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Start with poor service and end with dirty, aged facilities.

    This hotel has not aged well. The facilities were dirty, HVAC noisy, one elevator, and above all else, the staff was really quite inept. The concierge service was essentially non-existent on a busy weekend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Hotel staff were gracious and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise level of other guests, but this is to be expected. Marshall house even provided ear plugs on our nightstand to use to help.

    Hotel staff were gracious and accommodating. Valets were nice upon arrival, helped with bags, took excellent care of my car. Front desk staff was helpful as well. Once we were in the room and settled, the concierge called up to check on us to make sure we had everything we needed. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    Birthday bliss
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning ladies through a bag of my dirty laundry away that was near my luggage. I understand mistakes happen but they won't return my calls or follow up with my inquiries since the occurrence. I want to be compensatecompensated for my lost items.

    They have a historian with wine and cheese which is nice. And the next night had a violinist play with a champagne toast. It was my birthday and they left champagne and balloons in my room. They said they only do this for people who book directly through their site but since someone already misspoke they honored it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.0
    The Marshall House should be on the top of your Savannah accommodations list.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Hotel is one of the oldest in Savannah, consequently, it is to be expected that it can be somewhat noisy since the walls are thin and the floors are not carpeted. Select a room on the top floor and at the end of the hall for maximum comfort.

    The entire staff and management of the Marshall House are exemplary. The Marshall House is a beautiful building with a gorgeous ground floor. Smiles and graciousness flow from the staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.5
    Staff was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window of my room overlooked the dining area. I would not have booked the room if I had known some of the rooms had a window overlooking an interior dining area.

    Staff was great. The only solution for our lack of window was two moves in our 4 days. Good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    We admired Mary Maxwell and her strength and stamina in decision making for her time.
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing...the best two days we ever had and a memory we will always remember.

    The entire stay at the Marshall House was everything we expected and more! We felt we were back in time...treated like royalty. The valet, front desk, the guest services who booked our tour, the housekeeping staff and the breakfast in the atrium were wonderful. And the wine and cheese and the server who setup and poured our wine took such pride in his work as he was a great host. The lady who played the harp and the storyteller who gave this history of the hotel added a magnificant touch to our stay! Thank you Marshall House....we will be back on our next trip north.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little small, but that's how things were back in time.

    Excellent location. Great staff. They were all very friendly and accommodating. Hotel has old time charm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    The Marshall House (Savannah) is the manifestation of Southern hospitality and charm.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one tiny little thing. The eggs served at breakfast were in a chafing dish, but it didn’t have a lid and consequently the eggs became cold almost immediately. By the way, the breakfast room is fashioned from an old courtyard that the proprietors have enclosed with glass to create an atrium. It still feels like one is outside, because the skylight is massive and they have arranged huge planters with Palm with trailing ivy directly beneath it.

    If you are looking for an historic hotel in the heart of old Savannah, you cannot get closer to the center than 123 E. Broughton Street. It is the main drag and the Marshall House is smack dab in the center of it. The proprietors have managed to keep the best of the architectural features of the old South, but provide modern conveniences like beautiful indoor plumbing fixtures, internet, elevators, and securely key carded doors. I could be wrong, but I think my bedroom floor was heart pine. Knowing that changing the glass in the windows would destroy the look of the hotel, the staff kindly provides ear plugs, so those facing the street can get a good night’s sleep on the surprising comfortable mattress.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is beautiful and they had little history lessons on the building in the evenings.

    We were in the middle of everything. Most if the places we went were within a few blocks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.3
    Historical nature and location of the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was small and dark. and its an old hotel so a bit noisy due to creaking boards and not very thick walls.

    Historical nature and location of the property.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    We would return in a heartbeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We arrived late on a Sunday evening. Broughton Street was at its least inviting, and we were not yet oriented to the city. The next day, when we had figured out how well placed we really were, we were delighted by the location.

    Super friendly staff. Splendid old building. Hotel is sited on a re-developing commercial street which effectively divides Savannah into two halves. History within walking distance any way you go.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    Great location, very friendly staff, great atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price of the room, would have been nice to have been offered breakfast.

    Great location, very friendly staff, great atmosphere. Recommendation for all coming to Savannah!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Awesome!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    From the moment we entered the door, our Marshall House stay was perfect. The staff created an atmosphere that made us feel like family. The best part is the staff is sincere and happy to be there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    The location and staff is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small things like broken blinds and not enough outlets for phones, etc. The floor in original, so I'm told, so everything is slanted. You put something on the table, and it rolls off.

    The location and staff is amazing. Very helpful and the location is perfect. You can walk to almost anywhere in the historic district from The Marshall House.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    We both excalimed to each other multile times, "I think this is the nicest place I've ever stayed!"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were blown away by The Marshall House. Without going sickeningly overboard, I'll just say that the staff was ultra-accommodating, eager to grant our every wish with a smile. Breakfast was delicious, with plenty of top-quality options. The room was beautiful! We both said a number of times, "I think this is the nicest place I've ever stayed!" The extra perks of parking, luggage service, tourist activity scheduling and even cold water and lemonade to take with you on your way out the always-held-for-you door were a big plus for us. Thanks, Marshall House! We loved our stay!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Excellent welcoming hotel. Made us feel at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have better selection of fresh fruit.

    The bed and furnishings were comfy.Excellent food and service in The restaurant. Didn't need a/c. The weather was freezing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    It was an awesome stay. You have a great staff - energetic and eager to help in any way!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The guest printer did not work You need to get new printer.

    Smaller waffles and coffee was awesome! Consider have eggs prepared when ordered or small omelet bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent place to stay and I’d recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little smaller than expected.

    Great staff. Took care of us every day with no problems. Very informative. Loved the history of the hotel. Accommodations were good. Great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.5
    Comfortable and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Out of service elevator could have been repaired sooner rather than later.

    Comfortable bed, nice decor in lobby, good shower and like the curved shower rod. Enjoyed the varied breakfast items. Convenient location near the freeway, food and gas locations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.1
    Overall, great location and nice property. I would probably stay again here if I’m the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That our maids overlooked Thebes “Do Not Disturb” sign hung on the door and would knock anyway in the morning. If we don’t want to be disturbed, then don’t disturb us.

    The antiquity of the Marshall House

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Charming room, attentive staff, great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entertainment provided in the library both nights we stayed. One night there was a historian and the next night music by a harpist and violinist. From Broadway show tunes to Disney to Led Zeppelin and Van Morrison, I have a new appreciation for the harp.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.9
    Elegant experience but extremely noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked on valentines day weekend, so the entire place was packed. I think we got put in one of the worse rooms possible? I thought it was going to be nice with a window view of the street, than I realized that there was going to be loud street noise all day and night - which is a benefit that some of the other rooms that face the interior of the hotel have a benefit. I didn't have issues with my neighbors or any other guests, but cars honking and drunk people yelling until 3am really didn't help my stay.

    I booked on valentines day weekend, so the entire place was packed. I enjoyed the nice furnishings, the antique set-up, the claw tub, all of our amenities were good. I thought I would like the location of our room (in the corner facing the street) but soon realized that we were surrounded by noise from not just the direction of the street but from side of our room as well.. I assume that's why most reviews state that they get their rooms upgraded because the hotel doesn't want to torment guests with street noise.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    Excellent - would recommend to other visitors and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was a bit small and in an less-than-desirable location in the back, overlooking the a/c units but we booked last minute and it was not expensive for the great location.

    Great staff! Wonderful people from valet to concierge to restaurant servers.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Great location in Savannah. Beautifully maintained historic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is included if you book directly with Marshall House plus 10% off. Sorry Booking.com. Weeknight wine and cheese social with entertainment (history talk one evening, harpist the next) was awesome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Great great great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything. A lot of history rooms all different. Perfect location. Wine and cheese in evening. We did not get to have this. It was Valentine’s Day everyone got cutest box of candy from staff. How great is that. Sharon P.

    Staff friendly, history talk. Would prefer not to stay anywhere else. I love this places liked everything!.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.8
    It is beautiful and Historic Hotel with a convenient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a bit loud. you can hear from inside of your room the people talking and walking in the hallway. We stayed when it was a slow season, so high season, could possibly be louder. I chose a large room, but it seemed small.

    It is beautiful and Historic Hotel with a convenient location. The staff very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.2
    Will stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are homeless locals that do bother guests from time to time it happened to us twice. But did not bother us enough not to want to return. Wish the hotel could do something about that.

    Loved how friendly and accommodating the staff were. Also loved the wine and cheese reception, complimentary water, history talks, and harpist. The valet at times was a little confused when we had a vehicle we were towing and had to drop off to relatives so the one vehicle stayed only one night. But all in all it was figured out. The location is spectacular and we enjoyed walking everywhere. Breakfast was also great! One thing to note is this is an extremely old building and it does have a slight smell of old. All in all we would be happy to visit again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    Much needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way we was greeted when we went to get breakfast that morning

    Liked that we could control the temperature in our room. The comfort of our bed was great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    This will not be the last time we stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I honestly can't think of a thing I didn't like. It might not be the most kid friendly; we didn't have kids with us but I'm not sure that a family with small children would like it because of the lack of more modern amenities. Our view wasn't the best... But we certainly didn't pick this hotel for the view.

    What didn't I like would be a shorter list. Location, location, location!! It pits the entire historic district within easy walking distance. The charm of the hotel is amazing and the staff really know how to pamper their guests. Stick around for "history hour" or the musical performances during Wine:30

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    5.0
    The price is based on the historic value of the venue not the actual value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My "king premium room with a balcony" faced Broughton street, which was very loud in the evening into the night. The heating unit was extremely noisy. There was a nice antique-ish chair which was not comfortable to sit in and relax. The cleaning staff kept asking me whether I wanted my room serviced, which I thought was unnecessary.

    I liked the lemonade in the lobby and the evening wine and cheese.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location and most staff were very warm, helpful and professional.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening staff in lounge were pushy and quite arrogant. Enough so that we left and dined elsewhere.

    Staff at reception and valet service were exceptional, very welcoming and helpful. Room was quaint and charming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    MAGNIFICENT!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were so enamored with this city and hotel we decided to extend our stay. I was very surprised that by just going to the desk to extend our stay instead of going on line would be so much more expensive.

    Everyone of the staff were friendly, cheerful and helpful. Bernard, Carlton and Xzavior (sp) always willing to help. Talisa helped us get transportation and had a bottle of sparkling wine sent as a gift to our room and Erica sweet and happy. Julia in the dinning room am, very nice. Chef Mark wonderful and a culinary master! Daniel at "45" made us think we were his only table to attend to. I travel with my service dog. All were helpful with my handicap.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.2
    Overall, an amazing experience! Real southern charm!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sheets in the pull out bed were dirty, and they ran out of comforters that night so I had to use extra towels

    The staff is so nice and accomodating, the happy hour of wine, cheese, and music from a live harpist was over the top! A delicious southern breakfast in a beautiful restaurant, and that balcony is AMAZING!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    5.0
    Total disappointment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wanted to celebrate my 40th birthday in Savannah and booked one room for one night. I didn't feel very welcome at check in and nobody even noticed it was my birthday! I paid 340 USD, breakfast not included, and ended up in a tiny room with one tiny bed. There was no outside view from the window and the small bathroom smelled horrible. I feel like the hotel staff did not make any effort to make our stay more pleasant, especially considering the fact that this hotel has an excellent reputation and high ratings.

    Location is convenient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    A beautiful hotel in a great location with fantastic staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like having to leave!

    The staff was very friendly and helpful as well. The historian brought in to speak about the history of the hotel was mesmerizing. He was knowledgeable and engaging.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Hotel was very historic and well decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative is since the building is very old and historic you could hear lots of street noise and voices from hallways. Other than the lack of sound proofing the facility was wonderful.

    Hotel was very historic and well decorated. Rooms were very nice and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Historic charm and friendly staff make this a stay to repeat again in the near future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only drawback is also part of the charm. The age of the building and age of the wood floors made it a little more noisy than a more modern hotel but we did not mind as it lent itself to the authenticity of the facility.

    The room was very comfortable and charming the staff were all above and beyond amazing. They were extremely helpful and pleasant and did so in a genuine way. It felt as though they loved where they worked and wanted us to love it equally as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location right next to a parking garage and within walking distance of everything in town. The staff alone made the stay worthwhile. Very friendly and accommodating. The house itself is very nice and the room was great! I recommend!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.3
    We did enjoy our stay at the Marshall House, it was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really hard. It was not comfortable at all. It was a little pricey for one night.

    The staff was really friendly. The room was decorated nicely. The pictures all over showing the history of Savannah was very interesting.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Marshall House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: