Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Melrose Georgetown Hotel 5 stars

2430 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Northwest, Washington, DC 20037, USA

#28 of 138 hotels in Washington

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1094 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel with lovely lobby and bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hangover I had in the morning that made me miss the complimentary breakfast! Haha!

    Beautiful hotel with lovely lobby and bar. Staff were very friendly and helpful (especially Joe the bartender who listened to our chat all night) We were also given complimentary breakfast as it was our anniversary. The room was spacious and spotless with a lovely bathroom which had really nice Molton Brown toiletries. We had a comfy bed with nice linen. Location was fantastic. Can’t think of a single negative thing about this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Good location, good breakfasts, nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar server was impolite and seemed reluctant to serve us even though there was only one other person in the bar. All the other staff were great.

    Good location, good breakfasts, nice room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Very clean and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from my room wasn’t great. But you can getting better views if you pay for an upgrade.

    Very clean and modern. Perfect for people who like a very classy lobby and attentive staff. The rate was also very affordable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    3.8
    Not a good experience I have already told many people and will tell many more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people were not friendly at all they have a click only pay attention to staff like it’s a club for them to go to each day They don’t restock water or bar calling desk make it a chore They need to tell staff there in the service business Very disappointing

    The lobby

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    The coffee in the foyer after my morning walk made me feel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee in the foyer after my morning walk made me feel at home. The room size was great; it felt spacious. And I love the fluffy white bathrobe.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    3.8
    Far from a 5 star
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double/Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from a 5 star hotel...rooms where small, no conseir, no bell hop, no parking, no pool, no landscaping, felt like I was staying in a closet.

    Close to all the sites

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful comfortable hotel, wonderful staff and great location!
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From the time I arrived the staff made me feel special and wonderfully taken care of! The hotel was very well maintained and comfortable and the location was perfect for running and exploring!! Will be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Overall, the property is beautiful, very well located & I would definitely stay there again.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that the suite only had 1 bathroom, most suites have a 1/2 bath. Also, the bathroom was very cramped, definitely they did not get updated along with the rest of the hotel. And the service staff, room service & restaurant were underwhelming.

    The property is very nicely decorated and the rooms were spacious. The staff was very friendly and the location was excellent for our purpose.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Very happy with the hotel, but not the valet parking service.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The valet parking service was not very responsive.

    The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on. The room was very clean and well decorated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    An excellent property with an excellent team
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed the comfortable rooms and the location that allows you to explore everything by foot. The breakfast was top quality and the manager of the hotel and his team - extremely kind and professional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Very warm and welcoming.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comment

    I was pleasantly surprised by how nice the hotel was because my sister made the reservation online. I couldn't be more satisfied with everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Excellent location and beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful lobby, large room, comfortable bed. Excellent location. We had breakfast there which was very good. Will definitely return next time we visit DC.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.1
    Good toiletries in the rooms and a comfortable bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu is misleading however as it says the chef can accommodate vegetarian and vegan and most dietary requirements however when I went for breakfast I was told there was nothing, just the fruit, which was already on the menu!

    Good toiletries in the rooms and a comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice but snooty and no customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    said no rooms available - asked them to call us with any cancellations. They didn't. got a room but 2 double beds for 4 of us and $100 more per night. not a good experience from that perspective. we

    Bed was hard but the first room was nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.8
    Big rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No door man during the day we arrive, when checking in 3pm, I was asking if the room is ready, she says it will in 5mins and I should take a seat in thelobby and she would call my name. 10 mins later I went and ask her, so is the room ready now? She is like oh when I give you the key it’s already good to go. Also, the sound prove from the corridor to the room is really bad. There was a India travel group kinda thing, and they would knock everyone’s door and talk in the hallway. In my room I could hear everything very clear.

    Big rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Overall it was fine with the only dissapointment the missing coffee - pots in the rooms might help
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were disappointed that there was NOT coffee available Sunday morning early. We were in town for the Cherry Blossom race which takes place early and asked about coffee availability on Saturday evening for the morning and we were told it would be in the lobby at 6:30 am - it was not there in the morning and were told Sunday morning it would not be there until 7:00am - which was too late for our use.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    5.8
    not great though ..
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    ROOM SERVICE !! for a Five star hotel i would expect a good (if not great) room service .. and i'm talking about the basic .. the first 2 nights (3 days) no one came to clean the room or at least change the towels ! which is really disappointing ..

    The morning coffee near the reception desk was amazing , also the room size and the view was also great ,, friendly staff (most of the time)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.3
    Solid hotel, great location, nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am not sure what makes this a 4 🌟 hotel. The location is amazing, but there was just something missing from thr building. It was too plain for a 4 🌟 hotel.

    The location was great. We found parking at the GW hospital for $12/day weekend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    A beautiful haven during a hectic trip.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room I was given was unacceptable in terms of size and layout. It was on the second floor directly across from the elevator.

    The breakfast potatoes were addictive! The eggs Benedict were cooked to perfection.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.3
    The rooms are well furnished and clean!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a lot of trouble about the reservation. The reception staffs were confused, and, unfortunately incapable of solving problems. The hotel sent us no show fee invoice after returning back from the hotel!

    The rooms are well furnished and clean!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.5
    Pull out sofa mattress was very uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pull out sofa mattress was very uncomfortable. Since The room indicates it accommodates 4 people, 2 of whom need to sleep on the pull out, they need to provide an adequately comfortable mattress. It is also very small for 2 people. I requested something to put on top of the mattress in order to not feel the coils, but it wasn't provided.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    Upgraded form a King room to an Suite at the corner of the building. The Suite was large, elegant an
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Upgraded form a King room to an Suite at the corner of the building. The Suite was large, elegant and comfortable, with plenty of light. Very satisfied and grateful to the concierge who was very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing! I want to go back again next year. Staff was phenomenal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Went to celebrate an anniversary and not only did they upgrade us to suite on the top floor but after we stepped out, when we came back were surprised with the nicest card and treats left in the suite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful luxury hotel in a perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The bed was so very incredibly comfortable! The room was so nicely appointed. The decor was beautiful! Every person in the hotel was gracious and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Very comfortable, great location & staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thevroll away bed was awful, you could feel the springs really badly & it was dipping in the middle before anyone got on it. Clearly ancient & in desperate need of replacing

    Loved the spacious rooms & staff were great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar was next to the front door which made it difficult to sit at because the door kept opening and it was very cold outside.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    I like the decorations in the lobby, the room is very big,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Long walking distance from the city:( I lost my towel in the hotel:(

    I like the decorations in the lobby, the room is very big, the bed is comfortable. The price is worth it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    Top notch hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a little trouble with the AC. It wouldn't heat up the bedroom.

    Top notch hotel. Style is classic, but classy. Suites are very comfortable, and the personnel very serviceable and welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Best hotel we stayed in during our almost four week trip to the US!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I liked everything!

    The staff distinguishes this hotel - friendly, helpful and professional. The location is excellent - more than 70 restaurants within walking distance, close to public transport. The rooms were more than comfortable - almost luxurious. Absolute value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    Great value and location lovely decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View wasn’t great but only a minor thing overall

    Great location , short walk down to White House , great rooms good size , great decor , great price really good value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    The perfect D.C accommodation.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no negatives. It’s a gem in Georgetown.

    The hotel is in a great location. Walking distance to the national mall, metro and Georgetown. The hotel is beautiful, clean and cozy. The staff is knowledgeable and very kind. The restaurant is very good. Overall a wonderful stay, would highly recomend this hotel during your stay in DC.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Great hotel would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bar closed early one night as the hotel was quiet due to holiday season.

    We were upgraded to a much larger suite. The bed was very comfy. The restaurant and bar were extremely nice and good value. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the hotel was in a great position.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Spacious rooms, stylish overall decor, and very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious rooms, stylish overall decor, and very friendly staff. Excellent location within very easy walking distance to Georgetown with its many shops and restaurants, and the National Mall only about 20 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Great Find!
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like about the Melrose, will definitely stay again and definitely recommend to others visiting DC!

    Great Lobby with so many places to unwind, Clean comfortable rooms, location was perfect for us!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Had a great two night stay at an affordable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was very comfortable. Hotel was close to Georgetown shopping and dining. We walked to and back from the Kennedy Center for a concert. Close to metro and bus stops. Public parking garage 1.5 blocks away (attached to the Westin).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.8
    Georgetown value hotel ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the bathroom, but it was clean, and reasonably presentable.

    Size of room & decor excellent. Bathroom a little on the small size for a 5 star hotel, and could do with an upgrade. But staff and restaurant excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.5
    Not as I had hoped
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room walls were paper thin

    Everything was perfect EXCEPT ROOM WALLS WERE PAPER THIN!!! The location, excellent; the staff could not have been friendlier, more helpful or courteous; the hotel was well done. I hated hearing conversations, babies crying, etc. through the walls.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    7.5
    Great hotel but not for business travelers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible wifi, fast speed only available for extra fee (which is unacceptable for a 5* hotel). Breakfast really expensive.

    Great design, spacious rooms, nice staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was very expensive........almost $51 dollars a night! Our room was spacious but limited light....looked out to the hotel's courtyard (I think).

    The staff was very friendly and the room was spacious. The bed was so comfortable. We liked that we could crack the window in the room for some fresh air as well. Also, Bartender went out of his way to make an awesome chocolate martini!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    5.8
    The location is great, next to Georgetown and a short walk...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One day my room was not made up at sll, another day no hot water from the tub.

    The location is great, next to Georgetown and a short walk from the Mall

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    Rooms were very spacious, clean, staff were accommodating,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very clean however I did find somebody’s dirty sock next to the chair :(

    Rooms were very spacious, clean, staff were accommodating, free tea/coffee in lobby, happy hour, good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were super friendly and accommodating. The room was cute and such great value! No hidden fees, no run-down rooms, it was just a great experience overall!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Easy travel, facilities and customer service/hospitality need work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I️ called to “Pre-check in” since we were arriving after 10PM. I️ had asked for the pullout bed to be made up and pulled out. When we arrived, not only was the bed not out or made, but the room was at least 83 degrees. It was stifling and we could not control the heat - only adjust the level of the fan or turn it off. We found one window in the suite that opened a couple of inches and turned off the air. So in November - we had the choice of it being a very toasty mid-80s OR a very brisk mid 50s. When we left to grab dinner after checking in we asked the desk to look at it and over the course of 2 days, it was never addressed.

    The location was great. Ease of check-in and check-out was also helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Geat location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired bathroom shower head coming away from the tile.

    Extremely polite staff, Jonathan on reception was great, warm welcome and assisted with an early check in. Hotel reception and lobby beautifully appointed and smelt wonderful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.1
    it was standard
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff wasn't welcoming and friendly even when I call the front disk , when I got the room no body told me where was the refrigerator , coffee maker or the breakfast menu so I took days until I saw it accidentally, they don't offer a water or an international adapter for free with was important for me, they charged me for things I didn't ask for it like parking or room service, and they nock the door by mistake for room service that i didnt order or housekeeping many times though there were a privacy sign on the door , and the last thing when I check out I asked for somebody to take my luggage they came after 30 minutes after I asked for many times and the receptionist was mad I don't know why , overall I didn't like my experience at all , I won't come back for this hotel and I won't give it even 4 stars

    it was standard

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Great hotel and stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor suggestion. Hotel needs aa vestibule or revolving door. DC was cold and windy and blasts of cold air made the very nice bar uninhabitabl

    Rooms, for dc, are very large and quiet. Restaurant was consistently good Staff friendly and helpful. Hotel location is short easy walk to Georgetown and many restaurants

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Beautiful Hotel, Great staff, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really do not have anything we did not like.

    We stayed at the Melrose to celebrate our Anniversary and see a play at Kennedy Center. The staff was great. On return from the play we found a lovely bottle of preseco and some fruit with a beautiful note wishing us a Happy Anniversary. The room was clean, beautifully decorated. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.8
    Overall, we enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Ventilation needs to be improved. On return to the rooms daily, we needed to open the windows to get fresh air into the room.

    Doorman was attentive and usually caught the door for us. Kathryn at the front desk was very friendly. Water dispenser available near the front desk was refreshing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    5.8
    Way overpriced during the time i stayed. needs upgrading.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double/Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    even though i specifically asked for a quiet room away from the elevators at a high floor, i arrived after a 20hour flight and i got exactly the opposite. the lowest floor at a room exactly opposite from the elevator! very noisy in the morning especially after a long flight. i had booked a stay of 7 nights so the star moved me at a quiet room on the 8th floor which was much better. But the TV had issues with some channels and it took them some time to fix. The towels had old stains on them and it was WAY overpriced because of the conferences in town. Upon check out they wanted to charge my card without showing me the bill (!!!!) I insisted and i found a "meal from the restaurant" which i never had and the reception quickly erased it. I paid around 2300 dollars which is too much. This hotel has potential but needs serious upgrading and efficiency. Also bear in mind that most taxis parked outside the hotel had expired licenses and demanded cash. i found that an odd coincidence.

    location is good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel and the location is superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There should have been a door between the main bedroom and the sink area, so you could use that space while not waking anybody else up in the room.

    Loved the free water and coffee in the lobby (nice touch). Very friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.5
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temperature in the room was uncomfortably high and the thermostat did not effectively lower it. Room service between 10:00pm-11:00pm (as advertised) needs to be stepped-up in terms of the service. Phones not answered, haphazard. Room was not serviced or cleaned until very late in the day. We had to call to get it cleaned.

    The location. The fact that Breakfast, lunch & dinner are available at the hotel...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.3
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The valet service when we arrived was non existent. We waited for quite a while until I had to go into the desk to inquire. There was no one to open the doors for the most part while we were there, so not enough attention to detail. Our lobby experience was strange because there were tiny gnats flying around and we kept getting bitten. That happened both times we spent having drinks with friends. I also think that the $50 charge for parking was too high, especially with the slow service. I’ve been to several hotels in the D.C. area, some of which were less expensive with better service. I expected better because I was paying more, but got worse.

    The design of the lobby and room were lovely. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. We were not given a room with any type of view, which was a shame.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    I liked everything about the hotel except the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about the hotel except their breakfast. On two occasions I asked for eggwhites scrambled dry. Both times the eggs came back wet and slimy. The second time I was told the chef couldn’t make dry scrambled eggs so I sent the dish back and just had coffee! Really disappointed with the service and the food😡

    I liked everything about the hotel except the restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    My overnight stay was good and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    please see above.

    The property is good for an individual, couple with families (Not for romantic purposes.) The room was very clean, spacious and the bed is big with a firm mattress, which I like. My room (709) was on a highway side and the noise was horrific in the morning. Bathroom tub was not draining well. Parking was too expensive ($50/day) and I wish the parking lot was next to the hotel. This way I don't need to use the valet every time I need my car.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the suite which was the gathering place for our party of four so could have used one or two more chairs and a larger coffee table. A Sunday breakfast buffet would have been nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.8
    Location is perfect.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the reception were rude, Especially a guy called Abdi, he was slow and wouldn't hear what you have to say. He was in a rush to check me in cause a woman he knew was behind me.... asked for an adapter never came, The room smelled funky when I checked inn. Old bathrooms.

    Location is perfect. Good value for money paid.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    My (King Deluxe) room was spacious, nicely furnished and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The public spaces in this hotel were always at 65 degrees. Given that it was in the mid 80's outside and I was dressed for that weather, it made me avoid spending time in the bar, the library or the lobby, all of which are usually lovely places to hang out.

    My (King Deluxe) room was spacious, nicely furnished and beautifully decorated. It had a huge picture window which provided natural light and the color scheme was lovely. I also liked the office nook.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    6.3
    Hotel is fine. Give Yellow Cabs DC a miss though!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Feels a bit dated. Air conditioning is circa 1980, noisy and dripped. Slow to get room, delayed to one hour after official check in. Hotel booked a taxi, Yellow Cabs DC, which are red but that's another story. Took us to the airport at Baltimore. 10 minutes later we realised we had left a phone in the cab. 20 calls later this was the most unhelpful taxi company I'd ever come across. Arrogant and couldn't give a *. We never got the phone back and if they tried it would have been simple. They simply could or would not find the cab or driver. I'd urge this hotel and any other hotel in DC to seriously review their taxi booking policy. At the end of the day we are your clients and you are judged also by those you associate with.

    Location was good, walkable to DC centre and Georgetown (1 mile both). Spacious suites.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    enjoyed it very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    front reception staff rather unfriendly and not really helpful.

    lovely big room. comfortable bed. lovely food for breakfast. and close enough to everything and within walking distance to White House

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Bar staff particularly was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing we didn't like were the pillows. Too high and lumpy.

    Bar staff particularly was excellent. The chef in the restaurant for dinner was brilliant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    Great motel in a great location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking staff seemed confused and it took forever to get valet service. I had to get something out of my car and it took 2 trips to find it. Otherwise a very nice hotel!

    The rooms and the service were great! The bar on the ground floor was fantastic too; the bartender did a great job.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Good n comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The girl who checked me in knowingly gave me a smoking room though it was supposed to be non smoking. The moment I walked in to the room, I got headache. Bad experience. I thought of leaving the place but the supervisor was regretful n gave me a room on the upper floor. Always there are some bad apples in the basket.

    Beds are superb. Breakfast a little expensive. Location terrific. Love Georgetown, DuPont circle. Evenings can be enjoyable with lots of eating joints.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable & Affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A very comfortable hotel, with a great bar and restaurant. Clean, and the staff are very friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in the Georgetown area. It's close to great restaurants and relatively close to many attractions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.5
    Near city and georgetown but in need of some effort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel shows a bit of wear, especially in rooms. Bathrooms are not up to the mark for the class of hotel. Coffee machine needs an update. The hotel is positioned in a busy bracket of the market with many contenders, compared to some of the nearby Kimptons, DuPont circle hotel and the Embassy Row it comes across as underperforming for the class and price

    Fairly spacious rooms and location near city center and Georgetown are the main attractions for this hotel. A la carte breakfast, rather than buffet, was also welcome. There are generally no significant downsides to this hotel, which checks off most requirements of the category.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    We loved the bed, so comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are many mosquitos on the terras of the hotel.

    We loved the bed, so comfortable. The location is perfect. Walking distance of Georgetown and the white house.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite small room Reception staff OK but not overly helpful Not as luxurious as pictures make out Expensive whilst appreciating location

    Location within walking distance of metro & Georgetown for eating out ( 10 mins) Clean room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful time in Washington D.C
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was difficult and no dimes to to help people use parking metre

    We loved this hotel bed was fab staff friendly staff and great location . Pity it's so far from Australia

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Exceptional, Enjoyable and Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was amazing. Extremely comfortable and spacious, with both the staff and the atmosphere making it a more than enjoyable stay. It's a short walk from The White White house and the proximity to the restaurants and shops of Georgetown was an added bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel in central Georgetown location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location for Georgetown (and Georgetown Uni) was great, and also for George Washington University. It was also really close to a Budget car rental. There was overnight free street parking across from the hotel until 7am (hotel valet parking was $50/night). The staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    The room was nice and the location too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What I did not really like was the fact that at check in I was not informed about a deposit fee that I was charged without my consent. I understand and would be willing to pay a deposit fee but I was shocked to see a transaction that I did not approve.

    The room was nice and the location too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    The room was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fantastic. Very comfortable for our family and very clean. Staff were very friendly and we always got an hello and friendly acknowledgement from the door staff. The location was excellent - a 10min stroll took us to the heart of Georgetown with lots of good restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful trip from the beginning, great hotel in an ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really

    The room was spacious and so comfortable, it's an ideal location so central. Wonderful bakery next door and staff really helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Short and sweet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom vanity was small and desk area didn't have a mirror.

    The interior design was beautiful, elegant and modern. The beds were extremely comfortable and rooms were spacious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Good location, a few minutes's walk from the metro...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location, a few minutes's walk from the metro station. A round the university, very pleasant for walking around. The room is quite big, and facility is quite good. Staff is quite helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    I'd definitely recommend Melrose to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The suite felt like an apartment, so certain things need fixing like the closet door, the AC was very loud at times and didn't cool as quickly as hoped. Really hot days. Finishing is a little old, you can tell certain things have been painted over several times. Not too many food options available.

    Very cozy. My suite felt like an apartment. Well-designed. Pretty lobby, friendly staff, love the little patio outside. And you can not beat the location. The pros definitely outweigh the cons. I'd recommend it to others.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: