Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Monarch Resort 3 stars

1111 Lighthouse Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950, USA

#18 of 22 hotels in Pacific Grove

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1006 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.3
    Just OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked for 2 couples but when we arrived they could only find a booking for 1. Took some time for the lady to work things out but then our friends had a room upstairs and we were at the other end of the building on the ground floor. Not the best start to our stay there!

    The spa was great everything else just ordinary. Breakfast was OK

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice location-Good value
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was minimal (continental) which was not made clear in the booking. The rooms are dated and in need of updating.

    The resort provided all the basic amenities for an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location with walking distance to the beach. Friendly staff, that helped us get another room, when it turned out that it was not possible to lock the balcony door.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.0
    Very nice two day stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area is rather small but was well stocked for their guests.

    The location is perfect. We were able to easily get to Monterey, Pacific Grove and Carmel. Rooms were very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    Everything except the front desk and breakfast room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk very unwelcoming. Breakfast room is ridiculously too small Noise of room above ours was coming through the floor. Very poor sound insulation.

    Everything except the front desk and breakfast room. Great bed Great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.3
    The resort was a nice place to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff were not very happy Breakfast room far to small Room was not secure by room service on 2 consecutive days meaning it was open all day while we were out.

    The resort was a nice place to visit.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    2.5
    A total disaster.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is not a “ resort” and should not be advertised as one. There was a problem with wifi and it took three days to resolve. Staff claimed it was due to our devices, though the devices worked elsewhere in the premises. Obviously understaffed, when on wifi in lobby I heard conversations about staff being fired, quitting, and not being able to come because not having a ride. Rooms not serviced properly some days, dirty towels not replaced, etc

    Bed was comfortable, but bed clothing was old and appeared unwashed the first night. We stayed six nights and sheets changed after four.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.3
    That was a nice place to stay, clean and cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got receipt from Western group where I am a member, but couldn’t get my points because of the name (owner) change.

    Live plants in corridors are very special, I haven’t seen anything similar before.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.3
    Will stay somewhere else next time.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although they offered free WiFi, no matter how many times we tried to connect, we couldn’t, even after requesting they reboot. The bedside lamp kept shorting out, which made it difficult to read. The bathtub leaked and had black mold in the grout which wasn’t appealing, especially at $200 per night. They advertised a gourmet continental breakfast, but it was just the typical frozen pastries, frozen waffles and fresh fruit. No hot food. Not worth it.

    Location was good. The king bed was comfortable. It did have a fireplace which would be a nice option in winter.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.1
    This is a good location but not my first pick to stay in Pacific Grove.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The stopper in the sink would not stay open. There were several tiles that were broken, cracked and loose as you walked into the bathroom, and they sunk down too. if you stepped on them wrong, they would raise up and scratch the bottom of your feet. :-(!!! The mattress was a bit firm also.

    the carpet was new / large window with drape and sheer / covered parking!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    Close proximity to downtown and the fireplace was a bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpeted rooms.

    Close proximity to downtown and the fireplace was a bonus. Liked that the hotel room entry doors were inside the building vs. facing the parking lot.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.7
    Loved location but not amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are clean but tattered. Many unrepaired chips in paint and tile. Bathroom caulking was stained and looked terrible. Breakfast room is totally inadequate. Way too small. Never enough seating and not easy to move around and get items. One toaster that takes forever.

    Location, location, location. Perfect for access to Monterey, 17 mile drive and Carmel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    This is a great choice of a location. Minutes from the Aquarium. Very, Very nice! I'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing! I loved the whole thing! Very quite, very relaxing

    I loved the location. The smell of the ocean, the room was spacious, the beds were comfy, the staff at the front desk was wonderful and the breakfast was very generous!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    great and quite resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was very professional and very helpful, the location was very close to the events that I was attending, the area that surrounded the facility was quite I high recommend the resort.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.3
    Bed was comfortable, 10 min walk to coastline
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not cleaned properly when we arrived. The lamp was on the floor, coffee pot in the bathroom, torch turned on lying on the floor, no log both days, had to go and ask. Breakfast very basic

    Bed was comfortable, 10 min walk to coastline

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    3.8
    The last Resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Room was dirty 2. Heater was very noisy and old so couldn't use 3. Overhead fan also very noisy not that it was required. 4. Fridge guess what - noisy 5. Everytime neighbour used toilets very loud due to high water pressure. 6. Linen did not smell fresh 7. Bad smell around fridge area 8. Ridiculously late check in time 9. Beds uncomfortable 10. Not soundproofed so could hear footsteps all time. 11. Door to balcony was difficult to shut and fly screen hanging off. Was shown another room after first night which was in a worse state and smelt of tobacco. Left a message for manager who by this booking sight offered a free cancellation for last night despite having my cell number !!! As picked up msg late (no wifi on a beach) was unable to find elsewhere so late on a Saturday evening so had to spend another night. Was given another room which was better but still dirty and one bed was broken! The whole hotel is run down but there is no excuse for the lack of cleanliness. The whole place needs a very deep clean. NO APOLOGY OFFERED NO PART REFUND OFFERED FOR A TOTAL LACK OF SLEEP ON NIGHT ONE would I stay again? NOT A CHANCE.

    Not a lot however in fairness the check in staff were ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    4.2
    Awful, rude staff, unclean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in time was 4pm front desk staff was rude. We had to wait in the hall until 5:30 PM before room was ready. The next morning we left the room at 11am asked for it to be cleaned. Came back at 2pm room not cleaned, someone had put fresh towels in our room but didn't clean it. After staying 2 nights we found someone's dirty underwear and sweat pants in the closet....never again!

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    2.9
    Never had to clean our own room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to clean our bathroom. Instead of apologizing for not having to clean the room, the manager was telling my wife that she didn’t mix the cleaning formula correctly. Bed was broken in one room. They did deduct $100. as a discount. When booking, we were to get queen beds, but got fulls instead. Will not stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Clean and convenient place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small breakfast room. Coffee pot in the wrong place. Hard to get to if there's people waiting for toast. Needs to be in an area by itself.

    We could walk to the beach and it wasn't a crowded one. Beds were comfortable. Liked the powder room layout.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    A nice stay in a nicely located hotel in a cute town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only minus I see is the very little space available in the breakfast room.

    The staff of the hotel is friendly, we wanted to extend our stay and it was possible without much trouble. The hotel is nicely located in Pacific Grove close to the Golf course and Lover's point. Pacific Grove is a cute town without as much touristic business as Monterey (which is appreciable). The hotel itself is cute and mostly well maintained. The (real) fireplace (with real wood) in the room was fantastic! The pool and the hot tub outside are appreciable! The hotel is particularly cheap in this area given what it offers!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    3.8
    Wi-Fi wasn’t working for the entire hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi wasn’t working for the entire hotel. When it did “connect” it was patchy and unusably slow (think 10kbps slow) Receptionist unavailable for 20 minutes to discuss this. Took ages to check in. (20 minutes) Room wasn’t ready for a further 50 minutes despite a 4pm check-in time. Tables weren’t clean in the room had coffee/coffee stains on them. Room smelled of strong cleaning fluid/vomit. Receptionist was largely unapologetic about all of this. I ended up abandoning and getting a refund an hour and a half later after using a local cafe’s WiFi to book a room elsewhere. Waste of 2 hours with this hotel meant I had to cut short my plans for the day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    3.3
    Don’t stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very outdated. No hand soap, or soap for bathing was provided. No tub mat. 2 towels. The heater made noise grinding and popping all night long. No one could sleep. The water from the shower would not drain, so no one could shower. No one answered the phone at the desk during the night, nor in the early morning, so no help nor assistance was provided. Upon check out I was told the owner would contact me, and my bill would be adjusted. No contact was made. Don’t be fooled by reviews that comment the location and the view. Every hotel in Pacific Grove is a great location. The town is small, and the ocean is in close proximity. Don’t stay here.

    Absolutely nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The problem with the new beautiful flooring... it doesn’t have enough sound insulation to the lower floors. Other than that I really like the hotel.

    It is a very nice hotel, the location is amazing. Close to the 17 mile drive and at the end is Carmel. Close to the Monterey Aquarium, fisherman’s wharf and the cannery. Since my last stay they changed the rugs to laminate flooring, much cleaner than yuky carpet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    4.0
    There was a wet pillow case on the table when checked in.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a wet pillow case on the table when checked in. The hot tub was dirty - had a black ring around the edge. I had ants in my room the next day and did not sleep well with a angry customer screaming at the desk clerk. Left a day earlier than planned and was told I would be refunded the $200 for that day, I am still waiting for my refund!!! Over all this was a very unhappy stay. We will not be booking again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice with a vintage touch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was clean, Reception was verv friendly. Room seems a little bit Vintage but the flair was fine. Good breakfast with a bigger choice. Perfect Location, near the Coast. Good parking situation Pacific Grove is general a nice town an wenn will come Back again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Because of my profession and experiences, I would never stay in an older built structure designed with the parking garage under the first floor. The worst floor to stay on is the first floor during an earthquake. Other then that concern, it was a nostalgic maybe a Resort when built quite, relaxing stay, with no room service or even clean towels. Found the previous residents used towels laying on the closet floor. We did have a clean set in the restroom for us. After we removed the gummy bears stuck to the carpet the room was liveable.

    Because of the season, we appreciated the available room. When booking, we felt the Bay was within walking distance of the Hotel (not a Resort as listed).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    2.9
    Terrible!
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, I chose to give this hotel another chance. The second time was even worse. The staff still has not fixed the problem after several phone calls. Diane in particular is very rude. She actually blamed issues on short staff and being a busy weekend, like that's my fault. I'm a paying guest and still am waiting for resolution. Would not recommend this place to anyone, just based on the unorganized and rude staff!

    Nothing about this property is good. The staff is unorganized, unaccomidating and rude.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.3
    Pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Making guests uncomfortable and feel awkward while checking in was uncalled for. The treatment we received was almost rude. This was not from the front desk personnel as he was courteous and polite to us.

    Pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.1
    Parking and elevator were great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking and elevator were great! Upstairs too much noise, but not hotel's fault. Light bulb out and internet was down the first day. I would stay there again. Location fabulous

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.4
    Hotel provide free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. If you are staying on the first floor, do note that the room patio full length window is not able to lock. Which means someone can actually enter your room when you are not around or sleeping. 2. The room I stayed have the smoke detector wiring was hanging in mid air when I check in the room. Safety hazard. 3. Breakfast should start at 6.30am to cater guest who wish to depart early for their events. 4. No clear instructions or express check out for guest if departing early before 6am. Front desk is closed with no person to attend to end up I have to leave the room key card inside the room.

    Hotel provide free parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    Clean room, and nice sauna, though it did take time to heat...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their idea of a heated pool, isn’t my idea of a heated pool.

    Clean room, and nice sauna, though it did take time to heat up. Continental breakfast was decent, a nice amount of items available.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    This motel has not been updated/renovated in decades. It is like a bare, sparse Motel 6. No screens on the windows so we couldn't open the windows for some fresh air and the room was musty. Tub didn't drain. Shower curtain was on clips that wouldn't slide so closing the curtain was extremely difficult. Old pistachio shells were on the floor between the nightstand and the bed. Overall appearance of old and dirty.

    Location was pretty decent but I still felt like we needed the car to get to the beach or to go into town. Might not be a bad walk for others though..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    3.8
    It was close to the beach and the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down, said they had AC and it was broken and they said it was just too old to fix. Breakfast was powdered donuts on paper plates. Rugs were torn and floor tiles broken.

    It was close to the beach and the town

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Romance by the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was our first stay here and definitely will not be the last. Cozy and friendly staff near a lot of great eateries and short distances to the beach and other popular locations. Room was comfortable and spacious and the fireplace was a nice touch for romance. Swimming pool and hot tub is also a great addition and overall we will be coming back again. Monterey area is always my favorite getaway from San Jose. Quiet and peaceful and pacific grove is a gem in a beautiful area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    2.9
    Old carpet, strong smell of cleaner, hard bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell, carpet, sheets, bed, service all could have been improved on.the lady at check out told the person in front of me “your room is better than room 112” ....so needless to say when she gave me 112 we weren’t off to a great start. And then I walked in my room and gagged from the smell. They must have been trying to cover something up there’s no godly reason to use that much cleaner/febrees whatever it was.

    The room smelled strongly of cleaning products and the carpet throughout would give anyone the Heebie jeebies. The hot tub was warm not hot and the pool was unappealing.the bed was also verrry firm, which I suppose is fine if your into that. Enjoy your stay! 🙄

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    Couple trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not really a short walking distance to lovers point 25 minute walk. Online said 0.8 mile distance equals a long walk. Breakfast was simple no juice water or black coffee frozen pastry crowed in breakfast room.( Fyi no air conditioning). Fireplace in room.

    Rooms were clean wifi didn't work had problems logging in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Overall, decent place in beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an older property that needs better maintenance. Molding missing from around the shower and blackout drape ripped on one window. This drape has been inoperable and in pieces for the last three years of our annual visits! You know they have seen it over time...

    The location is great. The room was large and clean. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice, no frills place. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed frame was very noisy. It woke me up every time my husband moved.

    Nice large room was a pleasant surprise. Loved the wood burning fire place and the log that came with it was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    First time user
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were spacious and very clean. We had a fireplace in our room. The property gave us 1 log a night. This was a nice touch. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was nice. We would return to this property

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Although it is not the glamour of a Ritz, it is quiet, comfortable, clean, and perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't know what I would change to better it other than maybe extending the pool and spa hours. Closing at 9pm is a little early.

    This place is quietly tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the traffic, but yet close enough to enjoy a short drive or walk to what this town offers. A short 10 minute drive to the Wharf. Hot tub and Pool area was nice, and it even had a sauna room. The hotel itself was pleasant, with accommodating rooms, comfortable beds, clean linens and ample storage. Loved the continental style breakfast and the free logs for the in-room marble fireplace. Covered parking and luggage carts were a plus! I will definitely book here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.0
    I liked the hot tub and pool.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oh dear, where to begin. It was as clean as you could get with musty, very very outdated furnishing and carpet. Missing chunks of wood from dressers, bird poop all over balcony, wires and extension cords running everywhere, yellow lampshades barely hanging on the lamps. Everything seemed to work fine despite all this, except the screaming fan in the bathroom. Your basically paying for the location.

    I liked the hot tub and pool. The staff was friendly too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For us the pillows were extremely uncomfortable, and the clock radio went off at midnight for some bizarre reason... a friendly greeting from a previous guest? Nice place, just looking a bit dated here and there.

    The location was great. Super quiet area and walking distance to the lighthouse and beach trail. Nice with a balcony. Breakfast was fine, but selection could've been slightly greater.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    The room was much larger than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately my bedside lamp and the smoke detector and the room telephone all didn't work. I asked the staff to attend to these without results.

    The room was much larger than expected. Everything had extras - the continental bfast has hard boiled eggs and many bread choices, ironing board in the room, regular closet, nice toiletries. It felt like this was a posh resort decades ago. Even though the styles are dated, it's a very nice place to stay. Very quiet, too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.7
    Overall good value. Needs more attention given when someone requests a room to accommodate temporary
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had requested downstairs due to being in a foot cast. My room was on the second floor and the furthest from the elevator. Wasn't fun!☹️

    Decor, pool area and clean room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Tired resort property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having stayed there in the past, I was surprised as the facility has aged and shows its age. For the price, there should be more upkeep on an ongoing basis. Curtains in our rood did not work properly and had to use the clip--provided--to keep them together. Simple repair would solve that problem!! The day I was able to use the offered breakfast was interesting. Breakfast is in a converted single room, three tables with 4 chairs for a "resort" that has two full stories of guest rooms. Food was good enough, but most people had to eat somewhere else--lobby, room, etc. They need to spend some money on maintenance.

    Good breakfast but began too late for me to make use on most days. Location was perfect for what I was doing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Great pick for families and couples!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The A/C was VERY loud. Had to turn it off.

    Breakfast was complementary and enough. Nothing fancy - Bagels, toast, spongecake and some cereal. Always enough coffee :) Spacious and very clean room, friendly staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel with great frontdesk but poor breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is disappointing all aspects: - the breakfast room is too small (it has the size of a hotelroom, so only 3 tables fit in (people have to eat their breakfast standing in the corridor), - the staff in the breakfast room has no interest whatsoever in their work: they don't speak to the guests (even Goodmorning is too difficult), they don't clean the tables when someone leaves and empty bowls or trays are not noticed -the quality of the food is meagre (we bought our own bagels for use in the toaster)

    During our 4 -week tour through West-US we visited 11 hotels, so we had 11 check-in experiences and Josephine at Monarch Resort is definitely the best frontdesk-officer we encountered. Very friendly with a positive mood and she really wants the guests to be happy (we wanted some changes to our stay and she handled our requests with great professionalism). She provides good tourist info also. Rooms are spacious and often with a balcony This hotel has very wide corridors with lots of plants. Swimming pool. Strong Wifi.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    The room is spacious, neat, clean and peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was average.

    The room is spacious, neat, clean and peaceful. A beautiful beach park is just a short walk away. The staff is helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Peaceful and quiet neighborhood to relax and enjoy your stay in the Monterey Area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is dated and there were also a few cars in the parking lot that looked like they has been there a while or maybe someone was possibly living out of the car but I could be wrong. The bed wasn't too comfortable and it was very squeaky.

    Overall my stay was very nice. I have to say that the hotel is quite dated but the fireplace, balconies, and peace and quiet of the area make up for it. It is one of the few hotels in the area with a pool, Jacuzzi, and balconies. They also have a hot sauna which was nice. There is breakfast provided and it was nice, nothing too fancy but a great way to start the day. If I come back to Monterey, I would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    3.3
    Disaster. Would like partial refund.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathtub drain full of clogged up hair. Room in disrepair. Small table had legs virtually collapsing if you touched it. Carpets dirty and torn. Curtains torn and not able to draw.

    close to family in area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.7
    Our room had a fireplace and hotel supplied a pkg log.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in time was 4:00 late afternoon, so there was a bottle-neck at check-in time in the lobby. Plus 4pm is just too late ..it gets in the way and limits how you can plan your day, especially if you are only staying one night. I booked a two queens room, one bed for me and one for my wife to share with my four year old granddaughter. When it was my turn at the counter I was asked if I would rather have a King suite instead. Though I wanted what I had booked, there was already an issue where the guy in front of me was having trouble getting his double queens, so I said yes I'll take the King suite as long as I get same price as for the double queens. The lady in charge sitting on at the lobby couch with a pile of papers on the coffee table yells over to my lady at the counter, "he'll have to pay the higher price". I said I'll take the two queens that I ordered online and of course, I was given a King ..no suite. There were at least five parties in the lobby at the time and I wasn't in the mood to negotiate/argue with a salty old woman ..so I accepted my defeat and resolved to never Never NEVER!!! ...stay at the Monarch

    Our room had a fireplace and hotel supplied a pkg log. Great location near the beach .. but on a quiet street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Excellent Stay!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hospitality of the staff was appreciated; the cleanliness of the place. In particular i appreciated that there was not heavy chemicals used in the room. Walking distance from the ocean. Excellent!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.2
    SUCKED?!!!
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to start? Outlet on one side of bed didn't work, had short in it (could hear the sizzling. A support under foot of the bed was out and frame was bent. Ceiling fan worked but could see the wires from the ceiling. Sliding glass door didn't slide very well, and screen fell off. Even after maintenance came screen would not slide and stopped door from closing. Rail by toilet in handicap room was loose. Room had ants, the little sugar ants!! And there was a band-aid on the smoke detector covering the light but part of the vents also. No air-conditioning in room because "the weather is so mild, but the room used for breakfast had air conditioning. There should be a partial refund for the visit!!!!!

    Fair breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    This was a wonderful place to get a healthy dose of beach and ocean therapy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Included breakfast that was adequate, but rather plain.

    The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. The hotel is in easy walking distance from the beach and from downtown Pacific Grove. Very good value!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Older building, but still nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The "enhanced/amazing/award winning" continental breakfast was a bit over-hyped. The only protein option was hard boiled eggs.

    Description was accurate. Met my needs of a comfortable place to sleep. Sauna was a nice bonus, just make sure to turn it on 15 minutes before you intend to use it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    we had a great time, and I will certainly be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that seemed odd was the size of the breakfast room. Maybe the use of a larger room. I just noticed that we were all crowded in a very tiny space. we went back to our room to eat.

    I liked everything about the hotel. This is my 3rd time at this hotel. I will stay again. The front desk workers were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.4
    Pretty good location, nice to get a room on a holiday that didn't break the bank.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Read the above review.

    Eggs? There were no eggs. Waffles were the frozen kind you have to toast. Bed was adequate I suppose. Front desk people were ok. The man I spoke to wasn't especially helpful. Probably won't stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    2.5
    Horrible customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible customer service. I tried to talk to a manager about my reservation and the operator refused to connect me or leave a message for the manager. It was easiest for her to say no and hang up on me. Awful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.3
    I like the location, but it’s not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort is old, the A/C in our room was so noisy that I had to keep it off even that night was cold. The breakfast was offered in a small room, only three small tables...and limited food options.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Terrific.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The people upstairs from me were loud and stayed up late and got up early. Not a good sleep, but it was not the staff's fault.

    Customer service and breakfast bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable bed, problematic breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parts of the hotel looked a little frayed and need refurbishment. Wi-Fi reception unattainable in Room 226, so I had to go down to the Lobby. The breakfast options were mostly unhealthy sugary things. The coffee was terrible. The breakfast room only had 3 tables in it! In this time of global warming, why are the rooms still heated by individual wood-burning fires?

    The corridors and rooms were bright. The bed was comfortable. The pool looked clean and inviting but we didn't have time to swim.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    We would definitely return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we could not stay longer

    Staff went out of their way for us. We needed directions and they jumped at the chance to help us. Printer out maps and walked us through them

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.8
    Easy access to front desk and room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in need of an upgrade. Needs convenient power outlets for today’s electronics (I.e. cell phones and tablets). Bedroom light switch didn’t work so, had to fumble around in dark to turn on a lamp. Bathroom fan didn’t work. Mattress not very comfortable.

    Easy access to front desk and room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice room and property with a blah breakfast and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was served in a converted guest room that only had three very small tables. It was very crowded in the room for breakfast. As far as the actual breakfast, it consisted of cold cereal, sweets, breads, a few pieces for fruit, bagels, and frozen waffles. The only hot thing was some crusty oatmeal. Probably the worst hotel breakfast that we have seen in years. The staff could best be called "Blah" and seemingly disinterested. We heard a number of guests at the front desk with various problems.

    The room was well furnished, clean, and spacious. Our room had a fireplace and a Duraflame log for each night of the stay. The hallways were nicely decorated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    4.6
    Very poor customer service.
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was rude. The woman at the counter let her other staff member go on break when we were all trying to get checked in. And the valet wasn’t able to assist us with anything. Nor was he going to assist. Overall, I would not stay here again.

    Comfortable rooms. And a fireplace plus a jacuzzi. All nice features.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.0
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was charged twice. I paid in cash upon check-in and receptionist assured that they will not charge my credit card. When I checked out, the receptionist said she will check and email/call me to confirm that my credit card is not charged but they did not call/email me till date. My credit card was charged and no refund. Very disappointed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Mother’s Day Wknd 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi needs a boost, breakfast area tiny,

    Close to Pacific Grove Golf Links . Close to beach and Monterey. Pool and hot tub, breakfast selections , fire place , balcony

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    Adaquate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows had no screens so couldn't leave open at night. Ceiling fan had card board shim to balance it. Rooms in need of new carpet,paint etc.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    I was pleasantly surprised by the Monarch Resort Hotel in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mini fridge hummed a high pitched noise off and on thoughout our stay. The single window in our room was missing the darkening curtain and only had the sheer one. As soon as daylight broke, the room filled with bright light! The fluorescent lights over the sink flicked but never turned on. I had to use the mirror in the bedroom to shave!

    I was pleasantly surprised by the Monarch Resort Hotel in Pacific Grove. It's a little dated, but our room was clean, and the bed was perfectly firm. Lots of free parking inside the property as well as on the surrounding streets. Free continental breakfast. Excellent value for the buck. Would stay again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.0
    It was okay for anovernite stat, but would not recommend it for a longer stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Breakfast room was really really SMALL....not enough tables, or room to sit was traveling with family.... had to sit next to the Registration Desk Without a table, had to do a balancing act..Time should be extended to 11:00 or 11:30. Also the king bed had a huge Dip in the middle of the mattress..Had Bac kache the next morning

    ????

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Staff attention excellent, although the hotel hasn’t been...
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area is not very big, basically one room has been accommodated for breakfast area

    Staff attention excellent, although the hotel hasn’t been renovated the rooms are well maintained,.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Not too shabby
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was right underneath the first floor. I could hear car doors shutting and sometimes a really loud car pulling in. I also wasn't terribly happy that when I asked for a room away from everyone (because I have a toddler and I take pity on others who might not like kid noises), and had to upgrade my room (an extra $70 for the three night stay).

    It was really quiet besides the sound of car doors and the elevator (We were put in a room right across from the elevator). But even those noises stopped pretty early.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing stay , would be better to pay a bit more and go to a nicer place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place didn't seem to be functioning during the week, we had to switch three rooms (due to various issues with the rooms), many of the rooms are actually not operational Definitely worth paying a bit more and going to a nicer place

    The wifi was ok (at least during the week as the place was nearly empty), and the breakfast is nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.5
    Love the fireplace!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was uncomfortable. I tossed and turned all night. The refrigerator had a really annoying sound that I was unable to tune out.

    Love the fireplace! Quiet and secluded. This was my second visit. I will consider staying here again in the future.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We like the location--easy access to ocean and surrounding towns, and away from the crowds during the busy season--nice to have a pool/hottub-- The rooms have been updated--loved the thick large towels. Staff very helpful with providing info.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: