Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Monarch Hotel 2 stars

1015 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94109, USA

#205 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 722 hotel reviews

6.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    6.1

  • Facilities

    5.7

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    5.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.4
    Very expensive for the location and overall condition of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location was bad, homeless people were around, which were dirty and streets were stinky and would prefer to avoid Geary Street at all times. We were embarassed to see nude people around, since I was with my young daughter. Extremely expensive hotel for the size, condition and location of the hotel.

    Staff were friendly, rooms were clean. Refrigerator and iron were not there, but were provided by the management upon request.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful room, location , but specifically the room s...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not stay additional night at same price

    Beautiful room, location , but specifically the room s where decorated as a room u would see in the 1930’s

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.0
    You ger as much as you pay - this is SF!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom tub was not clean. Bed had a worm on it, so we were unsure about the cleanliness of sheets.

    Location central, though a number of homeless were around.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    My experience at The Monarch Hotel was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    My experience at The Monarch Hotel was really good. What I value the most is that they are pet-friendly so I could have stayed with my kitten. The staff is super friendly; the room was clean as well as their bedding, towels, and bathroom. Although the surroundings are not very beautiful and clean, it is not insecure. Recommended :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.3
    It's different
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too old of a building to sleep in. The only fan was a ceiling fan. The bathroom was very small. Lots of homeless people around the building.

    The architecture is beautiful. There is no parking but if you pay the auto shops owner next door $30 he'll let you park in his lot for 24 hours. The old elevator was fun and scary to ride.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    I really liked the staff at the front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is to be expected when your up high in a building like this but it was a little warm and stuffy. But still not too bad. Still loved the place and I would stay again!

    I really liked the staff at the front desk. They were all so helpful and really seemed to care about our experience. The lobby is nice and big and open and the bed was super comfy!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    3.8
    I liked the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The desk clerk named TJ was extremely rude he has no customer service skills at all!!! I have stayed there before and the room they wanted to give me was so dirty you could see the thick dust on the slats of door and it looked out the window at a wall. When I was checking in i was very polite to TJ the desk clerk. I asked for a room facing the street rather than my room window looking at the side of the building wall next door. TJ told me I don't have any rooms available for you! He then said I can tell you are going to be a problem so I have no rooms available for you. I was shocked I have never been treated like that before i have stayed at many hotel all over the United States.I wouldn't recommend this hotel at al

    I liked the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.6
    It could’ve been worse I suppose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are incredibly thin. I could hear the person next to us peeing. Water pressure was terrible. There were two lumpy pillows on a king size bed and when we asked for another the guy at the front said he didn’t have any. There are other properties nearby that are in the same price range I would try next time before going back here

    If I had to pick something I’d say the size of the room it was very large.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    Friendly staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that they didn’t have parking, we had to pay $30 per night to park next door at a gas station! I also didn’t like the bathroom shower head the pressure was ridiculous! But overall was a good stay!

    Friendly staff; very helpful! The location was not perfect, but bareable as it was across the road from a homeless shelter, we had a lot of homeless people asking for money. The beds were comfortable and as San Francisco’s weather is freezing the heaters in the bedrooms were good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.4
    Bedding was stained,was changed but very off putting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bedding was stained,was changed but very off putting.Hotel is in an area with alot of homeless people resulting in a lot of street garbage.Staff tried hard but have to deal with reality

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Spoiled Americans,his place is given "2 stars" because you save on frills here. We love it!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficulty parking long enough to check in! Need SOMEWHERE for people to park for 10 minutes while checking in. Entry is on street where it's all an "Unloading Zone", but the city wants to ticket you immediately, as we saw the ticket monkey come after our car! Not sure it's needed, but having NO A/C in the room was surprising. Maybe that nice Pacific breeze does the trick every time(?)!

    The price is GREAT for San Francisco. Staff is responsive and helpful. Morning coffee is DELICIOUS!! Rooms clean and good insulation vs. sound from other rooms & streets!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    3.3
    WORST Experience. Should of took pics. REALLY DISSAPOINTED.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Remodeling? Remodeling! Not sure if that’s what you want to call it. Lobby was Nice, but when I saw elevator I instantly had concerns... Heard the elevator go up and down ALL NIGHT! Could clearly hear ALL random conversations up and down the hall. Even when they were on other side of hall! When people walked up and down hall, it would make so much noise! The floors were bad! Room was literally just one bed with a stand and a tv up on wall. THAT’s IT! For $300 a night I should of booked a better room elsewhere but then I had a NO CANCELLATION POLICY that I overlooked. Put it this way we slept in clothes we were going to be wearing the next day. Worst experience ever... Need to shut down until you finish your so called “remodeling.”

    Nothing...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.0
    Information on yours were good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms smell awful!! I understand it’s an old building but there’s no reason for the musty awful smell in the rooms. Maybe the carpets etc need to be replaced.

    Information on yours were good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.1
    The hotel itself was good the location ok the staff was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The homeless people around and the trash outside very dirty city

    The hotel itself was good the location ok the staff was great worse part was the parking and trying to get around in the town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice staff, clean, okay stay.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older hotel. Only one pillow. Bathroom door didn't shut. Room had a little odor maybe fresh paint??? Old elevator. Homeless shelter across the street but no one bothered us.

    Clean, friendly nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    The front desk is open 24/7.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was construction on the street and the homeless are all around. The walls are thin so you can hear everything.

    The front desk is open 24/7. They are pet friendly and do not charge for your pets. They have free coffee, tea and water. They are close to a lot of restaurants. The staff is really helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Kinda shady area but overall great value is a good idea for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's very inconvenient that they have no parking, luckily I found a close space but they recommend a place a block away. It's also not the safest area of town for walking, but they can't really help that. Overall, I recommend it.

    Good location, comfortable bed, friendly staff and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    It was a great place to stay for a last minute booking. Would stay there again and recommend others
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At night it is so sketchy and a lot of homeless. The room was quite however the room can be a little more clean. Very old can use a update but it was not like we stayed in the room.

    The location of this hotel is great! Everything is walking distance. Really great if you find parking you can avoid looking for parking and paying for it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.3
    Was nice to centrally located in town, parking structure very close for convenience.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no amenities in the room, no coffee maker, hair dryer, refrig, microwave, etc.

    Staff was very friendly, room was clean but did not provide any amenities, except for an iron.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.8
    Poor location.Arrogant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is next to a homeless centre. The area is full of homeless and druggies harressing and dissgusting normal people.The hotel has no parking and doesnt say that before.The staff is of no help at all.They sit and watch you struggle with luggage.Its advertized as 0.2miles from Union Square and its actually 7 blocks away.

    nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    3.3
    I wouldn’t suggest for any friend or family. Very unpleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good area to stay with a lot of homeless around the street which make me feel not secure. The building is old, not renovated. The place is by far different from the Booking.com pictures.. that is very frustrating. At our arriving, we find it the main lobby full of boxes of sinks, a little bit of mess. The room is small, the bathroom just fit a person at a time :( not comfortable at all. They put us right next to a common place restroom of hotel, which was terrible because all the time we heard noyses coming from there. Even at 3 in the morning! Very unpleasent stay.. we left the next day.

    The staff was gentle but not properly attended

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    For a no frills visit this place is fine, but don't expect anything exceptionally comfortable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is really old so the walls are a bit thin (we could hear the elevator door opening and closing through our wall). The location is good, except there are a ton of homeless people so be wary of your belongings in your car

    Check in staff was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    5.4
    Too noisy.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too noisy. You could hear cars and people on the street and people talking or walking in the halls of the hotel. Bathroom wasn't cleaned properly. There was hair in the tub.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    5.0
    Poor quality for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small; bed was small; homeless people yelling outside at night. Loud ceilings at night when people walk about, thin walls. Water in the lobby had mold growing inside of the container. Cold water faucet in bathroom wouldn’t completely turn off.

    The heater turned on when needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.0
    There's no parking parking's a block away too much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no parking parking's a block away too much construction going around there's a $50 deposit fee they don't tell you about you get back in 3 days

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.8
    just ok.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    but it's very noisy w/ kids who were partying all Saturday nite. Called downstairs to complains, nothing changed.

    Bed was very comfortable, and the room was fine for the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.7
    Not a too bad place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Homeless people stay across the street. Much noise at night. No breakfast supply. The room is a bit dark.

    The location is good, from where easily to reach the city; The staff are friendly and polite; The facilities are enough.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.1
    A good value in a decent location. I have stayed here several times and will visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They would not accept cash for the security deposit and I have had to wait several days for the deposit to be credited to my account.

    Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    6.7
    Too loud, Couldn't sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud; we were unable to sleep from 24/7 noise from the hallway, adjoining rooms, and street. There's no parking, the nearby garage is $32 a day. There's no hair dryer, microwave, fridge, or continental breakfast.

    Clean, had basic essentals.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    3.8
    It was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only elevator is size 2x2 and just doesn’t feel safe. There was not an option for parking and the are it’s in is filled with homeless people all around the streets.

    It had a working TV with cable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice, affordable, and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The elevator was out of service and the stairs were very narrow, but that wasn't a huge deal.

    The staff was friendly. The heater worked really well too!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    3.8
    NEVER AGAIN
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    BED BUGS VERY BAD PLACE TO SLEEP HOMELESS AND CRAZINESS LAND.VERY NOT SAFE FOR FAMILIAS NEEDS TO BE CLEANED ASAP COCKRUCHES AND BED BUGS ALL OVER. NEVER AGAIN.

    BED BUGS VERY BAD PLACE TO SLEEP HOMELESS AND CRAZINESS LAND.VERY NOT SAFE FOR FAMILIAS NEEDS TO BE CLEANED ASAP COCKRUCHES AND BED BUGS ALL OVER. NEVER AGAIN.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    4.2
    ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I got to the hotel and checked in, went to the room turned down the bed and the sheets had not been changed. I went to the front desk and told the man and the front desk and he got really angry. He was trying to say that I lied in it. So we went up to the room and he proceeded to say it was not dirty sheets. So rushing off and said that he would give me another room. The room was much better, but the next morning I took a shower and the drain was stopped up and took a long time to drain. When I went down to the lobby, I told the desk and they said they would fix it. I was there 3 more days and they never fixed it. I have stayed here before and have not had this problem. Will I stay there again? I don't think so.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    3.8
    Ok hotel in really bad area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need updating rooms are tired beds rubbish no tea or coffee in room . Loads of homeless people right outside on street shouting all night.

    Value for money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.7
    It was alright
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking , thin walls

    It’s an alright hotel but if your traveling in car might as well spend the extra money to get a hotel with parking. The parking is 30 dollars more

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    4.2
    the staff is very friendly also they have coffee and water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is really old , The area is troublesome and there are many homeless people

    the staff is very friendly also they have coffee and water 24/7 in the lobby

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    6.7
    Accomodation is ok but keep your luggage with you.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    They lost our backpack from luggage safe! There were disgusting chemical smell all over the hotel. There were lots of homeless across the hotel's street causing noise. No hairdryer.

    Free coffee and water at the reception was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    3.3
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Got there and immediately asked for a cancelation, bad smell in the room, bathroom didn't look clean, bead not comfortable at all and a lot of homeless people around the building... even 1 of them got into the lobby 1/2 body naked while I was doing the check out!

    N/A

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    4.2
    Ok but way too much money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No key for safe. Elevator did not work. Dirty floors. Missing a closet door. No fan in the bathroom. No air conditioning. Beds too soft. Pillows soft.

    Staff very friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    2.5
    Sucked, piss poor
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was black mold in shower on the grout The place is old and ugly need a restoration and remodel very badly The workers seemed unhappy and didn’t move out the hallway as we walked by The elevator was rickety and had no visible safety inspection certification Overall very uncomfortable terrible stay

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    2.5
    Waste of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was a disaster. The bathroom was left the mess and used utilities. The bed was not clean in any terms. Absolutely no parking for anyone to park anywhere and the staff were just Horribly rude.

    They had water when I checked out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    6.3
    Friendly staff but the hotel has seen better days.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a little shabby - especially at almost $300 - which is expensive for what you get even in San Francisco.

    The staff on the desk were helpful and friendly at check-in, and again at 4am when I checked out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.0
    The bed was comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No A/C and it was very hot that day. The hotel was very dated and the bathroom was clean but the shower and drainage was not working good. Some of the water says in the tub for quite a while until it draines.

    The bed was comfortable and clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    Friendly staff, clean hotel, fair location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The neighborhood isn't the greatest. There was construction across the street that started early during our stay. The walls are a little thin and we could hear the people above us (on the 3rd floor, we stayed on the 2nd floor) stomping around. I always travel with earplugs though. There were some homeless people around, and a couple of times in the early morning saw them urinating in the street, but homeless are everywhere in San Francisco. We were not bothered by homeless during our stay. It was a 15 minute walk to public transportation near Union Square (cable cars, BART, etc.) which was OK for us but may not be for everybody. The wait for cable cars can be excessive so I wouldn't count on them as primary transportation around the city. That said, Uber/Lyft is very affordable and easy to get around the city. Weigh the price of the stay vs. the negatives and make a decision. To stay in the city is very expensive. If we had it to do again, we would probably pay more and stay in a better location, or stay outside the city or in the Marina district to spend less on lodging. Again, Uber/Lyft is everywhere, convenient and affordable. You may spend less on Uber/Lyft rides than the difference in the cost of a hotel inside vs. outside the city. The city is also walkable if you don't mind some steep hills. You do not need a car, there is little parking and it is expensive to park.

    Relative to other hotels it was priced in our target price range for a place to stay. It is older and the rooms are older, but the rooms were kept clean and the staff was super friendly and accommodating. Actually, the staff was fantastic. There is no AC but you do not need AC in San Francisco in August typically. Our room had a ceiling fan. The beds were comfortable. There was coffee and water in the lobby available 24/7.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.3
    I wish I'd known they weren't pet friendly. That was a big problem.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com said "pet friendly". They do not allow pets. The special $110 rooms were next to a very noisy elevator. Quiet from 12:30 a.m. to 6:30 a.m. Parking is confusing. I got a $76 parking ticket.

    Old but charming facility. The lobby area was very comfortable. Free coffee in the lobby. Free wifi. Clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    2.5
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!! •the crew was so unrespectful •No Parking is a nightmare find where park your car • horrible rooms •bunch of homeless outside the hotel ask u for money and drugs You guys Booking.com like a company should keep away this kind of hotel of your offers seriously!

    nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    2.9
    Horrible hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The photos did not reflect the property in any sense. Fire alarm kept going off on last night, and being honest the facilities were atrocious. Not good value for money at all - Would not recommend this to anyone

    close to union square

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    Amazing! Centrally located, clean, and a bang for your buck
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is a bit rickety, but never failed us at all. Just took a bit of patience at times.

    I love how convenient the Monarch hotel is located in the city. From there, we were able to walk to the Golden Gate Park, Union Square, Japan Town, and various other attractions. On top of this, public transit was very convenient with the 38R bus (takes you along Geary St. from Golden Gate Park area to Financial District) being so close. Although some areas nearby the hotel may be rough during the night, using Uber provided us a safe alternative to arriving home. Our room at the top floor even overlooked a bit of the Downtown core. Overall, we had a spectacular experience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    3.3
    I was disappointed to be honest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too small smelled like mildew I had asked for top of the building reservations and they said they didn't make such requests

    That I had a warm place to stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.5
    Is stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there wasn't any parking onsite.

    Loved the old school bathrooms. The room and bathroom both appeared very clean as well as the rest of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    5.0
    Would NOT recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Scary elevator. Plumbing in the bathroom was below subpar. Need to plunge both the toilet and the sink before using either. A member of housekeeping knocked on our door at 9am just to ask if we were checking out that day, which we were, but she didn't even have a cart with her to make up the room. We had asked for a late check out (12 instead of 11) because we wanted to sleep in. She should have been provided with a list from the front desk or waited until 11 at the earliest to knock. More homeless in this neighborhood than we saw in any other part of SF. Even got to see a "bum fight" across the street from the hotel.

    Free coffee in the lobby. Ceiling fan and a mini fridge in the room. Nice view from our 6th floor room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    2.5
    Stay far away from this dump, cut my family vacation early cause we could not take this place.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has no air conditioning, mini fridge, one ice machine in hotel, no bucket for ice, elevator inoperable, just a dump.

    Anytime spent away from the hotel, what a dump, Japanese tea garden visit was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.0
    Could be worse
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator didn't work and I had to take a stroller and luggage up three floors. I saw people going drugs outside my window. You could hear people running up and down the stairs which were in front of my room.

    The bed was comfortable and the restroom was clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    5.0
    An okay hotel, but because of the area, we will not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area (Tenderloin) was not very nice. It was obviously an area struggling with poverty, mental illness and homelessness. There were only two power outlets in the room and the wifi was really slow.

    The bed was very comfortable. It was easy to get around town from the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    2.9
    Do not stay here!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs to be updated. Couldn't sleep since music going off all night, then woken up by two guys and a girl fighting in the alley right outside my room. You have to walk a block just to park and then be harassed by transients all over the place. Do not stay here if you are with kids.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    4.2
    Do not waste your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The area in which the hotel is located leaves a lot to be desired. Homeless people occupy the sidewalk with tents. I did not feel safe walking around outside the hotel whether it was during the day or night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    2.9
    Stay away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was not what we expected at all homeless people sleeping outside the hotel and using the wall of the hotel as there own personal toilet. The neighbourhood did not feel safe at night constant people asking for money as you walked out side the hotel. Rooms dated and small. pictures and description not accurate at all. Stay away at all cost.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.8
    Bed was comfy bathroom was clean staff was really nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You had to park a little far away at the amc movie theater and pay $32 a day or every time you leave. You could hear other people in other rooms from the bathroom

    Bed was comfy bathroom was clean staff was really nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable and clean room, not too noisy, walking distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No facilities at all in the room to make a cuppa and no fridge Perfectly adequate room, we always go for budget accommodation but this was more expensive than what you would pay in NZ for similar level of quality.

    Comfortable and clean room, not too noisy, walking distance to union square

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    2.5
    Do not stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking sucks, the staff does not even exists, elevator looks like it's from an old 1920s movies and the blankets look and feel even older. The pictures on the site are so over exaggerated.

    Honestly nothing was worth the $145 for the room and $40 I had to pay to park a mile away!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.7
    Value for the money for San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was basic with older furniture. The fan above the bed was not properly balanced and made sooo much noise, but needed it as it was stuffy in the room. The toilet made horrible noises thru out my stay. I didn't shower because I was afraid to use it. And the floor made creeking sounds where ever I walked in the room. The window was great, but there was a little ledge that had a lot of cigarette buts. There wasn't information about the t.v or places of interest in the rooms. Only in the lobby

    The bed was a real plus ..the only thing new in the room. The room was at the end of the hall and very quite. The Lobby was very nicely decorated except for the hospital bed table that held a flower. Very odd....

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    5.0
    Don't stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was really not a thing I liked about this hotel from Hell. Yes it is cheap for San Francisco standards but location was questionable, there was no parking close by or you had to go to a garage down the street or take your chances parking on the street. After debating whether we even wanted to stay we went forward and checked in. The elevator by anyone's standards was VERY OLD and small, it had the door you needed to pull open to get to the sliding elevator door. After getting my luggage in there and up to the 6 th the key didn't work the door. Went back down got the key repaired and headed back up the elevator once again but this time when the sliding elevator opened the push door was locked. We tried to get out and then we tried to go back down thinking it might open on a different floor so the we tried every floor going down and that door would not open. We then hit the up button back to the 6th floor and when the panic set in and the door still wouldn't open we pushed the alarm button. The guy at the front desk ran up 6 floors to get us out. Whew! The rooms were small, old and dated but it did at least have a small single sink bath. The pillows were compared to pancakes but the beds after a bed bug check was fairly comfortable. Also no A/C. Our room had 2 windows one with a screen , one without. It order to get some fresh air we had to listen to the actives of the streets below. At least was waken up a half dozen times. Spend the money, stay someplace else.

    Nothing but the guy at the desk who rescued us from being trapped in the elevator.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.3
    So-so experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had called before booking to make sure that they had a crib available for our child. They assured me that they did. When we arrived at 9:45pm or so from a really long drive, they said that they did not know where the crib was but that they would look for it. After we got to our room to unload and get ready for bed, around 11pm or so they still had not called us or brought the crib by so I went downstairs to inquire. They informed me that they believed it was in some storage closet but they weren't sure. They provided no accommodation for our child that night which was safe enough. They offered to give us another room with two beds in it...but kids can crawl off of and hurt themselves on non-cribs. We had our 1 year old son sleep in our bed in the middle but I was worried the whole night about rolling onto him. The next day I once again had to inquire if they had found the crib and thankfully after some further searching they did. Would not recommend this place for families with small children. That incident plus the no parking really soured our stay. I had had a car rental and not only did it have to sit for three days in a $32 a day garage, we also had to pay about the same for 3 day bus fare. I was pissed.

    The location was great. It was pretty easy to get by public transport to the places we were wanting to see. The bed was pretty comfortable. The shower was fantastic and could get lava hot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    3.8
    Nothing like the pictures!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place looks NOTHING like the pictures that are posted on booking.com. Be prepared to be VERY let down. Pictures look like they're from a different (far better) hotel. The room was like a closet, no colors, poor lighting, windows had visible bird detergents on all sills, view only of brick wall few feet from the windows, countertops in bathroom cracked with chunks missing. Room looked like something out of a low budget horror movie- stay AWAY from here unless you just need a room to sleep in, in which case if you are ok with the price for said room, great.

    Location was good proximity to most things on our itinerary.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.6
    With dog! Thanx
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    bad coffee and so noisy

    We were with our dog. Live in centre of the city in hotel with dog - incredible. Good staff. Cold water in the lobby. Warm water in the shower. King bed with clean linens. Awesome location. Near Starbucks, many cafes and markets

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.2
    Luxury accommodations for a poor man's budget.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I checked in, I asked to pay cash for the rental rate, and use my credit card for the incidentals but was told they don't take cash. I know this to be incorrect because I stayed there before, and always pay cash for each additional night I stay, which is also what I did this time. I incidentally ended up being a hassle for me having to get a credit limit increase.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    2.9
    That at least my room was close to the elevator when I got...
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures online looked nothing like my room. False advertisement right there guys. There's no parking at the hotel. In which is says they do valet. Are you kidding!!! I had to park my car blocks blocks blocks away. Then had to walk back to the hotel by myself at night, and I'm a girl!!! After the fact, I had to look for a parking garage 30 min!!! I should have gotten a refund for my room!!! And should have to pay.... What a rip off. Horrible horrible horrible.

    That at least my room was close to the elevator when I got off with my luggage. And was surprised that I had a shower in my room, from the condition of the place. Was down the block from the place I was going to.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    7.9
    Accommodations in the heart of San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Weak Internet, especially later in the evening. Difficulty in getting connected, and the evening clerk wasn't much help. No real parking. We parked at a garage next door, $30 / day extra. There are others, if you Google, but I didn't feel comfortable driving around. The elevator seemed to stick on the 5th floor. When we pressed "1" to come down, it often waited several seconds before moving. This was reported, but the day receptionist didn't take it too seriously. This is definitely an older, basic hotel -- coffee and tea in the lobby, none in the room. No hair dryer in the room. Thin towels. That said, this was my second stay.

    The hotel is near Union Square. The bed was comfortable, with a warm comforter. The heating worked well. The day receptionist has been there for a while -- nice to see a familiar face. This was my second visit.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.1
    On my second day, the shower head broke while showering!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On my second day, the shower head broke while showering! The reception staff were helpful and I was moved to another room without any hassle. The hotel did seem a bit dated, however the rooms were decent with comfortable beds. Walking distance to Union Square (15min walk).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    3.8
    Actually - nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. A bunch of bums were living right in front of the entrance. They shouted all night. 2. Construction works were taking place on the other side of the road. From 5 am and till midnight. We could hear and watch them all the day long from our window. 3. The bathroom door did not close - the lock was broken. 4. Shower head was broken and always felt on the head. 5. The room smelled with some kind of a drug or a chemical. Every day. 6. There was no cleaning. Or we did not see any during the stay: the towels were wet and dirty, and the smell remained the same. 7. Windows skipped all sounds from the street. 8. The hotel was built in some old centuries and has not been renovated since then. 9. The price for the room was at the rate of a very good 4-star hotel, never the less.

    Actually - nothing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.5
    Nice staff, really old hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the hotel could use a little remodeling and updating. I've stayed in old places like this before though, especially in other countries. It's near the Tenderloin, that is the poorest part of San Francisco, which I couldn't even afford to live in. My main dislike is the amount of homeless people across the street, especially being a woman alone here. There is new construction going on there, so maybe once it's completed it won't be as bad. This is San Francisco though. It has one of the highest homeless populations in the United States, if not the highest. None of them bothered me here, but I was asked for money at least 6 times in 2 days all over San Francisco. If you are worried about it take an Uber in and out of the area. Forget the taxi. They cost too much and are quite a bit more rude. Would I bring a kid here? Probably not. I'd stay closer to the touristy things like Pier 39 and Fisherman's wharf with kids here. If you are a couple looking for a nice romantic getaway I wouldn't stay in San Francisco at all, but go across the bay to Sausalito. I was a little worried after reading the reviews, both good and bad, so I thought I'd give my honest opinion.

    The staff was really nice. The room was clean enough, even though it's a really old building. The price was cheap, especially for San Francisco. It's close to some good restaurants. I stayed here because it was near a friend's wedding. The best ice cream place is two blocks away. There was a Turkish restaurant near that I went to that was good. There was also an Afghan restaurant that I didn't try and a great 50s style diner I went to for breakfast on the same block as the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    6.3
    Older hotel charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were too small and dust in the cracks on the wall. The water heater was off. Couldn't make it to my liking. Either too hot or too cold.

    Older hotel charm

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.9
    Great staff, confi room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi has poor signal in the room. Need to go to the lobby for better signal but still connection was slow. Quite too far to walk from hotel to cable car station in Powell St. You may take the muni bus around and there's a bus stop just across the hotel, but during the night, there was a lot of homeless people on the street. Elevator was old.

    Bed was comfortable and room was clean. Overflowing coffee at the lobby. Staff was great, 24 hrs front desk service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    5.0
    Location was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very uncomfortable beds. No microwave, no fridge. No air conditioner or heating. Room had a weird smell to it.

    Location was okay. I wouldn't stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    3.8
    Not a good value for the money!
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The so called wifi internet is a joke- sometimes it does not connect at all and it is unsecured! The wall is very thin. My room's creaky floor and the room above mine is very annoying. The leaky shower head that sprays water all over the place. The bathtub is very sticky and needs a bath mat. The bathrrom tile is moldy. The sink top accumulates water then drips on the floor.

    The bed was surprisingly comfortable. Very friendly staff. The complimentary coffee in the lobby is a nice touch to make up for lack of coffee maker in the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Monarch Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: